Topic: Ron Howard on the US Election
Featuring Andy Griffith and Henry Winkler. Worth a watch IMO just to see them busting out Happy Days:

See more Ron Howard videos at Funny or Die

Spoiler:
he endorses obama
meh why do heaps of celebs feel it's their duty to tell people how to vote?
that wasn't very clear tbh
With any luck most people don't need to be told how to vote:
Polls and models and projections and stuff.
he's just following the liberal hollywood trend.

note: one thing i have learned from my 7 years of campaigning is that the polls are pretty damn accurate. also centerbet has obama on 1.08 and mccain on 8.00!

so now 2 countries get a rhetoric obsessed hollowman as their leader!

last edited by infi at 21:59:41 24/Oct/08
meh why do heaps of celebs feel it's their duty to tell people how to vote?
Presumably because they know people are sheep and will do what they say
i think the technical term is: "sheeple" (or maybe "sheople").
Matt
Seriously infi? I would like to think of myself as leaning centre-right but there is no way in hell that I would vote for anyone but Obama. The GOP have gone so far right that its almost scary, not to mention the religious craziness. The USA needs to start looking out for the little guy after s***ting on him for so long. Sure its easy to be right leaning in Australia with such a great social safety net already in place (like UHC, centrelink, etc), but I think you would have to be very cold to lean far right in the states.

That's just my opinion coming from living in the states for the better part of a year and getting to know a lot of people there.
so now 2 countries get a rhetoric obsessed hollowman as their leader!

Wait, what is Bush? Or is he not a rhetoric obsessed puppet?

Personally I wouldn't vote for Obama because he is black. How can the "Man" keep a Brother down when the "Man" is a Brother?
yeah Bush was way out of control but I would hope McCain being a more mature person would have more sense. I sure as s*** don't trust Obama. His only career has been that of a spin doctor.
haha what
... its like Obama has already won.

Question now is how long will Obama last before the 'Good Ole Boys' put a bullet in him?

HyperJ
This was something I came across the other day... How would the rest of the world vote in the US election?

http://www.iftheworldcouldvote.com
Fizzer
Hey i've got an idea how about voting for the guy that can form a complete coherent sentence! Oh wait we'z can't do that coz he is black!!

Fool me once shame on you fool me twice... and ya ... ya can't get fooled again.

last edited by Fizzer at 00:33:06 25/Oct/08
haha that site is awesome
"funny or die"
I guess die then?
readers digest showed similar results in their worldwide poll.
DM
It seems everyone outside the US wants Obama to win. And a lot of the US wants him to win too. Can you imagine the total s*** storm that will happen if he doesn't? As chris rock said on 1 of episodes of Real Time with Bill Maher, "any activity you plan on doing that involves black people, ain't getting done"
you just wanna stop obama from keepin' it real.
Some Fat Bastard
Classic infi, not a clue in cooee and when he was doing so well in the meltdown thread. Oh well!
op was terrible

i honestly think obama is teh best choice for americans, regardless of the polls though, i dont doubt they can f*** it up
blahnana
Don't blame me, I voted for Kodos
McCain should have been pres for the last 8 years. Hillary should have been pres for the next 8, except shes half the reason the us is so f***ed up right now.
f*** Hilary. Mitt Romney was the best candidate.
hahah, you're not serious are you?
f***ing oath. He was the most moderate of the republicans. And there was no way in hell i was voting for hilary or obama.
more moderate than guiliani?
Guiliani never a chance. His north-east powerbase was never going to be enough to win support from the south/west. I suppose you could say the same for Romney, except Romney had a more traditional conservative policies, at least economically. I liked Romney as I thought he had the economic credentials needed at this time. and this was before the latest crash.

who will win, jack johnson or bitter rival john jackson?

don't let their identical dna fool you, they differ on some key issues
f***ing oath. He was the most moderate of the republicans.

no, mccain was. hell mccain had a democrat speak at his nomination thingy. i think he was al gores running mate or something?
Some Fat Bastard
Hillary should have been pres for the next 8, except shes half the reason the us is so f***ed up right now.
Please direct me to the legislation Hillary authored and put to Congress under Bill Clinton's administration. Which formal position did she hold in his Administration? President, Vice President, Secretary of Defense, Secretary of the Treasury, State Secretary? Which? I'm curious to know what reasons other than being the First lady that you believe the s*** in the USA is half her fault.

McCain should have been pres for the last 8 years.
McCain is a doting old wanker. Yesterday's man.

last edited by Some Fat Bastard at 14:29:20 25/Oct/08
Just like Janette Howard was more powerful than all the Cabinet ministers put together.
Some Fat Bastard
^ That's because she had a field mouse as a husband. Whereas Hillary was married to Studdly Longshank.

last edited by Some Fat Bastard at 14:39:22 25/Oct/08
Some Fat Bastard
As far as I am concerned I am not an Obama lover but for heavens sake to believe McCain is a viable alternative is a long way off from reality.

If anything I didn't like much of what was on offer in the Primaries. I must admit the best of a bad bunch were Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, John Edwards and maybe just maybe Guilliani (out on a limb with that but we'll never know). I'm not even a Hilary fan but compared to McCain anything even Hilary and Obama are a far better choice than an dottery old man who doesn't know his Martha from his Arthur.........and to show such poor wisdom in choosing Sarah Palin for Vice President just put the nail in the coffin for how idiotic and senile McCain is.

The world doesn't need another American President living by the doctrine of the 20th Centry. It's over, gone, kapoot. We are in the 21st century and we need a new direction and new thinking of even our most sacred institutions to appraise whether they now suit a modern, global, information woven world and whether they a really serving best the people.

We need a balance of common sense, modern understanding and aspirations to do good. What I'm worried about is we may never find such a person leading the USA because of the vested interests in 20th Century thinking by Corporations that flourished under such a confrontational, take no prisoners ideology. It's time for new people with new ideas and new values to provide a vision that includes us all and not just those of yesteryear.

Everything I said can be applied here in Australia. The Liberal choice at the last election was appalling. Even though I'm not a Peter Costello fan it would have been a far better option for Australians to have more than 1 choice. Last election because of Howard we had one choice. The only choice we felt we had was no more of the same. What a poor choice they offered us.

I'm not a huge Rudd fan. I am glad we no longer have Howard and I wouldn't have voted for Pete even though I think of any of the Liberals I have some respect for him. People like Abbot and whatnot and even Turnbull do nothing for me. We don't need such limited choices. We should be entitled to more choice and better quality of choice and choice that's relevant to everyone not just one side or the other.

We live in a homogenous world. About time we got over our personal differences about wealth and status and worked together. I don't mean we all get paid the same, I mean we don't begrudge someone who doesn't aspire to wealth and fame as someone unworthy of life and our considerations. Worthiness is subjective and to the sick and dying a nurse can appear more worthy than a doctor. How often do you see the specialist compared to the nurse whom you see everyday. Then again for that brief moment you spend with the specialist you may owe him your life. The nurse you owe for your day to day welfare and in a lot of cases your mental and emotional wellbeing. All just as important in the saving of your life.

So to me a nurse is worth as much as a doctor. I don't think they should be paid the same but to me and when I'm in crisis both are equally as important.....and worthy of my utmost respect and therefore the nurse should always be entitled by society to a remuneration that ensures she is at least rewarded substantially to acquire a decent standard of living which includes rest and recreational activities. We all need the basic necesseties and some ability to enjoy rest and recreation. That doesn't mean we all have to go skiing in Switzerland nor do I think everyone enjoys the same and thus not want to. I myself just want to go camping near the beach and go fishing nearly all day plus a few beers.

I really can't understand why so many people put up barriers in thinking this isn't possible. I guess this is where over-self-interest ruins the pot. Everyone is entitled to some degree of self-interest but I feel to no more than where that self-interest causes grief or harms others. That's when self-interest in my opinion crosses the boundary of acceptable behaviour.

Okay, end of story, back to my 1792 Bourbon and lazy lazy Saturday afternoon for the first time in 8 months. You don't know what ya missin'.

One last thing, I am probably more concerned than most by the USA Meltdown considering I am AsiaPac/SAfrica Technical Head for American based software company Meridium Inc. I'm very interested in who becomes President and what's happening in the Economy for the future welfare of our company. My only problem is at best there is only one choice and that's a sad reflection on US politics.
No, John Howard and Costello were never married.
Some Fat Bastard
No, John Howard and Costello were never married.
Messy divorce nonetheless.
i like how you typed so much and didn't really say anything
The world doesn't need another American President living by the doctrine of the 20th Centry. It's over, gone, kapoot. We are in the 21st century and we need a new direction and new thinking of even our most sacred institutions to appraise whether they now suit a modern, global, information woven world and whether they a really serving best the people.
I really hate it when people say we are in the 21th century and because of that everything should be different and better.

Btw why do you care so much when you can't even vote?
As far as I am concerned

tl;dr

but yeah, the world sure is homogeneous right now
i like how you typed so much and didn't really say anything

Do you write speeches for Obama by any chance?
oh infi
http://moezilla.newsvine.com/_news/2008/10/23/2033587-two-stories-about-barack-obamas-compassion

how could anyone hate a man with such a big heart of gold?
Btw why do you care so much when you can't even vote?

Because the world is pasteurised, didn't you read his post?
how could anyone hate a man with such a big heart of gold?

wow what an awesome urban legend.
im pretty sure its true, its on the internet

u just hate him cause hes black infi
Didn't he also heal some people or something? Or am i confusing him with someone else?
seems to me like a change is needed

all you need is a good heart. How cute. It ranks up there with the rest of his empty rhetoric.
I don't think he means well. He is just providing the public persona required to fit with his messiah complex.
you've got it all wrong infi, its an allegory to how his administration will work.

handing money to people too stupid to take care of themselves with no real obligation to repay the money in the future.

what she should have done is offload the assets she was unable to carry, keeping only those items which she felt were of the highest future value. the capital gained could be kept on hand for future purchases which would better suit the changing environment around her. what obama did was good politics but bad policy. hes given this woman a short term reprieve from a situation she managed to get herself into by not being prepared.
ron howard is a legend for making seinfeld.
kos
I'm sorry but I still don't understand how anyone can vote for a guy who has one foot in the grave and has chosen a complete political moron as his unopposable successor-to-be...

kos we're talking about the US election, aussie election was last year.
kos
I GET IT!
I really hate it when people say we are in the 21th century and because of that everything should be different and better.
It should be better. Do you remember the retarded s*** we did in the 20th? It's like a f***ing classic example of how not to run a planet. This stupid century/millenium hasn't started off much better.

I don't think Obama will necessarily be heaps better than McCain in terms of trying to make the US a shining beacon in the dark times we have but I can't see any way he won't be at least a little bit better. US is in need of vast political reform before they go anywhere useful anyway; at least Obama will be a small step in the right direction.

Seriously, if you just barrack (heh) against whoever Fox News is going for you have to be going in the right direction, right?
I sure as s*** hope he doesn't infest the US with tokenism and symbolic gestures and actually does something.

In times of trouble, like the US is experiencing now, the last thing they need is 150 reviews, committee and summits.
I sure as s*** hope he doesn't infest the US with tokenism and symbolic gestures and actually does something.

In times of trouble, like the US is experiencing now, the last thing they need is 150 reviews, committee and summits.
Yeh, they should just ACT, they need a DECIDER like Bush was
What is that supposed to mean? So far Obama's campaign has looked identical to Rudd's. He doesn't haven't any solid policies. He uses all the cool buzzwords but I can't figure out what he stands for.

So is he going to act once in the Whitehouse? I can't say I am confident he will.

By acting he won't necessarily be like Bush. He could act in a different way to Bush, or then again he could launch 150 reviews, committes and summits.
Hes going to bring change we can believe in. Why won't you believe?
Matt
Seriously, if you just barrack (heh) against whoever Fox News is going for you have to be going in the right direction, right?

You know, I made a 'barrack' joke in America and realised they don't know what the word means :\
Yeah it's an AFL term isn't it?
CARN THE PIES
The American media deals in sound bites, so it's easy to get the impression any candidate has no substance. Go to the website however and you're 1 click away from more details on the important issues.

http://www.barackobama.com/issues/
i said that after i read it. yeah tax cuts. right like america needs more tax cuts. whoever is gonna balance the budget should win.
we don't need a thinker, we need a doer!

someone who'll act without considering the consequences.
Can't someone else do it?
i said that after i read it. yeah tax cuts. right like america needs more tax cuts. whoever is gonna balance the budget should win.
What do you mean by 'balance the budget', exactly? Do you mean stop them from getting further into their record national debt? Or start trying to claw their way out of it?

Nothing they're doing in the next 4 or even 8 years will make a dent in their national debt.

There's a f***ing awesome Neal Stephenson book about this sort of thing called Interface. It's a sort of black comedy sci-fi thing - basically the US President decides to forgive the national debt and all these massive companies that own most of the debt organise to rig the election so they basically are running the country. It's complete sci-fi but f*** me if it doesn't seem like something that could actually happen there.
hai guys, i think infi mite be a terrorist

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5iFK9c9KTpdbjhYyuWIlZyAuyqeJgD93VA3B80

Al-Qaida-linked Web site backs McCain as president
Matt
yeah tax cuts. right like america needs more tax cuts. whoever is gonna balance the budget should win.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/story/2008/06/09/ST2008060900950.html

Given how little the lower middle class actually get paid, I think Obama is more on the ball with his tax plan. I find McCain's plan offensive.
kos
I don't see what's so wrong with McCain's plan?

Obviously the people under the most financial pressure are the ones earning over $2.87 million, just think how horrible it must be for them...

Not really very hard to guess which bracket McCain is in either.
I dont think McCain is all that bad by himself. I wouldn't agree with his Tax but most other things he seemes to be ok on.

I would vote for anyone else to stop Palin from getting anywhere near the WhiteHouse though. Anyone else. Even you.
ah so now we are going to start the politics of envy - mark latham style. cut down the achievers and tax the s*** out of them. way to encourage success guys.

they already have much lower income tax rates in the US compared to Australia for example. a single person pays 25% up to $78,850!

they shouldn't be cutting any taxes over there right now imo

3rd from the top, actually.
i heard he owns 6 houses!
er no wait, 7!!!!
yeah but they are all worth about $30,000 now.
kos
ah so now we are going to start the politics of envy - mark latham style. cut down the achievers and tax the s*** out of them. way to encourage success guys.

You're totally right! Instead of risking discouraging those poor embattled people who are the most successful, and will have enough money for more than one house either way, we should instead run the country with money from the poorest people who can barely afford the one house.

Way to encourage people to live.
kos

3rd from the top, actually.

Perhaps you're a little confused, this is family income, his wife had an income of over 4 million in 2007.
Instead of risking discouraging those poor embattled people who are the most successful, and will have enough money for more than one house either way, we should instead run the country with money from the poorest people who can barely afford the one house.

Then afterwards we can commence rolling out the 5 year plans, the farming communes and the bread lines. What a magnificent vision. The rich will give up on their greedy "entrepreneurialism" and leave it to the government to provide for its children. Just the way father Karl Marx envisaged.
kos
It's funny that the only way you can argue against what is obviously the most rational decision is by assuming that it is intended in the most extreme implementation. Otherwise it becomes increasingly hard to convince everyone of what is essentially a very selfish opinion doesn't it?

No one is saying tax the wealthy until they have just as little money as the poor.
sort of like how guaranteeing bank deposits was the most rational decision for the australian government.

if you f*** with the system it will bite you in the most unintended ways. it's just the typical hayek warning that most grand social planners ignore.
increase taxes on the wealthy and they'll just move their money elsewhere

edit: 'the road to hell is paved with good intentions'... heh i was just thinking that as i read this thread infi

last edited by taggs at 15:42:07 28/Oct/08
kos
Yeah because adjusting tax rates is really f***ing with the system big time... it's never been done before, who knows what consequences it could have!!~
i was a big fan of the baby bonus (not so much family tax a and b) when it first came out, now i am first to admit it has been an unmitigated disaster.

it's amazing how the punters swarm in one direction or the other at the most minor of changes in government tax and welfare systems.
kos
I agree that it was a disaster but then I thought it was silly from the start, never been a fan of these novelty welfare payment ideas personally, and to try to encourage people to breed even more is just moronic.
That said, I don't think you can lump tax rates in with opinions of these kinds of systems.
both tax rates and welfare payments can directly affect people's incomes and their incentives to work... so in that sense they can be seen as equivalent and most definately would be 'lumped together'.

edit: clarity

last edited by taggs at 16:31:52 28/Oct/08
kos
Firstly, I said you shouldn't lump your opinions of each together. Secondly, many many things can affect people's incomes and their incentives to work, I certainly would not see them as equivalent just because of their potential to do this.
I agree that it was a disaster but then I thought it was silly from the start, never been a fan of these novelty welfare payment ideas personally, and to try to encourage people to breed even more is just moronic.

to be fair, people are breeding less, at least in australia. and replacing fertility with immigration only makes things worse as far as an aging population goes. the baby bonus didn't make people breed though, and it seems to have (along with the other bonuses) discouraged savings if anything. (i have no basis for that last point though.)

throwing that sort of money at people on welfare is a stupid idea though, even more so with this $1000 one off bonus.
kos
Fair enough, I guess I'm just a little worried after seeing Idiocracy... great movie though!
haha:

kos
... wha?
i was a big fan of the baby bonus (not so much family tax a and b) when it first came out, now i am first to admit it has been an unmitigated disaster.

haha, yer people having kids as a result of the baby bonus was totally unexpected!

also

looks like snl has snaffled up all a few more of the boys from awesometown

last edited by Spook at 06:38:34 29/Oct/08