The hugely anticipated Battlefield 2 demo premiered on GameSpot this morning, and despite EA saying it would be exclusive for 24 hours, it looks like the GameSpot chaps have (yet again) proven they're not dorks and settled for being the first site to have it. The demo weighs in at over 500mb and there are a bunch of mirrors online, including the AusGamers Files mirror (which is currently limited to Australian users only), GameArena, Internode, FileRush (Torrent) and all the other usual places.
Most of the mirrors are getting creamed at the moment so please be patient and make sure you remember that this is what happens when there isn't an organised release with mirroring done in advance.
GameArena has a bunch of servers up now which you can probably see in the in-game browser or from The Arena.
We currently have 8 Battlefield 2 Demo Servers up
we should have 18.
EA made a mistake and released the wrong Linux binaries
and have told us that it wont be fixed until next week.
So I have had to steal and plunder hardware from many locations,
unfortunately to do this I had to temporarily remove the BFV and bf1942 server.
I assure you as soon as the Linux demo server is released they will return and we will have 18 BF2 demo servers.
I had a bash before. If you liked BF1942 or desert combat you'll love this game. The squad idea is cool, but at the moment everyone is just running around with little organisation.
It's f***ing fun when people obey their leaders. You actually are able to take over areas in the map easily that way.
The only problem is team-stacking. Almost every man and his dog tries to be on the US side. I played 2 games in a row where it was 20v10 in favour of the US and no form of team-balancing was present. No one would switch either.
Well, I've been playing it on and off today and its not bad at all. I like how its become a lot more tactical, eg you can plant c4 on enemy radar stations and blow them to kingdom come thus taking out their commander's radar ability. Or that the aircraft behave more like aircraft and have more instruments.
You also need to install the video drivers that come with it as they are newer then the whql ones on the nvidia site and it won't work with anything less.
how can u create an account..........because every time i try to make and account it says that email or password has been taken and i have tried many variations
Well I have tried everything, installed the drivers they recommend, tweaked the videodefault.con file etc.. and it wont load?. Im using an Asus 6800 Ultra. I have read that quite a few people have the same problem?
yeah exo, its s***. you can bind RMB to forward, but then when you try and assign a button to backwards, it erases the forward setting...wtfgay.
it seems to only like settings where you use the mouse buttons for forward and back settings...but thats fkn useless.
yeah nats, the sniper rifle is pretty weak. you gotta get headshots for instakills, then lead alot with your shots. only gave it a small go though...i'm an awesome chopper pilot :D
what i did was bind right mouse to *secondary* forward key (leaving primary forward as blank or W), and then bound backwards to X. This way it didn't clear the RMB->forwards bind.
Had a bit of a bash. It's very fun. I like the way squads work. If you can get a bunch of mates to jump in the same squad, you can really get some teamwork going and get some decent points on the scoreboard.
But the sniper rifle is semi-auto. If you miss the first time you can just keep peppering them with shots till they drop. Also being prone seems to help a heap for your spread.
BFHQ ACCOUNTS
- Please note: You are unable to change the nickname you chose when you
initially created your BFHQ account, as well as your email address or
password. If you need to change any of these you must create a new
BFHQ account using a new email address.
This is stupid. You have to create a user name to play the game and you cant change that name and use the same email address. If you want to change your name, at all, you have to use another e-mail address. How fukin stupid.
Why not just allow the user to edit his account details?????
Just had a muck around in single player and I reckon it's awesome fun.
Win2K
Asus X800 Pro 256meg
1gig ram
2800XP
Game runs fine but gets a bit jerky in parts, but once I upgrade my cpu it'll be flying. Thing that really s***'s me is binding keys. Takes f***ing ages because the f***** options wont let you bind a key if it is already bound to something else. So far that's the lamest thing I've found with the game.
Not a bad game so far. Although the whole not having a supported vid card does blow. I could get the menu but everytime I tried to start/join a game it would quit to desktop. My work around was to just re-install my old 61.77 drivers (I have a ASUS GF 5200 FX)
Well I've been playing it all night now and whilst I don't think the included map will give as much mileage as Wake did in BF1942, its still got a fair bit of life in it.
I've become quite proficient at infiltrating the MEC base and planting C4 on everything in sight. The MEC commander gets quite unhappy when you C4 their precious artillery units, UAV truck or radar trailer. And seeing as you still remain in the game world while accessing the command interface, I like to also hunt around the base for their commander and cut his head off with a knife. Then you just lurk around the MEC base taking potshots at people or steal the tank and blast the f*** out of their aircraft on the ground.
Now getting onto the USMC carrier is a little trickier but more satisfying than C4ing the MEC base. For extra laffs you can plant C4 on their aircraft then wait for some poor f*** to get in then blammo. Mind you, you'll need a commander that isn't a n00b to drop you supplies.
Got it running sweet now, seems the bundled Nvdiai beta drivers didnt like Reforce program. Disabled it and it runs great. strange really as I have never had a driver set yet that didnt run fine with Reforce, even in any BF1942/Vietnam game.
The key binding thing s***ted me no end , especially getting my wingman joystick binds all set up. Game has a lot of promise for a dedicated 'team' approach. Just gotta find me a decent chopper pilot to line me up with that camera guided misiles.
Running it at home on medium setting with a 9600 xt and there isnt any noticable slow downs. Pretty fun so far but i need to get onto some online action sometime soon.
I'm enjoying it so far. Jumped in a squad with several of my DC Clanmates and had a great time working together. I've got serious issues with my computer though, all manner of things f***ing up so I think I'm going to be spending my tax return on an upgrade.
Could they make that process any s***ter? f***ing doubt it.
It's like you need two keyboards so you can unbind all their s*** to one and get them setup properly on another. It's the most annoying f***ing thing ever!!!!
I'd love to meet the guy that created the setup options and slap him hard across the face.
what if someone else wants to play on my computer? they have to be me? No, you do 'Recover Account' or whatever the option is, and enter their own pre-existing username/password, and it'll download and add their profile/account to your machine.
I still think it's stupid nonetheless.
--------------------------
There are a few things about this game that I find irritating.
1. Just like BF1942, the weapons don't 'feel' right. The weapon sounds and animations don't really make the weapons feel powerful, but cheap. I feel like I'm firing a donkey's penis. I'm sure you guys can relate with the donkey.
2. I seem to be dying lots without knowing how I was killed and where from. A text death description isn't useful, as I don't know all the weapon names by heart. I regret to say that CS's weapon-picture death messages are much more useful. Maybe there's an option somewhere ...
3. The MEC voice-overs. They're completely useless for English speakers and make gameplay more difficult. Firstly, you can't obey orders by voice. Secondly you have to take your eyes off your target alot to read the English translation. The Options menu gives a hint that there might be a way to force the voices to English in the full version, let's hope so.
--------------------------
Can anyone give me a hint as to how to actually shoot someone? I find that I get killed 3/4 times that I attempt a firefight. I've tried standing and shooting, crouching, being prone, in combination with looking down the gun. I unload an entire clip in bursts, then I find that the enemy turns around and pops a single bullet into me and I die.
I can't connect to servers using Cogs. It sorta starts up ok but then it goes black and drops me back to the desktop.
I'm forced to write down the IP of the server and connect to it manually in BF2 = pain in the ass. Anyone have this problem or know how to fix?
Thing that gives me the s***s the most is when you are playing medic a bunch of guys will die not so far from your position so you sprint off and whip out your field defib kit but the spawn timer is that low 9/10 times you will be about 2 feet away and they respawn and dissapear... so f***ing annoying!
I think this game really requires a group to stick together for it to become effective. If you have a medic and a squad leader you can really defend points effectively. Just make sure your squad leader doesn't die and everyone respawns right there.
I can't connect to servers using Cogs. It sorta starts up ok but then it goes black and drops me back to the desktop.
Yer I cant connect from thrid party server finders. It fires up the game and sits in the menu. I HATE using that inbuilt gamespy, always have and I dare say always will.
I don't know what it is exactly but it does feel somewhat gumby/unsharp compared to say CS source or other FPSers/
It must be something subtle, perhaps there is a really short delay on your mouse movement to your screen movement.
I turned my mouse sense up, higher then most fps games I play. That seemed to help with that wierd effect.
I like grabing a boat and puttering over to the US carrier as a MEC and sneak into the undercarrage area and run amok.
It should tell you when you hit, the crosshair flashes with extra lines to indicate a hit.
I think this game really requires a group to stick together for it to become effective. If you have a medic and a squad leader you can really defend points effectively. Just make sure your squad leader doesn't die and everyone respawns right there.
This is true... but on pub servers unless you are playing with some friends squads are virtually useless :)
The squad, even on pubs, is good. I like that you can spawn at overrun checkpoints if your squad leader is still there.
I thought the added crosses on the crosshair meant they were now in target, no wonder i'm so crap at killing people.
I've noticed a lot of improvement in players this morning. It's certainly going to be hard to keep up.
There needs to be a better way to communicate with your teammates. And I don't know whether no one is voice chatting, but i've not heard anything audible from anyone.
Thing that gives me the s***s the most is when you are playing medic a bunch of guys will die not so far from your position so you sprint off and whip out your field defib kit but the spawn timer is that low 9/10 times you will be about 2 feet away and they respawn and dissapear... so f***ing annoying! Yep this is definately gay. Needs to be tweaked and made a lot longer. Maybe its a server side variable? Trog you able to shed light on this?
I was on 64 player gamearena server a second ago and it was hardly playable with adsl. Jumped on some random 32 player server and it was running significantly better.
I've been getting excellent pings. Somewhere around 15-25 usually. Yes, I'm on cable, but i still don't usually get pings that good. I'm normally on about 40 or so, because I have s***ty upload.
I love this game. But everyone now and then on GameArena servers I get kicked with a message saying somnething about either kicked by admin, or voted out :/ Soooo annoying
whoever designed the keyboard mapping interface needs to go back to sucking dick for a profession. I called it the single worst interface ever, when my housemate oh so wisely suggested that I as insulting interfaces.
its not as bad as people are making out to be. increase your fps should make aiming better.
dogfighting is cool.
its awesome when you start working as a team, and its a close game, it sucks when your just defending your main base because everyone is trying to plane camp, and ignore the fact that the enemy is storming through the base stealing bases.
Start of the game, a squad member asks for a ride. I hoon across the map in my tank, pick him up, and spiral around behind the enemy base. He hops off, captures the flag while I kill the backtracking enemies from my tank. At that stage a commander is voted in and starts giving us orders.
Absolutely brilliant, when people join squads and obey orders!
pitty all the games ive played so far consist of 13yr old randoms camping, sigh. last like 8 games have been like that, except i have gotten into a couple and got into a squad, running around the map.
its so much better when people obey orders. for everyone.
Anyone got VOIP to work at all yet? I join squads and try to talk to guys but get no response. The speaker icon indicates that I'm transmitting but its either not working in the demo, or these guys dont have headsets?
Anyone got VOIP to work at all yet? Yep it works for me fine. Talking to my squad anyway. Just make sure you setup everything to do with audio before connecting to the server. Any changes made whilst connected don't seem to work (and some aren't available). So set your mike (and set voices to english only) before connecting.
useless game? excuse me all you wingers, it is now 2005 the geforce 4 ti series and below are pretty much 2002 generation cards, get over it, fork out 160 dollars for a newer generation ati or nvidia card,,, i mean COME ON, you have had 3 years to upgrade no excuse, I understand your pain and the financial burden but, come on, if you want nice graphics, you have to have a good card. Its not fair to release a good game with a s***ty engine just cause your all running 3-4 year old gfx cards. (if so, whats the point of people buying better hardware). Lets all go back to pacman.
I love the game, it's awesome. I find myself doing the commander role for 1-2 turns and then going back into the field to kill ppl..when I'm the commander I do nothing else except sit there giving orders and laying artillery down etc, very sweet.
Like every team game if your team works well together you'll own, and with the commander it's even more important as they can see where the freakin' bad guys are and relay that to the squad commanders who let their town know (hopefully).
I'm going to buy this for sure, and I believe you get a free headset with it (?) so everyone should have voice as well, which could be a bad thing really but we'll see :D
I dont know if this has been mentioned yet but it seems everyone has had the drama of binding keys. The best way to set ya keys up is to delete all the settings inside the control.con file in the \Documents and Settings\xxxxxxxxx\My Documents\Battlefield 2 Demo\Profiles 1
Then just go bind everything without anything conflicting !!!
Has to be the lamest key binding interface ever designed. They went backwards from BF 1942. And I agree that the server listing interface sucks ass. I can't believe they wrote such an unresponsive piece of crap. You'd think at least one of them had looked at Steam and got a vague clue of how to do it.
Or you could just use the default keys. I haven't even looked at this key binding interface, because I just go default. Looks like doing so has saved me lots of frustration.
Anyone got VOIP to work at all yet? I join squads and try to talk to guys but get no response. The speaker icon indicates that I'm transmitting but its either not working in the demo, or these guys dont have headsets?
I and my son tested the voice comms on public servers with him connecting via adsl and me on cable. The voice worked fine and clear but I'm dammed as to why no else seems to use it.
Yeh Im sure my headsets all setup correct and my broadcast icon lights up when I do transmit but seems my squad mates cant be f***ed answering me, either that or they dont have headsets.
Other than the key binding GUI being written by a retard, and a few issues with weapon balance I think I could get into it in a big way with the right teammates.
You spent $400 for a Geforce 4? Recently? Why? I remember getting an asus GF4 Ti4200 for just over $300 almost three years ago...
You can get an fx5700, which I think is the minimum BF2 lets you play with, for about $140 these days. Its not like its a huge expenditure, imo even a casual gamer should have at least that to be keeping up with the latest stuff thats coming out these days. Going up from there you can get a 9600xt with 256mb of ram these days for not much over $200, and thats still quite a decent midrange card that will last any casual gamer for a while longer.
Burying your head in the sand and pretending technology isn't moving forward, while complaining that you can't run the hottest new games on your 4 year old video card isn't really a viable solution in the world of PC gaming.
On one hand, people are whinging that a modern game doesn't want to run on their old graphics card from 2002.
On the other hand, I don't see why BF2 requires a modern card.
It's not like it's showing off revolutionary graphics. Hell, Doom3 with a much more advanced graphics engine and lighting system had backends for even slower cards than a GeForce4.
It takes more effort to remove content from the full version to create a demo, than to leave it in. This is due to more coding, and testing to make sure nothing breaks.
You are either implying they removed functionality or that they will implement code for older systems in the retail version. Well, the retail version went gold before the demo was released, no? Meaning that any support they could add would be in the form of a downloadable patch, after release, if anything.
But we're talking about an EA-affiliated game .. wouldn't hold my breath :)
Now that I am getting into the game properly its becoming a hell of a lot more fun.
Runs fine on my PC @ medium detail + 100% range (2ghz,1024ddr,9700pro).
Burying your head in the sand and pretending technology isn't moving forward, while complaining that you can't run the hottest new games on your 4 year old video card isn't really a viable solution in the world of PC gaming. Bingo!
i bought an ASUS 6600gt for $330 a couple of months back. Should be sub300 by now. I've cranked most things to high and it seems to run really well (A64-3200, 1gig, 6600gt 128MB).
I think I know why some of you cannot play the game even though your cards supposedly should be able to - do you use that refresh rate fix program? Have you set low resolutions (eg 320x200) to use anything other than 60 Hz? If so, that could be what's causing it. Try setting them back to 60 Hz and see what happens.
can anyone recommend a good graphics card thats less than $400?
Around that price range, 6600gt is definately the card to go for imo. With $400 you could probably get one of the high end ones, like a BFG one or something.
I'd buy a 6600GT if I knew it'd run this game nicely... my 9600XT 128 MB isn't too good and I need to lower the detail levels significantly. Also, sif playing in 800x600...
I'm up for that. I'm loving this game so far; Helicopters ftw!
Also, functional squad combat brings another level of awersomeness to BF2 when you can get it working. I love devising combat strategies with squad members whilst rendezvousing with the commander on the fly, especially when you have a good medic.
Definately buying this. I can't stop playing.
fpot, that's the refresh rate problem... I just reinstall XP and reset my refresh rates and discovered the same problem I had with BF1942 - if you set the low resolutions to use anything other than 60 Hz it will screw up and not load the menus (ie quit to desktop).
I just reinstall XP and reset my refresh rates and discovered the same problem I had with BF1942 - if you set the low resolutions to use anything other than 60 Hz it will screw up and not load the menus (ie quit to desktop).I tried that, still didn't work :(
And I am not going to f*** around to get this demo working, I am just going to wait till they release a working version.
I rocked up to the enemy base, blew up their artillery, radio tower and that other building, each 4 times. I died several times and ended up on -20 points.
Do you not get rewarded for disabling your enemy's structures? That's lame. I mean, the enemy commander hardly got to use his artillery because of it, and my team gained from that.
Sucks to be you then. I'm having heaps of fun with it.It's okay, because I have gta:sa to keep me busy. If it had been any other time I probably would have been pissed off.
Agree with everything except one point.
I've had no reason to change the default key layout (right mouse button for forward? What the hell do you use for secondary functions then?)
I've had the same key combination since Doom 2. I'm not about to switch it, but I will work hard to alter the current system to one that works for me. My alternate-fire key is X, my strafe is ctrl and alt, my backwards key is shift. I use the back and forward buttons on my MX700 for the two commo-roses. I use A and Z for jump and crouch, along with S for sprint and D for prone. All my keys are under the one hand, I use every key from TAB to R, and down to V - that's around 18 keys which I can access with the one hand. Anything else is done using my mouse.
another note with snipering, i was having trouble even HITTING them, untill i finnaly saw where my sniper bullets where landing. at which point i aimed about 2mm above there head.. bamn, nice body shot.. most of the time.
I've got an Albatron AGP version, running at 1024x768 @ 75Hz, High graphics settings, Audio on medium with EAX off (defaults on), 1GB of RAM (game uses about 680MB (VM usage)).
Runs fine with the supplied drivers except for momentary hiccups when I drop bombs, but I believe that is my sound, (nVidia Soundstorm APU, the onboard nforce 2 chip). Thinking of getting a Audigy 2 for that, the game sounded awsome with EAX enabled, hope to have the same thing later :)
To remove the 12 minute time limit for each round, do the following. Note for server admins, apparently GameSpy and EA Games do not like this, and may delist your server if you do it.
Go to your \Battlefield 2 Standalone Demo Server\mods\bf2\python\game\gamemodes directory or your \Battlefield 2 Demo\mods\bf2\python\game\gamemodes (depending on whether you want to implement this on a server, or for your own singleplayer mode), and open the gpm_cq.py file with Notepad or Wordpad. Find the following line (if necessary do a search for this string):
host.sgl_endGame(winner, victoryType)
Then simply place a '#' in front of that line, and add the word 'return' just below it. This should mean that the once the clock hits 00:00 you can still keep playing until all the tickets expire.
Is this why I suddenly drop from the game, I mean the game stops completely? Or am I getting some kind of whacky crash?
Sounds like one of the many ATI issues that the game has at the moment Psycho. When the time is up it should just return you to the menu with all the scores, and the option to start again.
Sounds like one of the many ATI issues that the game has at the moment Psycho.
Problem is I am using an Asus 6800 Ultra, I got a BSOD the other day relating to the 'usb audio' so I think these new logitech usb headsets might be causing a prob. either that or the beta driver isnt too hot , I might roll back my vid drivers and see how that goes, or try using my Zalman headphones via the Audigy2zs and see if that cures it. It doesnt happen all the time just some of the time but enough to piss me off.
JUst played it for a while then with the Audigy2 as sound and it was awesome, not getting any crackles or crashes I seem to get when using the usb headset. Game actually seemed to run a bit smoother as well? wierd. :( Maybe its because I also have a usb joystick running as well, i dunno but it looks like I might have to get a mike for the audigy2 as the sound was great. I see on Aispcmarket that the Zalman surround headphones can have a clip on mike...might chase that option up.
Assuming the logitech headphones are a separate sound device, you will find the CPU being used a lot more for all the sound processing. With the audigy all the processing is offloaded to the sound card which would give you better performance. If you wanted to use the headphones without the crackling you probably have to turn of the hardware acceleration in the sound settings.
The USB headphones you get show up as a seperate sound device in windows, they don't piggyback at all off the processing power of your inbuilt soundcard, as such, if you pipe games through them, all sound processing will be done in software somewhere along the line.
Edit:
You can change the default sound device for input and outputs in your Sound options in the Control Panel. Some external programs allow you to manually set these options specificly (ie, teamspeak), this allows configurations such as game sounds through your speakers and teamspeak only through the USB headset.
I've got mine set to default the USB headsets mic for recording (only mic I have) and default out is the onboard, works well.
This morning (0245) I was working on how the TV missles work, and I think I've got them pretty down pat. So, here's a list of events that you'll typically go through.
1) Jump in chopper as gunner, hopefully you don't get too much of an a****** pilot who strafes so much that watching them in the sky would give you RSI in the neck.
2) If lucky, pilot will level out some hundred meters away from your intended target (the missles have a range somewhere around 700 meters, maybe 800, havn't checked for sure).
3) Switch from the cannon to the missle screen.
4) You aim in the first direction you want the missle to head towards, note that you will need clearence in front of the chopper to do this first turn, so if your the only one in the thing, move it to the edge of the carrier or on top of the oil tank for MEC.
5) Click and hope it launches on the first click, so far most of the time I've tried to quickly fire it from a cold launch, it has missed the first click and launches on the second, note this is only from when the chopper has respawned, every other missle will launch first time (not sure about after rearming)
6) The missle will launch from its fixed position and turn to the direction you first clicked with, it will keep following reletivly straight until you click again.
Thats the important step, from the videos I watched I assumed the missle tracked the mouse and you flew it guided by your mouse on the screen (kind of like Freelancers mouse control, centered keeps you heading straight, and a continuios turn if you moved it in a direction), however, assuming being the root of all evil and me making an ass out of myself ending up being the end result, I was wrong.
The missle follows your clicks, so you launch, it'll fly straight allowing you to see where you want to click next, you click, and it'll change course to the new direction.
This is extremely powerful, can allow you to camp out at the carrier just launching TV missles cruise style, but at the same time, if your just sitting around at the carrier, your suceptable to enemy aircraft with their missles and guns, their bombs, and of course, enemy artillery, so screwed if you don't have a pilot there to help you out, and screwed because the SU often likes to go rape the carrier with its army of bombs (ok, not army, just 5, but if done right, can clear out 10 or so people waiting for transport, etc)
I'd recommend setting up a 32 player server with just yourself for practice (32 player map includes the airfield and carrier in it, the smaller ones I don't think they do), as I sugest with just about everything, I don't think people would like having the apache used only for your practice now would they? :P
Oh, final note, anyone notice that when the map scales, it has a little master overview of the area your fighting in highlighted in red, also notice the non-included section on the outer border, makes me wonder if it'll give a little extra room when its bumped to 64 players on retail, maybe not, time will tell :)
Ok, missles have a range of about 650m, just did a couple of checks and around the 650m mark they self destruct, which is still able to reach the middle beach flag from the carrier if you don't have a pilot to get you a little closer. But, teamwork is the game here and you'll be alot more effective if you've got an elevated launch position.
I'm not absolutly sure if missles get effected the same way as planes do with altitude (higher planes go, the faster they go, don't know if its a bug or whatnot, but with afterburners I get the USMC plane (forgotten its code, its early :P F-35 maybe?) to about 1100-1200 at ground level, however at 1000m up (max before you loose control as you did BF style) I managed to get it to 2000-2400 before the spining effected it too much.
Oh, take that into account when outrunning AA, while its tempting to pissbolt and go for ground, higher you get, the more manuverable the planes seem to get and the faster they go, especially under afterburners :) I've dodged quite a few stingers this way, looks quite good in the rear third person cam too (fifth person? :/), but when your going up that fast without a hud, you may loose track of that altitude and go flying off into the unknown and die for out of bounds :)
Those tv missiles are tough, they do alot of damage. If your the pilot make sure you give some time for the gunner to aim it up and fire. Nothing worse then aiming up a shot and the pilot decides to fly off to whoop whoop. If your a gunner make sure you use the missiles. So many times have I been hovering above a target and the gunner just pops off a few rounds of his machine gun.
In Chopper vs Chopper fights (my fav) If your the pilot keep yourself at a higher altitude then the enemy chopper, this allows your gunner to fire upon him, while allowing you to aim up/re-arm your missiles. Also as a gunner dont be afraid to pop of a missile if your close enough ;)
When a flag is poorly defended hover above the flag to cap it.
If your bailing out above an enemy flag/base bank the chopper hard and eject, this makes sure that you crash the chopper for a quick respawn. I've seen pilotless choppers spinning off wayyy into out-of-bounds, can sometimes take a few mins to crash :/
I double clicked the BF2 icon on the desktop and it loaded for me. I guess it doesn't work if your card doesn't fit EA and Dice's requirements. I'm running an X800 Pro card and have an Audigy 2 ZS and the game works fine for me. Also only running a 2800XP as well.
But seriously, where do you go to enter your name??????
You created your name and account during installation. You login, that gives you your name.
when i installed BF2 it had me create account natslovR
so the account i log in to when i start the game is natslovR
so my onscreen name is natslovR
easy peasie
I like it that it ties one onscreen name to one account (and hopefully one legit key), since that way you won't get f***tards creating new account and getting on the ranked servers with their newly created account deliberately team killing.
and people will always be playing their best, not f***ing around, or it will be reflected in their stats.
one thing i wanted to know is can you get missile locks when using a fighter plane? isee the sights lock onto a target but when i fire the missle flies straight.
All weapons and Timelimit hack servers are been shutdown.............
Admins are up in arms today as EA has apparently begun to blacklist Battlefield 2 demo servers that are running without timelimits and/or with all weapons unlocked. While the unlocking of weapons reserved for the full game may be pushing it a bit far (EA did however include all assets for these weapons in the demo, just begging for someone to unlock them), both modifications are enabled with a simple one-line alteration any novice could do in an unencrypted file.
EA has backed the mod community since the release of the Battlefield 1942 demo, but failed to warn of the consequences if the demo was modified, or in fact state that it was forbidden. To make matters worse, EA is failing to respond to requests for comment, and blacklisted servers can only return to the server list by changing I.P., a move that many hosting companies charge for.
EA must be complete dumbasses to be surprised by people unlocking stuff. And who cares about a lousy time limit on a round ffs? How does that reduce the number of people wanting to buy the game once it's released? I'll say it again... dumbasses.
you have to cut/paste or copy the demo directory from BattleField 2
demo/mods/bf2/ to My Documents\Battlefield 2 Demo\Profiles\Default.
After that it'll show up under the community selection of the menu
Is there a way to turn demos into avi's? Or are they recorded straight to avi?Youd prolly have to use fraps. The way the recorder works it logs locations and actions rather than actually recording. The result being that you can replay the battle in real time rather than just watch it.
Also means you can save and share recordings easily becuase they have low bandwidth costs. Its kind of a neat system...
so everytime I select the weapon it's going to change it's fire mode? how lame It'll only change the firing mode of you press 3 while already having weapon 3 selected.
Yeah and not only that, if you make something which they've never thought of and could potentially make money off, they'll cut your balls off.
Gotta love the corporate ego.If they stipulate suck control in their EULA and you agree to that contract by playing installing the game then its tough tits. The game is their IP and they are free to exploit it however they like.
The modders would still hold rights to their artwork... :P
I couldn't get it to hover in one place, but you can get it so it's only moving forward really slowly. The chopper controls are f***ing awesome, so easy to use. Sorta like fly mode in quake.
so everytime I select the weapon it's going to change it's fire mode? how lame
no - just everytime you select it, whilst you are already using it
if you are swapping back from a pistol/grenade/knife etc then it will stay as auto (3 round burst), if you then select it again, then it will change to single shot
I couldn't get it to hover in one place, but you can get it so it's only moving forward really slowly. The chopper controls are f***ing awesome, so easy to use. Sorta like fly mode in quake. my only gripe about the game, the choppers don't fly like in dc.. now DC choppers, they were awesome! although atleast they aren't as bad as vietnam choppers.. they still aren't as good as the dc ones
I love choppers, especially the MEC chopper, even more so then the fighter jets, so much more control. Go hunting for tanks and camp at the marine's ship carrier and take out the f***ers and their jets while they spwan.
Yeah, I'm loving the choppers. I'm pretty spastic in planes, not too bad doing air-to-air stuff, but I just can't get the hang of doing strafing runs on ground targets, and I can't hit s*** with bombs.
And yeah, I inwardly groan every time the US win. They could have just had some small, cool piece of heroic victory music, but no, they have to throw in some corny patriotic take on the national anthem. And wtf is up with the MEC victory music, why does it sound like something out of a Western?
Any game developer who is making a multiplayer only game should care what their server screen interface is like. It is the first point of contact that every single one of your customers is going to use, every single time they boot up the game.
Its great
It is balls, but as we all know, you do like balls ...
Ellipses have 3 periods, 2 periods is just gay.
Functionality and game play are an accident
The game has many great bits going for it, but many of its interfaces suck wang. It really wouldn’t have been that hard to make a really good intuitive interface. Instead it seems rushed, and ‘forgotten’.
Remembering the BF2 demo was very rushed. it was not supposed to be realised. Every modding group was surprised they released it with full Python code access. This was a screw up. And they screwed up bigtime how the demo was distributed.
Whitewolf, I was not been sarcastic. I know lots of things about BF2. And i'm not been sarcastic. Unfortunetely, these forums dont have a sarcasm metre built in.
When did i ever call you an idiot?! Or even refered to you as one?! Well i didn't. I'm just stating facts about BF2. Believe me or not. It's your choice.
I dont want to jump down whitewolf's throat anymore, i think he copps enough slack from fpot and the likes.
Just one thing, now that we've had this pointless discussion, if i ever see you in the game i'll make sure i'll be on your side so i could fly a chopper straight into you, propellers first, regardless of the winning anthem.
I pre-ordered today at EB in the myer centre. As I was waiting in the queue a courier delivered a couple of boxes from EA Games plainly labelled Battlefield 2. I tried to get the guy to hand over the copy now but he wouldn't budge, reckons he couldn't even have his copy till tomorrow (as if he isn't at home now trying to load it up on his 486 swearing like a sailor). 9am tomorrow morning, not long to wait :-P
i'll be one of those nerds there tomorrow at 9am. Then back home at lunch to install it before the yanks start flooding the authentication/login servers
Hopefully they still don't get it till the 22nd, giving us an 8 hour head start. Not that i'll have time to play it at lunch... damn you work.
aye, I cannot login with the demo anymore. Either the enough copies are in the hands of the public to make the login servers s*** themselves or they have taken them down in preperation of the official release.
arrr just came back from havey norman and dick smiths and they both dont have it yet and i was like wtf the ea website said that it came out today.....looking like another whole day i shall have 2 wait for it come out....damnnnnnnn u EA
its a radeon 9600xt, i only have 512MB of ram, so the textures are on really low, just so there isn't stopping every couple of seconds, everything else is on high except the shadows. which are on medium.
You still can get coop to work just the same as you could in the demo, just limited to 16 players in total...
My noob flatmates when trying to join my Single Player game, didn't listen to what I said and were looking for a LAN game and NOT trying to connect to my LAN IP directly from the multiplayer/internet option...
Well everything ran fine on the demo for me playing on 64 player servers.
Since i've got the full game, i've had to drop the resolution down a notch (to 1024), and turn everything that was on high to medium to get decent performance again. Otherwise it chuggs like a mofo.
Guess the demo map was picked for a very good reason. i was running the demo with all settings on high except dynamic shadows and lighting (medium) and no antialiasing.
What link you got? you think max players will lag at all on 512 link?
I notice even on some of the CS:S servers with max plrs i get some lag on 512.. Dodgy servers? High ping customers? who knows.. I didn't have that issue with BF1942 or DC with like max players.. EG/ Is the netcode beter than the first BF? Has it changed?
nats, I run in 1024x768 with everything on high except textures and lighting, which are on medium, and 4x anti-aliasing and I have no performance issues at all, averages at around 50fps even when I'm flying and can see heaps of stuff. My system is pretty much exactly the same as yours, cept with a 3400.
Also, for anyone who doesn't know, to get fps go into the console and type
renderer.drawfps 1
One of the numbers is your current fps and the other is your average fps, can't remember which is which but it should be obvious.
i'm on a 1500/256 with no torrents running, and i'm supposedly not shaped to node games servers.
it may just have been the buggy linux server i was running against (not sure if i was on the linux servers, but i can blame that). will bump s*** back up tonight. Gonna double my ram on saturday.
2800XP
1gig generic ram
ATI X800 Pro 256 ram
Audigy 2 ZS
I've got the game running at 1280 x 960 with high sound detail, no shadows, medium everything else except high detail explosions and running at 4x AA and it runs fine. When the map first loads it's a bit jerky but after that it seems fine. Dunno what frames i'm getting and I haven't tried out all the maps yet either.
Well, remember Khel, that the computers at Qantm only have 128MB cards, and they ran the game flawlessly on all high settings. Maybe you just suck? Maybe... :)