Glenny
im so f***ing mad... i got called in early for work today and when i was on my lunch break i went to get some money from the car.... it was parked 5 meters away from work in plain view next to 4 other cars... i keept looking at it all day as i worked (work at a car wash next to BP corrner of wynnum and mannly road)it happened with in 2 hours ago..
i put my brand f***ing new head unit in two nites ago. it took me and dad like 4 hours to install. i took the face plate out and put it in the glove box!!! its a 1991 white toyota camery.. in good nick nice and clean (washed it yesterday)... quater of a tank in it... i had a wooly jaket, $300 pair of roller blades, my two 6x9's i was gonig to install this arvo all in the boot... if you see a camery on fire with this number plate 710htl let me know ! |
| #0 02:37pm 28/06/04 |
g0t bea[n]
s*** man that f***ing sucks.
You better have insurance!!! But it's Wynnem... you'd expect it dinted with bars, not on fire |
| #1 02:39pm 28/06/04 |
I'll keep an eye out man, I live just near there on randall road.
If I see it i'll call the cops for you :) |
| #2 02:41pm 28/06/04 |
mraltz
yeh sorry. ill bring it back later
| #3 02:43pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
i only have 3r party and compulsory 3rd party.. all the doors were lock.
the thing that gets me the most is that as it was geting stolen i was walking past it washing cars.. and the fact that there were so many people around and my brand new head unit... life sux. |
| #4 02:44pm 28/06/04 |
Ah man...sucks to be you. It's probably parked in some job shop right now or burning in a shallow ditch. |
| #5 02:44pm 28/06/04 |
mraltz
way to make him feel better twisted :D lol
| #6 02:46pm 28/06/04 |
uninstalled 6 x 9's in the back eh? Plainly visible?
Recipe for bad news. bl man. |
| #7 02:47pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
y dont they steal some rich c***s car i spent all my money on that thing because it was all i could aford.. then i saved for a head unit and spent all my savings... great timeing.. i wouldnt care as much if i got a least a few months use out of both the car and the head unit...
i only just got my lisence and the car not long ago. |
| #8 02:48pm 28/06/04 |
Jerry
calm down, ill have it returned by tonight..
meanwhile mraltz and i are having some fun last edited by Jerry at 14:50:05 28/Jun/04 |
| #9 02:50pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
no the old speakers were still in
| #10 02:49pm 28/06/04 |
I would also check the cash converters around our area and capalaba a few times in the next couple of weeks to see if any of your stuff shows up.
| #11 02:51pm 28/06/04 |
Have a clublock or immobilizer on it or any type of security. Also will teach you for putting the face for the head unit in the glovebox.
| #12 02:54pm 28/06/04 |
y dont they steal some rich c***s car rich c***s have feelings too, also - harder to steal - attracts more attention - harder to resell |
| #13 02:54pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
owww f*** dads huge ass $300 swis arm tool thing was in there, hes gonig to be happy!
| #14 02:55pm 28/06/04 |
Wasabi
f***, bad luck dude - Ive left my keys in the door (outside) the whole night and f*** all happend, suppose I got lucky
| #15 02:56pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
rich c***s can buy a new one or drive one of there other family members cars... poor people have to work harder for twice as long just so they can get another one to drive there family to the doctors or drop there kids at school!
| #16 02:57pm 28/06/04 |
burt
Twisted your a c*********, I hope you die
also bad news glenny... hope you get it back alrite |
| #17 02:58pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
well at the time i thought im only 5 meters away i can see my car at all time
| #18 02:58pm 28/06/04 |
i guess that makes theives immoral bastards!
| #19 02:58pm 28/06/04 |
f***ing hell man, that sucks so much ass.
| #20 02:58pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
thanks ill let you know if its found
| #21 02:58pm 28/06/04 |
s*** i need to get a steering lock and get those lock nutz on my rimz and a f***ing alarm system on my car... Bad luck man you'll prolly end up seeing it in the brisbane river =(
| #22 02:59pm 28/06/04 |
My old VC commodore got broken into 3 times. Everytime I think they took a look at the state it was in they took pity on me, nothing ever got taken. Then again there was nothing in it worth taking.
| #23 03:03pm 28/06/04 |
pyro
my car was stolen last night also.. VN commodore... was taken from my driveway (sunnybank hills) for a joy ride over to the northside.. the f***in idiots took everything except my stereo/amp/sub etc... plenty of damage to the car though
| #24 03:08pm 28/06/04 |
clipto
How effective do you guys think rigging your fuel light to always be on, and your fuel gauge to always sit on empty be?
I think that would work quite well to deter car theifs, and be piss easy to do. |
| #25 03:15pm 28/06/04 |
Irhabi
bad luck about the car dude..but mmy cuzins(sp) car got stolen from GC a few weeks ago the police found it at hyper dome empty tank, so hopfully they will just leave it after they have emptyd the petrol tank....
*crosses Fingers* also
Engin Imobilizer(sp) last edited by Irhabi at 15:22:53 28/Jun/04 |
| #26 03:22pm 28/06/04 |
y dont they steal some rich c***s car Cause rich c***s got alarms, yo. |
| #27 03:22pm 28/06/04 |
defi
f*** glen, i will look out for it driving round, that fckin suck man
| #28 03:27pm 28/06/04 |
infiNex
hey give the thieves a break, guys. they have needs too you know.
last edited by infiNex at 15:32:07 28/Jun/04 |
| #29 03:32pm 28/06/04 |
How effective do you guys think rigging your fuel light to always be on, and your fuel gauge to always sit on empty be? er, woudnt the thieves just go steal some petrol to put in the car? somehow i dont think they would care if the fuel light was on |
| #30 03:38pm 28/06/04 |
If they did that, they'd be on camera so it's a win anyway.
| #31 03:43pm 28/06/04 |
AceTAME
dont think of it as bad... turn it into good...
travel to any third world country... and you will realise the air i breathe in brisbane, imo is one of the highlights of my day |
| #32 04:01pm 28/06/04 |
fubar
you do know that all servos are fited with cameras glen
get them to have a look on the recordings, i don't think they would mind since you work there and all |
| #33 04:04pm 28/06/04 |
Damn doode :( Bad luck I hope you find the f***er(s)
| #34 04:04pm 28/06/04 |
I hope you've reported it to the police etc etc before posting it on the forums...
| #35 04:05pm 28/06/04 |
just steal another one...
| #36 04:06pm 28/06/04 |
yeah... just urr... have you reported it to the police as stolen?
| #37 04:14pm 28/06/04 |
defi
i just went out and brought a club lock for backup for my 180
| #38 04:31pm 28/06/04 |
Thats a prick of a thing to happen, i live in tingalpa so i will keep an eye out for yer vehicle (brisbane is getting like sydney IMHO )i hope karma catches up with the fukerz... |
| #39 04:32pm 28/06/04 |
woudnt the thieves just go steal some petrol to put in the car? exactly right... most of em just take the numberplates off and drive off.... well thats how my mates did it anyways... before you get the wrong idea, they did these things when they were in their J days :P last edited by Suhaib at 16:35:55 28/Jun/04 |
| #40 04:35pm 28/06/04 |
YoungNastyMan
Bad luck dude, that sucks big time. Had a subaru liberty stolen outside my house last Tuesday, they have an immobiliser too. I'd love to know how they got it. We'd seen it parked half an hour before I found it missing.
| #41 04:41pm 28/06/04 |
Isnt there a simple part you can remove from the engine to make the car not run at all?
Like something you would never think of thats easy to access? Science teacher once told me about a mate he knew who used to take his alternator or some part of it out when he parked his car somewhere. |
| #42 04:45pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
yeah i reported it before i posted here. cops just came by then. dads cut about his swis army tool thing its werth $200 :(
i've been thinking about it and trying to remeber strange thing that happended at work today.. one that stands out was a guy in a red crx.. he had a few mates with him one in another white holden, they weren't realy doing any thing and when they left the crx stoped infront of my car blocking my view of it.. and the white holden drove past it then the crx folowed behind... somthing was sus about those guys.. about BP surveillance, they wont give me the tape and the cops didnt give a s***. |
| #43 04:46pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
could you take out your spark plugs? or distributor?
| #44 04:47pm 28/06/04 |
Duk
almost anything..
Distributor leads, Fuel Lines, Battery. But who the hell wants to do that? And then have to reconnect it when you want to drive. f*** i hate wankers like that, if you find him, break his feet so he cant drive for a while! |
| #45 04:47pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
YoungNastyMan did you get it back?
| #46 04:50pm 28/06/04 |
hUON
just take out the distributor coil lead. It's not real long and it is flexible so you can take it with you. And nothing goes then.
| #47 04:55pm 28/06/04 |
Duk
If your car is pretty new, and it is distributorless then battery, or invest in an alarm if it doesnt have it.
| #48 04:57pm 28/06/04 |
Tough break dude.
Id have to say remove rotor button from exp. It works good cos its not visible immediately once u pop the hood. A smartass might be able to figure it out whilst turning it over tho. Just keep your fingers crossed it should turn up minus the obvious goodies. I hope you checked the oil recently because unfortunately its bound to get a serious thrashing. edit: rotor button fits easy in pocket last edited by rolo_tomasi at 17:08:59 28/Jun/04 last edited by rolo_tomasi at 17:09:03 28/Jun/04 |
| #49 05:09pm 28/06/04 |
Trapper
the cameras at servos are generaly aimed at the pumps only and have a very limited veiw of them at that. good luck hope you get it back. and find the pricks and give them a good beating
| #50 05:11pm 28/06/04 |
another good one is get a spare fuel pump fuse, cut your original fuse, and put the broken fuse into the fusebox when you're going to be away from your car when you park it.
swap it back when you want your car to work (duh). |
| #51 05:17pm 28/06/04 |
Insure your car, get an alarm/immobiliser.
If you can't afford to adequately protect a car (or any belonging) then you can't afford the car. I know that's a hard line to take, but that's just my opinion on it. Oh and I know that you can't protect a car 100%, but that's why insurance is necessary. On the other hand, I'm sorry to hear it dude, I'll keep my eyes out for that car too, not that I'm likely to see it, but *shrug* you never know. last edited by stinky at 17:27:34 28/Jun/04 |
| #52 05:27pm 28/06/04 |
epi.
i've been thinking about it and trying to remeber strange thing that happended at work today.. one that stands out was a guy in a red crx I know a c*** with a Red CRX, lives on Alkoomie street on the corner with Grenada. |
| #53 05:35pm 28/06/04 |
epi.
also, unlucky glen, I feel bad for you :(
| #54 05:46pm 28/06/04 |
YoungNastyMan
YoungNastyMan did you get it back? Not yet, I'd say it was a pro job if they went to the trouble to get around the immobiliser. So it'll have new identification numbers or be overseas by now. NFI why someone would want to steal the thing really. |
| #55 05:55pm 28/06/04 |
möoby
mate that sucks. but ppl out there, dont do stupid s*** like leave valuables (face plate in the glove box is so stupid) like roller blades in the car. This only incourages theft.
You should also leave you're glove box open when you park your car to show nothing is in it. Stops junkie or whatever breaking in to flog a few cds or a bit of cash. |
| #56 06:03pm 28/06/04 |
But then there's no use for the glovebox.
| #57 06:05pm 28/06/04 |
you sure a friends not playing a joke?
I mean it got stolen from like 5m away from you.... |
| #58 06:16pm 28/06/04 |
i took the face plate out and put it in the glove box!!! Well that defeats the purpose of a detachable face plate doesn't it. |
| #59 06:18pm 28/06/04 |
AceTAME
hehe reminds me of a prank i was considering...
this guy gave me his keys at work to get something for him... was thinking about moving his car to the other car park to scare him |
| #60 06:20pm 28/06/04 |
I just got home from work (i work with glen)
i went over and asked micheal the owner of BP if the camera's would be any use and he said they are only there to read number plates... this is so f***ing BS, the carpark is always f***ing full of cars. There is people everywhere. it would have been taken at like 12:30pm. in the middle of the f***ing day wtf? |
| #61 06:22pm 28/06/04 |
that would be quite effective at IGC! |
| #62 06:23pm 28/06/04 |
AceTAME
theives are pro's... they would've had the car out of their less than a minute
| #63 06:24pm 28/06/04 |
Glen that CRX is either richie (king darb) or another sus c***.. he's friends with that guy who brings the sr20 180 through
they're all dodgey as. i'll get jimmy to talk to them.. |
| #64 06:25pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
i only got the head unit the other day ... i left it in the car because its very unsafe to take it in to work, so i took it off, put it in its case, and in to the glove box.. at the time i thought that would be better than leaving it on fer every passer by to see it..
im only new to the road.. my car was my new freedom i loaded it up with my life.. got wake up call... i had my blades in the car for when i drop in to the skate park, dads swis army tool thing was left in the car from the day before puting the head unit in. i left it in the car because i was gonig to use it to put the 6 by 9's in which were in the boot this morrning... but i got called in to work at nine, so i didnt have time to install them so i left every thing in to do it all when i got home |
| #65 06:52pm 28/06/04 |
clipto
Engin Imobilizer(sp) Pfft, no way man, your better off hand picking a squad of the greatest warriors on the planet and have them guard your car. (In case you still didn't notice my original suggestion was for if you were on a budget). One of the easiest things to take off would be the gas pedal, especially if you got a really small one, you could do the brakes but then you could be liable if the poor bastards kill themself. If you can't afford to adequately protect a car (or any belonging) then you can't afford the car. Well that doesn't make any sense, what about if you can afford to replace it if it gets stolen? Or can do without it altogether? Or the chances of it being stolen are remote? That's just my opinion on it. Anyone know how this guy can force BP to give up the surveilance tapes? You know just in case this guy decides to hunt down and kill everyone the Cameras picked up that day? |
| #66 07:00pm 28/06/04 |
Just do a mr bean and take the steering wheel with you :)
| #67 07:16pm 28/06/04 |
get the cops involved(if not done already) and they will check the tapes..
| #68 07:40pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
i told the cops about the tapes but they dont care thay have better things to watch
| #69 08:27pm 28/06/04 |
Glenny
and more important things to do.. which makes sence id rather the cops stoping rapes and murders than finding stolen cars..
| #70 08:28pm 28/06/04 |
defi
there better things to do is revenue raising with speed cameras....
| #71 08:32pm 28/06/04 |
I guess if you think your car is at risk leaving in a risky area for sometime then a few seconds wouldnt hurt taking the pedal, spark plug lead etc out... But doing that every single time you leave your car somewhere can get a lil too much for some people.
| #72 08:33pm 28/06/04 |
Stu
you do realise if you still take off the gas pedal you can still use the stem of the pedal to use it?
| #73 09:25pm 28/06/04 |
Coochie
owww f*** dads huge ass hes gonig to be happy!:) I f***ing hate when people like Mike Moore take s*** out of context! |
| #74 09:52pm 28/06/04 |
Cr@ckerJ@ck
Science teacher once told me about a mate he knew who used to take his alternator or some part of it out when he parked his car somewhere. Remove distributer cap and pop the rotor out, replace cap. DIY imobilser :) |
| #75 09:53pm 28/06/04 |
hey, excellent idea crackerjack.
| #76 10:03pm 28/06/04 |
that was it! Thats exactly what his mate did. Good thinking 99. |
| #77 10:15pm 28/06/04 |
möoby
yeah, an old trick. can be a bastard if you come out of a pub / club and dont have a lighter or anything trying to put it back on.
| #78 10:17pm 28/06/04 |
Boofe
Remove distributer cap and pop the rotor out, replace cap. What a pain in the ass though. My VP has a factory emboliser. Cuts the fuel so thing wont start. Starter motor turns over though, but no broom broom. Im sure the pro's do something to by pass that in 20 seconds but at least it stops the newbie joyriders from taking it for a spin. last edited by Boofe at 22:21:59 28/Jun/04 |
| #79 10:21pm 28/06/04 |
oh you guys are talking about the rotor 'button'. Well that makes sense.
| #80 10:22pm 28/06/04 |
sikgem
It wouldn't be difficult to wire up some tricky remotely operated relays into your electrical system, deeply embed it away from easy access... but probably best to get an auto electrician to do that :). My dad's old 1985 720 ute (now in a wrecking yard holding up milk crates or something) had a kill switch in it when he purchased it. Worked pretty well but would have been dead easy to find.
| #81 10:27pm 28/06/04 |
möoby
What a pain in the ass though. My VP has a factory emboliser Your vp doesnt have a rotor button either, its electronic ignition. |
| #82 10:32pm 28/06/04 |
clipto
you do realise if you still take off the gas pedal you can still use the stem of the pedal to use it? lol by gas pedal I mean't the whole thing, haha can you imagine? |
| #83 10:32pm 28/06/04 |
Boofe
Your vp doesnt have a rotor button either, its electronic ignition. Yes i know mooby. Doesn't mean some pro can't start the slart though. :P |
| #84 10:56pm 28/06/04 |
you deserve every flame you get kat you stupid whore.
bad luck on the car man - what goes around comes around tho they'll get their own back. its still early days it will probably turn up somewhere. |
| #85 12:59am 29/06/04 |
AceTAME
you stupid whore. HAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHH thats a f***en funny line |
| #86 01:03am 29/06/04 |
Isnt there a simple part you can remove from the engine to make the car not run at all?In older cars with a distributor, yes, you take the rotor button out and replace the cap, no rotor button = no connection to spark leads = no spark = no go. Course they could just go to servo and buy one, but that takes time eh, particularly on top of any security stuff you have. Dunno about newer cars *shrugs* |
| #87 05:55am 29/06/04 |
too bad for us Maxe, direct coil ignition and no distributor.
| #88 08:29am 29/06/04 |
Isnt there a simple part you can remove from the engine to make the car not run at all?Or you could just install a proper immobiliser with GPS tracking, that way the security company rings you up to tell you someone has stolen your car and the cops are on the way, once close, they send a signal to stop the engins and lock the occupants in the car. http://www.rhino.com.au/rhino_tracks/info.html |
| #89 08:42am 29/06/04 |
Leon Trotsky
Glenny,
first sorry to hear about your car, second after reading through this post on two occasions and existence' saying that they 'might' be a possible connection through school or "hoods" or whatever this is what I reckon is suss also. You VERY recently aquired this sweet stereo setup right, and I bet you've been telling all your mates about it, and this and that. Word gets around, people know where you work, and if what you've said about them blocking your view is true - I'd be VERY open to the possibility that you know the guys, or there is only a 2nd degree of seperation as existence has suggested. Having said that, and once upon a time when I was younger I wasn't in the car stealing business but the.. errm "gettin high" business, and in a big way, I know that people dont talk no matter who/what is involved cause squeelers names get passed aruond. There is no such thing as anonymity unless a public phone is involved and no one talks about it. Your best bet is too badger work for the tapes, take the tapes to the cops and then if they get number plates you can atleast put forward suspicion on those guys cars. Also, I'd ask your friends to keep their ears open and their mouths shut - DONT go around asking questions exis, cause people will just not say anything if they know your looking. Convince people that its over, and done with, and someone might slip up. Otherwise, good look with it and all the best. Sorry once again |
| #90 08:43am 29/06/04 |
^^ Good words of wisdom tha'
| #91 08:56am 29/06/04 |
Nat
i found a lil switch in some obscure place when i was pulling apart my sillycar and i thought "hmm this will be perfect to activate my secret neon under my car" so i rigged it up and it took me 3 days to figure out why my car wouldnt start...
turns out it was a secret kill switch! =D i figured my neon was more important tho so i soldered the circut shut and left my cool neon switch in place. ive made im decision and i stand by it =) |
| #92 09:16am 29/06/04 |
what Loki said
| #93 09:21am 29/06/04 |
Glenny
thanks Leon, i had that thought also but exis told me a good point.. thoes guys dont steal cars and large things from their own area because there not stupid.. but yes i know what you mean i did tell a few people, all good friends. though there is one guy i told who was there at work yesterday and knew the guy in the crx. He said somthing to him as i walked past but i didnt hear. i also know where the crx guy lives so ill do a few drive.. i mean walk byes and see if any of my car parts are about just incase..
ill slip the owner of bp some cash for the tape and take the law into my own hands! |
| #94 09:29am 29/06/04 |
Without your car you're a man with nothing to lose !
| #95 09:47am 29/06/04 |
Leon Trotsky
Dont slip him some cash, just ask him please if you can view the tapes behind a closed door.
He should understand your plight esp since you work for him. And just because those guys who own that crx wont do anything stupid, it doesn't mean they dont know someone who WILL! They may well have had a hand in it. Like gone along for a look-see. Dont close any doors yet mate, suspicion of everyone is a good friend to you right now |
| #96 10:22am 29/06/04 |
epi.
He was joking you wang.
| #97 10:43am 29/06/04 |