Topic: Lucas filming new SW scenes
teen
There are rumours going around that George Lucas is shooting new scenes for the original Star Wars trilogy that he'll include into the DVD release. Among the more solid rumours is this one I found on Dark Horizons:
The bigger news of today though was MTV apparently re-iterated rumours that Natalie Portman has signed on to be a part of the new scenes being filmed for Episode VI: Return Of The Jedi - she'll shoot scenes during the production of Episode III which'll then be reinserted to the DVD release of 'Jedi'.

One can only wonder if James Earl Jones will redub Vader's lines and add a few "yipees" to keep the continuity from young Anakin. Maybe even digitally insert Jar Jar binks instead of chewbacca... whaddya reckon??
I'd like to 'insert' Jar Jar into something that's for sure, most probably Lucas himself.

.druid.
SacredSperm
Please Mr Lucas, no! :(

Those Special Editions were crappy enough...no more extra footage! =(
[Q]
Youd think that after the s*** jar jar recieved from critics around the world, both professional and amateur, lucas would write him out of the script. Surely killing him during episode 2 would have been a nice thing to do for fans. imagine it now: thousands of nerds around the world would cry harrahhh! during the film. Now that would be cool...
Goa`uld
Another rumour I heard is that Darth Vader will be a CG character.
acrylic
Youd think that after the s*** jar jar recieved from critics around the world, both professional and amateur, lucas would write him out of the script. Surely killing him during episode 2 would have been a nice thing to do for fans. imagine it now: thousands of nerds around the world would cry harrahhh! during the film. Now that would be cool...

true starwars fans dont really give a rats ass about ja ja
Exocet
No no...Hayden Christiensen will play him. I read an interview in the paper that said "I really have to get to the Gym more often and put some bulk on so I can fit into the big black suit"
Tael
They should have had him die in the ship that exploded right at the start.
Goa`uld
Yeah I read that too... they're asking him to put on weight... that doesn't mean it's for the suit...
It's just to make him look tougher and make it more plausible that he could become big scary vader...
But I do hope Hayden plays Vader.
Lucas better not f*** with the original stories. It was bad enough that he changed the ewok song at the end of "Jedi" for the special editions and now he wants to add in extra characters. f*** that!

The original 3 are the only good thing that remains of the Star Wars franchise and it looks like he'll f*** those up too. And I reckon he shouldn't of added Jabba into Ep 4 either. That f***ed that scene completely.

Please for the love of God...LEAVE IT ALONE!!!!
Exocet
He said himself "So I can fit into the black suit." I'd pull out the article, except we threw all our old newspapers away last Thursday
Tael
I reckon he should change Luke Skywalker's character back to a woman :P
Goa`uld
Heh speaking of star wars... did you know "the force" was originally called "the bogan" ?

DEAK (CONT'D)
The Bogan is strong with you; but not nearly strong enough. I'm afraid you'll have to use your weapon, if you're able!

VADER
I am Lord Darth Vader, first Knight of the Sith, and right hand to His Eminence Prince Espaa Valorum, the Master of the Bogan. You will not mock me, or my Master; for the Ashla is weak, and the FORCE OF OTHERS cannot save you now...

http://www.starwarz.com/starkiller/scripts/thestarwars_second_draft.htm
peacekeeper
They should re-do the backgrounds of all episodes 4-6 to make it look better than 1-3 instead of 70/80's boxes and cheap sounds.
stick
nah... the natural look of star wars was one of the things that made it soo cool... there were heaps or raps for lucas for finding all these awesome locations that he could use for settings, and now all he does is draw them on computer:(

i think people should realise star wars will never be what it was... and the new episodes, although linked narratively, are completely different movies.
ineffable
Apparently he already changed scenes in the Special Editions, by trying to make Han Solo a more heroic character rather than the rogue he was. Like in some scene he originally shot someguy before he had a chance to draw his gun, but in the special edition he shoots after the other guy gets shot at.

So just imagine what he'll do with all that new CGI stuff he has to play with.
Goa`uld

Like in some scene he originally shot someguy before he had a chance to draw his gun, but in the special edition he shoots after the other guy gets shot at.

oh no the story is ruined!
Antisane
No Goa'uld that scene was totally f***ed... Greedo shooting first was seriously the gayest thing lucas ever did because he missed from like 30 cm and hes a bounty hunter?! and its just not as cool as when han just shot him
ineffable
Well i couldn't care less, i'm not a big star wars fan. The fact that he felt the need to change the movie, to improve it, when its quite obvious his movie making skills haven't improved in 20 years (to say the least), is quite retarded.
seriously, leave them the f*** alone
c0rr
as long as the new footage has natalie portman wearing as close to nothing as possible, then id pay to see it.
Haha, yeah, greedo shoots at him from like 3 feet away, WHILE HES SITTING STILL, and misses. gg Lucas.

One of things I've heard they're going to redo is Obi-wan's fight with Vader at the end of the original, and they're apparently going to redo his death scene too.
Tpyodemon
I reckon he should change Luke Skywalker's character back to a woman :P

I thought luke was a girl ;P

Haha, yeah, greedo shoots at him from like 3 feet away, WHILE HES SITTING STILL, and misses. gg Lucas.

Kinda sums up lucas doesn't it ...

Virgil
What are you saying Typo? That ol' George wouldn't last in a game of Quake III? LOL.
peacekeeper
I always thought greedo was shot before he fired, and his shot was just a reactionary one thus just going wildly off aim or whatever.
Mechanical Space Ninja
I think the original star wars was such a success because people hadn't seen that sort of thing ad nausem before. It was fresh and new and therefore it rocked!

I also think HEAPS of effort went into making some scenes, especially model scenes where it would take 2-3 weeks of just moving a model .05cm and getting 30 seconds of footage. Thesedays they just drag and drop a dumbass model and they have 3-4 minutes done in a day. All done by one person too, I wish they'd use models again!
those added scenes into the old series were f***ing gay. if u can still buy the series without them let me know. comptuer animation in the old movies just looks so out of place and unnecessary.

why bother putting hayden into the suit - anyone could do it. hayden's too much of a snapper anyway. Vader is MASSIVE. Go watch return of the jedi where vader is walking alongside luke. Luke only comes up to his shoulders, and one of vader's legs is about the size of lukes body. haha

lucas rooted up heaps of things when he changed the original.
he added a scream when luke jumps off the platform in empire which is stupid - it was meant to be about luke accepting it.

and the greedo/solo bit was a joke. solo was meant to be a badass rogue who comes good. and htf do u miss from 1metre someone sitting down.
Goa`uld
Hayden is pretty tall, look at scenes where he's standing next to Ewan Macgregor. Ewan looks like a midget compared to him.
thumbwars so owns starwars.
Goa`uld

I also think HEAPS of effort went into making some scenes, especially model scenes where it would take 2-3 weeks of just moving a model .05cm and getting 30 seconds of footage. Thesedays they just drag and drop a dumbass model and they have 3-4 minutes done in a day. All done by one person too, I wish they'd use models again!

Yeah I'm sure making and animating a detailed CG model of Yoda is harder than sticking your hand into a rubber muppet.

I prefer the CG animation because it gives depth to the characters. You could see every wrinkle on Yoda's face move... watching him was like reading a puzzle.. you could see his emotions and everything.

People who say they prefer old techniques of film making are STUBBORN. I hate the original star wars because it LOOKS s***. The new ones are convincing. Get used to technology you primitive fools, because it achieves the goals better than some sock puppet or a guy in a suit can.

Besides, George Lucas uses his special effects justifiably... whereas movies like "The matrix" chuck some wierd effects in 'because they can', not because they need to.

The old ones look s***? wtf? I watched them again when they were on TV recently and they still look good, 20 years later, now THATS an achievement.

Speaking of the crap added scenes, I also hate the bit in the hangar were Han is talking to Jabba and he walks behind him and steps on his tail and its sposed to be like this funny scene and Jabbas eyes pop out of his head and stuff. I mean, how f***ing dumb was that scene. That ranks right up there with Jar Jar for f***ing dumb in my opinion. It couldn't have been more non-starwars if it tried. Jabba the Hutt would probably kill any f00l dead on the spot that walked on his tale.
/*me hugs my collection of the first three moofies digitally remastered but without the poxy new scenes added
Mechanical Space Ninja
People who say they prefer old techniques of film making are STUBBORN. I hate the original star wars because it LOOKS s***. The new ones are convincing. Get used to technology you primitive fools, because it achieves the goals better than some sock puppet or a guy in a suit can.

Your gay.

The original star wars looks s***.......

ahahahahahhahahahahahaha

crawl back into your stargate fag
Goa`uld
If any of these 'changes' were in the original in the first place, you would love them, and defend them if George tried to take them out!
Speaking of the crap added scenes, I also hate the bit in the hangar were Han is talking to Jabba and he walks behind him and steps on his tail and its sposed to be like this funny scene and Jabbas eyes pop out of his head and stuff. I mean, how f***ing dumb was that scene. That ranks right up there with Jar Jar for f***ing dumb in my opinion. It couldn't have been more non-starwars if it tried. Jabba the Hutt would probably kill any f00l dead on the spot that walked on his tale.

I gree totally. And when Jabba agrees to let Solo go, Han says the most f***ed line ever. "You're a wonderful human being." Now that is just gheyness in my opinion.
Cailean
If any of these 'changes' were in the original in the first place, you would love them, and defend them if George tried to take them out!
That's why people are up in arms about it. They want their original Star Wars back.

I have two thoughts.

1) No matter what, the originals in some way should be left intact.

2) It's Lucas's story and he can do whatever the f*** he wants with it. I mean s***, the story ISN'T finished yet. So in that sense it makes sense to go back and match them all up, and funky, so it all seems like the one saga, and not two seperate ones.
Goa`uld
It's a great line! I hate Han Solo, but that was a funny line, lol. It's like the line in Shawshank Redemption, where the black guy says he's irish.
The funny thing is, both lines were done for the same reason... because the original character was human/irish... but then they changed it to be a slugthing/blackguy they decided to leave the line in because it was funnier this way.
Goa`uld

2) It's Lucas's story and he can do whatever the f*** he wants with it. I mean s***, the story ISN'T finished yet. So in that sense it makes sense to go back and match them all up, and funky, so it all seems like the one saga, and not two seperate ones.

That's exactly right. There HAS to be some degree of homogeneity to the story. It's lucas' tale, he knows best.
I wouldn't mind seeing the ghostly image of Mace Windu and Qui-Gonn at the end of ROTJ.... or see Mon Mothma reveal herself to be Padme.
nikloas
i dont care, natalieportman = hot, more of her around, the better :)

and yeh im a big starwars fan, but lucas = starwars god, so let him fiddle
Goa`uld
I agree completely with Nikolas.

Btw did you know Natalie Portman is not her real name? :D
Exocet
thumbwars so owns starwars.

Agreed.
nikloas
yeah Goa, apparatnly its like her mum/aunties maiden+middle names or something wierd like that. Ill be mortified if is truly "Beatrice Goldendong" or something on her birth cert.

oh well, shes still cute as :)
I wouldn't mind seeing the ghostly image of Mace Windu and Qui-Gonn at the end of ROTJ

Why would luke see the spirits of Mace Windu or Qui-Gonn? They've got absolutely nothing to do with him or the original trilogy, that'd just be incredibly dumb.

or see Mon Mothma reveal herself to be Padme.

And that just erases all doubt that you are indeed a faget. I mean, wtf!??!?!
Goa`uld
Well Mon Mothma was a senator during the time when the empire was being built... and the only senator so far we know that could be her is Padme. Maybe she'll change her name when she joins the rebel alliance. Maybe she fakes her death, who knows. It's plausible! Unless Mothma is a character in episode 3.

Or perhaps Padme will appear as a ghost when Anakin dies. It's sad that the marriage between Anakin and Padme will only last a short time before he becomes Vader. It would be nice to see them reunited when they become one with the force. It is all one big story, and not everything in ROTJ must be about Luke, does it?
They give an indication of how many systems are in the republic during Episode 2, but I can't remember exactly what it was. Its well into the tens of thousands though, so thats a lot of senators. You dont think they're going to introduce us to every single one do you?

And I can't see how Padme will appear as a ghost if/when she dies, seeing as how thats a Jedi thing. And I think by Episode 2, even Jedi can't do it.

Adding a few new scenes, or changing some minor stuff is one thing, but what you're talking about is just stupid, changing the movies to be something they're not. Once you're finished with it, it wouldn't even be star wars anymore.
Goa`uld
Ok Well everything I said is just speculation.
It's most likely that Leia will show Luke a hologram of Padme or something like that.
Cailean
I wouldn't be suprised if George did a complete once over of the original trilogy, just short of refilming it.
axe
http://members.optushome.com.au/axe/atak_klonow.jpg
Goa`uld
lol funny