Topic: Reccomend a good monitor repair centre?
bobbly_bob
I have a nice monitor here, that works perfectly except for a minor fault. I've done enough googling and asking around to know what the problem is, that it would only take about 5 minutes to fix, and that I can not do it myself.
So, would anyone be able to reccomend a trustworthy repair centre? Some of the people at these places that I have met previously are like mechanics, and will try to bulls*** and make up "problems" for money - happened to us with our last monitor

any help appreciated
Whatever you do, don't go to that Colourtone place in Holland Park. Very dodgy indeed.
bobbly_bob
Last place we took a monitor to, the screen would slowly fade to white, then fade back to normal again, would do it about every 15 minutes. That to me would seem like a blown or about to blow capacitor.

Guy called us 3 hours after we dropped it off, which we thought was cool. He charged us $140 to fix a 15" monitor and claimed that the transformer was blown and he "happened" to have a new one sitting around
sounds like he charged you $140 for resolder of dry joints, the EHT transformer costs a bit too much to charge that for it, or maybe he put in a second hand transformer if it was that...

whats wrong with your monitor?
bobbly_bob
It switches off when it gets hot.
Give it a chance to cool down, and it will turn straight back on again
you have dry solder joints, you can prolly repair it yourself if you have skills soldering and taking apart monitors..

it could be a semi-conductor going faulty when it heats up on the feedback line, but the most common problem is ye old dry solder joints..

and no, i am way to busy with digital cameras, so i have no time to repair it.. sorry... :(

bobbly_bob
Yeah, that is pretty much what the repair centre said.
I'm pretty good with a soldering iron, but would hate to bork it and cook something
Erik-the-Red
when i had a problem, i took it to bakers tv & electronics. i'm happy. mind you, it was under warranty, so it didn't cost me anything....
Guy called us 3 hours after we dropped it off, which we thought was cool. He charged us $140 to fix a 15" monitor and claimed that the transformer was blown and he "happened" to have a new one sitting around

f*** man im sure you could buy a new 15incher for half that! :P
bobbly_bob
5th of that nowadays, but this was a flat, about 5-6 years ago, so it was expensive in its day
LOL, thats funny Erik as i work at bakers t.v. :D

the main tech who works on monitors is on leave atm, i give him a hand on them when there is heaps of monitors in, but none of the other techs can give me a hand on the digital still and movie cameras.. :(

life sucks atm, sooo busy.. :(
If you have a mate who is a technician get him to do it

If not ring up the manufacturer and get them to tell you the nearest service agents (for that brand) to you. You may have to pay a bit but atleast you know its gonna get done properly if its out of warranty you may have to take it to them and pick it up if its in warranty its onsite and they pay for delivery and pickup
Primal, don't suppose that you guys would be able to get your hands on a replacement tube for a 21" Sony Trinitron by any chance? Or at least who to contact for a replacement? I've got a Sun 21" trinitron monitor with a dead tube, apparently everything else works just fine. I would REALLY love to get it fixed. Mate, c'mon, how bout for an ol clan mate =)
LOL...

hhmmm... prime electronics up here in brissie are sony spare parts, we get our sony parts from speedie spares in melbourne/vic as they are cheaper...

telequick electronics are the sony service agent, they call themselves TQ electronics now, i think.. :/

what model monitor is it?, we have some scrapped ones sitting around and we may have the right tube..
also the number off the tube would help, it is on a big sticker, stuck on the back of the tube..

but then, we may not have it..
Or just buy one of my 21" trinitron tube HP Badged monitors for $600
bobbly_bob
I've been reccomended to go to "some guy" at the end of Logan rd just past the intersection with Old Cleveland Rd at Stones Corner.

Don't suppose anyone knows of them?
yay or nay?
The guy that has fixed out tv since the mid 80s is a champ. Hell tell you straight out whats going on, no f***ing around

Sullivans Tv shop thing
4/37 Meadow ave Coopers plains.

if you need any info msn me.. evil_j0sh
bobbly_bob
evil_josh .....
campbell?
UQ engineering josh?
bobbly_bob
Ok, sorry all for the thread revival.

I probably should have mentioned it, but the monitor is a 21". Didn;t think that would be a problem, but it seems that no-one wants to touch them.

Just made 4 phone calls, each person saying they could fix monitors, then backing off when they found out it was a 21". Gave up when the 4th guy referred me to the 2nd guy.

Anyone got any helpful hints?
bobbly_bob
Computer Breakdown Services just quoted me $390 as a flat inspection/service fee for a 21" monitor.

I KNOW that it is a simple solder problem, Any ideas? Anyone?
bring it here, we charge $77.00 est. fee, which comes off your total, if you go ahead..

bakers t.v. and electronics
39 thomas st, chermside.
ph:3632 5300

and yes we work on 21" monitors
bobbly_bob
too late to bring it in today?
oppss.. just got back to a p.c.

a bit late to bring it in..

our working hours are 8.00am till 4.45pm mon-fri.
but some techs get there at 7.30am, so the doors prolly will be open then..

8.30 till 12.00pm on saturday mornings.

the main monitor tech. is back from leave as well.. :D