JohnnieD
Ok so need some qgl fashion help. Obviously a lot of places espec in the valley accept only shoes like this. Are there any alternatives anyone can recommend or is it worth just buying some and secretly be ashamed of myself? I once wore skinnies cos some mates (male and female) begged me to. I insulted myself in my head all night... If you love skinnies tho - each to their own. And yes I know laceless, white leather shoes have been in for ages now but I've avoided them for as long as I could.
Commence style tips below |
| #0 08:48pm 13/11/08 |
JohnnieD
and yes feel free to tell me html to paste the pic in the post.
| #1 08:50pm 13/11/08 |
WreckTim
just get white laceless volleys.
| #2 08:55pm 13/11/08 |
Thongs are 4 de clubz mate.
| #3 08:58pm 13/11/08 |
What kind of clubs are you talking about? If you're just after the run of the mill places like Family, Birdees, Mustang etc, try something like this:
http://z.about.com/d/shoes/1/0/D/g/Converse_All_Stars.jpg I have the same shoes but without the paisley/pattern stuff, and I have never been rejected anywhere in the valley while wearing them. What kind of clothes do you wear? If you're just a jeans and shirt kind of guy, you should be fine with pretty much any kind of leather shoe as long as it's clean and matches whatever else you're wearing. The only people who wear shoes like the ones you linked are nancies who go for the whole "torn faded jeans + pink on hot pink shirt + bleached hair + aviator sunnies" f*****ry or the whole "skinny, emo leg jeans with giant elf shoes" look. One night a few months back one of my mates got rejected at Family because of his shoes (they were a bit grubby). SO we went elsewhere for an hour, came back and he waited around teh corner while everybody else got stamped. I waited 5 mins then went back out, swapped shoes with my mate and went back in. He got in with my shoes, and we swapped back. We now refer to this event as 'the great switcheroo escapade'. As simple as it is, it seemed incredibly cool and clever to us at the time (yes, we were wasted). Just remember that your shoes just have to match whatever else you're wearing, and it's just as much about how you wear it as what you're wearing. |
| #4 09:07pm 13/11/08 |
Wtf? Since when do you need white leather shoes to get into a nightclub in the Valley? City maybe...or I am so out of touch with what's hip these days?
I have always worn sneakers/skate shoes and if they don't let me in I know straight away it's gonna be a club full of wankers in white leather shoes and popped collars. No loss whatsoever. |
| #5 09:07pm 13/11/08 |
qft
| #6 09:09pm 13/11/08 |
HA, good point Incredible_vegitable.
I guess it's kind of hard because bouncers will reject guys for all sorts of reasons yet they'll just cite something about your outfit to make it easier. Like, there might be too many guys already in there, or they might think that you look like you won't spend any money, or they could just not like the look of you. White leather shoes have been in for quite a while now, I'm getting ready for them to get replaced by something else... |
| #7 09:13pm 13/11/08 |
I guess it's kind of hard because bouncers will reject guys for all sorts of reasons yet they'll just cite something about your outfit to make it easier. Like, there might be too many guys already in there, or they might think that you look like you won't spend any money, or they could just not like the look of you.They must work on some strange rules up there because I only knock people back if a) they are intox/underage or b) their clothes don't match the dress standards of the venue. c) they are f***wits |
| #8 09:19pm 13/11/08 |
Where abouts do you work though?
| #9 09:21pm 13/11/08 |
Melbas.
| #10 09:22pm 13/11/08 |
if you have to ask, we cant help you
| #11 09:25pm 13/11/08 |
they mainly blame your shoes because of how u are dressed or how pissed u r.... you just need to look like you know how to dress and you can pretty much get in anywhere... just dont look like bogan pretty much
| #12 09:29pm 13/11/08 |
melbas is the best joint down the coast. We always try different spots down there but come crawling back to melbas every time. Had an epic night there on indy weekend.
Bedroom and sincity good as well. Just wear nice stuff... it isn't hard or expensive to avoid dress regulations. |
| #13 10:10pm 13/11/08 |
ATHLETech
Cant beat a good pair of RM Williams boots!
| #14 10:14pm 13/11/08 |
Just get a pair of adidas TKD's.. $150 from footlocker. You will get in anywhere with those.
I prefer to wear my kustoms for dancing.. which is a bitch cos it usually gets me droppin back to my mates to change (yay 5 min walk). last edited by JakeG at 22:32:46 13/Nov/08 |
| #15 10:32pm 13/11/08 |
JohnnieD
Yeah I wear jeans and a nice shirt or T. Shoes normally skate or street shoes eg G units or some "print" Adidas superstars. Or depending on the club I might wear black polished Florsheims or some nice casual Timberlands. Now that exams are over I've got a few nights coming up with these 19yo girls who won't shut up until I get something "laceless" because of the valley dress codes. And yes I will conform for them.
| #16 10:46pm 13/11/08 |
JohnnieD
Yeah my philosophy has always been just look presentable and you always get let in. And if not wait til you are with a group of girls and they don't reject you. The only time I've not been let in was at Porto for having on a black Foo Fighters t-shirt(!) as they apparently don't allow "band shirts." But yeah I know bouncers make reasons up to not let you in, it was me and another mate and we both have shaved heads - probably thought we were skinheads. I blame my mate ;)
| #17 10:50pm 13/11/08 |
Royal elastics ftmfw
| #18 11:36pm 13/11/08 |
Actual, honest to god girls have posted more manly threads than this on this forum. |
| #19 12:13am 14/11/08 |
dont be such a square trog
lets be honest, girls are more likely to be attracted to a clean pair of adidas gazelle's (white on black with the gold lettering) than they are to a l70 paladin with epic shoulders |
| #20 12:17am 14/11/08 |
I like to wear a short black mini skirt and a wife beater
| #21 12:30am 14/11/08 |
ive got both. windsor smith have a nice range of leathers.
| #22 12:30am 14/11/08 |
Azaria
The shoes you wear depend on what else you are wearing. eg. Don't wear brown shoes with black jeans etc.
Just look what other people are wearing to get some ideas, and next time you go clothes shopping go somewhere decent that can sell you more than just a slogan t-shirt and talk to the sales staff there about what to wear. Somewhere like Always Habit is a good starting point. Learning how to dress doesn't make you gay or whatever, it just makes you an adult. At least until the 4th drink :) last edited by Azaria at 00:46:22 14/Nov/08 |
| #23 12:46am 14/11/08 |
Always Habit is a f***en ripoff, nice stuff but.
| #24 12:53am 14/11/08 |
If you're getting rejected for your shoes then your whole getup probably just sucks balls.
You should be able to get in with sneakers or leathers providing they aren't 1) Beat up 2) Look like your mother bought them or 3) You bought them from where your mother used to buy them Here's some sweet classy kicks I found just having a browse: http://adn.is.bluefly.com/mgen/Bluefly/prodImage.ms?productCode=301647301&width=340&height=408 http://adn.is.bluefly.com/mgen/Bluefly/prodImage.ms?productCode=213332000&width=340&height=408 If you prefer casuals then avoid anything that looks like its sold in a hiking wear shop!! NERDS SEEM TO LOVE THIS KIND OF STUFF. It's pussy repellant!! Stick to shoes that are either: 1) old school adidas - stan smiths, super stars, gazelles/whatever it's all gravy (go for less chunky though - and only get the silly print ones if you are into that sort of thing) 2) Ninja slippers (as JakeG mentioned - adidas TKD) 3) Anything that looks like nigel mansell wore it Alternatively, get some hot babes™ with you and can walk in with Jesus sandles. /fashion nazi |
| #25 12:59am 14/11/08 |
Don't wear brown shoes |
| #26 01:50am 14/11/08 |
f*** yes brown shoes and with black jeans why not
| #27 02:33am 14/11/08 |
brown shoes are for dockies and miners and backpacker nerds
just sayin |
| #28 02:41am 14/11/08 |
Na but I am talking pimpin hot steppers not the kind of s*** you expect to see on a tour guide.
Do dockies still exist??? |
| #29 02:52am 14/11/08 |
Get retro Nike Air Jordan shoes, they're da bomb yo.
| #30 11:01am 14/11/08 |
| #31 11:05am 14/11/08 |
Get retro Nike Air Jordan shoes, they're da bomb yo. Can you get those anywhere, especially the ones that were around in the early 90's? |
| #32 11:08am 14/11/08 |
if you sux at dressing get a chicky to help you!!
| #33 11:10am 14/11/08 |
fyi superstars > *
| #34 11:14am 14/11/08 |
Yeah pretty sure you can get them at footlocker. They re-released these in bits and pieces. I got Jordan XI B&W and B&Red a few years back. Only worn the B&Red once, I love them. I'd like to get the Jordan 3,4,5 they're awesome. :) I really don't dig the newer Jordan's especially after XIV. |
| #35 11:17am 14/11/08 |
DO NOT WEAR NITROS SHOES THEY ARE HORRIBLE
| #36 11:21am 14/11/08 |
Yeah pretty sure you can get them at footlocker. They re-released these in bits and pieces. I got Jordan XI B&W and B&Red a few years back. Only worn the B&Red once, I love them. Just did a bit of googling and Jordan 5's is what I'd be after. Any old footlocker or do some stores speacilize a little more? |
| #37 11:26am 14/11/08 |
boffiend
Just did a bit of googling and Jordan 5's is what I'd be after. try Laced, or Apartment in the city, or s-lab in the valley. |
| #38 11:31am 14/11/08 |
I reckon the one on Queens St mall might have it. I love Jordan V also, I had them when I was in high school. I had Black with silver, then Black and Red f*** yeah, they're the fly. Didn't last very long using it out door though.
Personally, the most comfortable ones I worn playing, would have to be 6, 11 and 14. The rest just look really cool but not real good on the court playing. :) |
| #39 11:42am 14/11/08 |
you're high if you think you're going to get in anywhere in the valley in basketball shoes
| #40 11:57am 14/11/08 |
I don't think we're talking about going clubbing with them. Sif get my Jordan's soiled on some dirty valley clubs LOL.
| #41 12:08pm 14/11/08 |
WreckTim
i have a pair of brown sketchers and a white set of volleys. never once been rejected because of either.
or just join a random group of bitches in line. |
| #42 12:27pm 14/11/08 |
Reduaram
Where's a good place to get Lacoste shoes from?
| #43 01:22pm 14/11/08 |
I've got some of these converse all stars. 80 bucks from Universal. Pretty comfortable and fine for clubs. They get dirty quick though (should clean mine...).
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/8080/97053697nc3.jpg |
| #44 01:32pm 14/11/08 |
wintergarden 4 lacoste
| #45 01:34pm 14/11/08 |
boffiend
I've got white all-stars as well, and yeah they get really grubby really fast.
Put them in an old pillow case and throw them in the wash = problem solved though. |
| #46 01:49pm 14/11/08 |
"sorry you're not dressed valley enough."
i would love to punch those c***s in the throat. |
| #47 01:55pm 14/11/08 |
this thread needs less serious
| #48 02:44pm 14/11/08 |
my valley kicks
http://www.magic.org/store/images/ShoeBeesBluWhtstr.jpg |
| #49 03:45pm 14/11/08 |
http://www.windsorsmith.com/
http://www.stacyadams.com/shop-sa/index.ep http://product.dcshoes.com/mens.asp?catalog=2008FALLFWMAIN&category=SHO-CURRENT I've got a pair of these awesome suede dress boots at home which i'll have to post the brand for.. cant remember off the top of my head. Very similar to these:- http://www.kennethcole.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3332220&cp=3075215.3075224.3075249&view=all&parentPage=family last edited by GaZ at 15:56:01 14/Nov/08 |
| #50 03:56pm 14/11/08 |
i've been getting into clubs in the valley for the last ~15years wearing gym boots. old crappy gym boots. realise. ;D
| #51 03:57pm 14/11/08 |
i may possibly have a shoe fettish..
| #52 04:00pm 14/11/08 |
Suede shoes.. I love the look of them but, man I'm not careful enough to own them. They look great though.
I usually get my "dressy" (yes probably labelled faggy by QGL members) http://www.veinwear.com/ http://www.politix.com.au/ http://www.aquila.com.au/ (not so much aquila brand any more as they've gone completely f***ing boring - Hudson shoes aren't too bad but too exy cause they're imported UK brand) |
| #53 05:54pm 14/11/08 |
(yes probably labelled faggy by |
| #54 06:02pm 14/11/08 |
I have these in black and white http://i22.ebayimg.com/05/i/001/1b/1d/d8bd_1.JPG They are the bomb so comfy and flexible, great for dancing in.
| #55 06:17pm 14/11/08 |
nike hi tops
| #56 06:38pm 14/11/08 |
reebok pump
| #57 07:01pm 14/11/08 |
JohnnieD, do NOT, repeat do NOT wear shoes like the ones you linked. As described previously, they are only for people who want to wear pink polo shirts with their collars popped whilst drinking a martini.
Try something like these (if you're wearing a t-shirt and jeans).... http://www.buyandwalk.com/department/men/casual/adidas-goodyear-street-MFCD-046086-DP-34.html Depending on where you're going exactly and/or if you are wearing a collared long sleeve shirt with jeans, keep up with the leather shoes^^. Also, wtf with not being let in wearing a Foo Fighters shirt?! Who doesn't like Foo Fighters?!?! |
| #58 07:06pm 14/11/08 |
Also congrats on nearly being done for the semester! My last exam is tomorrow at 1.30pm...the lecturer thought she was "doing us a favour" by having the exam scheduled late on a saturday... lol.
| #59 07:08pm 14/11/08 |
look like me and you will get in everywhere... everywhere!
| #60 07:09pm 14/11/08 |
http://www.buyandwalk.com/department/men/casual/adidas-goodyear-street-MFCD-046086-DP-34.html
Very boring. Get these if you don't like hot chicks. |
| #61 07:09pm 14/11/08 |
^ No, your face.
last edited by Agent 99 at 19:23:39 14/Nov/08 |
| #62 07:23pm 14/11/08 |
judge
What is going wrong with the world A bunch of gamers talking shoe fashion... at length! |
| #63 07:10pm 14/11/08 |
Those Royal Elastics look pretty sweet. Where can I get some, and how much should I expect to pay?
| #64 08:26pm 14/11/08 |
probably get them from universal.. easily over $200....
Adidas TKD ftw but everyone wears em. |
| #65 08:34pm 14/11/08 |
JohnnieD
Hey trog it's not like I'm asking what colour bandanas are in this season
I thought this was the place in the know: http://qgl.ausforums.com/index.php/439207/?agn=thread&id=2527409 http://qgl.ausforums.com/index.php/439207/?agn=thread&id=2538150 Plus I know there's more threads that that. |
| #66 09:03pm 14/11/08 |
I got mine from a local shop called Vivid for $160, I have also seen them at universal I think also for $160. So for $10 more you get a much better looking shoe than an adidas.
| #67 09:42pm 14/11/08 |
i paid $100 for my royals or something at some place in the DFO at jindalee. most comfortable shoes ive worn in years
| #68 11:08pm 14/11/08 |
Royal Elastics are f***ing over price. You'd be better off getting the converse chuck taylor. You can get leather (same style as the canvas ones) chuck taylor for ~$100 at DFO at eagle farm. The only problem is they only come in black or white.
| #69 12:11am 15/11/08 |
this how i be kickin off
http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/hdr/CRW_5148_49_501_1024.jpg actually most of that s*** i dont wear anymore, i need some new gears anyone know any aus places that sell shoes online? |
| #70 12:27am 15/11/08 |
judge
WEAR FLIP FLOPS AND IF SOME PLACE DOESNT LET YOU IN ITS NOT WORTH GOING TO! |
| #71 12:09pm 15/11/08 |
White all stars are the win, you can get them for $30 on ebay and as long as they are crispy clean you can roll anywhere. Just add jeans + black shirt and serve.
| #72 01:34pm 15/11/08 |
JUST GOTO BIRDEES! they dont give a f***
| #73 01:55pm 15/11/08 |
sparrow
JUST GOTO BIRDEES! they dont give a f*** I've had friends rejected from birdees for wearing the wrong shoes. |
| #74 03:45pm 15/11/08 |
yeah i'd bet they were wearing black leather shoes?
| #75 02:28pm 17/11/08 |
Most "trendy" guys shoes are so foul.
| #76 02:33pm 17/11/08 |
mine are the bestest ever
| #77 02:35pm 17/11/08 |
| #78 02:43pm 17/11/08 |
Actual, honest to god girls have posted more manly threads than this on this forum. I agree with the man with long hair and a hanky on his head! |
| #79 02:44pm 17/11/08 |
^ bite |
| #80 02:46pm 17/11/08 |
yer casa, i got my royals there a few years back (also they have an excellent ben sherman range of clothes)
only problem is f*** all sizes |
| #81 05:17pm 17/11/08 |
Hey trog it's not like I'm asking what colour bandanas are in this seasonAnd that's why you're not cool White all stars are the win, you can get them for $30 on ebay and as long as they are crispy clean you can roll anywhere. Just add jeans + black shirt and serve.We're not all male models, nitro |
| #82 05:45pm 17/11/08 |
fyi, bandanas are never ever cool, regardless of how horribly long and curly your hair is
| #83 05:57pm 17/11/08 |
Gay.
Seriously Gay. I think everyone needs to take a step back and realise, you are a male, talking about shoes, somethings not right. |
| #84 06:26pm 17/11/08 |
| #84 |