Get those bastards off the road already. Guy I know was driving unlicensed, unregistered and unroadworthy vehicle - $950 fine and that's it. They can't take your license if you don't have one. Source: The Age
Pretty nice use of technology. All for it. |
| #0 01:25pm 24/09/09 |
I agree. Why should we wait for them to stuff up, they should hand themselves in.
I am happy to have my plate scanned if it means f***wits get their's |
| #1 01:33pm 24/09/09 |
jadz0r
What if I'm driving a registered vehicle but I'm unlicensed? How will they catch that? |
| #2 01:38pm 24/09/09 |
Mantorok
Why don't they just impound unregistered vehicles until the rego and fine gets paid?
| #3 01:40pm 24/09/09 |
Get ready for your Tattoos.
| #4 01:42pm 24/09/09 |
note to self.. register the wife's car in the biz name just in case s*** happens one day
| #5 01:42pm 24/09/09 |
Because if the car is registered to someone who doesn't hold a current Australian Drivers license they will pull them over for a 'Random License and Vehicle check'.
If it turns out that a friend/family member is driving your car when you cant use it, they'll trump up some small charge (hey, they're Traffic cops after all) and send them on their way. |
| #6 01:44pm 24/09/09 |
The scanner at the International airport did a good job of reading my 1 as a I
| #7 02:08pm 24/09/09 |
there's faceman
natslovr next |
| #8 02:11pm 24/09/09 |
Another small step to becoming just like England. *Waits for the cctv's on every block* |
| #9 02:12pm 24/09/09 |
I'm happy about this too, because I'm no longer a hoon
Guy I know was driving unlicensed, unregistered and unroadworthy vehicle - $950 fine and that's it. They can't take your license if you don't have one. they can & will throw you in gaol if you do it enough times though |
| #10 02:14pm 24/09/09 |
Guy I know was driving unlicensed, unregistered and unroadworthy vehicle - $950 fine and that's it. They can't take your license if you don't have one. that's if he's never had a license... if he has had one they can also slap on a suspension or cancellations... then if you get caught on suspension or cancellation, it's life suspension. if you get caught on life suspension you get jail time. |
| #11 02:24pm 24/09/09 |
*Waits for the cctv's on every block* I dunno how Brisvegas is but last time I checked in Melb we have CCTV's on every block, lol. demon, he had never had a license. |
| #12 02:26pm 24/09/09 |
Denny
Pretty nice use of technology. All for it. My problem with technology like this is that it's very apt for misuse and I hope someone is monitoring the police on it. If (as the article indicates) it's used solely for picking up unlicensed drivers/unreg cars then that's perfectly legit. I'd even be happy enough for them to pickup people with outstanding warrants or wanted for other legitimate purposes by police, however... I can see all too easily the police using this information to harass people for minor traffic infringements because they used to be a gang member or have raped someone. Past crimes (once time is served) shouldn't allow for constant harassment particularly of minority offenders. Do we really want police to be wasting their time pulling over every ex-offender they come across? |
| #13 02:27pm 24/09/09 |
yes
it leaves more room for the rest of us on the road! |
| #14 02:29pm 24/09/09 |
that's a good point denny
| #15 02:40pm 24/09/09 |
that's a good point denny It's a good point but the issue is officer education and training I think. But yeah, any new system like this should be subject to thorough reviews and general monitoring to make sure it's not abused. |
| #16 02:44pm 24/09/09 |
well given the thousands of number plates they would be scanning each hour, it would depend on the parameters set by the tech geeks i would imagine.
i doubt they would be using it for general harassment as they have major crime gangs and serious offenders to deal with. |
| #17 02:46pm 24/09/09 |
as long as it's monitored/reviewed i don't mind, like others have said.
though my confidence in the QPS is pretty f***ing low. they're in the paper every other day for breaking the laws they're supposed to enforce or doing other stupid s***. did anyone else read today's CM where the head of the QLD water police got raided for having a steyr, kevlar vest/helmet and parts and tools designed to modify inoperable fireams to make them operational again? the c*** had previously been on the QPS ethics board or whatever it's called. that's some f***ed up s*** right there. edit: now with linky. last edited by taggs at 14:50:56 24/Sep/09 |
| #18 02:50pm 24/09/09 |
Because if the car is registered to someone who doesn't hold a current Australian Drivers license they will pull them over for a 'Random License and Vehicle check'.Yah. Had some traffic cop come screaming behind me in an SS the other day just cos i was driving my granddad's car, and he's handed in his licence cos he's too old to drive. When you say trump up some small charge, do you mean directly related to the fact that i'm driving a car that is fully registered albeit to someone who doesn't have a licence? |
| #19 02:49pm 24/09/09 |
Just waiting for Terry to say his bit.
God I loath Terry |
| #20 03:01pm 24/09/09 |
old tezza gorman?
yer, what a clown i cant wait for someone to take his liberties away, hopefully some scumbag hes helped stay out of prison |
| #21 03:07pm 24/09/09 |
I don't mind increased enforcement of road rules as I think empirically they have proven to increase road safety (reduction in rates of drink driving, speeding, etc) and I believe that improved road safety improves the lives of those who don't break these laws so it is beneficial to society as a whole.
It can be argued though that any impingement on civil liberties is detrimental to society and I think most would agree on that, so a fine balance needs to be found between what level of intrusion we accept and the reward to our society from increased law enforcement. I agree with Denny that misuse of police powers is also a concern and if what we know generally, through the media, about the state of the Queensland police force is true, it should concern us to give them any more intrusion into our lives till they can prove confidentially that they can be trusted to use what they already have responsibility, within the rule of law and to the betterment of society as a whole and not some subset. |
| #22 03:10pm 24/09/09 |
When you say trump up some small charge, do you mean directly related to the fact that i'm driving a car that is fully registered albeit to someone who doesn't have a licence? I think he means like, "Oh, your tail-light is broken!" "Ah, no it's not!?" *SMASH* "Your tail-light is broken. I'm going to have to issue a fine for that." |
| #23 03:10pm 24/09/09 |
My nephew has been caught unlicenced many many times. Doesn't matter what they say to him or fine him or tell him he can't have his licence for even longer - doesn't work. He just hops right back in. The cops pretty much wait round the corner from his house knowing he's coming out soon.
| #24 03:17pm 24/09/09 |
yeah i don't think the copper liked the look of the dirty ceptors ive got on the commodore
| #25 03:19pm 24/09/09 |
sLiNky
Does it cross check with insurance as well? Will it be able to check weather the car is insured or not?
What about late night driving restrictions? If the driver of the car is driving between 11pm and 5am and is on a driving restriction? Will they be able to tell becasue the car is registered in their name? What if the car isn't registered in their name but a family members name? |
| #26 03:23pm 24/09/09 |
lewd
so they can catch up with you of you have outstounding parking fines or something useless like that? slowly but surely the world becomes a boring and uninteresting place dominated even more so by the powers that be....... but yeah, i can see how this is good...... and still they dont improve traffic light technology.... |
| #27 03:30pm 24/09/09 |
First GPS trackers (e-tag) now number plate tracking. Next they'll have facial recognition in every store entrance "for your security" to scan for on the run criminals.
f*** "the man" |
| #28 05:56pm 24/09/09 |
Does it cross check with insurance as well? Will it be able to check weather the car is insured or not? Even if it doesn't yet, one day it could include that, and more. People get reassigned, so does property. Artifacts get misplaced. Orders change. Every day's a new day. |
| #29 06:02pm 24/09/09 |
My nephew has been caught unlicenced many many times. Doesn't matter what they say to him or fine him or tell him he can't have his licence for even longer - doesn't work. He just hops right back in. The cops pretty much wait round the corner from his house knowing he's coming out soon. they should take the car. if it isn't his then too bad for the dumb f*** that is letting an unlicensed driver drive their car. |
| #30 06:07pm 24/09/09 |
Yep start Cubeing cars and he might stop driving them.
| #31 06:10pm 24/09/09 |
First GPS trackers (e-tag) now number plate tracking. Next they'll have facial recognition in every store entrance "for your security" to scan for on the run criminals. Hahah. |
| #32 06:16pm 24/09/09 |
Its only to protect children from Pedophiles in cars.
| #33 06:22pm 24/09/09 |
First GPS trackers (e-tag) Beaten by Syco. Hahah. |
| #34 06:32pm 24/09/09 |
I don't get the big deal. The only thing that I can see this being useful for is getting unregistered cars off the road or cars with fake plates and nothing else.
I can see how if a car is registered to a known drug dealer then the cops will likely pull them over for a random inspection. Anyone who has at least half a clue won't be registering cars in their name if they fit the above category once this comes into play totally. |
| #35 10:05pm 24/09/09 |
| #35 |