For the first time that I can remember in the almost three years since I started living in front of a monitor, there are more people playing another game than are playing Counter-Strike on GameArena.
Of course, they're all playing Counter-Strike: Source, but hey! Its a start. The uptake to CS:S has surprised me - not that I thought it wasn't going to happen but the speed at which it did! I thought it'd take a while for people to settle in and get the hardware upgrades and stuff but it looks like a good chunk of people are getting into it already - we've just had to fire up a stack of new servers because at 11am on a Monday, almost all the GA ones are full, which is pretty amazing. How many Counter-Strike players have converted to CS:S? Will you ever go back to original CS now, or is the migration final? |
| #0 01:01pm 22/11/04 |
i only play cs:s now... sif still play a crap looking version of the same shizzle
| #1 12:46pm 22/11/04 |
/(ceTAME
i converted to css
and no, i havent played the original in 3 years |
| #2 12:48pm 22/11/04 |
Andrewus
I was in CS some time ago... got out of it. CS:S has sorta brought me back although i still much prefer BF/DC/BFV
I dont mind having a bit of a plug at the old terrorists =P |
| #3 12:55pm 22/11/04 |
I had a quick bash at CS:S the other day when I put HL2 on ... it was pretty nice :)
I also hadn't played CS in well over a year (but still came 2nd ... people are still s***) |
| #4 12:55pm 22/11/04 |
i tried playing but for some reason it exited the game while it was loading, so i went back to playing hl2
| #5 12:56pm 22/11/04 |
Seven
CS:S has got me hooked in, no conversion time for me.
| #6 01:00pm 22/11/04 |
I love the new counter strike, but I havent played the original in a fair while- Probably about a year and a half, ever since NS came out.
| #7 01:09pm 22/11/04 |
Jum
(but still came 2nd ... people are still s***)you're my hero |
| #8 01:30pm 22/11/04 |
I'm playing CS:S. It's good. Hadn't played CS for many years.
Maybe this isn't a conversion of the existing CS player base so much as more old players trying CSS? Lots of newbies on there over the last few days, guess they all bought it retail. |
| #9 01:35pm 22/11/04 |
Irhabi
its the same thing i played CS 2~4 times in the past 3 years it was s***, then i played CS:S and found it to be the same...camping and sniping...oh lets not forget the "lets get behind the other guy" thats all that happens has got to be the most boring game ever...think ill stick to RTCW ET
last edited by Irhabi at 13:38:22 22/Nov/04 |
| #10 01:38pm 22/11/04 |
Malthius
Same as everyone: haven't played CS in years, wouldn't go near it, but CS:S is fun and might be my new competitive game online.
| #11 02:04pm 22/11/04 |
Haven't played cs in years and haven't touched source. Gay.
| #12 02:06pm 22/11/04 |
masta_blasta
I'm playing CS:S until DOD:S comes out.
| #13 02:18pm 22/11/04 |
XandraX
I'm playing it for the graphics, until I get sick of them and go back to a game with REAL gameplay.
| #14 02:25pm 22/11/04 |
we are plain css on our own servers with mates
its been fun looks good runs good plays good (without the retards, or more correclty retards i dont know) |
| #15 02:52pm 22/11/04 |
infiNex
i had never played cs. but i am playing source a fair bit. still like cod better.
| #16 02:52pm 22/11/04 |
CS:S is a pit stop until wow comes out, then its all blizzard baby :)
once they fix the head boxes and some of the guns then more people will probably come over |
| #17 02:52pm 22/11/04 |
SushiGalsdotcom
All i know is CS makes me feel phsyically ill when i even think about it.
de_dust is something i never want to experience again. *flashbang* |
| #18 02:55pm 22/11/04 |
I play CZ. CS:S has lag and hitbox problems, it feels like a beta test. I'll migrate over to it once it plays the same as old CS.
| #19 04:04pm 22/11/04 |
Strik3r
in the pro community, we're still on 1.6, but as soon as some of the major tournaments (WCG/CPL/ESWC)convert over to CS:S, im fairly sure the local ones will follow suit.
The funniest thing is that CS:S really is just CS with better graphics and some entirely useless physics thrown in. The maps/gameplay, hell even the way you shoot the guns, is mostly the same, although there are some differences (the A.K. copped a bit of a nerfing). But yea, i'm still 1.6'ing till local comps change over. |
| #20 04:16pm 22/11/04 |
Erik-the-Red
Haven't played cs in years and haven't touched source. Gay.that's a bit childish. if you haven't played it, and you don't plan to, then why comment on it? |
| #21 04:17pm 22/11/04 |
in the pro community Hah hahahahahah hahahahhahah hahahahah |
| #22 04:21pm 22/11/04 |
i haven't fired up source yet, only because I haven't yet finished HL2.
also, what pharcyde |
| #23 04:26pm 22/11/04 |
Strik3r
your a funny man phar.. meanwhile ive won over $1000 in cash, and several pieces of hardware playing CS for the past few years and ill probably pocket another $600 at TBGL finals in 2 weeks. so you see, no matter what you say, i get the last laugh ^-^
| #24 04:28pm 22/11/04 |
without knocking you too much striker as I too have played a bit of competitive cs, the term pro is a bit of a wank.
it's not like it's the only source of income, and if it is - good luck! |
| #25 04:31pm 22/11/04 |
Strik3r
well unforunately your correct, pro-gaming isn't up to that level in au just yet. But the term is still fairly accurate when you have teams that sign contracts with companies for sponsership deals and competitions with X-thousand dollar prize pools and free flights around AU to compete in events.. it's a little bit more 'professional' than your average player loading up cogs and hopping in a pub server for a while...
| #26 04:42pm 22/11/04 |
Odie
a more diplomatic way of saying it would have been the "competitive" community. pro does sound incredibly wanky. its probably less accurate as well.
| #27 04:48pm 22/11/04 |
isaac
1.6 > CS:S, online anyway.
Source feels like Urban Terror, but it runs/feels like ass, not good ass, oversized manly bus driver ass. Gonna reserve further judgement til I give it a bash on LAN. |
| #28 04:52pm 22/11/04 |
Slain
Agreed.. competitive is more of a term that should be used.
Travelling around AU is fun.. i've done it a few times for CS.. (all expences paid.).. Not sure how much i've won or crap that i have recieved for it.. but i think i'm just about what u have recieved, and i havent signed any deals with companies appart from 1 but that was ages ago hehe. I would consider AU to have some very decent players & teams.. many of them good enough to whoop my arse (as i found out at CPL/WCG). However if ya want a real psycho's and lots of money.. I hear US is good as well as Korea.. Now there ya can live of CS winnings! hahah.. (if ya good enough) |
| #29 05:00pm 22/11/04 |
in the pro community, we're still on 1.6, but as soon as some of the major tournaments (WCG/CPL/ESWC)convert over to CS:S, im fairly sure the local ones will follow suit. hahaha *wipes tear* f*** gerv, what are you doing... |
| #30 05:05pm 22/11/04 |
hef
| #31 05:09pm 22/11/04 |
Phase
Gerv can u come tutor me in ur counter-strik3r ways
a pro such as you should have much to teach in the ways of stratigo, head-shots and spamming lemme know asap |
| #32 05:35pm 22/11/04 |
Chode/GheY
hahah gerv what a comedian
| #33 05:35pm 22/11/04 |
in the pro communityYou f*****. |
| #34 06:01pm 22/11/04 |
Source feels like Urban Terror, but it runs/feels like ass, not good ass, oversized manly bus driver ass. Gonna reserve further judgement til I give it a bash on LAN.so 1.6 runs like acetame ass? |
| #35 06:15pm 22/11/04 |
meanwhile ive won over $1000 in cash, and several pieces of hardware playing CS hehe I made about that playing q2/q3 and never classed myself as pro. Go and wank off on some other forum |
| #36 06:18pm 22/11/04 |
You'll always be a pro to me BoBa.
| #37 06:21pm 22/11/04 |
I've got Doom 3, NFSU2, MOH: PA, HL2 , Burnout 3, Halo 2 singal player games to finish first, then i'll think about multiplayer and CS:S.
| #38 06:24pm 22/11/04 |
cs:s is actually fun cause it isn't full of "pro" wankers yet.
| #39 06:24pm 22/11/04 |
/(ceTAME
so 1.6 runs like acetame ass? i cannot compute |
| #40 06:28pm 22/11/04 |
your a funny man phar.. meanwhile ive won over $1000 in cash, and several pieces of hardware playing CS for the past few years and ill probably pocket another $600 at TBGL finals in 2 weeks. so you see, no matter what you say, i get the last laugh ^-^ and what have you spent to earn this massive sum of money (not to mention the hours)? I earn that in a week now, and I owe it in part to NOT playing "PRO" CS...... we all know how long it took strik3r to get anywhere at all in CS so don't tease about using the word "pro" he's probably been dieing to use that for almost 5 years! Trog: I've played for about an hour a day last 3 days or so, already had iPGN admins speccing me for hacking and the typical CS kiddy abuse.... is there any chance of getting Ausgamers CS:S 32 and CS:S lightning happening again? |
| #41 07:10pm 22/11/04 |
MADMAX
havent played cs in so long i forgot what it was rofl but cs:source is a bit better than the old i recon :) i remember strex owning years ago but i dout he would be still, this version evens it up a little...But i hate those godforsaken crouchers every man and his dog crouch to shoot i love to rush in and stand and kill the crouches i get off on it rofl ...fps 120 on my amd 64 fx and 9800xt looks sweet shadows even give people up when they think there outa site :) last edited by MADMAX at 19:31:34 22/Nov/04 |
| #42 07:31pm 22/11/04 |
I thought it'd take a while for people to settle in and get the hardware upgrades and stuff You'd be suprised on what low specs it will still actually run on. My bro's comp 1.2 Duron and GF2 Ti will run it. Whilst it may not look super pretty it actually runs and he can play pretty well until theres a lot happening then it gets a bit chuggy :) |
| #43 07:25pm 22/11/04 |
I play cs:s occasionally, but I'm sick of dust/2 aztec & all the standard maps that come with it so I like to go back to normal CS to play some decent maps that haven't been over played.
| #44 07:33pm 22/11/04 |
MADMAX
so they say cs source will be updated in december new maps and stuff ,,so ive heard. |
| #45 07:41pm 22/11/04 |
Hashy
You're not 'pro' until you have paying sponsors, and you can basically live off your winnings -- end of story.
I maintain the fact that CS is the biggest, stupidest most skill-less wank of a competitive FPS I've ever encountered; but I'm sure you all remember the last thread these 'pro' CSers popped up in. |
| #46 07:45pm 22/11/04 |
hashy trolls like a pro cs player
| #47 07:57pm 22/11/04 |
We need to form some sort of lobby to push for the "pro" tournaments to continue to use the more pure CS, CS1.6. That way all the wankers will keep pro-ing away on 1.6 and the rest of us can have fun on CS:S
Long Live CS1.6. It's the Pro Counter-Strike. |
| #48 08:44pm 22/11/04 |
Odie
i dont know if i would say its not skilled. certainly the randomness does add an element of luck, but there is more to skill than just aiming.
the problem is, cs attracts wankers. camping wankers, pro wankers, cheating wankers etc etc. its impossible to stop them. |
| #49 08:50pm 22/11/04 |
how do you get CS:S? is it free or have to buy it?
| #50 08:52pm 22/11/04 |
tension
cs:s is the win!
| #51 08:57pm 22/11/04 |
Jerds
*smile* It's just like old times. The old schoolers. The guns. The newbs. The flaming, the cockiness... And some old school Jerdslaw. It's been a while. I can't hardly wait to buy my copy on wednesday. :P (Return of the Jerdie) |
| #52 09:18pm 22/11/04 |
baaaa baaaa black sheep have you any brains?
no sir, no sir, 3 bags empty.. |
| #53 09:29pm 22/11/04 |
Nidz
I think people are just playing this until something better comes along MOD wise with HL2 multiplayer..
It's realy just CS1.6 with better eye candy.. They didn't even add any new maps!!! I bought this game primarily for the fact that HL2 will have so many mods for it that it will pay for itself many times over with many mods and different types of game mods with different game styles.. I say bring on TFC2 Bring on the Modders.. |
| #54 09:45pm 22/11/04 |
Suxsuxsux
Does this mean that 90% at Wonderlan will be playing CS for a few more years to come?
| #55 10:56pm 22/11/04 |
Since CS:S == CS, this thread poses a f***ing retarded question =)
| #56 11:04pm 22/11/04 |
doober
If they make a TFC2 it'll probably be just like ET with commanders. What made it fun for me was the variety in gameplay with a spectrum between twitch and strategic classes. Most games now seem pretty monotonous in how they play, CS in particular. I didn't like it because in the end it felt mostly the same no matter how you played.
| #57 11:23pm 22/11/04 |
jerdslaw returns.
all we need now in this thread is a post from DeePer ;) |
| #58 11:54pm 22/11/04 |
Odie
haha nar. i dont think we need that.
| #59 12:26am 23/11/04 |
is there any chance of getting Ausgamers CS:S 32 and CS:S lightning happening again? I could deal with that. |
| #60 12:33am 23/11/04 |
DeePer has been ICQing me about HL2 instead Spidz :P
| #61 12:36am 23/11/04 |
hef
jerdslaw returns. http://members.optushome.com.au/weenzor/ween/dpr.jpg |
| #62 12:41am 23/11/04 |
grabbing WoW and HL2 on wednesday (as i talk to fade on icq atm and he redirects me here :p)
jerds, where are you playing WoW at? You know you always got my man juices flowing EDIT: also trog, so put up a private server and go sig motown. In addition, I definetly need Sprinkles to join my new clan. last edited by DeePer at 00:49:31 23/Nov/04 |
| #63 12:49am 23/11/04 |
hef
omg hi elih. :)
| #64 01:01am 23/11/04 |
Odie
ahh geez.
| #65 01:08am 23/11/04 |
if you call him, he will come.
so, shall we page undertow and costa? |
| #66 01:40am 23/11/04 |
hef
im sorry spidz, they aren't in at the moment. they are running around college pantsless.
haha. oh f***. |
| #67 01:45am 23/11/04 |
simul
"
And some old school Jerdslaw. It's been a while. I can't hardly wait to buy my copy on wednesday. :P (Return of the Jerdie)" classic case of charity knife kills. |
| #68 01:48am 23/11/04 |
might pop down to the shop on sat.
| #69 02:11am 23/11/04 |
John Titor
havnt got hl2 yet, but hl1 cs servers are still full of f***head losers.
and cheaters are still around, being the usual f***head reasons why cs sucks. |
| #70 02:18am 23/11/04 |
Sprinkles sux at CS now :]
| #71 02:30am 23/11/04 |
DrFrag
isaac: LOL, yeah give that ass a good bashing. :D I think it's okay to call yourself Pro if you're making money off playing CS, even if it sounds wankey. Competitive isn't a very good description. I mean, I've played in comps at local LANs but that's a long way from winning prize money. Cybersports (urgh) isn't big enough yet to be comparable to pro golf or pro tennis, so I think it has a lower threshold of prodom. /end rant Prodom sounds like a condom brand. Heh. CS:S would be vastly improved if everyone got gravity guns. |
| #72 03:39am 23/11/04 |
DrFrag
| #73 03:52am 23/11/04 |
Jerds
hot roffles, you mother-TRUCKERS.
DeePs, I was looking at some old school photos last night, saw one of you. Talk about man juices. I'm thinking of not buying WoW, as I was on the closed beta for many months and got my fill - but if I do I'll let you know. ;) |
| #74 08:54am 23/11/04 |
Mighty Mouse
http://img37.exs.cx/img37/2131/gg.th.png
I'm gonna have to agree with the dude that said: cs 1.6 > cs:s :) Bring it! muahaha |
| #75 09:30am 23/11/04 |
I'm joining the Pro CS:S Tour nest season. Apart from getting paid big money we'll also be getting free Maccas and will be staying in the finest caravan parks.
| #76 10:57am 23/11/04 |
thats really quite disturbing... someone feeling sexy for killing you in cs...
where the ugh face at! |
| #77 11:07am 23/11/04 |
i remember strex owning years agoFinally someone remembers me for something other than gay pron. Speaking of which, hi jerds and deeps :D |
| #78 02:26pm 23/11/04 |
the gay has been taken over by the gayness, cool.
| #79 05:15pm 23/11/04 |
sadly no one plays on ga's promode server :(
| #80 05:16pm 23/11/04 |
Mighty Mouse
Don't ask me why people bitch about games... if it ain't your cup of tea then how about stfu?
Seriously, you guys that whinge about every game have way too much time on your hands.... lol |
| #81 05:27pm 23/11/04 |
Mighty Mouse
And we're sick and tired of your whinging...
Get over it mate :P there's more to life than you may think.... LOL |
| #82 05:49pm 23/11/04 |
Odie
says the dorkus who posts a screenshot of his scores.
| #83 06:50pm 23/11/04 |
hey kimbo
f*** off idiot. |
| #84 06:56pm 23/11/04 |
hehe just had a game of cs:s. was pretty fun, but jerky as hell on my comp. hitboxes are total s***, almost every kill is a headshot.
| #85 06:58pm 23/11/04 |
If I were to take up CS again it would certainly be CS:S. I can't see why anyone would play that old POS anymore especially with CS:S out. |
| #86 07:05pm 23/11/04 |
Odie
i can. because its the same game and it saves another download perhaps?
| #87 07:43pm 23/11/04 |
can i uninstall hl2 and still play cs:s?
| #88 07:46pm 23/11/04 |
Jerds
StreXie. :}
A real man's man. |
| #89 08:58pm 23/11/04 |
hitboxes are total s***, almost every kill is a headshot.do you have trouble aiming at a players head?? if so practise more without the pathetic winging or stick to pacman |
| #90 09:31pm 23/11/04 |
Odie
you better not be knocking pacman
| #91 10:03pm 23/11/04 |
awesome - some oldskoolers have come outta the closet ! :) also trog - get ausgamer cs:s servers up, me and fade to be admins from hell ;) |
| #92 10:25pm 23/11/04 |
do you have trouble aiming at a players head?? im not whinging about ppl owning me with hs ya f*****. im whinging that almost every f***en kill, even mine, were headshots. i was shooting f***en ppls legs and i was getting a hs. so dont come f***en here and abuse me cocksmoker. |
| #93 10:44pm 23/11/04 |
Mighty Mouse
lol @ all the teenage angst
won't someone think of the poor children |
| #94 11:05pm 23/11/04 |
lol the cs hate fags are back
If you dont like it dont play it =D Seeing as it is one of the most widely played online shooters i think that the people who dont like it are complete f***tards XD |
| #95 11:10pm 23/11/04 |
Odie
yeah. the reason they dont like it is cause they are f***tards. great reasoning. you're all as bad as each other.
| #96 11:18pm 23/11/04 |
Mighty Mouse
No, I've come to the conclusion that... the people that bag it the most...
are the same people that are always gettin owned! hahaha |
| #97 11:26pm 23/11/04 |
Cam
i havn't touched cs for at least a couple of years, but have been playing CS:Source the last couple of days and enjoying it. The best thing about it is probably the people playing. just before, some guy tried to act all pro, but better players just bagged him out. It's interesting to note that the guys that haven't played in a long time and have decided to give cs:s a shot are often the ones topping the scoreboards (and usually acting a lot more decent as well). The cs tard has become a minority race in cs:s. Hopefully enough 1.6 servers will stay open to keep the majority of tards in there, leaving cs:s as the cleaner, safer environment for your kids. |
| #98 03:24am 24/11/04 |
Once the school holidays start I can see source lowering its standards.
Need a server like the old ACA or ausgamers server. |
| #99 03:51am 24/11/04 |
MADMAX
Mighty Mouse your so leet showing us your cs score !Hey do you want a batman badge or a chest to pin it on Dude! |
| #100 11:40am 24/11/04 |
s***, a DeePer post.
| #101 12:40pm 24/11/04 |
| #102 01:13pm 24/11/04 |
Mighty Mouse
Holy s*** that's a bs score :P
| #103 01:48pm 24/11/04 |
omg it's alphega!!
| #104 09:52pm 24/11/04 |
DrFrag
I think the CS haters need to take a deep breath and try not to confuse despising a game with despising the occassional wankers we all meet on the servers.
| #105 05:19pm 25/11/04 |
Mighty Mouse
I'll pay that :)
Cs servers are usually full of idiots.... but hey I still have fun playing it. |
| #106 05:46pm 25/11/04 |
Damn I'm getting all misty eyed seeing all these names. High gear indeed jerdiv.
I'll start playing again if you fagets play, but then again I've only been gone about 4 months. omg filo when are you coming back to Australia? |
| #107 06:02pm 25/11/04 |
wau..........
they all came out of the wood works. sarp Dom. /waves to Tayf |
| #108 06:07pm 25/11/04 |
Hey Nitro how about I spank you 1on1 again?
| #109 07:47pm 25/11/04 |
wow > *
| #110 06:43pm 28/11/04 |
shrapse
can someone tell me why i have to wait when i die
| #111 06:51pm 28/11/04 |
Because you need to get punished in the grave first.
| #112 08:47pm 28/11/04 |
instead of making another thread about anything to do with hl2, ive decided to post in here.
if anyone is interested some guy has created a timeline for the events that have occured in hl1 and hl2. it explains a lot and i agree with most of it. it is just a theory so it might not be all correct. http://members.shaw.ca/storage_4/hl2story/ |
| #113 09:44pm 28/11/04 |
That timeline is pretty bloody damn good, if it isnt completely accurate I reckon Valve had better grab it and 'adopt' it into the final storyline!
:) good find. |
| #114 11:11pm 28/11/04 |
awesum read rav, but
Vortigaunt refugees from Xen ally with the resistance, as they see the Combine as the greater threat.my understanding was gordon(a human) freed them thats why they are helping the humans and gordon. |
| #115 12:04am 29/11/04 |
Hashy
While Gordon freed the Vortigaunts, they might not even know it - I'd say they just woke up one day and were free-minded. It makes sense they'd ally against a common threat though.
| #116 12:09am 29/11/04 |
mad read
also on the topic of CS:S - the players these days suck I am a pretty average player (or was 'back in the day) went into some servers tonight, was going pretty good 34-4 and scores like that 23-3 hmmmm should I turn pro? |
| #117 12:14am 29/11/04 |
shrapse
you should play some pub q3ctf and see how good u are
| #118 12:19am 29/11/04 |
yea but one of the xen guys thanked him for freeing them.
| #119 12:31am 29/11/04 |
Hashy
yea but one of the xen guys thanked him for freeing them.The point is moot. Would an entire race really ally with a bunch of people they didn't know just because another member of that race killed their leader and inadvertantly freed them from his control? The combine are part of the reason they were enslaved in the first place |
| #120 12:46am 29/11/04 |
While Gordon freed the Vortigaunts, they might not even know it - I'd say they just woke up one day and were free-minded. It makes sense they'd ally against a common threat though. Nah I reckon the game implied a few times that the Vortigaunts held Freeman in high esteem. Referring to him as 'the Freeman' and the one who released them...they were pretty much in awe of him and took great pride in helping him, charging his HEV or outfitting his hoverbike for him. etc... I think that guy who did the timeline did a great job potentially filling in the gaps. I had sort of guessed in a previous post that the G-man was just using Freeman, popping him into and out of stasis as it suited him. Even at the end he makes quite a few relevant references to 'time' and how his time may come again when it suits the G-man. I do agree tho that the G-man is not Freeman from the future. Freemand is this time travelling ][itman that the G-man sells to other races and worlds struggling under the Combine threat. Sort of a Borg 'fix-it' man. :) I wouldn't even mind if HL3 took place on another completely different world initially next time, having him come back to a Combine free and peacefull Earth in the end. Or coming back with some uber alien weaponry to help the resistance. |
| #121 01:33am 29/11/04 |
DrFrag
That HL timeline is pretty good. I noticed that the Vortigaunts had shiny "collars" in HL1 and were missing in HL2 so I guessed they were kind of slaves collars on Xen.
But it didn't click in my mind that a lot of the stuff on Xen was the Vortigaunts doing factory work making those big barrels that contained those monsters that shoot bees. But now it makes sense to me - the bee shooters were genetically engineered (remember the bee-shooter gun? Had to be an artificial appendage) just like the combine soldiers being genetically engineered on Earth. Cool stuff. And I can't believe the G-Man = Gordan Freeman theories I've read around the place. How dumb can you get! |
| #122 06:46am 01/12/04 |
Hashy
omg every1 is posting in dis thread........ hi every 1 /me waves :DJust don't cum in my direction. I hope this is a parody post -- else you just sealed QGL's opinions on the CS gamer And I can't believe the G-Man = Gordan Freeman theories I've read around the place. How dumb can you get!I know, it's rediculous, but that's just what comes with having a fanbase full of CS kiddies. last edited by Hashy at 07:16:49 01/Dec/04 |
| #123 07:16am 01/12/04 |
| #123 |