rrrocket
Thinking of getting two whirly birds for the house to help keep cool. Anyone bought any? Saw one at Bunnings for only $53. Was pretty cheap I reckon. Are they hard to install on a tiled roof?
| #0 09:08pm 30/08/09 |
a mate of mine had a real hot house
his dad put a few on he was convinced they work i wasn't |
| #1 10:18pm 30/08/09 |
We have a few at work and I reckon they do bugger all coz it still gets hot has hell. Just another point for water to get in during heavy rain/wind imho.
| #2 10:23pm 30/08/09 |
these cool pictures prove you wrong mr hard:
http://www.edmonds.com.au/images/winter.jpg http://www.edmonds.com.au/images/summer.jpg note the requirement for a little opening on the side of your house. i believe whirlybirds are called so because they allow possums to nest in your roof. last edited by greazy at 22:27:15 30/Aug/09 |
| #3 10:27pm 30/08/09 |
got insulation?
| #4 10:26pm 30/08/09 |
I thought only growers installed whirlygigs? |
| #5 10:54pm 30/08/09 |
rrrocket
yeah i got insulation...batts
| #6 11:23pm 30/08/09 |
they're not hard to install, you cut a hole & bolt it down then make it water proof
they make a big difference in the aluminum shed out the side in summer |
| #7 11:25pm 30/08/09 |
rrrocket
you guys reckon i dont need it if I've got insulation?
| #8 11:33pm 30/08/09 |
they still help, it just extracts heat out of the roof cavity ..
| #9 12:07am 31/08/09 |
They do work, we have one in our roof. Upstairs here use to get boiling hot,moment we installed one the temps did go down.
| #10 05:18am 31/08/09 |
yer, we got some, i just sold one on ebay (for $12)
you could probably call any insulation mob and they'd come out and install them for free under the current government rebate definately make a difference |
| #11 06:34am 31/08/09 |
They make a big difference, even with insulation alot of heat gets trapped in your roof during summer, and it can take hours for that to disipate in summer at night, with those, it really helps cool the roof down alot quicker.
They made a noteable difference in our house. A/C doesn't have to run as hard during summer etc etc. |
| #12 07:42am 31/08/09 |
Will be getting one soon. And yes, make sure you get a vent in your soffit so it can crate a suction effect
| #13 08:32am 31/08/09 |
We put two in about 6 years ago when we redid the roof.
I reckon they made a difference but a bit hard to tell if it was them as we also insulated and replaced the dark green tin with the silver refelctive tin roof at the same time. It amazes how they don't let any water in though :/ |
| #14 09:02am 31/08/09 |
we got one installed about a month ago, then about 2 weeks later got the free government insulation all through as well, so it's difficult to judge the effect of the whirlybird alone in the house, it has been cooler though.
| #15 09:36am 31/08/09 |
rrrocket
Kat, what?
make sure you get a vent in your soffit so it can crate a suction effect |
| #16 08:49pm 31/08/09 |
rocket, see greazy's pic in regards to vent in soffit.
| #17 08:53pm 31/08/09 |
Oldys got the bats in last week.
Place is a lot cooler and they already had 2 whirleys. |
| #18 08:57pm 31/08/09 |