Topic: new motorcycle safety ad campaign?

I'm after the video if anyone has it? I had the TV on last night and only heard the voice over, and I want to check some facts in the ad.

Something like, "You're 30 times more likely to be killed if you're riding a motorbike. 1 in 5 road fatalities was a bike rider."

So I don't disappoint people expecting a vid, here's a clever old one (I wonder if it had an effect?):

And as a community service announcement, be aware that people misjudge the speed of motorbikes: we think that bikes are travelling slower than they actually are (whereas we're quite accurate and judging the speed of cars). This means you need to look twice before turning out infront of a bike!
While riding a road bike is no doubt great fun, I can't believe the amount of people that gloss over the safety aspect of those things.

IMO the risk of serious injury or death is far to great.

The other day in the news a motorcycle rider died after hitting a traffic island (I think it was on the Gold Coast). As he was dieing on the road a ute pulled up and stole his bike, but did nothing about the rider.......

last edited by mission at 10:27:31 28/May/09

last edited by mission at 10:28:02 28/May/09
motorbikes are rad
The other day in the news a motorcycle rider died after hitting a traffic island (I think it was on the Gold Coast). As he was dieing on the road a ute pulled up and stole his bike, but did nothing about the rider.......

nah that was in wa... perth is kinda ghetto like that.

yes, motorcycles are dangerous, yes, they are also great fun. defintely not for everyone.
3x0dus
they could use some of those new boat people we have.

"Riding a motorbike is like entering australia illegally, you both only temporary australians"

then pix of motorbike chewed up by a truck.

tominator
So does that make people who don't ride motorbikes permanent Australians?
bah, riding bikes is fun.

Stop living a sheltered life :D
I thought this ad was going to be about retards who don't wear the right gear on bikes and suffer huge injuries, how wrong was I.
And as a community service announcement...
I find it's the acceleration that catches most people out, I travel on the ICB every day and the ramp from Caxton Street onto Hale is always fun when people don't start indicating before they change lanes, I've had times where I've been doing 40 behind someone thinking they're going straight ahead, changed lanes and sped upto 60 to meet the rest of traffic's speed only to be along side a car thats decided to start moving across further up the road.

last edited by scuzzy at 11:15:45 28/May/09
erol
You're 30 times more likely to be killed if you're riding a motorbike

I think it was more like "you're 30 times more likely to be killed IN A CRASH if your riding a motorbike" which seems pretty obvious...
The Dr's at the Hospital ER call Motorcyle Riders .. 'Donors'.
hehehehe donors... .get it????
Bags your liver, don't drink too much please reso
too late. I remember draging him into his house on his birthday... and IIRC it was about 8:30pm.
http://mongie.com/ulimages/cqs1243475913j.jpg

last edited by mongie at 11:58:43 28/May/09
Motorbikes are partially unsafe because every driver ignores them and never has a clue whats going on around them anyway. They start moving into a lane before looking and that works fine when the other vehicle is a 4tonn SUV but when its a bike, motor or not, they nearly kill them each time.

Of course most experienced riders probably have judged the clueless drivers from the clued in and are watching with hawkeyes to whats actually going on around them.

However I've noticed that most scooter riders have no f***ing idea either. Its like they've got out of the SUV and into a scooter and expecting all the same s*** to basically happen. Scooter riders have a habit of sitting in the blindspot of the car next to them every time. I mean honestly thats riding 101, don't be invisible.
wtf mongie my liver is awesome.
3x0dus
you can tell a motorbike rider that has a clue and done a q safe or whatever it is course but, because you can generally always see them they sit the the predictable and well visible spots in almost all cases.

i do however wish my door was steel/reinforced so i could open the door on lane splitters. (more so scooters and bikers who aren't going to accelerate reasonably).
I agree with the basic sentiments of the thread - bike riders are poorly protected, drivers need to be more aware, riders need to be more aware.

I find it's the acceleration that catches most people out, I travel on the ICB every day and the ramp from Caxton Street onto Hale is always fun when people don't start indicating before they change lanes, I've had times where I've been doing 40 behind someone thinking they're going straight ahead, changed lanes and sped upto 60 to meet the rest of traffic's speed only to be along side a car thats decided to start moving across further up the road.

You could be right about the acceleration bit, but I think that's different to the studies that I know of, where they use video footage and speed cams to check the speeds of the bike.

I think it was more like "you're 30 times more likely to be killed IN A CRASH if your riding a motorbike" which seems pretty obvious...

Yep I think you're right there.
I got my motorbike licence a few weeks ago (been riding for years but only off-road)

the first time I had ever ridden on the road legally and holy f*** your average motorist is completely retarded

at one stage I stopped the bike at a round about, turned around and told this f***ing mole of a woman to get the f*** away from the back of my bike
lol, but it's ok for you to be there because you can go the same speed as the other traffic right?
oh teq.....
In my experience the majority of riders are generally OK, but I wonder how many of the "30x more likely to be killed" are in the category of the douche bags that accelerate hard, brake late, lane split, overtake on single white lines, etc.

The amount of times I've been coming back from Maleny down the back way to Beerwah to have a biker overtake me and then find him sprawled out on the ground a few corners away is mind blowing.
Guy at work was telling me about one guy who lane split past him then did a wheelie off the lights. Awesome.
MotorCycles should be banned.
I know of two acquaintances that have been killed in the last two years.
Waste of Hospital resources.
i do however wish my door was steel/reinforced so i could open the door on lane splitters. (more so scooters and bikers who aren't going to accelerate reasonably).

You sir are a penis, if you are so butthurt about lane splitters get a bike and get in on the action.

I do it daily on the freeway down the shoulder, f*** waiting in slow/stopped traffic. I really haven't had any super close calls doing it. People merge on you all the time, you just have to be super aware and slow down or move over to another lane with your finger on the horn.

Scooter riders aren't REALLY riders, they are just commuters who are attempting to save travel money. Most think it's ok to wear a skirt and high heels cause it's "just a scooter"... let me know how that goes when you hit the road.

The #1 key to staying safe on a bike is good awareness.

Awesome, was almost hit by a Ute at lunch time today that changed lanes without indicating or seeing me. f*** yeah motorcycles!

Edit: Mind you, after riding so much you get used to that sort of s*** so you start to take a different look at traffic, watching EVERYONE around you trying to figure out who is paying attention or about to pull something dumb in traffic. Learning how to position yourself on the road is so very important.

Todays incident didn't make me panic at all. I knew the turning lines have been repainted at the end of hale street and not everyone has a clue about it, I ride around that corner anticipating something dumb every day.

last edited by scuzzy at 15:25:30 28/May/09
HyperJ

i was just trying to find a decent wheelie video on youtube, randomly found this !?!?!?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mktM7qxkSLQ&feature=related
You sir are a penis, if you are so butthurt about lane splitters get a bike and get in on the action.
Go back to GBS!

hehe
you just have to be super aware and slow down or move over to another lane with your finger on the horn.

My bike horn is soo piss weak i doubt anyone would hear it.

Would love to fit some truck horns to it, let people think they are merging into a semi-trailer instead of a little bike hehe
Its the most fun you can have with your pants on. and even if you have no pants on it lasts much longer.
Go back to GBS!
this whole forum is GBS :3
lol, but it's ok for you to be there because you can go the same speed as the other traffic right?

??

I had an L plate on the bike, I was riding in tandem with other riders (and an instructor) yet she still sat 6 inches off my ass the whole way down morayfield road

I give L platers heaps of room, car or bike makes no difference
CactusSupreme

??

I give L platers heaps of room, car or bike makes no difference

You're on of those nice drivers who is considerate of people on their L plates. Thank you. There is nothing I hate more than stopping at a set of traffic lights on a hill to look in the rear view mirror and see some whore right up my ass in her AWD minivan (I'm driving a manual 'cause I'm cooool), which for some f***ed up reason thinks is a real 4wd.
teq I was just trying to bait you with the differences between a motorbike and a push-bike :)
If motorbikes don't dart in and out and they don't ride up lanes that don't exist and then merge on me I might notice them!!!

Nearly had a f***tard merge in on me. I merged into a lane, that was free. He came flying from the behind the car in the lane I was merging into (from a lane that wasn't a lane). The only reason he didn't get killed was because I am aware of my surroundings.

Bike riders are the ones that need to f***ing change
You c***s drive so slow...

P plater yesterday braking down a hill... FOAD

Thankfully overtaking is easy on a moto :)

Riding my mates 07 R6 atm as he lost his license (lol speeding) which makes it even easier. Thing is way too fast.
I'd say the general problem is people don't f***ing indicate properly! I drive a car yet I still get so annoyed with people indicating for 2 flashes when they are quarter way merged into the lane they're moving to.

It's called an indicator for a reason f***tards, use it to indicate your intention to move, not as an afterthought!

/rant
I agree Partyhat, watched a taxi last night change lanes in front of me four or five times without indicating once.
The only reason he didn't get killed was because I am aware of my surroundings.

More likely he didn't get killed because he judged it correctly and went into a gap, not the side of your car...

I do it everyday on the freeway. Not sitting behind cars with the bike overheating when theres a perfectly good wide shoulder to ride down.
More likely he didn't get killed because he judged it correctly and went into a gap, not the side of your car...

The only place he should have merged from was my lane....he wasn't in my lane.
I do it everyday on the freeway. Not sitting behind cars with the bike overheating when theres a perfectly good wide shoulder to ride down.

Point proven... If you can't obey the f***ing road rules, don't get schnippy when a car wipes you out.
yeah people not doing the speed limit and braking for corners and hills when they aren't going fast or even at the speed limit in the first place s***s me to tears, it's probably my number 1 rage on the road
The only place he should have merged from was my lane....he wasn't in my lane.

Did you need to slam on the brakes or swerve to avoid them?
If not then he came nowhere close to getting killed.

The only way a car would wipe me out is if they felt it necessary to remove some paint off the doors by sideswiping the barrier/wall on the side of the freeway.
Not sitting behind cars with the bike overheating when theres a perfectly good wide shoulder to ride down.
Your bike is air cooled?
BOHEMION
Wow! Alot of bike rider hate. Think I need to do more wheelies from the lights after lane splitting ;)

Bike riders are the ones that need to f***ing change
I think as far as road users go, you get the odd hoon from both drivers and riders.
If you can't obey the f***ing road rules, don't get schnippy when a car wipes you out.

Yeah that pisses me off. Same with cyclists that don't follow road rules. I don't care that they are on the road (I ride to work) but when they blantly ignore road rules, such as going through red lights etc, it's all kinds of gay.

If your are on a MB or pushy and you break the rules you deserve what you get. Damn I'm harsh (and tough).
and hot
Yeah that pisses me off. Same with cyclists that don't follow road rules. I don't care that they are on the road (I ride to work) but when they blantly ignore road rules, such as going through red lights etc, it's all kinds of gay.

If your are on a MB or pushy and you break the rules you deserve what you get. Damn I'm harsh (and tough).

Red lights is the only thing I've encountered, what else do cyclist break?

I'm sick of c***s beeping me and getting right up my ass through roundabouts... chill the f*** out... I'm going 40km/hr and I'm in the lane for 5 seconds.
what else do cyclist break

Fashion laws is another.
Lycra ftw.

I paid out on cyclists my entire life, but once you start riding it doesn't really matter.

I go pick up s*** at the shops in my riding gear if need be, I got no shame.
Is a pair of rolled up socks part of your outfit?

Your bike is air cooled?

Yessir Buell XB9S
Legs get f***ing toasty sitting around not moving.

Even the R6 gets damn hot moving slow/stopped at lights.
In crappy traffic it hits 100+ deg and the thermos kick in and toast your legs.
Haha BOHEMION, I wasn't being sarcastic about that guy in the example I said. I'm still too much of a wimp to even split past everyone at the lights.
BOHEMION
Oh, I didnt think that you were. Actually not suprised at all. Friday's seem to make my bikes point skyward more.

Another QGL moto ride day to plan?
Mephz
Point proven... If you can't obey the f***ing road rules, don't get schnippy when a car wipes you out.
Rage Rage Rage, I'm stuck in traffic Rage Rage Rage.
That's all I heard then.

Rubba is right, how can you wipe out a motorbike unless you felt it necessary to drive on the shoulder yourself, thus you yourself also performing an illegal manouvre...

How could you also wipe out a motorbike who's Lane FILTERING; Filtering is the act of riding between the lanes at traffic lights between stationary vehicles.

SPLITTING is the act of riding between two moving vehicles between the middle of lanes.

There's a major difference.

Thirdly, why would you concern yourself that a motorbike/s ride down stationary traffic, or down the shoulder of the freeway in stop-start traffic....
They are essentially removing another car from the road/reducing traffic by not being amongst it, which actually benefits you - albeit not as greatly as it benefits the rider.

Fourthly, the time saved by the rider is paid in penance by the increased risk of riding, and the time it takes to 'gear up' and 'gear down'.

Lastly, the bike is safer in front of all the traffic, than between it.

Yes, I ride, but even before I started riding I knew this and didn't rage at bikes filtering.
The bike overtook the car in front of it (if it was even behind it at any stage) on the left (which wasn't a lane at all) and then entered the lane I was merging into. I ended up having to go back to the lane I was merging from in order not to have the bike hit me (or swerve and potentially stack it). The bike was going twice as fast as any of us cars.

It could have been a car and we simply both merged at the same time legally, but the issue is that bikes do stupid manoeuvres and ride illegally and then get annoyed and blame cars because there are so many bike deaths on the road.

I don't ride and never have (except off road). My brother owned a motorbike and I have a good friend who is 'a rider'. There are sensible bike riders out there and I can't for the life of me understand how a car could take them out unless the car was doing something stupid or the driver wasn't paying attention. And I pay that.

However the issue is that there are a large proportion of bike riders who ride illegally and who are responsible for accidents. It has nothing to do with drivers of the cars, it has to do with the bike riders stupidity on the road and them thinking they are invincible and the road rules don't apply to them.

I think the campaign that we need to notice them is insulting and there really should be one addressing the bike riders behaviour - the actual problem
i'd be up for a qgl moto ride although i dont have much spare time atm :[
<3 my sv1000 :D
Mephz
So Kat, explain to me again how you could possibly wipe out a motorbike who is driving down between cars at a set of traffic lights, while you are stationary?

Remember that there are ALL sorts of people in various physical conditions who can still legally drive. - It's generally safer for the bike to be in front of traffic than between it.

I've had a CRV change lanes straight into my car wiping out the entire side bumper-bumper while in traffic moving about ~20kph, and I had been there the entire time.... If I was on my bike - not a chance in hell [except maybe swerving to a shoulder].

This happens when you are on a bike more frequently - even if you sit in traffic to the right of the lane (if in the left) so that cars approaching from behind can see the lane is occupied by yourself, we tend to still move over to the left of the lane as a vehicle approaches to provide a buffer of reaction time in case the approaching car moves across into us..

Cars move US into THEIR blind spot by coming alongside us if we are in traffic, we have nowhere to move to get out of their blind spot since we are.... in bumper-bumper traffic, people forget we exist/are there and there's your very very frequent/common Merge-Onto-Motorbike in traffic scenario.

Either way, the case in point is: It's still safer for the rider to filter down a shoulder when vehicles are stationary or below walking/running speed.
As long as they're not stupid about re-entering traffic/lanes then it really shouldn't be a problem.

last edited by Mephz at 14:27:47 29/May/09
Is it legal to do that?
Either way, the case in point is: It's still safer for the rider to filter down a shoulder when vehicles are stationary or below walking/running speed.
As long as they're not stupid about re-entering traffic/lanes then it really shouldn't be a problem.

The whole point of my 'rant' was that we were all moving. We weren't stationary and the bike overtook a car on a shoulder and then darted into the lane I was merging into - going twice the speed of the cars. All you are doing is agreeing with me

As for bikes going between traffic when they are stationary - I can wipe them out by opening my car door on them. HA!!! That'll show them :P
Is it legal to do that?

i dunno if it's legal or not (prolly not) but no one ever gets booked for lane splitting afaik (never heard of this filtering term before :P). i've even had a cop on a bike follow me between lanes of near stationary cars from aspley to the city... never said boo. i've split lanes to the front of the lights n there has been cops in thier car at the front & they didn't bother me either.
Mephz
Is it legal to do that?
AFAIK it becomes a technicality.
There are no specific laws against it, it becomes an overtaking technicality.
I.E. You will have to overtake from the right and be at least one meter from the car to your left...

This is obviously impossible in a filtering scenario as you are between vehicles.

It's a grey area either way, some police frown upon it, others do not care.

I've personally filtered in front of police, even when they are at the front of the lights queue and they have never pulled me over.

As for bikes going between traffic when they are stationary - I can wipe them out by opening my car door on them. HA!!! That'll show them :P

That would actually be assault if not worse?.. If you want to risk it, be my guest, but the bike is still going to do more damage to your door...

Just because someone breaks the law does not give you the right to exercise vigilantism; especially not for a traffic offense

Filtering, splitting, whatever you call it - isn't it still illegal? When you drift over into the right lane but stay left of the car in that lane, you've just illegally overtaken as far as I know.
The point was the difference between the risk/danger of the two (Stationary Filter Vs. Moving Split).

See above for legality and apparent police attitudes on it.

last edited by Mephz at 14:44:05 29/May/09
How could you also wipe out a motorbike who's Lane FILTERING; Filtering is the act of riding between the lanes at traffic lights between stationary vehicles.

SPLITTING is the act of riding between two moving vehicles between the middle of lanes.

Filtering, splitting, whatever you call it - isn't it still illegal? When you drift over into the right lane but stay left of the car in that lane, you've just illegally overtaken as far as I know.
I see you missed my ':p' Mephz. I am not about to open my door on a bike rider.
However in your (edited) reply, I did notice this
Just because someone breaks the law does not give you the right to exercise vigilantism; especially not for a traffic offense

Back to my main point - the issue should be educating bike riders and getting them to ride properly. Not attacking car drivers in an attempt to place the blame for bike riders stupidity elsewhere
The only way a car would wipe me out is if they felt it necessary to remove some paint off the doors by sideswiping the barrier/wall on the side of the freeway.

Maybe riders get hit more because they think they are invincible?

What seems to happen though is that drivers feel it is their responsibility to teach riders a lesson by driving dangerously around them when something like this happens (or when riders hold up traffic). At the end of the day, if you hit someone while they were riding safely just because you're pissed that they went through a red light 2 minutes ago, you're probably going to jail. If riders want to go through red lights, that's their responsibility, and I feel sorry for the poor drivers that hit them.

Try this out: next time you get stuck behind a rider or slow car, work out how much it is really going to hold you up. If you have drive 20km to work, and the average speed limit is 60km/h, and you get stuck behind someone going 40km/h the whole way, that has only added 10mins to an otherwise 20minute drive. This is pretending that you're not going to get caught by the red lights, which you will, meaning that the difference is more likely going to be ZERO. And you whingy f***s complain about sitting behind a cyclist for 10 seconds.
Yeah I know, I'm one of those cyclists.

It just annoys me when I stop at a red light on my pushy and these other jokers just ride straight through.

When there's cyclists like that getting around it's no wonder drivers get the s***s cyclists in general.
I think both drivers and riders need to be educated properly.

My only real fear when on the bike is people not seeing me and pulling out in front from a side street. This happens pretty much every time I ride and I'm sure it happens to cyclists too.

Old granny did it to me today. I thought she was going to go in to the left lane but kept on coming out in to mine. YE HAW.

Other times like on the freeway it's fairly easy to keep safe, just ride where you can be seen and try not to sit in anyone's blind spots.

Don't get me wrong, someone trying to merge on top of you obviously isn't good, but it's a lot more avoidable than some old c*** or P plater pulling out right in front of you without giving you any reaction time.
Mephz

I see you missed my ':p' Mephz. I am not about to open my door on a bike rider.
However in your (edited) reply, I did notice this
Yeah, because it was a double negative.

Speaking of "obeying" the road rules, the number of times 'obeying the law' i.e. sitting in traffic/speed limit, people like to sit right on my ass, then change lanes (because the speed limit is 'too slow') by flooring it and changing lanes slowly enough so as to come within mere INCHES of the rear fairing.

Until people understand bikes need as much/more room than a car, I'll continue to filter at traffic lights and get out the front where average joe intelligence citizen can't run me off the road in a fit of impatience rage.

You know how many times I've been nearly wiped out by disobeying the law and everything you're complaining about?
zero.

Get a moto, ride, change your attitude, whatever - Either way it's all these attitudes and beliefs people have about what they think is the way riders SHOULD ride, that lead to people trying to be vigilante's and teach Moto's/Pushbike riders a 'lesson' that results in deaths or near accidents.

last edited by Mephz at 08:50:49 30/May/09
teq I was just trying to bait you with the differences between a motorbike and a push-bike :)

oh right, nah the reason we're allowed on the road is because we pay rego ;)
That's a fair point, and I would be more than happy to pay rego if that meant we get more respect on the road from drivers and road makers. But we both know paying rego won't change people's attitudes to cyclists...
My take on it - I ride a motorcycle, I drive a car as well most days.

On the bike, I am a very defensive rider, I watch the traffic, I watch the idiots and stay upright. Touch wood, I have never dropped a bike nor been knocked off (been close many times tho)

In the car I am aware of how bike riders like to move in traffic, so I keep an eye on them, make room for them when they are splitting etc etc. I think more people should have awareness for motorcycles (cars can hit scooters, thats perfectly fine because they have it coming wearing no protection and have no training and and no clue)

I think f***wits on R1s and whatever other high performance bike they ride with a pair of thongs on and a singlet (you know the tossers I mean) that dangerously weave among traffic like they are rossi should lose their license or be forced to ride scooters.

As for push bikes, I understand its a healthy thing, go green friendly etc, but honestly I still stand by this policy. Until you pay rego, you are the bottom of the food chain on the road. I honestly think bikes are better off on the footpath simply because uneducated or dumbass drivers would have less accidents without them there.