Author |
I have heard about the "buy it through UK Steam" method.
Gifting from a US based friend (legal), buying it as a gift from someone in UK or US (against TOS), importing physical copies. Have people had success with getting their cop shooting zombie gore ? if so how ? eg. the uk method Let say you have traveled to the UK for a trip. To Buy l4d2 while you are there: (this just happens to work while you are still in Australia.) stolen from some other forum |
#0 05:52pm 17/11/09 |
#0 |
Tremble
I got in on a US 4-pack.
$33.75 and confirmed full gore version. sweet! |
#1 07:00pm 17/11/09 |
Just played the campaign with the car fuel finale. Zombies gore a plenty. Bought it from UK steam via VPN
#2 07:18pm 17/11/09 |
#3 08:53pm 17/11/09 |
Kilos
So people with the UK version can still play with people with the AU version?
#4 08:56pm 17/11/09 |
yeh
#5 09:51pm 17/11/09 |
Tremble
Yeah, even automatically joins low-ping servers aswell.
It seems they put the riot cops back into the censored version though, I was playing with 3 censored players and we had a bunch of them show up in The Parish. |
#6 10:10pm 17/11/09 |
Trauma
yeh bought mine using www.steampowered.com/?cc=uk I went to this site and it says it's a pre-order but AU/US steam says it's out, so will simply changing the country from Aus to UK in that drop down menu allow me to DL the full game now off Aus servers and have gore and no conflicts when joining ppl with censored versions? |
#7 10:22pm 17/11/09 |
yes i downloaded the whole game from AUS servers... there nothing different with the download.... there is config file which chooses if its censored or not going by some sort of cd key
#8 10:27pm 17/11/09 |
Trauma
Ok, thx TiT. |
#9 10:31pm 17/11/09 |
Trauma
Well I got it via that site and using the above mentioned method and it's listed as unreleased, I don't really care about that, is only 2 days just want the un-censored version, will have to wait and see. |
#10 10:37pm 17/11/09 |
TheRaz411
Someone sometime will hack the Australian version but the question is who......lol |
#11 08:33pm 18/11/09 |
If you bought from the uk AFTER the worldwide release you miss out for a few days.
#12 08:45pm 18/11/09 |
Domika
Someone sometime will hack the Australian version but the question is who......lol That's for sure, know quite a few people working on it right now just hope they manage it before I get around to spending money on another game I don't have time for lol |
#13 10:15pm 18/11/09 |
the warez version is already out if that's what you mean. no online play though so what's the point? "Left 4 Dead 2 *THEPiRATEGAY*" |
#14 10:30pm 18/11/09 |
Trauma
If you bought from the uk AFTER the worldwide release you miss out for a few days.Due to high demand for L4D2, we decided to move various street dates forward for a coordinated worldwide release—except in the UK, where this was not possible (copies of the game are still arriving). Ah cheers for that ctd. |
#15 10:55pm 18/11/09 |
Lithium
You can do this with the US version as well I hear, which has available now.
#16 12:27am 19/11/09 |
Is there a trick to getting the UK/US stores to work? I enter my details as they are except changing country to UK/US. Always get an error about my credit card being declined due to address not matching up (and I've tried it with my CC and Visa Debit which are both with different institutions).
#17 01:04am 19/11/09 |
Domika
Playing LfD2 at the net cafe atm and full gore, decapitation, etc....no idea how or why but I'm not complaining :P
#18 01:10am 19/11/09 |
Trauma
Is there a trick to getting the UK/US stores to work? I enter my details as they are except changing country to UK/US. Always get an error about my credit card being declined due to address not matching up (and I've tried it with my CC and Visa Debit which are both with different institutions). I followed the OP's steps using a Visa, changed nothing but country and had the box ticked, worked fine, pre-loaded via aus servers and waiting for UK release as I missing the early launch. |
#19 02:22am 19/11/09 |
Is there a trick to getting the UK/US stores to work? you have to actually go to the UK and US store pages to do it. just add ?cc=UK or ?cc=US to the end of the address. |
#20 08:48am 19/11/09 |
nat
I followed the OP's steps using a Visa, changed nothing but country and had the box ticked, worked fine, pre-loaded via aus servers and waiting for UK release as I missing the early launch I dont understand how you can do this. Doesn't the address need to match that of the credit card? How can you enter an Australian address and leave the country as USA when the State drop-down values are all for US states? |
#21 09:29am 19/11/09 |
put state as california and zip code as 94005 which is brisbane, california :P.
#22 09:35am 19/11/09 |
Trauma
I followed the OP's steps using a Visa, changed nothing but country and had the box ticked, worked fine, pre-loaded via aus servers and waiting for UK release as I missing the early launchI dont understand how you can do this. Doesn't the address need to match that of the credit card? How can you enter an Australian address and leave the country as USA when the State drop-down values are all for US states? I would have thought the same, but the steps listed worked, my account history states that my L4D2 is a UK version not AU as my other games are, mind you I have not confirmed if it is indeed uncut yet as it's still locked in the UK. |
#23 10:05am 19/11/09 |
nat
Let say you have traveled to the UK for a trip. To Buy l4d2 while you are there: (this just happens to work while you are still in Australia.) So to clarify - there is no need to do the VPN thing at all, you just visit the UK/US Steam site, buy it, and when entering your billing information you enter all your Australian address details as per normal except the State and Country choose UK/US ? |
#24 11:51am 19/11/09 |
with the uk one you can keep all your details the same and just have the country as UK. with the US you need to include a US state and zip code.
#25 12:01pm 19/11/09 |
Trauma
Should add that while waiting for the UK version to unlock I have noticed that my purchase of the UK version has unlocked gore in the demo. Sooooooo much better with gore. |
#26 03:57pm 19/11/09 |
Same here Trauma. First time I played the demo it was the watered down version, now it's nothing but gore.
#27 01:29am 20/11/09 |
DarthGuybrush
This program will remove the censorship from the Au version? http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1030857&highlight=gore+patch I've tried it and it works! Gore galore although I don't think the cut scenes are un-censored. |
#28 11:46am 20/11/09 |
that sounds like a cruddy fix;
much better to just order the game from os. |
#29 11:57am 20/11/09 |
Tried both my cards and they were both declined :(
#30 12:09pm 20/11/09 |
DarthGuybrush
that sounds like a cruddy fix; Too late if you already have it dude! |
#31 12:47pm 20/11/09 |
considering the 510 setting fools Steam into thinking the game is a L4D1 dedicated server, wouldn't putting in the Steam appid for the L4D2 dedicated server instead work better?
or has this been found not to work :/ surely the prod id for L4D2 ded. server is not also 510 :/ |
#32 01:40pm 20/11/09 |
From reading some of those threads on the Steam forums, it seems you can't join public games with that gore thing enabled? Or at least, you can only join servers setup to run with the gore thing, and play with other people who have the gore patch? Doesn't sound like a particularly good solution :(
Good I guess if you just want to have a LAN with friends and you're all using the patch, but not so good for internet play. |
#33 01:57pm 20/11/09 |
Tried both my cards and they were both declined :( People have had this happen. Write to Valve and they will unblock it. |
#34 02:02pm 20/11/09 |
now stats are getting erased ?
there's some pretty angry geeks in there :P hopefully this is a small price to pay towards Aussies getting an 'accidental' gore workaround that'll work. anyone using the 510 hack who now has achievements clocking up? they are usually disabled |
#35 02:21pm 20/11/09 |
Man, if anyone had said to me years ago people would cry about something like achievements being taken away from them, I would have laughed in their FACE. |
#36 02:21pm 20/11/09 |
Yeah, my stats and achievements all were spontaneously reset to zero last night. While I realise, in the grand scheme of things, it doesn't mean much, its still a bit annoying :(
#37 02:34pm 20/11/09 |
wait, so you guys are getting stats reset because you bought US versions of the game? It's not just some generic bug affecting everyone? |
#38 02:38pm 20/11/09 |
jury is out on that one Trog.
still - it's not as if stats give ya better guns like in the BF series *edit* on the upside surv stats are still there *phew* last edited by koopz at 02:04:52 21/Nov/09 |
#39 02:04am 21/11/09 |
I think its just a generic bug, at least I'm hoping its just a generic bug
#40 02:49pm 20/11/09 |
Tremble
It is most likely linked to the update they are doing on the stats system. All your steam games should now have a 'total time played' next to them on the community page, although a lot of them look to be pretty inaccurate.
#41 03:16pm 20/11/09 |
i don't give a s*** about achievements so I wouldn't be upset if they got reset. I play the game to play the f***ing game, not to get lame ass achievements
#42 03:54pm 20/11/09 |
Yeah, wouldn't care if stats reset here. I do get achievements though - stuff like the one where you take adrenaline and then hit the bell thingy in the carnival level. Love mucking around with stuff like that. |
#43 04:09pm 20/11/09 |
IGN Video montage of the retarded version of L4D2.. Flame retardant zombies wtf!!!
#44 04:20pm 20/11/09 |
lol @ the pipe bomb at the end |
#45 04:28pm 20/11/09 |
i boght the 4 pack today.. and for a while it showed 3 copies remaining next to the left4dead 2 game, but now its gone.. wtf?
#46 06:53pm 20/11/09 |
OriginalDaniel
Hey i just Joined this site because i wanted to post on just this form.. so here it is my friend wants to Buy the L4D2 Uncut game mainly the 4pack so a few mates can get togeather and play it but as you would no where aussies, i dont want to risk my friends account nor end up buying a cut copy as it would not only be a waste of money but my friends account has like.. 20odd games on it lol so can someone comfirm that any of thease methords above work? if so witch one? as i understand it my friend should: Log onto the UK or US website and purcase the l4d2 4 pack and change the country to UK click purchase and Done he will have 4copys of the Uncut edition right? it sounds to eazy to be honest and also sounds like something valve would of fixed or stoped or banned peoples accounts that have tryed to do this.. i just need a good confirm or 2 i dont mean to be paranoid or anything just as i said i dont want my mate loseing his account or wasteing money btw ive played the uncut demo and **** Me it was Awesome so thanks for any future replys and that i hope you reply, as from the sounds of it you guys are all off playing the uncut copy ^_^ sorry for some bad spelling but .. uh yeah i suck at spelling in general again thx in advance and Power to the Violent Australian Gaming Community! |
#47 09:13pm 20/11/09 |
OriginalDaniel
Okays so i just have been having a look on other websites about this matter and i came across a form about buying l4d2 pre releace uncut copy so here you say basicly if my friend buys it off the UK website he should be fine and have the uncut copy yet i came across this comment on this other form.. : [Quote: Originally Posted by csimpson Urgh, going through a massive hassle with Steam, ended up with an AU preorder even though I did it through a US proxy and US Paypal account, and my Steam account isn't registered to Australia. I'd recommend people hold off on their pre-orders until I can find out why this happened.] so im not sure what i should tell my friend to do at this point unless this Csimpson guy bought it off steams Australian website witch would make scene that he got the cut copy because not matter what proxy you use the Australian steam website would still give him the Cut copy.. so really i dont no what to think at this point =/ ill continue to look around with good old pal google untill i get some solid replys on this site Thx again for your time. |
#48 09:43pm 20/11/09 |
If you actually read the replies so far in this thread, your question would be answered, but because I'm feeling generous heres a cut and paste of the info you need.
Put this link in your browser not steam. http://store.steampowered.com/?cc=uk Yes, it works, and yes you will have the uncut version. |
#49 01:04am 21/11/09 |
OriginalDaniel
altho another website with the same guide to getting the uncut copy posts this : Please note: this method (as opposed to the VPN method) may mean a risk of getting flagged, as your IP when purchasing the game won't originate from the country you've selected. i should get some sleep now so i guess this would seem a very eazy way to go about it, thx tho im just very sus about it is all xD ill be sure to post how my friend goes with all of this over the next few days |
#50 01:10am 21/11/09 |
I am suspicious of this newcomer
#51 01:21am 21/11/09 |
f*** yeah so am us
Power to the Violent Australian Gamers! wtf? |
#52 01:40am 21/11/09 |
ban him, he doesn't fit in QGL, cheers trog.
#53 02:15am 21/11/09 |
Just order it from the UK site. Works fine.
#54 02:36am 21/11/09 |
OriginalDaniel
QGL? eh whats that? i dont see any reason to be all sus about it i just signed up to get a few more confirms about ordering from the uk works.. no need to like Ban me or anything :S im just conserd about my friend getting bannd or getting the cut copy when he buys the 4pack ill tell him to do the uk thing so thanks for the help uh sorta? ill post if it works tho as this all goes under the topics "how to get l4d2 uncensored" area. and as for the "Power to the Violent Australian Gamers!" xD just something i made up lots of games get banned or we get cut copys and well.. i love playing the uncut cause its just better and im into games like Manhunt1/2 so uh yeah im a violent gamer dont see how that could be confuesing for you :P |
#55 09:20am 21/11/09 |
I may play violent games, but I am not violent.
In fact your tag implies exactly the sort of rubish that the lack of an R rating is aimed at. I understand that you are trying to be funny, but thanks to such a high hit rate in google, a dumb ass useless journalist searching for "violent gamers" might come here and quote it as being a forum slogan or something equally retarded. |
#56 09:36am 21/11/09 |
OriginalDaniel
oook.. uh well no harm intended ill remove that then =/ the general message is like power to the australian gamers who play violent games myself im not .. uh that violent in real life *cough* my idea was for it to mean power to the people to play violent games and love them sorta thing instead people like me and my friend get cut games like this =/ good to hear theres a eazy way around it tho |
#57 09:44am 21/11/09 |
![]() * N U K E D *
Reason: Abusive |
Don't fight here, settle this dispute in the digital arena.
#59 02:39pm 21/11/09 |
OriginalDaniel
uh i wasnt fighting? dunno whats with all the agro here ? i dont like this site anymore... |
#60 09:52am 22/11/09 |
![]() * N U K E D *
OriginalDaniel
wtf is up with you? woke up on the wrong side of the bed? i didnt say anything bad jesus... dunno whats your problem Anger management issues? |
#62 10:32am 22/11/09 |
Trial by fire. If you can survive the onslaught of abuse you are welcome here.
#63 10:48am 22/11/09 |
hardware
Trial by fire. If you can survive the onslaught of abuse you are welcome here.Yah. We've all been through it. It dies down after a couple of thousand posts. |
#64 10:56am 22/11/09 |
OriginalDaniel
Thousand Posts okays.. well why are people like that on here anyway? you would think they would of gotten banned alreddy, btw my friends just about to buy the 4pack so i hope all goes well ill post how it goes later on |
#65 11:03am 22/11/09 |
we hate u
#66 11:14am 22/11/09 |
OriginalDaniel
good to no i dont really care about what people think of me on this site atm i just feel the need to post how my mate goes with buying l4d2 uncut on steam because he is a aussie.. got a problem with that? then i dont care :P |
#67 11:19am 22/11/09 |
agro
dish it back at them daniel :)
p.s the game is great, i took the plunge and got it yesterday, the new infected really make the game more challenging for survivors i just hate it when you play against sprinters, survivors who just sprint to the finish line for points, no fun combat :( |
#68 11:42am 22/11/09 |
is it possible to play a LAN game without have an internet connection present (steam offline mode)??? the only way i have been able to do it is having both steam accounts online, starting an online match and then having friend (who is on lan) join through the internet system, seems retarded because at the moment we are sharing net through a 3G wireless USB through a switch =/
#69 02:43pm 22/11/09 |
if pete hates u then there's really something wrong with u, cause pete is such a fun loving guy as well.
#70 03:15pm 22/11/09 |
CSIRAC
A friend of mine is reporting that if you bought the aus version and edited it so there would be gore, that it doesnt work after a patch that was released last night. Guess he shouldnt of rushed to buy l4d2 the isntant it was on pre-order lolz
#71 03:23pm 22/11/09 |
fark that sucks. Ahhh well, everyone on here and numerous other foramz had plenty of warning to return the game to valve and VPN that shiz.
#72 03:38pm 22/11/09 |
![]() * N U K E D *
aaron
Hey Guys, first time poster here... I just tried to do the UK trick (to buy the uncut version of L4D2). For some reason, even though I set my country to UK, after downloading and installing the game, I found bodies were disappearing after killing the infected. Does anyone have any ideas as to why this could have happened? The only thing I can think of is that I downloaded the game from a 3FL server (Australian) because it doesn't count toward my quota. I've written to Steam about this issue claiming that I am traveling in Australia at the moment so hopefully they can help me out. |
#74 06:41pm 09/12/09 |
maybe steam have fixed the issue?
you definately went to the uk steam store first? |
#75 06:43pm 09/12/09 |
aaron
maybe steam have fixed the issue? Absolutely! I was being totally anal about it too (making sure I was dealing in GBP etc) and changing the country to the UK. I'm so disappointed. Man Australia sucks sometimes. |
#76 06:49pm 09/12/09 |
When I did this, I put in a UK address as my home address. Did you do that as well?
#77 06:53pm 09/12/09 |
aaron
When I did this, I put in a UK address as my home address. Did you do that as well? No, I just used my PO Box here... Reading the how to guides suggested to merely change the country. |
#78 06:58pm 09/12/09 |
Same thing happened with the demo for my mates, so to make sure we did it the VPN way and it worked.
#79 06:58pm 09/12/09 |
i just did the simple uk way and it worked last week.. btw uncensored is awesome.
#80 07:11pm 09/12/09 |
RockitMan
I reckon L4D1 is better. If they just put the new weaps and specials in L4D1 it'd be great. I reckon valve are full of s*** about any future L4D1 content though and it's nothings gonna happen.
#81 10:41pm 09/12/09 |
DM
After like 3 weeks in melbourne I finally came back and was playing Hard Rain campaign and saw this. After this I saw another 3 witches 1 after another. That is so awesome and hard to go around.
http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/30/c4m2sugarmilla0001.jpg |
#82 11:05pm 09/12/09 |
yep theres a ton of witches on hard rain and they are usually all near eachother.
#83 11:06pm 09/12/09 |
DM
Oh and while I was waiting for 1 of them to move a tank found his way over to me. He chucked a rock and I jumped behind a witch and he KO'ed her 1 hit. Much lols were had
#84 11:15pm 09/12/09 |
i think the witches like sugar or something.
#85 11:16pm 09/12/09 |
at least the witches are easy to see with those giant arrows floating above them eh....
#86 11:17pm 09/12/09 |
RockitMan
the new scoped rifle is way too powerful though. Heaps of ammo, perfectly accurate, very powerful shot, it dominates too much i rkn.
#87 11:24pm 09/12/09 |
I think L4D1 is fairly terrible compared to the sequel. Still lots of fun because it was the first decent co-op MP in ages but l4d2 dominates it.
One thing that still bugs me about this game is the little bits of randomness in versus mode. I thought they would fix that s*** for the sequel but nope. Example of annoyances - Random med kits around the map. IMO you should get 4 meds at the start of each round and that is it besides the finale where you get an extra 4 kits. Pills and whatever else I don't mind. - Random infected class selection. Some combinations are better than others. You need some 'primary' classes (boomer/charger) to really initiate any significant damage on pub servers and sometimes the game is a harsh c*** and doesn't give you any for a few lives. Would be cool to have some kind of sv_tournament mode you could turn on in the lobby or vote. I can understand an extra few kits is fun for down syndrome c***s but its lame when you got 8 decent players. DM - those witches are intentional and I think there is an achievement to make your way through the mill and not alert a witch. edit: something like this would be cool. http://www.cybergamer.com.au/forums/thread/39484/Confogl:-L4D2-Competitive-Config-Beta/ last edited by ctd at 23:47:17 09/Dec/09 |
#88 11:47pm 09/12/09 |
- Random med kits around the map. IMO you should get 4 meds at the start of each round and that is it besides the finale where you get an extra 4 kits. Pills and whatever else I don't mind. in versus or campaign? i think they definitely needed in versus. survivors would get stomped far too quickly if they are up against a decent inf team. i think they should get rid of defib in versus though, or make them black and white when revived. last edited by ravn0s at 00:06:46 10/Dec/09 |
#89 12:06am 10/12/09 |
Talking about versus. Meh, I reckon it is the other way around. A good survivor team shouldn't need all those meds to make it interesting.
Also I would say the AK, burst fire rifle, or either of the auto shottys along with a nightstick (fastest swing rate) are my favourite weapons. (looking at the damage stats) |
#90 12:31am 10/12/09 |
The burst fire rifle is great for versus, seems to do the best on ammo.
Autoshotty is my favourite but always runs out of ammo before the next pile/guns if you're taking the lead and killing common infected. |
#91 08:26am 10/12/09 |
appartently the new SDK will allow us L4D1 maps/content to be bought up to L4D2 with ease.. even importing items from other Valve games
yaay.. naked Zoey again. the jury is out on whether we'll be allowed custom skins for guns/items though. |
#92 08:35am 10/12/09 |
the jury is out on whether we'll be allowed custom skins for guns/items though. hmm i read that you will be able to alter all that s***. ak + laser sight = win. however i usually choose m4 + a melee weapon. |
#93 08:47am 10/12/09 |
just harden up and learn to play infected better if you don't like medkits imo. it was already made easier for you in this sequel |
#94 09:22am 10/12/09 |
Bagnol
So does the UK order work-around still work? |
#95 12:49pm 17/12/09 |
konstie
sweet first post :D welcome to ausgamers / qgl |
#96 12:53pm 17/12/09 |
So does the UK order work-around still work? Can't comment on the cc=uk way but the VPN way has worked 4 times for me/mates. http://anonymitynetwork.com/ |
#97 02:46pm 17/12/09 |
Seven
UK way works
#98 03:48pm 17/12/09 |
Mitch
Can confirm UK method still works. I used it the other day to snap up borderlands cheaper |
#99 03:57pm 17/12/09 |
EL
I don't think you can unless you import the game. |
#100 08:40am 19/12/09 |
Rohan
Sorry, to resurrect guys (olol), but I'm actually gonna buy it from the UK. Like, an actual retail DVD of L4D2 from the UK.
I should be able to play the game completely uncensored, right? |
#101 11:36pm 20/12/09 |
No, you're going to get the censored version.
Sorry you wasted your money. |
#102 12:34am 21/12/09 |
Yes, UK version is fine. My version is from the UK. Greazy just hates you, that's all.
#103 12:39am 21/12/09 |
MADMAX
well i bought aussie version i had a gift card for dick smith ,all i did was change 2 lines to 510 i dont care if i have no achievements as long as i can play with gore and no bodies disappearing and it works like a charm played all night crazy intense online fun ;) trying to play with (censored version) bodies vanishing as soon as a bullet hits them sucks but once you fix it man setting those zombies on fire is classic watching them run around on fire.. |
#104 03:05am 30/12/09 |
MADMAX
From reading some of those threads on the Steam forums, it seems you can't join public games with that gore thing enabled? Or at least, you can only join servers setup to run with the gore thing, and play with other people who have the gore patch? Doesn't sound like a particularly good solution :( Good I guess if you just want to have a LAN with friends and you're all using the patch, but not so good for internet play. well the more people who use it then the more servers! I dont use no patch i just change 2 files and replace them when i want to play for stats cause stats dont work if you change files . . 2 files i change are steam_appid.txt and the inf file simple and easy. open both files and put 510 in them also on the steam_appid.txt file hit properties and make it read only . then start steam from the exe inside the folder or make a short cut and put on desktop and youll have full gore . |
#105 04:38pm 30/12/09 |
eightyeight
^ i will have to do that...i f***ing completely forgot about this censoring bulls*** and just bought it through the steam client. f***.
last edited by eightyeight at 05:27:49 31/Dec/09 |
#106 05:27am 31/12/09 |
#106 |