Topic: Moving back to Brisvegas - suburbs - whats hot and whats not...
crazymorton
i have scored a new job and the wife and i are moving back to the big smoke after 5 years up here. it is only the 2 of us (and our 2 cats) so we decided we'd like to try some inner city apartment style living. the job is at Doomben but minor travel is not an issue. we would like somewhere with a cafe culture within walking distance. so we've been looking at the following.
Teneriffe/Newstead
New Farm
West End
Hamilton/Ascot

some of these areas used to be dumps when i was growing up in brissie but seem ok these days.
any thoughts/feedback on these areas or other possibilities?
cheers
I dunno if cats and apartments go together?
jadz0r

Red Hill, Paddington, Kelvin Grove, Wes End, New Farm, Spring Hill.

Himilton is nice too
still a lot of dodgy f***ers at west end, night the place to walk around at night if youre alone

it was called boundary street for a reason... certain peoples werent allowed past there or they faced arrest. now they just congregate and cause general nuisance at that s***hole park there and beyond
Pretty much the above + bulimba/balmoral/morningside/hawthorne ... maybe not for doomben though.
hamiltr0n ftw
so we decided we'd like to try some inner city apartment style living

salisbury
I think spook is trying to say salisbury is the complete opposite of inner city living ;)
spook believes that his ordinary suburb is a lot closer in than it actually is

ascot/albion/windsor/hamilton would be the go mate
probably places like red hill/paddo would be a bit more hip, but would be bloody murder to try and get to doomben from
Redcliffe, it's the suburb of champions.
new farm/newstead would be my pick if i was in your situation
crazymorton
cheers for the feedback so far. west end was a s*** hole when i was there so i know what you mean cainer. don't they have a land rights claim on musgrave park?

cats are house cats mission - pure bred burmese so they'll be sweet

ctd - do balmoral/bulimba have a cafe strip? wouldn't be to much hassle to get to Doomben would it? across the story bridge and down through breaky creek or gateway if i really want stress.

seems ot be a lot of new apartments at Hamo where that fish market used to be on the river front....anyone know what they are called?
yeah, that's called portside (if i'm thinking of the right place). you should be able to get fairly new apartments, renting or buying, for relatively decent prices there cause the demand was lower than expected (from what i've been told)
crazymorton
cheers taggs
rent only at this stage to try it out. going to rent our house here in gladstone till the market picks up then maybe sell and buy if it's what we want.
MatchFixer
Westend.

But seriously folks, +1 for bulimba
please dont be hating on my inner city living, just because you arent

Yeah, having your million dollar home flood is awesome!
Northshore Hamilton is being constructed atm, shopping centre, cinemas, cafes etc + close to Racecoure Road as well. Heaps of apartments being built there.
How do you plan on getting to work? And what times? If it's a car during peak hour I would seriously consider sticking to northside. Traffic is way worse than it was when you used to live here :)
http://www.northshorehamilton.com.au/
crazymorton
travel by car reso. but i'm a BD manager so not office bound all the time and not really restricted to set start time every day.
will at times commute straight from home to clients also.
spook believes that his ordinary suburb is a lot closer in than it actually is

pretty much the suburbs you posted in the OP, - west end though as it's not close to doomben and is dodgey

milton/paddington is nice. paddington has some nice cafes as well as park road in milton and some really nice places in rosalie just next to both suburbs.

would go milon as it's closer to the city and suncorp stadium and the ICB which goes out to doomben.
theres pros and cons for all of the suburbs listed.

bulimba is cool because there is a decent cafe street/strip/shops with a ferry stop down the end of that street. its just a bit far out from the city because you cant exactly go directly to the city and it does get busy.

milton is a nightmare during peakhour and park road is a bit overated imo but it is close to the city and theres a train station ther

west end has picked up heaps lately, heaps of restaurants and clubs and its up and coming as it shouldve been years ago but there is still 'that' element there

and portside hamilton area might be cool in 5 years time but its super expensive for the apartments there considering its just been plonked in an industrial zone and the ferry stop isnt very close when youre walking, yuppy expensive shops and restaurants and studio apartments. although i do recommend the japanese restaurant SONO at portside, its tops

Prolly a bit far away but im finding graceville to be a pretty kicking rad place to live.. (PLUG.. ANYONE LOOKING FOR A ROOM IN GRACEVILLE??? got one spare here and need it gone because rent split between 2 is killing me and my aspirations of saving for a motorbike)
for doomben, live on the north of the river. as much as northsiders are just plain strange, having to navigate the gateway every morning would be worse.
Is Enoggera/Alderley/New Market still nice?
louie
+1 for the bulimba/norman park/ hawthorne area.......
bus service can suck sometimes though.......

with new farm/valley you run the risk of being valley tragic

west end has a weird cross demographic of arty people, ferals, greeks and yuppies, so while it can be interesting, for some it can be lame.
i always find it a pain getting to westend, so may be a pain getting out of westend.
id go highgate hill before westend.

and all northside is out of bounds !!!!!!
dranged
Paddington is decent; but old. Not sure if you can find many (newish) apartments there though?
New farm is the place to be. I've been living there for around 5 years and can personally recommend it. It's on the north side of the river, so travelling to the city and northside suburbs such as doomben. I prefer new farm over tenneriffe but that really comes down to what kind of apartment you are after. If you want modern go tenerriffe, if you want queenslander/classic go newfarm.
don't go southside apart from being s***,

if you go bulimba you have to deal with the gateway

if you go westend you have to deal with the grey st bridge

and yeah, southside is s***.
northside is s*** and you are s***;

drove through new farm and tenneriffe last weekend after taking spookjnr to new farm park (lol, complete with passed out dude being tended to by ambos)

it was beautiful
I lived at New Market a few years ago, great place.

Redcliffe is fail.
actually northside AND salisbury are s***. norman park reprezentin
Isn't Norman Park the gay capital of Brisbane? Seriously.
you don't sound serious.
I'm super serious.
Infi loves living next door to KRudd.

I'm at Auchenflower, right near Park Road. It's over-rated. I much prefer Racecourse Rd for eating/drinking.
thats the best thing about him being in canberra, i never have to see the c***.
drove through new farm and tenneriffe last weekend after taking spookjnr to new farm park (lol, complete with passed out dude being tended to by ambos)

Sure this wasn't WestEnd?
yeah i think he was mistaking his daily drive to work, or any drive anywhere on the southside
louie
go norman park !!!!
hey infi, ever here a band practising on agnew st? next to the telstra sub station?

the ausome thing about norman park, is that its friendly to musicians......
as long as you have band practise at reasonable hours....no one EVER complains....
and for that we are thankful !!!!
yes of course, the whole of norman park is friendly to bands
That's because most Norman Park residents are 60+ and going deaf :D
crazymorton
i'm a brissie original born and bred northside (wilston) so i think we'll stick to north.
thanks for the feedback think we'll pursue Hamo and surrounds + new farm/teneriffe area. want to go fairly modern happy to pay up to $450 p/wk so from some searching it looks like we should be able to do that in those areas.

if anyone knows of anything coming up from 20th July or week earlier let me know

cheers all
+1 for northside

f***ing s*** house southside
buy my unit ftw

2 bed 2 bath 1 garage in fortitude valley
crazymorton
going to rent first tequila to see how its goes. maybe we won't like that style of living.
however if you want to rent it out and it suits we might be interested??
Albion might not be a bad option if you've not looked into it.. nice little strip of restraunts n cafe's n some new buildings going up next to the train station.
get somewhere on a bus line

a good bus too not some s***ty stop everywhere bus

its like living EVERYWHERE AT ONCE
crazymorton

Update question - where's all that tunnel work happening?
don't want to be living near dust and noise.....
next to RBH, next to Shaftston College, next to Toombul shopping centre and then at the aeropuerto I believe?
crazymorton
cheers reload