Jimbo
I got some reald 3d glasses and am told that it's possible to play some games in 3d as my monitor has more than 100hz refresh rate. Anyone know how or played around with this at all?
Css in 3d would be mad! |
| #0 05:45pm 01/09/09 |
Your mate slipped one by you.
| #1 05:46pm 01/09/09 |
Jimbo
Can't be done
I heard nvidia was doin something with 3d a while back, know about that? |
| #2 05:47pm 01/09/09 |
yeah apparently it's a done thing to play fps games with nvidia's stereoscopic drivers and nvidia 3d glasses.
Here is a list of games supported: http://www.nvidia.com/object/3D_Vision_3D_Games.html http://gamerslastwill.com/2009/02/02/3d-left-4-dead-for-free-oh-yeah-heres-how/ last edited by thermite at 17:54:54 01/Sep/09 |
| #3 05:54pm 01/09/09 |
Ross
I have one of the 120 hz monitors and the glasses and they rock! much better than all previous attempts at 3d stuff. Works on a s*** tonne of games and adds heaps to single player immersion.
| #4 05:52pm 01/09/09 |
Jimbo
So how do I set it up for use with my reald glasses?
| #5 05:57pm 01/09/09 |
My old asus geforce 2 I think it was had 3d glasses (I still have them and the old AGP card) and it would alternate between the left & right eye being able to see the screen and alter the pixels on screen slightly to coincide with the action of the glasses. Quake 3 in 3d did indeed look f***ing awesome. I used an old CRT so I dunno what this 100hz business is, must be a different technology. I have no idea how the new ones work but yeah "I heard nvidia was doin something with 3d a while back, know about that?" you heard right.
| #6 07:11pm 01/09/09 |
I thought my hardware wouldn't hack this, but I just downloaded the nVidia stereo drivers and tried anyway to see what the frames were like, and in 1920x1280 I can get 100+ FPS with anti-aliasing turned off. Going to get Anaglyph glasses right now! I don't have anything special, just normal 24" LCD, 9800GTX, E8500, 4GB RAM |
| #7 11:45pm 01/09/09 |
Twinsen
I used to play Operation Flash Point on my Geforce 3 ti200 with those glasses which plugged into the back of the card.... It was a bloody amazing experience.. only issue was after about 20 minutes ur eyes start straining like something chronic!
| #8 11:52pm 01/09/09 |
Where do I find these stereo drivers? I'm looking on the Nvidia site, but it just keeps linking me to a driver search page, which doesn't seem to be showing the drivers I want. Where am I noobing it up?
| #9 11:54pm 01/09/09 |
Panda
| #10 12:05am 02/09/09 |
but I just downloaded the nVidia stereo drivers Downloaded ... huh? I have a "Stereoscopic 3D" tab in my regular nvidia control panel. Unless it's a separate download for older cards? |
| #11 08:10am 02/09/09 |
Crakaveli
f*** i watched that L4D video without glasses and now my head is spinning and my brain hurts.
| #12 09:31am 02/09/09 |
f*** i watched that L4D video without glasses and now my head is spinning and my brain hurts. Hehe, yeah I was playing L4D for about 10 min in stereo mode with no glasses - highly recommend. The nVidia stereo driver seems pretty damn mature. You press Ctrl + T to activate/deactivate it in game, so if your eyes start to hurt just turn it off and play as normal for a while. BTW if you're iffy and want to hold out, I'll review and update if it's any good - just ordered some 3D glasses. Is it just me or are decent anaglyph glasses really difficult to find? I ended up getting from here: http://www.oz3d.com.au/index.php/cPath/22 |
| #13 09:42am 02/09/09 |
Python
I know someone who has one of those monitors, might look into getting the glasses so we can give it a go in 3d :D
| #14 09:57am 02/09/09 |
Jimbo
Keep me posted guys!!!
| #15 10:04am 02/09/09 |
Jimbo, you've already got 3D glasses, just install the drivers. It doesn't interfere with anything and you can toggle stereo mode with "Ctrl + t" while in-game. Instructions (thanks thermite): http://gamerslastwill.com/2009/02/02/3d-left-4-dead-for-free-oh-yeah-heres-how/ |
| #16 10:18am 02/09/09 |
Jimbo
Yea, but mine are reald which uses polarization. They're not anaglyph glasses.
| #17 10:28am 02/09/09 |
Yea, but mine are reald which uses polarization. They're not anaglyph glasses. Yeah, I want polarisation too. I was trying to look in nVidia settings if it could do that. The main advantage is you have proper colour! Which seems to me like a pretty damn big main advantage... **EDIT** Hey Jimbo, I missed Panda's post (but found the page through teh_Googles): http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce_3D_vision_winvista_CD_1.08.html ^ This does polarised stereo - look at 'supported hardware' tab |
| #18 11:26am 02/09/09 |
Jimbo
You can also move your head and not f*** up your 3d
| #19 12:05pm 02/09/09 |
You can also move your head and not f*** up your 3d Did you try it? Whats the go? |
| #20 12:56pm 02/09/09 |
Downloaded ... huh? I have a "Stereoscopic 3D" tab in my regular nvidia control panel. Unless it's a separate download for older cards? Yeah, so do I, as it turns out. Didn't need to download anything. |
| #21 01:02pm 02/09/09 |
Jimbo
Didn't try it. Just according to the reald wiki page
| #22 01:04pm 02/09/09 |
Just tried it, pretty cool, but it didn't work with any Source games I tried. The environments were all white, couldn't see anything.
I've only got s***ty Red/Cyan glasses though, so it's not something I'd play with regularly. I reckon I'll get a 120Hz monitor when I next get one, so I can do it via polarisation. Then it'd be awesome! |
| #23 01:22pm 02/09/09 |
simul
nvidia has had support for this since Riva128/TNT/TNT2 days, headaches (literally) are still there though. I'm still waiting for them to do decent passive 3D displays.
| #24 06:24pm 02/09/09 |
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.18501
I'm using these atm. if you've the hardware at your fingertips I do indeed recommend trying the game again... and then again re-assesing some of the MODs that are coming out |
| #25 08:50pm 02/09/09 |
I used to play Operation Flash Point on my Geforce 3 ti200 with those glasses which plugged into the back of the card.... It was a bloody amazing experience.. only issue was after about 20 minutes ur eyes start straining like something chronic! I put my gf2 card in the computer at work, I should go install quake3 on it & take my glasses in & play q3 in 3d at work while on lunch break. |
| #26 09:39pm 02/09/09 |
Aight, here's the rub. Received my anaglyph glasses in the mail today (red/cyan lenses) and just played L4D for a bit on campaign mode. Anaglyph kills the colours. Really kills the colours. You lose nearly all colour perception in my opinion. Everything just seems really washed out. The 3D effect is really excellent. That can't be understated. It really adds to the game. Seeing a smokers tongue come at you, for example, is a new experience. But yeah, the colours... Also worth a mention, a lot of things really just haven't been designed with 3D in mind. The text floating above each player with their nick, for example. It looks really darn horrible in 3D, and really somewhat strains your eyes. The same goes for console text, update messages and so on. It's basically impossible to read while you are playing and your eyes just don't feel right if you try to read it. To be honest I won't play again with anaglyph, despite really liking the depth perception. Polarisation or LCD glasses seems like the way to go. Wouldn't recommend going out of your way to buy anaglyph glasses to try it, but if you have some laying around now harm in downloading the drivers and checking it out! |
| #27 11:01pm 03/09/09 |
Jimbo
Anyone know if ati has this kind of 3d support?
| #28 12:45pm 05/09/09 |
I'm gonna have to play with one through again though. @ 3:40 when he jumps off the tower ~50m straight down I almost swallowed my tongue eh :P last edited by koopz at 08:25:27 07/Sep/09 |
| #29 08:25am 07/09/09 |
Hey koopz, you have blue and yellow then? They better than cyan/red? |
| #30 09:25am 07/09/09 |
Hey koopz, you have blue and yellow then? They better than cyan/red? I'd say no dude - but that's prolly got more to do with the crt I'm watching it on. I haven't tried the iz3d driver yet though. the only b/y I've seen are tech demos on youtube if anyone's keen - the glasses for this stuff are dirt cheap eh http://www.dealextreme.com/search.dx/search.3d%20glasses last edited by koopz at 10:21:10 07/Sep/09 |
| #31 10:21am 07/09/09 |
Yeah I honestly wouldn't recommend buying red/cyan or other anaglyph glasses. It's good for five minutes for something to do, but after that it's dull most of the time. Spose it's always handy just to have a pair though. I think higher res LCD glasses and polarisation (high refresh LCD monitor) is where it's at. Still waiting for feedback from Jimbo and his 100Hz monitor though - whats the go Jimbo? The iz3d polarised glasses are the best I've seen: http://www.iz3d.com/t-3dglasses.aspx |
| #32 11:22am 07/09/09 |
3d4pc
Reason: Spam / banned |
#33 06:40pm 02/02/10
Twinsen
I used to play Operation Flastpoint back in the day in full 3D with the geforce 3 ti 200, dam that was a mean card for its time!
So awesome playing that game in full 3D aswell, was mind blowing hey. |
| #34 11:09am 02/02/10 |
please check my blog out and tell me what you guys and girls reakon so far I reckon posting a link in your first post should result in an IP ban fo lyfe. |
| #35 11:10am 02/02/10 |
I, for one, will not be clicking that link. I have been playing TF2 with red/cyan occassionally, but I think the polarised light method (e.g., AVATAR - so what did you guys think about that movie anyway?) is where it's at. Waiting for 100Hz+ projectors/monitors to become more mainstream. @hog: reakon - fix'd |
| #36 11:13am 02/02/10 |
3d4pc
Reason: Spam |
#37 11:46am 02/02/10
Twinsen
we don't want to go to your crappy blog, just copy and paste the information in here yo.
| #38 11:18am 02/02/10 |
can't wait till this s***ty 3d craze is over
| #39 11:22am 02/02/10 |
sparrow
can't wait till this s***ty 3d craze is over People might get over it for games and movies - but alot of the technology discovered for entertainment media can be used to advance other 3d technology for people who actually need it, like improving 3d displays and HMDs for anaesthesiologists and air traffic controllers. |
| #40 11:25am 02/02/10 |
wELL HAVE YOU GUYS LIKE ACTUALLYU GONE TO THE LINK AND SEE WHAT IT IS EXPLAINING? yur blog doesn't explain s***. it's just a nooby cpu/mobo spec blog in goofy huge font. :D |
| #41 11:26am 02/02/10 |
IMO required technology advancements have been holding back 3D for home users. Even if 120Hz monitors were rife, I still don't think it's the full answer. If I look around this room I'm sitting in, I can focus on anything anywhere. Watching a 3D movie though, I'm forced to focus on what the director has chosen to render focus to. I find that very disconcerting. To be able to focus properly as in real-life would require head-tracking, so I think there are still a lot of advancements to be made. Head-tracking is easy and cheap (6dof accelerometer + gyroscope + Kalman filter) and exists in other hobbyist level technology already like FPV flying model aircraft (gliders in particular). I think the future for 3D for occupations like sparrow describes as well as for entertainment use is LCD glasses - either opaque or see-through HMDs. Currently holding that back is how many pixels you can squash onto such a small panel - state of the art is 1024 x 768. When that gets up a bit higher that will be highly desirable tech I reckon. |
| #42 11:59am 02/02/10 |
f*** 3D, I was a giant laser force type arena with that AR technology applied over it.
Imagine a giant complex that was essentially a blank canvas for whatever developers wanted to put on it. FPS where you are actually moving and holding a gun, FTW. Get cracking nerds and make my fantasy a reality. |
| #43 12:03pm 02/02/10 |
CHUB what you're talking about is already doable on that scale - at least, if you were fighting projected players only, not real players. The problem with if you were fighting real players would be to do the occlusion calculations to determine how other real people (complex 3D geometry) are blocking the scene of fake stuff which is being projected on your HMD screens. However, lets say you had two warehouses and they were both painted in the interior with a distinguishable mesh (imagine the Star Trek holodeck, but the mesh probably wouldn't be regular like that - I'd go for an asymmetric high contrast checkerboard pattern). Each player's movements could be captured and become a character's movements in the other player's projected reality. But yeah, at what cost. Someone throw me a few mil, I could make it happen as could probably 20+ other people on this forum like Khel and 3dee and so on with any sort of programming background. Stable Augmented Reality SKD's are available. The micro's, batteries, etc, hardware required would be chucked in a backpack (which should be pretty light, even for prototyping). The accelerometers and so on would go on your 'weapon' (wand) and body (some sort of jumpsuit) and are light as hell. |
| #44 12:16pm 02/02/10 |
I had Left 4 Dead style gameplay stuck in my head, humans coop (or solo) vs projected CPU enemies. Just would rock to be able to play out those scenario's with a gun in your hands and not a keyboard/mouse... it would be intense as f*** having to actually duck/run/jump rather then pressing WASD. It's definitely something I would like to see in the future. |
| #45 12:21pm 02/02/10 |
sparrow
Pinky what do you mean by LCD glasses? |
| #46 12:31pm 02/02/10 |
LCD glasses means glasses with a plasma TV in them
| #47 12:34pm 02/02/10 |
For most cases I mean something along the lines of this: http://unmediated.org/images/20050405_ultra-light_weight_lcd_hmd_scalar.jpg It's a small LCD panel with a large amount of pixels. At the moment it's typically described as a 14" screen located 1m from your viewpoint. That one pictured is a commercial venture and weighs only 7g. For other cases I mean more elaborate HMDs with OLED displays (that seems to be the trend because you can make OLED displays up to 75% transparent at the moment) like this: http://www.dma.ufg.ac.at/assets/13991/intern/logo_vr_out.png The prob with only 75% transparency is that you can project objects onto the real environment. So therefore you need a camera to capture the real environment and then reproject it with objects overlayed (AR). Then you have all the usual big camera issues like lighting and so on. There are plenty of good examples of AR now for casual users. My fave one is that iPod/iPhone app where you point your device at the sky and it labels stars/constellations. @therm, haha well played, sir |
| #48 12:59pm 02/02/10 |
LCD glasses means glasses with a plasma TV in them I Lol pretty hard |
| #49 12:55pm 02/02/10 |
sparrow
I'd say the problem with those is that they really exacerbate the issue of inattention to the real world behind the lenses - which is bad enough with even a simple heads-up transparent display. |
| #50 01:05pm 02/02/10 |
I'd say the problem with those is that they really exacerbate the issue of inattention to the real world behind the lenses - which is bad enough with even a simple heads-up transparent display. Yeah I agree, certainly - but in a lot of cases the real world is just fluff. If you're flying an aircraft give a s*** if there's some clouds and some pretty blue sky. You only care about airspeed, altitude & attitude, fuel levels and so on. The main idea behind HUDs (IMO) was enhanced situational awareness, mostly from a military perspective since they were really only mainstream in use in fighter aircraft initially. I reckon a real key parameter for designing such interfaces must be sensory overload for the user. Whether to show a load of info, or provide an interface to scroll though visual items, or whatever. Also the best way to present the data so that it's easily interpreted - a bar chart or a number or an image, etc. For entertainment purposes though, I don't think sensory overload is that much of a design concern because there's low risk. If it was a game and people aren't happy with the interface, you release a patch. An example of where a focussed view is bad is when looking through a rifle scope. It provides a dot of view - you could be missing all kinds of s*** including someone from a window ten meters away with a rifle on you that you might have seen if you weren't looking through a scope - or a friendly who's about to become a casualty because he's running into your scoped line-of-sight. |
| #51 01:14pm 02/02/10 |
sparrow
Yeah I agree, certainly - but in a lot of cases the real world is just fluff. If you're flying an aircraft give a s*** if there's some clouds and some pretty blue sky. You only care about airspeed, altitude & attitude, fuel levels and so on.. An aircraft is the exact example I was thinking of - there has been studies to show heads-up displays can cause crashes because a runway is looming up, but isn't noticed because the display controls are slightly out and the pilot is only paying attention to them. Just one example of many, anyways. While sensory overload may not be an issue for entertainment, the research done for 3d entertainment can usually still be adapted to other practical uses. There are still heaps of issues when designing HMD or HUD, and any research into it can help further all sorts of technology advancements. But yea - I'm interested in seeing Avatar in 3D because I have been told by someone that when they looked away from the image they're trying to get you to focus on, the rest of the detail isn't focused enough - I'd like to see that for myself. I would definitely see that as a downfall of 3d movies, because half the time the part I love about movies is looking around and see all the other little details not in focus. |
| #52 02:18pm 02/02/10 |
But yea - I'm interested in seeing Avatar in 3D because I have been told by someone that when they looked away from the image they're trying to get you to focus on, the rest of the detail isn't focused enough - I'd like to see that for myself. I would definitely see that as a downfall of 3d movies, because half the time the part I love about movies is looking around and see all the other little details not in focus. This annoyed me in AVATAR. Particularly because there are things away from the point of focus that are actually worth looking at - like animals and stuff in the background. Yeah, my opinion is that aircraft crashes on landing are just poor flying now. You have Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) and the ATC monitors any aircraft flying on instruments. You have Instrument Landing Systems (ILS) which is essentially radio guided landing and you have Ground Proximity Warning System (GPWS) and Terrain Awareness and Warning System (TAWS) for when things go pear-shaped. The one that worries me the most is the Chinese Northern flight (1993) in poor visibility where the GPWS beacon is going off and there is an audible warning which says "Terrain! Terrain! Pull up! Pull up!" and the last thing recorded on the black box is the captain saying, "What does pull up mean?" and the first officer says, "I don't know." 502 people died in that one. |
| #53 02:28pm 02/02/10 |
RealD is a alternating circularly polarising projector system. Your monitor can't circularly polarise the light, letalone alternate the polarisation.
| #54 06:22pm 02/02/10 |
You are all aware that this is a 4 month old thread, revived by a spammer, yeah?
| #55 06:39pm 02/02/10 |
Well I'll be damned...
| #56 07:10pm 02/02/10 |
sparrow
You are all aware that this is a 4 month old thread, revived by a spammer, yeah? Yes, but the topic is still relevant :P |
| #57 07:19pm 02/02/10 |
Everyone remember Johnny Lee? This guy knows where real 3D gaming is at.
you can get his software for free from: http://johnnylee.net/ last edited by E.T. at 19:39:16 02/Feb/10 |
| #58 07:39pm 02/02/10 |
atm I'm playing No one Lives Forever 2 in stereoscopic.
old games are interesting again. the whole 3D TV thing, while possible, seems as unlikely as the flying car to me. last edited by koopz at 20:05:40 02/Feb/10 |
| #59 08:05pm 02/02/10 |
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/China_Northern_Airlines_Flight_6901?
(hopefully this link works) this the plane crash you're talking about pinky? Sounds nothing like you described. :P |
| #60 09:58pm 02/02/10 |
What Pinky was describing sounded more like the Korean Air flight 801 in Guam, but that didn't have so many deaths either. Got a link Pink? Otherwise, I think you may have your fact screwed up bud. As far as I know, the worst airline accident ever (not counting Sep 11) was the two 747's that collided in spain killing 583 people.
last edited by E.T. at 22:37:11 02/Feb/10 |
| #61 10:37pm 02/02/10 |
Looking for a link. We studied black box recordings at uni. I've probably confused several stories into one *blush* Actually my original thought was that it was a Japanese aircraft. Just trying to find it. Pretty sure I've garbaged up the report for: August 12, 1985 - Japan Airlines -Flight 123 - Mt. Osutaka, Japan Yeah, I'm pretty sure I've f***ed this story up into another one: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/JAL_123 My bad, sorry. There's plenty of examples of GPWS stuff-ups though. When that system alert goes off you're doing it wrong. |
| #62 11:49pm 02/02/10 |
That crash in Guam haunts me. It was a similar situation to what you had described Pinky.
| #63 12:11am 03/02/10 |
| #63 |