Topic: UQ results - midnight tonight?

Release date is 26 Nov, which I guess means tonight at midnight?

Good luck everyone!!!
simul
Yay, the bi-annual "students email whining about marks" time.
"don't click on thread" time :p
Or we could come here and disrail it...
Remember guys, log into my.uq (not sinet) just before midnight then click the Sinet link at midnight to bypass the lagging sinet login screen and get to your marks before the whole website goes down as it always does.
Nice tip - thanks mate. Were they pretty punctual last semester?? I got my individual results before they were posted on Sinet so I didn't have to worry about refreshing at midnight. What's the go???
Booyah.. who else graduated this year?

I'm fkn cheering.
I finished course-work last year, and last I remember they released the marks on the dot. The site goes down very, very quickly (often in under a minute) .. but the thing is, they disable the login screen before the rest of the site - hence the my.uq bypass trick lets you poke around for an extra few seconds :)
Yeh should be finshing honours (if I pass everything;) I'm actually going to my ceremony too - the first out of three!
the first out of three!

go on .. ?
JohnnieD
I didn't have net access last sem when they were released but people told me they could access them at 9am. Is it def midnight?
^That's what I'm trying to find out. Pretty sure this time last year I was up until 1am and they came up.
simul
Yeah it will be 1am, the piece of crap goes down between 12 and 1 for 'maintenance'.
anyone know when QUT is?
Reduaram
gonna fail like 3 of them.
gl uni students!
i remember the whole waiting up till midnight to get my marks. oh hang on, no i didn't cos thats for nerds.
Jum
anyone know when QUT is?

december 1st - this coming monday, though they will probably be up on sunday arvo
So why isn't infi banned yet? I am yet to see a thread where he's not being a complete wanker.
finishing uni tomorrow, f***ing BOYAH.. already drinking when i still got 1 presentation left :D
anyone get it?
Not loading for me yet. Anxiety ++
JohnnieD
loaded for me =D

took a while and a lot of battling. some people I know are still trying

GL people
Jayebee
That took fkn forever.

7 7 6 5
Yeah took ages.

6666, was hoping to get at least 2 7s :(
Some Fat Bastard
Still 6666 is bloody good. Well done you two.
6 7 7 - totally useless info though cause what matters is my overall percentage to determine my level of honours. Don't know why I expected sinet to have such useful info...
Some Fat Bastard
^ A bloody Einstein. lol
Found it under the "graduation" tab: Honours Class 1. Toot toot. I would still like to know my overall percentages though!!!
sparrow
which did you get 6 for billy? I would love to know my % but I don't think I'll be able to find out from over here unfortunately :( I did get first class though, but Jason told me that last week, which was very cool. Also told where out of 140 students I got, which was interesting, and almost as good as a percentage.

Ps. Congrats on your 1st class!

i wish i could get above a 5
Hahah I know you feel dude. My whole first degree I think my GPA would have been about 4.3. Then I found something that I really enjoyed, and "studying" wasn't hard or boring, and now I'm disappointed when I get a 6:) Stick at it and do what you enjoy!!!
The best I ever got was 666 in one semester.

You guys are nerds.

But I hate to tell you that the GPA stuff means sfa in the real world. Maybe for your first job but after that no-one cares.

Unless you do it for your own self satisfaction which is honourable.
But I hate to tell you that the GPA stuff means sfa in the real world. Maybe for your first job but after that no-one cares.

Unless you do it for your own self satisfaction which is honourable.

Matters a f*** ton for those of us who want to go on and do more studies:)
More study like what, as long as your GPA is over 5 it's all good, isn't it?

Even then it's flexable as uni's what post grad students as that where the big dollars are, so you can negotiate your way in to further study.

Or are you going the path of becoming an Academic?
Reduaram
How the hell are you going to negotiate your way into class 1 honors?
I was refering to Masters etc
My wifey needed a fairly high GPA to get into Masters even if we did pay for her classes up front without HECS.
Yeah they prefer the higher GPA but they will consider otherwise, hence the negotiate part of my earlier post.

But anyway this is getting off track....
Might be different for other courses but there was no negotiation on hers, if you didn't meet the minimum GPA then you weren't eligible. One of her friends couldn't make it in on the minimum GPA and talked all the way to the chancellor without success.
The best I ever got was 666 in one semester.

Lol @ the GPA-doesn't-matter crowd finally showing up to tell us all about the real world, to make themselves feel better at doing crap at uni. Not that I have a problem with crap grades, you might not need it for what you want to do in life (e.g. if you already have the job you want) but don't go prancing around pretending you know all career paths :)

Try applying for a government stipend to do postgrad research with average grades. You will be firmly denied, no negotiation can get you in. You'd have to spend 12-18 months (and $20k) doing a Masters to boost your grades and try again if you're still keen on that path.

That's what I had to do, and I don't plan to be an academic afterwards (they give me the creeps). It's just a degree that's needed to unlock some doors later on, otherwise some of the kinds of jobs I'm after will be very hard to get. Or that's what I keep telling myself :)

I will conquer and leave you one day uni, one day *shakes fist*
Lol @ the GPA-doesn't-matter crowd finally showing up to tell us all about the real world, to make themselves feel better at doing crap at uni.

My GPA was 6.0 for most of the degree and then slipped to 5.4, working full-time with three kids.

Yes your GPA will help open doors and as I said congratulations on people acheiving great marks, it's something to be proud of, but some students think of it as life and death type stuff, which is wrong.

last edited by mission at 11:04:50 26/Nov/08

it also matters (very much) to typo and parabol

no one ever asked to see my grades (luckily)
but sdome students think of it as life and death type stuff

Yeah not life and death and there are certainly other paths if you fail, but it can be quite a jolt if you've been aiming hard for something for 3-4 years and find you're sitting on the cutoff - every percent counts at that level.
My GPA was 6.0 for most of the degree and then slipped to 5.4

Mine was all over the place: 5, 6, 3, even failed a few courses and I'm sure got a warning at some stage. Then when I got my s*** sorted out, all of that screwed me over later since the crap grades early on dropped my average. Had to do that masters year to have them overlook my crap first 3 years :)

last edited by parabol at 11:13:35 26/Nov/08
i lied about my grades in every job interview and never got asked once. but yes they can be relevant for continuing study. someone has to keep the body of knowledge growing!
666... going out on my highest grades :> hi5.
I'm at QUT, but does anyone know if there are GPA requirements for Masters in Education? All I can see on our site is that I just need to have successful completion of my Bachelor's degree.
Just finished and going straight for masters? good on you..

I'm gonna get into the schools and burnout in under 5 years!
Nah not finished for awhile yet, but the plan is to hopefully do my Masters part time while working. It's only a year full time, but I'd really rather start teaching asap and just do my Masters on the side.
f***, as i said earlier, i got 6666.

I've got marks back for 3 of my 4 subjects, and my overall grades for the semester were 84, 83, 82. f***ing pissed off atm, especially at the 84% since it was an extremely important subject for the line of work i want to go into and thus i worked my ass off.
lol^

it's good working in an industry where the peice of paper doesn't mean much at all really compared to experience
Jayebee
f***, as i said earlier, i got 6666.

It's worth looking at a remark for atleast th 84% dude. I got 84% for a pathol subject last semester, met up with the course co'ordinator who agreed that a remark was warranted and ended up going to a 7.

I'd even consider going over those other ones with a course co'ordinator. You never know.
it's good working in an industry where the peice of paper doesn't mean much at all really compared to experience

Male prostitution?
I'm pretty sure I'd prefer my doctors, pharmacists, engineers to not "just passed" their degrees lol.

IT and Arts on the other hands....
Articuz
f*** uni.. get an apprenticeship you nubs!

lol apprenticeship

some people just aren't cut out for s*** jobs

Agreed.

The only apprenticeship I'd consider would be Chef. Not saying that wouldn't be a s*** job, but it's more down my alley than playing with toilets.

Except for the fact that you know stuff. In my experience someone who passes doesn't have a full comprehension of the subject, while kids with 6s and 7s did.

t also matters (very much) to typo and parabol

It only matters as much as your education matters. If you're an idiot you can just pass through your degree get a piece of paper and be none the wiser. If you actually want to learn something then aiming for a 4 is one of the most retarded things you can do.

I agree with most of what you wrote typo, but, to make things a little complicated, Honours in psychology (at least) isn't criteria based. So, you might still have a grade 6/7 knowledge, but get outranked by people:(
i didnt aim for 4's, they just happened coz i was busy having fun
Oh, and what sucks even more for me, is that, if I wanted to get a scholarship for a PhD, I submit my GPA. Why does this suck? Because my individual grade percenatges are higher than people who have better GPAs than me, because I got two 6's:/ So, it's better for students to JUST scrape in on 7's, than get a lot of high 7's, and just one 6.
If you actually want to learn something

probably not the case for all areas

but IRL in engineering, if you want to learn something that is relevent get some kind of job in the industry asep bro

not saying that you don't learn anything at uni, but f*** you learn a lot of crap you'll never ever use like 90% of it
There is a difference between someone who tries and gets 4's and someone who turned up to 2 lectures and got a 4.

Haha Obes wins.
My gpa was low 5's in the end.

Besides the yearly/bi-yearly thread on QGL and some of my mates (the 3 that cared) the topic of my GPA has never came up.
No employer has ever asked for it.

Learning on the job is always going to have to happen no matter what field you're in. Be it IT support, Programing, Construction, Teaching or anything else. You cant learn what you need to do in a classroom.
In Surveying I would say ~25% of the things I lernt in the 'Theory' subjects has actually had some use/relevence. ~95% of the prac's has been spot on.

As far as I know they dont offer a B of Surveying at QUT anymore, they call it Spacial Sience or some s***.

As for Obes' statement, I turned up to most of them... Turning up was easy, staying awake or not leaving to go get drunk was harder.
turning up is easy, doing assignments is bearable

studying stuff each week after you do it in the tute is what i hate, i'm a classic crammer towards the end of the semester. i think i'll need to spread some of the cramming out though i don't think i left myself enough time this time. my first semester though so i'm learning, one way or another :p
most jobs grades aren't overly important. but if you're going for prestige s*** (fingers crossed for taggs!) they matter a s***load.

also pave, grades matter in engineering if you want any of the rad internships with rio/bhp/etc. rio flew my mate over to south america for a month or two fully paid and gave him money on top of that to try and entice him cause of his grades. he ended up barring them for someone else who paid more.

edit:

also i had a crappy semester 665 and one exam left to go cause i deferred it.

last edited by taggs at 16:13:35 26/Nov/08
Mining companies dont care about grades.
They care about people who want to be paid stupid amounts of money to have no life for a few years.
haha so true
mining... as if you would. work to live not live to work.
I dont know, I was very very tempted to go on a 3-4 year contract to some Mining Survey companies in WA.

4 Years and I could afford outright a very good house, on a decent block, in some of the upity suburbs of Brisbane.

FIFO of Brisbane, 8/6 roster, Lots of money, Setup for life and some pretty cool experence. If I could only get over the whole showering with Men thing, I would of been there.
It's still on the tables for me, but I have a cushy, fairly well paying, cushy, close to home (~10min drive), cushy and somewhat interisting job where I am. Did I mention cushy? If I didn't or decide to move on, Mining is definatly on the cards.
like you say, mining is only good compared to crappy jobs. if you've got a sweet one in bris, it just doesn't get thought of.
I wouldn't concider a 65k job that I have to drive 30min to and expected to actually work 'Crappy'. (Note; the kind of job i'd be in if I wasn't in my current job)

Even with my good job I still mull it over every now and then.
dunno what mining stuff you went for scooter but for the top 80k-100k+ engineering grad positions they do care about grades from what i've heard. like i said if you're not going for the top stuff then its not so important.
$80k grad position

uh huh
wtf does a grad know... if you pay a grad $80k... well as they say fools and their money are easily parted.
there are grads on that much in finance and engineering pave. prob other areas too i dunno much about other stuff though.

edit: actually grads in finance are getting f***ed atm cause of global markets LOL.

scooter: yeah im talking more about the internships/grad stuff that everyone wants so bad they don't need to advertise.

last edited by taggs at 17:17:00 26/Nov/08
In Surveying, WA, Virgin land, you would be looking at about 150k package with only 1 year experence if any.

Best I cound find comparable was This job on seek. 120k for min 2 years experence, Which is for Mt Isa. 5/2 Roster but 10hr days (usually 12/12 roster days).
WA pays a lot more for Surveyors then any QLD based Mine that I know off.
(Grad listings dont show the monies.)

When I was looking, they counted the fact that I worked 2 as a Field party leader on my days off Uni (Usually 2 a week) as a year equiv experence.

last edited by Scooter at 17:16:36 26/Nov/08
Hybr|d
Hey taggs was it you who was doing Bcom/Becon at UQ?
So the lowbie survey jobs they do advertise are more then the Top Grad jobs they dont? Good to know.

My brother doing mainly Control System Engineering for mines atm, He was a few (3 I think) years out of Uni, so they didn't care about his grades either.
As i said in a post earlier, i got 84% in a subject i really want/needed a 7 in.

Just going to preface this and say that if that is the grade i earnt, i am fine with accepting it. But yeah, as exams are marked by a group of people, so there is no doubt that there will be situtation where the average marker would have given you less/more marks in a spot than the person who did your paper would. I think i will look at having mine remarked if possible since i was so close to the 7 cutoff.

So has anyone had experience going through this process at UQ? It seems you have to go view the paper and model answers and then consult the course coordinator.

However, the general UQ policy on viewing exam papers is:
#
# The sessions are scheduled as follows: in the case of first semester examinations during the third teaching week in semester two; and in the case of second semester examinations and summer examinations during the third teaching week in the following semester one.
# The only opportunity for students to view their final exam paper is during the above sessions. Exam papers cannot be viewed by approaching individual staff outside of these times, except for prospective graduands (see below).

But the remarking application form says this:
b. Remark requests submitted after finalisation of results for the course (HUPP 3.30.1: 7.3):
(i) for first semester results, by the first day after the second semester mid-semester recess;
(ii) for second semester results, by the first day of first semester of the next year; and
(iii) for summer semester results, by the first day after the first semester mid-semester recess.

So basically if you want a remark, you have to have the application in by the 1st day back, yet you usually cant view your paper until the 3rd week? ;\

I guess i should just fire off a well written email the course coordinator explaining the situation?

last edited by Alt_F4 at 18:11:27 26/Nov/08

last edited by Alt_F4 at 18:11:32 26/Nov/08
In 4 years from now I expect to be on at least 60k. I'll be starting at around 45k.

I opted to not do Honours, in Science you really only need a GPA of 5ish and actually talk to lecturers to get an Honours program, mainly because there are not enough people doing Honours.

If you finish your Honours you could expect a job paying around 50-55k off the bat, if they are available. You might be lucky to score a Government job in a hospital if you did a med based science course, however you would have to have an excellent GPA and know your s***, these jobs START at 50k..

So your GPA and grades, especially in relevant subjects, does have an impact. However it depends on the level of work you are trying to get.

In the end though, experience trumps GPA if you have it. Most people graduating from Uni don't, so get good grades while you can.
What job are you getting without Honours in Science?
épic™
one that pays 60k after 4 years.. f***!
Don't get me wrong. Earning above 50-55k takes extra study in the form of further qualifications. Becoming a member of the Human Genetics Society of Australasia in one of the specialized fields is an example. Takes around 2-3 years of full time work and a couple case studies and an exam.

So it isn't like you are only working, you need to do a form of study too. The difference from this an Honours is that you get paid normal wages while you do it and it tends to lead towards 'Lab Monkey' work instead of Research based.

Other ways include working in the right fields. No point doing a job for 2 years in your early career if it goes no-where, unless you really like it.

What job are you getting without Honours in Science?

Working in Medical labs, private or public. Australian Red Cross Blood Bank Services, QML, Sullivan Nicolaides and so on, Various hospitals.

Toll's handy hint, if your not planning on doing honours -> research in Science, do Medical Lab science makes it a bit easier to get good experience jobs like working in a Stat Lab. You go from Private Stat Lab -> Government Med Lab for the $'s. I didn't do med lab, so I have to spend a year or 2 doing a few extra subjects (2 or 3) while I work, then get the stat lab then the government job. Dang it!
In the end though, experience trumps GPA if you have it. Most people graduating from Uni don't, so get good grades while you can.

Yeah well put.. IMO it's really not that hard to get decent a decent GPA (as in 5.5+) if you manage your time well.
Reduaram
How do you find out the GPA requirements for the different classes of honours for your program? There's nothing about it in the rules apart from stating that to gain entry you have to "gain a GPA of 4.5 for #8 of late year courses approved by the executive dean"
Not sure.

But wow, which program needs 4.5 to do honors?
Reduaram
science at UQ.

edit: I was thinking, wouldn't it be great if Australia used a similar grading system to the US? 0-4 is a fantastic idea. Failing shouldn't hurt this much :(

last edited by Reduaram at 00:24:23 27/Nov/08
Jayebee
Yeah science requires a gpa of 4.5 in subjects from the respective faculty you're going for. It largely revolves around an academic accepting you as an honours student, and less so on the number of subjects you did in that faculty. For example a mate did 1 subject in the SMMS faculty and then went on to do honours with Ian Frazer.

Alt_F4 - I went through the remark process last semester. Your best shot is e-mailing the relevant faculty and course coordinator to arange a time for viewing of your exam. In that session I sat down with my course coordinator and went through my anwers and how she thought they should have been answered. Luckily it turned out she outsourced her marking and she didnt agree with much of what had been done, so she agreed to a re-mark on the spot. It's then a lengthy process of the exam being remarked, and then the reviewed grade being approved by the dean of the faculty. It was really only a month ago that I found out I went to a 7 from a 6 (I was on 84% too). The process sucks, and remarks arn't often awarded, but if you're dead keen on that 7 then it's probably worth it.
Ok, thanks for clearing that up.

Also i think this has been touched on a bit already, but the GPA system seems pretty arbitrary. IMO it would make sense to just deal with percentages. For one it would make it easier for employers who look at marks to see exactly how the applicant has done. The GPA just gives them a 10-15% range they fell in for that subject.

I dunno, just my opinion, but especially when looking at 4s and 7s where there is no difference between 50/64% and 85/100%, seems like a BS system.

Anyway, just my rant.
yeah hybrid i'm BEcon/BComm @ uq
I bitch about the gpa system pretty much every semester. Your marks are always understated when you use gpa, and, in some cases like when I apply for competitive spots like PhD, my gpa ranks me lower than my actual overall ranking. It's f***ing unfair and idiotic.
On my CV I don't have GPA, I use my Percentage instead, as it is better and puts me up a rank.

I'm pretty sure most non-QLD states use percentage, so screw GPA I'm not using it.
Reduaram
Percentage of what?
Percentage passed for each subject. Instead of using the average of your GPA you use the average of your percentage passed, it is more often then not, higher.
Toll, one of those science places you mentioned in your previous post: I know/knew the ops manager and it was stated by this person that on hiring employees they do not consider their GPA in the selection process.

I'm not trying to say GPA means nothing, but as a stated before some employers don't give too much, if any, weight.

last edited by mission at 09:45:16 27/Nov/08
sparrow
while I agree gps may not be the best approach, I love it cause usually I'm good at just scraping in a higher grade, so it makes me feel smarter than I actually am!
i guess if you're going to make yourself a career student, GPA is all you really have to hold on to
Instead of using the average of your GPA you use the average of your percentage passed, it is more often then not, higher.

It is ALWAYS higher.
while I agree gps may not be the best approach, I love it cause usually I'm good at just scraping in a higher grade, so it makes me feel smarter than I actually am!

You've worked the system out perfectly:( In my quest for being the bestest student ever I forgot about the possibility of getting an idiot marker for my thesis. Ended up with 76... totally shocked, as is Penny. The "comments" are ridiculous too.

I know/knew the ops manager and it was stated by this person that on hiring employees they do not consider their GPA in the selection process.

As I said, it does come down to the job you apply for. Most lower end Lab Monkey courses don't bother with GPA. It is the higher end stuff that you really need to know what you are doing were it matters. Again the experience will trump it, but it helps when you and Mr X have 5 years Lab experience and are apply for that 60K job. Partly because if you have a high GPA you know at a deep level as to what it is you are actually doing when you follow the procedures.

That stuff really helps when you get results that don't fit the procedure. In fact, it becomes a necessity to correctly identify and fix problem results to reach those higher pay levels within places like QML. These are the sorts of levels were you are expected to have higher levels of knowledge.

It would suck to miss out on a job or pay rise 3 years after your degree because you didn't understand the fundamentals of your course or because you didn't try hard enough.

épic™
can't you get it remarked billy
My supervisor based an appeal on the fact that one marker (the one who slammed my thesis) did not submit individual comments, yet their mark was weighted more heavily. My supervisor said that, from previous years, this was the best way to get a remark. The reply from the committee came back saying that the examiner "lost their comments", but that's still not grounds for a re-mark. Seriously, what? Fortunately for me it's not the difference between 1st and 2nd class Honours, BUT it would mean a higher GPA and a better overall rank for the year, which would put me in a better place for a PhD scholarship.
Better off without doing a PhD I say.
JohnnieD
I'd rather say I got a gpa of 6.4 than 79% etc. They might go so what happened with that other 21%? I mean true % is better if you have a lower gpa but if you get a 7, it's obviously not always 100% but it doesn't matter if you got 86 or 98%, there's nothing higher than a 7.
^ if your in that boat then yes but 79% can also equate to a gpa of 5.5.
Billy- your rant is exactly why students nor employers should take GPA seriously.

It might have been a brilliant report, but it got give 76%. There isn't standardisation between universities.

Furthermore to get a degree in a field these days, you are allowed to include all sorts of random credit points from other fields.

Too many variables, they are better off making a 5 a pass at university, and giving everyone one of two ranks ... P / F

Employers can judge potential employees with letter / interview / mate's dad old school tie makes a phone call. Let's face it, the latter probably gets most people a job anyway.

Only problem with this is.. no one wants to spend a buck to bother ranking applicants themselves, so they ask the uni to pretend to do it.
But when GPA does matter is when you're going for a PhD scholarship, which is extremely competitive. Students get ranked throughout the entire University based on a few factors of which GPA is a major one. They then give out X scholarships to the top X ranked students. If you got an unfair grade somewhere along the line and it means you're ranked X+1, that's too bad.

Exactly.
But it would also be reasonable to say that other students would have also got, atleast what they perceived as, unfair grades.

So it's not like one student is being sigled out and discriminated against. If you don't get the scholarship, foot the bill. Or get a job at the uni and get them to foot the bill, easy!
Heh I'm sure you can imagine that being a lot harder than it is to post :)
No it's not, cause that's what I did :) But I admit, I was pretty lucky getting the job.

last edited by mission at 10:30:02 28/Nov/08
Grr just got my uni results now. Always seem to get 6's but can never manage a 7 :( Hate it when I get a 6 but there's no feedback to explain what I needed to improve on to get the 7.

Work hard enough to get that extra 1-10%
you are a total failure minxy
QUT results are up early for those interested ^^

Also, with regards to GPA, if you really want something, you do work experience (thereby getting experience and showing you are motivated and keen) and you get to know the people in the field. GPA matters if you want something decent but having experience and contacts = huge advantage.

agent99, you have an awsome name, you are not a failure
I hate Spook :(
no you dont
Maybe just a little