Topic: Aldi's $399 Barbaque - thoughts?
épic™
My attention was drawn to this Four Burner Stainless Steel Hooded BBQ that Aldi has on sale from Thursday for $399

http://www.aldi.com.au/au/media/offers/W39_Four-Burner-Stainless-Steel-Hooded-BBQ_PD.jpg

http://www.aldi.com.au/au/html/offers/2827_10092.htm

Google suggests these were on sale about a year ago also, just wondering if anyone has one? What do you reckon of it? Pretty cheap considering..

Cheers.
looks the goods, but it is aldi (all die, zee germans are out to get us again :p)

Though for that price it looks like a good deal
A Barby is a Barby really, unless it doesn't get hot enough (some don't) to cook a steak well.

Looks good.

And side burners are the win.
I saw all the camping gear in the Aldi catalogue recently. Went to grab some stuff but stopped by K-Mart first, K-Marts stuff seemed better quality and in half the cases cheaper.

There's some big sale at Big-W or Target or something atm with some Jamie Durie line of BBQ's that seemed cheap as hell too (they had some full hooded ones with cabinets underneath etc).
I bought something like that over a year ago and f***ed up everything I tried to cook on there, I was too scared to ever host a BBQ lest I be discovered.

So my dad now has a free BBQ.
<3 aldi
We know spook, we know.
If it's going to be kept outdoors (which I assume it will be), you should see if it's got an enamel coating. It'll protect it against corrosion and all that.

Also, might want to fix the spelling in the title before Trog decides it's a good idea to remove the entire thread due to a simple spelling mistake.
Before you buy, check out the 'Jumbuck' range at Bunnings, certainly not a $1400 BBQs galore BBQ, but bloody good value for money. Mine is a 6-burner with hood and side burner etc. I'm happy with it.
^ I bet it's cheap to run, right?

Y'know cause it runs on gas and stuff.
+1 for Bunnings. I got a 4 burner (not a hooded one though) from there about 4-5 years ago, still going strong.
hahah mission :)

yeah my bunnings 4 burner I bought 7-8 years ago is still going strong at my brothers place last I heard and it was an awesome bbq
imo if you dont already have a bbq you're doing it wrong

but it looks alright, most cheap bbqs dont last long anyway - you're lucky to get 2-3 years out of them these days - at least mine have anyway, because I move a lot and they get bashed around but still
spot on mission.

however

check these facts. A standard BBQ LPG cylinder is 9KG right, and propane (known in aus as LPG) is approximately half a kilo per litre in liquid form which it is in the bottle. So, that's about 18L of the old LP. Now you go down to your local servo for a regas right, and they charge you $24 or so. Thats right, you just paid $1.33/ltr for LPG.

Now i've just gotta start using Forklift bottles on my BBQ that i can fill up at the servo at my usual 50c/ltr.
Before you buy, check out the 'Jumbuck' range at Bunnings, certainly not a $1400 BBQs galore BBQ, but bloody good value for money. Mine is a 6-burner with hood and side burner etc. I'm happy with it.

Yeah, my BBQ is a Jumbuck, and it's great. Admittedly, I don't use it very often, but even after months outside without use, it fires up and goes like a champ straight away.
euphoria
^ I bet it's cheap to run, right?

Y'know cause it runs on gas and stuff.
Lawl. Post of the month right there.
Saw a cheap 4 burner with a hood at bunnings today, $250. Wasn't all whored out with stainless steal but.

I was looking at getting a Webber style barbie, for only $80 it'd be fun to play around with.
its very rarely the real deal stainless steel, its often just polished or galvanized
I've had the stainless look bbqs rust before, you have to expect it for <300 bucks for a full 4-6 burner setup

as long as they get the job done, though
Vorador
+1 bunnings and jumbuck range - we picked up a 4 burner hooded in post-christmas a few years back for $200

HerbalLizard

45kg LPG bottles for win, dirt cheap at $92 and they get delivered
Tim Tibbetts
I got a 4 burner Jumbuck from Bunnings too, was about $160 (no hood just a lid). I've had no issues with it, it's a BBQ, it cooks meat!!
To sum up this thread, f*** aldi and its nazi german crap, get a jumbuck from bunnings, they're tried and true.
or build one out of bricks and just buy the hot plate from a bbq store, plumb it into your house gas lines to save money and MrHardware loves lpg
Mass
I'm going for one of the ALDI bbq covers though $29.95, I've been waiting 12 months for them to come back on sale. Excellent quality product and it looks much nice than the old green tarp I've currently got covering it.
or build one out of bricks and just buy the hot plate from a bbq store, plumb it into your house gas lines to save money and MrHardware loves lpg

yeh we use to have wooden fire the food always tasted so nice!
yeah thats a good point too teq
i love LPG. It's the best fuel ever invented.
yes if I had a big enough back yard/entertaining area I would love to build/buy a woodfire oven
that looks good epic. Might check one out.
IMO get a Jamie Durie zen

yes cheap chinese crap

But it was the only I saw where the warming tray when you lifted the hood didn't sit over the plate.
yes if I had a big enough back yard/entertaining area I would love to build/buy a woodfire oven

I had a hippy mate who build a woodfire pizza oven out of mud. He made the best (though vegetarian) pizzas in it. Looked pretty easy to do, I was going to attempt it but never got around to it.
HerbalLizard
I have always wanted to build a wood fired pizza oven with firebricks and cement but never had the space or the time.
I forgot to say that I ended up getting one of these. I'm very impressed with it.
We got 2 BBQs we dont use.
BBQs are great ideas but the novelty wears off fast.
No they don't faceman, if they do you're doing it wrong!

They are a staple part of the summer (and winter for that matter) can't beat a few beers and a BBQ at the weekend or even a week night it doesn't matter

SPELL CHECK THOSE TEXT INPUT FIELDS YO

The novelty wears off bbqs? In what country? England? I BBQ 1-3 nights a week and once a week at work, pwnedazors you can cook anything on them
you can't cook pizza or pasta on a bbq. thank you very much.
We got 2 BBQs we dont use.
BBQs are great ideas but the novelty wears off fast.

Is there a listening device in yours?

f*** off it wears off. In summer I cook at least 3 times a week on the BBQ. It makes everything taste awesome!
Mantorok
SPELL CHECK THOSE TEXT INPUT FIELDS YO

http://www.opera.com/browser/
you can't cook pizza or pasta on a bbq. thank you very much.

You can coko pasta if you have a side burner.

But BBQ are aussie not Italian.....
Can cook pasta even if you dont have a side burner, put the pan ontop of the bbq no bother (make sure it's an oldish pan though).

But as mission says bbq's are aussie!
get a webber, we did and it's such a fantastic BBQ. Compact, awesomely controlled temperature and very very fast to cook. Also uses bugger all gas:

tis this one:
click

last edited by orbitor at 15:04:29 20/Oct/09
bbq novelty hasnt worn off at our place

we love teh bbq
its not even a novelty
We got a Bunnings BBQ because Bunnings are pretty awesome. The BBQ does its job quite well.
if you don't love bbqing you're un-Australian