they all seem like sensible changes to me :D so... what was the change to the seatbelt law? i thought it's always been manditory for all passengers to wear seatbelts?
| #1 11:39am 22/09/09 |
I don't like the seatbelt laws.
Any passengers over 18 not wearing a belt, THEY should be fined and lose points. |
| #2 11:43am 22/09/09 |
It use to be under a certin age (Like 15 or something.) The person not wearing the belt (If 16+) could recieve a fine, not the driver.
Now it's the driver that cops the fine no matter what age the passanger is. I already thought thet could fine you for skate boarding (wheeled recreational devices) in no-no areas, so i'm not sure what that one changes. Maybe just a name change to incorperate scooters and the like, or Bikes using the road when there is clearly defined Bikeways. /bait. |
| #3 11:43am 22/09/09 |
ive been pulled up for foglights in clear weather before? like f***ing 5 years ago almost?
dammit this whole time I could have been telling that cop to go f*** himself |
| #4 11:43am 22/09/09 |
| #5 11:44am 22/09/09 |
fog lights — turn off fog lights in clear weather. If you drive with fog lights on in clear weather you risk being fined A$40:D Finally. I hate those clowns with driving lights/fog lights on when they just have their normal beam on at night. |
| #6 11:46am 22/09/09 |
what the f*** are fog lights
does high beams count? |
| #7 11:48am 22/09/09 |
wanker lights — turn off wanker lights in clear weather. If you drive with wanker lights on in clear weather you risk being fined A$40 and risk everyone thinking you are a giant douche. That's how it should have been written IMO. |
| #8 11:48am 22/09/09 |
The seatbelt law is balls.
| #9 11:50am 22/09/09 |
exactly syco.
| #10 11:50am 22/09/09 |
i got no issues with teh seatbelt rule, anyone not wearing a seatbelt in my car will be easily turfed
also, what was the rule with foglights before? |
| #11 11:55am 22/09/09 |
i got no issues with teh seatbelt rule, anyone not wearing a seatbelt in my car will be easily turfedI don't check that my fellow adult friends are wearing their seatbelts, it's a stupid law. You can be sure if any of them get me in trouble, they'll be paying the $300 and can go grab me a carton of nice beer for beng an unsafe douchebag and losing me points. |
| #12 12:00pm 22/09/09 |
also, what was the rule with foglights before? I was under the impression they weren't to be used unless it was foggy/rainy before. I also dislike those xenon headlights but the Jeep I just bought have them in it so I guess I'd better do an about face haha. |
| #13 12:00pm 22/09/09 |
I turned right out of a petrol station at 1.30am in the morning over double white lines (two lanes each way, no cars anywhere) and was fined $180 and three demerits. Only car was ~600m coming over a rise, which was the police. What annoyed me most was that they didn't pull me over initially. They pulled up next to me at the lights and had a look in my car and saw my drunk gf. Two blocks later they pulled me over, breathoed me and fined me for the double white lines infringement. I mean, seriously. Clearly it's 1.30am in the morning, there are no cars and I'm doing the right thing not drinking at all and driving my smashed girlfriend home. Give a guy a fukn break. I wasn't rude at all, I smiled and said, "Thanks. Have a good night." not even in a sarcastic tone. When I looked at the actual fine I couldn't believe it. I went to the police station the next day to ask about it. My first and only driving offense in 10 years. The severity of the fine just doesn't seem right for the situation. |
| #14 12:01pm 22/09/09 |
yay foglights! about 9years too late, but still. should be more than $40 too.
| #15 12:01pm 22/09/09 |
yeah the u-turn thing is a bit harsh
thats the same fine you get for running a red light seatbelt law should only apply to the passenger not wearing one when they're over 18 its nonsense to think that people will always make sure their friends buckle up every time they hop in a car - great in theory but terrible in practice |
| #16 12:18pm 22/09/09 |
on the topic of points, 3 points to a carton for you chub?
last edited by Mr Hardware at 12:24:54 22/Sep/09 |
| #17 12:24pm 22/09/09 |
Fog lights only s*** me when there is no beam cut off, a******s!
| #18 12:26pm 22/09/09 |
It's not illegal to drive over the white line if you are 'leaving the road'. So instead of u-turning; just turn into someone's driveway for a few seconds.
| #19 12:26pm 22/09/09 |
practically noone runs their foglights
if you think you see ppl doing this more than once in a blue moon, you're doing it wrong |
| #20 12:26pm 22/09/09 |
I guess we know what to do if we have a full maxi and we don't like the cabbie :P
| #21 12:26pm 22/09/09 |
on the topic of points, 3 points to a carton for you chub? I know, not a good deal. At the VERY minimum, the friend would pay the $300, that's not even up for discussion. |
| #22 12:28pm 22/09/09 |
I turned right out of a petrol station at 1.30am in the morning over double white lines (two lanes each way, no cars anywhere) and was fined $180 and three demerits. Only car was ~600m coming over a rise, which was the police.Ha sucked in hey, should never cross doubles :) yeah, as long as you are entering or exiting a driveway, thats the only time you can cross a center single. last edited by scuzzy at 12:34:21 22/Sep/09 |
| #23 12:34pm 22/09/09 |
ahh i didn't see it was the driver that cops the fine rather than the passenger (seatblet law change)... yeh that blows. :(
I already thought thet could fine you for skate boarding (wheeled recreational devices) in no-no areas, so i'm not sure what that one changes. dunno if this is it or not but i read the other day that they are going to introduce a curfew for skateboarders on roads n walkways coz they don't have lights or reflectors. |
| #24 12:38pm 22/09/09 |
Also on road rules they are introducing stricter laws in VIC in November Re: navigation systems - in particular, using phones as sat navs. |
| #25 12:44pm 22/09/09 |
Using radar detectors and similar devices: The existing rule provides that a person must not drive a vehicle which has in or on it a radar detector, used to detect speed measuring devices. Haha, interesting loophole. |
| #26 12:46pm 22/09/09 |
Finally. I hate those clowns with driving lights/fog lights on when they just have their normal beam on at night.Driving lights on a highway makes sense even during the day. people become dazed after a few hours of non-exciting driving, lights help them differentiate you on the distance, and will have no effect in blinding you as your eyes are well adjusted for daylight. As for fog lights? They already are tools, now they have to keep them off. It's just unneccessary. I used to play the "be careful of that guy because he hasn't figured out how to use lights yet". Now how am i supposed to know who the bad drivers are :( (except by the volvo badge) |
| #27 12:49pm 22/09/09 |
There are so many loopholes remaining. Remote control chopper flying infront of your car, for example.
| #28 12:50pm 22/09/09 |
That story is confusing.
"A phone will only be allowed to be used for its primary purpose," the spokeswoman said in a telephone interview. "If it's a phone, it's a phone." Sweet, so they won't fine people for using the phone without having it in handsfree? |
| #29 12:51pm 22/09/09 |
in particular, using phones as sat navs. Which apparently are still fine to use if you have a cradle to hold them for you. IE up high enough so you're not looking at your lap, friend or floor for your phone which has slid somewhere.. |
| #30 12:52pm 22/09/09 |
Remote control chopper flying infront of your car, for example.Well i'm thinking here, to be speeding for a speed camera you have to be doing at least about 45 in a 40 zone to be flashed. What kind of remote chopper can do 45km/h and where can i buy it for a reasonable price? I also dislike those xenon headlights but the Jeep I just bought have them in it so I guess I'd better do an about face haha. HID beams on new cars are fine if the headlight itself is designed properly. they are more efficient and have good light projection. 4100Kelvin is a good white colour which is clean and fine. Its when people replace their standard headlights with HID's that f*** it up. The headlight design is different for HIDs then regular bulbs. The headlight has to be designed to not reflect out sideways a really bright light, which is exactly how old lights were designed. Thats why you see some 90's car with HIDs in them which blind you when they turn corners or go over a hill or just hit a pothole. last edited by skythra at 12:59:15 22/Sep/09 |
| #31 12:59pm 22/09/09 |
My brother has a Radar/Redlight camera detector in his Ute, but they've been banned in QLD for a long long time.
Still allowed them in WA though. Not allowed 'on the road at night' according to the new rules Demon (In the PDF Mongie directly linked too.) Driving lights on a highway makes sense even during the day. people become dazed after a few hours of non-exciting driving, lights help them differentiate you on the distance, and will have no effect in blinding you as your eyes are well adjusted for daylight. I agree with this for big drives or highways (and I do it myself on trips) but I dont think lights are needed around town, or the SE freeway/Logan/Gateway in/around Brisbane. Some cars actually have lights linked to ignition though, so you cant turn them off when the car is running. |
| #32 12:54pm 22/09/09 |
How am I suppose to rally drive to the shops on Sunday without my fog lights.
| #33 12:56pm 22/09/09 |
^ not many cars have fog lights linked to the ignition, they're usually euro style cars if they do (mercs/bimmers etc)
fog lights are lame and completely unnecessary during the day, if you need lights on during the day use your low beam - even on a highway I forget sometimes how much it sucks being in a normal sized car when I drive other peoples sedans etc, having 4x4 lights shine in through the rear window or when someone has their fog lights on and they're at your eye level |
| #34 12:57pm 22/09/09 |
I agree with this for big drives or highways (and I do it myself on trips) but I dont think lights are needed around town, or the SE freeway/Logan/Gateway in/around Brisbane. Some cars actually have lights linked to ignition though, so you cant turn them off when the car is running. I'm not aware of any cars that have fog lights hard wired to the ignition. I'm aware of ones that have parkers wired to it though. I'd say that the ADR would have something in it to not have fog lights on by default if having them on is legislated illegal in most states already. My main issue with it is the rice burners who have xenon headlights and 'driving lights' they've done them self and not aligned them correctly. They're damn near blinding if you're driving somewhere pretty dark. |
| #35 12:58pm 22/09/09 |
Ya I ment normal driving (low-beam) lights, I dont think any cars would have High-Beams linked to ignition. But normal driving lights are fine for highway trips, as I said though, I wouldn't use them around town.
| #36 01:00pm 22/09/09 |
Ya I ment normal driving (low-beam) lights, I dont think any cars would have High-Beams linked to ignition. But normal driving lights are fine for highway trips, as I said though, I wouldn't use them around town. We're talking about fog/driving lights. Not normal headlights. The little extra ones low on the front end. Some euros have small separate parkers, they're not driving lights/fog lights, they're as dull as parkers. |
| #37 01:02pm 22/09/09 |
they've done them self and not aligned them correctly.I said it above in an edit, but yeah thats because they've not changed the dispersion which was designed to be suited for a regular bulb. Even if they were aligned correctly, the dispersion would be wrong unless they changed the housing and reflective material behind the HID. I'm all for f***ing off people with HID's who havn't installed them correctly, when regular beams blind you as they turn or hit potholes, thats just selfish. |
| #38 01:02pm 22/09/09 |
I dont know where you got Fog lights from my post.
Both the post I quoted and my post itself contained nothing of the sort. Conversations evolve and often move to different topics, My particular subject was about driving lights, not fog lights. |
| #39 01:05pm 22/09/09 |
Some euros have small separate parkers, they're not driving lights/fog lights, they're as dull as parkers.all cars used to have this i reckon they should go back to this. |
| #40 01:07pm 22/09/09 |
I dont know where you got Fog lights from my post. Driving lights are what used to be called fog lights basically. Driving lights are not standard headlights, they are the smaller ones below the normal headlight. |
| #41 01:23pm 22/09/09 |
every so often i see excels with that retardedly f***ing bright fog light on on the right side of the rear bar, f*** you just want to smash the c***s
| #42 01:27pm 22/09/09 |
Why are people hating on the fog lights?
My old car had them and having them on made a significant difference to the low beam power of the headlights. As in, the filled the 'dead spots' that the low beam missed, primarily right in front of the car. I realise that it's all too late if you spot something that close but the whole road is just lite up that much better when they were on. And being the low lights that they are there is no chance of blinding other drivers with them :/ I like to see at night so the extra coverage they provided was welcomed. I never used them in fog (well we don't really get fog anyway) or during the day, low beam for that. |
| #43 01:32pm 22/09/09 |
every so often i see excels Fixed for accuracy. |
| #44 01:33pm 22/09/09 |
driving lights and fog lights are and always have been two different things. driving lights are just low-aimed supplemental halogens, fog lights are usually (but not necessarily) yellow, also low-aimed and cut off sharp at the top side specially designed to aid in fog without lighting it up and blinding you
no euro cars have foglights linked to the ignition and not many if any even have driving lights forced if someone has any light on that's not high beam or illegal during the day, they're making themselves easier to see and you'll just have to get over it |
| #45 01:34pm 22/09/09 |
single centre line — don't U-turn. If you do a U-turn over a single continuous centre line you risk being fined A$180 and three demerit points My street has one of these from one end to the other and its about 3km long. I wonder if this effects pulling into a driveway across the sinle line!? |
| #46 01:34pm 22/09/09 |
I drive with my lights on all the time since I bought a car with a light warning so I can't accidentally leave them on and drain the battery. I also thing my rather nasty accident played a part in this. My car is the same colour as the bitumen so I feel safer with lights on. If it catches someones attention (potentially annoying them) then the lights have done their job. |
| #47 01:37pm 22/09/09 |
also i wonder how many toyota aurion cop cars we'll see running around with fog lights on at night after this comes in
every single one of them just like now, no doubt |
| #48 01:38pm 22/09/09 |
I wonder if this effects pulling into a driveway across the sinle line!? No it doesn't, see my previous post :P |
| #49 01:38pm 22/09/09 |
talking about those toyota aurions
they're a damn nice car actually |
| #50 01:40pm 22/09/09 |
how the f*** are they any different to a camry apart from the engine?
c***s wonder why they can't sell cars |
| #51 01:50pm 22/09/09 |
My old car had them and having them on made a significant difference to the low beam power of the headlights. As in, the filled the 'dead spots' that the low beam missed, primarily right in front of the car. So do my high beams. It's fine driving around the city but when you get out a bit further to low/unlit roads your eyes adjust for said light. When some dude in a car with extra light comes towards you it can have a dazing/blinding effect. I normally look to the left side gutter as soon as I feel a lot of light coming. if someone has any light on that's not high beam or illegal during the day, they're making themselves easier to see and you'll just have to get over it I often have issues seeing one ton plus masses of metal hurdling towards me :) Either way, driving with them on will now be illegal so no need getting over it :) (Unless you really believe the police will make a distinction between fog and driving lights) |
| #52 01:53pm 22/09/09 |
I often have issues seeing one ton plus masses of metal hurdling towards me :)well.. ppl have accidents regularly where they didn't see the vehicle comin =] I guess you're picturing conditions where there's nothing else to consider but the vehicle you're looking at, and how easy it is to see - but conditions aren't always like that - often a vehicle will be on the edge of your vision and a lot harder to register. lights often help there Either way, driving with them on will now be illegal so no need getting over itwell I distinctly said lights that aren't high beam or illegal =] and some people clearly dislike others driving with even those on during the day - they'll have to get over it though |
| #53 01:58pm 22/09/09 |
Driving lights are what used to be called fog lights basically. Driving lights are not standard headlights, they are the smaller ones below the normal headlight. Ok, if this is the case, my bad. That's the first i've ever heard that though. I could blame it on the fact that you might be old (used to be called fog lights), but Jim's old too and seems to have a similar mindset to me. |
| #54 01:59pm 22/09/09 |
So do my high beams. It's fine driving around the city but when you get out a bit further to low/unlit roads your eyes adjust for said light. Will you replace a blown headlight bulb, or just adjust to one light? Hell, strap a torch on the front instead. When some dude in a car with extra light comes towards you it can have a dazing/blinding effect. Never noticed, unless they are using high beam. |
| #55 02:00pm 22/09/09 |
how the f*** are they any different to a camry apart from the engine? Tbqh I dont think its a bad sedan, with 200kw under the wheels. One of the typical complaints about toyotas is that they are gutless, and they seem to be willing to fix this. Compare it to other similar priced fords/holdens and it seems to come out on top. |
| #56 02:00pm 22/09/09 |
except it's fwd gayness
| #57 02:03pm 22/09/09 |
tru dat
| #58 02:05pm 22/09/09 |
trew dat.
| #59 02:20pm 22/09/09 |
Tbqh I dont think its a bad sedan, with 200kw under the wheels. One of the typical complaints about toyotas is that they are gutless, and they seem to be willing to fix this. I had a camry work wagon for a while a few years back and before that a manual camry sedan. I didn't think either where gutless for what they where, sure weren't the "v8 killers" or whatever the ads said back then but still had enough guts to get up to Maleny reasonably well. And hey hey, not all Toyotas are gutless! |
| #60 02:20pm 22/09/09 |
And hey hey, not all Toyotas are gutless!just that all the new ones are boring. |
| #61 02:37pm 22/09/09 |
| #62 02:59pm 22/09/09 |
What's that?
| #63 03:08pm 22/09/09 |
You threw them in the square headlights right?
What's that?Aftermarket HID's on a Silvia Mang |
| #64 03:09pm 22/09/09 |
You threw them in the square headlights right? yeah the ones that send light all over the road in no particular direction theyre purple |
| #65 03:54pm 22/09/09 |
sup
| #66 04:02pm 22/09/09 |
theyre purplepretty |
| #67 04:09pm 22/09/09 |
Ospi
oww but my car looks cool with fogs on :(
| #68 04:25pm 22/09/09 |
I reckon, I should make mine shoot green lasers
| #69 04:28pm 22/09/09 |
Toyota removed TRD for a while, but realised that was a bad mistake and brought it back so they could make the TRD hilux.
| #70 04:56pm 22/09/09 |
| #70 |