Topic: Dare I even start a Daylight Savings Thread?
rrrocketeer
myWhiteWolf
no
rrrocketeer
sorry I accidentally pushed Enter before typing anything.

So yeah I think we should have it here in QLD.

At least in the South East from maybe Gympie downwards??
i trust peter's judgement
I have no desire to get day light savings.

What is the point? There are still the same amount of hours in a day. Who cares what end of the scale it is. You still sleep the same amount of time and you still work the same amount of time
I have no desire to get day light savings.

What is the point? There are still the same amount of hours in a day. Who cares what end of the scale it is. You still sleep the same amount of time and you still work the same amount of time

To save daylight der
Lynx
Nay

Working out timezone differences is hard enough as it is.
I see no point in it either. I mean, I still finish work at 5, all the shops are still closed when I get home so why the hell do I care if it's daylight or not? God gave us sunlight (if you believe in god, that's for another thread) science gave us electricity and floodlights. f***ing use them you amish pricks.
To save daylight der

And what does that do? Does it give me more time? Does it let me do more things? No!

People who say if they had more sunlight they could get more done are just lazy sods who use no sun as an excuse to sit on their arse
I want daylight savings so we are on the same time as sydney and melbourne, for stuff like cricket, football etc.
For those f***ers that want Gay Light savings so bad why don't they and their businesses who want it (or think they need it) just get of their fat arse an start an hour early.

That way, the rest of the state/region/country can continue to function normally.

Gaylight Savings is absolutely f***ing retarded
^
We should try and do things different from the other states. I vote we work 1 hour less per day to gain the same effect :p
If you want more sun in your day, wake up earlier. Too fkn easy.
hast
this changing of time is pretty disturbing. i can see software breaking because it assumes there is 24 hours in a day, and suddenly there is 23 hours in one day and some critical jobs don't get scheduled.
But what about the curtains fading with the extra hour of daylight!!!
why would software think there's 23 hours in a day? If I tell windows to defrag my porn at midnight it's just going to wait until the clock says midnight to do it. I could set the clock to say midnight when it's really 10am and windows won't care and the defragging will continue as scheduled. The only way it might break is if there's one computer in one location set to do a task in another state and one stat has DST and the other doesn't. So really hast, you are for DST because without it, s*** might not happen? http://users.bigpond.net.au/ritsuko/emoticons/emot-psyduck.gif
I like it

your business hours match the other eastern states, you get home without having to adjust your working hours and still have heaps of daylight left to work on the car/house whatever

I get by fine without it though, either way I don't mind
haha whoop
hast
if you are rolling time forwards and backwards one hour then you are going to have one day where there is an hour missing and one day which has an hour that repeats itself.

example:

say you have a system that has a batch job that runs at 10:00 local time every night. if for some reason the system goes down before the job is run the system will continue to try and schedule the job until 10:30 at which point scheduling the job is considered to be wrong.

now the changes to DST are applied to the computer at 9:45 local time and the time skips forward to 10:45. the job doesn't get scheduled. is this correct behaviour or not?

last edited by hast at 21:36:21 29/Oct/06
agreed you're a f***ing nobhead if you think it doesnt have advantages, in sydney we could be out til 7.30-8pm kickin the footy around because it still so light, it's awesome!
of course you internet nerds wouldn't like it though.
^^ well here in qld we have this magical stuff called electricity. I know down south such things are frowned uppon and people who use battery powered devices are burned at the stake as heritics but here electricty is loved and nurtured.

You see this electricity can be used for many things, powering your computer that you are now posting on the internet with, powering that blender to mix up your protein shake so you can try to be like acetame and OMFG LIGHBULBS! Yes kids that's right way back before any of you were born this brilliant scientisthttp://users.bigpond.net.au/ritsuko/emoticons/emot-science.gif Thomas Edison invented the lightbulb. Modern day lightbulbs have progressed so far they can light up an area the size of something the size of a football field.

Why don't you take yourelf down to the local sporting club and kick the footy around down there?
well here in qld we have this magical stuff called electricity

i think i've heard of that stuff, doesn't it grow on trees?
Why not make everyone start and finish their activities one hour earlier instead of having to completely change the time. This way you will have all the benefits of daylight savings without the time confusion and clock setting.
that's so much more difficult alize, lol.

whoop, saving electricity?
Queensland does not have daylight saving, although they implemented it from 1989 to 1982 before it was voted down. Although DST was well received in South East Queensland, it was a major inconvenience to the rest of the state. As resident Samantha Rannard commented, "You do not need an extra hour of daylight when it is 98% humidity and 35 degrees Celsius in the tropics!"

http://webexhibits.org/daylightsaving/g.html
Gay Light savings

Now that's comedy!
whoop, saving electricity?

we have a water shortage, not a voltage shortage
Captain America
how about we kill all the people that want day light savings? problem solved !
ccl
It would be nice if you qld'rs could keep up. Not a huge deal though. I think we'll all get by.

I like DLS, it's annoying the first day or so when you feel like you lose an hour, but getting a few extra hours to laze about ('sif work) and drink beer in that nice afternoon sun is cool. It adds some variety.
Anono
those that have had day light savings want it. because it is better then not having it, its that simple. Sure we wont die if we dont get it, but it sure makes life better with it.

Whoop your a wanker. water shortages have come from numb nut wankers like you saying we dont have a problem now so why should we care, when enviromentalist were saying we should conserve water years and years ago. The same people are also trying to get useless f**ks to wake up to the fact that natural resourses are burning out due to.... thats right you guessed it, powering your f***ing lights, computers etc etc. maybe if we had an extra hour of daylight and you got outside for once then you wouldnt have your computer, monitor and lights going. Also your stupid example of going down to a field to kick the footy. How many local footy clubs do you know that turn the lights on for some kids kicking a footy in the evening. NONE thats how many. And hey wouldnt it be easier if you could do it IN YOUR OWN BACK YARDS.

queenslanders just all have small man syndrome. We're not going to do it, because NSW is. get over yourselves and crawl out from dark ages (PUN INTENDED)
WHY not wake up EARLIER, get your extra hours then. Kick the footy around with mates BEFORE going to work and whatnot. Then you get to goto work and whatnot all whacked up on happy exercise chemicals, certainly make the rest of the day better. Then when you get home you'll be nicly tired from a full day of seeing mates and work and be ready for sleep. :/
hast
those whacky environmentalists were saying conserve water we don't need DAMS.

and s*** like DAMS are WRONG and are an abomination to the great spirt of the EARTH GAIA.

then we got BURNED because our water needs increased and conserving water wasn't ENOUGH.
Tim Tibbetts
I think we should have it. The company I work with has huge offices in Sydney and Melbourne - both of which have day light saving - it's a pain in the arse when you can't contact anyone in those offices after 4pm our time, because they've all buggered off for the day. Vice Versa when it's 9am their time most of us aren't even in the office yet.
So take that time to play Ping Pong in the lounge! :D
it bearly effects me either way but i am against daylight saving on principle. time is a concept, daylight saving time even more so.
I was in melbourne earlier this year and it didnt get dark till 9pm! it was bizzare! u could get so much more s*** done, but u didnt wanna eat dinner till like 10.
TufNuT
i dont get it how do you 'get' a few more hours, you still have to work 8 hour days (if your full time), you still work from the same time till the same time e.g 9 to 5 SO whats the f***ing difference? whats the point of pushing the clock forward an hour? its gonna be daylight out regardless of weather you push the clock forward or not..so i say again Whats the f***ing Point?

last edited by TufNuT at 00:02:29 30/Oct/06
im all for it, push the clock forward an hour and the sun comes up later

less chance of being woken by sun
less chance of waking up sweating like a pig
more sun in afternoon/night = soothing sunset beers at pub after work
Anono
i dont have time to kick the footy before work. im up at 5.30, off to work by 6.30 and dont get home till 6pm when its fucin dark. its s***, i cant wait to go back to NSW

evironmentalist = Scientist
tree huging hippies = idiots with no razors

big differnce knob
BiKESEAT
It's really simple. You get up at the same time as normal, go to work. When you come home you've got a nice extra hour of daylight. So when i get home at 6-6:30 can go take the dogs out, go for a ride, whatever. If instead i choose to sit inside watching tv well then so be it, but at least i have the opportunity to go do something outside rather than not being able to because it's dark.

All the wingers can sit inside and get over the fact it's lighter for a bit longer into their night. Unless they get up earlier than 5am they can get over it.

Note: I currently get up at 6am to take dogs for a walk anyway; would i prefer to do it after work? for sure. I'm sure given the option virtually all people would take a little more sleep in the morning for the opportunity to do more after work.
im all for it, push the clock forward an hour and the sun comes up later

No,
No it doesn't

The sun comes up at the same time it always has around this time of year...
Your just following an established trend set by a bunch of wankers.

Baa Baa
Careful, don't attract any kiwi's cause I'm all outta velcro gloves!
All the wingers can sit inside and get over the fact it's lighter for a bit longer into their night.

And we can argue that you're all pussies and scared of the dark. Who cares if it's dark while you walk your rotweilers. Not like anyone's going to try to mug a guy with 10 viscious dogs.

Get over it noobs, eat more carrots.
time is a pumpkin, thus I am against daylight savings
Oh man, that's right, it's daylight savings. Thanks for reminding me!
YoungNastyMan
Get with the times people.
this web server is on daylight savings, because that's the way it should be

its great that brisbane is too backward to do daylight saving.

the company that i am employed by is based in brisbane and i am in sydney.

1hour of extra sleep ftw.
why don't they and their businesses who want it (or think they need it) just get of their fat arse an start an hour early

we do bro :)

that said - there's way I'm ever going to hold for WA's timezone :P
right so guys are sweet whoop because they're all so e-tough, but girls are f***ed right?
its totally retarded that we dont have daylight savings

more time to do stuff outsides in the arvo

easier to do business

plus, the other states are laughing at us
(well mainly whoop and hermi anyway)
Xy
I personally despise going for afternoon jogs when the sun is still scorching my hide and lose my will to go jogging the longer I wait after being out so for me personally no daylight savings is better in the regard of my after work hours outdoors activities.

Other than that it makes no difference to me either way other than online games with friends in other eastern states being interupted constantly by differing dinner/bed times :/.

And don't get me started about the times being changed around, if your going to have it just stick with it permanently!

Come to think of it, it's actually damn annoying hehe!
zeldashadow
its great that brisbane is too backward to do daylight saving.

the company that i am employed by is based in brisbane and i am in sydney.

1hour of extra sleep ftw.

ever think that this means you have to work an hour later at night than everyone else?
we have a water shortage, not a voltage shortage

You are aware that coal-fired power stations burn coal to heat water into steam to drive the turbines that generate the power, right? They're linked.
time is a pumpkin, thus I am against daylight savings

advocates of daylight saving (time) are so fickle. one minute they are for it, the next it's a pumpkin & they don't want it. they sure are stupid, these daylight saving wanters!

if people want extra daylight hours at night they should head south, the further south you go the more you get! when you get to antartica you can have a few weeks of extra sunlight to kick your stupid foozbawls around. :D

it'd bother me if i ever actually looked at a clock & cared what time it was. but caring doesn't change anything let alone time! :P
I don't see the point really either. It stays light in summer till about 6.30 anyway doesn't it? As nice as it is to go to the pub in the arvo while the sun is still up, there are a lot of ugly f***s who rely on the darkness to pick up;)
not having daylight saving when everyone else in your timezone has it is retarded
no it isn't. having daylight saving in the sub-tropics just to follow suit with southerners in the same timezone to whom daylight saving time is applicable because of the curvature of the earth's surface!@!@!@# is retarded. :D

& it really is retarded... because you are taking the local incrementation of time backwards. hence retardation. :D
demon, clearly you don't know anything about pumpkins
I thought it was the farmers who didn't want it? But now since they are all drought effected why care what they think. Welcome to Queensland where it will always be the 1950's.
I've lived in the tropics and having the clocks skewed so there is sunlight at 7 or 8pm would be hell. However, if you live in the tropics and don't have an air conditioner then it's about time you went to get one.

I voted a big yes for daylight savings because it's f***ing balls that 3/4 of the country (NSW, ACT, VIC, TAS, WA, SA) have DST. It's f***ed for any company that has staff/clients in the AsiaPac region. You have kiwi's at work at 5.30AM AEST, NSW/VIC at work at 7.30AM AEST and finishes with Perth/Asia at 8PM AEST.

Determing support hours for IT helpdesks, meetings and conferences for sales staff and doing any cross-region work is f***ed at the best of times but through in an extra hours difference and it's ridiculous.

I don't care about extra hour of sunlight, cooler in the morning or any of that s***. We're in a modern age with electricity and fancy s*** such as light bulbs and air conditioners. I care about having the timezones all screwed up in the one country.
f*** off back down south you Dirty Mexican's.

If they do eventually cll a vote for DL Savings I think there should be a requirement that you've lived in QLD for 5-10 years before you can have a say.

People flock to QLD because it's better, then they want to go about and f*** it up.

last edited by Scooter at 12:14:47 30/Oct/06
ever think that this means you have to work an hour later at night than everyone else?

im more of a night person then a morning person anyways.
After being in Europe where its light til 9pm and thinking of all the fun s*** I'd be able to do after work like play sport it's just miserable that we don't have it. By the time I get home it'll be pitch black and I won't get to enjoy any of that hot sweet summer weather that we're so lucky to have.
When I was in Melbourne last daylight savings time was awesome. In Brisbane however, it equates to one more hour of scortching heat and it isn't so awesome.

Seeing that our summer nights are often 25-30, and sometimes higher, and the fact that mid summer is normally quite bright until after 7pm anyway, I don't see that as a major issue.

Also, parents seem to be a big hater of DSL. Putting kids to bed at what is essentially 7-8pm when it's quite bright and hot is just s***.

I'm sure business has concerns about it, but I'm not going to jump into that.
By the time I get home it'll be pitch black

We had to start packing up at 6:40pm yesterday because the light was rapidly fading, and that's mid-spring. In mid-summer, the sun doesn't go down until 7:30 and dusk lasts until 8pm.
How can you say that lights are any substitute for sunlight whoop?
We had to start packing up at 6:40pm yesterday because the light was rapidly fading, and that's mid-spring. In mid-summer, the sun doesn't go down until 7:30 and dusk lasts until 8pm.
We play a lot of soccer/touch footy and there's no way even in the middle of summer we'd be playing after about 7pm, because there's just not enough light
Determing support hours for IT helpdesks, meetings and conferences for sales staff and doing any cross-region work is f***ed at the best of times but through in an extra hours difference and it's ridiculous.

Try having a team that spreads across to LA, Dallas and Edmonton. We manage just fine. Complaining about 1 hour time difference in today's world economy is laughable.
I have rele's out west in QLD (Thargaminda) and it's still light at like 8-9pm with no sign of it getting Darker.

Get the f*** up and hour early if you want. Just dont make me do it.
Try having a team that spreads across to LA, Dallas and Edmonton. We manage just fine. Complaining about 1 hour time difference in today's world economy is laughable.
I think when you have a company spread across the globe, it's a little easier to accept time differences and different working hours.

Because of this retarded DST s***, for me to get to Sydney for a 9am meeting I have to get a 5.30am flight. That means I need to be at the airport at LEAST by 5am, which means I need to be leaving the house at 4.30am, which means I need to be awake at like 4.15am.

The only alternative to that is going down the night before, which means more time away from home plus the added expense of a hotel for the night - all for a couple hours of meetings?!

I AM NOT A MORNING PERSON

Actually I work for a large multi-national with offices across the US, Europe and Asia. I have to be on conference calls as early as 5am or as late as midnight to discuss projects with other team members.

I'm complaining about needing my staff to change their work hours to start an hour earlier or finish an hour later. It's unfair on them to change their habits for 3 months of the year because the Qld government is listening to the minority of the state.

A current petition for DST in QLD shows 6859 signatures for DST and 286 against. Fairly clear indication that the vast majority want their clocks rolled forward.
Get a video conference unit trog. Then you could take Strex's life size cut out of yourself and you wouldnt even have to change clothes to go to a meeting!
If they do eventually cll a vote for DL Savings I think there should be a requirement that you've lived in QLD for 5-10 years before you can have a say.

People flock to QLD because it's better, then they want to go about and f*** it up.
I flocked to QLD, but it was about 15 years ago scott :)

so I'll take your requirements, and vote yes for DLS :P
Dirty, dirty Mexican's >.>

A current petition for DST in QLD shows 6859 signatures for DST and 286 against. Fairly clear indication that the vast majority want their clocks rolled forward.

All that tells us is the vast Majority couldn't be assed doing a stupid internet poll.

last edited by Scooter at 12:58:54 30/Oct/06
Daylight savings for the SE corner of the state, not many people down here have to suck off cows all day.
We play a lot of soccer/touch footy and there's no way even in the middle of summer we'd be playing after about 7pm, because there's just not enough light

According to Department of Geoscience midsummer sunset is at 6:48pm, with twilight extending to 8:18pm. Ok ok, there is probably only viable light until about 7:30ish :P, but that means it's still going to be brightish until almost 9pm under DST.

I was out near slaughter falls yesterday with the mountains towards sunset. It was bright enough for Frisbee, soccer until we packed up at (because that's what was being played), according to my phone, at 6:40. By 7pm it was getting rather dark under shelter and by 7:15 it was pretty much night and it isn't even summer yet.

My biggest problem is mid-summer in Brisbane where the late afternoon is still f***ing hot. All DST does is push the hot further into the night.

At the end, it doesn't really matter for me, I can live without massive crying either way. Other than the people who lose customers because of DST, it just seems that the general argument is based around selfishness.
All that tells us is the vast Majority couldn't be assed doing a stupid internet poll.

A stupid internet poll put online by the Local Government Assosciation of QLD. I suppose the last vote we had on daylight savings in the early 90s which was narrowly won by the opposing side would be an indication that over 15 years ago there was still a significant percentage of the population supporting the move.
the irony

4:18pm, brisbane

"Thank you for calling Samsung Customer Care. Our office is closed. Our office hours are 8:30am to 5pm EST"
well you will use samsung products...
I double dare you to start a thead about it
Let's just look at the facts:

Fact: Queensland should have daylight saving.

BiKESEAT
bingo

split the state, give se qld daylight saving and let the whiney 'the curtain will fade' 'the cows dont know what time wake up' brigade bask in their s***ty sun up at 2am down at 3pm crap.
f*** off back down south you Dirty Mexican's.

I'm 20,born in queensland, lived in Sydney for one year. Daylight savings FTW!
kthxbi
lets just look at the facts:

Fact: People who want DST should stop stuffing two cocks in their mouths at once.
rrrocketeer
Listen all you cock head stubborn born and bred backwards queenslanders.
You don't know what your on about, your missing out on a better lifestyle.
You just don't know it, so don't knock till you try it.
If you haven't had DST shut the f*** up and give it ago.
I can guarantee most of you tossers would prefer it once you've had it for at least 2 years.

Go in with an open mind, give it ago, vote DLS come June next year!

Thats right, we're voting for it in a referendum next June.

Rememeber what I said, if you haven't had DST you don't know what it's like so shhhhhhhhhh for f***s sake!

I couldn't care less, so f*** you pal!!
dice
daylight saving time means 1 hour extra surf time for me on tuesday ... i'll take it if they wanna give it, but otherwise it isn't that big of a deal
I vote for DLS.

I used to live in NSW and it was great.

So there.
DLS is for rtards
I have a really hard time understanding why people are against Daylight Saving. The arguement that it's too hot is completely invalid because the amount of hours in a day don't change, just the hours that you are active for it. You get up an hour earlier, the day progresses an hour earlier, you go home an hour earlier, you're not forced at gunpoint to sit outside in the sun, or wherever else.

I think its a fantastic idea, I travel to Sydney a bit and over the last few years it was great being able to go for drinks or dinners or just out up until 8 - 9pm at night and still have some daylight left.

If you're really against Daylight Saving, come up with a better excuse than 'its too hot' or 'get up an hour earlier' - if over half the country can do it, why can't we? It probably is pretty stupid arguing because our premier is opposed to the idea for retarded reasons so we'll end up doing what the politicians say regardless - but to simply shout down an idea because you're mis-informed, or just a retard, is stupid.
rrrocketeer
but to simply shout down an idea because you're mis-informed, or just a retard, is stupid.

nice one space ninja

nuff zed
I have a really hard time understanding why people are against Daylight Saving. The arguement that it's too hot is completely invalid because the amount of hours in a day don't change, just the hours that you are active for it.

You’d be leaving work at what is essentially 4pm. I don’t know if you’ve gone outside in the last 7 or 8 years during summer, but quite often it’s still f***ING HOT at 4pm.

Now, let’s extend this massive thought train, if it’s still hot while the sun is up, and now the sun won’t go down until 8pm how does that affect parents with kids? Yay, let’s put kids to sleep while it’s still daylight and only, if you lucky, just cooling off. Ya-hay!!! But now trog can hug men at the soccer oval for an extra hour before the lights come on!

If you're really against Daylight Staving, come up with a better excuse than 'its too hot' or 'get up an hour earlier' - if over half the country can do it, why can't we?

Because half of the country has mostly mild summers? f***, it snowed earlier this week in Canberra (early spring). Let's look at the arguments have been on qgl.

1: I lose customers.
2: My customers are stupid
3: I'm selfish
4: I'm stupid
5: I'm lasy
6: I want to live a mexican lifestyle
7: I don't understand by moving our clocks earlier one hour, the hotter part of the day moves back one hour.

Have I missed anything? There is one decent reason for DST in QLD, people lose customers or it costs more in support. Other than that all of the arguments for it are, at least, as weak as the ones for it.
if typo is against it, can it really be that bad of an idea?
I AM NOT A MORNING PERSON

#70 12:28pm 30/10/06

Your not an early afternoon person by the looks of it either :P
I found myself listening to my grandmother yesterday go on about how we need day light savings. Coming from a woman who lives in a nursing home and is in bed by 4pm each afternoon I found it highly frustrating, especially since idiots such as her who it doesn't effect have one of the biggest voices if asked by the polls
did you ask her why she felt we need daylight savings?
I lived in Mt Isa where all those tards are that complain about how hot it will be, curtains will fade, cows won't sleep, etc during the 90s when we trialled daylight savings and found it made no difference.

The extra hour of sunlight meant it was a bit hotter in the evenings but f*** me if the entire town didn't have AIR CONDITIONERS! Crank up the A/C and the arguement of it being too hot is thrown out the window. If you live in those regional areas that have high temperatures and don't have an air conditioner then your an idiot.
Vorador
in this post : s***ting on a daylight savings thread due to it coming down to the same pointless posts as each and every year before it.

packerspackerspackerspackerspackerspackerspackerspackerspackerspackerspackerspackerspackerspackers

SPOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORT
Demon knows where its at. Just ignore your clocks and do your day as normal.

Just as an aside, if you take off your watch and remove your clocks after a short time you will become remarkably good at getting a feel for what the time is. My gf hasnt used a watch for years. She can usually state the time to within 10mins of the correct time. I've got it down to about 20mins, tis a funny feeling to think the time is about 11:45 without seeing a clock all day and actually be right.
Watches and clocks just stress people out.

EDIT: of/off meh.
I've never worn a watch, and I'm for daylight savings cos it's heaps better
pumpkin lover! just remember everyone who doesn't really care about the issue... vote no on the referendum & all these pro-dst ninnies will be all pouting n gnashing thier teeth... just like infi after a state election... it'll be funny! lolz :D
one day you will accept pumpkins
*shakes fist*

A current petition for DST in QLD shows 6859 signatures for DST and 286 against.

and one day later, "7300 signatures for, 300 signatures against"

rikey
Some Fat Bastard
^ and how many people live in QLD. 7300 would represent about what perecentage of people. Hardly what I consider a persuasive argument this petition.

In respect to the topic, I couldn't give a rats whether we do or we don't.

But if it is so hard for business to cope with multiple timezones than no matter what SA, NT and WA do they are buggered according to many here. From my view they seem to be getting along just fine.

In the USA they cope with multiple timezones in the one country. Amazing how they can and we supposedly can't.

Anyways I'm bored, so the post.
^ and how many people live in QLD. 7300 would represent about what perecentage of people. Hardly what I consider a persuasive argument this petition.
I must've missed the part that said "...and this ratio is scaled directly from the entire qld population and should thus be considered as such"

however, it's certainly a persuasive percentage of people who've voted on that web page
7371 signatures for, 306 signatures against

all the cainers continue to vote the correct way
1. create a poll that supports your view.
2. send the url to a heap of people that also support your view.
3. once the poll is showing a clear advantage, post the results on a public forum as if they meant something.
4. say that those who supported your view are cainors.
5. cry like a noob when the real referendum is voted NO, like all referendums in australia get voted. HAH! pwnt.
6. lack of profit.

if you like the sunlight so much why don't you marry it!?
and how many people live in QLD

Around 3,888,100

and how many people live in NSW and VIC?

Around 6,720,800 in NSW and 4,963,000 in Victoria.

Now when two of the states in the country both follow DST and they make up over half of the population of Australia (20,692,552) you have to wonder why companies in Brisbane aren't screaming about not following their lead.

Oh wait a second, they are.
I found myself listening to my grandmother ... I found it highly frustrating, especially since idiots such as her ...

Get some f***ing respect Kat. New low: bashing ya Nanna on QGL!
The best reason for DLS is that it gives you more time to sink piss in the afternoon.
Yeah lets get DL savings just because all the Cool States are doing it!
Wankers.

If you really want to get up an hour early, go for it.
Just dont force me to.

Also Trog, you'll still be getting up at the same time in the mornings, just the clock will be 1 hour WRONG.
Maybe goto bed an hour early?

As for the DLS gives you more time. Are you f***ing stupid? There is still only 24 hours in the day. DLS wont change that fact.

Another note to the "Run Air Con if it's too hot" people.
Um.. Isn't one of the arguments in favour of DLS to save Electricty on lighting by having 'more' (Use the term more loosely, still the same amount in a day) natural light.
IIRC Air Con uses a metric f***ton (Actual figure :p) more electricty than lights.
They're not cool states, they are smart states (even though our number plates make that bold claim) that prefer an hour more daylight at the end of the day, when you can do things, rather than have an hour of daylight when the majority of people are still asleep.

last edited by mission at 18:11:03 31/Oct/06

last edited by mission at 18:29:45 31/Oct/06
day light savings? more like gay light cravings am i rite LOL
Persay busts out with the mad funnies.
gay light cravings, more like cry more gaythings
AMIRITE!??! LOL
so many DLS haters on this board, i don't understand why

doesnt everyone remember back in the late 80s/early 90s when DLS was in and you'd be running around in the street kicking the footy until 9pm at night!!?!

that was the s***!

think of the kids...
They're not cool states

Actually look at the average tempretures, they are the cooler states.
Another reason why DLS just doesn't fit QLD.
You’d be leaving work at what is essentially 4pm. I don’t know if you’ve gone outside in the last 7 or 8 years during summer, but quite often it’s still f***ING HOT at 4pm.
It's just a bi-product of obesity.
Don't worry, you acn turn on your airconditioner and contribute to global warming for the rest of us who didn't stuff our faces so you can crank up your AC even more next year.

---

And rrrocketeer you pretty much win the biggest retarded f*** in this thread certificate.
Get of fthe drugs for a second or two before posting with nonsensical blabberings about 'cocksandfagsandfagsandcoks' and 'your all gay i know all even though my literary work that I call a post or an argument sound like they were constructed by dog s*** spread on bread eaten by a three year old and regurgitated on the keyboard'...

---

Yay, let’s put kids to sleep while it’s still daylight
Pretty much only real truth in this entire thread.
The rest of you are talking out your ass with retarded insults not even worthy of a primary school yard or giving ya grandmother s***.

Good Work people, this thread is on a treadmill.

last edited by Loki at 19:43:04 31/Oct/06
well, i see it this way

we've got people who want day light savings and arent rampant homos on the left
and everyone else on the right
think of the kids...

I hate kids therefore I hate daylight savings (also too lazy to change the clocks and usually miss public transport when in Melbourne)
^ You are a kid, wtf you talking about. You are just lazy lazy laaaaazyyyyyyy.

7526 signatures for, 320 signatures against

definitely some cainers signing that petition
rrrocketeer
your an absolute wanka Loki, go bash on your keyboard someone else you hetro basher you
Hey guys, I got a fish!
The gayest fish in the sea!
rrrocketeer
oh score! wot are you gonna do with it? f*** it?

mwhahahahahaah
for purly selfish reasons, I'd like daylight savings.

I'd like t afew hours of sunlight after I finish work to either play golf, go to the cricket nets, play tennis or something similar.

it would also be nice to be in the same timezone as other offices in our company in melb and syd.
lol loki you are so stupid.
i work in a national call centre, one part of us is based in melbourne the rest is in brisbane, daylight savings is a bit of a f***stain for the brisbane people *aka me* because i have to get to work an hour earlier for the early shifts so i can take calls for stupid mexicans and the rest, its bad enough we have to stay back till 7 to take calls for WA, but when summer hits we now have to work at 7:30, for that reason and that selfish reason only i wouldnt mind daylight savings, im still getting up earlier but at least id feel more insync with the rest of australia.

but there is a good side, if i do work at 7:30 i finish early which means i can go out and do some shopping and s*** which rocks cause it means i dont have to f*** ass around on a thursday night going to a stupid shopping centre filled with kids and bogan mothers that have no clue on public behaviour. so either way what ever.

also life goes on.

lol loki you are so stupid.
Hi Dale.
You suck at trawling.

Try next month just before you have your period.
sorry, i obviously don't practice enough like you, i try and make 90% of my posts to make sense.
yeah i have to get up an hour earlier too, no dls in qld bites for call centre monkeys like me :(
sorry, i obviously don't practice enough like you, i try and make 90% of my posts to make sense.
That must have been the 10%.
7834 signatures for, 333 signatures against
Total # of Australian Referendums (1901-present) : 45
Total Carried : 8
Total FAILED HAH! PWNT! : 37

myWhiteWolf
thursday night going to a stupid shopping centre
shops close same time every day of the week.
I know your refenda stats are only slightly incorrect demon but I wouldn't want you looking stupid now would I? There have only been _44_ referenda.
mywhitewolf, groydis was referring to the fact that because he starts at 7.30am he is able to go the shops after work, instead of having to go on Thursday night for late night shopping. Otherwise, when he finishs work at 5 all the shops are closed. So shops don't always close at the same time every day of the week eg weekends, Thursday. Though regardless of day light savings the shops will close at the same time.
myWhiteWolf
Otherwise, when he finishs work at 5 all the shops are closed.

no they don't, most supermarkets are open from 8 till 9 mon - friday.

unless he lives out in the sticks.
hmph!... my count was 43 with 2 advisory referendums... whatever that means :P just like jim's bogas poll results... it's not the accuracy of the count but the favourable ratio. it's way too late to stop me from looking stupid in this thread fellah :D but thanks anyways!
I think I may have miscounted myself, so perhaps it's best if we forget the whole thing ;) lest one of us looks actually stupid.

no they don't, most supermarkets are open from 8 till 9 mon - friday.

unless he lives out in the sticks.

What if he wasn't talking about supermarkets? Last I checked, general shops aren't open till 9 pm any other night but Thursday. So while he could go to supermarkets any old time, he couldn't go clothes shopping for example. Granted the usual haunt of a technologically minded person is JB-HIFI and it's open late, so not really affected by day light saving and different finishing times (in relation to matching other states' hours).

Daylights savings is over rated though because the other states can manage throughout the year, as can the US. If QLD was to introduce a trial like the WA has/will I don't seen us every reverting back. While all the nay-sayers would hate it at first, most people will adjust to it and as a result their opinions would change, so in the end the trial would become permament. One major advantage of day lights savings would be the ability to fly down the east coast without having to adjust to different time zones.

One of the craziest opinions weighing into the debate was a letter published in the Redcliffe Herald:
Pioneer descendants reject daylight saving
Do we, the descendants of Queensland pioneers, want daylight saving in Queensland? Do we, the descendants of Queensland pioneers want to divide our state? No. No. A thousand times no! We would rather die than say yes. We, the descendants of Queeland do not have to give reasons for our beliefs to anyone. We like who we ware and why we are - to those of you who don't like us, we don't really care. Forget the propsed costly referendum, make it an adendum to the Queensland Constitution!

[Old Kook],
Clontarf

So as you can see, that's a reason alone to introduce Day light saving, to break the arogance of the old! Guess that women and Kat's grandmother are going to do battle.

last edited by Triamks at 20:24:43 01/Nov/06
i trust peter's judgement

die
no u

7976 signatures for, 341 signatures against
keep spamming that s*** Jim.

All that poll shows is that theres alot of lazy f***s who got nothing better to do than fill out some dips*** online poll. heck I could have signed that s*** and made it 342 against in the time I wrote this post but its more fun to point out how stupid online polls are.

cry more noob

I sure will keep spamming it, cos the reaction is continually amusing
typo is never wrong Jim.

also

your referendum will fail and THE GALAXY WILL BE OURS.

hurrah for uncle Pete hurrah

pete usually not wrong

he is on this one
8137 signatures for, 345 signatures against