My aircon circuit keeps blowing, in the absence of calling my landlords emergency after hours line - what can I try?
there's nothing on/around the unit outside, the safety switch in my cupboard just keeps resetting constantly It happened once or twice before but just today it wont stay on longer than 5 mins and its 30 degrees outside @ nearly 7pm (Syd) electrician is coming in the morning |
| #0 06:49pm 14/01/09 |
man up ?
or stupidly f*** around with electricity up2u |
| #1 06:52pm 14/01/09 |
must b faulty
| #2 06:53pm 14/01/09 |
I considered your idea and dismissed it, I've got a flu and I'm sick of it
the air con is brand new |
| #3 06:54pm 14/01/09 |
Open doors/windows?
Or rush down to bunnings and purchase a movable air con. |
| #4 06:54pm 14/01/09 |
way ahead of you, but i'd still like to know if it could be something stupid like air con circuits are shared with < something else >or what might cause a safety switch to reset in general
nothing else appears to be turning off so far as i can tell last edited by tequila at 18:57:15 14/Jan/09 |
| #5 06:57pm 14/01/09 |
dont think they are on any special circuit.
the air con is brand new seems a bit wierd that it only f***s up when u use ur aircon tho doesn it? just because its brand new doesnt mean that something isnt f***ed |
| #6 07:02pm 14/01/09 |
safety switch tripping means that the aircon (most likely) has an earth leakage problem.
mr sparky will sort it out! prolly have to go over the wiring with a megger and find out which component has the low resistance to earth last edited by scooby at 19:11:33 14/Jan/09 |
| #7 07:11pm 14/01/09 |
yeah sounds like something I don't want to be doing, I'll wait it out kthx
| #8 07:17pm 14/01/09 |
While I'm no expert, I'm pretty sure a air-con, especially if split system, will have it's own circuit.
They suck so much juice it would make logical sense not to share a circuit. |
| #9 07:26pm 14/01/09 |
safety switch tripping means that the aircon (most likely) has an earth leakage problem. I had a safety switch tripping constantly tripping. Turned out to be a short in my rangehood. Could be a similar problem. |
| #10 07:57pm 14/01/09 |
I dunno if I figured it out or not but basically if I go flick it back off and turn the aircon back on, the compressor never comes on outside
so I'm thinking that is borked |
| #11 08:09pm 14/01/09 |
^^ Well our aircon manual says in the event of a power failure don't try to turn it back on for about 15 minutes or something. I don't know why though.
| #12 08:22pm 14/01/09 |
yeah we left it for an hour, turned it back on - no dice
I was out there when the safety switch tripped, it trips the second the compressor outside turns on I think the unit runs for a minute or two before it turns the compressor on |
| #13 09:35pm 14/01/09 |
compressors down to earth... gonna cost a s***load
| #14 09:39pm 14/01/09 |
new unit time :< not worth repairing. new one with 5yr warranty = win
| #15 09:47pm 14/01/09 |
brand new, should be under warranty
will get it fixed in the morning, going to be one s***ful 30 degree night with tonsillitis tho |
| #16 11:00pm 14/01/09 |
dont think they are on any special circuit. Yes they do. (well legaly should) The bastards take 30,000 watts to start up and about 8000 watts to run. |
| #17 11:08pm 14/01/09 |
Ross
Doesn't sound like the compressor. If its brand new I would say its a logic fault on one of the pc boards. The head unit talks to the condenser outside and if its sending stupid signals then it won't work. There is heaps of 24 hour air con guys just look in the yellow pages.
| #18 11:12pm 14/01/09 |
While I'm no expert, I'm pretty sure a air-con, especially if split system, will have it's own circuit. Lol, you would think so... Mine isn't Thanks ACER! |
| #19 09:51am 15/01/09 |
so yeah, I'm boned
every place I've tried said 'the earliest we can do it is next week' meanwhile its the hottest day we've had in 12 months down here, and tomorrows going to be even hotter this is completely f***ed, even the 24hr ones say they wont do it - wtf its a mitsubishi MSH-A24WV, i've got the cover pulled off it but I have no more ideas I'm considering buying a spare PCB for it and swapping it in to see if that helps (last resort) |
| #20 01:35pm 15/01/09 |
Can someone please quickly explain to me why aircon uses so much power?
| #21 12:44pm 16/01/09 |
JUST SLEEP IN YOUR CAR...
WITH IT RUNNING... IN YOUR GARAGE, WITH THE DOOR SHUT... AND THE CAR WINDOWS OPEN. |
| #22 01:00pm 16/01/09 |
mitsubishithere's your problem. |
| #23 01:25pm 16/01/09 |
You're just lucky FORD dont make aircons
| #24 01:27pm 16/01/09 |
mitsubishi aircons are awesome
| #25 01:35pm 16/01/09 |
every place I've tried said 'the earliest we can do it is next week' meanwhile its the hottest day we've had in 12 months down here, and tomorrows going to be even hotter Try your local rag (newspaper) i got a guy out that afternoon for a blockage and i got hime to do it cash! |
| #26 01:41pm 16/01/09 |
this whole thing has been a total fail
I got a private contractor to come out and try fix it, he said yep your compressor/condenser? (the thing outside) is f***ed I said ok, replace that s*** and you get $$ cash monies no can do apparently, so i called the mob who installed it, they said yeah we'll send someone around to replace it, next week I explained that I have already had a contractor out to look at it and we just need to swap the compressor, I even offered to take it to their workshop the bitch on the phone wasn't having a bar of it anyway I got my landlord to agree to put in a portable aircon for the duration 40+ degree days in a 1 bedroom unit that gets zero airflow unless you leave both the front door and balcony door open = balls the main unit wont likely be fixed for another two weeks srsly, why the f*** should it take that long? what if you were a 90+ year old person who is going to cark it if your aircon doesn't get fixed -today-? |
| #27 01:52pm 16/01/09 |
you would hang out at the local shopping centre like most of them already do. |
| #28 01:55pm 16/01/09 |
you mean the RSL right
| #29 01:59pm 16/01/09 |
Can someone please quickly explain to me why aircon uses so much power? anything that heats or cools uses lots of power. first rule of thermo dynamics is you cant win. so basically your room is full of hot air aka engergy. To get rid of that energy costs you more energy. |
| #30 02:15pm 16/01/09 |
You can't move the outside thing unless you're a qualified air con guy. It has to be pressurised properly with special equipment.
| #31 02:16pm 16/01/09 |
anything that heats or cools uses lots of power. first rule of thermo dynamics is you cant win. so basically your room is full of hot air aka engergy. To get rid of that energy costs you more energy.Hmm yeah I knew that. I did a bit of googling and it reckons it is the compressor that uses most of the power. I guess the new question is how exactly does a compressor work? Hehe |
| #32 02:20pm 16/01/09 |
its pretty simple, a lot like a piston or rotary engine.
motor turns crankshaft which is connected to rotor/pistons which suck in cool vapour from the suction line (evaporator) > then compress into high pressure vapour (adds heat) and spit out to the discharge.. to be cooled by the condenser (outdoor unit) bla bla i could go into more detaillllll if ya want last edited by scooby at 16:41:53 16/Jan/09 |
| #33 04:41pm 16/01/09 |
| #34 04:59pm 16/01/09 |
Heh, wait to you plug it in and be disappointed.
| #35 05:00pm 16/01/09 |
I've had one before, it was an $800~ one from bunnings and it was pretty average, but given enough time it would cool down the whole unit
3.5kW > 0kW of cooling power http://www.dimplex.com.au/catalog/gdc-ac12rw |
| #36 05:05pm 16/01/09 |
| #36 |