Topic: Shane Warne appreciation thread
I miss this guy, and have just recently been watching old videos of him bowling and he really was that good hey...

Use this thread to say how awesome he is and to post your favourite shane warne videos.

sort of cool how this thread ended with 23 posts, Warne's shirt number.

He is awesome, but that video is unwatchable for me, like 10fps or some s***?
he goes alright in the commentary box as well

definately got a good cricket brain on him
Here's a better one.

ahahahah at the batsman in that one... it needs a big thought bubble saying "WTF!!"
he goes alright in the commentary box as well

definately got a good cricket brain on him

yeah i didn't mind having him in the commentry box at all, he was also good for a laugh

i have a question, tony grieg brought it up during the melbourne test maybe? and i have been asking myself this for a while before that. he said he couldn't believe that there wasn't an abundance of young wrist spinners in australia after shane warne.. what is the deal with everyone doing finger spin? everyone we have to choose from is a finger spinner

last edited by paveway at 12:37:03 16/Jan/09
It's because wrist spin is way harder to do than finger spin, and good wrist spinners are incredibly rare. Exceptionally gifted wrist spinners like Shane Warne... well there will probably only be one of him.

Before Shane Warne no-one even thought that leg spin was even a viable option after the West Indies pace attack had dominated for so many years. Warney changed all that though.

Speaking of West Indies and domination...

there was an awesome show on abc yesterday lunch time on the history of cricket in australia

was really interesting hearing about kerry packer starting up wsc, and how australian test players were treated as rebels for signing up to play

funky
as fpot said, wrist spinning is a lot more difficult to bowl, finger spin gives you less variation (theoretically, unless you have a murali wrist) but more control over the ball, allowing you to be more accurate and not leak runs. Not having really spin friendly wickets in australia also stops spinners at state level, as players who can soak up overs, not go for too many runs and take the odd wicket (like your krezja's, hauritz's etc) being more likely picked for the state teams over their less accurate and more expensive legspinning brethren. legspinners like macgill and warne are much rarer, particularly warne, due to the amazing amount of control he exerted over typically harder to control deliveries, whilst still extracting large turn, surprising bounce as well as variety he had. warne pretty much did away with the old 'leg spinners bowl 2 boundary balls an over' theory, which had been accepted for years and years prior and was what had made them a rare species in the international game.
What also made Warne unique and is probably not really apparent to people as they haven't faced him and it doesn't really show up much on TV is the amount of drift he put on the ball. The best example of this is of course the Gatting ball, which doesn't just spin a f***load, but also starts on about off stump, drifts in the air to outside leg stump and then rips back and bowls him the top of off stump. And it was his first ball against England!!!!

What fpot said

With finger spin, it's alot easier to get to a high standard, quicker. Because it feels like you have much more control of the ball when you bowl it. IE, length, line, and amount of spin. Try it, go out into your back yard, bowl a few simple offspinners, really easy to do with finger spin. Then try and bowl a few leggys with your wrist, just feels weird.

So while you're seeing an abundance of good spinners, they all went down the finger spin path.

Personally i think the ACB should legislate it so that state sides HAVE to pick one full time spinner in their side each game, to help promote spin bowling and the development.
I think we should be scouring the earth for another Shane Warne.

...and if we find one outside of Australia, break all his fingers
Or do a Jack Bauer style abduction and brainwash him into being Australian by putting him into a sensory deprivation room with Waltzing Matilda playing constantly and near deafening levels.
Warney is a champ but he's no Boonie.

boonie is way overrated.
boonie is way overweighted.

Or do a Jack Bauer style abduction and brainwash him into being Australian by putting him into a sensory deprivation room with Waltzing Matilda playing constantly and near deafening levels.
Is that like what the Poms did with Pietersen??!@
And Strauss...
warney borey
warne pretty much did away with the old 'leg spinners bowl 2 boundary balls an over' theory, which had been accepted for years and years prior and was what had made them a rare species in the international game.

I think that's a major problem now. Even a very good wrist spinner that gets a lot of turn will still go for a boundary or 2 an over. Because Warne was such a freak the bar has been set so high that very good is no longer good enough and those guys aren't progressing through Grade into State cricket.
i got a million of good memories, to take with me. like that time when that guy ran naked across the pitch in india and we all said "oh Warney!"
i'd give warney some cuddles.
and how australian test players were treated as rebels for signing up to play

It always happens when a sport change occurs. The old boilers can't handle it so they out them.
Kinda happened with the IPL and also in the superleague thing in '96/97

I also miss warnie :( Will be casually going for the royals in the IPL again though just for warnie.

...and if we find one outside of Australia, break all his fingers

Haha, +1, great call
Scorp
warne... the most un-australian wanker you could get. i dont give a flying f*** how much of a good sports player he was, he was determined to abuse his fame and torture his family and children... f*** that. People look at him and admire his great sports playing ability (i dont think he had good sportsmanship after hearing some of the crap he would say to other players/about players) and then go on to call him a good australian ... did you even see the things he put his wife and kids through? jesus christ... i hope his wife ripped him for as much dough as she could before she dumped him on his arse and pulled his kids from under him. what a f***ing maggot slimeball.
did shane warne rape your dog or something?
scorp = unaustralian
defi
it was probably scorp's missus that warney took to his hotel room and had a bit of fun with
TMWNN
If I was in the position where hot women threw themselves at me 24/7 I'd probably struggle to keep it in my pants too.

I'd be pretty weak if he'd straight out refused to have a crack, he just needed to make sure it was kept on the lowdown.
lol scorp

always with the retarded whinge post

also i know for a fact if i was in his position i'd do what he did. maybe without actually sending dirty messages.
and his wife still f***s him too. how about that for winnar.
I was saw Warnie bowl a wicket in the middle of a blowjob.
Definitely a lifetime highlight
love watching his highlight vids. awesome stuff

I was saw Warnie bowl a wicket in the middle of a blowjob.
Definitely a lifetime highlight

Ah, what?

warne... the most un-australian wanker you could get.

lol @ Scorp's fury.

Anyone who plays competitive sport has a go at the opposition at some stage. I can give you so many examples it's not even funny. I've even been threatened to be shot once - it's called 'white line fever' - get used to it or go home. 98% of guys are good blokes off the field even if they are d*******s on it.

What made Warney appealing to the general public (in my opinion) is that he made the same mistakes as everyone else off the pitch. He's no role-model, and he never wanted to be a role-model. He was/is a solid public personality and I reckon he handles himself very well.

I hope we see another Warney in our lifetime, but I dare-say he's irreplaceable.
Warne's a wanker.

A busted Drug cheat (my granny gave it to me), bribe taking ... sorry "weather report" giving guy who man handled a 15 year old cos he took a photo (mainly because he was smoking while being sponsored by an anti smoking campaign).

Also he smoked.

I hope we don't see another Warney. There is a difference between being a character and bringing the game in to disrepute. His only message to anyone is lying is fine just don't get caught.

Richie Benaud as an aussie leg spinner bowler has done far more for the game.

And in terms of players based purely on skill... I wish I was old enough to have seen Bill O'Rielly. I mean if Bradman (who hated catholics) said "he was the greatest bowler he had ever faced or watched" about a catholic he must have been decent. And Grimmet who used to bowl with O'Rielly.

Also Trevor Hohns... Only cos when I was a kid playing cricket in the late 80s he was a test player and he signed my shirt at a cricket camp or maybe a nets session.

Proof that Warnie is an utter champion is that complete sad sack f*****s like Obes don't like him.

While Warne is out being the best bowler to ever play the game, Obes is 'multi boxing' in WoW (hahaha).
While we are here

Steve Waugh 157*

Warne utterly bamboozling England in 1993

last edited by fpot at 04:00:25 22/Jan/09
haha those clips are class fpot!
I love those 1993 clips because people just simply weren't used to him then. As his career went on the 'mystery' surrounding his bowling disappeared and people watched videos and developed techniques to somehow get around it (testament to Warne is that even then it still didn't work, he still owned). However in those 1993 clips you can see the utter bewilderment in the pommies faces. They really have nfi how to deal with him. Especially one certain ball as well :)
He was no champion. He may have been good at bowling. But hell he was into bookies and s*** ... he could well have thrown a match to make money f***ing over Australia and his team mates... you just don't know

But you look at someone like Bill O'Rielly an aussie leg spinner who was the number rated (retrospectively by the ICC) bowler in the world for his time for about a decade. No clouds around him.
Scorp
I couldnt agree more Obes.

And to all those people that somehow admire warne as a person (not just for cricket) and think what he has done / is doing to his wife and family is somehow cool, you must really be f***ed in the head - no lifers who just like to talk yourselves up on qgl. I hope you never find someone you love enough to marry or have kids.
There is no way Warne ever threw a match. That is just a ridiculous claim. He played cricket with a passion that is impossible to fake. His s*** with the bookies was someone approaching him asking for pitch and weather details - publicly available information. The purpose of that was to establish a relationship and eventually move onto throwing matches, something that Shane Warne and Mark Waugh would never have done. They were 'naive and stupid' taking the money as they said, and they paid the price.

Warne took a diuretic to help with his weight loss which is also a masking agent for steriods. Now why the f*** would a leg spin bowler take steriods? Extra muscle mass will give you 0% advantage as a leg spin bowler. Plus he wasn't suffering any injuries at the time from memory. Because there is a strict stance on banned substances and mandatory penalties (which I agree with) he was banned for a year and served out his time. I agree with that also because I f***ing hate drug cheats in sport (Warne was NOT a drug cheat but I reckon such a high profile player getting banned out of the blue like that would be a good deterrent).

And as for Bill O'Rielly, he played in a different time. The old argument of 'are today's players better than yesterday's players' will continue till the end of time, but one thing the old players didn't have to deal with was today's media scrutiny. Who knows what O'Reilly may have got up to? Probably nothing, but Warne is a superstar on a different level to any other cricketer, and any action he takes is put under a glass by the media and magnified 100x. The media has protrayed him as an utter c*** to his wife, yet she came back once and apparently they are getting back together again. For the past few years they have even been living together in the same house in what I assume is a platonic relationship taking care of the kids. Surely she wouldn't be participating in that if he was the utter c*** that you guys have made him out to be from reading too many issues of Woman's Day?

Are you this clueless about everything or just about Warnie Obes?

last edited by fpot at 10:19:18 22/Jan/09
Warne took a diuretic to help with his weight loss which is also a masking agent for steriods. Now why the f*** would a leg spin bowler take steriods? Extra muscle mass will give you 0% advantage as a leg spin bowler. Plus he wasn't suffering any injuries at the time from memory.

Not taking a side in the argument, but I don't think that's true. Wasn't he coming back from the shoulder injury he did diving for a ball fielding off his own bowling in an ODI. I think the speculation was he COULD have been masking steroids he took to help recover in time for the World Cup.
It would be interesting to look into that to see if the injury he sustained needed extensive rehabilitation or if it was a kind of injury that steriods would help heal. Until then it is just speculation about speculation.
i really dont care what warne does thats not related to cricket
Fpot you don't know what Shane did or did not do or why he did it. Were you in the room when these transactions were being made ? Were you there when he took the pills ? You are taking his word. The word of a guy that said atleast twice that he would not cheat on his wife... but did multiple times

Just because someone comes back (again and again) doesn't make it the RIGHT way to behave.

Note I never said he wasn't a good cricket player, I said he was. He just is not someone that should be idolised. Not a champion.

But here's a more controversial statement.
Bradman gets made out to be more of a champion then perhaps he really was. Awesome batsman no doubt (probably the best of all time!). But his anti catholic stance resulted in some people who would have played for Australia not playing for Australia (and seriously religion and imaginary friends have no place in sport) at a time when Australia was not beating England why didn't we have the best possible team out there (maybe we did ? maybe we didn't, having special team meetings just for catholics and without catholics sure seemed a strange way to behave)? And his business dealings are usually described as "shady".

Are you sure it's not you who is clueless fpot ?
You seem to be happy to ignore character flaws and undesirable behaviors and traits. In the pursuit of a sporting victory.

Ross
i'm with obes he is a sick, perveted, drug taking cheat
i really dont care what warne does thats not related to cricket

+1
haha scorp, why don't you just leave qgl? you're going to get high blood pressure or something from it
Fpot you don't know what Shane did or did not do or why he did it. Were you in the room when these transactions were being made ? Were you there when he took the pills ? You are taking his word. The word of a guy that said atleast twice that he would not cheat on his wife... but did multiple times
Well no I wasn't but were you? Bookies approaching players and asking for trivial information to establish a business relationship is a common occurance. It's a highly believable story and I reckon it is the truth. What isn't believable is a player who has played with passion and determination (evidenced by his actions and persona on the field and numerous interviews) suddenly deciding to throw a match for $5000 (or $100000 for that matter). And as for the drug cheat it just doesn't make sense to me for the same reason. Why would he risk it all to recuperate from an injury so he can play in the pointless group stages of a world cup? I guess because you read Woman's Day so much you'll think Warnie is a dumb c***, but if you read the biographies and autobiographies of other players you'll see this definitely isn't the case.

And I even hate seeing you say Warne is a good player. What the f*** would you know about cricket anyway you are some f***** who plays multiple games of WoW at once.

And Warne > Bradman as best crickter ever.
i think the fact that ross doesnt like warney, is a pretty clear indicator to how awesome warney really is
Speaking of spinners, has anyone seen this new Sri Lankan guy - Ajantha Mendis?

He only recently started playing for S.L., and is being hailed as the next big thing. He bowls all types of deliveries - leg breaks, off breaks, etc.

http://content-sl.cricinfo.com/wivsl/content/player/268739.html

And to all those people that somehow admire warne as a person (not just for cricket) and think what he has done / is doing to his wife and family is somehow cool, you must really be f***ed in the head - no lifers who just like to talk yourselves up on qgl. I hope you never find someone you love enough to marry or have kids.

Can you direct me to the post where someone said they think what Warney has done to his family is cool?

I'm struggling to find the post you are referring to. kthx
i'd cheat on simone warne too, she's a humourless nasty cow.

the last time those two tried to get back together, it wasn't actually shane that ended it, but her, and for no great reason, other than her media profile had been restored, again. To his credit, he does try to be the best father he can to his kids. Might be a bad husband, but he tries to be a good dad.

As for the betting and drug thing, you're speculating your self obes. So i wouldn't condem fpot for speculating, when you are too. Especially when what fpot said, is what the official report stated also (on the betting anyway).

Top bloke? probably not the best bloke in the world no, but he seems just as flawed as anyone else. He's no Matt Hayden or Adam Gilchrist, but there are alot worse than warne getting around. But he does seem regretful, sincere and contrite in his apologies and reflections.

Champion Cricketer? with out a question, anyone doubting that is just trolling.

On to your point about Bradman being a prick, you're absolutely right obes, he was a massive a******. In today media, Bradman would probably be universally condemned, but he was still a great batsman.
character
Watching those '93 videos just reminded me of what a champ Healy was. His work behind the wicket with stumpings and catches really made a lot of Warne's wickets. Granted they wouldn't have been possible without good bowling, but a lesser keeper wouldn't have capitalized nearly as often.
fpot you know I don't even play wow on 1 account (at the moment) haven't done so in atleast 4 months ? And you know that has nothing to do with Warne ?

If by champion you mean "winner" sure. If however you mean it in the sense that "fights a cause" ie. promoting cricket in a positive light not so much.

Also Healy rocked, him being pushed out has left a permenant bitterness in my mouth toward Gilly (Not that it was his fault). Gettting caught playing air violin on tv when they were talking about breast cancer was not a high light for him tho :P
Obes 4 months is that all. Imagine people dredging up s*** older than that. harden the f*** up mate.
Hmm not sure I think it is longer then. Multiboxing actually cured me of wow ... The only reason I mentioned it was because it kept getting repeated, hence must have been one of fpots primary reasons as to why Warne is a champion.

If by champion you mean "winner" sure. If however you mean it in the sense that "fights a cause" ie. promoting cricket in a positive light not so much.

I meant it as a Champion Cricketer. ie, he played cricket hard, gave his all every minute he was on the field, and never stopped trying, and tried to continually better him self as a cricketer.

I didn't say anything about him as an ambassador for the game. Stop purposefully confusing the two. There are many Great Players that won't make great role models or ambassadors. Hanjse Cronje is one. Bradman was another.

warne took leg spin, broke it down into little peice and rebuilt it into something that will never be forgotten.

yeah, he did nothing for cricket lulz
fpot,

there is pretty much no doubt warney was on the roids, thats why he got the punishment he got. You simply don't recover from a shoulder reconstruction as fast as he did without getting on the gear, which is also why he was target tested because of all the rumours floating around at the time. Shoulder recons have ended bowlers careers, and generally put a bowler out for 12 months.

As for the rest, who gives a s***. him and Simone had an open marriage, and she was a known sports groupie in Melbourne before Warnie started nailing here.

there is a great story about Dermie Brereton in the members at Flemington one day telling his mates about how he had nailed her and gone for a bit of backdoor action and done himself some damage. Just the room quietened down for the start of a race, he was heard at the top of his voice saying 'that bitch broke my dick'.

Simone Warne has crocodile tears, she has seen more cock than Jenna Jameson.
Didn't he get the shoulder recon in 1999? That was when he tried to come back to early and got dropped against the Windies. Then he recovered and bowled the gatting ball to Gibbs in the 1999 world cup?

Or are you saying he got on the roids after he got dropped or something and got away with it for 4 years until just before the world cup?
MatchFixer
What he's saying is you'd like warney to bamboozle you by jamming his dick up your ass cause you're such a dirty slug f***er.

"Rub that seam-en all over me like you do on tv warney!"
wat
Awesome work booyah