Topic: The OMG its Summer QGL Weight Loss Challenge

I know there's some other fat c***s out there - summer is fast approaching!

I decided in March this year that I wasn't going to spend another summer in Cairns covering up my massive bloated carcass and did something about it. I dropped 15 kg to just under 90 going into winter.

Over winter I beer and pizza'd my way back to 92 but in the last couple weeks I'm back to 90. I'm 6 feet tall, broad-shoulder build but am still definetly overweight - I reckon somewhere between 80 and 85 is best for me.

My own personal weight challenge is that I am a bit munted with MS and it gets worse in the heat so outdoor exercise is rough. That said, no f***ing excuses, I was a fat c*** before I got MS. This s*** is easy if you have willpower

Just don't eat more than your body needs.

You can find out how much you need simply by getting on a scale daily and seeing if eating less is working yet, and adjusting your diet down. Without stupid amounts of exercise I lose 1-2 kilos a week if I don't spaz on food.

Yes, you'll probably get f***ing hungry to start with, that's the point. Man up or go do a bazillion reps somewhere.

Anyway, who is in? I wanna make it to 82.5 max before December, definetly before Chrissy. If a munted old bastard like me can do it you have no excuse.
MatchFixa
I'm 71kg and need an extra 4kg's but i think I've "platoed".

You gimme 4kg's and i'll give you.. nothing?

Done!

Actually, 5 dorra.
I'm 56, I'll take any extra KG's from anyone.
This thread is not for you rakes.

C'mon fatties, out into the light you know who you are! You can do eeet.
MatchFixa
So i've gotta pay you so you lose weight.

Sounds like lucrative business where do i sign up!
jadz0r

haha Hogfather. You're an angry unit. I love it.
vbcoder
i'm five-ten, and now 64kg. i was 75kg and now i'm "cutting"

RIIIPPPEDDD BRU

edit: wow, those figures look like i was a fat c***. no, i've actually lost a lot of muscle due to no gym because of surgery
Im about 6'2, broad shoulders, about 115kg give or take.

Im a fat bastard and will do something about it soon.

Its comforting to know I could kill Chub by sitting on him.

Oh, I also look like peter griffin apparently.
get yourself a redhead girlfriend and complete the illusion.

RockitMan
Problem solvered:

http://www.everlast.com/images/evwiidmb_m.jpg
Are they for real?

I have Wii Fit and use it as the scales. The graph thingy is pretty awesome to keep you on track.
hogfather: man i wouldn't want to be carrying around extra lard in cairns, that's gotta suck.

i'm 180cm @ 75kg and have reasonable muscle mass.

I'm trying to bulk a bit.
Hmm considering this. I reckon I could very well be the biggest loser on here.

I'm 180cm and 69kg. More kilos required. I have also plateaued. I couldn't handle the pie diet any longer, as good as that worked while I was on it.
Yeh its really quite awful.

But it can be fixered in time for the worst bits of summer.
188cm 100kg here. Could be skinnier but my wonderful personality makes up for it.
pie diet isn't going to put on muscle though pink..

lol holy s*** fpot

last edited by paveway at 15:07:53 20/Oct/09
im 180 and was 67kg for competitions now i have stopped up too 74kg im happy as i have not put on any fat :)
I don't think anything is going to put on muscle unless you're working out eh
I'm 193cm & 117kg.. I play/referee basketball a couple of nights a week + sporadically going for a jog.. Would love to drop about 10kg, but eating habits wtfpwn me majorly..
6foot,94kg. Semi regular trips to the gym (2-3 times a week) and I have lost 3-4kgs. Along with cutting down on some of the colonel's finest.

Still need to eat less and go to the gym a bit more regularly. Haven't really been applying myself though.

last edited by ctd at 15:27:56 20/Oct/09
benneth
Can anyone show me how to gain some weight, tell me the ways of the fat...
I'm 6 ft, 70kgs and no matter how much I eat I don't put on weight.
touche reload

192cm and 98kg~ been hitting the gym solidly 3 time a week in recent months so i've been seeing some good results there in terms of strength and also lost a little bit of weight in the last couple of weeks, usually uni timetable f***s with my routine a fair bit.

idealy i'd like to lose a couple more kg's, i was 92 at my best but i've done alot of weights since then so i'd like to get down around 95 or so

though if i sit where i am now and continue to go to the gym and not gain weight i'd still be happy

last edited by paveway at 15:21:19 20/Oct/09
MatchFixa
I'm 193cm & 117kg.
I hope your eating habits doesn't include humans :/
Mantorok
Along with cutting down on some of the kernelscolonel's finest.
FIXED
everyone is welcome to touche reload
Lol at the people quoting their height in feet. Go to America kthnx.

I'm in, but I don't know how much I weigh. I'll figure that out then I can set a goal.
I'm 6 ft, 70kgs and no matter how much I eat I don't put on weight.

How old are you? I was like that until my early 20s.

pie diet isn't going to put on muscle though pink..

True that. Was going to gym last year but it's boring as hell. Lift this weight. Lift it again. Lift it again. Ok, I'm bored now.

I do triathlon, football (round ball variety) and generally plenty of running and swimming. Football training is enough for muscle - our coach is a nutter and push-ups and sit-ups are the order of the day. In summer, triathlon. There's no fat on me, I'm a rake but at least I have some minimal muscle definition. Unlike when I weighed 60kg and was the same height, hahaha.
I hope your eating habits doesn't include humans :/

Not really, was bought on by s***house eating habits for the last 10 years or so.. Suspect that if I wasn't heavily involved in Basketball during that time, I'd have landed myself in Hospital with a heart attack or two. That said, It did catch up with me around this time last year & I was fairly crook for about 2 months, which the net result was me dropping about 8-9kg during that time. Scared me into improving, but not enough it seems.

Hmm considering this. I reckon I could very well be the biggest loser on here.

Oh I doubt that :P

Start of the year I decided, f***, I'm 30 now, and I'm a majorly fat c*** wearing 6XL shirts that were starting to get tight. Don't really want to die in the next few years, so time to lose some weight. Completely revamped my eating habits, and I've been generally making myself more active (walking more, going bike riding, etc). As of September I have lost about 35kgs, still got a fair bit left to go though, I'm still 6 foot 2 and just under 120kgs. If I got to 90, I'd be pretty f***ing happy. Had a bit of a lapse lately, went off the wagon a bit when I lost my job and went through a "f*** it, why bother" phase, and put about 5 or 6 kgs back on, but yeah, I'm back at it now.

Holy f***ing s*** Khel.

Pics or lying
benneth
How old are you? I was like that until my early 20s.

24, I figure that my metabolism will slow down eventually after mid 20s though.
pink football training isn't enough for muscle really..

you do mass cardio pretty much hence why you won't put any weight on

colonel's finest.

heh true. For some reason I thought KFC spelt it the computing way.
Mass
I'm 5'10" and 63kgs.......type 1 diabetes keeps me thin, I can eat what ever I like (more sugar and fat the better) and I lose weight. If they could somehow block the cells absorbing glucose or produce an insulin blocker everyone could do the same. Unfortunately it does do damage to your organs and circulatory system in the process and the constant trips to the toilet and unquenchable thirst get annoying.

Still I lost 18kgs in 2 months when I first contracted diabetes on a diet of extremely high sugar and no exercise(went from 74kgs to 56kgs).

pink football training isn't enough for muscle really..

you do mass cardio pretty much hence why you won't put any weight on

Yeah exactly. My lifestyle prevents me from gaining weight. I'd have to stop running so much and start lifting heavy s*** instead.
Just hammer the food.

If you start eating 5000 calories a day, you WILL put on weight.
Khel that's awesome to hear mate. Once you reach two figures you'll be over the moon, and then really appreciate all the hard work you've done, not that you haven't already. I'm wanting to lose another 10kg but currently dong German volume training which will be putting size on me so my hiit training will be put on holt few month or two. Lost 4kg in past 2 weeks from my own intense training and eating plan, barely eating carbs had helped shed weight so quickly. If people want lose weight it all comes down to output > input.
I am only 175cm's and weigh 95kg's or there about i.e. fatty mcfatty

I need to lose ~15kg would prefer 20kg's or so, just a lazy f*** as well :p
MoGs
Last time i checked i was 99kgs!!! Holy Bejebus batman ... time to hit the exercise regime and get back down to 89kgs! My goal for the end of the year ... maybe even 85kgs. It's not hard i just have to get motivated.
If you start eating 5000 calories a day, you WILL put on weight.

fat..

i think pinky wants weight he can use

last edited by paveway at 15:40:39 20/Oct/09
If I got to 90, I'd be pretty f***ing happy

Yeh at my worst ~6 years or so I was over 120 - where I am now would no doubt have looked like a dream.

Stick at it mate you'll get there.
fat..

i think pinky wants weight he can use
So long as the 5000 calories are legit and not junk food + a solid weight training program.

Good to go.

You can't eat 2000 calories and participate in sport/cardio and expect to put on weight.
I seem to sit on 84kg no matter how fat my booze belly gets
5'10

I wouldn't even know how many calories I eat.

Typical day is no breaky, apple + coffee 8.30am, schnitzel with chips & salad 12pm, coffee + cake 3pm, stir-fry 7pm, biscuits & 3 beers.

Surely that's over 2000 calories
I'm about 174cm tall.. what is my ideal weight? I've heard that you can minus 100 from your height to get your weight!?!?
Typical day is no breaky

naughty. breakfast is the most important meal of the day.
MatchFixa
Yeah i play soccer twice a week for fun but it can't be that good for weight gain. Maybe that's why i'm fluctuating around 71-73kg's. Like pave said uni also screws around with my gym schedule so it's not easy getting 4 sessions of gym every week.

I'm just too addicted to futsal, i guess it's better than getting addicted to booz bitches and weed...

or is it...

last edited by MatchFixa at 15:53:17 20/Oct/09
6' -> 86kg.. could lose some weight but i work at night and wake up at like 10am so i can't be f***ed running in the heat, need nights offfff
Metabolism is a fantastic thing.

Between 16-22 I never gained any fat or weight. I sat at 55kgs. I stopped soccer and other sports at 16 and figured I'd be okay. I was right for about 5 years. I never actually put on weight, in fact i lost all my muscles and replaced them all with fatty gooeyness.

When i hit 23 I realised I was getting fat as what i thought was my out-ie bellybutton suddenly became an inny as my stomach enlarged over it. I realised I had lost my muslce definition and struggled even to do some of the lifting I used to do with ease. I decided about 3 months ago to fix that and start exercising 3-4 times a week.

Since then ive gained weight, I'm nearly 60kgs, but i've lost my stomach fat. My shoulders pumped back out to being what they used to be and then some more. They weren't boney and uncomfortable. I exercise 3 times at least a week, each time trying to push myself. I couldn't do 20pushups when i started, but now can easily to 50 in a set, 200 in a couple of hours separated by a couple of sets of 150 situps (only do 300) and some hand weights (15 reps of 17.5kgs of curls and whatever its called if you lift it from your shoulder to straight abover your head).

I've gained motivation within my working week, I've gained confidence, I've gained a heap of obviously lacking endorphins. I can only reccomend it. Even if you don't bother with a gym just doing some basic exercise if nothing else but just feeling better. I try to get into some sporty like things a couple of times a week (right now my favorite easy game is squash as its intense and competitive without needing a lot of people to play it with).

Anyway good luck to everyone aiming to lose weight, but also those who think they are thin but want to exercise anyway.

last edited by skythra at 15:58:33 20/Oct/09
I'm addicted to futsal, i guess it's better than getting addicted to booz bitches and weed.

i don't know... (replace weed with dingas)

3 sessions of gym a week is enough for me (this semester mon->wed), by the end of the 3rd one i'm pretty f***ed and eating a s***load of food to keep up the energy to go

I'm about 174cm tall.. what is my ideal weight? I've heard that you can minus 100 from your height to get your weight!?!?

There is no magic ideal number, dpeneds a lot on the individual.

BMI is a rough guide - 25 is 'ideal' which is about 76kg for 1.75m.
Acording to BMI charts, Arnie was obese when he was winning Mr Universe.
i can eat as much as i want whenever I want and I never seem to break 145-150kg
I think the skinniest I've ever been since I stopped growing was about 110kg and people said they thought I looked sick (too many drugs)
my ideal weight is somewhere around 115-120kg imo, so I've got 20kg to drop

I have tried the gym thing and I am just not a gym person
lately I've been walking around the block every night in a vein attempt to at least get *some* exercise

6'8 / currently 144kg
6'2" and 64kgs. After 4.5years living here, I'm still a skinny runt at 33yrs old. Underweight, but with a small gut. FML.
6'8 / currently 144kg
jesus f*** are you a giant?

Edit: i should clarify that in this case you are probably a full foot taller than me. and more than double my weight. At my average weight for the last 6 years you could have fit 3 of me in you at your peak.

edit2: hrm my BMI is like 20, 6 months ago it would have been 19

last edited by skythra at 16:13:24 20/Oct/09
my ideal weight is somewhere around 115-120kg imo, so I've got 20kg to drop

Your BMI at 120 is 30 - borderline obese. See Arnie comment though for how much that can mean dependingo on the individual.

You'd want to have a really epic build for a 30 BMI to be appropriate regardless of height. Not saying that you don't, but proportionally I have a pretty big build and at 180cm and a BMI of 28 I'm obviously overweight.
jadz0r

I'll be participating.

I'm not sure about numbers but it'd be somewhere around 6'/145kg. I normally judge my weight based on clothes. I guess I should get some scales.

I don't eat a lot of s*** food, I do however eat a lot of food high in carbohydrates: Potato, pasta, bread etc. I also drink a lot of beer.

I play sport 3 days a week (beach volleyball, soccer, cricket) and I walk 3.5kms on the days that i'm not playing sport. It's not enough though.

I don't think there's any way I'd really ever want to be < 100kg. I'm naturally quite stocky and very broad so being < 100kg would look abnormal I think. I'd be happy with about 110/115kg. I'm not hoping to lose all this weight by Xmas time, but getting myself into some kind of proper eating habit and exercise regime would be awesome.
character
A couple of years ago I was a wreck. 6'5", 140kg. Since then I've steadily been eating more healthily (but never 'dieting'), and exercising regularly, and now sit at 86kg, where I have plateaued, giving me a BMI of ~22. I'd like to put on a bit more muscle mass, but given that I work at a desk, and don't play contact sports, I'm finding it hard to get motivated to do so.

There is no magic ideal number, dpeneds a lot on the individual.

BMI is a rough guide - 25 is 'ideal' which is about 76kg for 1.75m.

The BMI chart used by Queensland Health for diagnosis of weight-related issues can be found here.

Healthy BMI is typically in the range of 18.5-25. I have been told that 22 is considered "ideal", although people that play contact sports or have reasonable muscle mass should sit closer to 25.

You can calculate your BMI by dividing your weight (in kg) by the square of your height (in m).
haha creepy

I recently just finished a weight loss challenge.
I don't think I have much weight to lose, but I want to tone up - oh so badly.
i need to lose 35kg to reach my ideal weight. i got 10kgs away from it then stopped going to gym and now im back to my original weight :/

but ive started training a s***load again and im hoping to lose 10-15kgs before end of year.
MoGs
That BMI BS is a complete waste of time in my opinion. A mate of mine is tones but not bulky and his BMI said he was overweight ... complete and utter BS.
I stood on BMI scales once and the said I was 38% fat
Weight means nothing, especially if you have muscle.

BMI is good for purely fat people only
BMI is accurate for the majority of people as a quick and dirty indicator of healthy weight range. Why? Majority of people only carry an average level of muscle. That's what makes it an average measure.

Fatties just use it as defence, like they're the exception to the rule even though the last time they did any exercise was when there was a broken down car in the maccas drivethrough so they had to walk to the counter. Oh but Arnie would have been obese according to BMI! Yeah no f***ing s***, but do you spend all day every day in the gym and have a set of epic guns?
boba
i'm eating a magnum. nom nom nom nom
6'8 / currently 144kg

This made me laugh so hard for no reason.
Holy f***ing s*** Khel.

Pics or lying

Not sure if pics exist of me at my worst, cos I was kinda in the habit of avoiding cameras :P But I know when I bought some scales, they didn't measure higher than 150kgs and I was maxing them out.

But then, at that point I wasn't really doing any exercise and I was pretty much living off toasted cheese sandwhiches, pizza, and 4+ litres of coke a day, so its not really a suprise. I lost the first 15 - 20kgs just by fixing what I ate, cutting out the coke, and going for a walk a couple of times a week.
MatchFixa
I can take out teq..

with a group of 56 lebos...

armed to the teeth.
yeh i'd have to get below 90kg's to get into my 'healthy' zone

which would mean giving up weights altogether and stripping down to a pipsqueek

absolute bulls***
bmi means absolutely sweet f*** all to anyone over 6 foot
when bmi was invented 6 foot was gigantor status

for me to attain a "nice" BMI of 22, I'd have to be 90kg on the dot (6'8" / 90kg(200lb) = exactly 22 bmi)

I would be dead if I weighed 90kg, no question about it
I'm 187cm(6 Foot), 100 kg's. I pretty much jiggle around this number.

Sometimes I run to the car in the morning if its raining. Sometimes I don't tho.
I'm fairly regular on my dirtbike which is suprisingly exhausting trying to stay on my Ktm 450exc.
Full day or full weekend of riding leaves me pretty buggered, and lately been doing heaps of work around the property.

I even stopped drinking coke full time, now its only for special occasions. Not that I miss it, cold water with a half dose of raro is so refreshing.
I'm 6'2, when I was fighting I got down to 84 and people asked me if I had cancer because I looked too thin (well that or the fact I shaved my head). And I was at the upper end of healthy, borderline overweight on BMI charts. : /

Can't please everyone.

last edited by Obes at 16:39:59 20/Oct/09

i'm eating a magnum. nom nom nom nom

I see your tasty afternoon snack, and raise you a Maxibon.
I raise your maxibon with tooehys extra dry, and multiple packets of pizza/barbecue shapes

I was thinking like bart simpson, "good old maxibon, nothing beats maxibon"
"poor innocent casa, always chooses maxibon"

BAM TOOHEYS EXTRA DRY
when bmi was invented 6 foot was gigantor status

Plus BMI's are based on a survey of body types in like 1 swiss village or something racist like that. The guy who invented BMI never had himself some black booty for example.

Gesthemene
Need to lose stupid amounts of weight. Like, 1.1xCHUB's worth would make me happy.

However,

a) the ridiculous number of injuries I've sustained over the last decade make even something as simple as walking incredibly painful for me.

b) Even the Wesley Weight Management program didn't work. Or more accurately, it worked until my body started rejecting the shakes (as in, drink then then hurl straight away).

c) For some reason, I find it really hard to set and then keep a standard exercise routine or even get up early enough to eat breakfast. I know the science behind it and why it's important, I just don't seem to be able to sustain it :(

So, rather than die before I reach 30, I figured that I should look into something a little more permanent. As such, I'm going to be getting a lapband either later this year or early next year. I've just got to man up and stop being such a pussy about it. (Seriously, one bad surgical experience can f*** you over for life!).

Edit: dodgy typos.

last edited by Gesthemene at 16:56:51 20/Oct/09
yeh my metabolism is really fast only slowed down when i hit 25, im now 26 :)
Just checked my BMI 24.9 91kg @ 191cm looks like I can continue to live it up...seriously though I eat fairly healthily and walk 2hrs a day...
79KG @ 182cm

You wont lose the weight unless you combine a healthy diet with exercise. Some people might but i know for me if im not doing both i wont get results.

Recently weighed about 86kg so im getting there (and in previous years 100kg+). I'll be in Thailand on dec 18 for 3 months so thats what i was aiming for :>

I've always struggled going to gym and getting into the long term routine. What has been working for me now is Muay Thai 3 times a week and a personal training session once a week.

Martial arts is a winner. PT's are good too cause they push you harder than you can yourself.

why don't we do a weightloss challenge like the biggest loser where we calc % weight loss over a set time period, and trog can sort out some prizes.. good sheeeet. need some motivation, I'm lazy :/
I know a chick who lost a s***load of weight using that ACIA Berry s*** they advertise in spam emails, not even kidding

Currently 6'7, 92kg (me, not her)

Used to be 95 but it fell off for some reason, dont even know.
i did my weight loss already this year;

got up to about 125kg and 194cm (6ft 4)

was still playing heaps of sport, just was eating and drinking to excess, so did tony ferguson for 3 months, hardcore, to the letter
dropped 30kg to 95kg

since then ive started running daily, and go to the gym 4 days a week (smashing weights)

weights creeping back up, im back up to 103kg now, but i know a s*** load of it is muscle

i dont think ive ever been fitter or stronger, and if i could cut out the boxed wine on the weekends, id probably be looking pretty tight right now;
Having skimmed this thread I no longer feel so bad about being 85kg/180cm. You fat c***s. Especially Tiny.
I'm 175cm's and 70.1 Kgs as of last night. Boxing 3 times a week, Futsal once a week. I haven't been running on my off day lately because of dodgy knee... Was 69.5 Kg at one stage earlier this year before the injury, was kinda ripped but impossible to keep it up.

I don't drink much and eat much and still finding it hard to get below 70kgs, I guess that's my natural weight so it's hard to fight it, unless I put in extra cardio work or dieting something fierce, neither of which I'm keen to do so.

And according to that BMI chart I'm healthy so all good.
tomsmum
be good if everyone posted pics
u want to ogle my moobs dont you?
tomsmum
yup
id just like to add that im pro-milf
^rza
To all the f***in fatties saying 'oh i tried the gym im just not a gym person', guess what? The f***in fat isnt gonna run screaming while you pile those donut thickshakes in, sitting on your personal self inflated massive tire ass mashing away at the keyboard about how you arent a gym person. Man up, join a gym and do some cardio classes. RPM - under the les mills program is run by quite a few gyms. If you do that class 3 times a week minimum, and you dont lose weight ill eat my hat. Thats provided you dont go in and bludge your f***in ass off like a f***in fatty.
I'm 173cm and 64kg = 21.3 BMI which is good for me. Wanna hit 21. I'm not skinny or buff, somewhere in between. I'm aiming to lose a kg or 2 more.
f***, you dont even need a gym or fancy exercise equipment;
buy a skipping rope and run, plenty of body weight exercises will get you musclin in no time
f***, you dont even need a gym or fancy exercise equipment; buy a skipping rope and run, plenty of body weight exercises will get you musclin in no time

+1

Dont feel obligated to join a gym if you want to lose weight.
+1

I just eat moderately well and do riding and lots of walking and stuff. I was about 75kg last July, lost 11kg since. Feel fkn fantastic.
I can't stand bmi readings, thy ain't with s***. You could be a pro body builder and do bmi and be classed as obese...beacuase of the bmi reading I failed to get into army reserves, because I was .5 over max level.. if you at desperate to lose weight o best way is hiit, high intensity interval training. Low, high, low, high and so on. Do 30mins a day, keeping you food intake in check and th weigh will fall off. Stay away from processed foods, 5-6 meals a day, heaps of protein, low carbs and low fat
Stay away from processed foods

Except Pizza once a month. Have one piece and I can't f***en stop.
Something that sorta works is guzzling on water, so you feel bloated and don't wanna eat. Its not 100% effective by a long shot but hey worth a try...
Mephz
I can't stand bmi readings, thy ain't with s***. You could be a pro body builder and do bmi and be classed as obese.
The BMI reading is a better indicator of health -MASS-.

Regardless of what self-mirror spooging body builders will lead you too think (Lets face it, they lift weights, not medical textbooks) - Is that an increase in mass leads to an increase in cardiac requirements.

Granted, it's a lot better than the same BMI of fat, but either way is bad for you.

I'm 185cm, was 83kg few months ago, now 86.5kg thereabouts; 75 in my prime younger days =[
Ah well!
The hubby is bulking up.....he will start cutting one day
Oh here's a pro tip: if you feel full you ate way to f***ing much.

I only pretty much eat as much as to stop feeling hungry and i tend to keep snacks (uncle toby musli bars) around for more constant eating. I eat tiny meals often. I swear to god this is why my metabolism is good (that or being 23). I try to force myself to eat breakfast and at least 2 other meals a day.

I'm pretty sure skipping meals is like telling your body to store it while its got it.
either way is bad for you.

No, it's not. A solid amount of muscle mass is anything but.
I'm going to watch this thread but so far it's entertaining.

BMI is a help but everyone is different so take it how you like. There is a difference between losing weight and losing fat. I'd bet most people on here would be happy with their current weight but with a lower body fat percentage. My BMI these days is around 21 for my height which is healthy. I do work out alot and throw cardio into the mix but there is always room for improvement in my eyes.
hardware
Having skimmed this thread I no longer feel so bad about being 85 81kg/180cm. You fat c***s.
I was 125 when I was 16, down to 85 when I was 19 and now up to 117. Was looking at pictures when I was 85 and I look so different. After reading this thread I have decided to join the QGL weight loss challenge.
Agamemnon
6'10" (208cm) + 115kg at 46y.o
A-Grade bball twice a week, training 3-4 hrs a week, eat pretty healthy (not much processed food, desert is a once-a-month treat kind of deal etc) - but still feel as though i am carrying a few extra kilos

Wouldnt mind getting down to say 105 or 100
CactusSupreme

I'm 180cm and weigh 69kg. A bit of it is muscle, Not much though. I haven't exercised (Walked to my girlfriends) since I got my P's and have actually lost weight. I'm going to assume that I am losing muscle and not fat since I no longer walk up all the hills. I also eat pretty average.

CactusSupreme, we are exactly same build.
When I got back from London in May I was 117kg. Down to 98 now - lots of gym, and went to a dietician. Feel heaps better for it, but wouldn't mind getting down to 90kg, which I was aiming to do by year's end. Might just miss it, but will give it a crack.
Stuff bmi, if you want a proper fat reading use calipers or if you can afford it get weighed in water..

last edited by Damo at 23:00:06 20/Oct/09
well tbh you don't need BMI or calipers or anything.

A full-length mirrow is a pretty good indicator of whether you're fat or not...
My BMI is 14.2 ftw.
Khel. Good on you bud. Thats a great effort.
Here's a little more motivation for you :p

http://mongie.com/ulimages/cqs1256041592o.jpg

6'8 / currently 144kg

Teq's a big unit. I tried to get him to pull my car out of a ditch without his car on the weekend. He's soft as though cause he wouldn't do it.

lololol, I'm loving the paper bag homeless look. Usually employed on the streets to make it harder for peeps to see you're drinking alcohol - but WHY NOT take it to the bedroom, I say!
Khel's a champ. I photochopped that pic.
MatchFixa
I don't care how much Khel weighs he'll always be my hero.
konstie

i'm in. i only want to lose about 5 kilos. my good friend alcohol is the problem- beer is my weakness.

however it is going to be tough because spring has sprung and sunday sippers are back!!
My goal is probably more to do with fitness. I'd like to be able to do a 5k run without having a heart attack.
I've been on a health kick for about a year now, and I"ve really taken it up a notch over the last few months. I do weights 2 days a week, boxing training one day a work and do HIIT/jogging two other days a week. I also eat fairly healthily, a day for me is like:

Oats + yoghurt
Fruit + 10 almonds
Meat + salad sandwich or some kind of home cooked meal leftovers.
Tuna + crackers
Healthy home cooked meal (lean meats, veggies, no refined carbs)

I often drink like a priest on the weekend - I'm talking a LOT of beer... as in up to 5000kj worth of beer in one night.

I'm 6'5" and weigh about 107kg. I have only lost about 4kg over the last 6 months, but have lost about 8% body fat (so I've lost about 8kg of fat and gained 4kg of muscle and bone; working out makes your bones denser!). My metabolism must be s***-c*** slow, but I'm still soldiering on and working my ass off.

It really offends me when people sook out saying how losing weight is too hard etc and they have some kind of special problem (glands, slow metabolism, 'genetics') which prevents them from losing weight. All that s*** means is that you have to work harder. Your body still has to abide by the laws of thermodynamics. I think the best motivation I have now is when I see photos; I don't cringe when I see them anymore. Oh, and the massively increased interest from the ladies. That has gone up several fold over the last year.

ANYWAY, the idea of joining a group fitness effort interests me.

Also BMI is useless. Post body fat percentage or go home :P
why is everyone 600 feet tall on this forum??
konstie

man i thought the same thing, i feel like a shrimp.

ALSO- i dont know how to cook so i eat s*** food. tips?
... because being tall is rad? It automatically counts for 10 points with pretty much any girl ever.

Oh I forgot to mention, here's my training routine I do at the park that would work good for beginner fatties or people who can't afford a gym. It's good because you can adjust it to your skill level

Find a park that has a bit of play equipment and a decent lenth to run (like 100m). Walk for about 5 minutes before getting to the park to warm up. Once there, do this:

1. Sprint a lap of the park, walk back. Do this 2 times.
2. Do a set of 10 pushups (you can do them on the knees if you're a noob, work your way to toes then elevated).
3. Run/walk for another 2 laps, then do another set of pushups. Repeat again until you have done 3 sets of pushups.
4. Next, alternate doing 2 sprint/walk laps with dips using a bench or platform.
5. Alternate doing 2 sprint/walk laps with crunches.
6. Do as many chinups as you can. If you can't do any, just hang for a long time or jump up then slow your descent. Alternate sets of pullups with sets of squats. Switch between these exercises until you hit 3 sets of each.
7. Next alternate sets of bicycle kicks (start at 20 per set, work your way up) with walking lunges.
8. Now do as many pull ups as you can. As with chinups, work your way up to it if you have to. Alternate pullups with double sprint/walk laps until you've done 3 of each.
9. Walk home to cool off.

You can alter, mix and match these exercises to keep it fresh. The idea is to always keep moving (to keep your heart rate up) and to alternate between exercises that use different muscles. You can also scale it easily, so like add more laps and eventually replace all walking with running. You could also bring some hand weights along too for extra muscle tone.

i dont know how to cook so i eat s*** food. tips?

Learn how to cook basic stuff. Its pretty easy to cook some meat+noodles+vegetables or some other s***. The frozen foods section at woolworths can make it even easier if you want.
not really gimpy.

The whole reason that humans have gotten taller through the ages is because of sexual selection.

Just grab some chicken breast or turkey steak, cook it until it's safe and just nuke some frozen veggies. To liven things up, try seasoning the chicken with a pinch of curry powder. If you need to add a little extra kick to your veggies, add some mustard like seeded, dijon, french or hot english. They're mostly just mustard seeds and vinegar. Just avoid the ones that have sugar added.

I'm lucky, I'm a pretty good cook but the above fare is the kinda stuff I make when I'm busy or feeling lazy. I'm pretty good at combining random s***ty foodstuffs to create new meals.
but it still doesn't make up for your s*** personality...? hahaha

aaaaaaaaaaaaaamirites

Hey, at least I can get a date without having to resort to hitting on my dentist.
since this is like a fitness thread im going to ask a question in the remote sense there may be an answer

you guys know the lat bar how some of them have grips so you can excercise your biceps and a few other muscles chin-up style? What's that excercise called? it's not a lat pull, and it's not a chin-up, but??

can't realy google it..

found out my max for that excercise is 130kgs today. good fun
I dunno Phooks. I"m guessing what you're describing is a bicep pulldown maybe?
Into your mum's anus, anyway.

And it's one exercise more than you'll ever know.
wow I should ban trog for unbanning you
what a waste of space
Holy s***, Khel, that's awesome. Keep at it, it sounds like you're powering along.

I'm 196cm, but I'm not sure how much I weigh at the moment. Before I started going to the gym around 4 months ago, I was 100KG. I haven't weight myself since, but I've been going in my lunch breaks 4 times a week. I've definitely noticed muscle gain as well though, so my weight may not have varied very much. We don't own any scales, but I'll see if there's any at the gym tomorrow.
My goal is probably more to do with fitness. I'd like to be able to do a 5k run without having a heart attack.

if you are serious shad matey, get up early and just do it;

i probably couldnt run 100m when i started out this year. but i get up at 5 every day (weekdays), read internets for half an hour and go for a run

started small, probably 1k or so, struggled for a little while, got easier;

im up to 6k every morning now, and probably have a bit more in the tank

yer, some mornings its hard to get up, and most mornings i dont really want to start the run, but by the time i finish it, i feel awesome
good work hogfather

i'm 6"2 and about 95kg

I should be around 87.5

this is my target

i was cycling 1 hour to work and back but it didn’t help cause I was eating to compensate

the best source of inspiration was no s*** this:

Dr Rudy!

It works in changi and it worked for Ghandi!

\

at lunch now i go for the salad instead of the carbs.. its making a big difference.. anyway good luck!

f***ing old farts need to worry about what they eat.. sheesh

pushing 40 does it to you

<3 dr rudi

yer, i try to eat only salads for lunch too, sometimes if im feeling norty, ill have a sprinkling of ham and cheese in my salad
i was cycling 1 hour to work and back but it didn’t help cause I was eating to compensate
Surely though your fat must have been converting into muscle, i doubt your legs and stomach were just as weak after a few weeks of cycling?
the only issue i have with eating salad at lunch time is i get to the gym after work and have no energy to lift any weights...
fruit for afternoon tea matey

couple of bananas, some strawberrys and an apple and you'll be all powered up

i hit the gym at lunch, always got plenty of energy for sport at nite time;
meh i'll just eat more at lunch time

either way you're still eating the food

It's a realistic goal, shad. Just do it. Really really slow to start, 1km twice a week at first is all you want. Measure it out on Google Earth.

I often drink like a priest on the weekend - I'm talking a LOT of beer... as in up to 5000kj worth of beer in one night.
My metabolism must be s***-c*** slow, but I'm still soldiering on and working my ass off.

It's not your metabolism, it's the alcohol. Pretty much every fighters at all the gyms I went to (both amateurs and pros), to get that extra fitness for their fights they stop drinking the grogs all together for weeks sometimes a couple of months (and obviously other dietary stuff) - but pretty much the alcohol is your biggest enemy.

And man their fitness is just amazing and yeah they're pretty ripped like the fighters on the TV.

Clearly I'm not suggesting that you all follow their diet programmes but, if you're serious about getting fit and loosing weight *fast*, then it could be as simple as cutting down on the amount you drink or if you're really keen stop drinking all together for a few weeks.

You'll really notice the extra gain from your workout programmes. Even for me, I'm not anywhere near as fit as those guys but, when I have a big weekend drinking, I'd struggle with the following week's programmes i.e. I just feel as though I have a lot less energy, can't move as fast and get tired a lot quicker etc.

Might be obvious to some but, it's just my $0.02 :)

In my opinion, Chad you could start with a bit of a swim as it's easier on the joints at your current weight. If not start with cycling in the gym.

Once you've lost a few Kgs then you can pound the pavement - start small like everyone said. If you can try to get an exercise partner so you can help keep each other's programme.

Particularly running, it's such a boring way to exercise if you don't have a mate to push you along you really have to motivate yourself to do it.

And lets face it it's far easier to talk yourself out of it :) I know I do that depends on the day but if I know my mate brought his running gear and expecting me to run with him I'd be more incline to go.

Once you get some routine happening you'll find that you'll need partner less as you'll (hopefully) developed a habit and will just go anyway.
Haha, love your work Eds :)
Ok this is what I do to keep in shape:

Gym 3 x per week.

Program is stronglifts:

workout A:
Barbell squat 5x5
Barbell bench 5x5
Inverted Rows (BW) 3 sets to failure
Pushups (BW) 3 sets to failure
Ab work 3 sets

workbout B:
Barbell squat 5x5
Barbell overhead press 5x5
Barbell deadlift 1x5
Chinups/Pullups 3 sets to failure
Prone bridges 3 x 45sec

some cardio on non-training days. Don't need to overdo it. Walk up some hills for 30 mins or something.

Diet: 3500 cals per day favouring unprocessed foods incl. >150g of protein, plus 3L of water (no softdrinks, no juice). Keep alcohol as an occasional thing, not a daily thing.

Do that s*** week in week out and you'll get big, fit and strong ok?

last edited by orbitor at 10:19:29 21/Oct/09

last edited by orbitor at 12:28:59 21/Oct/09
yeah definitely keep alcohol to the weekends, jim beam and zero ftw

drinking even a couple of beers a day smashes your carb and energy intake per day and simply isn't health to do everyday anyway.

3L of water a day is pretty epic, i reckon i'd go close if i factor in what i drink when i drink when i get home after the gym.

you piss like a race horse all day though which gets annoying
Also:

You can pick up a magazine at Woolies called "Good Taste Guide" (or something like that) it's done by Woollies themselves. The good thing with this magazine over other cooking mags is that all the ingredients you can get from Woolies and they're varied from very simple to cook and a bit fancy. It also contains the cost per serve, and the suggested cooking time of each meals.

And from what I've seen most of the meals they put in are very easy and *quick* to made like 10-15 minutes tops.

I personally thought it was a great little mag for crap cook like me :)

Have a look for it next time you're at Woolies.

pave: you get used to the water intake. it's good to drink plenty of water when you've got high protein intake, helps your kidneys out and also makes sure your muscles are well hydrated which is important for rapid recovery.
i probably smash close to 4litres of water a day;

2-3 at work easy and another litre or so in the morning/after work at home

i sleep with a 2 litre bottle next to me during the nite and often wake up and drink a litre or so;
lewd
^ +1

high water consumption is essential in qld.
sparrow

I drink an average of 500ml a day. I'm around others who drink 2-4L, but I just cannot bring myself to down that much liquid.
500mL a day? I can down a 600mL bottle of water in a matter of seconds if I'm really thirsty.
I drink about 4 litres of water a day at work. I know this because the jog I got is 2 litres and I fill that twice a day :)
I've been restricting my carbs and going to the Gym finally after 10 years of transforming from a sexy young man into a fat dude. Seems to be working.

Gone from this (guy on the right) to this in about 6 months.

Edit: I'm also probably drinking 4L of water a day+. And as an added bonus on a low carb diet alcohol doesn't really screw up the diet aslong as it's no/low sugar mixers and spirits. Your body will switch to burn the alcohol obviously instead of the food/fats but it will return to normal the next day so it only slightly stalls it.

Double edit: The second pic was a joke one, I don't normally double army dress or pull a 'how *you* doin' face'.

last edited by Syco at 13:48:59 21/Oct/09
yeah i drink probably a bit less than 3 litres, actually maybe more tbh

i always have a 600ml bottle on my desk that i drink from all day, i usually fill it 3 times over a full day

then at home in the arvo probably a litre or so
If you drink that much liquid there's something wrong with you. Unless you do some crazy physical exercise that requires you to re-hydrate yourself.

Get your kidneys checkout.
Water is awesome. Over the last 10 years I'd almost stopped drinking it all together. After getting into the diet though I can't stand drinking even a can of normal coke, and can only just stand coke zero/pepsi max. I used to feel like a coke, now I feel like water heh.

Bought my fist size L shirts in 10 odd years last week, I think I was upto 2-3XL.

Edit:

If you drink that much liquid there's something wrong with you. Unless you do some crazy physical exercise that requires you to re-hydrate yourself.

Get your kidneys checkout.

Nothing wrong with extra water, it just passed through you taking toxins etc with it. Makes you feel fuller while it's in your belly too so less snacking. As long as you don't way over do it and kill yourself water is great.

last edited by Syco at 13:58:49 21/Oct/09
Most people are dehydrated.

The human body loses on average the equivalent of 6-12 cups of water each day, in the following ways:

- 28-40 ounces of water are lost in breath and perspiration.
- 20-55 ounces are lost during urination.
- 2-7 ounces are lost via the gastrointestinal tract (feces).

For men they advise a total daily water intake of about 3.7 liters (about 12 glasses).

Source: These guys.

last edited by Hogfather at 14:00:34 21/Oct/09
Also as for my boxing workout (I think I've posted before but anyway):

Warm up!

3 x 5 minutes rope skipping.
For each break between skipping do
- break 1: 4 x 10 reps of any exercises you want i.e. 10 x pushups, 10 x situps, 10 x squat, 10 x pullups
- break 2: 4 x 20 reps of any exercises you want
- break 3: 3 x 30 reps of any exercises you want
Rest about 20-30 seconds after each set, before start skipping again. Ideally the in the last set of skipping, you should do at least 10-20 seconds of fast skipping i.e. double ups / cross overs or just go as fast as you can

Rest about 60 seconds, then
Run 2-3 Kms. We run 3 laps around Lang park's outside parameters so it's closer to 4 Km. Normally take about 10-15 minutes if you're really fit, I take about 25 minutes heh.

Rest about 60-90 seconds, then
Shadow box: 2-3 x 5 minutes each round.
For each break between rounds do
- break 1: 2 x 10 reps of any exercises you want i.e. 10 x pushups, 10 x situps etc
- break 2: 2 x 20 reps of any exercises you want

Rest about 20-30 seconds after each set, before start shadow boxing again. Ideally you should be sprinting in shadow boxing sets i.e. sprint for a few seconds, then back to normal, then sprint aka slow fast slow routine.

Then bag work for about 20-30 minutes after that. Though if you're holding the bag you ended up doing about 15 minutes.

Then I might spar for 2 x 3 minutes rounds. Otherwise I'd shadow box for another 20 minutes for footwork.

Warm down!

The whole thing takes about 2 hours, I try to do about 3 nights a week - Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Clearly if you're really super keen you do something on your cardio break days. I used to go running on Tuesday with my mate after work - 8kms run home.

Clearly the routines are very very cardio centric so it won't suit everyone (i.e. if you want to bulk up) but, you'll lose weight for sure as long as you stick with it :)

If you're just starting obviously you wouldn't do all of that in full, maybe break up the routines a bit the first few weeks. Once you're fitness is good, then you can do them all in one day.

last edited by Opec at 14:01:15 21/Oct/09

last edited by Opec at 14:02:51 21/Oct/09
I prefer this linkbecause at least it has references at the end.
# There is a large variation when it comes to individual water needs. Those who are active have increased water requirements, especially if exercising in hot weather.
# As a baseline, 1L of water a day (about 3 glasses) should be fine for those individuals who are relatively sedentary.
# Increasing water intake to 1.5-2.5L/day (4-5 glasses) per day is a good idea if you are moderately to highly active, and drink a few gulps every 15-30 minutes if exercising in hot weather.

But here's the thing that most people don't get:
This intake is satisfied not only from water intake, but also from other fluids, the food we eat and the metabolic processes required to break down that food.

I hate linking to websites, but at least the above site uses references and it agrees with what I've learnt in biochem classes.

Therefore, drinking that much water is not good for you/something wrong you with.

Most people are dehydrated.
Probably from drinking too much piss and supplementing water with carbonated drinks.

last edited by greazy at 14:05:12 21/Oct/09
Therefore, drinking that much water is not good for you/something wrong you with.

It might not be 'good for you' but it surely isn't 'bad for you' to drink more then the recommended intake as long as you're not drinking a toxic amount. Water puts something in your belly, makes you feel full etc, for someone trying to lose weight a mouth full of water over the recommended daily amount is surely better then a snickers bar.
Edit:

Crap, double post, nuke if you like.
Id go the snickers bar because at least that way you're getting some salts with your water.
and some NUTS!
Id go the snickers bar because at least that way you're getting some salts with your water.

Yeh, cos the average Westerner just doesn't get enough f***en salt do they!
The food is bland, I'm sorry.
Yeh, cos the average Westerner just doesn't get enough f***en salt do they!

Just Westerner? I know a Vietnamese chick whose food I can't eat because of the freaking huge amount of salt. I watched her cook a fish a while back, she had the salt opening on the big round opening and just poured and poured and poured.
Drinking around 4litres of water a day, which is what the body should be getting. If your piss is yellow then you are dehydrated, once it becomes clear you should be plenty hydrated but need to keep drinking to make sure you stay hydrated.

I've tried my hardest to keep my sodium levels down, use to have it every single night on my food, now it's just pepper. Don't think i've had salt on purpose for a year or two now.

water > sneakers bar..

Water contains no fat, and god knows how much is in the snickers bar. All the work you do would just be thrown out the window having a snickers bar. Wouldn't even have one for a cheat meal, would just kebab or something.
the pickles and jalepenos in my subway salad are so awesome though :\
Syco: absolutely not just Westerner, get some of that MSG up ya!

Most of the people reading this forum are Westerners tho :)
My grandad almost killed himself drinking water.

He misheard a doctor and started drinking 8L of water a day (instead of glasses).
He basically filled up like a balloon and got congestive heart failure (or some such).
your grandad is a f***ing idiot
Drinking around 4litres of water a day, which is what the body should be getting. If your piss is yellow then you are dehydrated, once it becomes clear you should be plenty hydrated but need to keep drinking to make sure you stay hydrated.
You're making s*** up.
OK so I researched some more.

The guys at Kidney Health Australia say to "drink when you are thirsty". They note that the average person will need to replace about 3L or fluid per day, which can come from pretty much any source (coffee counts etc).

20% will come from food.

SO if water is a major part of your fluid intake you may need a couple of litres a day.
MatchFixa
lol now tell us what you really think!

best call in QGL history

works even better without context
You're making s*** up.

Some parts of that are true. It doesnt have to go clear I dont believe but the more dehydrated you are, the darker your piss is.
He was 96 and thought he was being held in a war prison. *shrug*
Why are non-fatties still posting in this thread? Leave us to our lard busting sheesh :)
i dunno, most of you fatties are still fitter than maxe
i sweat heavily, usually twice a day (running and at the gym, if im playing sport at nite thats three times)

my body craves water, i dont drink softdrink and dont regularly drink coffee anymore (sometimes i treat myself to a coffee, but most days none)
OK so I researched some more.

The guys at Kidney Health Australia say to "drink when you are thirsty". They note that the average person will need to replace about 3L or fluid per day, which can come from pretty much any source (coffee counts etc).

20% will come from food.

SO if water is a major part of your fluid intake you may need a couple of litres a day.
Thanks for agreeing with me.

Someone like Syco drinking 4L of water, add 20% (of 3L) and he's more than 2 extra litres of water per day. Imagine the strain he is putting on his kidneys.
lewd
being a courier, a sweat heaps a day....
so 4 litres probably isnt enough.
i also know where all the toilets are on my route, as the need to pee
arises frequently.

but yeah, i will leave the biggest losers to their thread.
Surely though your fat must have been converting into muscle, i doubt your legs and stomach were just as weak after a few weeks of cycling?

it was prob 18 months 5 days a week.. yeah i didnt really gain or lose weight so i imagine i was converting fat into muscle.. but in the end i didnt lose weight
I heard cycling decreases your bone density. C/D?
cycling pants certainly decrease your sperm count
Someone like Syco drinking 4L of water, add 20% (of 3L) and he's more than 2 extra litres of water per day. Imagine the strain he is putting on his kidneys.

Strain on my kidneys? The kidneys don't really do anything to water, it's not storing anything from it, the water takes away toxins and extremely small amounts of electrolytes (which doesn't really have s*** to do with kidneys, if you have too little electrolytes it doesn't hurt the kidneys it hurts other areas). The electrolytes thing only matters if you drink an amount of water in a toxic amount which obviously I am not as I'm still here and functioning fine.

Unless you're trying to tell me taking too much junk out of my blood is a bad thing?

Edit; also, as I said I am on a low carb diet + goto the gym. I don't eat any watery fruits, I don't eat grains and rices soaked in water, I don't drink milk, I don't drink sports drinks, I've never drank coffee. Pretty sure I'm fine considering I'm not dead, pass check ups fine and haven't had any complaints in the 6-12 months I've been doing it dude, but you can keep telling me how awful it is if you like Dr Greazy :)

last edited by Syco at 18:07:07 21/Oct/09
yeah water is good for your kidneys, it flushes them out

The excess water dilutes electrolytes and causes water intoxication which can lead to electrical disturbances in the body resulting in erratic neuronal tranmission of signals which can cause death.

I haven't denied that, I've said multiple times that if taken at toxic levels it can cause problems. I'm not taking it at toxic levels. You've gotta drink a fair amount of water in a pretty small amount of time though. I drink around 4L a day, I don't skull it, I sip it throughout the day. Lets say I'm awake 16 hours a day that's about one pot/250ml per hour. OH ZE HORROR

Edit: And again, that isn't a problem with the kidneys. Too little electrolytes wont make your kidneys shut down, it will hurt you in other parts of your body.

Double edit!: Kidneys can excrete around 1L of fluid per hour.

last edited by Syco at 18:15:51 21/Oct/09
I hope you die soon. j/k.

Should read up on how kidneys work Syco. They filter all everything.
Thanks for agreeing with me.

Your math is f***ed, FYI.
Should read up on how kidneys work Syco. They filter all everything.

I know in general how they work, unless the water I'm drinking is packed with crap it will mostly pass through and collect some crap to take with it in the kidneys, and as I said they can excrete 1L of fluid per hour, I drink around 250ml per hour and don't take a lot of liquids from other places.

Either way, this is getting way off topic.

Who else is going to do the challenge?
I'm 194cm and 101kg. Feel like I've been on a health kick for 2 years, but never make progress, or make a bit of progress and have a setback (either 14 hour days at work for a few weeks, or an injury) and then don't motivate myself to get back into it.

At my peak fattiness, I weighed 117kg and that was 4 months post shoulder and knee recos. A week prior to the reco's I was 107kg, but only 13% bodyfat, so essentially I'm 6kg lighter than when I was in my best shape, but way fatter. However, I was cut to the bone back then and basically working out for a living.

I'd like to be somewhere around 90kg and think I can get there, but again have had a setback and can't run due to shin splints turning into stress fractures. I bought a bike to combat this, but it just seems harder to go for a ride than it is to just go for a run.
spidz, could use a cross-trainer or do some HIIT with walking.. What are you eating?
Spidz, if you can handle preparing most of your own food research some low-carb type diets. You can almost sit on your arse doing nothing and drop a lot of weight.

I've gone from :

Dude on the right here
http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v368/230/78/661142161/n661142161_989750_9617.jpg

to

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs133.snc1/5691_117796270447_726330447_2787062_7387542_n.jpg
(second pic is probably 2-3 months old now)

in 6-9 months just eating less carbs and doing some exercise. I tried a low fat/calorie counting thing while working out for 6 months or so before it but the weight loss was SLOWWWWWW, on the low carb one it dropped off a heap, I even lost while not going to the gym for two weeks or so here and there.

Maybe check out some upper body cardio that wont play with the knees also. Seated rows on low weights high reps, speed ball etc etc.

Edit: Sorry, missed the sholder bit. It's a tough one. I guess limit the diet a heap until you're back able to hit it hard. Speak to a physio or personal trainer that might offer some things you can do. Do you swim? It's pretty low impact.

Also, found a newer pic. Low carb pwns:

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs258.snc1/10521_134580050447_726330447_3000967_380661_n.jpg

I needed a shave almost as much as the bogan brother on the left :D

Sorry if I'm rambling, had a bit of dutch courage to ask the GF's dad for his daughters hand in marriage tonight haha.

Double edit:

I'm down about 23kg's and I've put on a bit of muscle in that time so probably more then 23kg's in fat gone.

last edited by Syco at 01:10:12 22/Oct/09
Your math is f***ed, FYI.

Haha I just realised it's all over the place. My point was his daily fluid intake is a lot more than normal. I also just realised I can't form proper sentences. I should really proof read.

Sorry if I'm rambling, had a bit of dutch courage to ask the GF's dad for his daughters hand in marriage tonight haha.
How did it go, are congrads in order?

Stage one complete, stage to yet to come. I can't see her saying no though.
congrads.

make a thread about it when the time comes.
congrads.

make a thread about it when the time comes.

I should make one now for ideas on how to do it so I'm not too clichéd haha.
swimming spidz?
6'0 between 95 and 100kg here

probably if i got to 90 i'd look like a rake though

stocky ftw
just keep in mind DIET is by miles the biggest factor in losing (or gaining) weight. i mean i'm sure you've all seen how long you have to spend on a treadmill to burn off one can of coke...

exercise just makes you look good when you peel off the weight.
According to BMI I should be 60kilos. There is no way I can be healthy and 60 kilos.

For those losing weight take photos. Day to day you can't see any difference but when you take a photo and compare it to one taken a week ago you can see it and it gives you confidence to keep going
Fark me Syco, you've done well there..

About f***ing time too. Go you!
Finally busted the 90k mark this morning. I think this is only the second time since I was in my early 20s.

This is my last couple week's effort:

http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/2223/photoeo.jpg

Also put on a work shirt that I got new for my birthday that wasn't comfortably wearable, and retired one that's too big. Top s***.

Looking in the mirror (no pics you fagets) I reckon there's still 10k left in the job. Will assess again at 85 :)
Well done, Hogfather. I really need to get me some scales, because I'm currently just going to the gym with no real objective. I'm sure I'd improve faster if I kept track of things.
Yeh its the (usually) daily answering to the graph that keeps me on the rails.

See those red dots? Beer and pizza ... When you watch a few days effort get wiped by a night's indulgence it really helps to get you focused again.

Thing I've never understood about fat people - and it seems a lot of you guys can help me understand - is that eating and pissing on is EXPENSIVE.
is that eating and pissing on is EXPENSIVE.

break that down for me Pinky, cannot compute.
vbcoder
i found khel

http://s2.buzzfeed.com/static/imagebuzz/terminal01/2009/1/22/9/amazing-weight-loss-16677-1232634448-2.jpg
thats f***ed up

break that down for me Pinky, cannot compute.

Hehe, you know that Muse lyric, "it's time the fat cats had a heart attack" - they may have been singing about you, teqs

That pic is rank! But hilarious.
Come on hogfather post a piccy.

Kat did.
Haha, nasty
Skyhawk
Well, I get in, I totally f***ed up my progress, I'd say I was and perhaps am the heaviest QGL c***. I lost 97kg, and put most of it back on, Currently taking duromine to help with appetite and just getting my grounding again, I learnt a few things from the first loss tho.
that sucks skyhawk :(
Oh f*** dude, that blows. You can do eeeett
Skyhawk
Yeah losing it is easy enough, it's keeping it off, In my position I have become to fat that excess skin was a problem, Not as Bad as the guy above, who I've chatted to a few times about his surgeries, I think he is nearly all over them now.

My advice to anyone who is over the 110 mark to at least work out what you need to not gain anymore so you don't have any skin problems.

Easier said then done tho.

Skyhawk, you've done it once, do it again. Healthy food is the good s***.

Also, pics or lying.
pinky i wanna see a pick of you.

Of course you do, baby.

Delivered. I'm a skinny bastard.

http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/8630/36243789.jpg

Your turn.
you appear to have no distinguishing features, you should get that checked out

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for FraktuRe Edit This Post Click Here to send FraktuRe an email Users HomePage Message User
Skyhawk
Also, pics or lying.

first one was in 06 at my heaviest, and yes I realise the Irony with me holding a plate of food.
http://bodyspace.bodybuilding.com//img/user_images/growable/2009/10/22/294929/progresspic/16FCON4NZf3tn5BlAcS6WAg0AqPd0394.jpeg

At my lowest 90.5kg, You can see the skin issues, my stomach seperated from my abdominal wall apparently, the classic Bat wing skin problem, and my nipples were hanging low, who knew I had a sternum problem underneath all that fat
http://bodyspace.bodybuilding.com//img/user_images/growable/2009/10/22/294929/progresspic/1se1RqZBLsJrSxWOQNdK0GYr5G3Ni284.jpeg
first one was in 06 at my heaviest, and yes I realise the Irony with me holding a plate of food.

fat guys holding food is like, the opposite of irony
Skyhawk
damn you and your correctness.
spook, I don't have a lap pool in the backyard. It's much easier just to go for a jog when you have the time - whereas if you are swimming/riding there are too many other factors that can stop you.

I'm working out 4 times a week with my psuedo home gym, so its not a complete impossiblity. If I'm in the 90's by the time my legs heal, 'll be happy an prime to finish the job
mittens
what the f*** is this thread

srsly im trying to eat and you c***s are putting me off my food with your fotos
i can see pinkys junk
haha i had to zoom in to see it. why did you blur your face pinky?

Haha, cos I am hiding from the feds, obviously. Not that you could even identify me from that pic anyway since I'm wearing goggles as well.

They are really interesting pics Skyhawk. Yeah, that skin is a real issue eh, and you need ops to fix that?
Water contains no fat

The body can't break down water to produce energy. If water contained usable energy then we'd all be dead from fatness.

last edited by 3dee at 21:43:43 22/Oct/09
What? No it can't.
MatchFixa
Haha, cos I am hiding from the feds, obviously. Not that you could even identify me from that pic anyway since I'm wearing goggles as well.

Ya and i'm hiding from ASIO.

http://img203.imageshack.us/img203/3319/zize.jpg

But i think i got a lil carried away with the blurring.

Not that it matters because coming back from the futsal finals i was wearing swimming goggles anyway.

p.s. The match was fixed.

last edited by MatchFixa at 23:53:38 22/Oct/09
Lots of good results here so far. Keep it up.

if shoulder or leg joints stop you doing normal weight training, you could look in to slow motion strength training: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB119972455533672371.html?mod=hpp_us_inside_today

I found the book 'Burn the fat feed the muscle' to be very informative. It's a bit repetitive but very good and borderline inspirational. It just seems to be all the current good advice you hear everywhere else but in one convenient (yar) ebook http://www.burnthefat.com/

I've read of people getting very good results with the beach body series of home training videos. If you are prepared to put in the effort it delivers amazing results in 90 days. There's a tonne of before during and after photos from normal real people on the many support sites. See: Power90 &
P90X

I looked to start doing their ab-ripper-x training twice a week, but it killed so much i'm only getting through it once a week at the moment

For those without equipment at home or no gym membership, you can also look at pushup & situp work, checkout http://hundredpushups.com/ and http://www.twohundredsitups.com/ programs to get you started.
My downfall is bundy rum premixes.

They make me fat, are expensive, and taste disgusting.

I don't know why I keep drinking so many of them.
srsly im trying to eat and you c***s are putting me off my food with your fotos

That's OK, we'd probably put you off your food by showing you our enormous cawks too.

Thermite, go low carb dude, then drink all the rum and pepsi max you like :D

Edit: Skyhawk, do some low weight training and google for some oils and whatnot you can use, it should help somewhat for the lose skin but they say you either have elastic skin or you don't. No harm in trying though, cheaper the getting it all cut off.

Double edit: I have some 'linux isos' on low carb diets that helped me with my results so far if anyone wants to pm me for them.

last edited by Syco at 05:06:45 23/Oct/09
i tried 100 pushups at the start of the year;

i ddint like it, it accelerates the number of pushups you are supposed to be able to do way too quickly (for someone of my size anyway)

even after all my training this year, i max out at 30 full form pushups before i cant do anymore
Fine, I'll play.

Current: 64.6kg.
Target: 62.8kg.

http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/97682/Tim Rowe - Weight.png

last edited by Raven at 07:03:14 23/Oct/09
Yeah tried that hundred push up things myself when my knee was stuffed as well, I started on Week 4, > 25 push column though, as I was able to do more than 30 push ups anyway from my normal training.

It got pretty fricking hard very fast, I struggle to complete the last set the first time. I stuck with it for about a week until I found it to be too boring hehe, by then my knee was good enough to do the boxing bag work so I went back to do boxing :)

Fine, I'll play.

Current: 64.6kg.
Target: 62.8kg.

The f***!? Are you a midget or a boxer? Or both.

EDIT: Oh, or a chick. I forgot they exist on the intarnets.
Vorador
cheapest weight reduction option possible for my car so I'm on board to drop 7.5kg

Also, Raven, how'd you measure body fat? I've always wanted to know mine.
cheapest weight reduction option possible for my car so I'm on board to drop 7.5kg

take the hood off
Thermite, go low carb dude, then drink all the rum and pepsi max you like :D

jimbeam and zero cans ftmfw

or just jim beam/wild turkey wiht coke zero

and pure blonde for beer
watch out for all that fructose from your lime slice dino
like you can talk fag, you don't even drink beer

you should be watching out for the lime in your vodka lemon lime and bitters
maxe doesnt drink beer?

no wonder his e-presence has shrivelled

last edited by Spook at 14:21:01 23/Oct/09
i'll start drinking beer when i turn into a big boofy mid 30s dude who works in middle management and reads the newspaper and has full comp insurance and has a favourite television program
yeah he's a bit of a princess
i'll start drinking beer when i turn into a big boofy mid 30s dude who works in middle management and reads the newspaper and has full comp insurance and has a favourite television program

f*** you maxe, and your secret cameras.
i thought he mite have been talking about me, but i dont have full comprehensive insurance on the davwoo, so im all good
Hrmmm I must be a freak...

I'm 40, 188cm and rarely weigh more than 80 - 85kg.
I eat whatever I want an drink a heap's of heavy beer and still stay pretty well toned.

As to exercise, whenever I get the urge I just lay down till it passes.
full comp insurance is awesome
its great to keep it in the back of your mind when a taxi tries to merge into your lane/car
or when someone like teq assaults your car for cutting in line.
its great to keep it in the back of your mind when a taxi tries to merge into your lane/car

Even better when you get the chance to flip a 4x when it thinks it can bully you off the road.

But yeah, full comp (better yet, agreed value) for the win (same with contents insurance on your loot at home even if in rental)!
the hirux is like a cat, always lands on its wheels
The f***!? Are you a midget or a boxer? Or both.

EDIT: Oh, or a chick. I forgot they exist on the intarnets.

I'm 178cm, am just skinny... and a cyclist. More weight needs more power to push up hills.

Also, Raven, how'd you measure body fat? I've always wanted to know mine.

I have a set of scales that gives a very crude measurement, hence why it goes up and down so much. But it at least gives a rough figure.

I should be down around 6-9%BF, which will be the target for this time next year... aim will be to keep my weight the same as now (ie, more muscle mass, less fat)
Weighed myself this morning 2-3 times, was 93.3-93.6kg, was 98.7 about 2 weeks ago.

Today was first day of German Volume Training, will have to try to start swimming on my cardio/rest days to keep that fat level down and help my GVT increase more over next four weeks so i can grow as much as I can.
MatchFixa
Nice work Roly!
87 kilos this morning, beat my goal with a few weeks spare. The Wii Fit weight board man thing was worried about my health. f*** him, he is trying to hold me back.

Getting there! If I can do a few more before chrissy I'll be stoked.

How are you guys going?
117.6 When I started, 113.6 now. I have cut out a lot of the bad foods but still eat healthy amounts over 6 meals a day with an unhealthy meal thrown in once a week. I walk for about 4Km a day and run for about 2Km for 5 days a week.

Short term I was only looking at getting under 115 by the end of the year. I guess now aiming for under 110 by the end of the year.
Lost a kilo Woot. 63kg, 173cm.
Down to 91.4kg this morning, middle of october I was 98kg. Improved my food intake and it has worked wonders.

On my second last week of second phase for German Volume Training, then onto phase 3 for strength training then onto my first phase of hypertrophy training.
Lost a kilo Woot. 63kg, 173cm.
LOL, it doesn't work that way with small amounts.

1 liter of water has a weight of a kilo, same idea with food also.

You can drop 5-10kg in a day without any realistic change in bodyweight if you time your weighing correctly with drinking/eating and going to the toilet.

That's like one of those guys that got busted later on biggest loser that lost 25kg the first weigh in. Drank like 10L of water before getting on the scales.
You can drop 5-10kg in a day without any realistic change in bodyweight

lets not go overboard

id say 1-3kg in a day
halve your body weight in a day!
id say 1-3kg in a day

You've never had a Guinness AGB I take it.
A 5 kilo AGB? That's a serious turd...

Guinness looks the same coming out as going in no matter which way it comes out. I wouldn't call it a turd that sort of says it's solid :)
Yeh, but 5-kilos is more massive than a huge 10-pound baby.

A turd just isn't that big.
LOL, it doesn't work that way with small amounts.

No I mean in like the last month my average weight is down by around a kilo...
lets not go overboard

id say 1-3kg in a day
Oh yeah, it's most probably in that range.

I'm just saying, if you put EFFORT into it, you could fool yourself 10kg+ easy.
hast
i put on 7kg when i went to the uk according to the wii. 63kg/164 cm now i think. i don't think i should be taking it off though.
I went from 55 to 58 with constant exercise.
I am currently about 95kgs I think, @ 186cm or so

I think 88 sounds like a nice number for me, definitely be nicer to be lighter for some of the sports I am getting into

http://jmrit.com.au/front.jpghttp://jmrit.com.au/back.jpg
WD Syco and Skyhawk f***ing amazing progress x 2

HerbalLizard
Its taken a serious amount of exercise and change in diet gone from 112kgs to 102 and getting lower each month (since feb)

Tap under 6'5

Zero carbs for me at the moment and been well into the whey protein

3km run in the morning
100 sit-ups in the morning after the run
8km round trip walk to work and back from sea level elv to 600m back at the house
Need to get a bench press at some point but its not really a priority at the moment

last edited by HerbalLizard at 14:17:38 09/Nov/09
^ Yeah f*** that walk I dunno how you do it

I wouldnt bother with a bench man, you'll put on mass to easily, just work up to being able to smash out 50 pushups and do sets of those

At your size, height, etc I don't think it would really be worth lifting heavy weights for your goals unless you wanna look like a scary c***
HerbalLizard
Yeah don't want to make thing worse than they already are
jmr so hawt right now
over the last year ( started footy again, jogging/swimming/gym )

http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/3483/n5281718937703014407.jpg
http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/4417/89301382652407055533257.jpg
http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/2792/16747169165870705553325.jpg

last edited by smart at 18:50:02 09/Nov/09
^rza
That sure is a happy baby in that last pic, you could learn a few things.
Yeah wtf, you look like a total agro.

Even your smile in the 2nd pic looks like you want to start a fight.
Which one are you in the first pic smart

You do look a little cranky btw
Down to 64.0 fairly constant, but can't get it to tip below 64. 1.2 to go...
gw smarty, but umm yeh, rage much? :p
one at the front on the right above white part of flag

no rage dont be silly!
redhat
You'd be angry too if your team was canberra! :P

Ohhh yeah, starting to be hawt again :D

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs042.snc3/12942_178821430447_726330447_3392065_4516309_n.jpg

Edit:

Re-posting before pic (Right side, holding guitar):

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v368/230/78/661142161/n661142161_989750_9617.jpg

last edited by Syco at 23:49:06 16/Nov/09
It's all the gate, syco

Haha, looks like I'm in goal.
I'm 194cm and 101kg. Feel like I've been on a health kick for 2 years, but never make progress, or make a bit of progress and have a setback (either 14 hour days at work for a few weeks, or an injury) and then don't motivate myself to get back into it.

At my peak fattiness, I weighed 117kg and that was 4 months post shoulder and knee recos. A week prior to the reco's I was 107kg, but only 13% bodyfat, so essentially I'm 6kg lighter than when I was in my best shape, but way fatter. However, I was cut to the bone back then and basically working out for a living.

I'd like to be somewhere around 90kg and think I can get there, but again have had a setback and can't run due to shin splints turning into stress fractures. I bought a bike to combat this, but it just seems harder to go for a ride than it is to just go for a run.

Sweet, been hitting the pseudo home gym and also picked up an exercise bike.

Weighed in this morning for the first time in a while as I had moved a few holes on the belt, and am now 96.5kg - SWEET!

My major vice is beer, and I don't envisage stopping drinking that, nor do I see myself drinking the low carb (low taste) rubbish they serve up, so thats going to hurt in the long run.

Best bit is that I usually blow out around this time of year due to xmas lunches etc with work, but instead I'm on hols at the end of the week and going to the parents farm, so more weight loss and zero temptation!
smart - is your last name gurrien (sp) by any chance. Look like a guy i went to uni with.
I've managed to hit 111.9kg as off last friday, which is a drop of 5.1kg since I started 6 weeks ago. Motivation is slowly returning to do things that aren't kick back & drink/play games/bludge, so will be interested to see where I end up once I start ramping up the weights & running/riding.

I've gained like a kilo over the last few weeks, but lost 1% body fat. Woohoo, extra muscle, ladies!
Following stinky's kitchen threads? :D
Started at 117.6, at last weigh in on Saturday was 106.4. Was good to buy clothes from the regular section of shops and have to rummage through my old stuff to find things that fit.
thats very good shad, but i bet you could get better results with this!
http://www.jasonfitnessblog.com/

ive been seeing those damn "get ripped in 4 weeks" ads everywhere, so i finally got brave enough to click on one!

rofls

also found it funny that jason has cut and pasted the wrong abc logo on his banners, im pretty sure aunty wouldnt be involved with endorcing his magic berry potions
tomsmum
i was 74, full of muscle... then i stopped gyming it, ate the same amount and didn't lose any weight. i guess i lost muscle and put on fatty fat fat fat.

ripped up in 2 months, from 74kg to 62, now back eating massive amounts of pasta and lifting weights. weigh in 1 week after weight training again and i'm 65. diet ftw

Seems pretty damn light. Are you a chick? I'm trying to get up to 75kg
lols, tiny;
id be benching you all over the shop
HerbalLizard
I've asked the wife for a 25kg dumbbell set for xmas so keen to get into that s***
tomsmum
yo, that's 62kg with 4% bf... i bench 35kg dumbbells and deadlift 100kg. f*** ytou all. that's how i put on 3kg in 1 week
4% bodyfat you're a f***ing moron
3kg's in a week lolz

HerbalLizard
i bench 35kg dumbbells and deadlift 100kg
Is that all....talk about f***ing weak get that s*** up to 180 and then gloat.

Also I want to start Farmers Walk up fernhill road and all the way home with dumbbells, if that s*** doesn't burn fat I'm fuct

last edited by HerbalLizard at 11:29:14 08/Dec/09
Start riding a bike as well. You'll build your legs up without even trying plus you'll lose weight.
I've been pretty slack in recent months.
182cm, 25 yo male, super metabolism

At worst I was about 84kg but have just started a decent training scheme to prepare for 6 weeks snowboarding 5 hours a day 5 days a week.

Day 1: 15+ mins rowing machine, crunches/situps to fatigue a few times, pushups
Day 2: 15-20 mins run, crunches/situps crunches/situps to fatigue a few times, random free weights with some dumbells
Just repeat that and occasionally have a rest day off.

Been doing that for a good month now and went down as low as 76kg and up around 78kg now, probably put a bit of muscle on *shrug*

Abs recover really fast and I have been smashing them pretty hard and am seeing results already.

FYI rowing machine is a complete bastard, I was flat out doing 5 mins of that s*** when I first started.

last edited by rubba-chikin at 12:35:13 08/Dec/09
tomsmum

... at 65kg fool

i was doing a lot more than 180 when i was at my prime 75kg

The smell of sweat and testosterone in here is pungent.
I have bigger balls than you.
maybe you should have a shower pinky?

if its true (64kg and 2x35kg dumbells) then that is actually very good. 1% of the population can bench 110% their body weight*.

*stat was taken from a UK mens health about a year ago.
tomsmum
yeah, so in your face lizardddd

last edited by tomsmum at 13:48:19 08/Dec/09
tomsmum
3kg's in a week lolz

are you jealous? 3kg in a week is quite a feat
nah i'm calling your bulls***

it's not 3kg of muscle
tomsmum
well, duh. it's not all about muscle... you need to put on mass as well, which is exactly what i'm doing. mass and muscle work hand in hand... it's when you put on mass by eating junk food it turns sour
i can only do 1 rep of 110% of my bodyweight :(

*edit* wtf, 4% bodyfat? that's like bodybuilder competition levels and only reached with extreme (and unhealthy) diet manipulation...and supplements. i'm calling BS.

last edited by orbitor at 14:27:37 08/Dec/09
pussy
lol spook bet you can't bench press your fat ass

mass? so what is this 'mass' that you gained that isn't muscle?
tomsmum
4% bf... i told you i am ripped.. you can see my veins everywhere

do you not know what mass is? ...
lol spook bet you can't bench press your fat ass

heh, im about 30k off i think
mass has to be something..

if it's not muscle then what is it that you gained?
HerbalLizard
Benching now at 120x5 100x15
Dead-lift at 190 and looking to 200 flat

Leg press is where I am caining sitting on 200x20 looking at heading upto the 250's

One thing I need to watch out for is that I want to cut fat not become a scary c***, so I will be looking at other options to vary my routine.

Beer is my one true vice, if I could flick it off reckon that would massive reduction in body fat

leg press pfft, why aren't you doing squats man? :)
HerbalLizard
I am
tomsmum you should come train with us
herballizard: well good then, and so you should be :D

I'm going to tackle a breathing squats session tonight. I'm already scared hehe.
tomsmum
sorry jmr, no can do. you will limit me
MatchFixa
4% bf... i told you i am ripped.. you can see my veins everywhere
Listen to this f***** wanking to himself looking at the mirror. Why don't you get your 4% boy friend to have a toss with you too.
The leanest of lean professional athletes are between 5% and 8% bodyfat. Most are at around 8-10%.

As if you're 4%, what a load of s***.

By the way, 5% is generally considered a physiological minimum for human males.
he also thinks mass is some magical thing that isn't fat or muscle
BOHEMION
4% bf

How on earth did you calculate this concerning stat for yourself?
Brad Pitt in fight club is around 6-7%

Post pics if you're so lean
tomsmum
he also thinks mass is some magical thing that isn't fat or muscle

Saying this makes you look like more of an idiot

4% bf, calculated using scales at home that sends a current through your body
of course it does

you still haven't answered the question though, if your 3kg's isn't all muscle then what is it? water? food? fat?

they are about your 3 options

my sensors are detecting 99% bulls*** in your posts, fyi

last edited by paveway at 14:02:30 09/Dec/09
Trauma

I'm 6ft and 70kg with an awesum metabolism so meh.
Going to a 5 day cardio with 3 days of weights in there, going to try and smash down the weight before christmas so I can put on a couple kilo's entirely from ham and not feel too bad.

I'm 6ft and 70kg with an awesum metabolism so meh.

You and me both.

I'm doing Gatorade Series Race 2 this Sunday. Just putting it out there.
Mephz
4% bf, calculated using scales at home that sends a current through your body

1) Those things are insanely inaccurate.
2) Skinfold/Caliper test or water submersion for accuracy.

Therefore: Unlikely you are actually 4%, perhaps low but probably at least a few % higher. Abdo muscles are pretty defined at around ~6% - the further you go towards essential organ sustaining fat the more the human body hangs on to it and makes it difficult to shift, so you can't really achieve 0%, you'll begin converting skeletal muscle and the smooth muscle of vital organs to energy first as energy is stored as fat within those tissues.

And then for the 3kg's in a week:

1) You can gain 3Kg's in a day
2) You can lose 3Kg's in a day
3) Thus you can do it in a week.
4) It's all water weight and/or food weight. Food double compounds the issue in either direction, as water is used to digest and assist s*** through your bowel...
So, eating less = less direct food weight and less water weight.
- This is easily provable by drinking 1L of water and you'll weigh 1Kg more.
Conversely, mowing the lawn on a hot day like today you'll probably lose around 800mls in sweat so around 0.6-0.8kg from sweat water loss.

5) Your body will only shift +/- 1 - 1.5KG in either direction of muscle loss or fat loss per week for an average person who isn't incredibly obese - this just comes down to 'not enough time in a week' to actually achieve much more than that.

6) I don't think you quite have a grasp on the law of thermodynamics nor quite how the human body works.

7) I've been awake for more than 24 hours so it might be a bit disjointed.

last edited by Mephz at 16:12:58 09/Dec/09
haha, keep digging tomsmum
damn it mephz he had no idea until you had to come in here
tomsmum
okay, well my scales say 4%... for arguments sake, lets say they're inaccurate... now you're looking at about 7%... pretty good IMHO. still ripped

i realise food intake/sweat can affect weight, but after a week of hard lifting, eating well, 3kg is a good effort. the end of this week, i will be at 68kg. 4 weeks later i'm hoping to be 75kg and stay at that weight for 2 months, that way when i start my cut phase, i'll lose minimal muslce mass
blahnana
nub
Post pics arnie

Let us be the judge
reminds me of acetame's body building threads.
except he did actually turn into a massive c***.

I want to know who tom is so he can be told what a d******* his mum sounds like.
LOL tomsmum is professor of Broscience. Bulk and cut eh? Enjoy your diabetes, f*****.

I can bench 60kg about 12 times for the first set, 10 for a second then maybe 6 for a third set... can I join the man club?
i can bench press tomsmum
HerbalLizard
How many reps do you reckon pave?

Anyway is anyone on the protein powder, any recommendations

Also mad props to Pinky, I am training to have a crack at this http://www.iconicadventures.co.nz/Motatapu/ honesty I couldn't care less about summer its winter that I want to be fit for

last edited by HerbalLizard at 19:55:55 09/Dec/09
3 x 10
http://www.proteindirect.com.au/ is the way to go for WPC/WPI imo. Cheap, tastes good, mixes well.
I have a set of those scales and it says 23.9% - I reckon mine are pretty accurate!

I've actually previously been as low as 11%, using the proper caliper method but that was when I was young, strong, virile and generally just awesome. Now I'm old, weak, lazy and generally a slob.

I've just started benching 80kg again, only 3 x 8. When I was 11% BF and 107kg I could bench 135kg :(

So the one positive for me is that I'm actually 10kg lighter than when I was at my peak fitness :)
Jase ON Ftw (that's optimum nutrition)

best pump shake ever
Acai Berry free sample anyone !!

I just got back into the protein recently. I'm using this at the moment. Massive protein content, without added sugar/bulls***. I mix that up with a scoop of Sustagen and some ice cold water. s*** is so cash.

Don't fret about whether you use isolate/concentrate/caseinate. The fact that you are taking the protein matters more than what kind you are taking. Also, spread protein intake out over the day. If you take too much protein in as one dose, you'll just piss most of it out. Taking something with a little bit of sugar in it (like Sustagen) causes higher insulin output, which makes your body move the protein to the muscles where it is needed and lets smaller amino acids like tryptophan get taken up and converted into serotonin. This has the double-whammy effect of increasing gains and your mood! Unused serotonin gets converted into melatonin, which helps you sleep.
i realise food intake/sweat can affect weight, but after a week of hard lifting, eating well, 3kg is a good effort. the end of this week, i will be at 68kg. 4 weeks later i'm hoping to be 75kg and stay at that weight for 2 months, that way when i start my cut phase, i'll lose minimal muslce mass
LOL? You're going to cut from 75kg?

Don't overthink it, eat a good diet and exercise.

You're not Mr Olympia :S
he's going to be f***ing HUGE don't you know anything
lol @ hoping to be at 75kg

little man syndrome

i went for my first cycle and swim in 4.5months today! yay!
Moobs I need some lens advice your email still 911
this being the reason...
http://www.lucascullen.com/images/leg.jpg
pm me jmr
oh snap
oh s*** you did a number on that leg...how'd you do it?
Optimum nutrition is top rated protein powder, can also use reflex instat whey been getting great results with it.
zomg f*** that
footy (aussie rules). just a freak collision, both going for the ball. posted from hospital.
oh snap

Hahah zinger!

Was your leg all wobbling around like you had a 2nd knee dude?!
yep yep.
Tough break.

i went for my first cycle and swim in 4.5months today! yay!

I did 1km swim last night (first since Mar), 50km ride tomorrow (first since Mar) and then maybe a light 3-4km jog on Friday (I've been running a lot) - then triathlon Sunday. Should be good.

Also, I've been doing some forensic medicine work lately and I can tell you your tibia breaks at around 435Nm bending moment and roughly 6kN of compression (but yours failed in bending, I just put that second stat in as a bonus).
tomsmum
sorry crizane, i feel sorry for you because you can only lift one third of your weight. keep trying! you'll get there.

i complete in national body building comps... well, did until my injury, and now i'm getting back into it.

i am sponsored by ON, therefore i get free protein. yet, i still prefer a meal over protein powder.

CHUB, don't tell me what to do - you don't know everything about everything. you might know stuff about parachuting or whatever it is you do, but you don't know much more than that. bulking and cutting is a cycle. you do it repeatedly as you see fit. all bodies react differently, and this is best for me (even my nutrionist agrees). i will be 85kg by the middle of next year, and i will have minimul fat.

tequila, some of us are built well. i prefer not to be a fat c*nt

ps. tom is a great kid

we are all over the super quad protein (double choc flavour)

it actually doesnt taste too bad. we buy the 10 pound bags of the stuff, lasts for a while.
anything that comes in a giant sack is worthwhile
your tibia breaks at around 435Nm bending moment and roughly 6kN of compression (but yours failed in bending, I just put that second stat in as a bonus).

hahaha, you got a genuine laugh outta me then :)
oh and nice troll account tomsmum. lol.
konstie

Every time I read stinky's recipe threads I have felt like reviving this thread to see how everyone is going-

I have only started two weeks ago controlling what i eat and doing situps/pushups and i've lost 2kgs. Haven't cut out drinking (yet), but i have limited the beers i have drunk and moved across to pussy vodka.

everyone else going well?
I started really restraining my diet in the last week (just to a very moderate but still healthy amount) and finally got back into riding, five times this week, after bronchitis from christmas, and I've actually never felt slimmer in about 10 years, despite not having exercised for four weeks beforehand. I'm pretty close to 61kg now.
117.6Kg When I started, 98.8Kg Now. So about half way to where I want to be. The excercise isn't so bad and my diet isn't that restrictive so hopefully can stick with it to 80Kg
im probably down 8kg so far, about 108 when i started in jan, down to about 100kg now
another 5 to go
f***ing lol at this thread.

To all the guys who are serious about losing weight - don't necessarily aim to lose the most amount of weight in the shortest time possible. In the long run, it'll be far better if you're doing exercise that's sustainable over long periods of time. IE, you can lose s*** loads of weight if you cut your diet in half, and exercise every day, but you're not going to be able to do that for much more than a few months. It's not terrible to only exercise a few times a week, as long as you do it every week, and you can keep it up regardless of whatever else is going on in your life.

<3
Hanging in there at 87 after making 85 before Chrissy. Wanna get down to low 80s, work in progress..

Gotta say, losing weight past not-a-fatc***-anymore is pretty f***ing hard if you can't commit to hefty exercise!

last edited by Hogfather at 18:29:44 15/Feb/10
^rza
Well, said fatc*** shouldnt have let himself get to fatc*** status and only eaten one krispy kreme instead of the whole box.

I bet its your wifes good cooking hogfather, hey isnt your wife a chef?

f*** off c***.

I put weight on after I got M.S. as I couldn't exercise a lot anymore. Gonna shank you in the f*** so hard at next QGL.
^rza
hahaha sorry mate i couldnt help myself :)
Still shanking. In the f***. Hard.

I'm getting all moist thinking about it.

Edit: and you're right too, she loves to cook and I love to eat. Its a match made in a weight loss centre.

Just the other week I came home to find a f***ing home made ice cream / mud cake hybrid thing in the freezer, with ice magic folded through the ice cream like a bloody cornetto. I think she likes me plump or something.

last edited by Hogfather at 18:36:02 15/Feb/10
Someone needs to pass hogfather a cup, stat!
^rza
Pretty sure there is a decent queue to shank me round here, you better pre book your tickets.

A cup of what, mission.

Putting you on the Shank List anyway, sounds like a smartarse remark of some sort..
IE, you can lose s*** loads of weight if you cut your diet in half,

This.

I only lost around 3/4 to a kilo in the last two weeks but I feel way slimmer than I thought I would. Just keeping that strict mind about what I eat finally gave me some rather good results, and it feels like the final piece of the puzzle.
i'm in at 98kg now, did a big ride up around Nudgee on the weekend.

Stopped on the way home to get some groceries and forgot that I had my bike on the roof when I drove into the underground carpark....BUGGER!

Faaaaaark, how much is that going to cost you?

I really wanted to get into riding, but quite a few people at my work have had serious accidents over the last couple of years to the point of being disfigured. I'll stick to jogging & boxing to get my cardio fix.

My dog died last week (as in childhood pet, grew up with since I turned 12 etc) then my sister came to visit over the weekend, so I pretty much f***ed up my eating/exercise schedule for the last week. Oh well, it's OK to have these little blow outs every now and then. I'll be back into the rhythm tomorrow.
Doing some walking 5 days a week during my lunch break then on my way home from work. Also do 2.5Km walk + jog 5 nights a week, then 3 days a week of weights.
TOM
Just the other week I came home to find a f***ing home made ice cream / mud cake hybrid thing in the freezer, with ice magic folded through the ice cream like a bloody cornetto. I think she likes me plump or something.

omg.can u post the recipe?
it's ok i <3 you ^rza
I hit 110kg prior to xmas, but have since slipped back to 111-112kg where I've stayed for the last few weeks. It's 5kg off where I was 5 months ago, so I'm happy enough with that for now - anyway.

Well, you shouldn't be happy with that.
Yes & no. Yes because it's a drop from where I was, but no because I haven't been able to get back under 111kg again. Ditching drinking and going back to a bit more running training, so hopefully that'll kickstart things a bit more again.
So you aren't even doing anything to lose weight?

Semi-calorie counting, 2-3hrs of basketball once a week (Until the State league kicks off in the next couple of months, then I'll be doing weekend games as well) + going for a run at least once a week. Keep in mind that I'm fairly fit - am currently running 5km in about 30 mins etc.. Just want to drop a bit more of the bulk.

So yeah, I'm doing stuff. just not enough or as strict as I was pre-Christmas.
Yes & no. Yes because it's a drop from where I was, but no because I haven't been able to get back under 111kg again. Ditching drinking and going back to a bit more running training, so hopefully that'll kickstart things a bit more again.

I get worried when people say they're going to "ditch drinking" when trying to lose weight. Are you really going to stop drinking forever? Or are you just going to stop drinking until you shed some pounds, then start drinking again? Why not just drink less often, or a lesser amount than you used to? These things are much more sustainable than total abstinence, which is plain unrealistic for most people.

Find activities that you enjoy doing, like social sports, weight lifting, or bodybuilding, and don't necessarily make your goal "I want to lose weight". Make your goal, "I want to be active" or, "I want to build muscle", or "I want to be able to compete in triathlons". My worry is that when people set a goal weight, they stop (or reduce) exercising when they hit it, which is totally pointless.

Billy: By ditch, I mean "less often". Although between now & when that Clem7 run is on, I'll probably avoid booze all together just while I train.
Vorador
hitting the gym minimum 3 maximum 5 times a week, being doing so since boxing day

not a massive difference in appearance but I feel a s***load better in general
Give it 3 months for decent visible results, 6 months much better, making it the entire year will determine whether you will keep it up for life.
Yeah what Billy said, you need to make sure you enjoy it and enjoy life still, don't make it a chore.
Vorador
yeah, well that is what I'm really feeling - I'm going to the gym not for the sake of must hit 'x' goal now, but because it feels good to go to the gym/bad not to go
Dead on Vorador. Counter to what most non-exercises seem to think, I find that if I go a week without exercise, I actually feel more tired than when I do exercise.
i feel fat if i miss a week :s
Dead on Vorador. Counter to what most non-exercises seem to think, I find that if I go a week without exercise, I actually feel more tired than when I do exercise.

This and:
i feel fat if i miss a week :s

This.

Just the action of having "done some exercise" in a given week makes all the difference. I would exercise everyday if my knee was in the right condition but sometimes I just have to say no and take a few days off. The moment I finish that first session back, I feel amazing. Last week I did 5 in a row after a month off and had never felt better, also due to going cold turkey on comfort food.
man i feel like a fat f*** if i miss one sesh...like i did tonight (stupid work).
This flat stomach thing is weird. I'm not used to it. XD

I've lost about 14kg since June 2008, and prolly 1 or 2 kg in the next month or three will be a good goal for me for a while (and probably health-wise, all I need). It basically all coincided with me joining the band back then. Joined a great band, started losing weight, exercising, getting fit, doing shows, meeting heaps of people. Good times ever since. None of that "stuck in a rut" crap anymore.

This.

Just the action of having "done some exercise" in a given week makes all the difference. I would exercise everyday if my knee was in the right condition but sometimes I just have to say no and take a few days off. The moment I finish that first session back, I feel amazing. Last week I did 5 in a row after a month off and had never felt better, also due to going cold turkey on comfort food.

This. x 2.

I love my sports and boxing but my knees don't love it as much as they used to........... stupid knees... if my knees were like what they were in my 20's I'd be playing sports at least 6 days a week.
Not that hard to give up drinking cold turkey.. Everything comes down to will power and determination of what you want to achieve.

If you want to reach to certain goals with your fitness you really have to decide what you do and don't want. Drinking will always hinder your goals, main reason why I've given it up. No alcohol since may 26th 2008, and going strong.

But if you aren't strong willed enough choose wisely when drinking, pic a low carb beer instead of a heavy or something, and only have 1 or 2 not half a carton.
and if you're gonna have a beer, better to have it for breakfast than later at night (yes serious, sorta).
i probably need to give up drinking, but i cant :(

also, you want hard work, try a weight session on no carbs diet

so little energy

also, i subscribe to orbs's beers for breakfast plan!
glad i'm not one of these people that has to have beers every night

i generally have a couple as in 2 or 3 on friday and saturday nights usually, which lately have generally been jim beam and coke zeros

other than that only when i go out and get slaughtered every couple of months or so. i've actually been getting bourbon and diet coke when i'm out, after not drinking normal soft drink for so long the sugar absolutely dominates my teeth after about the 3rd one

and how much i drink depends on what other goodies are on offer :]
I rarely get "trashed", and only ever really drink a few JDs or whatever (don't like beer) when I go out or have an arvo with mates. Just don't really need to, to be perfectly honest, just helps me relax and lighten up.

Life is going fine without requiring [x] amount of alcohol a week.
im a massive alcoholic that pretty much drinks to oblivion everytime i drink. why would i want a saggy out of shape liver, when i can have a super fit liver that has to do loads of work.

i got no doubts whatsoever that booze has always caused the bulk of my weight and that if i stopped, id be in super shape

the best i can maange is to not drink during the week (some weeks)
spooky, not only is alcohol a lot of extra calories that you need to get rid of somehow, but it's a poison that needs the liver to break it down. Your liver should be putting more time into helping your body get fit and grow muscle, but it de-prioritises these things when there's alcohol to be metabolised. So it's a double whammy.

Also, don't be dead from liver failure and miss your kid going to high school.