As you have noticed, we are still having some issues organising our next event. The sole problem at the moment is venue - ANZ is undergoing extensive work and is out of the question. Chandler, our next choice, is unavailable during the coming weeks. We are currently looking for a venue, but have decided to enlist the help of the QGL community. We are offering a $200 bounty for a suitable venue, available in the next month (preferably on the 16th/17th of August). We require a lot of power, air conditioning is preferable, with free parking. Ludicrously expensive places like the Brisbane Convention Centre are out of the question. Unless, of course, you're willing to sponsor such an event (interested parties/companies should email qgl@qgl.org for sponsorship opportunities). What we require as an entry - the name and location of the venue, contact details for the venue, and a description (if possible). The first person to submit a venue that we end up choosing for the LAN will score a phat $200 (if two people submit the same venue, whoever mails it first as picked up by our mail server will win). Submissions must be emailed to qgl@qgl.org. Emails to any individual QGL Admin will be ignored. Entries close on Friday, 25th July (this coming Friday). We have a few places that we're currently investigating - this competition isn't an attempt to sit back and do nothing while everyone else looks for us, but rather an attempt to take advantage of the large number of QGL-goers in the hope that one of them knows a great venue or has some neat contacts that can swing us a great deal. |
| #0 12:56pm 22/07/03 |
Stupid comments will be deleted and accounts banned, so try and restrain yourself
| #1 12:46pm 22/07/03 |
I don't have any details on who to contact, but the Buffalo Club down the valley have a function room that we used to use for D&D meetings in the 80's, which used to be attended by 100+ peoples. Additionally the Valley Plaza (where the train station is) has vast expanses of empty space above their shops, perhaps they could accomodate you. And , most schools and Uni's have auditoriums that can be rented.
Finally, perhaps a smaller number this time, 200-300 would be easier to find a room to accomodate than the usual 400+. |
| #2 12:57pm 22/07/03 |
Splat
what about the griffith uni sports hall up right next to anz? it will easily fit 500 ill find out who to contact to rent it when i go back
| #3 01:08pm 22/07/03 |
i was going to mention Lang Park but remembered its got next to no parking :/
| #4 01:11pm 22/07/03 |
you could try the nudgee college's bingo hall. no idea who to call and can't be bothered making an international call either.
or we attempt to relive the good old days at yeronga :P |
| #5 01:27pm 22/07/03 |
Sparky
Is parking really an issue? Don't most of you get dropped off anyway?
| #6 01:28pm 22/07/03 |
i dunno, never really been to one as i've just moved down to brisbane.
just when looking at past pictures there always seems to be lots of cars parked around the place.. |
| #7 01:32pm 22/07/03 |
Is parking really an issue? Don't most of you get dropped off anyway? could u imagine for instance, having it at festival hall, no parking, and 300 cars lining up to drop off laners would create a taffic jam for hours, these are the kind of problems of events this size. |
| #8 01:33pm 22/07/03 |
what about city hall?
king george square carpark..? |
| #9 01:47pm 22/07/03 |
I was thinking and came up with a few ideas, as well as pros and cons on each location.
Sheraton / Hilton Hotels Pros: - Pretty good location (central) - Would have space - Sortof cost effective (eg about $2000 I believe to hire out a hall, not sure what you guys class as expensive) - Air Conditioned - Power should be OK Cons: - Parking, probably little to no parking on site and dropoff would be a bit dodgy - Time for bookings? Not sure how far out in advance these guys are usually booked - Possible power concerns - Logistics (moving gear in/out) UQ or QUT Hall or Lecture room was another idea I had but not sure how you'd go about organsing it and getting access to it. Perhaps even a TAFE college, they usually hire out their rooms to people who want them, they're air conditioned too - perpahs Ithaca TAFE at red hill? Parking would be no problem (street and two carparks available) and I'm sure there'd be enough power If I think of any more I'll post them. |
| #10 01:49pm 22/07/03 |
CodeBasher
I guess the Brisbane Entertainment Centre is too Expensive / unsiutable?
oh well just in case... "Queensland's only fully airconditioned community sport complex. It is a state of the art multi-purpose 5-Court indoor sports facility located adjacent to the Entertainment Centre. The Sports Centre is available for hire for Basketball; Netball; Volleyball, Indoor Soccer; Badminton, and a range of indoor sporting activities" Contact: 07 3265 8208 |
| #11 02:14pm 22/07/03 |
CodeBasher
last of my dumb suggestions:
Dreamworld has a number of 400 seat or a single 1250 seat "banquet" style auditoriums available. Phone: (07) 5588 1111 Fax: (07) 5588 1108 details http://www.brisbanemarketing.com.au/meet/facility_details.asp?Member_ID=100 |
| #12 02:19pm 22/07/03 |
CaPt0
Fish unfortunately bingo is on Saturday night's at Nudgee :( it will bring in more money than qgl unfortunately and they won't cancel.
Also the McKenneary centre at nudgee is used by sports on weekends and is impossible to wbook for a weekend this close to the date. |
| #13 02:19pm 22/07/03 |
t[yp|py][o|i]demon
Is parking really an issue? Don't most of you get dropped off anyway? A large percentage of QGL members drive themselves there. Even more importantly the Admins drive themselves and all the LAN gear there. |
| #14 02:48pm 22/07/03 |
Whilst Dreamworld and BEC might be good places, they are also on the polar reaches of SEQ. I'd imagine they'd be looking for something as neutral to the city location as possible, but with allowances for southside bias.
| #15 03:18pm 22/07/03 |
what about the griffith uni sports hall up right next to anz? it will easily fit 500 ill find out who to contact to rent it when i go backjosh, no way in hell you can fit 500 people in that hall. I went to play indoor soccer with my bro, and i saw it, its small!. All i can really think off is the Mt gravatt high school hall, like 5 mins drive from anz staduim. Holds around 550 people, has no air con though(large seiling fans?), and pretty sure they have chairs, so you will only need to hire the tables etc. cost i have no idea, i'll try and get some outside photos. School web site with contact numbers. EDIT: if this is a winner keep your money, i just want a qgl lan :( EDIT2. email sent :P |
| #16 03:47pm 22/07/03 |
hey, what about hibiscus sport centre on klump road, just down the road from ANZ;
they got oodles of room, dunno how ud go hiring some of their space, especiallyon the weekend; heaps of parking good location n that; |
| #17 03:58pm 22/07/03 |
caw
yes gg mongie, king george square parking isnt free. in fact it would cost more to park there then to get into qgl.
| #18 03:58pm 22/07/03 |
If you have suggestions, email them to qgl@qgl.org. An email sent to qgl@qgl.org is infinitely more useful to us so we dont have to keep checking the thread. Also, you wont qualify unless you've sent your suggestion as an email.
| #19 04:01pm 22/07/03 |
how long is anz goin 2 b out of the question?
| #20 04:12pm 22/07/03 |
reversal
If ya's get that desperate, try showground halls etc?
School halls? I'm sure qld would have some sort of halls where karate and other s*** is held that you's could hire out? |
| #21 04:14pm 22/07/03 |
how long is anz goin 2 b out of the question?We were told 6 months |
| #22 04:22pm 22/07/03 |
skz
yeah the ekka grounds has many facilities some airconnnned, i went to the tafe and uni expo the other day in a larg room there.. probly a s***lod to rent out tho :P
| #23 04:26pm 22/07/03 |
Theres a problem with the ekka facilities, the ekka is on :)
| #24 04:42pm 22/07/03 |
What Khel said.
Basically we've ruled out Ekka grounds, ANZ and chandler as trog said in the post, Suncorp Stadium (hello parking?), and Mt Gravatt High School (not big enough, laughable power supply). Nudgee Bingo hall has also been ruled out due to bingo being run there often, and possibly size. |
| #25 04:47pm 22/07/03 |
KappA
Could have it at RNA on the 23rd-24th of August. you could have it in the Exhibition Building - Upper Level. i went there for the ts expo and it looks pretty class. linky - http://www.rnashowgrounds.com.au/Venues/ExhibitionBlding/ExhibBld_Upper.htm
its got floor plans and details on the site. EDIT: doesn't look good - 23rd-24th APTA Stamp and Coin Show (thats only a prob if it gets held in the exhibition building) |
| #26 04:53pm 22/07/03 |
Eclipsor
Brisbane entertainment centre is about 2 minutes from nudgee bingo hall. it's no further from the city than ANZ because u can take the gateway motorway to get there. They have a s***e load of parking. I will talk to someone on wednesday night about cost etc...
| #27 04:50pm 22/07/03 |
ggb
Are venues on the Gold Coast an option?
If so, there is the Carrara Stadium that has a basketball hall similar to ANZ and there is easily sufficient parking. Just a thought :] |
| #28 04:51pm 22/07/03 |
Yarden
I have nfi why I was logged in as ggb but that was me ^^
| #29 04:53pm 22/07/03 |
Saint: this a brand new spanking hall, and most off the school activities is done there. 550 people in that hall don't mean they are all squashed. 550 people and the hall has alot more space still... you really need to see it in person..
| #30 04:55pm 22/07/03 |
12inch
is there any huge schools which have massive halls which we could hire...
also ya gotta think about the vast amount of ppl on the north side dont go too far south other wise lesser ppl will rock up |
| #31 05:03pm 22/07/03 |
Suhaib: It has nowhere near the power requirements we need though.
Also, with regards to RNA, 23rd and 24th is too late, 16th/17th is the latest we can do it. |
| #32 05:12pm 22/07/03 |
How about the logan entertainment centre...?
Khel, you did something there didnt you? I'd say its pretty nice inside, its brand new.. also.. according to their calendar, they have nothing booked in august. Linky |
| #33 05:27pm 22/07/03 |
KappA
That looks nice mongie. Does anyone have a prive for the Convention Centre or are you's assuming it would cost too much. It would be sooo class there. and parking wouldn't be expensive if you r hiring part of the centre, besides, most ppl car pool to qgl. anyway im just curious of the price at bcc.
| #34 05:41pm 22/07/03 |
$9999999999999999999999999999999.01
| #35 05:44pm 22/07/03 |
Suhaib: It has nowhere near the power requirements we need though.How do you know this? |
| #36 05:45pm 22/07/03 |
Sancho
some of the convention centre rooms would probly be booked out for school formals at this time of year so that might also be a bit of a worry
| #37 05:45pm 22/07/03 |
How do you know this? Because Mantra rang them up and asked. Thats generally a good indicator. |
| #38 06:04pm 22/07/03 |
ok fair enough, damn that would have awesome, its 5 houses away from my place.
| #39 06:08pm 22/07/03 |
Splat
Does anyone have a prive for the Convention Centreyou dont wanna know how much.. i work there and it is a bucketload. power is fine tho and networking as they have gigabit backbone plus uncapped optic lines direct to telstra in the city (runs under the river) so eerythin apart from the cost is perfect |
| #40 07:04pm 22/07/03 |
skz
i would pay an extra 5$ or something for the lan
5x500 $$$ extra im sure it would reqiure alot more extra on top of the 25$ |
| #41 07:20pm 22/07/03 |
i've heard people say $10,000 per day, although thats probably not true...
| #42 07:23pm 22/07/03 |
Excruci@ting
What about the bigbrother house, I hear you can hire that out now :P haha. Don't ban me :) Shame about lack of locations :( Was considering this LAN.
On a serious note, Sheraton / Hilton Hotels sounds like that it might be a good idea? |
| #43 08:33pm 22/07/03 |
what's wrong with the old Yeronga Hall? it's not like ya need aircon this time of year.
sure the parking could be better but hey - first in best dressed eh ;) |
| #44 08:40pm 22/07/03 |
Boffiend
What about the UQ exhibition hall in the new UQ centre? It's absolutely huge, so tables could be spread out better and you could actually walk down rows without squeezing between 2 gamers and copping rage after causing their deaths from bumping their mousing hands.
I think it's also fairly cheap for UQ students to book the rooms there. Although METROLAN only booked a small room, it was still very cheap (<$200 for 2 days) There's an oval right there for people to have a walk and a bit of a stretch on, or maybe kick a footy around to get away from the computer for 5 minutes, and it has on-site food sources such as the red room and pizza cafe. There is also undercover parking under the venue, as well as extra parking outside. And it's closer to my house :P |
| #45 08:50pm 22/07/03 |
Fishwick
doesnt it only house like 300 or something? my school hall could just about do that, but then id be forced to lay the smackdown on these grade 11 nerds that s*** me off
| #46 08:50pm 22/07/03 |
Boffiend
well the exams in there that we have take 600 well-spaced desks, also with heaps of left-over space. I'm not sure, but I'd hazard a guess at saying that it's considerably bigger than the old venue
| #47 09:01pm 22/07/03 |
Gregory
what about the Cleveland Community hall. I went to a lan there a few years ago its big and has a stage and a canteen area and has toilets and what not
| #48 09:20pm 22/07/03 |
the hall that they had churchielan at, Morris Hall at Churchie was pretty big, maybe you should look into that
| #49 09:28pm 22/07/03 |
KappA
Yeh i would pay more than $25 if it was held at the convention centre. You could even increase the number of ppl to 600?
| #50 09:44pm 22/07/03 |
skz
boff that hall sounds great
splat can you post the prices for hall hire of convention center.. cause a venue like that can atract alot of attention! more qgl peaple possibly expand the comunity |
| #51 10:29pm 22/07/03 |
jibb
I dont attend QGL lan but i will still make a suggestion - although im not too sure of the availability of the hall on weekends, but the BBC gym hall is f***ing massive and can be carpeted by the groundsmen, im not sure what kinda price theyd be asking but when i come to think of it the place would be perfect(not sure bout the power sources tho??) place is airconditioned EXTREMUS and the school has adequate chairs (more than enuff) but i could not tell you for sure what kind of price or time schedule bbc is working on(maybe indoor sports or some s*** on the weekends??)
B.B.C is at toowong and the parking is adequate(all round the place). If someone here goes to B.B.C(either than me) i suggest that itd be a good idea to talk to mr johnston (also school holidays in 6-8 weeks so the hall will be available almost 100% definately then) BUT back to the power sources- not sure what type of setup they have. I dont kno anyone here and i dont want any money so if someone wanna email this idea feel free. |
| #52 10:36pm 22/07/03 |
I found here
http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/community/facilities/city_hall/function_rooms/downloads.shtml hall from Brisbne, Hamiton, Ithaca, Kedron, Sherwood, Windsor, Balmoral. Pictures http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/community/facilities/city_hall/function_rooms/photo_gallery/index.shtml |
| #53 10:43pm 22/07/03 |
they include displays of halls.
| #54 10:41pm 22/07/03 |
another found here.
Central http://www.venuesonline.com.au/BrisbaneCentral.htm North West http://www.venuesonline.com.au/BrisbaneNW.htm North East http://www.venuesonline.com.au/BrisbaneNE.htm South West http://www.venuesonline.com.au/BrisbaneSW.htm South East http://www.venuesonline.com.au/BrisbaneSE.htm |
| #55 10:51pm 22/07/03 |
i've heard people say $10,000 per day, although thats probably not true... for a venue such as the BCEC, thats about right. we're not talking about a school hall to kick a ball around in here.... |
| #56 11:25pm 22/07/03 |
Parag0n
If the lan was decided to be somewhere classy like the Brisbane Entertainement Centre, I would be happy to pay at the most $100 for a 36 hour lan...
| #57 12:03am 23/07/03 |
Hmm, good timing :)
Im thinking this is gonna go QGL --> rave --> QGL --> home --> coffin!! :)~ Im gonna be f***ed... |
| #58 12:09am 23/07/03 |
Parag0n
OR WE COULD HAVE TEH QGL @ TEH FAMLILY MAENZ?~?!!!?!?
Go hemerage :D |
| #59 12:28am 23/07/03 |
NaBeL
hehehehe in a month or whatever im going to go there and see what all the fuss is about :P ..
IT BETTER BE GOOOD :P |
| #60 12:29am 23/07/03 |
DaFuGG
khel/mantra
can you give me some sort of vague phrase i can speak at the person that runs the hall to find out if their power setup is good enough? I have two possible venues but i have no idea what you need in terms of power |
| #61 01:09am 23/07/03 |
DaFugg...
either find one of them on #ausgamers, or probably the best idea is just to e-mail it to them, and mention the fact that you're not sure about how much power is available. They're ringing suitable places anyway, so they can ask... |
| #62 08:46am 23/07/03 |
can you give me some sort of vague phrase i can speak at the person that runs the hall to find out if their power setup is good enough? A good average to go by is 1amp for each computer, so for a 400 person lan we'd need a venue that has 400 amps of power coming into it. If it does, it will probably be 3 phase, so checking out whether they have their own 3 phase distro boards or whether we would have to hire our own is good to know too. |
| #63 10:58am 23/07/03 |
Draxy
Logan City Entertainment Centre.
They have aircon, 1000 car spaces, pool, maccas, kfc, library, football field, PCYC, HUGE HALL. And they held a lan there before. Contact the Council (located right beside the venue on Wembley Road Woodridge) to organise it. |
| #64 11:55am 23/07/03 |
^^ But its at LOGAN :P
Hmm, good timing :) :D~~~~~~~~ Thatd f***in ROCK. Noone laugh at our glowsticks k? :P |
| #65 12:43pm 23/07/03 |
Splat
^^^ do that
---- ok for all the people who want convention center. Forget about it. you will be paying close to 70 bucks a head for entry. Last year i was workin with a group of guys to hold a 1000 player lan in 2 of thehalls there. we worked all the finances out because qith that amount of people you can spread it out pretty well. convention center is completly out of the question tho. The only tables they have are 10 seater round ones used for dinners and you are lookin at a bucketload to rent it out. i suggest get a hall of some sort, logan one sounds pretty good |
| #66 12:45pm 23/07/03 |
kRaM0
CHANDLER SPORTING COMPLEX.
EASY you almost had that sorted last time.. contact josh marrien and or his dad. monkey_wrench@hotmail.com its quite a good venue and he said if you bargan them down you should get it for less than wat they asked .. beacuse of initial price. or contact me. krd05@hotmail.com |
| #67 12:45pm 23/07/03 |
Splat
read the first post. Chandler is out of the question
| #68 12:52pm 23/07/03 |
Chandler isn't available on the dates we needed.
| #69 01:39pm 23/07/03 |
Parag0n
ok for all the people who want convention center. Forget about it. you will be paying close to 70 bucks a head for entry. I would be happy to pay that much for 36 hours of lanning ! |
| #70 02:39pm 23/07/03 |
most wouldnt be....70 is ALOT especially when you have to bring your own computer.
| #71 02:46pm 23/07/03 |
exiieee
70 is alotta blings :|
| #72 03:05pm 23/07/03 |
Convention centre isn't available anyway, you have to book months in advance for something like the convention centre, you can't just ring them up and say "Hey, we want to hire out 1000 square metres of space, and we want it in a couple of weeks, kthxbi".
| #73 03:23pm 23/07/03 |
can anybody actually read? just wondering because the admins seem to be repeating their posts over and over again :/
| #74 03:29pm 23/07/03 |
Boffiend
Sure qgl is good, but I wouldn't pay $70 for it!
| #75 03:39pm 23/07/03 |
Splat
if you ever did wanna investigate the convention center then ill talk to them for you, i can get a discount cus i work there which should add up to quite a bit.. 70 bucks is a number i pulled outa my ass.. it would and could be anything..but i know it costs a heap
but anyway.. . logan entertainment center .. someone call them ! |
| #76 03:47pm 23/07/03 |
I dunno if id feel like paying anything over $30
$25s a nice number ... anything more, and ive got better things i could spend it on |
| #77 03:59pm 23/07/03 |
HAHAHAHA ^ 8O
| #78 04:17pm 23/07/03 |
linkin
oh well if its at the hilton, we are hired rooms for the nite.
| #79 04:34pm 23/07/03 |
sif sleep!!
but lets not start this discussion again :D |
| #80 04:57pm 23/07/03 |
Splat
ETC FREAKS
| #81 05:51pm 23/07/03 |
Meatman
does qgl have to be in brisbane?
if not, why not the gold coast international hotel where GameServe SEIGE is. I dunno if it could hold 500 ppl though :\ |
| #82 05:59pm 23/07/03 |
Boffiend
If you move it out of Brisbane, I'd be willing to bet that you'd lose a lot of the people who usually attend
| #83 06:14pm 23/07/03 |
Splat
ah huh.. josh thinks so too.
trogdor are there many emails coming in ? |
| #84 06:31pm 23/07/03 |
Theres been heaps of emails so far, and we're following up on a few of them (a lot of them have been ruled out due to issues with cost, power and availibility). Keep em coming though, we haven't made any decisions yet.
| #85 06:38pm 23/07/03 |
Is anyone else as exited as i am about a prospect QGL? :D (damn im sad:P)
Or a qgl - clubbin - qgl would be even BETTER :D |
| #86 07:25pm 23/07/03 |
hell yes i am! i've been lurking these forums for 2 years now and now that i've moved to brisbane its LAN time :)
| #87 07:43pm 23/07/03 |
thrax
Perhaps even a TAFE college, they usually hire out their rooms to people who want them, they're air conditioned too - perpahs Ithaca TAFE at red hill? Parking would be no problem (street and two carparks available) and I'm sure there'd be enough power The Craftier at ITHCAC is massive you can actual open the divider between it and the student reck room, you could fit 500 people in there easy, I think the total size would be about the same size as ANZ come to think of it. Plus there canteen is cheep for food too :)~ |
| #88 07:49pm 23/07/03 |
Its good idea for qgl lan
-lan for 2 days. -nice halls -need sleep on lan's hotel like hilton or somwhere... like Gameserve do on 2 day lans. wants the better one then worst like anz. |
| #89 07:55pm 23/07/03 |
skz
its good we have got the abbl rolling tho props to qgl staff! i rkn it wont take long for our venue to arive!@!
| #90 08:57pm 23/07/03 |
admins own, cept for mantra haha
| #91 09:00pm 23/07/03 |
Draxy
Ok, just thought I'd give more details on the Logan Entertainment Centre.
It is located on Wembley Rd, near the Logan City Council Administration Centre and the Logan Art Gallery. Yes this is in woodridge, but its away from the general urban area, and there are security guards for the car parks available. But the car parks are all fully lit (and theres literally 1000s of spaces). And parking is all around the building, you won't have to carry the computer very far at all. There is a little shop you can pay to be operational for the duration of the event (but it may cost qgl admin too much to worry about). But not to worry, as Maccas, KFC, Hungry Jacks and a few kebab shops are located on the same road and very easy to get to. As for size/numbers of poeple it can hold, 200-300. And there is also a stage where admin can setup which would hold another 20-30. They held Render2003 there, and that was a 150 player event (although due to bad advertising not many people turned up), but shows that they can handle power I guess. Also, there was talk of patching the coucil's ADSL down to the hall, so they may be possible, but I have no idea on that. Talk to the council guys about it. One guy you might want to talk to is the guy who organised Render2003, he would know all about the costs involved in that venue and what to look out for. Id suggest asking him about demensions and pricing and staffing costs (security and shop staff if needed). His name is Brett Ross. I got his number here somewhere, Ill find it and post it in a little bit. Ok, this is the Digital Arts place where Brett Ross works, just ask for him by name and they should be able to get you in contact with him. (07) 3826 5228 Alternatively, give the logan city council a call to ask about the use of the entertainment centre, they would know pricing as well. Please don't judge the venue based on the fact it's in woodridge, go take a look at it before dismissing it. Hope that helps some. |
| #92 09:12pm 23/07/03 |
Boffiend
what's with all these logan suggestions. You may as well hold it at the gold coast if you're gonna hold it at logan. Somewhere is the best way to go IMO. Most of the people that attend qgl live in Brisbane, and hence you should tend to the majority.
| #93 09:09pm 23/07/03 |
Thanks for the info Draxy, however Mongie has already put us onto Logan Entertainment Centre.
Oh, and even if we end up going with Logan, Mongie won't win because he's won too much stuff out of us so far anyway.. sheesh! :) |
| #94 09:13pm 23/07/03 |
Draxy
Hmm, I think I'd be more happy with a venue in logan city than not having a venue at all =p
Pity about not winning =p But that brett guy could help you out alot. GIVE ME THE PRIZE! =p |
| #95 09:15pm 23/07/03 |
Can I just enquire.. Is the rush because of the wcg shiz that needs to be done b4 the nationals? (obiviously we need to be represented, how else are we gonna slaw those mexicans... :p)
| #96 09:24pm 23/07/03 |
Yes Boxhead.
| #97 09:27pm 23/07/03 |
Thank you Mantra...
| #98 09:30pm 23/07/03 |
hahah mantra
i am still waiting for MOH:AA |
| #99 09:34pm 23/07/03 |
the.essential
Although i have emailed a suggestion... *cough*
I was curious, if no sutiable venue can be found by the 25th, when will the QGL most likely be held again, around x-ams. I know its negative to talk about it :@, but in the case all hell breaks loose because of no QGL, i just want to know :D |
| #100 09:39pm 23/07/03 |
So what are the likely venues so far and who is wining ? hehe :D
| #101 10:16pm 23/07/03 |
ask gavmo to score you an aircraft hanger :D
10,000 sq/m and 100,000A should be enough yeh? :P |
| #102 10:20pm 23/07/03 |
skz
ahahha aircraft hanger would rawk
ahahha :P archerfield~~!! |
| #103 10:39pm 23/07/03 |
is it airconed?....;)
| #104 10:45pm 23/07/03 |
how AWESOME would an aircraft hanger be!!!
p.s NSW has lots of venues ;P |
| #105 11:07pm 23/07/03 |
how AWESOME would an aircraft hanger be!!! I imagine really f***ing hot... its just like a giant tin shed aint it, or does it have a ceiling and insulation? |
| #106 11:34pm 23/07/03 |
i dunno, ask gavmo! :P
| #107 11:59pm 23/07/03 |
dude its the MIDDLE OF WINTER!!
it won't be THAT hot... |
| #108 12:09am 24/07/03 |
DaFuGG
does the venue HAVE to be air conditioned? i may or may not be blind..
also.. aircraft hangars are cooler than you could possibly imagine during winter |
| #109 01:01am 24/07/03 |
epi.
I was curious, if no sutiable venue can be found by the 25th, when will the QGL most likely be held again, around x-ams. I know its negative to talk about it :@, but in the case all hell breaks loose because of no QGL, i just want to know :D |
| #110 09:34am 24/07/03 |
Jeffoz
ok i have had a look and i can'tfind anything place so i might as well ask it here.
when are u planning on having this thing (i.e date wise) also when it coems to an aircraft hanger it would be alright cause they would get a huge breeze through it as long as the doors and windows were open. also how about an open air lan :D serious like u would need tarps and stuff but like groups of people could bring their own and all sit together. course u would need to find a time with a good weather and little rain. |
| #111 07:23pm 24/07/03 |
Why don't we have it at ANZ? I hear they are finishing their renovations soon!
http://www.broncos.com.au/cp2/c3/webi/graphic/034587ae.jpg |
| #112 08:26pm 09/08/03 |
Gavmo
I imagine really f***ing hot... its just like a giant tin shed aint it, or does it have a ceiling and insulation?It actually maintains pretty much a constant temperature most of the year, unless the doors are open... then it gets really friggen cold in winter. I think BAC might object to 400 gamers wandering around the place though :D |
| #113 08:35pm 24/07/03 |
Trapper
Lets hold it at suhaib's place
| #114 08:48pm 24/07/03 |
lets not, i don't want 400 dirty stinky nerds in a 15mx15m room, cos its gonna get a whole lot gay!.
| #115 09:03pm 24/07/03 |
Fishwick
cos its gonna get a whole lot gay!. it being your room already qualifies it as being gay ;) |
| #116 09:39pm 24/07/03 |
bantumi
| #117 12:06am 25/07/03 |
the.essential
Probably a dodgey suggestion, but what if they cut down the available attendance to 400 ?. there wiuld be a lot more options for halls / centres that can hold 400 than 500-550.
| #118 08:34pm 25/07/03 |
Persay, you have to register on the website if you wanna go...
So if they cut it .. then its still first in best dressed like normal You dont just rock up Although, after 12pm on the day .... if ppl havent shown up .. you get their spots without having reg'ed |
| #119 08:48pm 25/07/03 |
tox
Bridgeman Downs Community Hall
| #120 08:59pm 25/07/03 |
[/GlitcH/]
How about the The Brisbane Botanic Gardens (Mount Coot-tha) auditorium?
I will try get a phone number for you guys.. EDIT: Its already booked for the 16/17th August. Damn Australian Sogetsu Teachers Association Inc |
| #121 10:34am 28/07/03 |
[/GlitcH/]
Brisbane Powerhouse Function Room?
To inquire about function room Call Powerhouse Admin on (07) 3358 8622. http://www.brisbanepowerhouse.org/01_about/09_venue_hire.htm |
| #122 10:39am 28/07/03 |
Moo
another suggestion is, I know there aren't that many rich people on here, but can everyone afford around $40?
if everyone was able to pay $40 for two nights, couldn't we look at a bigger budget place that could accomodate s***eloads of people? like for 550 people to turn up, all paying $40, that would mean the total takings would be $22000. that's a lot of munny. you should be able to hire somewhere decently sized with adequate power for that amount. then if there's extra needed for prizes and stuff, put the amount up to $42.50 or something which makes it $23375. I mean come on guys. you only get one full damned day of entertainment at dreamworld for $45! and it's not like you haven't had the time to save for this one anyway! Edit: and for all the po' bitches, surely you could perform oral sex on at least 3 people in the valley to raise that money... right? |
| #123 10:50pm 28/07/03 |
Darius
money donest ONLY go into venue dude ... there are other costs, and I doubt the average lan'er would pay 40
| #124 10:52pm 28/07/03 |
$40 is quite cheap for the amount of pr0n that inhabits qgl :D Come on we gotta find a place, money is nothing, qgl is everything.
| #125 11:07pm 28/07/03 |
Moo
then make it $45 each.
surely almost $25000 should cover a two day lan. if not, there's SERIOUSLY something wrong. |
| #126 11:16pm 28/07/03 |
KungFuCamel
its a reasonable price for the quality lans that qgl always run... i went to bdi in melbourne at the beginning of the year and that cost $75 at colonial stadium and that event was ass...
| #127 11:18pm 28/07/03 |
$40 is about a dollar an hour. (time spent at the lan)
That's f***ING cheap!! Tell me where else you can get 2 days entertainment for $40? and look at it this way, its only $40 every 6 months ;P |
| #128 11:18pm 28/07/03 |
Moo
and does only the average lanner want a QGL that badly? if so, then they should be willing to fork out a bit extra cash for the time being until they can get back into a stable priced venue.
| #129 11:19pm 28/07/03 |
[Q]
I reckon charge $25/day your at the lan.
$25 + $25 = $50 = nice round figure. I also think make people pay $10 sign up fee to use the QGL forums. Then with the money you earn from that you can pay for lans as well. (or help pay for lans, even an equipment maintainance fund...) The possibilities are endless and youd be making QGL forums a better place for it. |
| #130 11:35pm 28/07/03 |
tox
think of how many members it would lose
| #131 11:33pm 28/07/03 |
[Q]
Who gives a s***. Any member not willing to contribute to the community isnt a member worth having.
The team have to get money some how. They have a lot of s*** to do and getting a couple grand here and there would really help out. |
| #132 11:35pm 28/07/03 |
stay on target kiddies....
VENUES |
| #133 11:38pm 28/07/03 |
[Q]
The issue of money is a major factor to do with getting a venue. If the extra revenue from payed forums and from an increadsed entry fee to QGL existed then maybe we could hire somewhere like the convention center etc...
| #134 11:50pm 28/07/03 |
I'm not sure if the real estate agents would even consider asking their clients, but have you considered trying to use an empty warehouse for rent, somewhere?
I'm sure the offer of a few grand wouldn't go unnoticed for a property that is sitting there loosing money |
| #135 02:02am 29/07/03 |
$25 + $25 = $50 Thanks [Q] we were all having trouble with that one |
| #136 02:05am 29/07/03 |
=-Firefrog-=
So have we had any luck picking a venue yet admins? Just curious :)
| #137 02:10am 29/07/03 |
[Q]
Thanks [Q] we were all having trouble with that oneYou dont carry BS like this to another thread where people are making serious suggestions. Some threads you do, threads trying to save QGL you just done. Other threads that arent as serious, maybe, this one just dont. |
| #138 02:13am 29/07/03 |
Just a harmless joke, dont take it to heart. loosen up a bit have a laugh every now and then...geez!
| #139 02:15am 29/07/03 |
sn00p
Just reading over some of the posts, i live in logan and i have no problems with it. The logan entertainment center looks like a great option. Its easy to get to, and so many shops around. Draxy, nice choice there bud, put woodridge back on the map ( unfortuntly, it is a s*** hole )
| #140 04:34am 30/07/03 |
nec0
What about like a school hall? they have some decent space .. most even have chairs and stuff .. including a stage .. like for admin's area .. and well .. duh school's arent open on weekends .. and public schools are always looking for ways to make money .. so y not ask a school for a hall?
| #141 10:43am 31/07/03 |
t[yp|py][o|i]demon
What about like a school hall? they have some decent space .. most even have chairs and stuff .. including a stage .. like for admin's area .. and well .. duh school's arent open on weekends .. and public schools are always looking for ways to make money .. so y not ask a school for a hall? QGLs (previously knowen as Regen) used to run at school halls. The main problem with most school halls is that after a couple of hundred people + computers + large monitors + Tables + Chairs you can't fit that many people. Secondary problems start listing items like not enough power for the amount of computers/monitors (QGL/Regen used to hire a generator to cope with the constant power issues). People complain about the power not being stable at ANZ, when in reality it is by far the best power solution that QGL has ever had, downsizing to a school venue which was never designed for massive power constraints (maybe just some lights for a school play or two) isn't normaly enough. |
| #142 12:21pm 31/07/03 |
QGLADMINSEATCOCK
i'd like to say that i hate to do this, but alas i dont, as this will prob be my last post ever on qgl here goes.
As a member of the griffith uni staff, i was able to locate a venue on the right date, big enough, with enough power and also at 1/2 price cause i am staff. But alas i was banned 2 weeks ago for no real reason at all, and as a result have since decided that $200 dollars isnt really that much money that i really care to give QGL this oppurtunity. I have also now spoken to the people in charge of venue management and booking to make sure that none of the griffith site will be available to qgl hire. I guess all that is left to say is, good luck finding a place, not. and also "think a little about your banning and locking threads in the future. u will not be able to use griffith site for 4,974,648 days In other news, I really love the cock. |
| #143 02:51pm 04/08/03 |
all i can say is that if u have gone to those measures you would be without a doubt the most immature person on these forums. have a s*** life.
| #144 06:19pm 02/08/03 |
epi.
any progress on the venue hunt? i hope so :) unfortunately i dont know of anywhere that you could hold an event :( maybe a lecture theater or something could be used, i was at UQ on friday and they had a MASSIVE basketball court area that easily would have been bigger than ANZ including a huge number of removable seats in a stadium thingy, would that hall at UQ be of any use?
I would assume that it would have enough power as the university is MASSIVE, but i spose if it is a basketball court it would be used for basketball on weekends, might be worth a try though? |
| #145 06:24pm 02/08/03 |
Tooheys thats some cold s***... don't even post here no more. even though qgl might not be held at that location its still a pretty jewish thing to do. you know you could have gotten over it? i was banned for a week, and i didn't go fly a 747 into trog's. get over the ban like i did, and i thought it was a lesson for me, not to be a dick on the forums no more.
p.s you are immature. |
| #146 06:30pm 02/08/03 |
comm.
TISSUES TISSUE TISSUES
Have a cry ... you probably deserved it |
| #147 06:32pm 02/08/03 |
I have also now spoken to the people in charge of venue management and booking to make sure that none of the griffith site will be available to qgl hire That was an exceedingly immature thing to do. Honestly, you got THAT worked up over a temporary ban? You really ought to be able to take a little slap on the wrist without having to resort to such petty actions. |
| #148 06:32pm 02/08/03 |
oh yeah i also had my account deleted.. DID I FLY A 747 INTO THE QGL ADMINS?
| #149 06:34pm 02/08/03 |
even though qgl might not be held at that location its still a pretty jewish thing to dohahahahaha nice. Also, Tooheys, that's a keeper Tooheys.doc How did you make them not hire to QGL? THEY BANNED ME FROM INTARWEB FORUM I HOLD GRUDGE? |
| #150 06:41pm 02/08/03 |
Parag0n
Suhaib had a 10,000 post count as well :(
| #151 06:41pm 02/08/03 |
comm.
But cheated from like 4k onwards
+60 posts per post |
| #152 06:43pm 02/08/03 |
it was 12thousand something as i remember :P
edit: i'm over this post count thing, but i had around 6k you knob! so i flew my way up to 12k :P |
| #153 06:46pm 02/08/03 |
shrapse
our school gym has three phase power, but would only fit 200 comfortably, maybe a few more
| #154 07:23pm 02/08/03 |
Advagadza
not sure of numbers/cost/power etc but here's some ideas:
--> Rydges South Bank - Conference / Function Facilities --> Queensland Performing Arts Complex (Southbank) - Studio's 1 & 2. --> Lions Club Function Room (Gabba) --> The Greek Club/Convention Centre (West End) --> Boggo Rd Jail (not sure if it is sheltered though) cya |
| #155 12:40am 03/08/03 |
thrax
oh well this is pretty much a long shot.
Kedron Wavell Serivces Club
http://www.kedron-wavell.com.au/functions Online FUNCTIONS ENQUIRY FORM. I talked to one of the dudes there, and they said for the amount of people and equipment they might allow the service doors to be accessable for easy access from the lower carpark. |
| #156 05:12am 03/08/03 |
Parag0n
That would be an awesome venue thrax..
| #157 05:23am 03/08/03 |
shrapse
Yep that venue looks good alright, even tho it's 40 mins away from me, it still looks very nice
| #158 07:44am 03/08/03 |
bobbly_bob
Yeah, UQ theatre apparently has a maximum seated capacity of 1100 people. If that aint enough room then good luck finding somewhere in budget that is bigger.
I'm fairly sure though that you wouldn't be able to use any university lecture halls, only entertainment halls; pretty sure Unions don't like their use by private organisations. Oh, and btw, catered overnight use of a hall at exhibition centre is apparently around the $38g point, so if you get say 500 people you need $76 a head just to cover the venue |
| #159 02:34pm 03/08/03 |
what about minus food? :D
| #160 08:40pm 03/08/03 |
bantumi
how about we all bring our own 'Tooheys is a f***head' signs...
kedron rsl sounds good... what about australian catholic uni? |
| #161 09:13pm 03/08/03 |
Gregory
I hope u get hit by a car toohey u immature tard . By the way cant wait for the lan. Exhibition would be awesome except for price
| #162 11:01pm 03/08/03 |
Thats very immature Tooheys. Build a bridge and get over it ?
oh yeah i also had my account deleted.. DID I FLY A 747 INTO THE QGL ADMINS? f*** me that made my day. Thats the funniest s*** I have read for a while. |
| #163 11:37pm 03/08/03 |
t[yp|py][o|i]demon
But alas i was banned 2 weeks ago for no real reason at all, and as a result have since decided that $200 dollars isnt really that much money that i really care to give QGL this oppurtunity. I have also now spoken to the people in charge of venue management and booking to make sure that none of the griffith site will be available to qgl hire. Wow way to prove that you are better than the admins ... by being even more petty than they where supposed to be. |
| #164 12:24am 04/08/03 |
I guess all that is left to say is, good luck finding a place, not. and also "think a little about your banning and locking threads in the future. u will not be able to use griffith site for 4,974,648 days This makes me wonder why we even bother. *sigh* We are almost at the point where we can say "QGL is go". We are awaiting liablity insurance confirmation, and therefore we don't want to confirm anything to you guys until it's confirmed for us. Thanks for all the suggestions, we really appreciate the help in tracking down a venue. If we didn't reply to your emails, it's because we were so busy ringing all of these places :) More news as soon as we have something to tell you for sure... |
| #165 12:17pm 04/08/03 |
Soooo... who was the smart cookie that win the prize? Anyone? or did you guys found a venue by yourself?
| #166 12:19pm 04/08/03 |
Until everything is confirmed, I don't want to say, but yes, if this goes through as planned, someone has won $200!! :)
| #167 12:22pm 04/08/03 |
your a cock toohey, i hope a bus runs you over so the whole of brisbane will be rid of your arsehole ways.
a one/two week ban from the QGL forums??, oh BOO HOO, have a good cry and get over it. |
| #168 12:38pm 04/08/03 |
But alas i was banned 2 weeks ago for no real reason at all, and as a result have since decided that $200 dollars isnt really that much money that i really care to give QGL this oppurtunity. I have also now spoken to the people in charge of venue management and booking to make sure that none of the griffith site will be available to qgl hire. s***, talk about burning your bridges. |
| #169 12:38pm 04/08/03 |
Hehe, thats funny, like we'd stoop low enough to have it at Griffith Uni.
| #170 02:47pm 04/08/03 |
I know lets have it at the Logan Entertainment Center ;)
| #171 02:52pm 04/08/03 |
Gumby, you owe us $200 ;)
| #172 03:44pm 04/08/03 |
^^ will Monopoly Money be OK.
| #173 03:46pm 04/08/03 |
Bargain Child
HAHAHA, that's the funniest - Since Tooheys is still perusing this thread to inspect the 'damage' he caused.
hahaha, TWO DAYS after your post a venue is announced. hahaha, eat a dick you cockswot. Way to not dent QGL's plans AT ALL. Perhaps you could cling to something like, "Well Griffith would have been better!", to stave off the reality of your horrible failure. hahaha |
| #174 04:06pm 04/08/03 |
what goes around comes around hey, gotta love it.
| #175 05:35pm 04/08/03 |
haha bargain child
| #176 05:39pm 04/08/03 |
Gregory
HAHAHA, that's the funniest - Since Tooheys is still perusing this thread to inspect the 'damage' he caused. Agreed Tooheys tried to f*** things up but didnt work. still hopefully he gets cancer in the ass |
| #177 07:01pm 04/08/03 |
b00n
cut sick maenz gregory
| #178 07:04pm 04/08/03 |