fubar
hey i just got fromt he family and i have to say it is the best club i have been to in brisbane. they have the mad dance floor with veiwing platforms. and up stairs they have drum and bass. i was in the drum and bass for about 2 hrs and when they have the lights hitting the disco ball it makes it look like stars are every where and when you dance you trip if you move in opposite directions.
end free advertising.:p but i would recomend this club to anyone. oh and there are soo many hotties in that place it isn't funny. on the 12th all come to the family and i will be on the dance floor with my glowies |
| #0 07:24am 30/01/05 |
Family is crap.
| #1 10:09am 30/01/05 |
hahah rev!!!
I miss the 'friday night, hey lets go to the family, coz its the best club in the work' posts The family doesn't seem to get as much free advetising anymore - seems RE Hotel gets more free advertising!! Come awwwn (lleyton style) you pill poppers, bring family back to the forefront of free publicity :P much <3 |
| #2 11:31am 30/01/05 |
the family is a good club... but i only go there if a third party is organising the music. the general fare there is cheezy commercial crap.
| #3 11:43am 30/01/05 |
if it isnt third party it turns into a bit of a turd party
| #4 11:46am 30/01/05 |
infiNex
haha ur funny!
| #5 12:11pm 30/01/05 |
Nah, I kid. Family is OK I guess.
Also, we've got invitations to free drinks next Friday at Family before it opens so it should be a fun night. It pays to be a Gold Card Member my negros. 8-) |
| #6 12:23pm 30/01/05 |
Last time I went to Family, bad stuff happened and we pissed off a few people. Overall a good night, but it wasn't my scene! |
| #7 12:31pm 30/01/05 |
smashingpumpkin
The family also gives you good free stuff when its ya b day!! From what i heard last night it was either a polo shirt or a bottle of chapagne.....i'd be happy with either.
| #8 12:38pm 30/01/05 |
"Dance" music is s***house and Family is a mecca for bogans
but comparing it to the re is a bit unfair |
| #9 12:45pm 30/01/05 |
Yeah, unfair on the RE.
Hahahaha, I'd love to see RE get club of the year. ROFL |
| #10 12:49pm 30/01/05 |
Hahahaha, I'd love to see RE get club of the year. Three years in a row |
| #11 12:52pm 30/01/05 |
I'm guessing pub of the year seeing as Family has been taking out that award the last few years. I knew I should have changed that before I posted.
8-) |
| #12 12:59pm 30/01/05 |
pillsy
the re is a disgusting place to go, full of bogans
but if its your scene its not your fault, flow with it |
| #13 02:23pm 30/01/05 |
Agreed! If you enjoy going out and have a place where you have fun, keep it up. You get to a point in life where you either can't because of other commitments, or because your body won't let you. Enjoy being young and stupid while you can. Rosies and Alices may not have been the best places to go, but god I had some fun there and I have a lot of memories which I laugh about to this day. /emotionalspeech |
| #14 02:28pm 30/01/05 |
sikfalcon
the re is a disgusting place to go, full of bogansYou're such a tool... its well known that the RE is more of a uni student pub than anything else (mostly due to its close proximity to UQ). I doubt you've even actually BEEN to it. |
| #15 03:08pm 30/01/05 |
I went to the RE once, 4 years ago. Wasn't my scene, but then again, sitting down drinking, isn't. I didn't see anything bad about it
| #16 03:31pm 30/01/05 |
Strip clubs are though right?
| #17 03:38pm 30/01/05 |
fubar
i went to a strip club last night it was pretty good the quality has inmproved imensly since last time i went
| #18 03:41pm 30/01/05 |
Strip clubs are though right? Right now? No. I miss dancing! I wish I could go out to a club and dance the night away. Sadly I don't have the time or money to do it, not to mention the fact that my moves aren't exactly innocent enough to dance with other men. |
| #19 03:54pm 30/01/05 |
procs
Whats that place next to rockerfellas? I danced there once :-)
| #20 04:09pm 30/01/05 |
pillsy
You're such a tool... its well known that the RE is more of a uni student pub than anything else (mostly due to its close proximity to UQ). I doubt you've even actually BEEN to it. dude i'm a uq student and have been to the RE many a time it attracts a certain sub class of people, people i classify bogans..jug drinking, pub bands etc are all the fairly low class activites of the bogan don't feel offended dude, i'm not taking a knock at you. you guys prefer an environment such as this with a fairly lax dress code (so you can wear one of your 50 HSV polo shirts). embrace your bogan lifestyle. plenty of students go to the decent clubs in the city/valley, why would you try and say that the RE was the only watering hole for the student? i mean even the f***en regatta has 100x more class than the RE. open your eyes to the decent clubs that are out there (upstairs fat rics, birdee num num on occasion, empire, press club etc.) |
| #21 05:04pm 30/01/05 |
I notice you didn't mention any city clubs there.
| #22 05:09pm 30/01/05 |
for good reason too.
| #23 05:14pm 30/01/05 |
You are seriously talking out of your arse mate
| #24 05:20pm 30/01/05 |
fubar
there is no club next to rockas. unless you are talking about scores
| #25 05:22pm 30/01/05 |
The family rocks.
| #26 05:43pm 30/01/05 |
i mean even the f***en regatta has 100x more class than the RE.heh, "class" |
| #27 05:54pm 30/01/05 |
pillsy
You are seriously talking out of your arse mate usually when you make such a brash statement like that one you follow it up with some substance pertaining to why i am supposedly talking out of my ass |
| #28 06:01pm 30/01/05 |
There must be a thesaurus up there too
| #29 06:08pm 30/01/05 |
Haven't seen you around for a while VSFT. Is everything cool? I don't know what I'd do if I found out you were in trouble.
8-) |
| #30 06:18pm 30/01/05 |
fubar, if you like Drum'n'Bass, come to Rudebwoyz on Saturday.
@ Shamrock Hotel Gonna be tops.... and you can come meet me ;) |
| #31 07:50pm 30/01/05 |
awesome you comin out this sat?
we will be at trigger happy :D so come see us :D |
| #32 08:53pm 30/01/05 |
Nat
everyones comin out this weekend! woot! |
| #33 08:55pm 30/01/05 |
sikfalcon
The Regatta is too popular for its own good... last time I went there, a few weeks back it was so busy I left after about 5 mins. Walked up to door, got stamped, walked in, said to my mates "this is s***" and we walked riiight on out again.
One thing I've learnt about the RE is that virtually nobody goes into the TAB to order their drinks... the bar is pretty much empty 90% of the time so instead of lining up with all the other plebs, I go there and buy them :D. Near-instant service! last edited by sikfalcon at 21:14:39 30/Jan/05 |
| #34 09:14pm 30/01/05 |
Yeah Hunter you are spot on there. TAB and gaming room are always quick service points for drinks. The beer garden/public bar is always packed and takes ages to get a drink (although their selection is a lot larger).
Pillsy - I'm not quite sure if a "bogan" crowd is what we actually attract. I would say there would be a bogan element there - any pub that lets you get in in thongs/boardies/singlet etc is no doubt going to appeal to a "bogan". I think we would consider it more "casual" than anything. There is a lot of history in that hotel, and as per some of the long standing traditions (ie glassies carrying glass/jugs by hand, not using racks) and ways of the hotel, the casual attire and relaxed attitude have stayed. You start messing with something like that and you will allienate yourself from your cleintele. The Regatta sold out big time when they had their revamp, however they did impressively well from it. They are one of the busiest hotels in Brisbane, the interior looks superb and they have their own citycat pontoon to boot. But in addition to that, they now have lengthy queues some nights, a more formal dress code, and a "too cool for school" door person (from my experiences). In the end I guess it just boils down to what kind of night/session you are keen for. I know there are times when I just want to go watch the footy and have a beer without the hassle of getting dressed up, so a pub like the RE is the perfect place. |
| #35 06:37pm 31/01/05 |
Mates said birdie has a 15buck covercharge now, suckers if you went there.
Edit: Some 1 can confirm this? last edited by ctd at 19:34:42 31/Jan/05 |
| #36 07:34pm 31/01/05 |
pillsy
mate i'm pretty sure a club like birdees probably couldn't afford to charge 15 bucks on the door, but i haven't been there in ages so i can't verify it
The Regatta sold out big time when they had their revamp, however they did impressively well from it. i've got a mate who works there, the weekly net profit earnings that he's quoted are absolutely mind blowing. on top of the profits made by the club itself, the bottle shop is doing well, plus the boatshed which is bringing in the cash hardcore. |
| #37 08:00pm 31/01/05 |
fubar
yeah i am going out this weekend too.
i will be at rockas, and the family this weekend. should be a big weekend. fireblood, hemerage add me on msn man fubar_999@hotmail.com so i can find you fellas. Rudebwoyz on Saturday. @ Shamrock Hotel where is that man. also i was went into birdees on sunday morning. 4am and there was no cover charge [edit] might head in on friday 2 last edited by fubar at 20:18:48 31/Jan/05 |
| #38 08:18pm 31/01/05 |
Crudler
I was at birdies on saturday night, no cover charge
who the f*** would pay $15 to go to birdies anyway? the monestry is right across the road, only $10 and kicks way more ass then birdies edit - family this friday http://www.thefamily.com.au/2005/posters/cuban05.jpg chia!!!wooooo last edited by Crudler at 20:08:50 31/Jan/05 |
| #39 08:08pm 31/01/05 |
| #39 |