Topic: an indian kitchen
PornoPete
So I tried this receipe for a Korma out a couple of times. It's pretty hot if you follow the 8 chillies. You could probably use less but I enjoy the heat.

I noticed an Indian cooking thread recently so I thought I'd share.

Its the community man.

For IP records its from some guy on Jamie Olivers website, you wont have to look to far.

for ingredients in Brisbane there is a place near the norman hotel I believe called all India ingredients.

Aachar korma

Lamb leg 1 kg.
Turmeric ½ teaspoon.
Mustard oil 4 teaspoon.
Onions(sliced) ¾ cup
Red chilies whole 8 nos.
Mustard seeds 1 tsp.
Cloves 5 nos.
Asafoetida A pinch
Red chili powder 1 tsp.
Cumin seed 1 tsp.

Kalonji 1 tsp. (black cumin oil) or onion seeds.
Jaggari (brown) 25 gms. (sugar) this is some sort of cane sugar block
Ginger(shredded) 15 gms.
Garlic(chopped) 10 flakes
Lemon juice 2 tbsp.
Yoghurt 1 cup
Ghee ½ cup
Salt to taste

Instructions:
1.Clean, debone and cut into 1-inch pieces. Put in a vessel, add tumeric, salt and 1.5 litres of water, bring to boil, cover and simmer until tender. Drain and reserve the stock.

2.Heat mustard oil to smoking, reduce heat to medium and add ghee. Then add sliced onions and sautee until brown. Remove onions for garnishing.

3.In the same fat fry red chilis till black, remove and discard the chilis. Then add mustard seeds, cloves and asafoetida, saute untill the seeds begin to crackle.

4.Add the cooked lamb, red chili powder, cumin seeds, kalonji, jaggery, ginger and garlic, fry till the lamb becomes brownish.

5.THen add the reserved stock and lemon juice and simmer for a minute.

6.Remove the vessel from the fire, add yoghurt, stir and return to heat and fry until the fat leaves the masala. Adjust the seasoning.

7.Serve garnished with fried onions.

the only addition I would add is some corn flower because I have found there to be a lot of liquid with the stock so I guess thicken to your taste and boil down.

hope to see some more Indian recipes

That sounds really damn authentic. I am going to try that. Will try to report back if it's soonish.
is it telling you to boil the lamb? or just the bone?

I love using lamb shoulder for curry, get the butcher to chop it into chops cutting through the bones. Fry this s*** up in a good deep thick pan ( no nonstick rubbish, no oil ), as the fat renders out the lamb will almost deep fry in it. You will not get better tasting lamb. When the lamb is well cooked I'll drain most of the fat into another pan, and then add half the curry spices to the lamb and give it a few more minutes to toast them.

Plus all the rendered fat can then be used to cook everything else. Onions are often the base for indian curries, so use plenty, and fry them at a medium temp until they're really soft and add the rest of the curry spices.

Often I'll just then put the lamb in with the curry and serve it as is. If I want vegetables I'll make seperate curry for them, like a chickpea curry, or a palak paneer ( spinach and fried paneer cheese ).

Of course a way to earn cudos with an Indian is to make your own paneer cheese ( super easy, bring two litres milk, 3 tbspn vinegar to boil, turn down, stir when it seperates drain the curds into a cheesecloth and throw a bunch of books over it to weight it down ). Making fresh naan or other indian breads is also an easy points scorer.
also lamb hurts my wallet here in Texas. $7/pound for reasonable quality shoulder/leg. A whole shoulder cost me > $60 the other day ... would have probably cost me $40 maximum back home.
PornoPete

I did originally boil the lamb (on the bone)because the recipe said so. Therefore I figured I would taste it as the guy intended and then experiment.

However a debone and quick fry and then add the turmeric and water and salt and I find it works quite nicely.

It comes out of the pot a bit tough but if between steps 6 and 7 you simmer for a about a half hour the lamb becomes rather tender.

as for the lamb my understanding is that this works with chicken breast but I have not tried it.

I would love to hear if anyone tries the chicken.
Oh yeah I should mention I put the lamb in the oven at a medium temp covered in tinfoil while cooking the onion, doing any other curry. This helps tenderize the meat nicely.
Korma usually isn't hot ... and where's the corriander?
There's certain foods I don't even bother trying to emulate, one being indian. Punjabi Palace @ SthBank ftw.
If you chuck a diced potato in there then you won't need corn flour to thicken it. In fact I'm surprised that there is no veg at all in that recipe.
How do you guys tend to keep your spices in a good condition. I'd love to start cooking some of this stuff but I don't want to have to go out every time to buy the spices then throw most of it away.
buy the spices whole shad and just grind them as needed ( mortar&pestle or just a cheap coffee/spice grinder ). Doing that means you can toast them in the pan whole before grinding ( flavour++ ).

can store them in ziplock bags to save space too.
PornoPete

This guy said its not supposed to be like a restaurant korma its traditional or some s***.

spice wise most of that stuff is dried out before you get it and the Asafoetida is some sort of powder so I haven't had a big problem with spice storage.

the diced potato sounds like a good additional dealyf I may well give it a whirl.
Panda
http://www.route79.com/food/

pretty good site for some rad dishes. my housemates cook new stuff from there often and they turn out pretty awesome.
Punjabi Palace @ SthBank ftw.

thats westend matey

its our regular indian joint
Pinky - goto the South Bank markets on a Sunday and find the old indian couple there that sell their spice mixes. Cook that up at home and it's one damn fine tasty curry.
Punjabi Palace @ West End

Best Indian ever, I dont care if its not the authentica way or whatever, the stuff they make kicks ass, all other curry I have had (I havent actually been to india) has been utter s*** compared to punjabi palalce.

Need to know how they make it there.
sounds delicious porno pete

also..
For lunch open Tuesday to Friday from 12 Noon to 2 PM
^^ from punjabi palace's website. this means I can do a run over there one day this week for some lunch takeaway and decide whether it's any good or not

having a website/their own domain with menu + business hours + phone number gives them good points already
my only complain about punjabi, is its not hot enough
MoGs
That sounds bloody brilliant mate. Might do a test on Hermitech and the boys... will report back.
my only complain about punjabi, is its not hot enough

Trust me, they can make it hot if you want, but dont just ask for hot, ask for indian hot or 3 times indian hot, let them know you are serious about it, I've been there heaps of times and they know me there, and they told me they dont make it super hot when people just ask for hot, becuase they think that most people dont realy know what hot is in indian food and wouldnt be able to handle it.

I've had 3x indian hot vindaloo from punjabi palace, and trust me, its f***en hot, I just have normal hot these days.
Clubby
Punjabi Palace @ West End

mmmm ... so good .. this is also our regular.

Wonder what a vegitarian varient on this curry would turn out like.
I've had 3x indian hot vindaloo from punjabi palace, and trust me, its f***en hot, I just have normal hot these days.

i always ask for hot hot hot indian hot; (beef vindaloo)

its not hot;

if i go to kumas cafe at coopers plains, he does propper hots
i always ask for hot hot hot indian hot; (beef vindaloo)

Maybe you have to give them a wink or something.
This guy said its not supposed to be like a restaurant korma its traditional or some s***.

*shrug* Every Korma recipe I have ever seen has had coriander and cumin, plus some form of cream/yogurt (the last bit I assumed was westernisation ... but Indians do like the yogurts)

I mean when I order a korma I expect a mild to medium dish with cumin and coriander flavours and usually a thick almost creamy sauce. Maybe that's all these Indian restaurants trying to trick me with non traditional dishes. Next you'll be telling me saag dhal shouldn't have lentils or spinach!
PornoPete
I don't know the details of the traditions of Indian korma.

The guy said he learnt it in the north of India.

I do know that if you follow the recipe it's quite hot and tastes good but not like you would buy from punjabi palace who's korma is some top shelf s***.

blahnana and I nabbed some takeaway from punjabi palace today to suss it out, I rate it as fairly good
I rate it as fairly good

I'd rate it as fairly awesome.
nah it's definitely not awesome

Youve had better curry? tell me where, I must go there and eat it. Also, what did u get, I generaly only get the vindaloo, sometimes the butter chicken, been meaning to try the korma.
Prince of India (down Fairfield Road) is better than Punjabi Palace for Hot Chicken Vindaloo imo. I don't mind the Punjabi vindaloo though, and they deliver to Annerley for $5 (cheaper than Pizza Hut down the road, luls).
id probably rate my local as good as punjabi, if only for doing hot better

kumas cafe at coopers plains!

kuma is awesome!
Youve had better curry? tell me where, I must go there and eat it. Also, what did u get, I generaly only get the vindaloo, sometimes the butter chicken, been meaning to try the korma.

yeah I've had better curry at southern spice at upper mt. gravatt before it changed hands (it's not as good now), a night in india at toowong and today in india at maroochydore, as far as local outfits go. I've also had better curry in sydney and melbourne before. and my wife's curries are getting reeeeally good too

I'll definitely go back there again for a mid-week lunch curry fix cos a night in india is only open for lunch on fridays, and I'll try some of their other curries

I had rogan josh and a peshwari naan
Taj Mahal on Brunswick St is awesome. Never tried Punjubi Palace though.
a night in india at toowong

OK, thanks, I work in toowong, ill try them and report back, you know if they open for lunch?
Does a night in india do a decent vindaloo? I still haven't tried anything from there yet (milton sux).
night in india toowong has gone down hill big time since they opened their 2nd joint across town. All the good chefs must have moved over to the new one. Punjabi Palace is much better.
they're open for lunch on fridays

I don't eat that many vindaloo's so I dunno how theirs rates comparatively. I've had it a couple of times and thought it was fairly tasty and had interesting flavours but I don't like it as much as the southern style curries
Taj Mahal on Brunswick St is awesome.

yup! that's my regular place for good currys... opposite the brunswick hotel. i'm not a super-hot curry person myself but i love the indian flavours :D you gotta get a decent group together (about 6 is perfect) so you can sample all the dishs n get all the awesome indian condiments like naan, rotis, raita, samosas, pekoras, chutneys & the like... orrrjeh! :D years ago they had a grotty little back room that i guess was for overflow if the main room filled up... my mates & i would ask if we could eat in there coz not only is it totally private then... it's grotty & reminds us of when we were in india! :D

punjabi palace is good too imo but i've only been there like twice... i've been to the taj about 100 times :P

(edit) & that recipe looks damn tasty pornopete! :D

last edited by demon at 14:18:37 23/Jun/09
yeh totally agree about condiments

well I went back over to punjabi palace today and grabbed a vindaloo, it's quite nice compared to their rogan josh

shame it's such a bitch to get to from indooroopilly otherwise I could easily make a daily habit of this :)
Clubby
delivery is your friend!~

Brisbane City 5.50

between a few people is nothing (this also helps with the min order of $25 for delivery) ô¿ô

last edited by Clubby at 13:26:46 24/Jun/09
yeh true I saw delivery on their site and forgot to suss it out

kumas cafe at coopers plains!

They are 5 mins from me, another good reason to be on the south side. The guy who owns it is a champ and is always trying to give you free stuff.
The guy who owns it is a champ and is always trying to give you free stuff.

kuma is awesome, obviously unless you work for him;

everytime we go in there, hes yelling at his poor kitchen staff

and yer, hes unreal for giving out free stuff!
so today we got a bunch of people and phoned in a delivery order to punjabi palace at 11:30am, supposed to be delivered at 12:30

it's now 1:30 and it's still not here - fail
No soup for you!
heh it turned up just after that post and asif 1 hour late wasn't bad enough, it wasn't labelled at all so there was another 10 minute guessing game working out which was which :)
we never order in, we just order ahead for authentic sitting in indian restaraunt experience

they dont even roll their eyes when we rock up with our carton anymore!
Clubby
Yeah but was it good? :)

I don't think we've had too many issues with either of those although granted sometimes it is 5-10mins late.
yeh it was good =]

spook it wouldn't be very authentic if they rolled their eyes at you - rocking up with a carton is the customary thing in india
its unaustralian to not have curry on friday
f*** you all, I was so dreaming of curry today, but had f***en mcdonalds instead, didnt have time to go over to punjabi.

I've never bothered with the delivery, just order at least 30 mins before then go pick it up.
well that's what I did on tuesday and wednesday
then someone suggested delivery, so I gave it a go
We've gotten delivery from there twice now. It's never been on time, but never that late either. It's okay if you're being super lazy and don't really mind when it turns up.
What do they charge for delivery?
It's pretty cheap, only $5 to get it delivered to Annerley. Cheaper than Pizza Hut or Dominos!
Clubby
Delivery
Ok so I had vindaloo from a night in india for lunch today, it wasnt the worst curry i've had, but no where near punjabi palace quality. I dont know if its because im just used to punjabi palace, but this just wasnt the same, rice wasnt as good, the acutal curry had some weird flavour in it.

Ill stick to punjabi palace.
sounds like you're used to less flavoursome/spicy western-ised curries, so that's probably a good idea

I had punjabi palace 3 times last week and going back to a night in india today was a treat, apart from the lame way they chuck their chicken in. that part punjabi palace beat them in cos 2 times out of 3 they had nicely saturated chicken in theirs.
sounds like you're used to less flavoursome/spicy western-ised curries, so that's probably a good idea

I dont know about that, I reckon punjabi is more flavoursome/spicy, at least with the vindaloo.

punjubi palace is fairly good but it's not all that
Clubby
It's definately one of the better indian food joints around Brisbane.
Any recipe that requires more than 2 or 3 really f***ing obscure ingredients, in really small amounts, is fail.

Turmeric ½ teaspoon.
Mustard oil 4 teaspoon.
Red chilies whole 8 nos.
Mustard seeds 1 tsp.
Cloves 5 nos.
Asafoetida A pinch
Red chili powder 1 tsp.
Cumin seed 1 tsp.
Kalonji 1 tsp. (black cumin oil) or onion seeds.
Jaggari (brown) 25 gms. (sugar) this is some sort of cane sugar block

Unless you have a few recipes that use those things.
that's not actually true unless you care less about the taste and flavour of the resulting food than you do about the convenience of acquiring and using all of the ingredients you need before they go out of date

if so, might as well just go to coles for some pataks
i tried lazy mans curry last week: pataks. it wasn't bad but nothing like the real thing.
well you aren't gonna pay 5 bucks for a jar of spice that you'll only use 1 tsp of, and if you are... well then that is a bit disgusting, there are people who can't afford noodles for their kids, and you're throwing away exotic spices...
Sounds good pete, but needs photos
maybe not, but that doesn't mean the recipe fails

and practically everyone can afford noodles for their kids if they make the right choices (such as which supermarket they shop at, or whether they let the local militia rape them causing them to have kids in the first place). additionally, whether or not I throw away $5 of exotic spices has little bearing on whether or not someone can't afford noodles for their kids _unless_ they know how to make noodles out of exotic spices
I half agree with you thermite, some recipes I have come across have annoying niggly little f***ing amounts of s*** you've never heard of, and in subsequent sessions I have left them out with no discernible difference in taste, but having said that some things, esp spices, can have a big effect in small qty's
Yeah I can tolerate a few such ingredients, but when there are 10 ingredients I would have trouble even finding in the shop, it starts to become impractical for the home cook, living in apartment with no pantry, and for people who don't cook much that can be very discouraging.
Kilos
I've had A Night in India, and I still rate Sitar's korma and vindaloo a lot higher than I would A Night in India's. I haven't tried Punjabi Palace, but Sitar's korma/vinda is consistently f***ing brilliant in my books.
well you aren't gonna pay 5 bucks for a jar of spice that you'll only use 1 tsp of, and if you are... well then that is a bit disgusting, there are people who can't afford noodles for their kids, and you're throwing away exotic spices...
...what?

you're meant to use the whole thing btw (which we did)
We need some sort of secret squirell way of recognising other QGL members, probably walked right passed you guys at the indian place today. Dont the freemasons have a ring or something that they show to get discounts and special treatment.

Anyway, night in india bad, punjabi palace good. Making your own curry at home, seems to be hit and miss for me the 3 tims ive tried.
yeah I'm with greazy pataks for the for the lazy win!
viper ask them if they have seen kat.zip

just make sure its not kathleen youre asking
nah punjabi palace isn't better than a night in india
once you gain some experience in taste you'll understand

you should keep trying to make your own curries, that'll help speed up the process - you're basically a huge curry nub if you've only made 3

last edited by Jim at 01:06:54 04/Jul/09