PureAussieGamer
for starters ill let u all no that im the type of gamer that feels like clocking a game isnt enough. So to fill this void im starting my own youtube reviews and see how it goes. For now ill be reviewing games that are pretty old on the ps3 until i get a hang of everything. Here is a link to my Oblivion Elder Scrolls IV review. http://www.youtube.com/user/PureAussieGamer Id appreciate any feedback good or bad. Cheers guys <3 Reviews to expect in the next few week are Killzone 2 Call of Duty: World At War Resistance: Fall Of Man Grand Theft Auto 4 TimeShift And More! |
| #0 12:53pm 27/09/09 |
Is there much point in reviewing games that most people have already played?
| #1 08:15am 24/09/09 |
Seemed alright but you should get rid of that loud voice thru out. The high pitch is annoying when you have the sound up.
| #2 08:24am 24/09/09 |
RockitMan
It doesn't load for me for some reason - other youtube is working fine though.
| #3 08:29am 24/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
yea the sound was abit iffy. And im only reviewing games that a lot of people have played for the first few months until i get the review just right. + i need a f***ing job to by new games haha |
| #4 08:42am 24/09/09 |
you need to be more angry, like zeropunctuation
| #5 09:05am 24/09/09 |
yeah you're pushing s*** up hill if you're trying to go against yahtzee
| #6 09:09am 24/09/09 |
yeah, he's so dreamy
| #7 09:11am 24/09/09 |
yeh the sound sux. the combo of the narrator talking, the gaqme sound, that s***ty 'dony worry' song & what seems to be people mumbling in the background makes it annoying to watch. plus you need a better computer... oblivion should look lusher than that without the crappy jerkiness. :D
| #8 09:11am 24/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
i aint trying to be the best for now. im just trying to learn everything. The programs and the mic i use might not be the best but its all stuff i can improve on in the future. for now this is just testing etc |
| #9 09:12am 24/09/09 |
^ he is playing it on a ps3 not a pc. |
| #10 09:12am 24/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
yeh the sound sux. the combo of the narrator talking, the gaqme sound, that s***ty 'dony worry' song & what seems to be people mumbling in the background makes it annoying to watch. plus you need a better computer... oblivion should look lusher than that without the crappy jerkiness. :D yea its ps3 for starters. and for some reason the sound f***ed up after i published the video. Im 18 i dont work i didnt finish year 10 how the f*** do u expect me to get all the best programs etc. This is just the testing stages atm f***ing relax |
| #11 09:18am 24/09/09 |
Good effort but you got a long way to go.
Watch some zeropunctuation reviews, need to talk faster :D |
| #12 09:20am 24/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
ty $ack thats the kind of feedback i need. and i will watch his reviews. ty p.s i thought i spoke to fast haha |
| #13 09:22am 24/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
wow the zeropunctuation crew r fantastic |
| #14 09:34am 24/09/09 |
i have a chubby for yahtzee
| #15 09:50am 24/09/09 |
konstie
Im 18 i dont work i didnt finish year 10 how the f*** do u expect me to get all the best programs etc. This is just the testing stages atm f***ing relax lol you ask for an opinion from people who don't hold back and you get insulted? you relax. |
| #16 09:58am 24/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
"yeah you're pushing s*** up hill if you're trying to go against yahtzee" thats the comment i was mad at. that doesnt help any one. everything else ive taken into consideration. i aint insulted by anything that people r saying. i learnt how to do all this stuff on my own more then what most of u guys could. |
| #17 10:05am 24/09/09 |
Them there fightin' words.
| #18 10:10am 24/09/09 |
sorry to hurt your feelings matey, well not really
but he's got it pretty stitched up watch his s*** and you could learn something, but you'll have to change it up somehow so you're not just copying |
| #19 10:21am 24/09/09 |
yeah, call yourself P.U.N.K.T.U.A.T.I.O.N
| #20 10:26am 24/09/09 |
MatchFixa
or you could just get a real job.
| #21 10:27am 24/09/09 |
and a hair cut
| #22 10:32am 24/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
i worked for 2 years straight at a real job. ive been out of work for like 2 weeks. and my hairs fine. And yea there game reviews are perfect. if im as s*** as u all say i can only get better. |
| #23 10:38am 24/09/09 |
paveway stop being a dreamkiller
| #24 10:40am 24/09/09 |
I'm fully expecting to hear linkin park in your next review
| #25 10:51am 24/09/09 |
if you think you can take on steve farrelly, you got another thing comin'
| #26 11:18am 24/09/09 |
i learnt how to do all this stuff on my own more then what most of u guys could. haha and my hairs fine hahahaha |
| #27 12:02pm 24/09/09 |
Steven Farrelly reviewer of the year.
| #28 02:24pm 24/09/09 |
MatchFixa
Steven Farrelly is so good they even got him to do Fry's voice over in futurama.
Check out his avatar if you don't believe me. |
| #29 03:59pm 24/09/09 |
Steven Farrelly reviewer of the year ISWYDT :) |
| #30 04:10pm 24/09/09 |
You sound too Australian. You just don't have a voice that grabs the listener IMO. Try talk more like Yahtzee, it will be more entertaining. Also the mic seems muffled or something. You're just talking about the dumb story in the game, but none of the game features...anyway, I wasn't able to sit through more of the review to find out if you talked about anything beyond giving up the story line of the game. Oblivion review doesn't load either. No cool voice...flat review with no jokes and talking through the story line I think. There were no ninjas (unless you include some f***ing retarded AI assailing out of the sealing like retards to die in the open). No dragons or tits either! To summarize, your review was boring. You need to do something that sets you apart from the myriad of fail reviewers out there. I don't think anyone's done the "Leave BRITNEY ALOOOOONE" angle with game reviews, there might be a market there. What the f*** was with that music! last edited by Twisted at 16:19:59 24/Sep/09 |
| #31 04:19pm 24/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
yea i here what your saying. Ive been working hard on most of it. but ive played a s*** load on online games with people all around the world. and somthing ive learnt is that aussies like english accents. english like americans and the yanks like aussies. thats from personal experience but ill take in everything you said =] |
| #32 05:29pm 24/09/09 |
^^ I don't know what it is, I can talk to Aussies all day long 'til the cows come home offline but if I see a movie on tv or video on youtube and there's an Aussie in it their accent s***s me to no end. It's weird.
I wouldn't try to copy Yahtzee, yeah his reviews are awesome and I love watching them because they make me laugh. I'd be more inclined to call them comedy than informative though there is some informative bits. I can't watch your video because I'm capped but try to focus on:- Controls: how natural they feel and how they react. Are they laggy or too responsive. Game play: Is there a big long bunch of text scrolling up the screen every 5 minutes interrupting your game play? Do they use annoying unskippable cut scenes every time a piece of action happens? *cough* need for speed in recent years *cough* Does this enhance game play or does it distract you causing you to crash/die/lose/throw the controller at the TV. How fluid is the movement in the game, I read a review on need for speed undercover for the xbox360 that said the graphics were choppy which distracted you from the feel of the game, while this wasn't true at first as soon as I hooked up to Live! it started getting choppy, I can only guess the chop comes from whatever online content they download to the ad boards in game (oh yesh, NFS:UC has in game adverts, in a game I paid for? f*** you EA) Does the game use in game adverts? Can they be disabled? Nothing worse than paying the $100 aussies get charged for a game only to have to put up with ads staring at you as you drive around or rape & pillage before total village burnination. |
| #33 05:47pm 24/09/09 |
I like someone who can take criticism and not whine about it. +1 for thick skin. |
| #34 06:11pm 24/09/09 |
1. Music while talking is fkn annoying, if you're going to use music in the background for the love of god don't use 1 with lyrics.
2. When you go to difference topics, you make it sound like some sound effect from Quake 3 like QUAD KILL!!! ... it's a review... 3. Voice is really really monotone to me, like you're reading off a peace of paper not giving a s*** and you still stumble in areas and say ah a bit. 4. There's no real personality, that's the thing i love about zeropunc, his personality in everyone of his reviews, you sound more like a game mag review.. the bonus about audio is.. u can.. you know make it interesting. my 2c. last edited by Raider at 01:12:10 25/Sep/09 |
| #35 01:12am 25/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
hey thanks guys. ill go back and work on them all. But when it comes to changing my voice it might be a bit hard. |
| #36 05:23am 25/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
Heres my newer review. it is still on a old game but im saving my newish games for last. I do admit that it still sounds like im reading probly becuase i am. i went threw other reviews and all the other ones that dont read off a cheat sheet stumble like 50x more then i do. but ill work on it in the next vid =] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7V_L_TZ7oCY |
| #37 05:26am 25/09/09 |
mate obviously you have put a lot of effort into these, which is awesome.
buuut even the big sites like ign's video reviews are only a few minutes long and they have many more resources at hand. it is going to be really difficult for you to compete with those guys, your videos just won't compare. i think you need to figure out an 'angle' for yourself. like, 30 second reviews, make them short & sharp. or xbla/psn reviews. or review games you can play on the s***ter. you need to be not just another reviewer. there are so many of them. |
| #38 06:52am 25/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
yea i here what ur saying. but i aint really competing its just a hobby |
| #39 08:21am 25/09/09 |
MatchFixa
Do you guys actually take yahtzee's reviews seriously though? it seems to me like every game he reviews he rips apart, whether it's a good or bad game. He's entertaining that's for sure but if i wanted some real advice i'd go to IGN and Gamespot, or my.. trusty online video store that lets you try out full games for free...
| #40 09:34am 25/09/09 |
konstie
i'm sick of ign. they just make lists of things. "25 greatest consoles of all time" wtf is that? how many consoles have there actually been to make this list worthwhile? (granted i might be a little young) also, who gives a sh*t about consoles? they gave halo odst a 9 / 10 even after admitting it was nothing new? ? bah to ign! Edit: removed my rant... was a bit mean to the poor kid. |
| #41 10:22am 25/09/09 |
Do you guys actually take yahtzee's reviews seriously though? it seems to me like every game he reviews he rips apart, whether it's a good or bad game. He's entertaining that's for sure but if i wanted some real advice i'd go to IGN and Gamespot, or my.. trusty online video store that lets you try out full games for free... dunno how many of them you've seen but that's pretty far from the case. check out his reviews on orange box, cod4, saints row 2, etc. you prefer sites like IGN and Gamespot where the score given corresponds to how much money the developers pay the site? i prefer objective stuff personally. |
| #42 10:23am 25/09/09 |
Fizzer
for starters ill let u all no that im the type of gamer that feels like clocking a game isnt enough. So to fill this void im starting my own youtube reviews and see how it goes. Anxiously awaiting your thoughts on tetris! |
| #43 12:13pm 25/09/09 |
Do you guys actually take yahtzee's reviews seriously though? I had to think about that for a second. Usually Yahtzee reviews console stuff, which for me means bugger all really - although his Wii bashing is good for a chuckle. Whenever he reviews an FPS it's usually one that I've already played, so watching his review will often boil down to something I've already bitched about myself - though this time it's done somewhat more creatively. that said - after watching Yahtzees review of Batman Arkham Asylum I've decided it's my next game purchase. erm.. back on topic.. PureAussieGamer just go for it dude. =) last edited by koopz at 12:24:55 25/Sep/09 |
| #44 12:24pm 25/09/09 |
i enjoyed your gta review. it had the feel of someone who enjoys playing games and wants to share their experiences. i liked how you talked about what you enjoyed in the game and what annoyed you.
keep it up mate because plenty of people like to use alternative sources for their gaming information - not from narcissistic pom (even though he is funny as f***). |
| #45 12:29pm 25/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
hahaha ty guys. im still trying to figure out what kind of reviewer i want to be. But all feedback good or bad has been a big help. ill keep working them and hopfully one day they will be good enough for you all cheers |
| #46 02:24pm 25/09/09 |
look I think you need to work on it a lot and polish etc but I give you mad props for even having a go
| #47 02:51pm 25/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
look I think you need to work on it a lot and polish etc but I give you mad props for even having a go thanks mate :) yea gaming is a passion of mine. so im determined to be as good as reviewing as i can |
| #48 03:38pm 25/09/09 |
baz
your doing a awesome job man , keep up the good work :) |
| #49 11:32pm 26/09/09 |
Do you guys actually take yahtzee's reviews seriously though? I don't take his reviews seriously at all, I just watch them for the comedy value. hahaha ty guys. im still trying to figure out what kind of reviewer i want to be. Be a reviewer of cheap games? You said you can't afford the latest games because you're out of work so do that. I'm sure there'd be heaps of people out there who could do with games on a budget. Find a cheap game that was made by some no name company, play it and give it a score. Who knows, maybe that $2 game in the bargain bin might turn out to be a keeper and really good time waster on a rainy day. |
| #50 11:44pm 26/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
yea ive thought bout that. but i will review new games very soon. =] |
| #51 08:37am 27/09/09 |
i think you need to figure out an 'angle' for yourself. like, 30 second reviews That right there is some good advice, I hate long boring reviews, I would watch 30 second reviews for sure. |
| #52 01:05pm 27/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
yea. it is hard to make a good 30 second review though. |
| #53 04:36pm 27/09/09 |
Nothing worthwhile is easy.
| #54 05:18pm 27/09/09 |
Do you guys actually take yahtzee's reviews seriously though?I watch them solely to see what negatives a game has. I know the guy is an a****** when it comes to playing games and bitches about nearly everything, but if you factor that in you can get some spot on reviews. If you compare his style of reviewing, instead of starting off with the good (sometimes nothing but good) he just hits the game with everything that it sucked up THEN he might say some good. |
| #55 05:48pm 27/09/09 |
Do you guys actually take yahtzee's reviews seriously though? yes Nothing worthwhile is easy. also yes |
| #56 05:51pm 27/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
yea most of u guys have givin me alot of helpful feedback thankyou |
| #57 06:09pm 27/09/09 |
Yeah, I generally take Yahtzee's reviews seriously. While I generally agree with him, do does sometimes bitch about the tiniest, least worrying parts of a game.
For the most part though, he's good because he always has sometime original to say. |
| #58 06:11pm 27/09/09 |
i dunno i reckon 30 sec reviews wouldn't be that difficult, i've got some awesome ideas which i reckon would work well with one. Might even fk around with a game i got and give it a test
| #59 10:51pm 27/09/09 |
PureAussieGamer
haha well make sure if you do u dont post it up on here everyone eats u alive. alrthough i have gotten some great feedback =] |
| #60 07:03am 28/09/09 |
| #60 |