Axis
when i play, i think there is at least a very slight delay, can someone tell me for sure? someoen who plays more than once a month at the most unlike myself. cause i can snipe incs, and i can play UT instagib pretty well, but i always miss in q3, leadign me to the conclusion that the gun behaves differently |
| #0 09:09pm 30/05/01 |
resilient
There is a slight delay from when you press the fire button and when it actually fires, it is instant hit though. |
| #1 09:09pm 30/05/01 |
Zombie
sif you wouldnt just use the BFG neways :P |
| #2 09:11pm 30/05/01 |
Axis
the whole defenition of instant hit for me is that it hits what's in your crosshair the instant yo upress your fire button. therefore, it is not instant hit, thankyou,now i knwo why i always miss long range shots on moving targets |
| #3 09:12pm 30/05/01 |
Cyph
lead the target axis :) |
| #4 09:16pm 30/05/01 |
Koopz
yer - there's a 1/10 second (or so it seems) lag between pressing fire, and seeing the gun shoot on the screen. beats packet loss though =) |
| #5 09:18pm 30/05/01 |
Zombie
DONT make me repeat myself! :P but yeah, theres a slight delay in there, just gotta get used to changin your sniping style between the games i spose |
| #6 09:19pm 30/05/01 |
Axis
it doens't matter, not gonan really bother trying to be a quaker, just had to satisfy myself knowing that it wans'tmy skills letting me down, it was a diff behaviour of the gun, becasue the peopel i palyed wiht told me it was instant. |
| #7 09:21pm 30/05/01 |
Zombie
hehehe well round up those people who told you that, and show them something else thats instant.... Death from an AWP in your hands :D |
| #8 09:27pm 30/05/01 |
it wans'tmy skills letting me down, it was a diff behaviour of the gun, becasue the peopel i palyed wiht told me it was instant you mean you couldnt work out that it had a delay for urself? and you continued to play on the basis that people told you it was instant? |
| #9 09:34pm 30/05/01 |
Nathan
There are two types of weapons in Quake3: hit-scan and projectile. The railgun is a hitscan weapon. There is a tiny delay, but most misses are due to more to hand-eye reaction times than the railgun firing delay. |
| #10 09:36pm 30/05/01 |
fork^
if memory serves me correctly; the railgun in q2 has a 50ms delay between clicking and firing, when q3 was released the tradition was followed, however, in 1.17 i think or 1.27 they brought this down to ~20 ms. and by the size of the player, chances are it is your skills, because that much of a delay isnt significant enough for you to miss a player because the computer is 'too slow' someone correct me if im wrong but thats what i read a while ago (as in longer than 5 mths) on some games page ?@ |
| #11 10:06pm 30/05/01 |
fork^
also - were you playing on the net ? cause quake3 doesnt incorporate that 'client lag predict' thing that half life does in its |
| #12 10:08pm 30/05/01 |
Badkarma
lol hitting rails doesn't = skill |
| #13 10:49pm 30/05/01 |
wtf, I always thought it was instant all I know is, I put the crosshairs on something, pull the trigger, and it hits; its not brain surgery. |
| #14 11:33pm 30/05/01 |
fork^
u sure about that last comment trog ??? :) |
| #15 11:35pm 30/05/01 |
Zombie
Actually, it is like a primitive sort of brain surgery... just dont like your chances of survival |
| #16 11:40pm 30/05/01 |
the q2 one is instant. q3 one isnt. also q2 is harder because the people are smaller and the levels are s***ty colours :P quake II 0wnz, quake3arena. nuff said. and cs is bs unless you have fast machine, or fast connection, if both, then you should not die, even when afk... |
| #17 11:53pm 30/05/01 |
Axis
"you mean you couldnt work out that it had a delay for urself? and you continued to play on the basis that people told you it was instant?" given that you could count the number of hours i have spent playing quake3 on one hand i really didn't take hte time to analyze it that much maxe. god your a stupid f*****, please f*** off and die. and fork i only had theproblem on very long range, like that level with all the platforms in space whatever its called, when they were ages away and zoomign of jump platforms and s*** like that. one other thing, i played it on my friends computer that run it heaps smoother than mine did at the time and it felt like the delay was less, so does low fps make this delay worse? it sure seemed like it. |
| #18 12:09am 31/05/01 |
you guys suck, as if its not instant I could never tell the difference between the q2 and q3 railgun; people used to whine about it like it was the biggest deal in the world; I guess I must just ADAPT TO NEW GAMES BETTER THAN ALL YOU OTHER HIPPIES |
| #19 12:12am 31/05/01 |
creepingdeath
having a higher framer ate is much better of course, so yeah |
| #20 12:13am 31/05/01 |
i thought 30 fps was enuff.... too bad i get 4 :( |
| #21 12:45am 31/05/01 |
shoot the rail on target unless you have over 30-40ish ping i reckon, and if you have 40-60ish maybe just a bit in front of where they are headed |
| #22 12:57am 31/05/01 |
I thought the rail gun was like the gay-W-P if u shoot someone in the leg they get hurt bad but dun die. I've been hit with a rail gun from that gay platform on the map "The Longest Yard" and not die. or maybe I'm just crazy...... |
| #23 01:50am 31/05/01 |
resilient
The Railgun isnt like the AWM at all, you can be hit by a railgun and still live because it does 100 damage. |
| #24 02:04pm 31/05/01 |
GreyMATr
Quake3 isnt like CS OMG, i think res is right, thats whats been wrong this whole time, now i finally have the perfect excuse for being a skilless s***kunt and i dont have to blame low fps, or not having played for enough hours or being told that a gun operates the wrong way. thanx res, yewve saved me |
| #25 05:59pm 31/05/01 |
Frag Terminator
i liked the q2 railgun better, sif the trail wasnt sexc |
| #26 06:10am 31/05/01 |
Axis
all i kwno is this, anyone who has played cs with me knows i can snipe f***gin well, if a target is moving just put crosshair in their path and perss fire when they walk in front of it. given that im a damn good sniper in cs, ifidn it hard to believe that IF the rail gun is instant that the same prinicple woudl not apply. standing on platform in longest yard, see a guy flying though the air of a jump platfrom wuite some distace away, put aiming do tin hispath press fire as soon as he touches the dot... rail always goes just behind him... anyhow! its alredy been stated that there is a slight delay, normally it might not makea difference, buti believe that at long range with a fast moving target it is enough to make you miss. that's like the only map i ever really play, i find short range railing i don't have this problem. |
| #27 01:02pm 31/05/01 |
fork^
Axis; you can't compare sniping in CS to rail in q3, in cs %90 of snipes are when you are standing, crouching still and the target is walking at a slow pace in q3 %90 or rail hits are when you are running, as well as the enemy jumping, running, flying through the air, not to mention the other distractions like rockets going; MG bullets everywhere etc. not to mention that the engine has a completely different feel, i find the q3 zoom to be realllly smooth, whereas the hl one is chunky as, as if m_filter was set to like -3 for me. just my 2c :) |
| #28 01:15pm 31/05/01 |
creepingdeath
i think enigma should f*** off he's obviously a cs player and has nfi about q3 |
| #29 01:31pm 31/05/01 |
resilient
I'm glad I was able to help yew Grey |
| #30 02:03pm 31/05/01 |
"quake II 0wnz, quake3arena." Amen to that Zoix |
| #31 03:09pm 31/05/01 |
^hir0
axis, ur idea of railing is pretty typical of ur average cs lamer ... ever heard of flick shots ... or trailing ur target ?... |
| #32 07:03pm 31/05/01 |
f***pot
^hir0, your smart arse "I am superior because I play q3" response is pretty typical of your average Quake 3 f***wit. |
| #33 08:34pm 31/05/01 |
"Ever heard of flick shots ... or trailing ur target ?..." To the extent of my CS knowledge (and q2 gaming) - flick rails stopped in Quake2 and trace-rails started in quake3. Anyone want to disagree? I am a CS player after all...:P |
| #34 09:37pm 31/05/01 |
cycosis
i disagree deeper if i'm tailing a target i use mg or lg rail is for flick shots my opinion, my strategy (trailing is harder btw) |
| #35 09:59pm 31/05/01 |
i'm living proof that the q3 rail si used for flick rails. oh and f*** pot, hiro's response was f***n legit. |
| #36 10:28pm 31/05/01 |
f***pot
And mine wasn't? |
| #37 10:36pm 31/05/01 |
no |
| #38 10:58pm 31/05/01 |
Sturdy
of course u have to lead the damn rail gun with the crap bpa has been handing out lately your lucky to get a ping lower then 50 till 2 in the morning :( i think freewheelin summed it up pretty well 20 to 30 pretty much spot on i usually aim for the side of shoulder of the direction thier going at that ping when ya hit 50 just next to em and when its 70 shoot the person next to em, somethin like that anyway i try to snipe in cs, but ive got no chance at hitting moving targets it seems so full of bs, at least with quake u got the figures there for yourself and can adjust without some dodgey netcode stuffing things up |
| #39 11:44pm 31/05/01 |
^hir0
rofl ... umm ... u dont sometimes trail with rail ?... its f***ing fun as ... if u like have scratch ur nuts or something and u got ur hand off the keyboard u just follow em around for a bit and then BAM!... fragbait ... haha ... oh s*** stirring is SOOOOOooo much fun ... |
| #40 01:45am 01/06/01 |
ÅcîdReîgn
I often quake while holding my nutz. anyhow, yeh there is a delay .. yeah q3 is more about trailing shots than flicks (due to the no air movement factor). the 1.27 brought the delay down a fair bit and made flick shots alot more potent, but its still not the quake2 instant feel. Every decent quake2 player must have felt the difference when moving over .. except for trog, but he's gay. |
| #41 02:10am 01/06/01 |
Axis, I believe I speak for everyone when I say SHUT THE f*** UP. FFS how many of us are sick of your q3 vs cs type of posts. f*** OFF NOW PLEASE. You are a parasitic worm whom I'd wish would f*** OFF. If you love CS so much why don't you go to Minh "I'm-a-raving-poof" Le's house and show him your love. God damn if its one person I would want to punch in my lifetime its you. Get a life Axis, not even I, Hunter crap on as much as you probably do. Even I know my limits. |
| #42 03:30am 01/06/01 |
who the f*** rails people when they're travelling perpendicular anyway? The delay f***s you, your aims f***s you, and you ping also f***s you. You wait till your on a more acute angle, so the persons movement isnt as radical compared to your position. Example: hard way Bad guy moving: ------------> you are looking: ^^^^^^^ good way Bad guy moving: \\\\ you are looking:^^^^ So, as you can see from my uber diagrams....Axis is a s***kunt. |
| #43 10:07am 01/06/01 |
Scythe1o1
The rail delay was the first thing I noticed when I started playing Q3, but you get used to it pretty quick. Oh, and sif you'd zoom in Quake fork^. |
| #44 10:41am 01/06/01 |
If it moves then i rail it... even shot weapons before :) Once upon a time, when q2 was(still is) the l337 g4me of the year/s and so many people played it, and team work was visable(not like todays CS servers). The railgun was my weapon. I still have demos for q2, that show the BS I did(mostly flick shots) and the crap someone can pull on a p1-200 :D. I WASNT the best, but i tried alot to be like them. Caulfied(deeper) was one that I leanrt tricks and jumps off, via the PCPP cd demos. but from day 1 I was a rail god. Ask anarot(my room mate :) the only thing was, i put quake2, before school, which you ALL SHOULD NEVER DO!!!! NEVER PUT A GAME IN FRONT OF YOUR SCHOOL WORK. I have an op of 25, and 23 to prove it. anyway I cant snipe anymore, so s*** on this p1-200 in cs :( and it isnt worth putting q3a on this. |
| #45 06:15pm 01/06/01 |
^rza
noone gets an op 25 cause of a game, stop looking for s*** to blame and accept responsiblility for your actions. |
| #46 06:35pm 01/06/01 |
log
f*** quake 3 and cs and quake2(who played that apart from ctf ?) quake 1 and doom 2 is where its at - none of these s*** slow newbie friendly clown coloured engines |
| #47 08:47am 02/06/01 |
^hir0
rofl ... 25 ... ROFL!... how the f*** did u manage that dude ... u have to TRY to be f***ing dumb to do that ... |
| #48 01:32pm 02/06/01 |
| #48 |