Topic: Making Sushi @ Home?
Anyone have any experience with this?

I <3 sushi muchly but I have tried and failed to make this @ home quite a few times
took me ages to get the rice down but I think i've got it down now

my question is, how do I get the tuna to taste like it does at my local sushi train?
do you buy tinned tuna or do I have to get some other kind?

the john west stuff I normally use tastes like crap, I have to be doing it wrong
I'm litteraly spooning tuna from a tin into the rice before I roll it

what am I missing?
i think you'd find it would be whipped with mayonaise atleast.
hrm, you might have a point
i thought the mayo was just chucked on at the end
no way, tuna ship / tuna salad all the way
plus avocado if you're feeling really exotic

Sorry, I'll be helpfull. Fresh, fresh fresh fresh fresh fresh seafood always makes it. Basically sashimi grade fish.

last edited by eXemplar at 21:27:31 25/Aug/09
have you done any research? sushi cookbook? sushi cooking website? surely there would be alot of info on the interwebs.
but john west = best?

surely im just using the wrong tuna, are you even supposed to use canned crap?
can I go buy the right tuna from a specific shop or what?

these are the questions that plague me
Canned = crap (they usually pack preservatives or other additives - apparently you can press this crap out, but I've always used fresh)

You can cheat if you like the taste of smoked tuna, but you can't beat fresh. There's a lot of good places to buy seafood around brisbane, but even somewhere that has basically prepared fillets like coles or woolies can be ok, too.

There's no real "right" tuna.

last edited by eXemplar at 21:35:57 25/Aug/09
it's not just tuna in it, i can guarentee you it's mixed with something creamy, it has that texture
That's the "special sauce" they put in it, just for you paveway.
Vorador
japanese mayonaise

aka kewpie

raw tuna rolls are nicer but if you're doing something at home you want to mix your canned tuna with jap mayonaise and generally a bit of wasabi, too
FocaL
^this.

For spicy tuna add a bit of chili sauce too. Not too much though.
it's lucky i don't eat the tuna ones then huh
Try the plain tuna in springwater - safcol make a nice one which is light coloured. Mash it up with some mayo, then add to sushi roll.

I've never actually done this but I reckon it would work.
+1 thread timing..

I'm planning on making a s***load of sushi so i can eat it for lunch during the week. Just plan on getting the rolling mat, sushi rice, etc..

Gonna google and wing it :>
anyone know where i can buy some good tasty raw tuna, as in a proper tuna not the canned s***.
hah I made sushi for dinner last night for the first time!

was chicken though, not tuna, I would have made a tuna one but it turned out I made too much chicken
raw food? what are you, savages? we discovered fire for a reason.
cJay
jap mayo is just a type of egg mayo which you should be able to find pretty cheap just about everywhere. Pave is correct in that it's whipped.
high risk food.... don't go there sister
sparrow

Tuna is crap. Crab and avo is where it's at! Or chicken. Or salmon, if you have to do the fish thing...
tuna is good for gym diet
i just got back from gym and im hanging out for a tuna roll ;(

+1 for jetts too
jap mayo is just a type of egg mayo which you should be able to find pretty cheap just about everywhere. Pave is correct in that it's whipped.
Jap mayo has MSG in it which makes it taste awesome. It is quite different tasting to western mayo. You can get it everywhere in china town.
HerbalLizard
Been making it for a while, mostly with fresh salmon. Really depends on how cheap the ingredients are at the time. Salmon is pretty cheap atm at around $20 a fillet

Make either cali rolls or Salmon Nigiri if I am in the mood

Its all in the rice mostly go for a short grain rice and some rice vinegar, essentially its a right c*** to get the rice right. Opt for a rice cooker to take the pain out of stove top boiling
I'm planning on making a s***load of sushi so i can eat it for lunch during the week. Just plan on getting the rolling mat, sushi rice, etc..

hope you're not planning to keep it for any longer past the day you make it ?

tuna smells like the inside of an a******.
salmon for the glory of hibernia

Doesn't tuna contain trace elements of lead? I seem to remember from somewhere you shouldn't get too excited about eating massive amounts of tuna.

Also, Jake, be careful with storing cooked rice. It goes off quite quickly and can make you very sick. Wouldn't batch up a s***load of sushi 'for the week' as you say. Maybe for a couple of days, but not a week.
i wouldn't even go more than the day you made it, leaving it over night it's going to taste like ass anyway if it doesn't make you sick
At $2 a roll isn't it easier just to buy it fresh* on the day?

* - fresh is subjective according to Sushi Sushi.
FocaL
From wiki

Japanese mayonnaise.
Japanese mayonnaise is typically made with apple cider vinegar or rice vinegar and a small amount of MSG, which gives it a different flavor profile from mayonnaise made from distilled vinegar. It is most often sold in soft plastic squeeze bottles. Its texture is thinner than most Western commercial mayonnaise. A variety containing karashi (Japanese mustard) is also common.
Apart from salads, it is popular with dishes such as okonomiyaki, takoyaki and yakisoba and usually accompanies katsu and karaage. It is sometimes served with cooked vegetables, or mixed with soy sauce or wasabi and used as dips. In the Tōkai region, it is a frequent condiment on hiyashi chuka (cold noodle salad). Many fried seafood dishes are served with a side of mayonnaise for dipping. It is also not uncommon for Japanese to use mayonnaise in place of tomato sauce on pizza.
Kewpie (Q.P.) is the most popular brand of Japanese mayonnaise, advertised with a Kewpie doll logo.
ticman i was in melbourne the other week

what is with the sushi places down there? they must all buy their rolls from the same place because no matter where i was in the city every place sold exactly the same rolls

and i didn't see a single sushi train of any sort in the whole of the city..
Yeh pave they are all mass made in one factory and shipped out to each store -- it's total ass. For non-flash restaurants there's a much better Sushi experience in Brisbane. Only place that I'll have Sushi down here (after a huge number of failure at other Sushi outlets) is at proper Japanese restaurants which are ridiculously expensive.

I miss my Chermside Sushi Train!
yeah chermside sushi train rocks pretty hard
i been getting into the old sushi train lately. all the "japs" in there are actually chinese - not that there's anything wrong with that.
kr0wb4r
I picked up a book from Borders a while ago about making Sushi at home. It is quite good.. explains the process of preparing the rice and stuff to make it taste the same was as @ a restaurant.
never had sushi, whats the place smack bang in the middle of the city that sells it?
Pick one, there is so many f***ing sushi places in the city.

The best sushi train is at lutwych called Sakira or something. It looks dodgy as f*** but the food is great
FocaL
all the "japs" in there are actually chinese - not that there's anything wrong with that.

Making it or eating it?

Some of the worst Japanese food I've had has been from Chinese run joints. Its just a cynical attempt to cash in on what is probably the biggest independent fast food in Brisbane.

Korean made japanese food is good on the other hand.
the chefs. i gotta give it to those chinese folk, the know how to cash in on anything.
HerbalLizard
all the "japs" in there are actually chinese - not that there's anything wrong with that.
Oyama is a good example Doshian (SP) made mention one night that he was Chinese funny motherf***er as well
Korean made japanese food is good on the other hand.
Korea has it's own form of sushi, usually the stuff without the seaweed wrap is from Korean recipes.

I've been to the new sushi train at Robina. The seared salmon is the s***.
Clubby
Mmm Roast Pumpkin Sushi ... or s***aki Mushroom ...
sushi? sick pricks, last 2 times i've had sushi i threw up, shows how leet my taste buds are to vomit out what a human isn't supposed to eat in the first place :D
Panda
so your taste buds are ignorant too?
Also, Jake, be careful with storing cooked rice. It goes off quite quickly and can make you very sick. Wouldn't batch up a s***load of sushi 'for the week' as you say. Maybe for a couple of days, but not a week.

Cheers for advice.. just starting to learn how to cook. If i dont cook now i dont eat lol :P
Cooked rice does not go off quickly, if it's stored properly, at all. I make all my lunches for the week (and some times there's left overs for the following weekend) on the sunday before, and the rice has never gone off. What a silly statement.

I'd say it keeps fine for upto a week, after that it might get a bit gluggy, but should be fine.
pretty sure gary from master chef knows more than you giri
When he starts posting here i'll care about 5th hand information.

Of course, i wouldn't know anything about it, i mean, it's not like my lunch today is chinesse bbq pork with rice and vege that i cooked on sunday or anything. (ps, it is). Nor is it like i've been doing similar things with my lunches for the last 2 years, some of which have involved rice. (ps, i have)

Of course, it could just be that the definition of "going off quickly" when it's sushi left out in the semi-cold fridges of sushi stores versus "stored properly" in sealed containers in a fridge at home, is different.

But i'd hate to suggest any of those points to contradict your indirect knowledge.