Topic: Chuck a sickie (fail)
Sent: Wednesday, 27 August 2008 9:35 a.m.
To: Kyle Doyle
Subject: Absence on Thursday 21st 2008
Hi Kyle,
Please provide a medical certificate stating a valid reason for your sick leave on Thursday 21st 2008.
Thank You
NIRESH REGMI
Real Time Manager, Workforce Operations
Ground Floor, 30 Ross Street, Glebe, NSW, 2037
T: +61 2 9009 1329 Extn:61329
F: + 61 2 9009 1734
W:http://www.aapt.com.au

Sent: Wednesday, 27 August 2008 9:38 a.m.
To: Niresh Regmi
Subject: RE: Absence on Thursday 21st 2008
Niresh,
1 day leave absences do not require a medical certificate as stated in my contract, provided I have stated that I am on leave for medical reasons.
Thanks
Regards,
Kyle Doyle
Resolutions Expert - Technical

Sent: Wednesday, 27 August 2008 9:39 a.m.
Hi Kyle,
Usually that is the case, as per your contract. However please note that leave during these occasions is only granted for genuine medical reasons. You line manager has determined that your leave was not due to medical reasons and as such we cannot grant leave on this occasion.
NIRESH REGMI

Sent: Wednesday, 27 August 2008 9:43 a.m.
To: Niresh Regmi
Hi Niresh,
My leave was due to medical reasons, so you cannot deny leave based on a line manager’s discretion, with no proof, please process leave as requested.
Thanks
Regards,
Kyle Doyle
Resolutions Expert - Technical

Sent: Wednesday, 27 August 2008 9:50 a.m.
Hi Kyle,
I believe the proof that you are after is below
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/2695/clipimage11111ul1.jpg

NIRESH REGMI

And to go with it a news article

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=651937

"Mr Doyle realised his game was up, responding in jest: "HAHAHA LMAO [laughing my arse off] epic fail… no worries man.""
thread (fail)
Someone already did this in the US
ah that sucks... blbl
Sucks for him but really kind of stupid.
Yeah, this isn't fake at all.
Sover
Getting caught out by facebook must of hurt. But honestly how stupid could you get to be caught out so easily.
how can something so pathetic and insignificant as this make the news? what the f*** has the world come to, it's getting more and more stupid everyday :/
This went all around London yesterday as well. Pretty funny.
my boss didnt accept me as a friend on facebook :(
thats a sign that you're about to lose your job
he probably just didn't know who you are maxe
u know like being e-famous and all...
i bet the boss was like OMG AN ECELEB WANTS TO ADD ME
WHATSHOULDIDOOMGWTF
SHOULDICLICKNOYES?WHATWILLHETHINKOF ME

then he accidently hits no and he breaks down crying.
this has to be the most lame thing passed around the world... it was on triple j today as well
So... basically he was in fact sick and unable to work.
And basically AAPTs HR/whoever are stupid.
I agree with Raven.

Although it isn't something you'd readily confess.
doesn't count because he made himself sick
He brags about being "still trashed". I would say that is an official warning as he has basically not turned up for work with no valid excuse.

Being drunk, while fun, isn't really an excuse.

I am sure that most employers would prefer their employees not to turn up drunk or hungover due to lack of productivity, and possible danger, but that they would in that case consider it a breach of contract and take disciplinary action.

If this is true (which is questionable) I would think AAPT would be looking at who leaked these emails and also taking disciplinary action on that. Kinda makes them look like dicks in any case for having such irresponsible employees.

AAPT can go fist themselves, biggest POS company ever.
So... basically he was in fact sick and unable to work.
And basically AAPTs HR/whoever are stupid.
*boggle*
hah

just doublechecked my contract and yes, hangovers are specifically excluded
kr0wb4r
This is one reason I made my facebook pretty strict on the privacy settings.. didn't want any photo's/comments about/by me available to potential employers.

Seriously if I was going to employ someone I'd hop onto facebook and see what they're really like if their account had no privacy restrictions. Is this legal?
can't see why not, publicly available information.
Fizzer
Mr Doyle is yet to reply to ninemsn's Facebook message requestinga comment.

Quality journalism there.. "I know i'll just interview them on facebook!"
doesn't count because he made himself sick

Oh, I get it. So how long before employers stop permitting trips to the dentist when a tooth gets infected because they didn't brush their teeth 3 times a day properly?
Or because they don't have the immune system to handle a cold they caught over the weekend while they were off work?
Drunken liberal party supporter bludging off the hard work of others ? ... s*** he should be a branch president or something
comparing a toothache to a hang over. EPIC FAIL
Wat
Quality journalism there.. "I know i'll just interview them on facebook!"

hahah i thought that too
maybe channel nine should just superpoke him to remind about the question.
maybe ninemsn should add a fish to his fishtank first? its a bit rude otherwise.
I dont get why you would want someone to come in unproductive anyway.
They wouldn't get any work done and would have accred even more sick/Holiday pay to take later.

Call in say your not feeling well (Which is the truth, you dont feel well if hungover) and dont go to work.

I'd prefer that then having someone hungover working next to me.
The guys a retard anyway though, You wouldn't be posting stuff like that if you had work people as friends/in networks. Or at all.
WreckTim
my boss asked me what was exactly wrong with me when i called in sick. i just replied a medical condition and hung up. i had a certificate so its none of their business.
My boss wouldn't care.
you'd just give him a nf pose and look in the other direction amirite?
Mr Doyle is yet to reply to ninemsn's Facebook message requesting a comment — but he has changed his Facebook status to "trying to hide".

Watch out guys ACA will be harrassing u on facebook any day now
but he has changed his Facebook status to "trying to hide".
Thats the same reason the US can't find Osama..
comparing a toothache to a hang over. EPIC FAIL
this
I dont get why you would want someone to come in unproductive anyway.
It's not about this, and you are stupid for thinking it is.
aren't you supposed to go into work when hungover, and take days off when you're feeling well?

this guy has it all back to front.
Exactly!
probably already said but too tired to read it all.

technically he may be sick and require a day off. self induced or not.

eg. went fishing, it rained, got wet, didnt get dry or warm until hours later, caught cold, now sick. = day off with the flu. legit.

never had a payed sick day or holiday here. gotta love contract work. mmm

Oh, I get it. So how long before employers stop permitting trips to the dentist when a tooth gets infected because they didn't brush their teeth 3 times a day properly?
Or because they don't have the immune system to handle a cold they caught over the weekend while they were off work?

actually read the rest and similaralready stated. appologies.. carry on.
workers have rights goddamnit!
technically he may be sick and require a day off. self induced or not.

eg. went fishing, it rained, got wet, didnt get dry or warm until hours later, caught cold, now sick. = day off with the flu. legit.
not seeing how this is comparable to drinking so late that you're still trashed when it's time to go to work.

plus, requiring a day off work doesn't magically mean you are eligible to be paid for it
kr0wb4r
meh the only time my boss would give a s*** was when it was end of month. And even then I could get away with it because I know my department used to be able to get by with 2 or 3 people and when I joined they had 8.
kr0wb4r
Sorry for double post.

But reading jims post I agree.

The general manager of finance took us all out for drinks when people from the melbourne office came up to bris.. and we were still doing shots with him (everything on the company's tab) at 2:30am.. They still expected us all to show up the next day, and everyone did. I spose normally i'd get away with it but when u go out with the boss the night before/or he knows you've been drinking you can't do that.

I just think it's dirty that they busted him through facebook :S
um if ur boss took u out for drinks that lasted till 2.30am well i know i wouldn't expect my peeps to come to work the next day.

people are people not superhuman. but if they brought it on themselves then they gotta tough it out...
no wai
Holy crap!
She said her son, whose Facebook lists his political views as "Liberal Party of Australia", had not missed a day off work throughout the saga.

Newspapers are now so anti-party one way or the other that they'll include this kind of s*** just to try to incite future bias!? Unbelievable.
LMAO is understood to be internet-speak for "Laughing my arse off".

lol gold.

(lol is understood to be internet-speak for "Laughing Out Loud")

last edited by mission at 08:40:39 25/Oct/08
Scorp
seriously, i don't understand why someone, even with a hangover cannot go to one of the many 24/7 doctors sugeries and get a note, it literally takes 15-20 mins. 5 of that is talking to the doctor.

you walk in and say 'hey mate, i've been pretty stressed latly and havent been getting much sleep because of that, i just needed a day off today, would you be fine to cover me for a sick note'

i used to do it every time i got a day off sick untill my employer just reliased i would get one and stoped asking for them.

So now AAPT and the mother are saying it didnt happen, I call BS. I reckon it happened and now AAPT are wanting to play it all down, so have told the employee and the mother to just deny it all.

yeah every email forward ive ever seen has been totally legit
someone should email Niresh and ask him if its legit;
its legit trust me