Topic: Office chairs in Brisbane

I have decided to spend some money on a decent chair. I spend most of time in my chair or in bed.

Last 2 chairs I've had:

KARSTEN $160 (my current chair)
http://www.ikea.com/PIAimages/72737_PE188902_S3.jpg
Lasted about a year before the whole back support thing no longer supports anything. I still use it, but it may as well be a stool. Can't relax or lean back in it - you will just flop off the chair. Makes me very angry all the time. I have tried to fix it on several occasions, turning that f***ing thing underneath for half an hour - nothing.

SKRUVSTA $330
http://www.ikea.com/PIAimages/34960_PE125277_S3.jpg
Lasted about a year, the chair is actually made of STYROFOAM which eventually all snapped apart.

Screw IKEA in it's arse.

Chair before that was an officeworks $80 cheapie and it completely broke apart one day and I fell back and my legs flipped over my desk and broke my monitor.

I know the Aeron is the popular one, but I wouldn't know where to get it, and besides I have heard of cheaper versions of it.

Should I buy it in Brisbane or order it in, and what do YOU do when you need a chair?

Ideally I would like the Emperor's chair from Star Wars, he looks evil and comfy at the same time.
heh my wife saw one of those style white chairs on tv and said she'd like one, so I had a google and found those ikea ones. went and looked at them and thought wtf, this piece of s*** for $300? no thanks
RockitMan
Herman Miller Aeron ($1250) and Mirra ($1050) chairs are avail at living edge on wickham st in the valley. Extremely pretentious shop with mediocre service but they're the only place with ther Herman Miller. Not sure if they're negotiable on price - anyone tried?
i must have got lucky with my $80 office works chair, because its still going strong and ive been a massive fatty at various stages

only now after like 8 years is the plastic covering starting to fray
Extremely pretentious shop with mediocre service

i went there a week before christmas. i thought the service was really good. woman came up and told us all about the chairs etc. ended up buying an aeron but still waiting for it to arrive :/
i have some old officeworks fake leather high-back chair that has lasted for the last 7-8years & is still going strong. i believe it was around the $80 mark... 7-8 years ago :P it looks like the first pic in the op but with arms & it's all black.

i have been pretty impressed with it considering that in the same time frame i have busted 3 office chairs at work (yeh fat c***) that all cost more than my s***ty officeworks chair.
I spotted the Living Edge store by chance when I was strolling past it on Sunday
- It was closed :(
- Its only open when I'm at work :(
- Their website has no prices :(
3 strikes - they're out.

i went there a week before christmas... ended up buying an aeron... still waiting for it to arrive :/

4 strikes

Seriously what the hell are these people thinking if that's how they do business.

last edited by thermite at 16:32:36 27/Jan/10
i've gone through countless office works $80 jobs, they will eventually break
spook is the exception to the rule, I bet his breaks within the week now!

I eventually got jack of that and spent 100% more on a chair (from office works again, lul) but it is rated for 150kg / 5 years warranty
got the mrs to scan the receipt and file it for me, hopefuly I'll get a new chair every 4.5 years
Crusty old man
Can't relax or lean back in it - you will just flop off the chair. Makes me very angry all the time.
I wonder if the quality and level of e-rage will improve once you get a new chair? :D
4 strikes

Seriously what the hell are these people thinking if that's how they do business.

there was no stock in australia so a shipement is coming in from overseas
I tried a whole bunch of chairs out at office works on my lunch break the other day, wasn't buying but just felt like getting a good sit down in, they've got some extremely comfy pieces for $100-$200, reject shop has something for $60 at the moment also that's ok
RockitMan
4 strikes

Yeah I agree their hours are a joke. I assume they do most of their business through corporate fitouts etc, not walk-ins.
guy at work got one, cost a $1k. looks good.
there was no stock in australia so a shipement is coming in from overseas

No stock? It's a shop, their whole business is to have stock. Unless you agreed to have them order it in, I think selling something that you don't actually possess would be seen as fraud. That s*** wouldn't fly at a kebab store or woolies. I wouldn't be allowed to sell a chair on eBay that I didn't have, and then go and try to find one after the sale. Mind you, when I went past on Sunday they definitly did have Aerons there.
those are displays ones.

something that you don't actually possess would be seen as fraud.

i take it you wouldnt preorder a game.
he's raging looks this chair is needed very fast!
anyway it says delivey 8-12 weeks on the site
$1000+ for a chair!? Fark me.

From a pure cost effectiveness perspective the cheap $100 jobs from Kmart or Office works tend to last ~2 years or so. Do those space age chairs last 20+ years?
http://www.superamart.com/home/product_info_db.asp?Page=1&ItemCode=40888
http://www.superamart.com/_uploads/products/40888.jpg
I got one of these before Christmas @ $200, it seems comfortable and looks like it will last a few years.
pARODY
I bought a bunch of simple office chairs at one of the auctions.. paid $3 for each. Auctions were on tuesdays out at salisbury/rocklea.
Do those space age chairs last 20+ years?

i hope so. atleast it comes with 12 years warranty
oh that's nice
looks as comfy as a car seat
and car seats are approved comfy by me

the only thing is if I'm naked and sweaty my cheeks will stick
Crusty old man
No stock? It's a shop, their whole business is to have stock. Unless you agreed to have them order it in, I think selling something that you don't actually possess would be seen as fraud. That s*** wouldn't fly at a kebab store or woolies. I wouldn't be allowed to sell a chair on eBay that I didn't have, and then go and try to find one after the sale. Mind you, when I went past on Sunday they definitly did have Aerons there.
Get this man a comfy chair... STAT!

I have a funny story about "no stock".

I went to KFC at Indro, ready to feed my small army of a family....

"Hi, can I have a 10 piece pack, umm.. and "
"I'm sorry, we're out of chicken."
*laughs* "What's in the family feast?"
"No really, we're out of chicken"
"What?! What are you selling then?"
"We have chips, drinks, and we have 10 nuggets"
"Right... So KFC stands for Kentucky Fried Chips?"
"Errr"
"Never mind. I'll go to Maccas and see if they're out of hamburgers."

True story!! I was completely flabbergasted! If there was some major supply f*** up, I would have just closed the store, cause they didn't have anything to sell!!.

I think I need a comfy chair...
^^^
ur just crusty old man
are you black by any chance?

http://www.sitbackandrelaxatwork.com.au/upload/AERON Large.jpg
thats happened to me a couple of times mantra.

ive also gone to red rooster and theyve been out of chickens.
I totally agree with thermite. one time I went to a takeaway store and asked for a steak sanger with the lot except pineapple - they told me they would have to order it in and it should take a certain amount of time - so I paid a deposit and left.

how could this be anything other than fraud?
I'm looking into a cheaper alternative called the Ergohuman

http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/images/chair-ergohuman.jpg

Ergohuman: possible alternative aeron
Investing in a Quality Programming Chair

Jim, but they told you they would order it and you agreed, that's different, read carefully. That other guy seems upset he doesn't have his chair. I bet the warranty is ticking away as we speak. He is in denial a bit though.

last edited by thermite at 17:38:40 27/Jan/10
yeah I read it pretty carefully
imo there's not enough information to assume anything dramatic. I think the only assumption I'm prepared to make was that he didn't get told it was in stock and actually left thinking he was carrying the chair in his hands, but it turned out his hands were empty.
Crusty old man
^^^
ur just crusty old man
Yeah, I am.
are you black by any chance?
No, but I do enjoy the occasional fried chicken. I'm not into the kool aid though :P
hats happened to me a couple of times mantra.

ive also gone to red rooster and theyve been out of chickens.
Then what's the f***ing point being a chicken store?!?!!?!!1eleven1! It's like walking into a chair store and them not having chairs... oh wait.
a steak sanger with the lot except pineapple
I didn't know they come with pineapple? No wonder you confused them and they had to order it in!
I'm looking into a cheaper alternative called the Ergohuman
That looks like a torture device.

Yes, I'm replying to everyone in this motherf***er!
i knew there wasnt any in australia and that a shipment was coming in. was just hoping it would be a bit quicker arriving.
oh that's different
thought they would have said "we'll swing it round your place this arv" and then you get the phone call of "woops we f***ed it up!".

last edited by thermite at 17:52:20 27/Jan/10
holy s*** GumbyNoTalent you're still around?!@ Also, don't buy office chairs from IKEA or Office Works, they're the worst ever. I bought mine one from Empire Furniture for about $500 about 5-6 years ago now and still going strong and it's heavy as f***. I think this is the same one they're still sell it and it's cheaper than when I bought it.
shrapse
yeah opec we have those at work and they are heavy as fark
HerbalLizard
mojodirect.com.au looks like they have some awesome mesh chairs cheap, the shipping here though is a f***ery. I could import an Asian bride and the subsequent divorce cheaper than the shipping.

Apparently aus wide shipping is free though
kfc doesnt cook chicken to all hours

we'd often close the mats down 30 minutes before closing time and just sell whats left

chances of mystery shopper are low
Crusty old man
kfc doesnt cook chicken to all hours
we'd often close the mats down 30 minutes before closing time and just sell whats left
chances of mystery shopper are low
That'd be fair enough if it wasn't like 8pm on a Thursday night. They were due to close at 10pm. They stayed open and sold nothing for 2 hrs?!

last edited by Mantra at 18:53:42 27/Jan/10
heh, i dunno whats doing there then;

stores do run out of chicken, usually u just go load up the cooks car with chicken from the closest store
Crusty old man
haha? Really? That's awesome. Imagine getting pulled over for RBT or something with 50kg of KFC in the back seat :)
it wouldn't be KFC at that point, silly
kentucky frozen chicken
so with the aeron, if using it at home, can you lean back in it and say put your feet up on the desk and watch some tv episodes in it comfortably??

or is it strictly a sit upright office type chair :/
it reclines.
RockitMan
Yes it reclines perfectly and stays balanced. It's an epic chair which you would expect for the price.
holy s*** GumbyNoTalent you're still around?!

Still kicking, and lurking and the very occasional post.
at living edge on wickham st in the valley

hahaha end of last year some douche bag that worked there thought he was a plumber and tried to fix something. it ended up flooding most of the back end of the shop, to which we had to come and fix. :P haha

but yer those airon chairs are the most comfortable thing to sit on.
http://www.dealsdirect.com.au/p/mesh-office-chair-headrest-black/customer-reviews/

$249
Herman Miller Aeron ($1250) and Mirra ($1050) chairs are avail at living edge on wickham st in the valley. Extremely pretentious shop with mediocre service but they're the only place with ther Herman Miller. Not sure if they're negotiable on price - anyone tried?

So I found the Herman Miller "Aeron" chair...

http://www.livingedge.com.au/catalog/view.php?itemid=89

and the "Mirra" one...

http://www.hermanmiller.com/Products/Mirra-Chairs

Look interesting. Are they really that good though?

last edited by Agent 99 at 11:12:33 29/Jan/10
RockitMan
It's a lot to pay for a chair but they are very good, and that's what they cost. Unless you're a truckie you'll probably spend about 8 times as much time in your office chair than your car and cars cost significantly more. Probably spend the same amount of time in office chair as bed, and beds/matresses are significantly more. That's how I justify it anyway.
sharky

Where can i see one of those ergohuman chairs. I do want to get a Aeron but having to wait up to 3 months for it from living edge is a joke.
*reclines in his Aeron, puffing a cigar*

There's no going back from this let me tell you.
getting my aeron on thursday woot!
I have actually changed my work hours so i can do things like buy a chair
still using that broken chair though :(
mmmm so want aeron
mirra is a better chair imo
with mirra/aeron, the back isn't high enough to rest head on?
Mirra is just a poor mans aeron that looks similar. The only advantage of the Mirra over regular chairs its made from mesh. If you're going to get a HM chair go the whole hog.
RockitMan
Haha 'poor mans aeron' at $1050 and only $200 below aeron? :)

Mirra definitely has more of a 'im here to work' feel to it, whilst aeron is a 'i'm reclining puffing a cigar' feel. That was my take anyway..
You're right RockitMan. They invented the Mirra because the boss needed something to buy for his executives that wasn't as good as his Aeron!

Haha 'poor mans aeron' at $1050 and only $200 below aeron? :)

Mirra definitely has more of a 'im here to work' feel to it, whilst aeron is a 'i'm reclining puffing a cigar' feel. That was my take anyway..
nah.. having worked in an Aeron for prolly more than 10 years now the thought of going back to another chair makes me shudder. Sitting on any other chair for long periods of time s***s me to tears; so uncomfortable. I've been thinking about getting one for home but I'm spending less and less time at my home PC these days so it's not really a big deal. Maybe after the next QGL LAN when I'm flush with cash again.
protit
those aeron chairs look full of punce - a big $1000 marketing spin job. but hey if it fits your needs then you're a happy customer right?

i bought an ergonomic chair from empire for $150 and it's great.

arms on chairs are just plain annoying btw
HerbalLizard
nah.. having worked in an Aeron for prolly more than 10 years now the thought of going back to another chair makes me shudder. Sitting on any other chair for long periods of time s***s me to tears; so uncomfortable. I've been thinking about getting one for home but I'm spending less and less time at my home PC these days so it's not really a big deal. Maybe after the next QGL LAN when I'm flush with cash again.
Is it honesty that good? Seriously for a 1k or more for a chair I would expect it to come with a midget that fluffs me as I type illiterate garbage on here, or an illiterate midget that transcribes my s*** on here

Where can i see one of those ergohuman chairs. I do want to get a Aeron but having to wait up to 3 months for it from living edge is a joke.
WTF is that really the wait for one? That f***ing sucks.
Is it honesty that good? Seriously for a 1k or more for a chair I would expect it to come with a midget that fluffs me as I type illiterate garbage on here, or an illiterate midget that transcribes my s*** on here
Yep. It's hard to tell how much is actually awesome chairness and how much is inflated because of the cost. But in all seriousness, I get really, really uncomfortable sitting on non-mesh chairs these days.

I agree with whoever said about the arms - I'd be happy w/o arms. They can go low enough that they're out of the way though so it's not a big deal.
I think for the most part aerons are good but honestly any decent ergonomic chairs from proper office furniture places (no not ikea, freedom or office works) will be just as good once you're used to it.

I had an aeron for a while and yeah was nice to sit on but man after a while it really didn't make any different, I'm still sitting the same god damn chair working long hours in front of a PC heh.

I now have a $200 gas lift chair and it's just as comfortable. And I didn't even find a switch from it to normal chair any more or less comfortable. In fact the chair that I had right after the aeron was just one of those with just a lower back support so it forces me to not slouch and sit up properly.

It's more to do with your sitting postures, you still get a f***ed back in an aeron if you slouch and sit on it for a long period. In any case, if you really concern about your back you really shouldn't sit on *any* chairs for long period no matter how good the chair is.

I agree with infi, a lot of it is just marketing. It's far easier and better for you to change your sitting posture if you can so you always do it no matter what. If your back is already f***ed I doubt any magic chair is going to fix that maybe a Chiro can tho LOL.

IMO a $1000 is a lot of $ to drop on a cool looking chair... unless you can get a tax break for it or it's free I don't see the point really.
http://www.sitbackandrelaxatwork.com.au/upload/AERON Large.jpg

We have something like these at work just in white and they look a bit chunkier with about 10000000000 different adjustments, I thought they'd be s*** but damn they're awesome.
sharky

so does anyone know where I can see a ergohuman or are they not avalible in australia?
Was just looking on Ebay, seems like you can get new Aeron's shipped from the states for under $1,000AU. Might be an option for those wanting one, not sure how warranty works internationally though.

Edit: On second look the ones that cheap are refurbished.

last edited by Saint at 09:11:14 03/Feb/10
This Empire furniture place has stores in Brisbane and a few Aeron knock-offs, might have a look there
http://www.empirefurniture.com.au/seating/seating2.php?type=Executive
RockitMan
I've been to empire, the chairs are just as expensive and no where near as comfortable.
but they are better than an officeworks/ikea chair? I just went to officeworks and had a try of their seats, it's like satan was touching my buttocks
so you were in love?
i guess I didn't make it clear that I did not like the officeworks chairs...

I've also spoken to a few people that have bought 2nd hand Aerons for cheap (like $600 or less) off ebay. Gray's Auction house I think sometimes gets them in