Topic: wtf is up with all the .au flags on cars
épic™
every second car im seeing has a stupid little australian flag flying out of the back windows. i seriously saw like 4 billion of these things on the way home just then.

im guessing they were given away free with XXXX or subscription to bogan weekly??

im hoping this dies after tomorrow :(
if you dont like it f*** off!
umm its Australia day weekend f*****
Crakaveli
Wow there is alot of "australian pride" Bitching on this forum lately.

Don't like it f*** off.
defi
I cant believe people are complaining that people are flying Aussie flags, getting the southern cross tattooed etc. I personally think if everyone took real pride in there country and showed good spirit it would become a much better place.

I think it was the courier mail giving the flags away, good on them.
Yeah was courier mail.
I personally think if everyone took real pride in there country and showed good spirit it would become a much better place.

lol really? I think you're right only if people embrace the fact that we're a multicultural nation, which won't happen because people are idiots. "Taking pride" will just lead to a country full of f***heads (for example, see BDO Australian flag kiss or die from a couple of years ago). Be proud to be an Australian, but don't think that because you fly a flag you're any better than the person next to you.
who would get a southern cross tatoo anyway... faggets.
Personally I sail around in my land yacht proudly displaying the jolly roger.

YARRRRRRR!
XandraX
National pride is how the Nazis began!
épic™
if you dont like it f*** off!

umm its Australia day weekend f*****

Don't like it f*** off.

people like this ^ are my point exactly.

australia is a dam great place to live, and we're all very fortunate but at the same time we don't need to get all agnsty about it, flying flags on our cars and s*** to show everyone how patriotic we are. nationalism ftl.

Way to be patriotic Epic
flying flags on our cars and s*** to show everyone how patriotic we are. nationalism ftl.

^

waving flags around is totally pointless, aggressive patriotism fails as bad as religion
lol really? I think you're right only if people embrace the fact that we're a multicultural nation, which won't happen because people are idiots. "Taking pride" will just lead to a country full of f***heads (for example, see BDO Australian flag kiss or die from a couple of years ago). Be proud to be an Australian, but don't think that because you fly a flag you're any better than the person next to you.

I think I'm better then the person complaining about people flying flags or getting tattoos. If there was ever anything not worth whinging about it would be people showing pride in their country on the country's national day.

Honestly there is no other country I'd rather live in. It certainly has it's faults but is it really too much to ask that one day out of the year people focus on the good points and not act like a bunch of spoiled wankers?
Just bcause some drunken bogans get out of control doesn't make having a little flag wave on Australia day a bad thing.

Its pretty simple thinking to assume they are the same and immeiately correlate them. It doesn't account for the wide range of often positive stuff that national pride can represent.

Its kind of like saying that a Greek restaurant with the Greek flag / colours can't have a fit place in Australian society.

It seems that to a lot of people its OK to be proud of your heritage unless you are espousing how cool it is to be of Anglo-Saxon descent. It kind of sucks IMO, and robs a significant portion of the population the right to be proud of their own origins and cultural background.
XandraX
No one is focusing on the good points of Australia though, they're just competing to see who's "more patriotic" and if they don't participate in that little game, apparently they're not welcome in the country.

Next we'll be requiring our kids to salute the flag every morning before school. Can't we just be proud of our country without being all showy and aggressive?
Why does Australia have the English flag in the corner ?
Time to get rid of it.
Gesthemene
Time to get rid of it.

Because we're still part of the British Commonwealth and recognise the English monarch as our titular Head of State, you idiot.

last edited by Gesthemene at 16:53:30 25/Jan/09
Gabby

Certainly you can put 2 and 2 together.
It's Australia day soon. Dick
Because we're still part of the British Commonwealth and recognise the English monarch as our titular Head of State, you idiot.

You do realise that out of the 53 nations in the Commonwealth there is only 4 or 5 that have the union jack in their flag.
tough s***, get over it
this is Australia, we've got a right to fly flags and s*** if we want
so sick of people trying to deny free speech/basic rights because they don't agree with something

what ever happened to just turning a blind eye or going about your business if you disagree to something which is completely lawful
does it really bother people that much?

actually while we're on the subject, anyone know what the sticker/paint kind of stuff is that you can get painted on windows so from one side it looks like a picture but from the other side you can see out just fine?

say for example if i wanted to put an Australian flag on the back window of my ute, permanently

like this only less redneck <--

last edited by tequila at 17:14:07 25/Jan/09
Yea, pretty petty to complain about people flying flags. I personally think good on them. Just because you fly the Australian flag on Australia day weekend doesn't mean that you don't accept multiculturalism. It may come as a shock to some people, but it is actually possible to be proud of your country AND appreciate the other cultures that are a part of it too.

like canada
épic™
this is Australia, we've got a right to fly flags and s*** if we want
so sick of people trying to deny free speech/basic rights because they don't agree with something

hypocrite much? that could just have easily read -

this is Australia, we've got a right to complain and s*** if we want

people can fly flags. people can complain about it. f***, i might set one on fire tomorrow just because i can. go freedom.
when i say "deny" rights, I mean like banning flags at BDO or the tennis etc
not trying to tell people they can't have a whinge
Deathwalker
Its not a matter of thinking people don't have the right to wave their flags its just that lately it seems so many people are using it in a racist way, the whole "Australia, love it or f*** off" mentality is f***ing stupid, we are a multicultural nation and should be accept other people instead we are portraying ourselves as a bunch of racists.
Our flag has a union jack because that is the way it is. Why change it, who cares. It has been like that for 100 years or whatever.
the whole "Australia, love it or f*** off" mentality is f***ing stupid, we are a multicultural nation and should be accept other people instead we are portraying ourselves as a bunch of racists.

I disagree somewhat, it's not unreasonable to expect an immigrant to fit in with our existing civilised society
they understand the rules before they come here, or at least they should
if they don't like them then they're basically slapping us in the face by coming here and ignoring them

the ones that irritate me the most are the types who say s*** like "australia is so s***, (my country) has a long heritage, we've been around for hundreds/thousands of years" etc - but were likely born here and are first/second generation Australians

if their country is so much better like they say then I'm all too happy for them to f*** off back there and ease my peak hour traffic

last edited by tequila at 17:24:25 25/Jan/09

I do not think people are flying the flag with this in mind Billy. I understand what you are getting at but I really do not think it applies in this context.

The flag idea is just a way for some people to celebrate Australia day. I don't think racism really comes into play here. You should know too, not every Australian is a racist bigot. Flying our flag is a sign of national pride for ALL Australian citizens no matter what racial background.
Time to get rid of it.

so does hawaii's.
surely people don't even notice the union jack most of the time? i tend to look at the flag as a whole

if there were an obvious alternative to the current design then you could put that to a plebiscite.

in the absence of that alternative the current design will probably last long after australia has become a republic
épic™
I disagree somewhat, it's not unreasonable to expect an immigrant to fit in with our existing civilised society

yes it absolutely is unreasonable. we live in a free country, do you understand freedom? freedom to do whatever the f*** floats your boat.

see this is what s***s me about most of you flaglovers, you think you love this country but then you go and say s*** like that which sounds like something the taliban would say. have you considered moving dude?

that being said, anyone who tries to shove their s*** down my throat aka comes here and then trys to tell everyone else to live their way, well that's f***ed up - but its also kinda what you're telling them to do tequila.
epic f*****, i hope you get bottled by an emtpy XXXX stubby painted green and gold
totally

i wouldn't go to another country and expect anything but hostility if i told them how much i hated their country
get some patriotism you wanker
Personally i dont think that flying a flag allows you to be deemed a patriot. Get out and do something for the country if you want that title. However, I am all for aussie pride, so fly ya little flags if it gives u all a warm fuzzy feeling inside.
Australia ftmfw.

The flag is the official representation of our nation, and on our national day (or weekend) it's totally understandable for some members to fly the flag. Immigrants shouldn't be forced to assimilate, but it is in their best interests to adopt, at least somewhat, to the society which they are choosing to join. if nothing of our society appealed to them, why the f*** are they in this country to begin with?
Can't we all just get along?
Bats***
I cant believe people are complaining that people are flying Aussie flags, getting the southern cross tattooed etc. I personally think if everyone took real pride in there country and showed good spirit it would become a much better place.
Patriotism is a stone throw away from terrorism.
epic fail, as bad as that dumbass southern cross tattoo thread
Epic you are labelling everyone here based on your own assumptions.

What do you know about half the people on this forum anyway?

When it comes down to it , if we want to fly an australian flag out of our car, we can. Get over it.

Have a coke and a smile and stfu.

last edited by Tiny at 17:56:55 25/Jan/09

Actually ... idiot. Most of the countries in the commonwealth don't have the union jack in their flag. ie. the flags
The Queen is the Queen of Australia, technically Britain could become a republic and she'd still be Queen of Australia, or she could abdicate as Queen of England but she would remain Queen of Australia.
^^ the only queen here is epic.

What about this, should we all stop driving Australian cars? I mean, driving an aussie car is like waving an aussie flag saying look at me I'm patriotic I buy Australian stuff. Lets all drive toyotas & nissans.

I don't have one of those flags so for those that do have a look on it, does it say "made in china" on it somewhere? This is a serious question.

last edited by whoop at 18:29:02 25/Jan/09
this thread has inspired me to be more patriotic, thanks guys
Gesthemene
Actually ... idiot. Most of the countries in the commonwealth don't have the union jack in their flag. ie. the flags
The Queen is the Queen of Australia, technically Britain could become a republic and she'd still be Queen of Australia, or she could abdicate as Queen of England but she would remain Queen of Australia.

Point out where I said that it was mandatory to have the Union Jack on the flag if you were part of the Commonwealth? I simply stated that the reason we have it is because we are part of the Commonwealth. Whether other members of the Commonwealth do so is entirely up to them.

Also, as for the Queen abdicating the throne of England but remaining the Queen of Australia, that's utter bulls***.

According to the Statute of Westminster in 1931, the abdication of a monarch is only official if confirmed by an act of Parliament. If the reigning monarch of England abdicates then all Commonwealth members are required to comply with the act of English parliament and confirm the abdication.
we're all very fortunate but at the same time we don't need to get all agnsty about it, flying flags on our cars and s*** to show everyone how patriotic we are. nationalism ftl.
The response you got was due to your original post stating your 'Agnsty' about people apreciating how lucky we are to be in Australia.

I'm a Kiwi and think it's great seeing people being proud/happy of where they are/from.
They're not being pushy or forcing anything upon others.

I believe at some point tho you've gotta stand up and take a stand against foreigners forcing their way of life against others.
No of course no one should be *made* to adopt our ways. But should they bitch and whinge about Oz... fukin Hell NO!

Thats when the phrase "If you don't like it....LEAVE!" is relevant.

Or in other words if you haven't got something good to say .. then shut the f*** up.
hey fuknukle you can take your open acceptance of australian culture and f*** right off back to new zealand as far as i'm concerned.
good lord, talk about spot the bogans
Articuz
there's loads more than previous years..
**waits for biffo at cronulla beach**
http://home.vicnet.net.au/~rasigsau/images/australian_flag.gif

What part of our flag is actually about our country

I prefer this one.

http://www.dhs.vic.gov.au/__data/assets/image/0018/225234/Aboriginal_Flag.gif

Australia is a lot older than 230 years.
How old is the Union Jack ?
Gesthemene
I prefer this one.

That's nice, but you've already proven yourself to be a f***ing retard in previous threads, so your opinion isn't worth much ;)

Also, what part of Australia as a modern society is represented in the flag you prefer?

Instead of showing pride in the country by getting a southern cross tattoo on your sholder/calve or getting an Australian flag stuck on your car, why don't you work towards making the place better?

Volunteer to help a community group or join the SES, RFS or army reserves.

Parading around with some symbol painted on you or your vehicle might show your pride in those symbols and doesn't benefit this great country we call Australia in any way.
Six points of the Star represent the six original states of the Commonwealth of Australia, while the seventh point represents the territories and any future states. The original Star had only six points; however, the proclamation in 1905 of the Territory of Papua led to the addition of the seventh point in 1908 to represent it and future territories.

union represents the fact the *country* was founded by brits (our links with the brits are still pretty huge, our parliment, our laws, even our sports are mostly british in origin), the southern cross is a symbol of the christian faith as being a defining character of the nation and also the most promentent star in the sky.

Also, what part of Australia as a modern society is represented in the flag you prefer?

1.5% but with a BAC of ~0.3%.
I'm going to put an Italian flag on my car and drive around doing skids full wogboy style, see how that fares with the locals.

/back to reality - this flag buisness on cars is gay.
rrrocket
I think it's ok. Us normal aussies need to show the foreigners who live here that we take pride in being australian and the aussie way. We need to show we're patriotic and now bow down to their rules.

ie: Muslims etc.... They need to respect the aussie way if they want to live here. If we lived there, we'd respect their ways. Tit for tat.
Oddly enough I see more Kiwi stickers and flags stuck all over cars than I have ever seen of Australian stuff. I actually find Kiwi's to be the worst offenders by quite a long way when it comes to taking everything this country has to offer and then bagging the s*** out of the place.

Haha I drove to the coast today, I saw one d******* with four of those flags on his car.
According to the Statute of Westminster in 1931, the abdication of a monarch is only official if confirmed by an act of Parliament. If the reigning monarch of England abdicates then all Commonwealth members are required to comply with the act of English parliament and confirm the abdication.

Without getting into to a complex debate on sovereignty, and sources of legal and legislative power (its mainly philosophical garbage from professors trying to justify their positions), the Australia Acts of 1986 removed the subjugation of the Australian parliament from it's compatriot at Westminster.
You'd think in this day and age everyone would understand how dangerous nationalism can be. Go read up on the last 100 years if you don't.

Nothing wrong with bearing the flag but I agree that many of the people I see doing it aren't worthy ambassadors.
Australia is going to end up a MultiCultural Basket Case like England.

We can either put our heads in the sand and pretend that White Australia is Australia or we can find a solution that doesnt run the country in to the ground socially and recognizes and respects what we are and where we are going rather than what we used to be.
mmm
the aboriginal flag doesn't represent what we used to be, at all.
AUSSIE AUSSIE AUSSIE
^- One word repeated three times to show how much of a tool someone is. Whoever started that saying needs a punch in the chops.
By that I am guessing you think changing what we currently have is the way to go? Are you aware of the muslim groups in the Netherlands and the UK that are pushing to have muslim law adopted in those countries? Are you aware of the issue both those countries are now facing with honour killings?

I am sorry but I am not going to stand around with my thumb up my ass and say nothing when people try pushing this s*** in this country. Multiculturalism is about bring whats good and positive about your culture to this country and adding it to the good things we already have. It's not about bringing s*** here that goes against the spirit of what Australia is about.

By all means please bring things to this country that benefit all aussies. But leave the crap back in that s***hole you came from.
Azaria
I think we should change our national anthem to be about a new flag.. one with a bum with a fist coming out of it.
i was on the sunday mail ad for australia day. did you see me?
Taipan wins
If the reigning monarch of England abdicates then all Commonwealth members are required to comply with the act of English parliament and confirm the abdication.

Says who ? The English haven't been able to control our parliments since the mid 80s. At which point the poms lost the ability to a point governors etc etc And since that's a british law it has no standing here except by convention and at which point our parliment may choose to honour it.

It's totally a pointless discussion and totally theoretical, but! you were throwing around phrases like "idiot" on points that aren't right.

Point out where I said that it was mandatory to have the Union Jack on the flag if you were part of the Commonwealth? I simply stated that the reason we have it is because we are part of the Commonwealth.

Who said mandatory ? ... You said it was why it was on our flag and that is not the reason we have it. If it was the reason we had it then all commonwealth countries would have it.

But hey go argue with these guys

The Union Jack in the upper left corner (or canton) acknowledges the history of British settlement.

or these guys or these pro-aussie flag guys or the PM's office

By all means please bring things to this country that benefit all aussies. But leave the crap back in that s***hole you came from.

+1 Vote For Taipan

My Grandfather was an immigrant and refused to teach his kids his native language
Why?
His words "I came to Australia to become an Australian, this is the language of Australia, that is what you will speak because you will be Australian" (albeit I lost a cool easy learning opportunity)

+5 for Pop regardless

Also agree that what ever spanker came up with "Ozzie Ozzie Ozzie Oi Oi Oi" should be be put down.
I could give a rats arse about who waves a flag around for whatever reason.

Taipan why didnt you just use the "All Muslims are Terrorists" line.
No need to dress it up.
Crakaveli
Instead of showing pride in the country by getting a southern cross tattoo on your sholder/calve or getting an Australian flag stuck on your car, why don't you work towards making the place better?

So we can't do anything unless it makes Australia better..?

f*** off.
+1 Taipan and +2 to Hermi's story. That is what Australia is about, not about insular expatriot suburbs that many immigrants are living in.
If I wanted to call every muslim a terrorist I'd just say it. I mean seriously what do I have to fear from saying something like that, you? It'd be pretty retarded to say ALL people with any ethic group are as bad as the worst people in it, we all know thats simply not the case.

What I was pointing out before was some of the serious issues faced by both the UK and the Netherlands right now. They are in that position because of BS PC and miguided view that they should be more tolerant. Now toerlance is fine but there has to be a very clear line drawn in the sand as to what a country is about and what is acceptable within that country. Oddly enough middle eastern countries make it abundantly clear what is and isn't accpetable within their countries and if you can't accpet that then don't f***ing go. They make no bones about locking up visitors for s*** like calling a teddy bear Mohamed or for shagging on a beach.

Thailand is no better after locking up that guy that ragged out the royal family either. Now while I think those rules are f***ing retarded thats their right to impose them it's their f***ing country and the same f***ing thing should apply here.

We should never sacrifice what makes Australia Australia for the sake of toleranting imported bulls***. Why should we do that and why should we make it clear what is acceptable, because the radical few will within a group will take that tolerance and exploit the f*** out of it as they have been doing here and in numerous other places.

Now you can sit on your high and f***ing mighty throne of moral superiority and say nothing. While you are patting yourself on the back for being such an enlightend person those few within that group will continue to stir s*** and cause civil strife. Those few need to have it made perfectly clear that bulls*** doesn't fly here and if they don't f***ing like it they know where the f***ing door is. Of course we could always lock them up like so many of the countries they come from would.

As I said before please bring something to this country that raises the bar for us all locals and new aussies alike. Don't bring your acient bulls*** here. It may actually come as a suprise to you but I happen to have no problem with muslims what so ever I find aspects of their background very interesting and in general the people are very polite and respectful.

The only people I actually have any gripe with at all and this may suprise you is f***ing kiwi's. But thats a whole other story.

herr uberpanzer
+1 Taipan
taipan: professional xenophobe

I reckon this whole situation would change if instead of the women having to wear headscarves when out they had to wear bikinis and give blowjobs

Then i think you'd let the muslims do/say whatever they wanted
If you're not here to make the country a better place, then what are you here for?
f*** yea that'd be choice.
sorry for the double post but I just wanted to add something on it's own.

It really f***s me off that these days you can't address any issue that many involve a specific group without people slamming you as a racist or a bigot. The people calling you that don't even try to understand the issue at hand they just get on that higher plain of existence of theirs and feel all f***ing superior.

Confronting issues reguardless of how distasteful they are resolves them not sitting their sucking your own ego off believing you are somhow above all the bulls***.
you're pretty much the definition of a xenophobe dude imo
persay thats the second post you have made in a row saying exactly the same thing. Did you feel the need to repeat yourself twice because you didn't satisfy your craving for attention?

Well look now I have replied to you so now you should feel all better. Now if you read what I said and still came to that conculsion then I am sorry but you are a total f***ing dips***. I have made an effort to at least explain what my opinion is you on the other hand toss out one miserable word without explaination or reasoning and somehow feel it's in some way valid.

well I'll take your 1 word and raise you two more making three words (I don't know why I feel the need to explain that to you maybe it's your border line retardation)

You're a f***wit

There now you have had some attention your goal for the weekend is now fulfilled. Feel free to drop by again when you need reminding what a d******* you are.
hey can you give me some quick notes on the freedoms we're giving up due to immigration?

any specific laws/etc coming in?

I mean I was at a Nandos last night and dude said it was halal and they wouldnt serve me bacon, but Nandos is f***ing awful food anyway so I dont think that counts.
I think we should change our national anthem to be about a new flag.. one with a bum with a fist coming out of it.

Haha, go The Late Show vox pop. I wonder where that genius is now...
wow taipan, that is a very good point. im with you.

So we can't do anything unless it makes Australia better..?

That isn't what I said. I was saying there are more productive and inclusive ways of showing pride in your country then symbolism.

There was an awesome doco on ABC Compass last night about the history of the flag and how in 2005 the symbolism of the flag had a turn for the worse.

It is called Raising the Flag and it is rebroadcast on the 30th of Jan at 6pm AEST or find it on their website.
I think our new flag should be a pair of titties in the top left some playing cards in the bottom left and a schooner of beer on the right half.
I laugh at people with aussie flags/southern crosses on cars built in jap/korea/europe. If you're so aussie that you feel you need to show everyone, don't do it with a kia.

Also, +1 Taipan. Well put, big cojones.
I'm pretty sure people just do it cause its Australia day and you can...

Once again, WHO GIVES A f***

What part of our flag is actually about our country
The Union Jack represents Australia's religious heritage...minus the abo's who worshiped sticks and leaves, I'm not to up on their culture (conquered people don't get a say anyway).

Catholic, Presbyterian and Protestant.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/89/Flags_of_the_Union_Jack.svg/350px-Flags_of_the_Union_Jack.svg.png

The Commonwealth Star represents Australia's Federation.

WreckTim
wow this happens 1 weekend of the year, is that really enough to whinge about. it is Australia day. feck sake.

i only read the first post.
because neo nazi's encouraged the the cronulla riots and used aussie flags, now anyone wearing or waving an aussie flag is a neo nazi. its pretty straight forward.
defi
Wow this got f***ing complicated very fast for simple flag flying.

I know i will chuck one up to day. Not for any racist beliefs or to tell anyone how to live. Just to show pride in the country we live in on the day where we are supposed too show pride.
épic™
f*** we got some backwards thinking mofos on this forum lol.
Bats***
f*** we got some backwards thinking mofos on this forum lol.

Oh the irony.
Agree with taipan, epic and persay you're both f***tards.
Ospi
Saw a guy flying the kiwi flags out of his rear windows. Legend.
Aww shut!
it's pretty much the same flag anyway
^ yeah all the flags are made in a Beijing sweatshop.
I laugh at people with aussie flags/southern crosses on cars built in jap/korea/europe. If you're so aussie that you feel you need to show everyone, don't do it with a kia.

c'mon, even you aren't this stupid..
you don't have to buy an Australian built car to be considered patriotic, you can just be proud
I love my mazda although I certainly wouldn't say no to a new clubsport R8 if someone handed me the keys to one.
Wild Wizard
Can't be bothered reading every page bar the first so ...

The Australian flag does NOT have the English flag in the corner, rather it has the Union Flag which is a merging of 3 other flags one of which is the English flag.

A nice link for some reading.

im sick of all these f***wits saying im racist or a xenophobe or a redneck or wanting to start another race riot just because a few wankers who are actually racist, xenophobes etc. also choose to fly the flag like myself.

its also a real shame that seeing the flag flying around the place makes some people nervous because of the previously mentioned wankers who spread fear and prejudice for the own ridiculous reasons under the banner of being patriotic. its those a******s who are s***ting up this country with their malignant rubbish. i have no issues with them being patriotic at all, i wouldnt deny that from anyone, but i do have a problem when they do stupid things in the name of our nation.

i know a lot of australians had lost a lot of faith and pride in our country and what we feel it should represent due to some of the decisions made and the way certain things were handled by the howard government in relation to dealing with outsiders

like myself, a lot of australians for various reasons recently have had a renewed faith and hope in our nation moving forwards in ways that benefit everyone and all people are treated fairly.

im proud to be an aussie, and i like seeing other people with their flags out and to give them a knowing smile and nod that we're here, and we love it, for whatever reasons
Skyhawk
don't mind flags on cars, 4 flags is a bit too much IMO, but hey their car.

However, very douchey to walk around with a flag draped as a cape in coles like I saw this morning, It's also disrepectful to have the flag being pulled along the ground collecting crap and dust too.

It looks GAY

Not that theres anything wrong with that.
its no worse than anyone who has a stupid roxy or billabong sticker on their car 24x7

f*** sake, ease up and let people enjoy their day of patriotic flag flying
clubsport R8

their s***, I test drove one. Engine is great (corvette), I'd probably get bored of the power real quick though.. The rest of the car sucks balls, cheap quality.. made in australia, go figure. years behind the quality of jap cars..

last edited by Martz at 16:52:18 26/Jan/09
épic™
very douchey to walk around with a flag draped as a cape in coles like I saw this morning

was this at garden city? my gf said she saw someone doing this..
their s***, I test drove one. Engine is great (corvette), I'd probably get bored of the power real quick though.. The rest of the car sucks balls, cheap quality.. made in australia, go figure. years behind the quality of jap cars..

1. they're
2. engine is s*** - 6L+ for 300kw~ - pushrods STILL?

can't comprehend how Americans think using so much displacement to produce such a piss weak amount of power is a good thing
euro/asian car manufacturers can do *a lot* better, and they do - toyota in particular have been doing so for a very long time

Obama is rolling back laws introduced by bush that aim to allow car manufacturers to basically be lazy and not make their motors more efficient etc

Obama + 1

Saw some guy walking down a street with a flag cape too, how much douchebag do you have to have in you to do that?
I'm an immigrant and I don't see why flying a flag is such a bad thing, we do it in my country and other countries do it. I mean if you're being a complete f*** head like the situation in BDO, Aus. Open (recently) then well you are a f*** wit anyway and flying the flag is probably the least of your problem.

I walk pass houses around the area with (permanent with pole and all) Australian flag on them and I don't see any problem with it.

Enforcing people to bow down to certain flag or allegiance on the other hands is wrong though. What I found funny is that most people that say they're "proud Australian, blah blah" don't even know the full Australian national anthem?.

Just my /2 cents

last edited by Opec at 17:46:44 26/Jan/09

last edited by Opec at 17:47:10 26/Jan/09
i dunno what some of u guys want people to do. They move here in search of opportunity that isnt available in their s***hole countries that patriots like taipan no doubt sextour through and are trying to start a new life. Of course tjey are still connected to their home country and if they wanna speak vietnamese to tjei pharmicist in darra then so be it.

Its hilarious the stories like hermi's about his family wanting to come in and be 100% english speaking when the govt in various initiatives is trying to encourage that australians become more global citizens.

Talking about protecting whats good about australia is easy, but its harder to define what that is, and how its changing...except the streeets are getting a bit darker that spme whiteboys have difficulty accepting.

Enjoy your australia bag, there's a nice big border security marathon on foxtel so maybe u should watch that and jerk off over how dangerous the spics and chinks are to your beer guzing prostitute slamming way of life.
I am a fan of flying the flag hell I don't mind people having it printed all over their cloths but I draw the line at wearing an actual flag. It's probably because of my army background where we would never dream of dragging our flag around like it was a cruddy beach towel.
I work with some viet guys straight out of Darra. They are awesome fellas, they love a drink and a laugh and aren't interested in changing our laws nor do they bitch, whinge and moan stuff they don't like about Australia(I'm sure there is some stuff they dont like). But heh they keep it too themselves.

hmmm I'm sure there's something we could all learn about that.

Damn so blotto ... Heineken Draught Keg ftmfw!

last edited by sLaps_Forehead at 18:17:43 26/Jan/09
Persay you are seriously one of the single most ignorant morons I have ever had the misfortune of running into on the net. It is 100% clear that you have read nothing of what most people here have said and if you have read it you have failed miserably at understanding it.

The vast majority of people here want/like having peoples from other countries to live here. What is so f***ing hard about that for you to understand?

What most of us don't want is a continuation of the acient gripes and bulls*** those people had in their former home lands continuing here. You think thats wrong do you?

So if we the people who are saying this are wrong and you are right I can only assume that you would LIKE people to recreate their old prejudices here?

I have numerous friends from backgrounds so wide that it's alomst impossible to name them all. I love the differences between us and I love learning about their experiences and from time to time even learning a few words in the native tounge. But what I love the most is we have a mutual love of what life is and can be in this country without the BS from the older parts of the world.

One of this countries greatest assets is the fact that we are a new nation. We should be able to move ahead without the prejudices of the old world hanging over us and shoe horning us into seperate hate groups.

So I say it again (pay attention persay) welcome to Australia anyone and everyone bring us the best of your culture and let us share the best of ours with you. But don't bring the bulls*** of your home land here there is no place for it.

Oh and just on a personal note. Your snide remarks about sex trips in other countries is pretty f***ing distasteful and only further serves to strip any credibility you may of had.
Skyhawk

Unfortunatley not, this was Bracken Ridge, I can't beleive some people are that self serving to wear a flag, and drag it as taipan said like a s***ty beach towel.

what was someone saying about saluting the flag in schools...

back in my day dot dot dot we played the national anthem while the flag was raised on Fridays parade and we had to have our hand on our heart and take our hats off

just remember I'm proud that Australia is multicultural... just don't make the damn place multinational...keep on waving the flag kids

also over here in NL they are trying to ban the wearing of the full head covering thing that covers your eyes and s*** like the taliban have..
What I found funny is that most people that say they're "proud Australian, blah blah" don't even know the full Australian national anthem?.

Hasn't the gist of this thread been you don't need to wave a flag or know the words to possibly the lamest national anthem ever to be proud of the country and happy to live here?
all of you f*****s need to gurney the sand out of your c***s, crack a beer and cook a dead animal on the grill

and on a side note; as fun as it is to troll - the dribble responses are getting a little painful to read
Actually the only time our national anthem sounded any good was when come comic a few years back sung it to the tune of working class man. I actually dislime both songs but when the two were put together it kind of liked it.

last edited by Taipan at 20:04:02 26/Jan/09
Mantorok
all of you f*****s need to gurney the sand out of your c***s, crack a beer and cook a dead animal on the grill
Gerni is a Danish brand of pressure washer. Cleary you want an Aussie brand.
Jum
political correctness is gay

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/185/1232532367888fk5.jpg
^ That is absolutely f***ing retarded....

f*** Politically Correctness in the arse with a fully extended Hills Hoist (an if you want lube, use vegemite)...
yeah i think we can all agree we don't need that kind of bs here
MatchFixer
welcome to Australia anyone and everyone bring us the best of your culture and let us share the best of ours with you. But don't bring the bulls*** of your home land here there is no place for it.
You can't technically fault what was said there. Having said that, if i want to speak a language other than English, say to a mate of mine, then i will speak that language. If i want to dress a certain way then i will do so proudly. As long as I'm not intending to be disrespectful or intrusive or wanting to hurt anyone then I have every right to do so and people need to understand that.

On the other hand the immigrants exercising their rights also need to appreciate the fact that they have these rights as said rights are virtually none existent in many of their homelands. The problem with a lot of the immigrants is when they bring their cultural baggage/problems to this country thinking they can deal with things their own way like they do back home. It's the whole reason why they're here, to find a better life and to do that they need to be law abiding citizens and be engaged in this society as productive members. That includes learning English, learning how to drive (properly), peruse a career and getting off welfare etc.. That doesn't mean they have to assimilate and abandon their culture. They too need to take what's good about this place and to leave out what's bad, as long as it's within the law of this country.
I am guessing that story there is from Scotland. It'll get to a point where you simply can't say or do anything. f***ing ridiculous BS
Did you actually read that article?

It just said Muslim store owners wouldn't put that sign in their window because they don't like dogs, holy f*** s*** big deal!
MatchFixer
As for that crime fighting campaign, i think it's stupid to demand an apology because a dog on a postcard is 'disrecpectful to muslims'. Now I'm not sure if an apology was forced but the article sure does make a good job of making a big deal out of it. I for one will say that i don't see why some Muslims are being uptight about putting it up on their store fronts because i'd put it up and I'm a Muslim. I'd question it if it had a picture of a pig, but only if it was intended to be disrespectful to me. I don't think the dog was intended to disrespectful and i don't see why they'd feel that way anyway.

The alleged 'anger' triggered by the so called Muslims isn't called for but at the same time big f***ing woop. You can tell they're really trying hard to distort the image of Muslims with more of their sensationalist bulls***. They might as well used "MUSLIMS HATE ANIMALS, COPS INCLUDED" as the headline.

last edited by MatchFixer at 23:29:47 26/Jan/09
dogs are awesome pets... i don't care... speaking of dogs, anyone want to buy some pure bread maltese pups?? going at $500 each.
Rohan
political correctness is gay

yeh, it's always the f***ing islams.
ouch big money for a little pooch. I guess seen as the dog only has a small bite you put the big bite on the buyers. :P

Just kidding mate they cute little things and pretty damn popular.
MatchFixer
Rohan Bogan: No it's not. Read my post.

Otherwise f*** you (if you're not trolling).
yeah Taipan we dont want foreign ppl bringing their problems here.....
http://tinyurl.com/djaby2

Coz we got enough of our own....

In the Sydney subrub of Manly, hundreds of youths draped in "Aussie pride" livery wore slogans declaring "f--k off we're full" as they smashed car windows and ran up the famous Corso targeting non-white shop keepers.
A 18-year-old Asian female in one of the cars was showered with shattered glass, giving her numerous cuts to her arms. She was treated on the scene by ambulance officers.

A taxi driven by a Sikh Indian was also targeted while an Asian shopkeeper was reportedly assaulted.

Groups of men jumped up on cars chanting race hate to the terrified passengers within, and were heard singing "tits out for the boys" at passing girls and yelled "lets go f--k with these Lebs".

Rohan
tbh, whatever the muslim community has a problem with, I couldn't care less unless it affects me in anyway. But in any case, religion is a disease.

EDIT: we need to rid ourselves of bogans more than anything.

last edited by Rohan at 23:53:23 26/Jan/09
The problem with a lot of the immigrants is when they bring their cultural baggage/problems to this country thinking they can deal with things their own way like they do back home. It's the whole reason why they're here, to find a better life and to do that they need to be law abiding citizens and be engaged in this society as productive members. That includes learning English, learning how to drive (properly), peruse a career and getting off welfare etc.. That doesn't mean they have to assimilate and abandon their culture.

Spot on.
Yeah Facemen I read that story earlier and I was pretty disgusted aswell. Thats not the kind of s*** I want to see believe me. Just as I don't want crap from elsewhere causing s*** here I honestly don't want to see "aussie" doing that BS either.

That being said I still really can't understand why some of you seem feel that someone asking for a peaceful country with no BS is the same as some bigotted a******. Honestly what person in their right mind wants bulls*** from f*** knows where landing on their door step causing them grief. I don't give a f*** if it's the aussie next door the guy 3 suburbs over or some d******* with a chip on his sholder from half way round the world.

Don't make your past problems and issues become issues and problems for other people that don't deserve the crap. At the very least I would assume it'd just be f***ing common decency
omg there are still people with not just one, but two flags on their car even today. outrageous
quite right, how dare anyone do anything so selfish as fly their countries flag on their own car and FORCE OTHER PEOPLE TO LOOK AT IT!@ OMG

National pride is how the Nazis began!

Godwins Law.

/thread

last edited by tequila at 10:11:39 27/Jan/09
I partook in some of the Australia Day celebrations yesterday in the city and being in a place like Melbourne which is the epitome of a multi-cultural society, the only people causing trouble were the f***wit knobs wearing Australian flags as a towel, Australian wife beaters, Australian shorts, had temporary Australian tattoos and drinking up.

If there was anyone being loud, obnoxious and being a complete wanker it was always the bogans. Every other other person whether they were Chinese, Indian, Greek, Italian or a few mulims were happy to enjoy the national day of celebration without getting pissed and causing a scene.
.. right, so Australians acting like Australians on Australia day vs. Non-Australians not acting like Australians on Australia day

yet somehow in your mind you still came to the conclusion that we're doing it wrong ?
we're a proud bunch, we do wear wife beaters and thongs, we do drink and party and carry on - get used to it
Did you read the part about them causing trouble? They had kids in tears on the train because they were clearly scared of the loud obnoxious f***s that were throwing bottles at each, yelling "HEY c*** f***IN SIT DOWN", one managed to throw up just as the doors opened another quality bogan woman went and did a squat piss between the carriages.

Then we fast forward to the park where you have animal shows, bouncy castles and s*** like HI-5 shows and who are the group of people that are 20+ years of age trying to get into the bouncy castle, spilling beer all over the place, pushing in front of kids lining up to get ice creams.. here's a hint, it's the same type I described above.

If that's how Australians act on Australia day then it's time to renounce my citizenship and get the f*** out because this minority are bringing it down for everyone else.
I didn't condone violence or acting like a f***ing idiot, but we're a roudy nation and we're known for our party hearty attitudes

I welcome your renouncement, go back to England and join the rest of the closet masochists
I sadly agree with ticman.

Bogans are not representitive of all Australians, hell not even a majority. For some reason they come out enforce for Australia day intent on ruining the day. It would seem the flag is an enabler for it.

If being Australian means I go round trying to beat up people who look or sound slightly different or if it means firing that guy in Townsville for using water not dunny paper. Then f***, I am not Australian.

FFS we are one of the few countries that doesn't use water. Even the euro's do it with their bides (casa loves an ass shower).

I didn't condone violence or acting like a f***ing idiot, but we're a roudy nation and we're known for our party hearty attitudes

I welcome your renouncement, go back to England and join the rest of the closet masochists
There's a difference between partying and being a complete and utter gigantic f***head like the people TicMan is describing. That sort of s*** is just retarded. Why you would defend anyone doing that is beyond me
So are you saying that because we're a rowdy nation it's acceptable to scare children into crying while causing a public nuisance to every one around you because "it's what we do" ?

At what point do you not see a problem with this? Families (from all nationalities including Australian) are out to enjoy a day of being proud of the country they were born in or moved to yet they have to end it short because of a minority of tools that seem to always be the same type of people. I saw a bunch of children who are clearly proud of being Australian as they were dressed up in their Australian shorts and t-shirts and carrying flags starting to cry and look scared out of their brains because of these guys who have no respect for themselves or others.

For what it's worth I'm as Australian as the next person but seemingly I have the intelligence and respect for our society to actually point out that this not acceptable instead of just sitting back and saying;

"Ah f***ing hell c*** this is Australia mate and I like to sink piss and if I want to act like a f***wit I can because I'm an aussie f***er".
I'm not defending it, infact I'd be the first person up in their face for ruining my day by being a giant f***tard

We are proud though, we are loud, we do wear thongs, we do wear shorts with singlets, we do like to drink and we do like to party - and there is nothing wrong with it so long as you abide by the law - and I'm sick of having to defend that way of life because some people see that as 'being a bogan'

if you don't abide by the law though, I don't care how patriotic you are, you should be thrown in the drunk tank.

(we also fly flags from our cars)
See Ticman those people will always justify what they are doing as them just having fun and people just need to loosen up a bit. Of course it's no real justification at all and just a lame excuse d*******s make for being disrespectful incosiderate low class trash.

What those people need to realize is if they are going to behave like that then they should do it somehwere away from all the families and other decent folk. People out with kids on a day that is ment for all aussies shouldn't be subjected to the s***ty carryings on of a few thoughtless animals.

I am ok with people partying hard and getting right into it but there is a time and place. If you want to be a retard I am cool with that just don't do it at the exspence of everyone else trying to have a good time.
MatchFixer
Why you would defend anyone doing that is beyond me
Because people like him are blinded by national pride. Another form of extremism if you ask me.
if you don't abide by the law though, I don't care how patriotic you are, you should be thrown in the drunk tank.

Phew, finally glad we agree :)

Perhaps I wasn't clear enough in my original post which sparked a big e-rage but the point I was trying to make was that I'm all for national pride and I think it's absolutely unreal when people dress up in our national colours but from what I saw on the weekend the trouble makers were unfortunately the ones that also decided to dress like this and it's a down right shame that after such an amazing an awesome day the reminders of it from the media are pictures of these people running up and down streets smashing cars and telling people to f*** off home as "we're full".

We should celebrate Australia day with fun, enjoyment and a coming together of the community but unfortunately it's a minority as always that end up using it as an excuse to get pissed and cause mayhem and that infuriates me to no end. Maybe I'm out of touch with the young'uns or a bit old fashioned but as well as enjoying ourselves we should also respect each other and for what our country represents.
Matchfixer that kind of behaviour has zero to do with national pride. Those very same f***heads would be doing that s*** every weekend if they had the chance. Don't make the mistake of thinking that they suddenly become morons just because they drap a flag over their sholders, these people are f***ing retarded morons 24/7 not just on Australia day.

You simple don't go from being a decent regular joe to a disrespectful sub-human f***head in the space of a few seconds becuase of a flag. No these people are just low class scum that will take any chance they get to show case their lack of selfrespect and respect for others.

You know used to party as hard as anyone, s*** all weekend every weekend. But I always had it in the back of my mind not to f*** things up for other people no matter where I was. It wouldn't matter how smashed I was or what the party was for I would keep my behaviour as well within the bounds of common decency as humanly possible.

Just a little insight into how I feel about personal behaviour while partying. I had one bad night about 6 years ago where I let myself down and my friends and I was pretty diggusted with myself the next day. That was the day I gave up drinking and I haven't been smahed since. I utterly refuse to be the source of those kinds of problems and in my eye's that one minnor incident was enough for me give the drink away. I have always held myself to higher standards than that and other peoples enjoyment of a given event means more to me than my own.

To me thats what Australia is about, making sure you personally do what you can to keep the smiles on the faces of those around you. Doing what you can to show your fellow aussie or visitor to this country a good time.
MatchFixer
Can't argue with that.

Just to add something to what Ticman just said.

You know what I believe is the most critical thing someone must have to demonstrate pride in their nation, selfrespect. Having real pride in someting it to respect it and what it does or should stand for and if you have none for yourself you can't have any for anyone else or anything else.
You simple don't go from being a decent regular joe to a disrespectful sub-human f***head in the space of a few seconds becuase of a flag. No these people are just low class scum that will take any chance they get to show case their lack of selfrespect and respect for others.

I semi disagree. I agree it won't turn a non-f***head into a f***head. But I do believe it does enable semi-f***heads and f***heads to do things they normally would not be game to do. It would seem as if the flag on Australia day allows a lone f***head or small groups of f***heads to rally and become a mass of f***heads. Which then allows f***heads to be cowardly and hide in a crowd and excuse their behavior on a "higher" moral ground.
Yeah Obes I get the whole mob mentality thing there mate and I agree. The fact still remains of course that you need x% f***head in you to get drawn into that kind of BS.

You know if these idiots had credible gripe you'd think they'd choose one of the 364 other days in the year to voice it. Of course they are to busy every other weekend shagging shazza the town bike or throwing up on themselves out side the local pub to give a real f*** about the nation.

What really does concern me with this kind of thing is that it has the potenital to build and build over the years into something that is almost seen as acceptable if it isn't dealt with. If that happens then 50 100 or 200 years down the track we will become one of those countries we often look at as s***holes.

I'd love to say we need to lock these f***heads up but honestly would we even have enough jail space or police? Further more why should we waste any resources on these f***ing animals anyway. I guess we really don't have a choice... sadly

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,24968881-421,00.html

if it means firing that guy in Townsville for using water not dunny paper.

Did you even bother to read the full article?
"The issue concerning Mr Bernabe is not about toilet etiquette, it is about hygiene and the health of other employees," Mr Carter said.

"Mr Bernabe's technique to cleanse himself with water after his toiletry visits leaves the toilet cubical splashed with water suspected to be contaminated with faeces and wet soggy toilet paper lying on the floor.

Maybe if he learned to clean up after himself he wouldn't have gotten into this s*** (pun intended).

http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=puns
MatchFixer
haha good read ^
haha, i love how his rant on "pun intended" is also a rant against dmb (lol)
I didn't reference an article.

The first story was dated the 24th. link
And he was told he was fired for not using paper, not for making a mess of the dunnies.
"I went to go to the toilet and I took a bottle of water when my foreman saw me and he said, 'you can't bring the water in there'," Mr Bernabe said.

"He asked me what had happened and I explained to him and he said if I didn't follow the Australian way I would be immediately terminated and I said 'sir, then you better terminate me'."

3 days later after lawyers no doubt have become involved its a hygine issue. If it had been a hygine issue surely when the story broke or at the latest the day after they would have said something. 3 days ? ...

So maybe you didn't even bother to read the full story.
The little flags are much like flower stickers on the back of the car. They symbolise the fact the driver is a mindless f***head on the road and to be avoided. Think of them as life giving you the heads up to avoid wankers, arseholes and woman drivers as they ususally have the flowers.
excellent summary dirtyape, I propose that you be exempt from being labeled a retard even though you just generalised everyone who dares express themselves in one way or another, into a single group
asif you would even read past 'dirtyape'
A friends Father says Never drive behind a guy thats wearing a hat.
I guess we can add Flags on the Car to that one.
asif you would even read past 'dirtyape'

Don't lie Jim you love me.
Obes, they only covered that guys side of the story when they printed it, his former employer hadn't been contacted so it was a little one sided.
A friends Father says Never drive behind a guy thats wearing a hat.
I sometimes need a hat :(

last edited by scuzzy at 00:35:54 28/Jan/09
kos

The worst drivers were always the ones with DriveRight stickers on their cars, though I think that's only a Vic thing so most of you guys wouldn't know about them.

Basically VicRoads had this competition that if you were seen "driving right" and had a DriveRight sticker on your car you could win a new car (some s***ty Hyundai hatch or something). My theory was that anyone who saw driving as a chance to win a new car wasn't the kind of person that took driving seriously, needless to say I was proven right many times over...
I think this sums it up nicely:

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,20797,24973882-952,00.html

Returned and Services League of Australia NSW president Don Rowe described the louts as "bloody d*******s."

"They need to wake up to themselves. The flag is the symbol of our nation, it's not an excuse to get drunk and do loutish behaviour," Mr Rowe said.

"When I see what some of these louts are doing draped in the flag, it is disgusting," he said. "People have fought and died under that flag."

/thread close

it's not an excuse to get drunk

anything is an excuse to get drunk, especially if it's a public holiday
Only alcoholics need to find excuses to get drunk.
actually that is 100% wrong, only non-alcoholics need an excuse to get drunk
alcoholics are always drunk, thats why they're alcoholics ..

and that doesn't deserve a /thread closed
no one is disagreeing that lude behavior is bad and gives us a bad name?

i just dont think people flying flags from their cars is such a bad thing
getting drunk and making an ass of yourself/starting fights etc is, however
lrn2link

Yeah! Crap tattoos and miniature car flags will save our national pride! Its so simple!

:|
don't be a dumbass
If I can go Roo shooting on Australia Day, flying a flag out of my car should be the least of your worries.
MatchFixer
Yeah because exterminating your national icon on your national day is the pinnacle of patriotism.
defi
Yeah! Crap tattoos and miniature car flags will save our national pride! Its so simple! :|

Did you even read what you quoted me on. I said if people showed real pride in the country it would be a better place. I also said i can't believe people are complaining about the tattoos and flags. I did not say the flags/tattoos were that real pride, they may be a part of it for some people though.
don't be a dumbass

Yeah that's Jim's job you get your own
Yeah because exterminating your national icon on your national day is the pinnacle of patriotism.

We had a XXXX afterwards, GEEZ!
f*** yeah, that is exactly how I'm going to spend next Australia day ^
I just got my firearms licence, putting in the paperwork to get my .308 Steyr Scout shortly ;)

When I'm done, I'm going to drive around with the Carcass on the my bonnet of my ute which will have as many Australian flags as I can possibly aquire & affix to the car

"When I see what some of these louts are doing draped in the flag, it is disgusting," he said. "People have fought and died under that flag."

I see he has been to the Victory Hotel on Australia Day.
Koup

I think all you guys need to watch this video:

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=aOWrpMvPrjc
Koup

and while your at it have a quick look at Australias new flag

http://uncle.blogs.com/photos/uncategorized/kennedy_flag.jpg
MatchFixer
Looks tachy^, but not as tachy as the Libyan flag

http://www.mapsofworld.com/images/world-countries-flags/libya-flag.gif
Koup

Have you looked at the thing we have now?

That link that I posted is a masterpiece compared to that.
Koup

What did you think of the video?
it was the s***tiest s*** that was ever shat out of a butt
Koup

The video of the new flag?
Looks tachy^, but not as tachy as the Libyan flag

it's tacky
i like it, doesn't look tacky at all
I quite like it too, though I'm happy enough with the flag we have now.
When I'm done, I'm going to drive around with the Carcass on the my bonnet of my ute which will have as many Australian flags as I can possibly aquire & affix to the car

Going bogan hunting? :)
uh, thats the qantas logo...
I am a fan of flying the flag hell I don't mind people having it printed all over their cloths but I draw the line at wearing an actual flag. It's probably because of my army background where we would never dream of dragging our flag around like it was a cruddy beach towel.

I agree with Taipan, anybody who wears their actual flag isn't being patriotic. They might as well go take a dump on it while they are at it.

Have you looked at the thing we have now?

Every aspect of the current flag has some historic meaning. That is, it actually means something. Also, the flag you linked looked like the kind of s*** retarded multimedia students would make in second year. Something that looks flashy, but at the end of the day it's just a pile of meaningless s***.

Koup

The post that you just made tells me that you made the right choice when chosing your username.

Tell me where the aboriginal meaning is in our flag that we have now?

The english heritage in our country is only around 300 years old. How old do you think the aboriginal heritage is in Australia? Im just curious, tell me.
Aborigines didn't give a rats arse about flags before the Europeans came, why should they care now??
Koup

Its not about wether they care or not. Its about giving them the respect they deserve.
When they stop drinking my tax dollars and driving my tax payer funded 4WDs into the ocean, then they can get respect.
Koup

If thats the case you must have no respect for the farmers, bankers, company directors, doctors and mothers oh and commercial property developers as these are all welfare recipients living off your tax payer dollars
No, they contribute to society by producing food, causing global economic meltdowns, allowing global economic meltdowns, fixing illness, caring for our young and building me a work place.

Abos just drink metho and drive 4WDs into the ocean.
Koup

Lets see the australian flag u love .........only became the flag of the Australian people in the 1950s.....has the union jack in the most important top left corner that will be the most enduring part of any flag in fire/battles, thus the flag of another country occupies this prime spot not the fed star or the southern cross that Australians can identify with.........and to cap it all off its background is royal yes royal blue. let alone the change to represent PNG on the flag.

So Australians u think not capable of a more Australian flag then the one we have that even john howard mistook the NZ flag as Australian.
I prefer our flag to look like it does now.

http://uncle.blogs.com/photos/uncategorized/kennedy_flag.jpg

Looks like a logo you would put on an energy drink.

last edited by shad at 23:45:37 30/Jan/09
Koup I suggest you go and read alittle more about the history of the flag. Once you do you might realize where you f***ed up.

As for the royal blue thing you just blurted out. Well I have no issue with that colour considering it's a pretty logical colour for a country surrounded by f***ing ocean. Before you say what about navy blue or some other inane s***, I put to you that few if any give a flying f*** what blue it is as long as it's not something like powder blue.

Now on the Union Jack... it's not the flag on A country so get your facts straight. It's actually the a combination of flags from 4 countries a fact easily found with a 2 second search on the net. Now considering you spout s*** without even doing the slightest (extremely easy) search to make sure you have things correct I would put it to you that nothing you say has any f***ing credibility what so ever.
Actually shad that looks more like the paint job on a wannabe V8 super car.
Koup

Obviously more than 1 arguement is to difficult for you. So lets start this from the very beggining.

Koup I suggest you go and read alittle more about the history of the flag. Once you do you might realize where you f***ed up.

Lets talk and debate like you do. Do some f***ing research yourself; obviously you havent by your simplistic aggresive defense. You will find when you have become more aware that its not indispute that the Australian flag became the flag for the Australain people in the 1950s. Once you have established this point we can work on the others. Also try and keep it on this one point, don't get distracted by your shallow brain.
but the specifications were published for it in the 30s.. sure it was put into the 'flags act' of 53 but it existed long before then... (love wikipedia)

Also its not really royal blue anymore because i'm pretty sure the flags authority has standardised all the colour systems they use to make all the flags correctly.. (and wikipedia confirms it! Yay for panatone colour systems)
Taipan has like 100x more posts which makes him better newb. har har
Koup

sure it was put into the 'flags act' of 53 but it existed long before then

As stated before it was only through the flags act of 53 and through the queen of england giving royal assent in 54, only then did it become the flag for the australian people.

Prior to this the flag for the australian people was the red ensign.
Koup

Taipan has like 100x more posts which makes him better newb. har har

In all of those posts not 1 original idea.
Great article about Australia's flag-inspired bogan hooliganism in today's Courier Mail.

Imo anyone commiting a public nuisance offense while wearing an Aussie flag should spend 24 hours in the cooler. And that includes tatoos!
Wasn't it the Courier Mail who gave everyone those s***ty flags?
Australian flags.
Representing England.
Made in China.
Crakaveli
Wasn't it the Courier Mail who gave everyone those s***ty flags?

Established that on page 1 bro.
Representing England.

it doesn't "represent" England, it represents that a (big) part of our ancestry and history is closely tied to England.
It's only one part of the flag that contains the symbol, I don't see why it offends Australians so much

We can still be individuals and have our own culture even if we do have very strong ties with the English
I agree however that it's time to part ways with the monarchy, we've long since become our own entity
once liz dies australians will be a lot more willing to vote for a republic
Crakaveli
explain why you think that makes a difference?
Faceman.
Always being a tool.
On QGL.
dont hate the player
hate the game sucka
MatchFixer
Like you could talk, pathway.
omg US government conspiracy

lulz double snap
I don't know why this thread is 12 pages long but I have no intention to read it.

Anyone who seriously wants to whinge about a flag or two on a car in support of Australia Day though has too much time on their hands.
you should have read it
sifn't have it set to 100 replies per page anyway
Koup

Representing England.
it doesn't "represent" England, it represents that a (big) part of our ancestry and history is closely tied to England. It's only one part of the flag that contains the symbol, I don't see why it offends Australians so much We can still be individuals and have our own culture even if we do have very strong ties with the English I agree however that it's time to part ways with the monarchy, we've long since become our own entity

So where does it show the real australians history?

Faceman. Always being a tool. On QGL.

STFU

I don't know why this thread is 12 pages long but I have no intention to read it. Anyone who seriously wants to whinge about a flag or two on a car in support of Australia Day though has too much time on their hands.

If you have no inentions on reading the whole thread dont bother posting.

The things that piss me off about our flag is that it shows the heritage of the english which is only around 300 years old in Australia.... whereas it doesnt show 1 thing about the real australians heritage, no representation of the people who have lived here for over 125 000 years.........
Dodgymon
SO you're saying we should replace the Union Jack component of the flag with the abbo flag?
whereas it doesnt show 1 thing about the real australians heritage, no representation of the people who have lived here for over 125 000 years

It shows who pwned them 200 years ago.
whereas it doesnt show 1 thing about the real australians heritage, no representation of the people who have lived here for over 125 000 years.........

If you squint and lean to the left, you can see a metho bottle made out of the Southern Cross.
STFU

no you
whereas it doesnt show 1 thing about the real australians heritage, no representation of the people who have lived here for over 125 000 years.........

i think you misspelt baggage
This thread has had it's day it really could do with just being locked and consigned to the depths of the QGL abyss.

While your at it perm banning Koup for all eternity might be nice. Given the gobal economic melt down we should try and cut back on the over abundance of morons. This is not a growth area that has any possibility of a positive return in the future. On the contrary this brand of wankerage has great potential to destablize the local economy of the forums.
Taipan its thinking like that, that HITLER and the NAZIS used to gain power and invade all of Europe.
In this context thats like saying John Cleeses character from the minisrty of funny walks was trying to revive fascism