General Specific
All I can say is if anyone has seen this can you eplain what in s***s name its about??? man it was confusing
| #0 10:57pm 13/07/02 |
ah yes... David Lynch gets another one!
| #1 11:46pm 13/07/02 |
I was gonna see that tonight, or Rat Race, I saw Rat Race =)
| #2 12:22am 14/07/02 |
Heheh
Mulholland Drive is meant to be one weird-ass flick. Can't wait to watch it and see if I can understand what it's all about. |
| #3 12:30am 14/07/02 |
General_Specific
The only thing i understood where the lesbo porn scenes :P
| #4 12:45am 14/07/02 |
The only thing i understood where the lesbo porn scenes :P God Dammit! (Cartman Voice)... chose the wrong movie Nah, J/K... I decided to see Rat Race cause was in the mood for some humour... it was ok =) And when I saw Mullholland Drive it looked instantly confusing =) |
| #5 12:49am 14/07/02 |
Bad
ROFL
mullholland drive hahahha, if someone can explain it, i will give them a gold medal. but it was all worth it for the lesbo scene! |
| #6 04:35pm 14/07/02 |
treeoflife
**********Spoilers**********
I'm sure my understanding is completely correct but it does make sense. Very basic storyline is: Betty/Diane hired a hitman to kill her friend Rita/Camilla due to Rita being a good actress and/or being the director's favourite and/or relationship breakdown. She then kills herself and the dream reality (happy life with Rita and talented actress) continue in the afterlife-ish (or not). The first section of the movie is Betty's way of rationlising with what she has done and transpired. It is a dream. Characters appearing in the first half were characters she has met during the last few days etc. but with different names (dreamlike). She imagine herself as a talented actress who attempts to help a stranger/friend Rita. Rita is down and out, doesn't know her name, needs help, whereas Betty is talented and secure but in reality this is not so. The second section deals with the dream slowly interweaving with reality and you see the truth of what actually happened and who is actually who. Betty is not a good actor and instead Rita is successful/favoured. Betty gets angry and hires a hitman to kill Rita and when it happens Betty goes nuts as she comes to terms with what she has done. She then kils herself as she finally mentally breaks down. There are many clues that hint towards what really happened in 'reality' within the first dreamlike section. I'll just rattle off a few. To explain everything would take quite awhile. But the following are parts of the movie that hint towards reality and parts that people often don't get. Most are hints to figuring things out for yourself (the best part). - The director being pressured into picking rita as the main actress. - The director getting cheated on by his girlfriend. - The cowboy is like Betty/Diane's conscience/rationality/reality check. - The blue box represents the transition between reality and dream. - The key is the sign the hitman leaves to signal that Rita has been killed. - Towards the end of the theatre is when Betty slowly gets jolted into reality/out of the dream. - The parents/old people scenes represents Betty's guilt at not acheiving what she intended. - The Old Bag Lady is many things, perhaps the evil-ish thing inside of us that controls what we dream in relation to a lucid reality. Something which translates a tragedy into something more 'comfortable'. - Bumbling hitman scene represents what Betty thinks of the hitman in reality when she meets with him. If there is anything else that makes little sense I can try and explain it away :) This movie is very well constructed and does take a few viewings to understand. Once you understand that it is a dream though things fall into place nicely. It represents guilt, jealousy and dream to the tee. **********Spoiler End********* If one would bother to try and understand it, it will be very rewarding. It is not for everyone, especially those just out for straight entertainment. It's not just a jumbled mess as some think and it's a great example of the accumulation of Lynch's talents over the years. Hope it helps. |
| #7 10:36pm 14/07/02 |
Good stuff. I'm gonna grab it from work tomorrow and check it out.
The funny thing is most people I've spoken to at work have said they couldn't fully understand what was going on and then you get the film critics who most of wouldn't understand either, saying the film is a masterpiece. Mainly just jumping on the bandwagon. Empire magazine is famous for doing it. |
| #8 10:31pm 14/07/02 |
treeoflife
It is well worth the look. Great movie. :)
| #9 10:32pm 14/07/02 |
SD Gundam
Hmm if people have trouble understanding Mulholland Drive. I'd guess that why it wasn't made into a series.
Meh! I want to see this film cause people say it's hard to follow. |
| #10 10:44pm 14/07/02 |
I don't see the point of "artistic expression" if hardly anyone can understand just what the hell you're on about. The most elegant solutions are almost always the most simple.
| #11 11:22pm 14/07/02 |
treeoflife
Some things cannot be expressed or explained just 'simply'. There are many experiences which cannot be explained elegantly through just simple use of words or visuals or sound. Dreams are such a thing and therefore the movie's somewhat artistic approach is adequate and fitting.
It isn't that artistic anyway. Artistic is sometimes used to describes something one doesn't grasp at first. Misused and abused. |
| #12 11:37pm 14/07/02 |
teen
I just saw this movie, and have to thank treeoflife for explaining it. f*** it's cool.
| #13 08:51pm 06/12/02 |
yer, what teen says
i felt cheated when i watched it, but after treeoflifes explanation it made a lot more sense im almost tempted to watch it again nice to watch a moofie that actually challenges you, rather than the tripe that most moofies these days are |
| #14 08:54pm 06/12/02 |
teen
here i just found this
David Lynch's 10 Clues to Unlocking This Thriller: |
| #15 08:56pm 06/12/02 |
jezebel
treeofeternity: can you do us a favour and take the time to further explain the movie? no i am not stupid .. no wait i am but that's beside the point. ooh and have you seen lost highway? i failed to really see the plot there too. i ams teh n00b >_< yeah whatever man... |
| #16 09:42pm 06/12/02 |
teen
more, i have found
“Reality” (Last one third of movie, with a bit of explanation) |
| #17 09:55pm 06/12/02 |
General Specific
It only took 5 months to get an answer to my question, thanks teen.
| #18 10:00pm 06/12/02 |
Excruci@ting
took me 5months to read that :D
| #19 11:33pm 06/12/02 |
mooby the golden calf
mmm.. tits.
| #20 11:35pm 06/12/02 |
mooby the golden calf
I don't see the point of "artistic expression" if hardly anyone can understand just what the hell you're on about. The most elegant solutions are almost always the most simple wanker! its not about making a movie cryptic, or hard to follow. its about making a good movie. one that the director feels is good. not something that pleases the masses or the critics or just to make revenue. something different perhaps, somthing inavative. elegant solutions? wtf are u on about? the movie isnt trying to solve anything, so a "solution" is a really inapproprate word. are u just trying to through in some mixed up phyloshpy (occums razor) and pass it off as your own? |
| #21 11:46pm 06/12/02 |
Evil Greyden
artistic expression makes a boring movie more intresting. DUH!
| #22 11:52pm 06/12/02 |
[Q]
It was a very good film I thought. I just saw Donnie Darko the other day, its much better (even though mullholand was good) it jsut shows how good Darko was. I advise everyone to go see Donnie Darko soon as they can. I think that it just came out to cinema.
| #23 12:34am 07/12/02 |
teen
I thought the movie was cooler before I understood it. The plot isn't really that very good, but the way the film is put together it amazing. It's more the 'how' of the movie that I enjoy, not the 'what'.
| #24 12:37am 07/12/02 |
Evil Greyden
ok i decided to go out and watch this movie and judge it for myself....
verdict it sucks. i watched it and yes its very confusing and it goes way to long, ( sure the lesbo scenes were ok, but f*** its 10x quicker to just download even better s*** and watch it ) by the end of it things started to add up a lil and your imagination kicks into place you start thinking how it all fits in but then small details come along and f*** it all up. treeoflife explanation is entirely correct tho. if you want to understand the movie for youself watch it then goto the special features section ( on the dvd :D ) and goto the top option go left and bang you have a blue key, it tells you for things to look out for.. watch it again and take note.. things will be far less confusing.. now get someone whos a total smart ass online and talk to him about it and he will tell you the pyscholigical s*** like "shes dreaming the first half.. blah blah blah" then the movie will make sense.. ok all this seems pretty f***ing clever from a directors view. but to an audience its too much f***ing work, a) im glad i didnt pay to see this at the movies b) f*** artistic expression, its good in some cases but it just f***ed this movie up to much i give this movie a 3/10 if a director wants to make a movie that will make people think and enjoy what there watching he should leave out all the bull s*** and tell people simply at the ending. and yes donnie darko is far better for these reasons a) it was artistic with a good story line b) it made you think more outside the movie you were watching c) unlike mullholand drive it gave you an explanation at the end which all made f***ing sense donnie darko is now playing at the city bcc ( the one in the mall ) and is well worth the watch if you enjoy a good movie with a good story line done very well my 2 cents. |
| #25 04:09am 08/12/02 |
treeoflife
There are heaps of explanations on the Internet nowadays. One of the better aspects about the movie is that it can be interpreted in a variety of ways, but is specific enough not to be completely open to any kind of explanation. Something isn't something if it isn't justified or backed up in any way. What I wrote ages ago is just one explanation, but I reckon it's a pretty decent one :)
and Donnie Darko is fantastic. I would also say it doesn't explain everything at the end either. Hearing about the director's actual intentions, it seems he didn't really pull it off too well. Other people's explanations are much better :P |
| #26 12:20pm 08/12/02 |
Morgan
if you have to think about whats happening in the movie
a) your stupid or b) the movie sucks cuz its not well directed |
| #27 12:25pm 08/12/02 |
Donnie Darko is a fantastic movie. Extremely cool idea and it's up there in the top 5 movies I've seen this year. Mulholland Drive being another one of them. Another movie I thought was cool was Vanilla Sky. I'll probably get flamed for this too.
8-) |
| #28 12:27pm 08/12/02 |
| #28 |