Topic: how to get over a hangover?
fubar
what would you recomend tog et over a huge hang over

i don't normally get these but i have had 2 big nights and not much sleep between the drinking sessions.

drink more
Melissa
i haven't ever had a hangover ever

i have, however, had a nasty case of alcohol poisoning and i was sick for 3 days, but thats about it =)
Water and greazy food :)
water! Drink water.
Or change what you drink - red wine, rum and burboun are known to cause the worst hangovers (i think).
Search google I bet theres some bulls*** on there.

Also get a hungry jacks family ;-)
Irhabi
drink water + coffe + more water + panadeen
fubar
i just skulled down 2L of water and starting to feel better

i have only ever had 3 hangovers including this one. suck really bad, but i drank soo much water as well so i still don't know why i woke up with such a huge hange over
Storch
blue powerade, thats what i drink, but i only get hangovers if i dont drink rum. rum my savior.
Deadly-Fly
Water and greazy food :)
And then back to bed and sleep it off.
fubar
yeah that is true with the drinks thing. any dark spirits will give you killer hang overs but clear spirits eg. vodka will not give you as bad. it is all to do withthe purity of the drinks.
i think they should change it from alcohol to alcolol
hef
apparently coffee isnt good for hangovers because it dehydrates you aswell.

Best bet, is to have a 1.25lt bottle of water next to your bed, drink as much as possible BEFORE going to sleep... eating before bed is good too. Then drink lots more water when you wake up. Drinking sports drinks also helps too, or anything with added electrolytes.

Storch
i find when i change drinks often i get killer hangovers, like start on beer have a few bourbans some vodka, shooters, beers etc. just all mixes in and goes pain!! but lots of sleep and water probably would be the best.
fubar
i am now in the process of trying to remember what i drank
infiNex
drink water until your piss is clear.
Deadly-Fly
yeah that is true with the drinks thing. any dark spirits will give you killer hang overs but clear spirits eg. vodka will not give you as bad. it is all to do withthe purity of the drinks.
Not quite, the only time I get hangovers seems to be when I abuse vodka, I'm fine with burboun/beer/everything else. Some of the so called dark spirits are actually coloured to make them that way anyway. Also I think it has something to do with the amount of methanol in the spirit and supposedly the darker spirits have more of it in them. Some people like to blame preservitives in wine/beer as well but I think most people just like to try and make up lame excusses for their weaknesses.
Storch
what i did last week which was nice was laze in the pool with sunnies on. was pretty refreshing
either large strong cordials or get back on the horse
fubar
i think i will take option 2 thanks barry
it is absolutly neccisary to visit a kebab shop before you call it a night. prevention is the best cure my friend
Come to some Martial Arts training tonight and swear the f***er out! its what im doing lol
yep, either keep drinking OR go for water and/or sports drinks

I had a killer of a hangover yesterdee

Started drinking boxing day at 10:30am and finished at 2:30am next day, man I was rooted all day yesterday
What do you consider a hangover, I consider it when I even get just the pastey feeling in my mouth from not enough fluids.
Besides the pastey feeling I almost never get anything worse/else.
Grunt
a hangover is when you feel really seedy and almost feel like throwing up and your whole body feels dried out.. in my opinion..

also

Come to some Martial Arts training tonight and swear the f***er out! its what im doing lol

why go to martial arts training when you can just swear at home?
sikfalcon
drink water until your piss is clear.
Good advice this. The colour of your urine is usually a very good indicator of your level of dehydration. When you wizz clear, it either means you're fully hydrated or that your body cannot asborb any more water at that point.

My hangover 'remedy' is pretty simple: After you finish drinking, drink a lot of water and/or gatorade. Always allow at least an hour after your last drink before sleeping. If/when you wake during the slumber to urinate or whatever, drink a stack of water. When you finally wake up, drink more water and/or gatorade. Keep your fluid intake constant and keep doing so until you pee clear as was previously suggested.

And when you feel up to it, eat a decent hearty meal.

Prevention is the best cure though best laid plans don't always work out.
Thanks professor hunter.

Drinking stupid amounts of water after the event won't help. Drinking water before hand, eating a nice meal before or during helps.
sikfalcon
Nobody suggested drinking "stupid amounts of water", whatever that means. Notice the word "constant", meaning to continuously rehydrate yourself. You will be dehydrated after drinking, even if you drink water during a session (because you will just piss most of it out anyway). Drinking a 1 litre of water in one go won't help because your body can only absorb it at a set rate - hence you will piss most of it out. The key is to keep the intake constant over a period of time and you will feel much better after.

I should also add that alcohol strips your body of a lot of nutrients/electrolytes while it runs its course through your body so naturally putting those back is a good idea (hence the eating of good food).

Eating while drinking really only slows the absorption rate of the alcohol but will help prevent you from getting so drunk you pass out on Coronation Drive.

P.S. In my general experience, hangovers tend to be worse if you mix your drinks. Stick to one particular drink for the entire session and you will more than likely feel better than you would otherwise.

last edited by sikfalcon at 18:00:47 28/Dec/04
generally, i try to drink alot of water after the night is finished, helps your body hydrate while you sleep. as oppose to starting the whole hydration cycle when you wake up and want to shave your tongue.

also, not by choice, but i find if i walk home from the valley(i live at milton) but seeing as the cabs are so plentyful i've been forced to walk home, it a good period of not drinking anymore alcohol, and it gets your system circulating the alcohol faster and gets it out of your system.

i got a cab on sunday night home, and had the s***test hangover the next day, as oppose to the 2 nights i've had previous where i've been forced to walk home.

last edited by Paveway-3 at 18:32:33 28/Dec/04
Fizzer
Best bet, is to have a 1.25lt bottle of water next to your bed, drink as much as possible BEFORE going to sleep... eating before bed is good too. Then drink lots more water when you wake up. Drinking sports drinks also helps too, or anything with added electrolytes.

Trust heffo the alco to chime into this thread. :D
I always try to drink enough water before I go to bed, but it isn't always suffient to stop the hangover.
After you finish drinking, drink a lot of water and/or gatorade. Always allow at least an hour after your last drink before sleeping.

^ This is the best advice you can follow

I've prevented/minimised hangovers for years by following a rule like this. Really, the only time I had a hangover was when I forgot to drink water. If you can't remember to drink water occassionally during the night, at the very least have a glass or two of water just before bed. You'll thank yourself in the morning when you wake up relatively fresh!

last edited by parabol at 18:51:29 28/Dec/04
sikfalcon
I've also noticed that if I get reasonably drunk and DON'T drink water before bed and/or don't wait a while, my memory of the previous night tends to be very very hazy if not completely gone. Proven this on a number of occasions. The worst part is when you're absolutely plastered, forgetting to drink water is something you tend to do.

last edited by sikfalcon at 19:01:24 28/Dec/04
epi.
Only really had 1 bad hangover, gatorade is awesome for rehydrating though, always makes me feel way better when i wake up feeling a bit dry etc, water helps heaps too, but i think gatorade is better
Nobody suggested drinking "stupid amounts of water", whatever that means. Notice the word "constant", meaning to continuously rehydrate yourself. You will be dehydrated after drinking, even if you drink water during a session (because you will just piss most of it out anyway). Drinking a 1 litre of water in one go won't help because your body can only absorb it at a set rate - hence you will piss most of it out. The key is to keep the intake constant over a period of time and you will feel much better after.

You'll absorb as much water as you drink pretty much, unless you throw it up. Drinking more water than you lose in the drinking binge would only make things worse.

So yeah, nothing wrong with drinking a Gatorade for some ORT, but drinking water all morning won't help. You'll feel thirsty even if you aren't dehydrated, thats the thing with hang overs. Dehydration is only a small factor of why you feel so bad the day after. The fat chick you woke next to you is probably part of it too.
rofl fpot.
Haha, i didn't even notice the fpot joke.

Very nice.
sikfalcon
Although I had noticed the joke before, it wasn't sufficiently funny enough for me to laugh.
The best way to avoid a hangover is to stay awake until you're sober..
Guaranteed 100% to work 100% of the time.
But if you pass out it sort of hard to drink water before going to sleep ;)
DeathSyndrome
If you want a headache drink goon, for example fruit lexia or whatever its called, the cheap s***, ~$10 for like 4 litres.....but dont expect a decent taste ;)
The worst part is when you're absolutely plastered, forgetting to drink water is something you tend to do.

f***ing did that on sunday night, didn't i know it the next morning
I never drink water, and never really had a terrible hangover. I guess all of you are just soft.

or maybe you just dont drink enough.
Doubt it, I dont drink water until the morning and all I get is the pasteys. No worries.
And when I drink ... I drink.
Melissa
nothing like an alcohol or driving thread to bring in the "experts"

hi hunter
hehe, I drink enough.
sikfalcon
You drink enough to become giddy like a school girl but not enough to get a hangover methinks...

Besides I read an article about hangovers and apparently its actually better that you do get a hangover because its natures way of telling you you drank too much. If you never ever get a hangover or are one of those people who can hold a ludicrous amount of piss before vomiting/passing out, then I pity your body because you are seriously fux0ring it.
Deadly-Fly
If you never ever get a hangover or are one of those people who can hold a ludicrous amount of piss before vomiting/passing out, then I pity your body because you are seriously fux0ring it.
Wrong, if you don't get a hangover it's natures way of saying that you're a mad c*** and can drink everyone under the table and polish of an entire keg by yourself.
sikfalcon
Ha ha everyone is a f***en comedian.
Nat
this thread offers sound advice.

youre all destined to die of liver failure, however
You drink enough to become giddy like a school girl but not enough to get a hangover methinks...
meh, we've had this discussion, and I think if anyone is going to be pinned as a lying bulls***ter, it's you, not me.
Haha, hunter is copping it in this thread. Even hunter is joining in.
If you want to know how to get a hangover:

- Mix as many drinks as possible, including, but not limited to, red wine, port, scotch and beer.
- Dont eat food or drink water beforehand
- Make sure you are pissed for at least 5 hours (and stay pissed).
- Go to sleep as pissed as possible.

Pro-tip for prevention: don't go to sleep pissed.

last edited by Thundercracker at 13:35:15 29/Dec/04