Topic: Fishing, both salt water and frest water.
I did a quick search and found there hasnt been a lot of fishing threads on here.
yes i realise it is a gaming forum but over the years it seems its a bit of a everything forum. (which is why i only visit this forum....ever)

i have been beach fishing for a few years and did a bit of fishing in salt water in my (temporarily out of commission) 30 year old bond-wood boat.

Whenever i go searching i fond a few aussie info but mainly US sites about fishing which isnt much help.

I am interested in learning more about fresh water fishing as there are plenty of dams and creeks around where i live now-a-days.

Anyone put me onto some good sites (or have some helpful info) on fresh water fishing as well as salt water use of plastics.

i catch fish regularly fishing off the beaches around the sunny coast (mainly bream..i'm over catching whiting) Anyone on here fish and can lend some tips i am always learning and eager to learn more.

Ausfish has a large community, mostly older blokes but there's a plethora of information on there.

Edit: Looking forward to a trip to Double Island Pt next month, gonna get my fish awnnn.
been on the ausfish a few times. just a really bad site to get around on. plus you need to subscribe and pay money to lay any questions down.

im getting rid of the disco van to get a dual cab trayback 4b in a month or two.

i shall be a frequent visiter to the fraser coast then.

Really? I've never paid. I've stated a few threads and had answers offered.

Maybe look around at some of the related forums. EG 4x4 forums, boating forums, camping forums will most likely have fishing sections.
ok ill have to go have another look.

what sort of fishing do you do up double is.

you take the tinny's up there?

i know plenty of people who head up there regularly but its usually a beer focus than a fishing one.

me, i swing both ways.

Oh we know, fgt.
just revisited teh site. they have come a long way with their tips.

nice little section on frsh water.

we are going to start a fishing trip couple times a year at work.

hopefully it will overlap actual work time as the owner is loaded and a keen fisherman. not to mention partial to the odd quiet ale.
Mate will be taking his tinny. I've not been up there before so can't really comment. I'll be taking a surf rod and a couple for the boat/rocks though.
me, i swing both ways.

Oh we know, fgt.

on fire.. i see you eat from the entre' appetizers. that was easy pickings.

set 'em up to knock 'em down.

you win my special little guy.
I'm going to Fraser next week, for a week - Can not wait

I was in BCF after work trying to find an Alvey reel for my 12 footer
I have been looking forward to this trip for months and I've caught myself day dreaming a few times over the past week
I realise this doesn't help you at all, I'm just really excited

Let us know if you do find out a better resource than Ausfish (I'm not a fan either)
http://www.seabreeze.com.au

for all your forecasts, best website ever.

(mainly bream..i'm over catching whiting)

i could give u heaps of tips but i cbf sorry, but 1 tip i will give.

whiting >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> bream. lol. by that i mean, nicer tasting fish, easier to fillet, fk all bones, whiting is the shizznizzle of beach fishing my friend. that and flathead!

if u ever wanna go outside on a charter boat holla at me my old boy has a 48ft charter boat that goes outside and up north all the time

if u want to do extreme fishing, u can book in here.

http://www.capricornlighthouse.com/

little thing old boy and a group of mates took on, bought the 25yr lease of the lighthouse, have spent a small (large) fortune on it doing it up, but now its fken unbelievable. best_fishing_holiday_ever

last edited by existence at 20:51:17 19/Nov/09

good site
http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v248/221/60/712415517/n712415517_863737_7562.jpg

this is a mates boat. have gone chasing blueys/blackies but its not the fishing i enjoy nor afford.

i also find its a bit pretentious the crowd that hang around those boats.

i am a self taught fisherman so i am always learning. its like taking an interest in cars when your old man or friends have no interest in them.

information is gold from different people outside the safety net. yes net geddit geddit.

last edited by sleepy at 21:03:53 19/Nov/09
my dads boat would suit you , its alot more practical fishing boat not a wankers fishing boat like that one!
hahah i see you know what im talking about.

i last about one shout around those people after they have spent $200 on a round.

i have a 3.2 bond-wood boat my late grandfather handed down. its an antique. i get the comments how does that thing float when i used to take it out.
its a dancer.
its been out of the water a year due to lack of time to give it an overhaul.
i have it half finished (which is half the fun) doing it up as soon as i get it back up to our new place.
i like doing things properly so its going to be immaculate when i finally finish it.

so quiet fishing in it compared to a tinny.

i like the ritual.

I like the look of the wanker boat better I reckon it is shinier.
only one of my friends is at all interested in fishing so I can relate to that
I can tie the knots and setup a few different kinds of rigs but at the end of the day I'm really only having a best-guess
I tend to stick with whiting/dart/flatties because they're easy
I did have a go at tuna fishing off the beach when I was living down in NSW, didn't yield a whole lot though

having a 4x4 opens up a plethora of options for different fishing spots, also for towing if you didn't have a suitable vehicle before
I haven't been to Fraser since I was a young bloke so this will be my first trip in the last 10 years at least - I'm going to wing it and see how I go
Dodgymon
I'm goin to Fraser over christmas and I can't wait.
Give us an update on how it goes teq?
will do, my only memory of fraser is floating down eli creek in a truck tyre inner tube
something I would love to take my kids and do one day but a lot of trucks now use tubeless setups ;(
sleeper u sound like a mad dude. glhf!

teq where are you going? camping? or houses at orchid beach

fraser is sooo good, mates went up there this winter and absolutely cleaned up off indian head (in a tinny)

they said highlight of the trip was these absolute nutcase spear fisherman putting powerheads into tiger sharks there, sharkiest fken waters there and these guys were just freediving like 20M and raping sharks haha crazy f***ers, they got a heap of wicked fotos i should put them up . so don't swim around indian head.. its massively populated by big tigers

also, fraser = easiest place iv been to to catch sand worms.. followed closely by cape capricorn (link i posted) compared to moreton/straddie the worms at fraser have down syndrome i swear!
yep camping - I'm going to hop off at inskip and drive all the way up to around eli creek, stop off for lunch there and start looking for the perfect site
I have been wondering about the blood worms on fraser, I'm going to take some bait with me but I want fresh bait after I've been there a few days too

how awesome is this from google (ocean) maps (northern tip of fraser, scroll up a bit more)

View Larger Map

last edited by tequila at 21:49:31 19/Nov/09
hardware
i love fishing
and like any proper fisherman, i ain't tellin you chumps anything
QGL 4x4 fishing weekend kgo
^all in.

just need to trade the 05 hiace for a hilux
For a 4x4 day maybe everyone having their own vehicle would be cool but for a fishing trip up a beach everyone probably doesn't need their own :)
Next Event: QGL 4x4 Fraser Fishing weekend

I could get into that, my little fellas too young to come with me yet and his mum stays at home to look after him so I've got a spare seat or two

generators = backpunch
Some Fat Bastard
Used to go to Fraser every year in the late 80's to mid 90's. When you used to be allowed to go right up to the northern cape I caught 6' mackerel off the beach just behind where the surf turned to calm water.

Would wake up in the morning, get the binoculars out, look in the surf to see if any tailor. Just wait, they'd always turn up. Go down to the beach, straight in front of where you camped, throw a line, catch 10 fish weighing about 3 to 5 kilos, keep the best 4. Go up to breakfast, cook them, eat them and do he same again for tea in the afternoon. It was that easy.

Was up at Inskip last time around 2007 camping on the calm bay side and took my boat, anchored in front of camp. Went crabbing and fishing the inside of Tin Can bay and Fraser Island. Good fun.
brisbanefishing.com.au is an excellent local fishing forum/resource.
b j p
I've been a member of Ausfish for ages. You certainly don't have to pay and it hands down the best Qld Fishing forum.

I have a 5m aluminium open boat and have been fishing since I was old enough to. Was going to head out to Barwon banks this weekend as the swell is down but doesn't look the wind is going to play the game.
so where are the best camping locales on the island?
Ideally I'm after total seclusion, some trees would be nice for cover and preferably not in a high traffic area

I was thinking just north of waddy point but its a best-guess really
b j p
Do you want to be on the surf side? If not you could duck across to Wathumba Creek. I towed the boat up there last christmas and was there by myself. Good camp ground, take the bushmans though.

Otherwise, the further north you go the less people there are. The majority of people don't go further north than Indian Head, so if you go past Orchid Beach you should be fairly alone. That said, there are always cars up and down the surf side.
yep definitely surf side, I want to be pretty close to Indian head for fishing too so that could work well
b j p
There's a nice camp ground down on the beach in front of Orchid beach. Clean and quiet, yet close to the pub for alcohol/ice/fuel/newspaper.