Topic: Vandalised Car

Well, it tool almost 3 years but my Jeep has been vandalised.

Some f***tards threw paint thinner over the bonnet sometime while I was at work today. There is security camera's and they will apparently be looked over tomorrow.
Already filed a Police report, not that I expect anything to come of it.

Insurance is with RACQ who have been decent to me in the past so shouldn't be a problem now.

Just before I call them though I was wondering if anyone could tell me an approx cost to repaint something like this?

http://s.grattan.googlepages.com/IMG_7414.JPG
http://s.grattan.googlepages.com/IMG_7415.JPG
http://s.grattan.googlepages.com/IMG_7418.JPG

f*** School holidays and f*** the bitches that think property destruction is a good way to pass time.
Just go rice and paint your bonnet black with spray cans from supercheap
probably be looking at like $1000 or so to get that all done properly
Carson

Thats gay. I drove up the to qld last summer to visit my GFs family and hoilday, and not 2 weeks after being there my car was broken in too. f***ed the ignitiion and all under the steering wheel. The s***s never got caught, and it ruined my holiday budget.

Well hope it doesn't cost too much and it'd be good if they got caught.
whoops idea ... but go for urban cammo
Get more paint thinner and make a pattern

That sucks balls dude, hope the camera stuff helps out. What sort of antisocial f***HEADS do that sort of thing?
^^ bored kids with nothing to do whose parents don't care where they go or what they do so long as they're not at home bothering them, that's who. That or people who like to videotape themselves doing it so they can up it to youtube and show their mates how big their e-penis is like those videos of d*******s throwing drinks into the windows at maccas or blasting air horns at old people who probably had a heart attack soon as they stopped filming.
yeah about $1k
As much as I condemn the act on the car, I am definitly up for hurling a thickshake at a maccas employee that deserves punishment. Not in the drive-thru that's stupid, they have your rego details then... But there are several specific McDonalds experiences I remember where I should have done this. Like one where the manager mocked me for asking for no ice in my orange juice. She should have worn that orange juice.

last edited by thermite at 19:22:14 16/Dec/08

last edited by thermite at 19:22:33 16/Dec/08
make sure you claim they did all the scratches and dings on the rest of the car too etc.
goddamn that makes me sick.
f***ing arseholesss. :( Sorry to hear about it doode, hopefully you get it all sorted.
what worthless lowlife pieces of s***

i would go medieval on their asses.
and broke your diff locks!!

Thats gay Scott, like under a table on your knees at The Wickam gay :(
That sucks dude.. my car got repeatedly egged for about 3 months.. on a weekly basis.

Really just stopped caring after a while. What can you do.

(apart from sitting up the closest tree with a baseball bat)

Which is exactly what I'd do if my car got egged every week for 3 months except replace baseball bat with rotten eggs and flour. That or just aim a video camera out of every window in my car to record them.

Reason: Disruptive
Click Here to See the Profile for Kat Edit This Post Click Here to send Kat an email Users HomePage Message User
^^ well that was random

bummer scott, that's pretty f***in gay
http://decalpro.ca/catalog/images/jeep front.jpg
Helpful as always Kat, Thanks for posting. Thats the undercoat you can see.

I really hope they can pull something off the camera's however I fear they are the useless kind that take a 480x360 B&W picture that you cant see s*** in. Oh well, nothing I can do until tomorrow now.

Might as well get insurance to do it all proper when the car is still Semi-New.
Maybe if it happens again i'll turn to the Army-Cammo. A Mate I work with has an Old Suzi with Arm-Cammo paint job.

It's always bad to have it happen to someone else, but it feels much worse when it happens to you :/
Well I hope Karma gets these pricks.
Reduaram
what kind of jeep is that and how much did it cost you?
Around the same price brand new Jeep Wrangler Sport cost these days. But 3 years ago.
It only has 24,000 on the clock though.
hey scooter, no offense but i think kat's seen more man jizz than you have. you've seen the jizz of what, 2 maybe 3 different guys?

thats nothing.
Like one where the manager mocked me for asking for no ice in my orange juice.

lol what, what did she say?
MatchFixer

Reason: Off-Topic
Click Here to See the Profile for MatchFixer Edit This Post Click Here to send MatchFixer an email Users HomePage Message User
Reduaram

Reason: Abusive
Click Here to See the Profile for Reduaram Edit This Post Click Here to send Reduaram an email Users HomePage Message User
HyperJ

I just thought you had some damn big birds in your neighbourhood...
Must have pissed somebody off, paint thinner costs money and all...
That's f***ed :(
Sorry to hear, it just makes you wanna beat the s*** outta them!

I've had my car keyed down the entire length of both sides within a week of each side.....where I used to live - was probably someone in the complex, f*** I was pissed.

Had some s*** spit on my car as I drove past, you shoulda seen him s*** bricks when I jammed on the breaks, pulled over, got out and gave him a good earful.
This is what all cars should have ...

Coochie
off topic...sorry...but can you tell me what the fuel consumption on the newish Wranglers are (like yours...around 3 years old)?

I'm toying with the idea of getting one but everyone I've spoken to says they chew fuel...not sure if this is only the older ones or whether those people are used to driving a Barina. I currently drive an SS Commodore so I know about cars that use a decent amount of petrol.

I currently get around 375KM around town off a 65 litre tank and probably 550km on highway....would your Wrangler be better than that?

Thanks.

P.S bummer on the vandalism....nothing frustrates me more than coming back to my car and finding a new ding in the door...if you damage someone else's property f***ing fix it.

I cant imagine anyone thinking that doing something like that is ok. I mean, they obviously know its not, which is a motivation for doing it, but this isnt some playful chance occurance like finding a rock and throwing it through an old warehouse window or something. Somone has conciously acquired paint thinner, taken it with them, and trashed your car in an expensive way.
Enemies?
BOHEMION
That clip pisses me off so much. There keys would end up through there cheeks if i ever saw this. Bad luck on the Thinners mate. As the boys are saying its a big effort to do such a thing to one car. Were the cars next to yours or other 4x4's damaged in the same area?
That's pretty f***ed dude. Good luck with insurance. My work had some wonderful kids jump up and down on the cars in one of our yards. For some reason my boss failed to see the humor.

As much as I condemn the act on the car, I am definitly up for hurling a thickshake at a maccas employee that deserves punishment. Not in the drive-thru that's stupid, they have your rego details then... But there are several specific McDonalds experiences I remember where I should have done this. Like one where the manager mocked me for asking for no ice in my orange juice. She should have worn that orange juice.

If you are nice you just ask for a cup of water and do the whole "FIRE IN THE HOLE!" and lob it back through the window on your way out for the drive-through. It's funny, and they aren't going to call the cops over a glass of water.

Sucks about the damage. Glad to hear you aren't with AAMI - I changed all my insurances to RACV after I had a car accident and AAMI did nothing for me, even though it wasn't my fault I was still left $400 out-of-pocket for storage of my written-off vehicle because they only pay for 3 days of storage even though they didn't send an assessor until Day 8!!! Bastards.
Mate said it looks more like Brake Fluid (which apparently does the same thing?)

As suspected the cameras didn't show s***, Jumping frame to frame you cant even see anything being thrown on my car. It's only when you switch from ~8am till ~3pm that you can notice that something has even happened.
Even then you can only tell if you strain your eyes and can barely see a few white pixels. No way to tell who has done it and even if you could almost impossible to get an ID off the photos.
With the price of space today you think they could afford to keep some better quality pictures. Really you would only need to keep them a week/month then recycle the space. Why are security camera's so s***.

Police have all but admitted that they are useless in matters like this too.

Thinking about just getting some colour match paint, sanding it back and doing it myself. I have a few other dings, dents and scratches from 4WDing (nothing this big though) so I really just want to rust proof it. Probably cheaper then the excess and I wouldn't have to leave my car anywhere and organise lifts and what-not.

It happened to 2 other car in the lot as well so thankfully (heh, Silver lining?) it wasnt a vendetta attack. Just bored kids.

I currently get around 375KM around town off a 65 litre tank and probably 550km on highway....would your Wrangler be better than that?

I dont really look at my fuel usage. It sounds similar to what you get in you SS. It wouldn't be better. I know I get better econ then my brothers Challanger, but thats about it. I hear the Auto (I have Manual) uses a heap more though.
Oh, it took ~135 liters to go ~500km... but that was in the Simpson Desert, so it doesn't really count.

I dont drive much during an average week (7min to work :p) so I usually have a 4wd outing before I need to refuel (which throws out any fuel consumption) and on Long trips I tend not to look at it too much because it makes me cry when half the cost of a holiday (or more) is fuel.
why single you out?

i hope your not a jerk, or havent been sleeping with anyone you shouldnt have!
which apparently does the same thing?
confirmed.
Like I said Spook, 2 other Cars.

Did just have the big X-Mas party though, I cant account for some time after ~1am and before ~4am when I hopped on the Bus so I may have done some thing/one though!
hawt

ok, yor alright, its losars at work
If you want to (god knows why) f*** a cars paint work brake fluid is the best thing to do the job. It'll strip the paint off quicker than pretty much anything. If I remember rightly you can't do s*** about it even after cleaning it off because if you paint over it again it'll just bubble and peal off. Btw that doesn't look like brake fluid to me in your picture because brake fluid will make the paint bubble up kind of like the skin on old custard.

On a side note. The only time I have ever seen or heard of someone using brake fulid or some such material to f*** over someones car is when the own of the car has been a complete d*******. Now I am not saying that you were a d******* but to be honest I can't see a kid carting around paint thinner or brake fluid just on the off chance he feels like being a wanker... it doesn't make much sense. Of course had he just picked up some random nearby brick and tossed it at your car that would be more believable but of course no less stupid.

last edited by Taipan at 16:57:23 17/Dec/08

last edited by Taipan at 16:59:36 17/Dec/08

The bonus with br 4ke fluid is that you can mix any spare you have left with chl 0rine and wait ~45 secs for the exothermic reaction. Used to do it all the time as a kid. Be careful if you do it in a c 0ke/spr 1te bottle because chl 0rine reacts with that too and you could lose limbs.

Note: clever syntax so Echelon don't get me.
sorry to see someone f***ed with your car...

I hope you didn't earn it
I hope you didn't earn it koopz
That sucks balls dude, hope the camera stuff helps out. What sort of antisocial f***HEADS do that sort of thing?

bored kids with nothing to do whose parents don't care where they go or what they do so long as they're not at home bothering them

not just them. but a******s who haven't grown out of their adolescence.

seriously... growing up might argubly be optional, but way too many people still act like high school d*******s despite being in their late 20's
Sorry to see that happen to you Scooter :(
I hope you find the mofo's