Excruci@ting
We are thinking about getting a 4-5ft fish aquarium. Most probably getting tropical fish as marine fish are too much to handle. We need some inspiration. So if anyone got fish tanks at home? Take some pics at show me.
Thanks |
| #0 11:08pm 20/10/03 |
shrapse
waste of money
| #1 10:01pm 15/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
not if your interested in that sort of thing? Some ppl would say a $1000 computer is a waste of cash.
| #2 10:05pm 15/10/03 |
shrapse
well then buy a small tank and get 2 fish
.. and save lots of money! |
| #3 10:10pm 15/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
omg, stop raising your post count :P
Furgle, you have a big one don't ya? I might need to ad you to msn to ask you some questions? |
| #4 10:28pm 15/10/03 |
=-Firefrog-=
One of my mates is fish mad... has like 4 tanks, one of which is an 800L odd beasty :p
| #5 10:31pm 15/10/03 |
power
i have that fish screeny that's pretty cool but i doubt i can take a screenie... http://www.serenescreen.com/
| #6 10:53pm 15/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
thanks for your help power |
| #7 11:20pm 15/10/03 |
I agree, big fish tanks are mad.
Someone post a pic of a cool one :) |
| #8 06:09am 16/10/03 |
Furgle
I don't bother with MSN, but if you have questions, go to my website.
If you want to buy the equipment for your tank, don't pay for rediculous markups at pet shops, go to my other website. http://www.fishprofiles.net/files/~adam/dsc00135.jpg http://www.fishprofiles.net/files/~adam/dsc00136.jpg http://www.fishprofiles.net/files/~adam/dsc00134.jpg http://www.fishprofiles.net/files/~adam/temp/auction3.jpg |
| #9 07:14am 16/10/03 |
Furgle
Shoud also mention, lots of nice photos here: http://www.fishprofiles.com/interactive/photos/gallery.asp?id=tank_of_the_month
| #10 07:11am 16/10/03 |
teen
big fish tanks are mad. http://www.braksator.com/images/fishtank.jpg |
| #11 07:19am 16/10/03 |
Toast
waste of moneyhow bout not post then? i know i dont have tropical fish, but here are 2/3 of my tanks: http://www.muphin.net/jerry/Photos/tanks1.jpg http://www.muphin.net/jerry/Photos/tank2.jpg |
| #12 07:21am 16/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
Bloody awesome Furgle, thanks for your help. Thanks for the site toO!
Very good teen :) Toast, I see a Mexican Walking Fish :) |
| #13 01:57pm 16/10/03 |
Pluck Me Dead
Get the Marine Aquarium 2 fish screen saver on your pc. Heaps of fish and just as good as the real thing. No money wasted.
http://www.serenescreen.com/ |
| #14 02:09pm 16/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
You are slow pluck me dead, go home.
| #15 02:09pm 16/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
Well thanks Furgle's site with all the information.. We went out and bought the Aquarium. Got it on Saturday, filled it up with the sand on Saturday night, let if filter on Sunday and went out and bought fish/plants/pots/snails today.
Its currently trying to build up the Nitrate level(good bacteria). Thats why we only go 10 fish. Too many fish in new tank = bad till Nitrates builds up. Anyway, heres one pic, you can view the rest here if you are interested here. http://www.members.optushome.com.au/exz0r/fish/ Currently we have: 6x Guppies 2x Clown Loach 2x platties 2x snails http://www.members.optushome.com.au/exz0r/fish/images/P1003782.jpg edit: by the way, those fish aren't floating :P Their eating :) |
| #16 11:08pm 20/10/03 |
shrapse
well ok then, i suppose that looks pretty sweet :)
| #17 11:18pm 20/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
no regrets
| #18 11:19pm 20/10/03 |
tox
waste of moneyheard of fish breeding? |
| #19 11:33pm 20/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
big money their :D, if they breed.
Anyhow off to bed. Night! |
| #20 11:41pm 20/10/03 |
thrax
Excruci@ting, that is a very bad move getting snails, if you decicded that you don't want to have snails in your tank because even if you empyt the tank you will never get rid of them!
Oh yeah why would you get gupies? Why not get something more exotic like discus and cichlids? here is my tank http://members.optushome.com.au/ashleyheilbronn/fish/IM000209.JPG http://members.optushome.com.au/ashleyheilbronn/fish/IM000210.JPG http://members.optushome.com.au/ashleyheilbronn/fish/IM000211.JPG http://members.optushome.com.au/ashleyheilbronn/fish/IM000212.JPG |
| #21 05:06am 21/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
Excruci@ting, that is a very bad move getting snails, if you decicded that you don't want to have snails in your tank because even if you empyt the tank you will never get rid of them! The bloke reckoned that these ones don't breed at a huge rate like others :/ Oh yeah why would you get gupies? Why not get something more exotic like discus and cichlids? We had to get a hardy fish first off like gupies and platties so they will be able to withstand the amonia levels first off. Wouldn't want to go buy an expensive fish then having them die. Most probably get some discus later on. |
| #22 07:57am 21/10/03 |
what tricks can they do?
| #23 08:00am 21/10/03 |
That looks pretty nice .. im suprised :)
Flogs the other tanks in here :) Teen, fkn classic .. i have to big you props since nobody else did |
| #24 08:32am 21/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
umm the loach seems to roll over :P
| #25 04:48pm 21/10/03 |
tox
arent you ment to get snails to eat the mould off the glass or something?
edit: f*** i cant beleive i watsed my 2000th post here |
| #26 04:57pm 21/10/03 |
[Q]
Three things I learnt when I had fish.
1)Plants lookg f***ing awesome, espeically when you have A METRIC f*** TONNE. Im talking thick JUNGLE of plants. Pricey but awesome effect. 2)Snails are f***ed. No matter how hard you try once they are in they will be EVERYWHERE. Your much better off getting one of the sucker fish to clean rather than snails. Also Guppies have the same tendency to breed a s***load. Not many become adult with other fish in the tank though :D 3) Crzyfish, even if you have a lid, will find a way out of the tank and will fall behind the tank, dry up and die. Youll only find them once you get sick of your hobbie and move the tank :) |
| #27 05:06pm 21/10/03 |
i've got siamese fighters :P 2
| #28 05:15pm 21/10/03 |
Rodolphe
I have got crayfish, swordtails, guppies, bristlenose catfish, eel tail catfish and clown loaches... Bit of an odd mix. Originally I was going to have Australian natives, but the missus wanted 'colourful' fish, hence the swodtails etc. If I had the $$ I would have 2 tanks and the appropriate fish in each.
tharx, what fish they be ?? I like them. I am thinking of getting rid of all my crays and planting out my tank (can't have plants and crays), I then want to put new fish in, the guppies and swodtails can get eaten for all I care. I want to put in bigger 'colourful' type fish, but have no idea what to go for... Any one got any suggestions ?? Pref not really expensive fish either :o) |
| #29 07:44pm 21/10/03 |
Resonate
Heres my tropical fish:
http://namatanai.customer.netspace.net.au/Case%20Mod%20Pics/after.jpg But for some reason, I just cant get them to breed. :( |
| #30 08:07pm 21/10/03 |
Try some Barry White
ps. f***ing UBERRRRRR messy case Clean it up ffs |
| #31 08:10pm 21/10/03 |
Resonate
im still waiting on the tubing from pccasegear which is due in like 2 days hense why its so messy as there is no point making it all clean if i gotta take it apart again.
| #32 08:21pm 21/10/03 |
debunk
Vvery nice fish thrax! Cichlid mouthbrooders ? ( the blue ones )
the yellow one looks like an auratus. here are my pics, pretty crappy. http://www.members.optushome.com.au/dflood1/images/fishtank1.jpg http://www.members.optushome.com.au/dflood1/images/fishtank2.jpg |
| #33 08:27pm 21/10/03 |
Rodolphe
I didn't bother with pics, tank looks too crap !!
| #34 08:33pm 21/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
What big pretty fish, can go with guppies and platties? I take it that the discus can. What else? Keeping in mind tank temp.
| #35 09:16pm 21/10/03 |
I'll have to set up my web cam on the machine downstairs with my Oscar & Flowhorn cichilids. I'll see if I can video one of the feeding sessions =)
You freaks will love that !!! |
| #36 10:15pm 21/10/03 |
for shame Hem
ps. f***ing UBERRRRRR messy case WTF you expect with fish s***tin inside? Man, its all about having adequate filtration I tell ya.... |
| #37 10:17pm 21/10/03 |
nice clean tank there. ive got a smallish tank with one redtail black shark, 2 neon tetras and one bristle nosed catfish. i used to have more neons and 2 gouramis but they died. the fish in there now are fkn troopers. bin alive for a good 3 years now which is a big effort for fish in a poorly maintained tank. i only clean the sucker like 4times a year :P but they rock hard. they must be uber tough from my habits :P the thing doesnt look really dirty or anything though. also, clown loaches are pretty expensive aint they? we used to have some ages ago and they were like 20-30$ for a decent sized one.
| #38 10:50pm 21/10/03 |
Furgle
Don't put Discus in there! They're not a fish for n00bs ;)
Try a couple of Pearl Gouramies. Also my case looks better + I bought mine when they first came out, not when everyone else started getting them :P http://www.fishprofiles.net/files/~adam/1.jpg |
| #39 06:25am 22/10/03 |
Furgle
Heh thrax, just realised why your fish are so colourful. You're cheating with White Crane food :P
| #40 07:54am 22/10/03 |
Rodolphe
reload! Pet s***ty (city) have clown loaches for ~$5 each, they are pretty small, but not tiny. They are in a tank above all the plants and feeder fish.
Also discuss cost over $100 don't they ?? |
| #41 07:33pm 22/10/03 |
Furgle
you can get discus at auctions for ~$15-$40 depending on type.
All of the fish in my tanks are bought at auction. |
| #42 07:39pm 22/10/03 |
Rodolphe
I have never heard of buying fish at auction... where and when do they hold them ??
| #43 07:43pm 22/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
Also discuss cost over $100 don't they ?? Down at wetpetz at hawkins nursary (Sp) they are 45bucs. Cheaper in the weekend shopper. |
| #44 08:34pm 22/10/03 |
JiggaMan
i got a fish tank its quite nice :) i cant seem to get the pics right so i'll wait till its day time!
| #45 08:41pm 22/10/03 |
Hybr|d
with all these fish im looking to now get some ;D
does anyone have any kits there are willing to sell ?? |
| #46 09:20pm 22/10/03 |
not when everyone else started getting them :PYou goddamn liar! I bet theyve only sold like 3 of them world-wide ... UGLYYYYY AS SIN |
| #47 09:29pm 22/10/03 |
The trick I found to discus is consistent water quality. ie. no big water changes, smaller ones more frequently. Apart from that they are fairly easy fish to keep (they don't dig up stuff and generally speaking don't kill each other or tank mates, unless they are wild ones in which case they a clever pack hunters that will take out everything that will fit in the mouth), much harder to breed (have to watch hardness ph and have to find something that triggers them). And becuase they are expensive mistakes can be costly.
| #48 11:57am 23/10/03 |
JiggaMan
| #49 01:11pm 23/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
Atleast your loach comes out Jigga!
| #50 01:44pm 23/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
Hey Furgle,
Even since I got the fish one of the platties have been ver dosile. It will sort of just swim and rest at the bottom of the tank. She seems healthy, like it will have sudden burst of energy. When its food time it will come up and swim around like normal. I thought it might have been sick at first, but it just seems like that is how it is. Now, here is my question... Where abouts is the fishs flank? What is a flank? I was reading a book and it said just before fish are about to give birth they develope a dark spot on their flank. The fish that seems very dosile has a dark spot at the base of its tail. Is this the flank? Could she be pregnate? When they refer to give birth i take it that mean give live young. Do platties give live younge? Thanks |
| #51 05:14pm 23/10/03 |
Furgle
the dark spot will be in front of her anus. (ha! I said anus without it being rude!)
Most platies, guppies, swordtails have the spot, it's not really a surefire indication of pregnancy, but I guarantee if you have males and femails, you will have baby fish soon. If you want to keep the baby fish it may be a good idea to get one of these so the other fish dont eat them. |
| #52 05:46pm 23/10/03 |
Furgle
Also suggest you read this http://www.fishprofiles.com/profiles/fw/profile.asp?id=Xiphophorus+maculatus
| #53 05:48pm 23/10/03 |
thrax
Heh thrax, just realised why your fish are so colourful. You're cheating with White Crane food :P Actual I got some fish food that brings out the colour so much, I have no idea what it is but it makes the fish look awesome. |
| #54 06:28pm 23/10/03 |
prioN.
the extent of my fish tank is a blue african fish...
it ate a bb pellet once still going :p i also had axolottls their leet |
| #55 06:40pm 23/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
hrmm this is at the base of tail, not under backside :(
| #56 10:02pm 23/10/03 |
shaz
My brother has a Red Devil and he tried to put an albino oscar in the same tank and the Red Devil attacked it over night and we woke up to find the Oscar with no scales :(
Apart from that he is trying to "tame" the Red Devil by putting his hand in the tank and now has s***loads of cuts on his hands. Fish are boring I'm getting a turtle soon! |
| #57 12:31am 24/10/03 |
Excruci@ting
The red devil doesn't sound very boring...
| #58 10:10pm 24/10/03 |
Glenny
We just built an aquarium last week!! We are a wacky family we do things different than the norm, youll see when I post picks of our brand new fish tank tomorrow when there is some day light. We just hope the floor doesn’t give way from the weight of this thing.
My step dad built it, cost him $100 all up. Glass cheep of a mate that had no use for it. Fish from another family friend going overseas, (Ginnipig fish). Family friend is a welder who made the frame and also gave us the huge filter. Step dad got the heater and two Cray fish (only one left, the female one ate the male). There some huge snails in there to. We used a Mangrove stump to add our strange personal touch and corral both of which Mud Island doesn’t need any more ;) Its fresh water and holds a few tone of water ill find that out tomorrow |
| #59 11:48pm 22/06/04 |
| #59 |