Greazy
Nintendo's biggiest kept secret has been revealed by its president Satoru Iwata, in his speech he showcased the new controller for Nintendo's next generation console which is dubbed 'Revolution'. The controller looks a lot like a TV remote but has a few hidden features.
The controller allows for attachments to be connected at the bottom. The controller is held in one hand while the attachment in the other, it is also designed to act like a mouse in real-space 3D. More images can be found here and here. promoted forum item Edit by trog: official press release and photos and high-res downloadable official photos. |
| #0 01:15pm 18/09/05 |
Nailbomb
ummmm wtf? if the Revolution had dvd movie playback functionailty (don't know if it does or not) that'd be the perfect kind of controller.... but for games?
/edit: you have to give Nintendo credit though, thats gotta be the most original game controller released in a very long time, probably since the SNES controller which practically everything released in the last 10yrs has been based off. last edited by Nailbomb at 13:12:29 16/Sep/05 |
| #1 01:12pm 16/09/05 |
Controller is held in one hand. Attachments in the other. |
| #2 01:06pm 16/09/05 |
Random, it would help to include a link to the news story to help people "get it":
Click |
| #3 01:07pm 16/09/05 |
phatmike
| #4 01:10pm 16/09/05 |
Hashy
I predict a small line of ingenious, fun and addictive rev-exclusive titles that use the controller intuitively followed by a host of s***ty ports of PS3/Xbox360 games that simply don't work. Nintendo will release another zelda game at the very end of the console's lifespan and the cycle will begin again.
| #5 01:16pm 16/09/05 |
i thought the zelda game coming out was going to be the last zelda ever.
a lot of ppl predicted a controller like this. looks good but dont know how well it will work with all games. i think i would pick it up and try to turn the tv on with it. |
| #6 01:20pm 16/09/05 |
Another shot: http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-09-16/TN_ninten-what.jpg
working on getting higher res images, I'll do a news post when I've got them (would promote this but its not really suitable, unless Random comes back and updates or tells me I can update it) last edited by trog at 13:23:40 16/Sep/05 |
| #7 01:23pm 16/09/05 |
Hashy
i thought the zelda game coming out was going to be the last zelda ever.Um, no. |
| #8 01:22pm 16/09/05 |
phatmike
it was said 'this will be the last zelda in this form (referring to twilight princess).
trog. hi res images on ign (1200x900).. http://media.cube.ign.com/articles/651/651275/imgs_1.html dunno if your allowed to lynch their pics.. |
| #9 01:32pm 16/09/05 |
masta_blasta
Looks pretty cool. I guess they realise that they can't compete head on with the 360 and PS3 so they've gone a totally different route. Hopefully it'll take off.
| #10 01:34pm 16/09/05 |
phatmike
there is hands on impressions here. Sounds very interesting to control.
It was a rare opportunity. Yesterday, just outside of Tokyo, Japan, Nintendo invited us to experience the Nintendo Revolution controller for ourselves. Joined only by Shigeru Miyamoto and a few executives, we attended a sort of schooling on the controller, the centerpiece of the Big N's next-generation platform. It has long been speculated on, but now it's actually something tangible that we can understand -- or, try to understand anyway. |
| #11 01:40pm 16/09/05 |
t is essentially a wireless, square remote that works something like a computer mouse would in 3D space.Wasnt that the nintendo powerglove? http://sunjammer.dubplates.net/blog/andreas_powerglove_1.jpg |
| #12 01:52pm 16/09/05 |
the controllers is too long imo. theres a lot of unused spaced. could be a problem for younger gamers.
| #13 01:56pm 16/09/05 |
treeoflife
Before debate starts on Third Party Developers and how they are going to leave Nintendo in droves because their games won't port properly to the new controller, please note that Nintendo mentioned that the controller can be inserted into more conventional controller shells. Also note that you can still use Gamecube controllers with the Revolution.
There's a fair bit of talk about this on various forums. So no, the controller won't be the reason why TPDs stop development for the Revolution. Though I'm sure there are a whole host of other reasons. last edited by treeoflife at 14:01:07 16/Sep/05 |
| #14 02:01pm 16/09/05 |
masta_blasta
Quick question: Is the revolution gunna have a HD in it?
I guess it'd have to if they're gunna have access to all the old games. If so, it'd be cool to use the controller for a media box. Just point and click at the file that you want. |
| #15 02:13pm 16/09/05 |
phatmike
512meg flash memory. with extra sd expansion slots.
| #16 02:17pm 16/09/05 |
Random
I guess it'd have to if they're gunna have access to all the old games. If so, it'd be cool to use the controller for a media box. Just point and click at the file that you want. From what I have read (probably just hype) it will have a harddrive addon, like the xbox. There is a rumor of some sorts that the Revolution will ship with a wavebird and the controller shown above. Edit: Trog update my original post all you want but i will try something. last edited by Random at 14:22:49 16/Sep/05 last edited by Random at 14:26:14 16/Sep/05 |
| #17 02:26pm 16/09/05 |
phatmike
video of controller in action. this gives you a decent look at how the movement would work. i like. :D
http://www.dagbladet.no/kultur/2005/09/16/443527.html |
| #18 02:41pm 16/09/05 |
korbs
oh great, another remote control to lose.
| #19 02:58pm 16/09/05 |
AdamtehGreat
lose your wavebird alot korbs?
| #20 03:39pm 16/09/05 |
wow that does look pretty cool
| #21 03:45pm 16/09/05 |
Avarice
not sure im convinced about this, but when have nintendo every screwed up a controller?
be interested to see how this pans out |
| #22 03:46pm 16/09/05 |
Bad
1up have a really good review of it, plus high rez pictures
1up.com does Tokyo Game Show 2005 Looks very very interesting :) |
| #23 04:17pm 16/09/05 |
Haha, I actually laughed at the photos at the start of this thread, thinking it was a parody thread and this was a joke, then I read some more and realised it was serious =\
I'm filing this in my "Crazy gimmicks" bin until I can get my hands on one myself and actually use it. Not saying it wont work, the DS was in my "Crazy gimmicks" bin till I used one myself and found the touchscreen/stylus thing to actually be pretty cool, but at the moment this just looks a little too out there for me. I look at it and all I find myself wishing for is a gamepad. |
| #24 04:32pm 16/09/05 |
I've been waiting for you Khelbi-Wan :)
It'll be a shame if it turns out it's just easier to use a normal controller, as there are inputs for them under the hood apparently. Although there will of course be games designed specifically for it. What is revolutionary about it is that it's the first truly ambidextrous method of control for a console. |
| #25 04:46pm 16/09/05 |
phatmike
Yeah khel, as a long time nintendo fan and a fan of gaming itself, I like many people went OMGWTF. But to really get this idea I think you have to use it or see it in action.
That's why this video is pretty great and shows some of the possibilities of it. Another thing, IGN wrote up a 4 page article about how the control could be used for many genres of games, it's pretty cool to read and makes the control design seem more sensible for what Nintendo is trying to accomplish. |
| #26 04:51pm 16/09/05 |
The Metroid Prime 2 test apparently showed that this control method will be amazing for FPS, even going as far to say that the tester preffered it over the keyboard and mouse setup. I'm very interested.
| #27 05:24pm 16/09/05 |
Xy
Its a huuuuge call to say something compares favourably with the keyboard and mouse.
Cant wait to get my hands on it and check it out for myself. |
| #28 05:40pm 16/09/05 |
Tuco
they should make sword fighting games possibly a dragon slayer. could also browse the net minority report style.
| #29 05:51pm 16/09/05 |
rogue_squirrel
f*** YES
| #30 05:58pm 16/09/05 |
Tael
Its a huuuuge call to say something compares favourably with the keyboard and mouse.Why? FPS games would involve aiming the controller like a light gun, and moving with the analog stick in the other hand. You could probably even make a decent console RTS with this controller, just point where you want to click and push a button. last edited by Tael at 18:18:24 16/Sep/05 |
| #31 06:18pm 16/09/05 |
N-Dude
I, for one, think this is an excellent idea. But note the key word: idea. As previously stated, without the software/good games to back it up, this will be a warning marker in history for creativity gone to far. But the Nintendo fan-boy in me is extremely excited.
In Miyamoto we trust. Just look at all the (now industry standard) innovations Nintendo has brought out over the years: Multiple-button span -> Shoulder/Trigger Buttons -> Analogue joysticks -> Rumble paks It will be interesting to follow in the next few months. |
| #32 06:17pm 16/09/05 |
Updated news post with official press release + link to high res photos
| #33 06:26pm 16/09/05 |
dice
yeah props for originality ... however, to me, it's as retarded as the pen thing on the ds - no doubt a lot of consoldiers will enjoy it, but keyboard and mouse all the way for me
| #34 06:36pm 16/09/05 |
A_W
I agree with Tael. And let's wait and see. |
| #35 06:49pm 16/09/05 |
it looks like something from the sixties.
| #36 08:35pm 16/09/05 |
way to spurt crap from your mouth dude.
| #37 10:30pm 16/09/05 |
I wish I could be as smart as Decepticon.
| #38 10:41pm 16/09/05 |
still saw hope in the form of ds until i heard about the psp Yeah, I was kinda the same. I saw hope in the DS until I heard about the PSP, then after that I saw even more hope in the DS. |
| #39 10:57pm 16/09/05 |
I'm sure Nintendo will miss your patronage Decepticon.
| #40 11:32pm 16/09/05 |
I reckon it's an awesome idea. But in saying that, I would never buy a console.
| #41 12:53am 17/09/05 |
AdamtehGreat
Welcome to QGL, 14 year old. Now let me get started on exactly how much Nintendo has changed since the Gamecube: Fisrt of all, there is a new president of Nintendo; Iwata-san, who I now hold with the highest regards. This man conceptualised the DS, and has turned Nintendo from its 'childlike' platform *cough cough resident evil 4 cough* to a much more innovative and 'outside the box' company, and I for one would like to congratulate him. Now I own both a DS and a PSP, but I consider the PSP to be a more expendable and s***ty platform than the DS; Nintendo is already releasing AAA grade material such as Nintendogs, Advance Wars: Dual Strike and Meteos, with Mario Kart DS sure to practically solder itself into my DS after its release. The PSP... I have a few reasonably good games... but nothing different from a console. Quick, Innovative, fun, multiplayer games is what I'm after, and the DS delivers in bucketloads. NOW, the first though that popped into my head when I saw the controller was indeed WTF. But after reading IGN and 1up's impressions and viewing the movie, the rev controller has me extreamly excited. I'm really looking forward to having pinpoint accuracy with my fps' and physically stimulating action with fighting games. Nintendo has done what Sony and Microsoft STILL hasn't done: Innovate. s*** man, in the time Nintendo has been alive they have engineered: -6 controllers (5 still copied today by competitors) -CD technology - Developed in the Snes days (with sony - but scrapped in the end, which triggered Sony's decision to make the Playstation) -Rumble technology -The Analouge stick I'm sure there's others, but I really can't remember much atm. The point is that without Nintendo, there would be no Sony Playstation and s***ty feeling controllers; Don't dismiss another innovation just yet ;) I for one LOVED the N64 and the revolutionary games that bestowed it (Goldeneye ftw). |
| #42 01:01am 17/09/05 |
I concur.
I'm excited, because it's something different. I'm going to have an XBox360, so I don't want another system that does almost the exact same thing. That's why I got the DS, it gives me something that I can't get anywhere else. This thing will go one of two ways. Either Nintendo will finally lose their grip on the home console market completey, or they really will forever change the way we play games. Either way, something big will come of this. |
| #43 01:13am 17/09/05 |
phatmike
well said adam. wholeheartedly agree.
| #44 01:28am 17/09/05 |
Tuco
All these companies will try and make the most innovative and fun game, and so there will be heaps of top exclusives on it and if they flog it off cheap everyone in the country could get one and if they give decent royalties to publishers they could rule the world.
| #45 02:01am 17/09/05 |
All these companies will try and make the most innovative and fun game, and so there will be heaps of top exclusives on it I dunno, will there really? I mean, how many companies are going to pass up the opportunity to publish their game on all the next gen consoles and make more $$$ by making a game that is custom built to use the Revolution controller? You're kinda cutting your own throat and limiting yourself to the one console if you do that. Maybe I'm just bitter and cynical, but what Hashy said sounds the most realistic to me. You're going to have a couple of original, innovative first party titles made by Nintendo that make full use of the crazy new controller, then lots of ports from other systems that use it like a standard game controller and dont take advantage of any of the wacky innovative aspects of it. Is it innovative and outside the box? Sure. Will it be successful? Who knows, but my cynical point of view is that its just too wacky and "out there" for the average consumer. I'm sure it'll sell great within Japan and all that, but Nintendo lost a fair bit of ground in the last generation, I think if they really want to be genuinely competitive against the PS3 and the XBox 360 they're going to have to offer the public more than just a wacky new take on a controller. They've been saying they aren't interested in competing with the specs of the PS3 or the XBox 360, that they're heading in "new directions", but is this going to really appeal to the mass market? Are people going to choose a Revolution over the competition or are they just going to want the biggest, fast, prettiest console with the most games? Are the general buying public going to be interested in being able to play all the old Snes games? Maybe, but I doubt it, that seems like a feature that older gamers who remember playing those games the first time round and want to reminisce would be interested in. I mean, I'm a gamer, I'll probably end up with all the next generation consoles anyway eventually cos thats what I do, but every day average Joe Consumer will probably only buy one, and is the Revolution really setting itself up to be that one? At the moment, I'm going with no, but thats just my opinion, I guess we'll have to wait and see. |
| #46 03:20am 17/09/05 |
Tuco
i dont think they're competing directly with microsoft and sony. theyre trying to create new markets with older people and others who dont play video games and then they'll make massive amounts of profit while sony and microsoft keep targeting just the hardcore gamer.
| #47 03:37am 17/09/05 |
Sony and Microsoft are targetting the hardcore gamer? Hardly. If anything I'd say its the opposite, I'd say its gamers who will find the Revolution attractive but its the mass market who will find things like the PS3 and XBox 360 more attractive. Sony and Microsoft are going after this whole home entertainment thing, with Sony referring to the PS3 as an "entertainment supercomputer" or some s*** at e3. I think they're well and truly marketing towards the general public.
Even my parents, two of the most gaming dis-inclined people I know, know what an XBox 360 is and know what a Playstation is, but if you asked them about Nintendo the most recent thing they could probably tell you about would be the original Gameboy. My brother even owns a DS and my mother has played it, but she still wouldn't even remember its called a DS if I asked her, or even that Nintendo made it. Sure Nintendo is known amongst gamers but they just dont have the penetration into the market of the every day average consumer that Microsoft and Sony currently have. But in the end its all speculation because none of these consoles are actually out yet :) I may very well be utterly wrong, and in the end its not going to really affect me anyway because like I said before, I'll most likely end up buying all three anyway. I'm a geek, thats what geeks do. |
| #48 04:06am 17/09/05 |
AdamtehGreat
Yeah, I'll be buying the rev just for 1st party titles, as I will for the Xbox360 and the PS3.
I'm really looking forward to what Sega, Capcom and Konami have planned for this. I can just imagine Konami bringing out a new DDR-style game, perhaps with fighting instead of dancing. |
| #49 04:33am 17/09/05 |
Perhaps Nintendo as stated above, dont want to compeate against Sony and Microsoft, would you compeate against Microsoft if you had another choice?
They said they dont want to be involved in the war. Ninento just want to keep themselves afloat and around, not nessisarily have a console in every house in every country, something Microsoft would love for sure. Nintendo are the innovaters. They sail the uncharted waters, discovering spices that everyone else eventually uses. As a company they will stand strong, always. It makes lot of sense for them to do this with the controller and presumably with the rest of the Revolution. Let sony and microsoft do battle, they with both suffer great losses and usually one side will eventually gain much, probably microsoft because in the end they have the biggest Army. Meanwhile Nintendo is happily sitting on their throne in another country far from the rigors of battle, enjoying a small, yet productive happy community. |
| #50 07:46am 17/09/05 |
Tim Tibbetts
I honestly don't care how popular the console is..well, I hope it's popular enough so people actually make games for it...but other than that I just wnat to try it out and if it's fun and offers something new like Mario 64 did they I'm all for it.
| #51 09:00am 17/09/05 |
Khel, I get the impression that you're expecting every game to involve waving your arms around in the air like a lunatic, but I don't tihnk that'll be the case. I mean, you could rest your arms on your legs, and still move your hands around in order to control what ever may be on the screen in most circumstances. Flight simulator games and shooting games for example wouldn't require you to throw your arms in the air, but this controller would be the undisputable best choice for these genres, and any other that requires precision. And, add on that joystick to the left hand, and it doesn't have to be that amazingly different to the norm anyway.
| #52 11:02am 17/09/05 |
I played too much donkey konga and my hands swelled up :(
| #53 11:05am 17/09/05 |
From what's been shown of Project Offset this would be ideal for it, just a shame it probably wouldn't have the power to run it in full detail.
| #54 11:46am 17/09/05 |
drunkindrunk
Nintendo's
| #55 01:07pm 17/09/05 |
sprayNwipe
You know that it's going to be a promising thread when the first post can't even get the name of the console right.
It is heartening, however, to see that Khel is still keeping up the same pattern of thinking that caused us all to slap our heads together in confusion when we were talking about the last generation of consoles 5 years ago. Yay for history repeating itself! Edit: Actually, Khel's a bit closer to the mark this time around. Still, I think third party support is a non-issue. The D-Pad basically acts as the face buttons in the standard config, since it's no longer relegated to analog stick aliasing or requires a physical shift in the left hand to use. I think Nintendo's going to do really well with this, in the sense that everyone will pick this up as the second console, where as the first console market will be split between the 360 and the PS3. Of course, this means it has the potential to have a large install base because of this. Slow and steady? last edited by sprayNwipe at 13:59:58 17/Sep/05 |
| #56 01:59pm 17/09/05 |
Has anyone stop to think that maybe, just maybe Nintendo arent as dumb and silly as everyone (most people) think them to be?
Im sure they have learnt from their mistakes, the biggest one, if their audience. I mean, people used to give the gamecube s*** because it was a "kiddie" machine, even though it had some awesome titles. Now the revolution is coming out, with "out of the box" capabilities like DOWNLOADING past games from SNES/NES titles etc. People may see that as a novelty.... but its obviously targeted at the OLDER audience. I mean straight off the bat! Surely thats Nintendo proving they have learnt their lesson. Catering for "all" ages straight away, as they tried to with the gamecube. The controller. TGS 05 is in the finishing stages... Everyone is hyped Xbox360 announcements, PS3., PSP. DS, REV etc etc.. Is anyone noticing that MOST news sites/games sites, the main story is Nintendo's controller? For a company that is "losing its way" or "only makes kids games" they are certainly getting alot of attention, in some instances overshadowing the other next gen machines, all because of a controller!! One thing people need to think about is the way the controller will work for most genre's. Apart from fighting, honestly, i cant see a Street Fighter game working on the new REV controller. But everything else, i can. Apart from the whole "its like a 3D mouse in space" aspect. How many people complain about how buttons are too close together, or the analogue stick is too close and i cant do this or cant do that.... now, you have the analogue stick seperate, so it wont get in the way. This controller would also suit both left AND right handed people..... With companies like THQ, EA, SQUARE ENIX supporting the REV, the 3rd party software support seems to be pretty good. By reading the reviews, the controller CAN work with flicks of the wrist etc, after viewing the "revolution teaser". It seems that alot of people are overreacting. Its not an eyetoy control, you dont have to jump up and down and move around all over your lounge room, you can sit on your favourite lounge ANYWAY you want to resting your arms and hands anyway you want to.. The DS should never be compared against the PSP. The only similarities is that they are handhelds (as a label) thats where it stops. The DS is alot more fun then the PSP thats for sure.. As the REV shouldnt be put against the Xbox360 or the PS3 as the REV isnt about polygon pushing, or how many terraflops it can handle per second. Its about creating an interactive experience for its gamers where you feel totally in control of your environment with pin point accuracy. My 2 cents.. |
| #57 02:04pm 17/09/05 |
phatmike
IGN has made a mockup of the shell the control may slot into for more conventional games and extended use. Looks pretty cool.
http://cubemedia.ign.com/cube/image/article/651/651559/understanding-the-revolution-controller-20050916041026412-000.jpg also here is a skin someone made for the controller that looks nice http://img.photobucket.com/albums/1103/Xorbo/6696926481524561.jpg and Heres a really great article from a PC gamer that got to try out the reworked MP2 demo from Retro Studios. Sounds very good for FPS. If nintendo can get a killer FPS or even just MP3 ready for launch, this could be an awesome example of the hardware for the market.
sounds great to me :) |
| #58 03:11pm 17/09/05 |
Yeah, I read about that Metroid demo, it sounds awesome. And that shell looks cool too. It supports Gamecube games, so maybe a shell similar to that will be included?
| #59 03:17pm 17/09/05 |
phatmike
shell could be bad if it is included, its only an IGN mockup, but yea, developers WILL be lazy and will probably only make games ported to the GCN control :(. I want RE5 with the new controller, not the Xbox or GCN controller.
Also this is pretty funny. |
| #60 03:46pm 17/09/05 |
hahah
| #61 04:44pm 17/09/05 |
treeoflife
Haha gold.
Anyhow, if Nintendo does pull this off, creating a new method of control more user friendly and precise than a mouse (hell even as good as a mouse), they will have earnt my life long respect. Apple couldn't come up with such a device and they apparently thrive on "innovation". And as they say, truly brilliant innovations and ideas are initially received poorly and with skepticism, so going by that cliche, Nintendo is on to a real winner. They're smart and they've balls. Let's hope it translates to the success they deserve. |
| #62 05:47pm 17/09/05 |
Xy
Hahaha!! im sold if thats their first new game!
| #63 05:52pm 17/09/05 |
Tael
| #64 08:08pm 17/09/05 |
Xy
*Drools* Elisha cuthbert *Drools*
Your my new hero Tael |
| #65 08:51pm 17/09/05 |
i think it looks gay
| #66 08:52pm 17/09/05 |
i trust in nintendo
also, god damn i hate that lame argument that nintendo games are kiddy hi decepticon ive been admiring your work on the game arena forums for a while now(starscream) i hope to see you post here more |
| #67 10:43am 18/09/05 |
I suggest you write to Nintendo and inform them they are doing it wrong Decepticon. Maybe you can help them get back on track :)
| #68 07:03pm 18/09/05 |
Random
I think my eyes are bleeding from reading what you just wrote. But you are correct on somethings, just not all. I am not going to even bother arguing with you, but I will say that Nintendo used to own a certain percentage of Rare, all the games you have listed are made by a man called Shigeru Miyamoto. You are right, some games do seem childish but I would love to see a child play a game like Legend of zelda: Wind Walker and finish it (even 13 year olds will have trouble with it).
Way to go reading the thread, treeoflife mentioned that the controller can be inserted in new and better shells, not only that but Nintendo have also stated that the wavebird controller will be available for games that do not use the gyroscope technology. I suggest you write to Nintendo and inform them they are doing it wrong Decepticon. Maybe you can help them get back on track :) Yes just copy and paste the whole thing. last edited by Random at 19:10:25 18/Sep/05 |
| #69 07:10pm 18/09/05 |
You just killed your argument with that line. So you are saying that Nintendo are stupid because they are not trying to fight Sony and Microsoft head on, that instead they are targetting their games to the party gamers, the people who want fun over gore/graphics/realism and those who want to play puzzle games. Not to mention, by your words, that you think it will be cheap, so might as well buy one. . You do relise that you dont have to dominate a market in order to be a viable company? |
| #70 07:19pm 18/09/05 |
Who said they failed? Just cause they didnt come out as number 1 doesnt mean s***.
Anyway enough system bashing, as long as the games are good i will play them no matter what system/platform they are on. |
| #71 07:42pm 18/09/05 |
How exactly have they failed? I say a failed company is one that no longer able to continue being that company.. sif any kid these days would prefer controlling an ethnic plumber with a moustach to something that is actually cool Pfft I find mario to be cool. Such a fun set of games.
Not really, since you posted directly after me at me ;)
Actually I've never owned a nintendo, just played them at mates places and whatnot. I also see the merits of all the systems. I laugh at you writing off a console system franchise. Also, careful who you call a n00b, they just might have been around alot longer then you, you do know what a noob is yer?
I worked it out... they havnt failed. Flame on. |
| #72 08:09pm 18/09/05 |
bored
sorry i don't consider mario/zelda as kiddy games nether does any of my friends, i would have to say that games like britney's dance beat and barbie horse adventure which are on ps/ps2 and not on n64/gamecube kiddy games.
and why bring your nephew into this what the hell could he know i'd bet he has yet to play Doom, commander keen, dune2, might & magic, chrono trigger and day of the tentacle. i mean if he's hanging around a sony fanboy like yourself then he's bound not to know much about major gameing icons like Mario or Sonic. btw you may or may not know it but you are a sony fanboy just read your posts and you would see why. unless you can't work it out genius, and thanks alot for ruining this thread, it was about nintendo's new controller. last edited by bored at 20:28:05 18/Sep/05 |
| #73 08:28pm 18/09/05 |
phatmike
yea gg lol.
I wish Sony and Microsoft valued innovative gameplay and fun as much as Nintendo. Don't go bashing this control. Without Nintendo there would be no PlayStation, the controllers of today (rumble, analog etc) may not have been what they were. I think you are forgetting that Nintendo does not want to take on Sony and Microsoft, they are happy enough profitting on their hardware while Sony and Microsoft lose money on each system sold. Overall you may see the other 2 machines as winning the console race as they are more 'hip' and popular because of the money that Sony and MS can spend on marketing, whereas Nintendo's innovative and PROFITABLE business will keep them going. Look how well they are going with the DS, selling many more units than a much more powerful portable 'gaming' machine. I can bet that next-next generation, the controllers of ps4/xb720 will have this form of technology in them that the revolution uses. Sony may try to rip it off even next year with the PS3 and jack up the price past the 1000 dollars its probably already going to cost.. ..but we all know how well Sony did when they ripped off the rumble pack idea from N64 to put in Dual Shock. They are still paying the costs for that lawsuit. |
| #74 09:15pm 18/09/05 |
A_W
Indeed. Agreed. PC for life. :) |
| #75 09:37pm 18/09/05 |
lol PC. lol consoles, who needs them, lol. When you have PC, lol. Consoles lol are for lol noobs lol.
Gamecube wasn't a bad system, it didn't really have many games I wanted to play so it didn't appeal to me much personally, but it was far from being a failure. And considering how much they cost now (like $90 new) its worth buying one just to play the games like Resident Evil 4, even if the rest dont really appeal. |
| #76 09:54pm 18/09/05 |
Xy
Took me a long time to get into consoles again after a long seperation (From the Sega Megadrive) but i love my ps2 and it proudly co-exists in the same room with my PC in peace and harmony.
If i had the money i would buy all the next gen consoles, looks like im going to have to make a tough choice though :/ |
| #77 10:03pm 18/09/05 |
DM
i've owned all 4 nintendo systems at 1 point or another and personaly the most disapointing was the gamecube. sure it had zelda, and 2 fps metroid games but beyond that and the 1 rpg game i bought (which was brilliant) i never played any other games. i mean 4 games that i liked for an entire system doesn't exactly scream classic console to me. also the fact that i cant find 1 video store within 30kms that hires out gamecube games also suggests that gamecube wasn't as popular and well received as they had hoped.
and about the whole kiddy thing, yeah mario and link are kid games but it wasn't until the nintendo 64 that games were really able to be anything but be kiddy style. well, with the exception of zelda 3, super metroid and secret of mana (still my fav rpg game ever) they seem a lot more adult. but yeah |
| #78 11:10pm 18/09/05 |
I still own a number of consoles including ps1, n64, gamecube, and (my mate's) xbox, although my fav console so far would have to be the snes. Man so much fun and good memories with mario kart, mario all stars, donkey kong, street fighter, killer instinct, turtles in time, battletoads, double dragon, zelda, mega man, f-zero etc etc.
A few good titles on the n64, namely mario kart 64, killer instinct gold, wipeout 64, extreme G, super smash brothers, and how could i forget GOLDEN EYE !!! and perfect dark. Can't really think of too many games i enjoyed playing on the gamecube besides Metriod Prime and F zero x. Double dash was fun for a lil while but i found myself always coming back to Super Smash Brothers Melee with it's awesome multiplayer. All this "kiddy" games and "lack of realism" talk doesnt really phase me the slightest, they're still a heap of fun to play especially multiplayer and that's what counts in my books. Games i enjoyed on the ps1 that come to mind were all the street fighter series, metal gear solid, tekken series, and the original wipeout 2097 Havent't really gotten into the handhelds nor the ps2.. i guess all that'd interest me there with the ps2 is Tekken 4,5 and the more recent metal gear solid stuff. Just not interested in the Gran turismo, final fantasey, DOA, GTA titles... xbox i haven't really played a great deal of games but i always find myself playing Def Jam: ffny (omg so hooked), burnout 3, and project gotham 2. Racing and fighting games (and the occasional 3rd person max payne type of games) are the only reason why i play consoles, and having played and owned the above 3 that's good enough for me to own an xbox. Still wanna try out ninja gayden, forza motorsports and burnout revenge. Other than that i leave all my first person shooting and strategy games for the pc to carve it up online, on lan, using the mighty mouse and keyboard. The point of my ramble you ask ? i've had fun with all consoles, but snes was easily the winning consle for me with its original fun as ever games. I suspect the same would be for the next generation in consoles.... it all comes down to the games you prefer. If there's one game that's a port of another on 2 systems and you can't decide which one to get then go down to the next thing: graphics, controls, multiplayer, online playbility or whatever it may be that you're looking for that will enhance your gaming experience. And to state the obvious, just because one console is more popular than another doesn't neccessarily make the more popular console a better console for you. If you cant afford to buy all 3 next gen systems then buy the one that will best satisfy your personal gaming needs, because, as mentioned by a few others, they're all still gaming consoles no matter what way you look at it and depending on your taste they are all fun in their own right. Over and Out. last edited by Booyah at 01:35:36 19/Sep/05 |
| #79 01:35am 19/09/05 |
bored
i don't know why you guys find it hard to find good games for the gamecube here's a quick list i made i'm sure i forgot some but anyways
Nintendo only: Animal crossing Final fantasy crystal Chronicles F-Zero Harvest Moon: A wonderful life Ikaruga-------sooo bloody hard which makes it feel rly good when u finish it The LEgend of Zelda: The Wind Waker Mario Kart: Double Dash Mario Party: # Mario Sunshine Metroid Prime Skies of Arcadia Legends Super Smash Bros Melee Star Wars Rogue Squadron Soon to come: Battalion Wars Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Pokemon XD: Gale of Darkness Deaf Jam 3 Ports: Killer 7 Resident Evil 4 Resident Evil: # Bomberman Generations Burnout 2 Bust-A-Move 3000 Capcom vs.Snk2 eo Deaf Jam: Fight for NY GoldenEye: Rogue Agent Hitman2: Silent Assassin Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes Mortal Kombat: Deception NFS: Underground / Most Wanted Sould Calibur 2 Tony Hawks underground-----i hated #2 bamm ruined it viewtiful Joe X-men Legends------hard to get in australia and yes i am a nintendo fanboy but that does not mean i can't injoy my x-box :) also would say that the x-box360 will be the leader in the next generation of consoles sony has lost alot of its thunder. |
| #80 01:26am 19/09/05 |
A_W
I still have a working original NES with several games stored away in my Wardrobe. :) Now that's classic. I keep it cause it's an antique, a peice of history, memorys of gaming from the early days and so forth. Also have megadrive II with about 15 games. And also a SNES. Only mario kart on that one. And i have to agree. SNES was the best console ever up until PS 1 and N64 were released. How fun was SMK? endless replayability and loads of fun. Kept trying to get those time trial times lower and lower. :) Back to the present, have to say PS 2 is the best. So, greatly looking forward to PS 3. But also keenly interested in what weird, wacky and wonderful things the Big N comes out with. |
| #81 02:16am 19/09/05 |
Resident Evil 4 wasn't a port, it was on Gamecube first, then ported to ps2. Also the Resident Evil Remake and Resident Evil Zero were gamecube exclusive. Those three games are really the only reason I owned a Gamecube, though I sold mine before RE4 came out because I got sick of waiting and decided I'd rather have the cash for it than a Gamecube gathering dust.
None of the other games in your Nintendo only list really interested me, and Ikaruga was on Dreamcast before Gamecube :) I bought Crystal Chronicles but never played it much because it was too hard getting four people who all owned GBA's together to play it for any length of time. I also had Eternal Darkness and Starfox Adventures, both of which were cool, but neither of which would have made me buy the console. Theres a lot of games in your "Ports" list that I enjoyed, but I played them on my XBox, not my Gamecube. I'm not saying this makes Gamecube a bad console or anything, or that the games on it were even bad games, I'm just giving some insight into why I didn't really like the Gamecube, and maybe why others didn't like it either. Its all subjective in the end, one person's idea of a "good" game isn't necessarily someone elses idea of a "good" game. |
| #82 02:17am 19/09/05 |
phatmike
snes ftw..
will always love my snes. love it so much I had to get it from home last time I was there and bring it to college, so many awesome memories, and SMK is the king of multiplayer. also love yoshis island and the dkc series, dkc2 ftw :) you would probably have gathered that Im a bit of a nintendo fanboy too. still have my nes, snes, n64, cube, gb brick, game boy color, and a DS. I do agree though that the games have been less 'magical' on the cube (aside from RE4 which is pure sex), maybe its just that I'm getting older, as Im not really playing many games at all anymore and get tired of things easily. Especially after all the clones coming out on everything, thats why I have faith in this new control, just watched Iwata's keynote and it went more indepth about the control, seems like Nintedno really wants to push the FPS control stuff for the revolution, so here's to hoping that they have an online FPS for launch that isn't MP3. |
| #83 03:24am 19/09/05 |
DM
super smash bros was damn awesome game. i totaly forgot about that one. Tales of Symphoina (spelling might be a tad off) was the best rpg i've played since snes zelda and secret of mana series. the only 2 disc game that i know of on the GC. i honestly think if nintendo made a game that had every 1 of their old nes/snes titles on it (or however many discs it took) it would sell through the roof. i sure would buy it. no new graphics or anything, just emulated on the cube. awesome.
| #84 04:01am 19/09/05 |
Also, careful who you call a n00b, they just might have been around alot longer then you, you do know what a noob is yer? haha, didnt take long for this to start happening here! yes, some of my happiest gaming time was battling goody on the sf series on snes even playing all the marios through for the first time was awesome nintendo games rock and their games may look kiddy, but they are fun fun appeals to everyone |
| #85 06:20am 19/09/05 |
amyescence
i love my game cube, resident evil 4 for the win and donkey kong jungle beat.
| #86 07:52am 19/09/05 |
bored
yeah most of the ones in my port list i have on my x-box.
also what makes a game kiddy? the bright colours the charaters the music the grafix or is it becus there is no human killings? |
| #87 10:31am 19/09/05 |
icewyrm
The worst thing about the gamecube is that tonnes of awesome games didn't ever get translated to english. Truckloads of cool games never left the shores of Japan (even more so with PS2 of course, but then sony has always had an advantage in sheer number of titles)
| #88 10:34am 19/09/05 |
phatmike
i honestly think if nintendo made a game that had every 1 of their old nes/snes titles on it (or however many discs it took) it would sell through the roof. i sure would buy it. no new graphics or anything, just emulated on the cube. awesome. hence more of a reason to bring on revolution :) |
| #89 11:42am 19/09/05 |
A_W
Agreed PM. Making an online system that let's you download really old classic nintendo games to your Revolution console is sheer genius. Can't wait. :D |
| #90 01:10pm 19/09/05 |
Random
The worst thing about the gamecube is that tonnes of awesome games didn't ever get translated to english. Truckloads of cool games never left the shores of Japan (even more so with PS2 of course, but then sony has always had an advantage in sheer number of titles)Name a couple of Gamecube games that never made it out of Japan. I am interested in them as some Japanese games are crazy fun. |
| #91 01:36pm 19/09/05 |
I'd pwn you with my sword fuzzy
| #92 03:19pm 19/09/05 |
phatmike
woot more good news:
Nintendo president Satoru Iwata has confirmed that the upcoming Revolution console will have the ability to download demos for the Nintendo DS... and then transfer them wirelessly onto your handheld! |
| #93 03:20pm 19/09/05 |
icewyrm
I'd love to, but I can't read japanese? I just looked at the boxes and watched the movies playing. I could probably get my mate to take a photo of a couple of shelves with his digital camera, or walk around and try and find ones with english titles.
Did notice lot's of anime games on GC though, lot's of naruto or FMA or other popular series rpg or fighting games on it. Most of the original RPG titles on it I couldn't read tho :/ |
| #94 04:27pm 19/09/05 |
I think something pretty significant that nobody seems to be mentioning is the performance of the controller. The 1up and gamespot previews hinted that the metroid prime control was slower than using a control (slower than a control! and they're already how much slower than kb/mouse)?
In addition to that is the quesiton of responsiveness. This is first-time tech, remember how completely horrid first generation optical mice were for gaming?Everyone is coming up with new and exciting ways to use this thing in present style games. Like as a steering wheel, or for first person shooters, but it really seems like it's not going to be suited to those task and we'd just be using the gamecube joy instead. The test is going to be if any of the games developed around the controller turn out worth a damn, I think at this stage at least, getting excited about the controls applications on current games is premature. |
| #95 05:20pm 19/09/05 |
http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/8410/control8aa.th.jpg
http://img238.imageshack.us/img238/5570/control28wb.th.jpg last edited by ravn0s at 18:05:20 19/Sep/05 |
| #96 06:05pm 19/09/05 |
Tim Tibbetts
I don't know where you heard that it was actually slower, this was posted before from an interview with PC Gamer
How does it compare to a mouse? |
| #97 06:05pm 19/09/05 |
Xy
It sounds like that guy in the quote has never heard of adjusting mouse sensitivity.
Still the other parts of his ramble are interesting such as rolling the controller and moving the controller towards and away from the screen ... full 3D control would definately kick ass. |
| #98 06:11pm 19/09/05 |
Yeah, this whole "point at what you want to look at thing" is a bit misleading, I mean the control doesn't work by pointing does it? I was under the impression it works on gyros or some s*** and detects you moving it and moves the stuff on screen accordingly. You're still just moving the controller to move your on screen view, much as you would with a mouse; you're not pointing at what you want to look at.
| #99 06:31pm 19/09/05 |
Had a bit of a read on ign and everything sounds promising. Although i got the impression that not all revoloution games will make use of this 2 piece remote control thingymabob ? especially since they will allow fall back to the conventional controller, which i might add is a good thing. That way if this 2 piece remote jizz jazz ever fails it wont be a complete failure with its standard thumbstick controller.
| #100 06:43pm 19/09/05 |
Khel: I know what you mean about the "point and look thing" If you check out IGN.com (after they played MP2 + rev controller)
They have a picture of Myst, and you can use it like a lazer, you point at what thing you want to do next, how normally you have to move the mouse cursor over something and click, you just "point" near the object and a circle goes around the object. |
| #101 06:54pm 19/09/05 |
phatmike
its not gyros at all, it users sensors and you apply two sensors to the bottom of your tv on both sides.
| #102 10:25pm 19/09/05 |
phatmike
if you want you should really download the full revolution unveiling vid, its dubbed over by ign and has quite a bit more cool info. btw, the pics that were released by nintendo do not show the sensors that pickup the controls motion, as they have of course not been finalised yet.
and to Dan worring about the metroid control..when it was being demo'ed, it was said that retro had only spent a few weeks tuning the MP2 engine to the control so of course it's not perfect. Remeber, the revolution probably wont launch until at least this time next year, most probably in November. |
| #103 10:28pm 19/09/05 |
Tuco
its bluetooth
| #104 11:05am 20/09/05 |
I've been using a mouse and keyboard for gaming for almost as long as I've been a gamer. I've logged over 80 hours so far in Battlefield 2 and I have a level 60 World of WarCraft character. If somebody had tried to tell me before now that a better controller would come along, I would have laughed at them.80 whole hours of BF2?! And WoW, whatever. I'd like to see some sort of FPS gamer whose opinion I actually value make these comments - some 80 hour BF2 newb saying its comparable to a mouse means NOTHING to me. For games like WoW where twitch reflexes aren't as important it might be fine, but when you're playing fast-paced FPS games its a different ball game. |
| #105 03:56pm 20/09/05 |
Sorry trog, I haven't tried it yet :)
| #106 03:59pm 20/09/05 |
| #107 04:02pm 20/09/05 |
Haha, thats the same thought I had when I saw all these pictures of different shells, I was thinking "Yay for spending hundreds of dollars on just the controller!"
| #108 04:40pm 20/09/05 |
| #108 |