Topic: Where can I offload unwanted electrical goods?
Anyone know if there is anywhere in Brisbane that takes electrical goods off your hands?

I have a bunch of old CRT monitors, a vaccuum cleaner, a microwave, a washing machine (not working but possibly fixable), TVs (some working others not), an old flat bed scanner, a 5 disc cd player (not working but possibly fixable) and others odds and ends such as a s*** load of old computer bits that I want to get rid of.

Apparently places like the Salvos and Vinnies don't take electrical goods, which is understandable, but it seems a shame to throw away stuff that actually works or can be repaired. I thought there might be a place that fixes stuff or uses them for spare parts. There must be people who could use that stuff and I am happy to give it away.
I thought for sure someone would buy or take old mowers etc as well but the guy I rang at the mower place around the corner told me to bin it along with the two whipper snippers I have.

I guess the other option is a garage sale but it seems kind of a hassle and besides my wife has already knocked this idea on the head as a waste of time, although I bet I could make some beer money on the day.

The other option is the tip, and apparently there is a chance it will get salvaged and used by some Worzel Gummidge types so I spose it's not a total waste.

Any other suggestions?

Crakaveli
i'd say tip it.

too much f***ing around to do otherwise
a nearby creek
Put a sign on your fence saying what you want to give away.
I gave away an old fridge like that.

You could leave it on your footpath and it will prolly disappear in a week.
just ebay it for 99 cents and pickup only, at least ull find people to take it off your hands and save u a trip to the tip.
dump it at vinnies anyway. They'll have some contact to hand it off to. Midnight dump ftw
http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/BCC:BASE::pc=PC_1761

check when your suburb is doing it, i'm sure you'll get someone around to pick it up..

I'll be doin the rounds, some money to be made.. hah

Here you would take it to the local council's waste transfer center. It costs you, but at least you know you're doing the right thing and following the process. Waste like that is handled differently in every state (considering most of what you have listed cannot be recycled...yet). E.g., in Canberra they store monitors and other electrical waste in the hope that one day it will be recyclable.

Otherwise, be the c*** that dumps s*** and makes Australia ugly, as suggested above.
I have a bunch of old CRT monitors

i tried to sell a 19" on ebay.. didnt get £1 for it. ended up giving it away. charity wouldnt take it either!
Chickens***
i tried to sell a 19" on ebay.. didnt get £1 for it. ended up giving it away. charity wouldnt take it either!
Haha, at the lab I'm currently at I wanted to set up a computer. All it needed was a monitor and my supervisor didnt really want to pay for a monitor for it. So I asked then for a CRT monitor and they were surprised that I wanted one. It seems like they are relics.
I know a guy who lives in the East Brisbane area.

He collects stuff like that and has a shed full of bits and pieces.

PM me if you want the details, I'm sure he'd happily take it off your hands.
euphoria
You could contact some local churches. Our church on the coast takes donations of working goods and then gives them to people who need such items - it's attached to our food program. We get over 50 families a week coming for food.

I think Brisbane is a bit far for our guys to go to pick up the stuff, but I'm sure there are churches in Brisbane doing the same thing.
I dropped all my stuff at the dump in the 2nd hand market area (not the tip face).
blahnana
Does the vacuum cleaner work-ish? Pulling a mower engine to bits is on my wishlist too, especially if you're going to tip it...

kos

dump it at vinnies anyway. They'll have some contact to hand it off to. Midnight dump ftw

Maybe it's better not to...
speaking of a guy in east brisbane, there's a house on heidelberg st (where the foodworks at mowbray park is) and the front yard is full of all sorts of gear, down the side is full of all sorts of gear, i'm guessing the back yard is full of all sorts of gear, and since the front door is always open, 24/7/365, i've noticed there's s*** in the hallway too. just put it in the front yard, they'll probably appreciate it.
- the dump
- scotts scrap at woollongabba (pretty sure they take all that sort of whitegoods/brown goods)
- most scrap yards would actually ( there is another one on lytton rd, near the gateway)
What kind of whipper snippers are they? brand?
FYI: You have to cut the power cable off from an electrical device when you dump/abandon it (if it's a fixed electrical cable) similarly, doors of fridges must also be removed.
You are legally liable for it if it electrocutes / injures someone otherwise.

Retarded but hey...
blahnana - yeah the vacuum works although it is missing a wheel. The mower is pretty rooted (cord is busted) but if you want parts I spose it would be ok. It's a Victa 2 stroke

whoop - whipper snippers are:
McCulloch Pro-Mac 1 Super and McCulloch Eager Beaver SX-2 (i think)
The Beaver is missing handle grip, cord is all loose and hanging out and the fuel line is perished. Both are old and pretty much useless as far as I can see.

pm me if you want more info

might try calling some scrap yards and see if they will take other stuff for free. I want to get rid of it but I don't want to pay. There was a segment on Extra from memory which I caught the tail end of that mentioned somewhere in Brisbane that recycled items such as monitors etc and they had several f***tonnes of the stuff, but they charge you money to take it. I guess businesses would do that but I reckon most people would go to the tip.

last time we moved from annerley I left a bunch of stuff out the front and it went like hotcakes. I actually went inside to get more stuff and came out to find things had been taken. dudes were driving past real slow with utes. classic.

Yeah McCulloch are a bitch to find parts for which is why I was asking. I'll ask my mate & see if he wants them for parts, I'd take them myself but I only recently threw mine out & bought 2 brand new ones since the old ones were so far gone.
épic™
break the s*** up and put it in your wheelie bin over a few weeks = free
^ yeh thats what I do
Or wait til bin day and chuck it all in your neighbours bin just after they have been emptied
don

wanted a eager beaver mcullock parts for whipper snipper....the whipper parts
Is the scanner compatible with linux and working? :D
Get a white van and sell them 'as new'?
just wait till the council's kerb collection thing. or don't wait - and go to another suburb where it's on and dump it there. You can get fined for that, but you probably won't.
don

do you still have the eager beaver whipper ...i need parts ...Don
blahnana
Pick the guy who found qgl through a search engine.
Red
Crikey... sifn't take it all to cash converters :D
jeebus, a trip to the dump is $8 if its under 500kg, $14 for >500kg ..
^^ Unless you go to the dump near me and are dumping car tyres. Be prepared to donate organs to science/sell your ass on the street in order to pay the fee.
The GuVna
There was a place near the Gabba up from the Dan Murphys liquor store I recall that accepted old monitors, though that was two years go now when I walked past it...
whoop the trick is to not tell them you are dumping old tyres.
tyre places charge $5/corner to dump tyres
greazy: considering that's all I had in my car I think it's a little hard to hide, picture a vr commodore wagon, rear seats down, entire compartment full of tyres. Yeah.
there is a place near the gabba u can dump electrical/white goods/steel etc.

nile street i think at wooloongabba
(its free dumping aswell)
Sorry all my valuable items ended up at the dump. Considering the original post was made in January you are certainly optimistic that I would have held onto said items for 6 months.

But now my shed is full again :( Anyone want a double bed??
what is the stain report on the mattress?
Mantorok
Here's a handy hint for next time: Recycling in the Brisbane City Council area.
Any fridges anyone want to get rid of that still work? Will pick up via ute transaction.