Topic: PlayStation 3 Australian Launch Date, Price

Sony have confirmed the launch date for the PlayStation 3 in Australia (and less interestingly for us, Europe):
London, 24 January 2007 (Sydney 25 January) - Sony Computer Entertainment Europe today announced that PLAYSTATION®3 will be launched in the PAL territories of Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Australasia on 23rd March 2007 at a price of EUR599 (£425, AUD 999.95, NZ 1199.95).

Responding to retail and consumer demand, SCEE confirmed that initially only the 60GB model would be available, with the 20GB model to follow later in the year dependent on demand.

An expected one million PS3 units will be made available during the initial launch period.
The press release has more information, including a list of launch titles.
they can stick that 999.95 price tag up their asses
That is bulls***, I hope they die in a fire for that price.
Tim Tibbetts
Is anyone from QGL actually planning to buy one at launch? Just interested to see how the interest is.
I am not
At $1k, they really are kidding themselves - I would say Sony can go f*** themselves but they just replaced my PSP that I bricked for free.
negative
Crakaveli
haw haw, sony eats wang.
thats one expensive console

it will want to come with a free tv AND be the beesknees
HOLY Mcf***THAT.
For a 1000 bux it better cook, clean and give good head. Otherwise i'll give em 139 cash, all in 5's.
Can get an almost decent PC upgrade for that price. Or you could get an Xbox 360 and Wii together for the same price.
Wow... I want a PS3. If I had that much money I would buy one just for the Blu-Ray. What are the internet capabilities like?
$1000?

That's roughly one of:

* A modern media PC or low-end laptop
* A 24" Dell LCD
* 33 slabs of beer
* Two Nintendo Wii consoles (each with extra controller + nunchuck)
* A year's worth of phone rental and ADSL2+ (~20GB quota)
* 7x320GB hard-drives (Total: 2.2TB storage)
* Almost a year's worth of (rego + car insurance) OR (private health insurance)

So how about ... no.
Doesn't that make you depressed about how much you spend on useless crap? To think about the amount of money I spend on junk food and booze... vommit...
* 33 slabs of beer

can a nigga get a hell yeah

the hilarious thing is, people will be lining up for days to get one

they can charge pretty much anything that want (within reason) and nerds will pay it

last edited by paveway at 14:00:51 25/Jan/07
I think I'll rock up at the PS3 midnight launch and buy some XBox and Wii games.
haha that made me lol^
Nailbomb
If only you had the option to buy them without a BluRay player in them much like Microsoft has done with the HD DVD drives. Would have been much better doing it that way because they could have competed with the 360 from the getgo. I guess it depends whether or not the PS3 games take up more space than a dual layer DVD as to whether they could have done that or not.
tung
Token Black Man
what sort of low grade beer are you buying for 30 bucks a carton?!
hahaha khel, that would be an awesome thing to do :)
a ps3 will be the new trophy wife, costs you heaps and you're still not getting any.

So if the console is going to retail around 1000 at launch, you could only assume that the games will easily be over $100 each.

We're talking about spending thousand's on a gaming console, games and accessories. Pfft.

Tim Tibbetts
I spent about $1000 on my Wii at launch...but obviously that included 3 extra controllers+nunchucks and 3 games.
Yeah I too would've prolly spent a 1000 on it, but only if it came with a samurai sword.

Nunchucks just dont cut it.
haha a sword would be alright

i didn't think of that tung

20 - 25 cartons is more like it
f*** paying 1k for it, i think ill wait until they dont sell very many and they go down in price to about 400 :)
Dodgymon
considering blue-ray drives are $1000 atm the moment on their own the price does not suprise me however you'd expect that initial price to drop considerably within a couple of months.
icewyrm
The PS3 can't burn blue ray discs, correct? I think that's an important factor. Also, is there anywhere you can actually buy PC blueray drives yet? Seeing as that is basically what is inside a PS3. It's not like the PS3 comes with a seperate, isolated blueray movie player (which is all I've seen pop up at around the 1000$ price range through a few quick google searches).

Tim Tibbetts
considering blue-ray drives are $1000 atm the moment on their own the price does not suprise me.....

Just because the technology used in the console is pricey, doesn't mean that the console is anymore affordable, or reasonably priced. It's still $1000 console...
Can someone tell me a store where i can buy a blu-ray movie?

Didnt think so.
PHATm
however you'd expect that initial price to drop considerably within a couple of months.

Either way, Sony loses.

They can't afford to drop the price of the console...well, I guess they could since PS2 is subsidising all the dead weight that the PS3 is so far, but yeah, they're already losing a s***-ton of money.

JB Hifi Indro is selling Bluray stuff now, they had a player setup on a 1080p TV with F4 running on it about a month ago when I was there. Looks very very nice, but I wouldn't really even get into that market until there is a hybrid player, and I have a 1080p tv.

I just rewatched the V for Vendetta DVD the other day on my 720p TV running in 1080i via the Xbox 360 and it looks great. You could probably only tell the difference and care that much if they were side by side.

last edited by PHATm at 17:42:50 25/Jan/07
Bluray encryption HAX0RED! - Sony looses again.
I had a friend who was thinking about the PS3, I told him it may be about 800, he wasnt sure at buying it for that price, at 1000 Not A Chance.
I think I'll rock up at the PS3 midnight launch and buy some XBox and Wii games.
That's not a bad move. My Toys R Us had 20% of non-Wii games and DVDs at the midnight Wii launch, so you could probably pick up a decent deal.
the ps1 was originally released for almost $1000 in australia - confirm/deny
The sega saturn launched at $800.
wake me when consoles are 200 bux and less then 6 months out of date .. then i'll buy one
PHATm
True nf, but the Saturn also released at that price and several weeks later the price dropped to like 700 dollars.

This wont happen anytime soon I would think. The same situation will occur here as in the US for the first year or so. Until some decent games come out, or a decent price drop, the systems will be sitting on shelves.
Resonate
I'll take the beer over the $1000 ps3!!
serious waste of f***ing cash.

/thread closed
ill buy one when ffxiii is released in probably 2 years.
Can someone tell me a store where i can buy a blu-ray movie?

Harvey Norman is one. I recall JB-Hifi being another.

Considering that Blu-Ray players are well over $1K, you may aswell well get a sony p3 for the blu-ray and enjoy the benefits of it being a console aswell???
icewyrm
I wasn't trying to imply that the ps3 should burn discs, (not sure how you arrived at that conclusion?) rather that a blu-ray drive in a ps3 would be less useful than, say, a BWU-100A drive in a PC (a PC blu-ray burner approximate in price to a PS3). Though seeing as no one has HDCP capable video cards and current model blu-ray drives for pcs aren't yet able to play commercial blu-ray Disc movies, it's more like one choice or the other rather than both, so it was a useless argument anyway I guess.

By the way, does anyone know how much of this negative vista stuff is true? If even just a part of it is, it sounds rather irritating.
Even I wouldn't spend that much money on it!

It does amuse me when say a geforce 8800 gtxxxx video card hits the market for a $1000 everyone says how much they would want one (or two).But a state of the art console for $1000, that is still probebly being sold at a loss well that just a rip off.

Because a PC can do a hell of a lot more than what a console can do.

AUD 999.95
....hmmm how about no. God I hope Sony's launch burns and Blu-Ray goes to hell. They deserve nothing less with such idiot pricing.
It does amuse me when say a geforce 8800 gtxxxx video card hits the market for a $1000 everyone says how much they would want one (or two).But a state of the art console for $1000, that is still probebly being sold at a loss well that just a rip off.
The difference is, you can do a hell of a lot more with a PC. It is far more versatile. Don't get into the whole PC vs. console thing, it is just a retard comparison made by retards.

last edited by Twisted at 10:37:37 27/Jan/07
umm I think he was making a point about the cost of new video cards and the console. not about whether or not a pc is more versatile. I don't see where he wrote that one is better than the other.
But a state of the art console for $1000, that is still probebly being sold at a loss well that just a rip off.

Does the consumer care if its being sold at a loss? Why should we have to pay for Sony's mistakes? If they want to put expensive blu-ray technology that a lot of people dont even really want into their console, then good for them, but they can't then turn around and try and plead the "$1000 is really quite a good deal you know" argument, because it really isn't.

If they just went the same route as the 360 and offered the blu-ray drive as an optional component, I think there would be a lot more people picking up PS3's at a much cheaper pricepoint and Sony's world would be a much happier place. I'd probably look at buying one if that were the case, but as it stands, no way.
The difference is, you can do a hell of a lot more with a PC. It is far more versatile. Don't get into the whole PC vs. console thing, it is just a retard comparison made by retards.
Yeah those high end graphics cards are used for so much more than games... like looking at half naked rendered pixies and running 3dmark.
Someone buying a $1000 video card is buying it for gaming in 95%+ cases (totally made up number), my next upgrade will be a pc, but $600 for an xbox360 is pretty tempting when compared to $2k+ for a new pc (considering my current old pos can do all those other things)
I agree that you can't really compare the two, sure a few dedicated people pay the high launch price of new video-cards but the price always drops heavily within the first 6-12 months. The PS3 price isnt going to drop significantly for a long time, hell in Canada Sony actually just jacked up the price another $50 - no s***.
lol ps3 is expensive.

has anyone pointed this out yet?
Lunch
none yet thats why its called NEXT gen :)

ok, so you need to spend a grand on something that you don't really need to get yet, that will be cheaper when the time comes that games that can utilise dx10's feature set, and there might be new better cards out (def by ATi maybe even a new nvidia iteration) just to have something NEXT gen?
Welcome to pc gaming lunch.
Lunch
My point is that you buy your hardware for what games are out at the moment, not for the latest and the greatest. Just like the PS3/360, so a comparison to a currently unsupported vid card games wise is pretty stupid. Not that comparing a console to 1 piece of hardware isn't stupid enough as it is.

last edited by Lunch at 12:39:53 01/Feb/07
Mr.Bumpy
I concur.

Buying a $1000 PS3 will give you atleast 3 years worth of gaming with games that are garuanteed to work whilst a $1000 video card might do the same but it won't be cutting edge in 1 years time but chances are if you could afford the $1000 video card i nthe first place you're likely to be able to afford the next iteration within 2 years.

I honestly don't know where this argument is going so I'm just going to say that if you can afford PC gaming and are willing to invest in the constantly evolving scene then stick with it, otherwise consider the game titles that you're interested on the three next generation consoles (or is that two current generation and one upcoming next generation?) and decide if you can afford it, or two.
There's no investment in gaming, where you going mate..
Lunch
he means investment as the spending of your money to play games, not to seek a return..
When does the next generation stop being the next generation and start being this generation?
When someone is concieved infront of an xbox 360
Heh goddam term, that post really needed some more "IMO"'s in there for qualification as I really think some of your points are absurd.

You're telling people to buy a Wii when (correct me if I'm wrong) you yourself don't even own one? I can't say that I've ever seen you playing the one at work either?

I also completely disagree that the Xbox 360 only has one or two games that aren't more of the same. Perhaps only a few games that arent the same as what's available on PC, but there's certainly variety on the platform, definitely more variety than the original Xbox had at this point in it's life.

The prices you have stated are also only a fraction percentage of what PC gamers pay for a premium gaming rig, where I know you may well get more value as a utility, but we are afterall talking gaming here.

EDIT to clarify, I think there's value in all the currently available platforms depending on what your preferences as a gamer are. The PlayStation 3 however, I'm not so sure of. The launch line-up looks incredibly weak so far and I doubt its ability to give us a game that doesn't have an equivalent on other platforms in its first year of availability in Australia.

last edited by Dan at 09:03:27 06/Feb/07
owned, dan
icewyrm
I'd hate to service a ps3, the way its built makes me think of a whole bunch of laptops squished together inside a single case :/

Wonder which of the 3 consoles will be harder to maintain in the long run? Neither Sony or Microsoft have terribly good track records with their hardware (recalls/revisions etc). I'd like to think the Wii would be as hardy as the gamecube was, but it doesn't seem likely.
Wow, the Ps3 really is big isn't it. I mean, I'd heard it was big but I didn't realise it was BIG.
ccl
It's bigger in every dimension than the original xbox, except height on which the xbox is 3mm higher. It has a larger overall volume.

Looks slick up close though.
MC BAINE - UK
i'd like to get a PS3, not that i could afford one, lol ..
I guess based on the price of the current BLue Ray players , maybe a grand for a bluey that also plays decent games , with top notch graphics , aint so bad ...

Laters
Blueray is evil.
PS3 suck.

Once all our movies are blueray, and we are locked into Sony regionalization. Maybe we can go back to receiving movies a year after being released in the US.
but mmmmmm vf5
You're too old and slow for games like that.
CYBERDINE
Whats wrong with Bluey ? , lol
Ive seen it working where i work, and it looks pretty decent .

Laters
we'll see obes... WE'LL SEE
I'll see... but your old ... you need to check your glasses ...
(in response to the question - what PC games need a $1000 card)

well rFactor for a start - not that recent, but sheer awesomeness with an 8800 series card :)

last edited by orbitor at 14:48:31 08/Mar/07
but mmmmmm vf5

vf5 isn't a ps3 exclusive anymore though, theres a 360 version on the way. So theres even LESS reason to buy a ps3!

Erik-the-Red
Whats wrong with Bluey ? , lol
Ive seen it working where i work, and it looks pretty decent .
because i have bluray and HD DVD at work, and HD dvd looks better. much better. and it's completely region free.
ah good s*** khel