Topic: Preschool / Kindy / Prep Graduation WTF
link
Kids have 12yrs of schooling and the pressure that comes with it, I reckon it's pretty backwards that they've even made prep 5 days a week as opposed to preschool that was 3 days when I went. But seriously wtf do kids need a graduation from it???
Because both the parents and the kiddies like it. At my childcare centres its kind of a big deal.

Prep has been very popular and Queensland is only catching up with the southern states.
wifey went to spook jnrs "graduation" the other day

it was awesome
because their mums are unemployed and have f*** all else to be excited about
BOOM

that just happened
HerbalLizard
surly maxe you would be down on the milf's
that's gay, I never even went to preschool, no one said s***
That jounalist is a wanker, its just a little thing that the kids get to do together with all there friends that they went to daycare with, and probably wont see half of them again as they go to different schools.

It would be stupid if they had graduation every year of primary school and highschool, but nothing wrong with end of daycare, then end of primary school. End of highschool is probably pointless as no one cares then cause your too old and its not cute anymore and most people go to the prom anyway. Then obviously when you actualy graduate from UNI.

Lighten up people, its harmless fun, and probably gives to teachers something to get the kids to do at the end of the year, making the little hats etc.
Or you could just call it the "end of year breakup"... like any normal sane person would.

Obviously started by parents who think their kid is a child prodigy.
jesus christ there be some haters up in this bitch
they're children people, just children

let them be bloody kids for as long as they can be imo
never been to one, but i support any initiative which teaches little kids to stfu at organised ceremonies

I'd hate to be that woman's kid.

Better they're at graduation ceremonies than ON THE INTERNET where their very lives are at risk
HerbalLizard
Won't worry about that trog that's what the filters for isn't it.

I am kind of looking forward to this sort of stuff, when my daughter gets older
hast
i love how she talks about devaluing a degree. obv credentials > what you learned :)
I think we should wait to see what Kat has to say on the issue before proceeding in this thread.
I like your thinking ctd

Kat's opinion will no doubt bring closure to this thread, for she is wise with all things children related
having a "world's best mum" mug, shirt or bumper sticker, doesn't actually mean anything

last edited by infi at 12:47:53 22/Dec/09
hast
other people thinking you're a great parent > being a great parent

last edited by hast at 12:51:15 22/Dec/09
HerbalLizard
Entirely depends on how savage the beatings are and how often they change the newspaper in the cages
Wow, a new low for 'harmless things people whine about'
sounds like the reporter is bitter about having to go to college and then finding out non-college graduates are earning more than he/she is
thus can afford to send their children to childcare and have the partner earn another income, thus making more money
Some kids aren't excited by becoming a school kid. They don't want to change from what they know. They are scared of the newness that school or prep brings.

So to make the transition easier they make then out to be 'big kids'. They have graduated from kindy and next year will be all grown up and at school/prep.
If you make a big deal about them leaving it may give them confidence in facing the new schooling environment.

I don't get the need for a massive celebration, but we have always had a christmas/breakup party and thanked the kids and teachers for the year gone. Say good bye to those leaving and get ready to start a fresh.

I get the need to say goodbye to what you know because you can't ever go back. A 5 year old may not get it on the same level as me, but I still think it can't hurt.
it's like when you congratulate them on pooping in the toilet when potty training
positive encouragement ftw

spook can you post pix of spook jnr. he make him out to be a god amongst children.
if you were his or my friend on facebook you could see millions of pixtures;

hes pretty awesome:

please dont steal him

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=3329833&l=1745d1b758&id=628941331
it's cause his spawn has an awesome name
if the reporter wanted to make an actual point she'd talk about not letting kids pass high school until they pass certain subjects

I know kids who fail math classes from grade 8 to 12, get clapped across the stage and cant multiply two numbers together ffs. Or noobs that write like 9 year olds.

What hope do they have when they register for qgl accounts?

he looks so innocent in those pics.