Topic: Ashes - 5th Test

The decider. Clark is in. I like
Siddle got a knick caught by Pointing. Cook gone for 10.

12/1

On SBS now?

yer
f*** YER
Pretty solid start.
funky
yeah they are cracking along - the oval is a bloody road - i reckon it'll be a draw, both teams to score f***ing heaps
the oval is a bloody road
a f***en dirt road... the thing looks like its seen 3 days of cricket already.
where can i watch it online for free?

try ustream.tv and justin.tv
Watson already injured...
hes recovered.

last edited by FaceMan at 23:57:14 20/Aug/09

4-181. bell gone.
4/181

listening via bbc at work
f*** me are they ever going to permanently involve the 3rd umpire in decisions? How intrusive would it be if the guy upstairs was to say through the earpiece "hey old mates foot was over the line - not out".

In a deciding test match f***en.

And england/flintoff are gooooone 6-240odd. Unless the tail wags like a c*** they are in trouble.

last edited by ctd at 02:25:44 21/Aug/09
8-300 odd, pretty even first days play;

clean em up quick tonite and let the aussies bat to 600 for the win!
yeah if u get 300 on the first day and are still there you are prolly slightly ahead of even. I think the pitch was pretty good and they should have scored more.
The pitch does seem a bit slow and might be tough to bat on last.

This pitch is a brand new virgin wicket and new laid wickets tend to die faster and keep low as a test goes on.
Cant wait for tonights battle.

Nasser Hussain was saying lastt night that Australia was so good in the past because they had a great bowling attack for virtually every type of conditions.
Its so much better since Warney and McGrath are gone because Test Cricket is once again very even.

Quite like the pommy commentators David Lloyds accent is a crack up.

We only need a draw to retain the ashes, right?

yeah, draw or a win lets us keep the ashes.
Its so much better since Warney and McGrath are gone because Test Cricket is once again very even.

Exactly right...

Although I loved Warney and McGrath.

Its way more interesting now that its not so one-sided.
Its so much better since Warney and McGrath are gone

Un-Australian.
yeah man, you dont want it close! you wanna pummle the poms into the ground every single time, progressively beating the crap outa them.. f***in poms
Un-Australian.
This in itself is unAustralian. Oh the irony.
anderson out for naught

Kattich and Watson are looking pretty good so far.
Quite impressed since they had such a rocky start.
Watto gone...

Punter looking decidedly nervous (as usual)

spewing I'm not there
fuuuuuckkkkkkkkkkkk

Punter gone
OMGTHECROWDTHINKTHEYREGOINGTOWIN!!

Sheesh, settle down guys. You need moar runs, and to take 18 more wickets with weather and time against you.
Hussey duck...

Dubious decision

Broad on fire with all 3 wickets
f***ING HELL!!!!

Broad takes another, pup gaaaaawwwnnnn - great catch by Trott

4/93 ohh gnoes
North gone from a f***ing inside edge....

at least we won't have to follow on, but it's not looking good for a victory!
meh england had a dud decision in there innings. third umpire HI
lol Katich gone now as well...

things don't bode well
Heh, and another.

Shows how expensive our bowling was, doesn't it?
ROFL

another wicket

we might have to follow on :p
Battle of the s***
Australia have been thoroughly outplayed. England deserve the win, and the Ashes, playing like this.

last edited by Creepy at 02:32:30 22/Aug/09
Mitch

131-8.

:( :( :(
How important are those two runs needed to avoid the follow on? Given the current conditions, we have a small window to put them to the sword before they inevitably close play due to bad light.
0-73 > all out 162
Hussey failed yet again.

The Ashes are going back Home.
haha, c***s
"Well may we say 'God save the Queen' because nothing will save the Aussie Cricket Team"

What a strange series.
Moments of brilliance to appalling moments of failure from both sides.
ah ricky ponting got hit his cheek by the ball, he doesn't wear the helmet!

gg
I said we would have trouble Bowling England out twice and that was why i went with England to win 2-0.
http://qgl.ausforums.com/index.php/439207/?agn=thread&id=2762082
" Im tipping England 2-0 Mostly because I cant see the Aussie bowling attack being able to bowl England out twice. "

I was correct.
I am also correct about Aliens and The Illuminati...

last edited by FaceMan at 00:47:43 23/Aug/09

last edited by FaceMan at 00:56:48 23/Aug/09
Im gonna make a crazy statement and say Australia can still win, they basically need to score 475 in one innings, thats whats left to win, and they have all the wickets in hand.
they need to make 4 times ? what they made in the first.
maybe if the pommys lose 2 bowlers to injury.

As soon as the ball gets old the pommy bowlers seem to be able to get it doing more than the new ball.
Good on Trots gettin a ton.
Looking forward to Punters interview on the podium.
Lee and Clarke should not have been picked (to tour.)
Its time the Aussies got some new selectors.

last edited by FaceMan at 13:16:08 23/Aug/09
If the pitch was better and they were playing their absolute best then maybe they could. I just don't see it.
So they were going ok and what do these failures do? Get ponting run out. Like for f***s sake it is test cricket.
f***'s sake
5 wickets down, still 300 to get. We're gawwwwwwn.
2 runouts.

They were claiming the other day Clarke was the 2nd best batsman in the world behind Sangakara Sri Lanka. over rated.
The fat lady has sung.
Mitch

Yeah right overated....
this is a sad day
2 f***ing run outs, if clark and ponting or north had made a decent contribution, we could have even gotten over for the win, or at least hung on for a draw.
I could just about choke Ponting for getting himself run out. That was Husseys call, he made the call, you put your head down and you run. You don't jog a few paces whilst watching the ball roll to the fielder.

Trust your team mate dammit!

Clarkes run out was just plain unlucky though.

Also props to Katich and Watson for once again getting a start and not turning into a big score. Especially impressed with padding up for an LBW.
All the talk is about leaving out a spinner but the fact is the aussie bats failed after a great start in the first innings.

The one day side is virtually the test side.
Sack all the the selectors and get some quality people in there.
Not average ex-players that cant get a real job.
Lee+symmonds+Krezja=we might have won.

Seriously, symmonds has a better batting average in tests than watson and seems to be able to get people out when he bowls, but yeah whatever, he's a "lose cannon" or something like that.

Lets just continue loosing, if we cant win the one day series there is something realy wrong with the team, wtf is hauritz in the one day team for? he is useless. Also no David Hussey in the one day team?

are you serious? you want hussey in any team on his current form?

1 century doesn't excuse the last 2 years. his average has gone from 80ish down to 30ish. it is time for him to go.
"hauritz couldn't even spin on a merry-go-round" classic.
how the f*** do you get run out in a test match?
Stop Looking At Me Swan
Wasnt Hauritz the leading wicket taker for Aus before he was dropped in the 4th test? Why blame him?
how the f*** do you get run out in a test match?

when they hit the wickets with the ball and you don't have any part of you or your bat behind the crease, fyi
thanks pavenoob, i mean from a strategic perspective, in that a draw would have done them nicely, why were they trying to squeeze in more runs?
Stop Looking At Me Swan
with a deteriorating pitch there is no way they would have lasted 2 days.
pretty sure australian cricket is now dead
People looking for excuses, failing to accept that the better team, over a collective 25 days of test cricket, won the series.

Australia, like the West Indies before, has had its time at the top. Time for a few years in the wilderness.
Go look at the series stats Creepy, most of the Aussie bastman had better batting averages (I think Aust had 7 of the top 9 batting averages), and the bowlers had more wickets and better bowling averages (top 3 wicket takers and 3 of top 4 bowling averages). I think both captains have said if you looked at the series stats you'd be suprised England won.

Australia were superior for longer periods but when they had a bad session they had a really really bad session. This is what cost Australia the series.