Erik-the-Red
ok, so i just upgraded my video card, from a 9800 Pro to a 6800GT.
i uninstalled the old drivers, restarted, installed nvidia drivers. all sweet. now, when i go to start BF2, the splashscreen comes up, the screen goes black, like it's starting to load, then it goes back to desktop. no bf2 processes running in task manager. now, i've tried disabling refreshlock also. any ideas? |
| #0 07:01pm 27/07/05 |
Reason: Inappropriate |
#1 07:51pm 27/07/05
You run the Cat Killer stuff from ATI? Could be residual drivers from the ATI card playing havoc with nVidia - Seen that happen before
| #2 07:05pm 27/07/05 |
Have you Googled it? I'm pretty sure I've heard of a lot of people having this problem.
| #3 07:05pm 27/07/05 |
Erik-the-Red
thanx spook.....
any other solutions? yeah, i've googled it. couldn't find anything that's actually the same, most people were crashing 5-10min into game last edited by Erik-the-Red at 19:09:19 27/Jul/05 |
| #4 07:09pm 27/07/05 |
I think that is the black screen of death I've heard so much about. Try googing for that and see if you get better results. I've spoken to a few people that have had it but last time I spoke to 'em they hadn't found a resolution.
| #5 07:51pm 27/07/05 |
my post was serious
i would format and reinstall if i switched vid card manufacters clarification: if i was having porblmes last edited by Spook at 09:09:57 28/Jul/05 |
| #6 09:09am 28/07/05 |
You'd also use ie.
| #7 08:04pm 27/07/05 |
zectbumo
Did you install the absolute latest video drivers from the nvidia site? It wont work with the ones that came with the card.
Don't listen to anyone who says reformat for that simple problem. |
| #8 09:24pm 27/07/05 |
0z
Driver Cleaner Pro, use it in safe mode, do a ati drivers and nvidia drivers, reboot and reinstall your nvidia drivers.
| #9 09:36pm 27/07/05 |
zectbumo gets the cigar I reckon. The demo wouldnt work with anything unless the beta driver they released with it remember for Nvidia players anyway. What you describe is exactly what my 6800 Ultra was doing until I installed the beta driver, and subsequently the latest dets.
| #10 10:44pm 27/07/05 |
Erik-the-Red
cept i've tried the latest det's, and i've tried the det's that came on the BF2 dvd.
77.72 and 77.30 any ideas on which versions to use? tried that driver cleaner and reinstalled latest det's too. no joy. last edited by Erik-the-Red at 00:19:16 28/Jul/05 |
| #11 12:19am 28/07/05 |
Have you ue the 'override refresh rates' setting in the Nivida driver options panel to set your refresh rates for your chosen res? Also made sure that the option in the BF2 video default .con file is set to 1 to allowall refreshrates?
Also make sure you have your 2d and 3d clock speeds set in the nvidia driver panel set to the same speeds. You might have to get the 'coolbits' reg file to be able to see these tabs. Let me know and I can email it to you if you wish. |
| #12 09:08am 28/07/05 |
zectbumo
Use the 77.30 drivers.
Try uninstalling the game and deleting the battlefield 2 directory in my documents and delete the registry entries if you know how to and then reinstall the game. Remember that the game by default launches at 800x600@60Hz so if you have any sort of refresh lock on it wont work. |
| #13 09:12am 28/07/05 |
darius
this is a problem i had ... when i started bf2 from the start menu shortcut it would create an error but if i ran the executable from the directory it would work
| #14 10:07am 28/07/05 |
zectbumo
Yes the shortcut has some additional switches that may effect the game. Try adding this to the shortcut if its not already there -
"C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 2\BF2.exe" +menu 1 +fullscreen 1 +szx 1024 +szy 768 Now see if that starts it. |
| #15 10:32am 28/07/05 |
dafugg
heh
i upgraded from the same chip to the same chip two weeks ago. had the same problem too. solved it in one easy step - i had to remove an ati overclocking program called rage3d and the game worked again. |
| #16 11:01am 28/07/05 |
Erik-the-Red
still no joy.
i might do a quick reinstall of windows onto another hard drive tonight and see if that works. but i appriciate everyone's help, but if u think of anything else, i still haven't fixed this last edited by Erik-the-Red at 18:05:51 29/Jul/05 |
| #17 06:05pm 29/07/05 |
0z
| #18 08:17pm 29/07/05 |
Erik-the-Red
ok, just tried those new drivers, no joy.
also tried fresh install on spare hard drive, and it works. i was using the 77.72 drivers, no worries. so it could be some software i have interfering. but it's only since i changed cards, and only on bf2 |
| #19 08:25pm 29/07/05 |
0z
Mate have your tryed to uinstall bf2/del game dir then reinstall?
| #20 08:27pm 29/07/05 |
Erik-the-Red
yeah
| #21 08:29pm 29/07/05 |
0z
have any software in background like ati tool/ ati tray tools / rage 3d / powerstrip running?
also if you have agp reinstall the GART drivers... might be worth it doing a search for "ati*.*" in your system32 and system32/drivers folders to see if there any files left over from your ati card. |
| #22 08:33pm 29/07/05 |
also tried fresh install on spare hard drive, and it works. i was using the 77.72 drivers, no worries. If thats the case its certainly looking more like some old ATI stuff in the system that might be causing a conflict. I know when I went from ATI back to Nvidia I did a full format just out of loyalty i guess. :P |
| #23 08:35pm 29/07/05 |
anyone got a fix for this?
I just installed BF2 today and am having the same issue, except I've got a GF4 Ti4800 (not supported officially but should work) just crashing back to desktop on loadup. I've tried everything suggested here too, and upgraded directx, nvidia drivers etc |
| #24 09:21pm 02/08/05 |
Pretty sure that GF4's won't work in BF2 no matter what you do
| #25 09:33pm 02/08/05 |
Yeah I've just discovered that now, wow thats f***ing gay.
Glad I didn't pay for it then (I won it) |
| #26 09:39pm 02/08/05 |
| #26 |