Topic: Skiing this Season?
The season has already started, and is really starting to heat (cool?) up now. Anybody heading down to the slopes this year? Me and dad are heading to Thredbo on the 1st of August, and I am pretty f***ing excited (except about how much it costs). The snow is already looking good, and it only gets better during the month of July. I have been twice before, in June and late August, and we copped some mediocore conditions, but this time we are paying full price and are hoping to get some nice dry cover and powder and s*** :)

If you are going down, and want to keep up with the snow conditions, check out the ski.com.au weather forums. Quite a few knowledgable people there and a good way to keep up with the systems passing over the alps.

See you on the slopes :D
Nat
dammit. wish i has a spare ~$700 lying around :(

skiing is like the 2nd most fun thing in the world
möoby
(except about how much it costs).

Thredbo isnt that bad.

skiing is like the 2nd most fun thing in the world

Yeah, its summer here. Massive snowboarding depression. Was even thinking of going to argintina or something to board.

last edited by möoby at 16:49:40 29/Jun/04
Well, it's costing me 2k (I am paying dad back, only given him about $800 so far) and that is a s***load of money for me.

möoby
yeah, not cheap. france i paid $12 for a glass of post mix coke. my board was just under $2k.

Anyway, have a blast mate. Us in norway over xmas and newyears. -25. Pretty cold.

http://212.18.230.178/iso3/gallery.asp?a=20&i=2
http://212.18.230.178/iso3data/2/LowRes/LnkSEChQHVcOOPUKECURiN9ylag9BiUXtF3TP21t.jpg
Phwoar.

Have you done much boarding over in Europe? How does it compare to Australian snow? I hear it is f***ing miles ahead.

last edited by fpot at 16:59:26 29/Jun/04
möoby
Im sorry, it doesnt compare. Norway was small. France (3 valleys) had 660kms or runs. Spent 7days there, didnt get out of one valley.
i'm ment to be hitting up some NZ slopes later in the year but i dont know if i can get the money in time :(
applor
I'm off to Falls Creek (vic) this year on the 21st-27th for some l337 boarding.
canada has the ski fields of heaven
möoby
http://212.18.230.178/iso3data/2/LowRes/HxQ3jtzM0nMGXgWYY9kFZ1dO2EQ1KybWw4j3vgUL.jpg

http://212.18.230.178/iso3data/2/LowRes/Y0bLDK40PSms5tGCylHX4OuPLBvNfrJI0k5pxTTE.jpg

This is powder!! St Anton in Austria. They held the down hills there. One year they had an 8m dump and the ski lifts where bottoming out. Snow was so good we all pulled sickies and stayed an extra day. (oh yeah, those are ppl on the second pic)

last edited by möoby at 17:49:45 29/Jun/04
shaz
I went snowboarding mid july last year at Falls Creek, didn't have much snow for the first couple of days and then it hammered down.
Had an awesome time.

Falls was mad because it's ski in ski out.
[Q]
I went to vail at the start of last year. Ive been to perisher prolly 3 seasons now. No matter how good our snow is, we still have s*** moutains and that means unimpressive skiing. The snow is hardly ever good here either.

Vail was so awesome. its amazing how much bigger and how much more skiiable area there is.

Another thing we dont have is big exposed mountain faces. Very similar to that first pic mooby posted. Just giant, NO TREES AT ALL, sides of mountains you can just carve all over.
Buck Nasty

might be going in september to Buffalo. Love it there - if there is any snow that is!
canada? :\

i've never seen snow in real life :(

I wouldn't mind know snow boarding... i reckon i'll cain it.. since i already can kinda skate, guessing skateboarding and snowboarding are pretty much the same? :D
GaZ_^^^
Generally people who skate can pick it up faster than people who dont.. probly the same with wake boarding and surfing.

How you turn on a skate board is nothing like on a snowboard however.. When you actually get on a snow board, try it and see :P
Jerry
they have snow in japan, but its indoors, its cool as tho - full ski fields indoors

möoby: do you live in uk/europe?
g0t bea[n]
I'm goin 3rd - 10th July to Thredbo for year12 Ski trip.. it's gonna be so much fun :D
*edit*I'm snowboarding

last edited by g0t bea[n] at 19:04:45 29/Jun/04
möoby
Japan has mountains! Canada is great too. I live in Willesden Green London. Might do a season in Austria or Sweden next year.
[Q]
they have snow in japan, but its indoors, its cool as tho - full ski fields indoors
They have snow out doors in japan too dude. Pretty good skiing I hear. Lots of nice powder.
Yeh I seem to remember some sort of Olympic event being held there.
Whiplash
I leave for NZ this Friday for a week on The Remarkables and Coronet Peak :)

I have never gone skiing before though :\ Time to break some limbs :D
Make sure you take some lessons!
Whiplash
Lessons are for the weak!!!

Nah but yeah, got all my lessons organised. Got myself a begginers pass that includes free lessons and s***. This particular trip was actually organised by UQ Sport (was open to non-students so that is how I got in) and they did most of the organising for me :)

So all I have to do is sit back and enjoy the skiing :P

ps. hope I don't suck...
Seriously take lessons :) They're fun because if you're a beginner, then so is everyone else in your class. If you don't take them you just waste time and energy trying to teach yourself, whereas after two 2 hours lessons you'll be a pretty competant skier [/preachy]

But hey, maybe you're one of those cainers who is just instantly good at s***, if so, ignore me :P

last edited by fpot at 19:39:51 29/Jun/04
möoby
^^ and you dont get into bad (lazy) habbits early
ive never experianced snow.
[Q]
Anyone who doesnt take lessons is a total retard. Skiing is not really something you can teach yourself. Its a pretty technical sport and to get even half good you have to take quite alot of lessons. Its easy to teach yourself to go down a hill without killing yourself. Learning how to do proper parralels in powder or properly carve is totally different. (this is for skiing, snowboaridng has a set of totally different skills which im sure are just as hard to teach yourself.)

Lessons arent bad either. Get people you know along and you can just all laugh at each other.
for $2k you may as well go to NZ and get on some decent slopes.

Australian ski fields are s***, and $2k would get you a f***ing sweet deal in NZ.
Im off to New Zealand for my school ski trip :D w000 bout 25 of us going. Going to be sick fun. I've never skiied before and never been out of the country and to do it with mates is going to be sweet :D New Zealand has awesome awesome snow and just amazing scenery CAN'T WAIT!!!
Crudler
snowboarding > skiing
skiing > snowboarding

that was a waste of time :)

beach > snow
NZ is kind of lame because you can't stay on the slopes...the snow is 10x better though, but from my experience I'd much prefer to stay on the snow.

NB my experience is skiing twice in Aus staying on the slopes both times. But i've had a mate go to NZ and said the driving is a pain in the ass.
you can stay on the slopes in some of the mountains.

he must have gone to the Nth Island for some reason.
g0t bea[n]
Mines costing $970 (snowboard hire, insurance, bus bris-->threadbo and back, acc, meals)
Not too shabby price for a 7 day holiday to the snow
möoby
^^ Yeah thats pretty good.. I only paid £285 for 7days in 3 Valleys France (600+ kms of runs as i said before), coach from london, accom and meals.

Get over here boys in the winter and do some boarding.
£285 thats what $850 ? plus 2 grand in airfairs!

Going skiing in New Zealand in September, should be rad fun cause I've only been skiing once before when I was younger.
closethedoor
You can stay on the snow @ NZ. Goto the wanika slopes if you hit up the south island. As much as queenstown is cool and s*** its just stupid because so many people, lift lines are stupidly long etc.
Wanika was a dream (cadrona & treblecone) because there was hardly anyone there, the quality of the runs was just as good, if not better. Oh and cadrona has a resort at the snow which is yanno ski from door to lift. Its about 50M from a lift.
Treblecone is pretty good, but if you are a beginner steer way clear, you will find the day hell. I enjoyed my day there even though I couldnt see s*** 5m in front of me.
Cadrona gets my vote for best NZ ski field because the runs are nice and open, plenty of room for prac'ing skills and s***.

Oh and with 2k you should be hitting up NZ, not NSW. With us it worked out pretty much the same price - nz ski prices are still expensive as all hell but with freedomair prices so cheap to dunedin/christchurch why not?
The best skiing is where there is snow and you can afford to go.

Plant
well im off to NZ in the september holidays, (school ski trip). Its costing a fuk load but it should be awsome. Only problem is most of my friends are skiing and im wanna snow board, but it still should be sik.

has any one done both skiing and boarding, which was better?
Skiing is more difficult to learn
snowboarding is easier to learn

Snowboarding is well suited to anyone that says "sik". Snowboarders come in 3 types:
The first hangs out in the parks and bowls, thankfully they are retarded and enjoy queues and don't bother skiers.
The second I swear thinks they are skaters or surfers and ski all over the place like wankers ignoring the rules of skiing running into people and generally acting obnoxious.
The third is a converted skier, they usually are pretty normal people oeby the rules and are just out to enjoy the day.
(and yes I know there are wanker skiers out there too, just more wankers gravitate towards snow boardign for whatever reason)

I don't like snowboarding becuase traversing sucks, Wet ass sucks, Wet hands suck, wet knees suck, surface lifts suck for boarders. I have no interest in hanging out in parks or bowls (I did enough of that when I was teenager down the Gold Coast). I don't think wearing my pants around my knees is cool. (I think the wet ass and stuff problem is reduced by step in bindings but still not removed... )

I like skiing becuase moguls are fun, long fast carving runs rock, becuase I don't like being wet all over, and becuase I like to be able to go anywhere on the mountain.

My regular skiing group used to include boarders but these guys had been skiers before... Now they don't ski anymore except 1 guy and he is always off in europe now heh.
closethedoor
skiing is better because it is.
Whenever I'm on a chairlift I laugh at the number of tryhard snowboarders I see that are just sitting on there ass on the run because they are too retarded to stay balanced for more then 5 seconds.
I got nothing against boarders, its just the ones that f*** my time up by being dicks. And im not some old bogan who gets angry at anything so Im not alone on this.
Anyway skiing is better because it is.
Water Skiing > Snow Skiing.
Haha Plant! Got told :P Now come ski with us you f***ing hardcore wannabe :P
Yeh water skiing is good too, but notice how this thread isn't about it?
In that case the title isn't specific enough.

Many people still water ski in the colder months.
my mates who also surf said snowboarding is easy to pick up if you surf

Anono
Spending 5 months boarding and skiing in Canada from 1st of October. Initial cost $2450, final cost nothing. working at whistler for the first bit then see where i go from there. Got a sweet job lined up, and gains me accom, meals, free use of lifts all over the west coast fields, gotta get a board, but get a discount of 70% or so.

All in all should be a fairly good time, spending it with my fiance and some mates. oh then flying off to back pack around the UK and europe for 6.5 months. that should be ok as well, what with free accom most places, a job in Ireland for a month, with a show as ticket promo, and a job and accom on the tuskn' hills picking olives and just kicking it.
It's easier to learn basic skiing than it is for snowboarding. Snowboarding sucks for the first like two days or however long it takes to pick it up, then it is totally awsome.

Goin to Falls Creek on Saturday with school. Can't wait!
anono make sure you take some high res pictures while you're in tuscany!

i'd really appreciate it :D

last edited by Suhaib at 15:47:47 01/Jul/04
möoby
I dont see how skiiers could have any fun, looks so lame. And yes obes, ive carved heaps of skiiers up... and feel real bad about it too.. hehehe.
Sounds like a great plan Anono. 6months around europe, yish. Better get a second morgage.

Suhaib : Tuscany rocks! http://212.18.230.178/dynamic_site.asp?websiteid=15
[Q]
I dont see how skiiers could have any fun, looks so lame.
No, your s***! ;)

I guess its just the sensation you get when your carving it down a hill flooring it or nailing some really good sharp turns down a tight steep section. Now days skis are changing and becoming more 'laffo, xtreme' skis with kicks on both front and back so you can easily ski backwards etc. Much more tricks for skiers. Those guys who do all the awesome aerials in half pipes on skis are crazy. :)

I dont see how you can have any more fun on a snowboard than on skis...
i was more after the country side sorta shots ;) but thanks anyways.. with that city, is it all surrounded by water? how did it happen? flood caused it or what? just curious..
möoby
with that city

Rofl! You mean venice? Its built at the edge of a bay, and instead of streets, its just cannals. really quite cause theres no cars.
[Q]
Isnt venice reclaimed land and its sinking back into the water?
GaZ_^^^
Obes said "I don't like snowboarding becuase traversing sucks, Wet ass sucks, Wet hands suck, wet knees suck, surface lifts suck for boarders."

No wonder u dont like boarding man! By the sounds of it you cant stay on your fkn feet lol