PureAussieGamer
Check out my newest review. Call Of Duty World At War http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jaxAxTK4Jug Keep an eye on my next review on Kill Zone 2 If the vid doesnt work just a wait a bit it might still be processing for some of you. I hope this review is a bit better and more improved cheers <3 |
| #0 09:17pm 26/09/09 |
Tremble
A pretty old game to be reviewing, but oh well.
You were umm-ing and ahh-ing all the way through and it was kind of off-putting. Also, if you are going to be doing this as a regular thing, you should invest in a higher quality microphone. edit: Just watched it again. You end a lot of your sentences as if they were a question, raising the pitch of your voice. You would sound better if you said them confidently as a statement. last edited by Tremble at 22:29:49 26/Sep/09 |
| #1 10:29pm 26/09/09 |
CactusSupreme
If you're going to review games. Do ones we haven't all played already |
| #2 09:33pm 26/09/09 |
Agree with Tremble. You make too many spoken mistakes. Record paragraphs and cut them together if necessary to remove them. Also, I have a problem with the quality of the video. Look up preferred compression and formats for YouTube - you can make your video a lot nice quality on YouTube than yours is. In cinema you will hardly ever (read: never!) find a transition other than fade. That's because everything else looks s***. |
| #3 10:02pm 26/09/09 |
Stop speaking as if you are reading off a paper (even if you are).
I love how you point out you enjoyed killing nazi's but killing the japanese is not ok. No offence. |
| #4 10:43pm 26/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
yea i didnt enjoy killing the japs. and in respond if u guys read my other post i do say about 10 times how im just reviewing games to get used to it. AND also bout the ummm an stuff i was told to do that by a s*** load of people. Because it makes the review sound less scripted And also the youtube vids i make take 2 hours to upload. The quality is pretty decent. Unless your blinding. The best one takes 7 hours to upload f*** that in my opinion. But i will work on everything. Thankyou for the feedback. =] |
| #5 08:41am 27/09/09 |
I too have to say the Ummming and Arrring is off-putting.
| #6 08:59am 27/09/09 |
Because it makes the review sound less scripted But less confident sounding. People want to think you're opinion on a game matters and is a good source for their decision in buying it or not. |
| #7 09:12am 27/09/09 |
that guy: hey guys what did you think of my review?
person 1: could have been better in area x. person 2: i didn't mind y, but you could try z to improve it person 3: i thought abc didn't really make sense. that guy: nah you're all wrong, but thanks anyway. what was the point of asking for people's opinions if you come up with retarded rationalisations to defend why your reviews are s***? |
| #8 09:15am 27/09/09 |
I like your voice. Maybe you and me should hook up some time.
| #9 09:40am 27/09/09 |
edit: Just watched it again. You end a lot of your sentences as if they were a question, raising the pitch of your voice. You would sound better if you said them confidently as a statement. It's called being strayn |
| #10 09:48am 27/09/09 |
kill the rising inflections
script it and make it tight but don't read it like a robot needs humour - i stopped watching after the first 30 seconds. since you're showing game footage, i would mix it up with doing some stupid s*** like running people over in tanks etc.. or just play like a spastic for a bit. but don't talk about what you're doing.. let the viewer think what the f*** is he doing... but add some serious game play as well needs a powerful intro too sorry, but right now looks like a high school assignment |
| #11 09:57am 27/09/09 |
Three words you can learn much from young padawan:
Yahtzee + The Escapist |
| #12 11:47am 27/09/09 |
AND also bout the ummm an stuff i was told to do that by a s*** load of people. Because it makes the review sound less scripted What kind of moron would give advice like this? Public speaking + um and ah = utter failure at the task. Speak with confidence, rehearse, don't um and ah like a 4th grader. If you want to make unscripted videos go do some kind of jackass stunt where you throw yourself off a bridge, reviews aren't the kind of thing that should be unscripted. edit: On the quality front, watch this and even if you don't have the same program you can try to find the same output/compression settings in the program you're using. last edited by whoop at 16:24:46 27/Sep/09 |
| #13 04:24pm 27/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
well whoop. Id say you where right. but on this 10 other forums i posted on everyone said that i SHOULDENT be scripted and that it should be free flowing. BUT i will work on the umms and ers for my next review. Which will take a while cause i find kill zone 2 f***ing boring. p.s i havent even been doing this for a week so please keep in mind that im new at this. also a better start isnt easy to make. This is all self learnt no one has helped me in any way. Please keep up the feedback good and bad i appreciate all good and bad feedback even yours whoop. But you are a virgin with 14k posts who needs to go out and see some sun light. <3 |
| #14 04:41pm 27/09/09 |
ok, which ten other forums gave you that advice? please list their urls here.
| #15 04:57pm 27/09/09 |
But you are a virgin with 14k posts who needs to go out and see some sun light. I've been outside and the graphics aren't that good :/ |
| #16 05:01pm 27/09/09 |
In cinema you will hardly ever (read: never!) find a transition other than fade. Except for Star Wars. |
| #17 05:01pm 27/09/09 |
What are the 10 other forums? I want links to every single one of them.
Please keep up the feedback good and bad i appreciate all good and bad feedback even yours whoop. But you are a virgin with 14k posts who needs to go out and see some sun light. Says the f***** sitting inside all day playing video games and uploading videos to youtube. FYI I've had about 10 years or so to get 14k posts, or however long its been since I signed up here. |
| #18 05:33pm 27/09/09 |
| #19 05:44pm 27/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
=] |
| #20 06:11pm 27/09/09 |
Like I remember when I joined, I didn't even sign up here someone else signed me up (so blame him for me being here :). So almost 8 years then. So approximately 5 posts per day. OOOOOOOOOHHHH SO MANY POSTS last edited by whoop at 18:16:22 27/Sep/09 |
| #21 06:16pm 27/09/09 |
too many fyi
| #22 06:36pm 27/09/09 |
Fizzer
You may want to just keep adding reviews to one of your existing threads so that it'll be easy to see all the feedback people have given thus far and you don't end up spamming the forums for having a swag of threads that are pretty much the same thing. Also you can copy the embed code and paste it in the forum from youtube: |
| #23 06:39pm 27/09/09 |
Too much Umming and Ahhing, that's for sure.
Your voice is also just too flat in general. Let me give you a hint about anything that involves using your voice: if you don't sound interested in what you're doing, people you try to engage won't be interested in it. I've been worked in sales, market research and done charity work begging people for donations. Being energetic and interested in what you're doing is vital for making other people be interested in what you're doing. Just make sure you don't be too much of a spazz. For a game, book or movie review NEVER be so specific about the plot. For starters, it's boring to hear. Story is the reason people seek out a narrative medium like video games or cinema. By giving away too much story, you're defeating the purpose. The story section of the review should have been something as short as "The game tells the story of Niko, a Bosnian war veteran who has recently arrived in Liberty City. Shortly after arriving, Niko learns that Liberty City is not as fantastic as he was lead to believe, and he soon becomes intimately acquainted with the city's seedy underbelly." I guess your reviews are just bland... there's nothing in there that sets it apart from existing reviews. I rephrase that, there's nothing GOOD that sets it apart from existing reviews. Unless you have some fresh new idea or raw talent, this probably isn't the field for you. There are thousands of other reviewers out there who have raw, natural talent for this sort of thing and they're willing to work just as hard (if not harder) to make it. If you just want to make these reviews for fun, go for it. I'd be wary of relying on them for an occupation though. |
| #24 06:47pm 27/09/09 |
You know what would be hilarious, get someone with a REALLY f***ed up speech impediment, or a mong, to do the reviews.
| #25 06:48pm 27/09/09 |
I notice whoop didn't deny the virgin bit.
| #26 06:55pm 27/09/09 |
protit
Speak with confidence, rehearse, don't um and ah like a 4th grader. |
| #27 07:30pm 27/09/09 |
I notice whoop didn't deny the virgin bit. I'm saving myself for the day you finally acknowledge my existence obes :( |
| #28 07:32pm 27/09/09 |
thermite: mongie has a speech impediment?
| #29 08:35pm 27/09/09 |
Tim Tibbetts
I tend to agree with many of the comments here, but in particular Crizane Tribal's comments.
I think the quickest way to spice this up would be to review the games with someone else. Someone who doesn't have exactly the same taste in games as you do so you can have an argument/discussions about the game in question. Also you need to review more current games, I appreciate the fact that this is a learning experience but you need to have your videos out for games that are just coming out now. Quite frankly, unless you do something pretty drastic I can't find this becoming appealing. |
| #30 10:02pm 27/09/09 |
Twinsen
Try and talk a little bit more high pitched.. sort of like a girl, guys want to hear a girls voice... worst case you will come off sounding like a Tranny, but that's ok, I'm a post OP Trans gender myself!
| #31 10:44pm 27/09/09 |
It's true. Twinsen's previous nick was Twink-sen. |
| #32 10:45pm 27/09/09 |
Twinsen
It's true. Twinsen's previous nick was Twink-sen. It's true, I have both male and female genitalia. It only came to my attention recently when I won a running race and they said I looked like a guy so they did some test's and it turns out I have a penis & testies. |
| #33 10:58pm 27/09/09 |
Try and talk a little bit more high pitched.. sort of like a girl, guys want to hear a girls voice... worst case you will come off sounding like a Tranny, but that's ok, I'm a post OP Trans gender myself! Not really. Most people will respond more positively to a male with a deeper voice than a higher one. |
| #34 11:07pm 27/09/09 |
Your mum responds to my deep voice every time.
| #35 11:18pm 27/09/09 |
Agree with previous posts - your review is just boring.
Talk to gamers in their language. Talk about gameplay and graphics and long term playability, value for money, multiplayer pros and cons and so on. And to be honest, no one cares about your 'feelings' in a game where you blow people apart with grenades and set dogs on them. If you get emo over killing Japanese soldiers in a WWII game, maybe FPS ain't for you. Hell, maybe gaming isn't for you. You do realise it's make believe right? Right? Also off putting were the glaring contradictions - "the endings where people died were sad...and happy too" and "If you think this is another war game you're wrong" and then later on "Miller's mission is just like other war games" or some s***, I'm paraphrasing here. WTF? Make up your mind. Also if you post something on a forum expect to get negative feedback. That's how we roll. Don't be a little bitch about it. Now go away and write "I will try harder not to care about the feelings of computer game characters" one hundred times. edit: oh you do talk about gameplay, my bad. I was asleep by the time that bit came on. last edited by IncrEdible_vEgetable at 23:28:52 27/Sep/09 |
| #36 11:28pm 27/09/09 |
Carson
I agree with most other comments. Definately need a new mic. Also gotta stop saying umm, etc. Sounds s***. I reckon you just go for 30second reviews. If you can manage to make an entertaining review in 30seconds, I would watch that. Don't want to drag it on, just something short and sweet. I lol'd at your saying you didn't enjoy killing japs, but enjoyed nazis. Harden the f*** up. |
| #37 12:17am 28/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
LOL look in the other thread. Ive exeptect ALL feedbaxk and was happy to receive all the negative and positive feedback. To everyone of you who has left feedback THANYKOU! I do really take all your advice in and try to improve. And also i didnt enjoy killing the japs cause they wheree boring to kill not cause i thought it was racist or whatever. But the nazis where fun to kill. WAY better environment to kill them. So yea as far as that goes YOU R WRONG carson. Also the reason y i made a new thread is because id probly get more feedback. Which i have. Also bout the new mic unless ur getting old and u cant here me then maybe its time for a new hearing aid not a mic. Im not gonna go out there and spend $80 on a mic. I have been considering getting a mate and discussing the game with him instead of it being by myself. I think it would be fun to do and better to watch cause im acculy well spoken when i free talk and im funny irl. Also i dont get offended by insults since ive dished out my fair of insults over the net. 'I mean if it makes you feel like a big man to insult some one whos just trying to turn somthing he enjoys doing into more of a hobby then go ahead. I will continue to try to get better at this. Cut me some slack i bet there isnt one of you ouit there who would make a great youtbue video in his first few trys. |
| #38 07:17am 28/09/09 |
haha, how old are you?
| #39 07:48am 28/09/09 |
I'm saving myself for the day you finally acknowledge my existence obes :( With a post count like yours whoop who could miss you ... ps. got rohypnol ? |
| #40 08:11am 28/09/09 |
Here's your angle:
Call yourself "Premature Ejectulation" and review a game in under 2 minutes. If it's a good game the review can make it past the 2 minute mark, if not, end the review scathingly and in a massive voiceover say "The gayme has been prematurely ejected" Mileage may vary |
| #41 09:22am 28/09/09 |
Wow HERMI, disturbing AND hilarious. A balance that's often tricky to achieve in a joke. Hehe. |
| #42 09:25am 28/09/09 |
It's hard being this good |
| #43 09:29am 28/09/09 |
protit
Interesting angle, hermi. i think it's at least worth a try.
| #44 09:38am 28/09/09 |
Carson
I like Hermi's idea Also bout the new mic unless ur getting old and u cant here me then maybe its time for a new hearing aid not a mic. Im not gonna go out there It's not that we can't hear you, it's that it sounds like s*** because you have a crap mic. And if you were serious you would buy an $80 mic so you didn't sound like s***. And also i didnt enjoy killing the japs cause they wheree boring to kill not cause i thought it was racist or whatever. But the nazis where fun to kill. WAY better environment to kill them. So yea as far as that goes YOU R WRONG carson. You should've explained this in the review, not sounding like you got sad every time you shot a jap. |
| #45 09:47am 28/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
well a better mic is something i plan to get down the road. Ill take that into consideration to make my points more clear for you all thankyou. Hermitech i totally agree with you. My fav game review is gamesweasel and all his game reviews are around 2-3mins which i think makes for a great review. But in saying that there are very populer reviewers out there like gamespot for example who have 4-8min reviews. I will however try to make my reviews a bit shorter. And im 18 Taggs. Like i know im not up to a s*** LOADS of peoples standerds but im willing to put in the effort to get better. After i put my next review up im going to post it on american forums to. Just to get there point of view. Since they think we are all like Steve Irwin and ride kangaroos to work they might like how is peak etc. |
| #46 10:05am 28/09/09 |
Hmmm... wouldn't the review end early if it was a really good game? Good stimulus etc? |
| #47 10:08am 28/09/09 |
- New microphone.
- No umm & aah'ing. - Shorten the reviews. - Make it more entertaining so I don't question why I wasted streaming it. - Stick to videos since your vocabulary is atrocious. |
| #48 10:27am 28/09/09 |
Mass
If you are going to be an aussie game reviewer and post it on the interwebs then why not go after the thick aussie accent and throw in some good comparative humor and distinctive aussie references, especially the cliched phrases.
| #49 10:38am 28/09/09 |
konstie
If you are going to be an aussie game reviewer and post it on the interwebs then why not go after the thick aussie accent and throw in some good comparative humor and distinctive aussie references, especially the cliched phrases. YES that's an awesome idea. say wife-beating was better than that game. |
| #50 10:43am 28/09/09 |
Carson
If you are going to be an aussie game reviewer and post it on the interwebs then why not go after the thick aussie accent and throw in some good comparative humor and distinctive aussie references, especially the cliched phrases. Have a VB in hand and wear wifebeaters when doing your reviews. |
| #51 10:50am 28/09/09 |
Twinsen
Could try acting like an Aborigine; sort of like that "Crazy Noonga" guy!
| #52 10:55am 28/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
well its easier said then done. if i start to act like a true blue aussie then all u guys will now im putting the accent on. no one likes being fakes. + australia is already the laughing stock of the world. even the starving people from south africa laugh at us. Everytime im on a game and i tell some one im aussie they go HAHAHAHA ride a kangaroo to work. |
| #53 10:56am 28/09/09 |
konstie
well its easier said then done. if i start to act like a true blue aussie then all u guys will now im putting the accent on. no one likes being fakes. Wow. You honestly think that? You my friend, are either super-sensitive, or some sort of retard. Just rip them one back, they're from south africa dude, they hardly have anything on us... |
| #54 11:12am 28/09/09 |
Twinsen
they're from south africa dude, they hardly have anything on us hahah I wanted to say something like that but didn't want to sound racist, hahahahah. |
| #55 11:15am 28/09/09 |
Mass
But if they believe we are a laughing stock then give them what they want. If your reviews are interesting and funny people will watch them, yes even if you are putting on voice/act. Make it fast and fun, use the unique aussie vernacular to your advantage, plus if you throw in the odd kiwi/sheep joke you'll keep the aussies watching.
| #56 11:24am 28/09/09 |
Fizzer
YES that's an awesome idea. say wife-beating was better than that game. I give this game 4 vb stubbies and a throw down out of a 6 pack. |
| #57 01:41pm 28/09/09 |
Twinsen
I give this game a 4.5 overall, I give it a solid 4 masturbations and a half flacid errect penis masturbation attempt!
| #58 01:46pm 28/09/09 |
lolwut
| #59 02:00pm 28/09/09 |
And travel some. Aussies aren't the laughing stock mate, everyone loves them. I was at a party in France where everyone assumed I was from the US, standing in a corner chatting to my mate. Somehow someone found out I was from Australia. Next thing you know I had peeps all over me. The contrast was incredible. Doesn't matter where you go, peeps love Aussies. Believe it. +1 to the fair dinkum true blue angle. Also, say 'fair shake of the sauce bottle' a lot for added effect. So if I can wrap up some of the ideas above in a succinct sentence your review should be something like: "This game fair dinkum blows 4.5 loads overall. The graphics are semi-flaccid but the storylines are throbbingly rock-hard. Do yourself a favour; throw some shrimps on the barbie, knock back a six-pack of VB and put on your Sunday-best wife-beater then buy this game. It needs a fair shake of the source bottle to get into, but this is one game you won't regret owning. It might not be as exciting as trying to walk under the Swan St bridge, but I give it a solid 8 out of 10 Grey St hookers." Is that sort of the right idea, guys? **Edited in konstie's great suggestions for a more Melbourne flavour |
| #60 02:47pm 28/09/09 |
konstie
agree with everything except the shrimp on the barbie. that just encourages the stereotype that we call prawns "shrimp". mention mullets, VB or XXXX beer, trashy slappers from outer 'burbs, nigerians hanging in packs, people under swan st bridge, lebonese race wars. etc. everything our lovely country has to offer! (btw i'm not racist, i just like to stereotype) |
| #61 02:25pm 28/09/09 |
Mass
Now thats what I'm talking about.......a review style like that would be great. We all want credit when you make it big as an "Aussie" game reviewer.
| #62 02:50pm 28/09/09 |
Ihopeyoucrashandburnlikethef*****youare.
| #63 02:56pm 28/09/09 |
Proof that Pinky writes Kevin Rudd's speeches.
| #64 03:03pm 28/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
well its easier said then done. if i start to act like a true blue aussie then all u guys will now im putting the accent on. no one likes being fakes.Wow. You honestly think that? You my friend, are either super-sensitive, or some sort of retard. no not litrally from south africa. but the english and the yanks all f***in laugh at us. they think we r all like steve irwin. Ive experianced it first hand for the last four years. The only people who like us are people who have traveled to aus or no abit about it. Also if u guys where in my position ud relise that now that ive started reviewing in a certain voice i cant just put on a fake voice now. Bit low tbh |
| #65 03:52pm 28/09/09 |
If we were in your position, we'd stop trying to do game reviews.
OH SNAPPLES! |
| #66 03:56pm 28/09/09 |
Fizzer
Also if u guys where in my position ud relise that now that ive started reviewing in a certain voice i cant just put on a fake voice now. Bit low tbh Damn straight. You need to stay loyal to your hordes of loyal fans. I mean if you change now what will they think! |
| #67 04:53pm 28/09/09 |
This has been a pretty great thread/s pretty pretty pretty pretty great.
| #68 05:02pm 28/09/09 |
konstie
its the only one where my opinion has been taken seriously. let me rack up my post count to 500 before we let this one die... |
| #69 05:21pm 28/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
its the only one where my opinion has been taken seriously. yea i bet if i had 10k posts like most of these people theyd be sucking my nuts |
| #70 05:29pm 28/09/09 |
konstie
its the only one where my opinion has been taken seriously.yea i bet if i had 10k posts like most of these people theyd be sucking my nuts listen, mr 27 posts please sh. you're embarrassing yourself. jk :) in all seriousness you need to relax when some dicknose on the web says a comment about riding a kangaroo to school... it barely even constitutes as an insult. also, there is no problem in changing your style now, i'm pretty sure you can remove vids from youtube just as quickly as you threw up that trash. |
| #71 05:31pm 28/09/09 |
Carson
no not litrally from south africa. but the english and the yanks all f***in laugh at us. they think we r all like steve irwin. Ive experianced it first hand for the last four years. The only people who like us are people who have traveled to aus or no abit about it. I dunno who the f*** you've been talking too, but I started talking to some yanks and they love us. Everyone loves us. Maybe doing game reviews isn't for you. You really seem to shurg off most advice and stick with what you're doing. Maybe you should just get a real job. Some of those ideas are gold, and changing your voice to completely stereotype it all would be win. |
| #72 05:35pm 28/09/09 |
yea i bet if i had 10k posts like most of these people theyd be sucking my nutsYou mean if you werent just a spammer who signed up to spam his youtube videos? |
| #73 05:49pm 28/09/09 |
Should've seen the day spook got 10k posts, we all had to line up like a Nudgee boys soggy sao competition.
| #74 07:34pm 28/09/09 |
+ australia is already the laughing stock of the world. even the starving people from south africa laugh at us. Everytime im on a game and i tell some one im aussie they go HAHAHAHA ride a kangaroo to work. OK, I tried to be constructive and helpful. Get the f*** out of my country. |
| #75 08:05pm 28/09/09 |
Get the f*** out of my country. Your country? I shotgunned man! |
| #76 08:24pm 28/09/09 |
We've got a problem here. Guys....I thought it was my country? I paid for it. What is this? |
| #77 08:34pm 28/09/09 |
I guess whoever's ancestors killed the most Indigenous Australians is the rightful owner.
I'm a first gen Aussie, so I guess I'm out :( |
| #78 08:44pm 28/09/09 |
1: Who cares what Septic Tanks think, they're all full of s***
2: South Africans just sound like Educated Kiwis 3: Nothing wrong with throwing a praun on the bbq. I do however tho prefer a nice shed full of "poppraun" myself |
| #79 09:01pm 28/09/09 |
konstie
district 9 reference ftw! |
| #80 10:12pm 28/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
yea im first gen to hahaha. And f*** off carson ive taken in everything u have all said. And on my next review i intend to speak more clear. and make it much smaller. and ur all acting like i want them to insult us. im proud to be an aussie hence the name pureaussiegamer. But there is a game called uo. And the four years ive played there everyone just bags aussies. But if u all insist that they love us then its probly true. f*** u guys read into s*** to much. |
| #81 06:27am 29/09/09 |
f*** u guys read into s*** to much.That's why their comments are so valuable |
| #82 06:36am 29/09/09 |
Should've seen the day spook got 10k posts, we all had to line up like a Nudgee boys soggy sao competition. and 20k was a bukake explosion! |
| #83 06:44am 29/09/09 |
I'm a first gen Aussie, so I guess I'm out :( I'm 6th gen TASMANIAN on my dad's side, and there's no full-blooded aboriginals in Tassie since Truganini died in the 70's. On my Mum's side I'm only 2nd gen English heritage Australian though. I'm still laying claim. Do I have to make my own flag and put it somewhere for it to be official? My mate always ticks the box "Of Torres Strait Island/Aboriginal descent" on forms because I think he's grandmother or something is aboriginal, although he's white and as English as can be. That has got him a long long way. Uni fees, stuff like that, he's always getting something out of it. |
| #84 09:45am 29/09/09 |
I'm 6th gen TASMANIAN on my dad's side So first-gen Aussie? LOLOLOLOL (/me prepares for incoming defense of Tas) |
| #85 09:49am 29/09/09 |
(/me prepares for incoming defense of Tas) Well if there's a defence that would mean their offended, and to be offended they have to be able to read it... I think you should be safe ticman |
| #86 10:05am 29/09/09 |
| #86 |