Topic: Northern Suburbs vs. Southern Suburbs
Which side of the river is better? Pleade your case here. Personally I am northside till i die, New Farm trumps West End. The City trumps Southbank... and the list goes on.
Southside, cause I live there.

Thread over.
Toowong for student lyfe.
(sorry meant to say northside but north west)
NOT THIS AGAIN

I've only ever lived on the northside so of course i'll say northside. But Mrs Hardware has lived in both, and she says Northside, so I reckon that's the go.
also north has noosa etc which is far superior to gold coast.
northside forever

salisbury is a peice of s*** that is ages away from the city

chermside > indro

northside has the city, comparing the city and southbank is pretty redundant

now we will hear about how awesome they are because they have the motorways etc, which run slower (crawling) every morning on average compared to gympie or kelvin grove roads.

i had to get to work from sumner park the other week, i can't believe that western freeway what a f***ing joke

NOT THIS AGAIN

My thoughts exactly. Sif live in QLD.
The further south you go the worse it is, from annerley to tasmania there is just a gradient of increasing filth.
MatchFixer
Southside ftw.

Only because i can't stand northside bogans.

Dirty wogs like casa over trashy bogans like teq, it's not much but it still makes a difference.

Yeah, what a cann of worms that's gonna open up.

last edited by MatchFixer at 15:57:19 03/Jul/09
northside... less s*** happens unless you live out near strathpine and deception bay etc.... but i dont class that as brisbane lol
sif live in melb..

actually, i'd rather live in melb..so damn nice down there!! hot as chicks aswell
basically for me the northside is better as far as infrastructure goes

Airport
Showgrounds
RBH
Entertainment Centre
The City
Suncorp Stadium
The Racecourses
you gotta specify inner or outer when you go into this.

inner north rapes everything else in brisbane. Southside has some nice pockets like the golf course region of indro but as a whole, f*** the dirty mexicans of the south.
unless you want/need public transport the northside is rad
wtf mrhardware who goes to any of that s***
people with a life
Hey! Strathpine isn't too bad, I've been here for over a year. haven't really seen, heard or been caught up in anything. Morayfield / deception bay / Caboolture / Bribie Island are a different story.

however even after saying this, I checked on insurance places for s***s and giggles and found that, it was cheaper to insure my car in Machans Beach (cairns), then in Strathpine :P
blahnana
Golf course region of indro? You mean Indooroopilly Golf Course? If there's a "north" and a "south" side of the river, that's technically on the northern side.
Mantis
My vote is for "centre" side.
yeah, I always thought indro was northside.

Also, brookfield > *
MatchFixer
where you currently reside > all = BIAS

AM I RITE?!?
this has been done many times, and the conclusion has been drawn that:

the closer to the city, the better it is.

go too far north and you hit the bogan breeding grounds.

go too far south and you hit the ethnic/indigenous cesspits.

westside is not even worth mentioning cos thats practically ipswitch.

however we are all united by the fact that brisbane s***s on syd/melb.

/end
MatchFixer
however we are all united by the fact that brisbane s***s on syd/melb.
syd maybe, melb no chance.
I ain't united with others saying bris is better than melb...maybe syd, definately not melb..
MatchFixer
What an original thought damo, genius!

edit: i wonder if we clicked on the post button at the exact same nano second.

I guess we'll never find out.

last edited by MatchFixer at 16:23:27 03/Jul/09
strex is right, except melbourne. end thread.
screw you hippy.. was only a few seconds.. ha
lol thermite, you're a deads***
you love using that word, are you 15?
northside?
lols
MatchFixer
hi 5 spook, even annerely being the 2nd nigeria is better than bogansville.

"Welcome to Bogansville, population, yooooooooooooou."

last edited by MatchFixer at 16:41:33 03/Jul/09
I dont think you can realy say that the brisbane CBD is northside, yes its north of the river, but its right f***en on the river. Its not north or south, its the CBD.
Zaphod
Yeah there's no way Indro is the northside, you can't use the river as the boundary, it's all over the place.
indro is wrongside

id rather live northside than that wasteland
wow you southsiders are crybabies
apart from 'lol northside' and 'lol northside bogans' you've got nothing to say

Southside has sunnybank as a comeback to bogans i guess. But thats racist dawg.
Then what do you use as the boundary Zaphod? Indooroopilly is signifantly further south than the CBD, it's in line with Stones Corner and Carindale.

The boundary is the river, and in that case Indooroopilly is on the northside.

There whole debate about north vs south has always been about the geographical viability of the areas directly north and south of the river. Sorry I don't have a source on this, I tried looking, but I know it's true.
MatchFixer
mr hardware is clearly a bogan, evidently by his name.

its all been said before, many times
IMO there are three sides
Northside (north of the river and CBD)
Southside (south of the river)
Westside (north of the river but south of the CBD)
I dont think you can realy say that the brisbane CBD is northside

Actually you'll find the people who built Brisbane believed strongly in settling on the northside of the riverbank.

I once went to the south side and saw a lady eating a baby... that's all I have to say about the south side.
Haha twisted. I lived there for 20 years, you got nothin :P
I lived south of the border for first 20 years, now I live at bracken ridge and I find the northside is actually quite nice. Nowhere near as bogany as people make out, well maybe zillmere but yeah. Inner north Is cool

indro is westside unofficially in my mind, tho it's fair bit south. Anything past there and it's clearly westside sticks
southside, it's got all the freeways and is just so connected. northside has gympie rd lol.

also eastside is tbe best. gateway, bay breezes, cooler, nicer living. it's all cruisy out here.

last edited by infi at 17:39:30 03/Jul/09
and sandgate and the gateway and south pine.
the southside only has freeways cos they assumed no-one would be stopping
north/south, they both suck.
Ive posted this before but pretty much in the red and you hit the aids.

http://members.iinet.net.au/~dcadigan/help (Small).JPG
i think it has to be upgraded to $20 cab far rule these days to get anywhere within the safe zone depicted above.

i remember agents used to say $10 cab fare rule back in 2001. Oh how times have changed.
I lived south of the border for first 20 years, now I live at bracken ridge and I find the northside is actually quite nice. Nowhere near as bogany as people make out, well maybe zillmere but yeah. Inner north Is cool

you like living in the stix farmboy?

also ctd, yuo made a booboo, as salisbury is coloured in
Bracken Ridge is nothing stix-like.

View Larger Map

P.S this is nowhere near my address for any stalkers out hterer
RUSTA
Going by ctd's picture. Does on the the line count as in?

last edited by RUSTA at 18:46:16 03/Jul/09
if you mean bardon or kedron, yes. If you mean hendra or carina heights, no.
bracken ridge is stix++
a whole six kays further from the city than your house spook, big deal
I'm getting use to living in Nathan. Within 10KM's of the City/Indro/Garden City/Sunnybank.
nathan? respect:

bracken stix, no freeway? mite be 6k as the crow flies, but on the bus thats like another hour (no doubt most people on the northside catch the bus as they cant afford cars, and even if they can their roads are so congested they only drive them north, not south)
Term

I used to live in yeronga, which is southside but not slummy southside, for three years I've been living in kenmore, its westside bris so not sure how that fits into your argument but I like it - yeronga was only as few kays from the city (closer than indro) but s*** stuff locally, here I'm one street away from a good coffee club and indro is down the road so while its technically further from brisbane I feel like I have greater access to stuff I use..

The northside is just crazy, I get lost when I go there might as well be a different city everything looks different and the hoes are cheep
seriously guys

your freeways on the southside are a f***ing peice of s***

you queue kilometers away from the city and crawl the whole way to the city regularly each day

gympie road has traffic lights but f*** you rarely ever have to crawl in first gear like i have done on the western freeway and the m1 regularly when i was traveling from the s*** southside

salisbury is further away from the city than bracken ridge...

of course hoes are cheap on the north, pave's mum lives up there.
bracken stix, no freeway? mite be 6k as the crow flies, but on the bus thats like another hour (no doubt most people on the northside catch the bus as they cant afford cars, and even if they can their roads are so congested they only drive them north, not south)
Haha wow spook you've got no idea do you.
Yes the gateway and sandgate road and gympie road all pretty much converge on the back of bracken ridge. It's possibly one of the easiest suburbs to get to, cos every arterial road gets you there. And no it's 6ks by road. And I can walk 6kays in under an hour. And most people on the northside catch the train or drive, which will account for a grand total for 9 minutes extra travel time.
And also what paveway said, southside you're crawling, northside you've just got lights.
Northside traffic is a hell of a lot better. I'd rather be on Gympie Road than on the freeway any day.
nothing wrong with cheap hoes
Northside easily.. all the examples (airport, RBH, CBD, Suncorp, XXXX brewery, etc) have been mentioned by the #1 reason northside is better is because it isn't southside!@
Some Fat Bastard
Northside/Soutside who cares? If you're not near the bay you're a homo. :P
louie
brisbane is just a big country town...not even really a city......
its infrastructure sux, and its public transport rates as some of the worst in the world.
bands/entertainers reguraly bypass brisbane shows, only playing down south.
does that not say something to you?

as for northside/southside...
brisbane has 4 sides. its not 1 line of houses from Munruben to Kallangur.
and it seems most of the arguments involve travelling away from where you live.
to me, all roads and the people who drive them in brisbane suck.
couldnt use a roundabout to save themselves and couldnt merge if there life depended on it.

i think they should fill the river in and make it one big free carpark with a highway down the middle and exits every 5 kms with free bus services to the city. no cars should be allowed in the city, other than commercial vehicles, police/fire etc, and public transport.

they should also make suncorp stadium and the gabba water reservoirs.
and put sporting grounds out where the water catchment areas are now.
it never rains out there so games wouldnt be washed out, and it gets rid of all the bogan football fans on game days......
bands/entertainers reguraly bypass brisbane shows

I live in Brissy and 90% play in brissy. IT SUCKS.

Well anywhere close to the CBD is f***ed for loading and parking.
The Match Fixer
louie:

10/10 for a vivid imagination
louie, where did you get that imagination from.. especially about bands bypassing brisbane.. rarely does a band not play here..
louie
oh i know of a couple that lamed me out.
radiohead and tool (one tour before lateralus came out me thinks).....
theres others....
like sideshows for festivals.....heaps from the last couple of big gay als..

yeah i imagine things........its what i do !!!!!!

yeah 3dee i share the same problem....solution. get a commercial vehicle permit and push those 20 minute loading zones to there limit.....
shouldnt take ludavico more than 20 minutes to bump in anyways !!!!!!
you seen our gear???!???
we do it in 10.....

last edited by louie at 15:29:14 04/Jul/09
That's not the bands fault, blame that on the promoter..

care to list anymore..
Yeah it usually doesn't take us too long to shuffle in, but then theres the problem of parking four cars in the valley?! Parking in the CBD is a piece of s***.
3dee, where and what style you play?
The Match Fixer
Parking in the CBD is a piece of s***.

I agree, and the northsiders can keep that piece of s*** along with its river of spew.
St Lucia ftw
3dee, where and what style you play?

Some form of alternative rock: myspace
I'm the drummer by the way.

last edited by 3dee at 16:12:04 04/Jul/09
drummer..explains EVERYTHING!! hahaah

for some reason i've seen ludavico somewhere else today..hmm..

might have to come out some time to get some photos..
drummer..explains EVERYTHING!! hahaah

**dribbles**