Sweet, very sweet. FSAA does wonders for all your current games. Strex have you got your yet, they were delivering them today. If you have probs FSAA in CS change the 'buffer flipping mode' in Open gl options to 'block transfer' The driver version 12.00 is a bit flakey with CS for soem reason, all other games can be run as normal. Quincunc rules! |
| #0 12:58am 29/05/01 |
Mothug
Lucky sons'o'bitches ... my GTS will have to do until tax return and tehn i can have Quincux as well :) My GTS gets quite a hit with FSAA 4x4 on 1024x768 in CS about 60-80 fps... and when smoke grens fly about it goes nuts... So yeah, need Geforce 3 ! |
| #1 01:09am 29/05/01 |
Sgt.StreX
Unfortunately, I have had to delay the purchase of my GeForce3 due to the expenses raised from moving out. Although, I should be getting my GF3 next month sometime, and then the ÜBERPC will be completed. So Psycho!, are you finding the card heaps better than your GF2 Ultra? What OS are you running BTW? |
| #2 01:15am 29/05/01 |
KaKaroT
and how much are rich bitches sellin your previous kickass video cards for? |
| #3 01:43am 29/05/01 |
f***... and here i am thinking of upgrading my tnt 1 16meg... to a geforce2 mx... i will be soooo uber then.... |
| #4 07:14am 29/05/01 |
Psycho! is a skanky ho! |
| #5 09:04am 29/05/01 |
i already have psycho's old card comin my way |
| #6 09:05am 29/05/01 |
Skurj
The official terminology for Psycho's behaviour is "hardware slut" :) |
| #7 07:03pm 29/05/01 |
it sure is damn your gf3 system of lurb |
| #8 07:11pm 29/05/01 |
E z e k i e l
I got me an ASUS v8300 yesterday mmm.... the heatsink is farking huge, bright yellow mmmmmmmm........... 64meg DDR RAM mmmm..... *wipes drool from mouth* ne1 want my Ultra?? |
| #9 07:12pm 29/05/01 |
Scythe1o1
/me wants your Ultra! /me remembers he has no money. |
| #10 07:21pm 29/05/01 |
E z e k i e l
sorry ppl, no ultra :( i have to give it back to the guy who got mw my PC, coz i payed for the GF3 in the package, not the ultra, so its not mine, i just had it temporary |
| #11 07:37pm 29/05/01 |
I had a Herc GTS2 64 meg jobbie. (Might be able to get that to you tomorrow Wart..Ill ring you) Anyway the GF3 is defineately faster than my old card. Basically the BIG thing initially is everything looks better, especially upping the Digital Vibrance in the options panel. The colour and saturations look great. The FSAA really does make games look really cool..the screenshots on the net dont do it justice. In motion it has to be seen to appreciated. STrex youre going to love what it does to CS...looks like a new game altogether. So, immediately ALL your current games beneift from the FSAA. Nivida have gone for image quality with this card and the ability for it to chew though anything you chuck at it. When games directly programmed to utilise all its features arrive...well we are going to have to have our dribble bibs on for sure. :P |
| #12 08:28pm 29/05/01 |
i have a question vsync should be off right? |
| #13 09:35pm 29/05/01 |
creepingdeath
yes wart |
| #14 09:44pm 29/05/01 |
rubber_band
I reckon it looks better with V-Sync on (as long as ur PC is fast enough). |
| #15 10:31pm 29/05/01 |
rubber_band
What do you get in 3DMark200 Psycho! ? |
| #16 10:43pm 29/05/01 |
rubber_band
2000 that is of course |
| #17 10:43pm 29/05/01 |
i got score of 463 i am uber |
| #18 10:49pm 29/05/01 |
Havent got 3d2000 but I think I might go grab it. Is it better or what..? I thought 3d 2001 was the most intensive. Isnt it wierd that ME and Win2k have drivers (although extremely s*** ones) for a GF3 card..like ow long have those OS's been out? Psy |
| #19 11:02pm 29/05/01 |
I woulda thought it would have just picked it up as a normal geforce architecture based card or something. |
| #20 12:33am 30/05/01 |
rubber_band
Yeah, 2001 is more intensive, but im more familiar with 2000 scores :) |
| #21 12:37am 30/05/01 |
3dmark 2000 (1024x768x16) 5600 3dmark 2000 (1024x768x32) 4466 3dmark 2001 (1024x768x32) 4800 what does it all mean? :P as for the drivers well I dunno what it did initially but the first score sucked bad..3039 or something. when I re-installed them it jumped up a fair bit . I see people on the comparison site with bigger cpu's nearly pulling 7000! So the card defineately likes the grunt...Strex's machine will produce a bloody good score i reckon. |
| #22 12:41am 30/05/01 |
ME sux, take it off your system and go back to Win 98 SE, you will notice a FPS increase just by doing that. |
| #23 01:26am 30/05/01 |
rubber_band
Wholey s***, your 2001 score is higher than your 2000 score :/ |
| #24 02:12am 30/05/01 |
Primal Fear
Hmm 3dmark aint all that great for real word gamming stats, s*** fireup quake 3 with the crusha demo or something like that then tell us what avrage fps u get :) |
| #25 02:50am 30/05/01 |
yeah do a timedemo |
| #26 10:30am 30/05/01 |
I reckon it looks better with V-Sync on (as long as ur PC is fast enough).I woulda said if your monitor is fast enough, personally. |
| #27 11:42am 30/05/01 |
meh i turned it off any way |
| #28 11:50am 30/05/01 |
sKryBe
Holy crap batman! That 3dmark 2k score is awful. I got 6495 with an 800@864 and a GTS at 1024x768x16bit ( My result ). Something seems really wrong there... The 3dmark 2001 score rocks though. I get a lame 2753 ( My Result ). Out of curiosity what drivers are you using? 12.40s? BTW, WinME really blows when it installs GeForce drivers. IIRC it even installs drivers without any openGL so if you go with the default WinME drivers Quake3 won't run (or any other OpenGL game for that matter). |
| #29 11:52am 30/05/01 |
3dmark is obviously the stupidest thing to use for benchmarking, ever. What do you get in demo demo127 with default settings in Quake 3? |
| #30 11:55am 30/05/01 |
Primal Fear
| #31 12:07pm 30/05/01 |
sKryBe
Better yet, try a couple different benches using that demo, default, high and do a custom one at say 1280x1024 with all the crap turned to the max. |
| #32 06:04pm 30/05/01 |
For some reason Q3 wont let me run a timedemo timedemo 1 demo demo127 thats right isnt it? Im using the v 12.00 drivers that came with the card, there all supposed to be betas anyway. I can visually tell that even with Quincun anti aliasing on it is very fast. Team Arena never looked so good or ran so smoothly. I wne to to the Madoinio comparison sight and the figures are in the ballpark with other similarly speced machines..but dont those figures climb when you feed the card some more cpu. One guy who was running a p4 1.7 @ 2ghz had a 3d2001 score of nearly 7k. |
| #33 06:57pm 30/05/01 |
WHOA deja vu i swear i have heard that before :P |
| #34 07:02pm 30/05/01 |
ok, when i get tax return, gf3,a nd amd 1.3 :D muwhahahah better than this p1-200, voodoo2 12mb sli. and is that on board RAID anygood? talking about he k7a-raid. |
| #35 07:13pm 30/05/01 |
log
The reason for the s***ness of performance in win2k @ least , dunno about winme is the fact that windows put a s***load of peripherals on irq 11 as part of its ACPI policy. Have a look , it sucks arse |
| #36 07:21pm 30/05/01 |
Hehehe I am a dumb f**k. Those figures I posted for 3Dmark 2000 were way wrong I had the Quincun FSAA turned on..derh. I just ran it again Skrybe and the 1024x768x16 using triple buffer (default test) came back as 7400...sound better? Like I said I am no 'testing guru' |
| #37 07:21pm 30/05/01 |
So is FSAA something you would always use? How much speed does it sacrifice to do the FSAA? Like is it a novelty that looks nice that you'd turn off within a few days to get more speed or something seriously worth getting the card for? |
| #38 07:32pm 30/05/01 |
No FSAA is actually one of the reasons I got the card, it makes a big difference in the quality of the game. I have been playing Q3TA at 1024, maxed out with the Quincun turned on and it is as smooth as silk, yet it looks like 1600x1200. Even CS running at 1280x960 with Quincucn (which is almost the same as 4xFSAA without the performance hit)..I was running round on the server lasy night and it never dropped below 70fps..maily sat arround the 80-90 mark and it looks like your watching a television movie. I run Q3 with 4xFSAA on and it is still bloody fast, only have to set your textures to normal. Believe me at 4x it looks very nice but the Quincun setting is the best option for both speed and visuals. Crimson skies is uber and I am about to go crank up Need For Speed:Porsche. As a few review sites have posted with the FSAA, it looks so good you run at a slightly lower res for the silky smoothness in speed but it 'looks' like 1600x1200 anyway. I very nearly bought a 3dfx card when they were pushing the FSAA marketing tool but I already had my GTS2...so I waited for this. The fact that it will be able to also do all the other groovey vertex shader a pixel stuff later is just the icing on the cake. Trust me on this one...with a high end cpu you wont be turning off FSAA for speed you will have a happy medium of both. Picture quality that moves round very fast. :P |
| #39 07:54pm 30/05/01 |
Well, I'm pretty much sold and am gonna pick one up tomorrow :) One last question, what CPU are you running with it? |
| #40 10:00pm 30/05/01 |
on a P3/1ghz cpu with 128 meg of Rdram. I notice on the comparison sights more ram is good..hmmm.. if you have a faster cpu it will be even more uber. |
| #41 10:11pm 30/05/01 |
Well, I just picked myself up an Asus GF3 from Computer Alliance. Its currently sitting in my car waiting for me to finish work so I can take it home and experience the lovin. I've only got a Duron 800 atm (funds didn't stretch to get the 1.3 ghz Tbird I wanted), but I got 384mb of ram and a lead pencil, so I'm thinking I might try my luck at o'clocking the duron :) Anyway, should be uuuuuber sweet. |
| #42 03:49pm 31/05/01 |
GO THE LEAD PENCIL |
| #43 03:53pm 31/05/01 |
sLinKy
I'll swap you 128MB of RAM for the lead pencil :P ~~rubber_band (in disguise) |
| #44 04:11pm 31/05/01 |
E z e k i e l
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA 3D Mark 2001: 1280x1024 32bit colour---6338!!!! YAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH W00T! |
| #45 05:25pm 31/05/01 |
3d mark 2001: 1024x768 16 bit colour on voodoo2 12mb sli setup==== 958 AHAHAAAHAHAH my p1-200 0wnz... isnt the lower the number the better ;) me get gf3 and amd 1.3 in tax return :D 2000-3000 back :D |
| #46 05:35pm 31/05/01 |
E z e k i e l
i got uumm..... 11000 in 3D Mark2000, in 1024x768 16 bit colour, ASUS GF3 (gold plated heatsink mmm.......) Athlon Tbird 1gig@1.1gig w00t 384meg Pc133 Ram |
| #47 05:36pm 31/05/01 |
sKryBe
Sweet! Those non FSAA look much better in 3dMark 2k. Good luck with the pencil too Khel. I tried 1/2 a dozen different pencils and conductive paint and my TBird still wouldn't let me overclock :( |
| #48 06:19pm 31/05/01 |
Ah, well, if it doesn't overclock, its Tbird 1.3ghz for me next week. |
| #49 06:47pm 31/05/01 |
Your going to have fun Khel. :) |
| #50 07:17pm 31/05/01 |
doods what is 3D Mark2000 and 3D Mark2001? for i am a newbie with all this screwed up talk..? eh what would a trident blade 8 meg score on that :p |
| #51 08:15pm 31/05/01 |
Its a video card and general system benchmarking utility. Basically a series of high polygon test with various parameters (resolutions, texture settings, colour depths and light sourcing) inbuilt to really strees your card and your box out. Go to here for more info and to get the files. If you have an 8 meg 'blade' card then I think , depending on your system specs it would be hard to say how it would go but you can run it and see how you went compared to other similarly speced machines. |
| #52 08:37pm 31/05/01 |
Ok... all I've got to say is "Wow", because I dont think there is yet a word in the english language to properly describe a GF3. Believe the hype, cos I gotta say, so far that it is that damn good. I've been running timedemos in Q3A on highest detail at 1024x768 scoring 125fps and the thing isn't even cracking a sweat. My CPU is a serious bottleneck at the moment, so I can't wait to stick in the Tbird next week and really let it rip :) As Psycho was saying also, the FSAA is pretty damn awesome. And while it takes a speed hit, the card has so much grunt, that it doesn't even matter. I stuck Quincunx FSAA on, run a Q3A timedemo in 1024x768, highest detail, and still got about 60fps. What really made me sit up and pay attention though was 3dmark2001. Not so much the score, cos I was already expecting a good score, but there are a few tests in there which (I'm assuming) are Ge-Force 3 specific. They've never run before on any other card I've had, and I've never seen them run before, and my god are they awesome. Particularly the Nature demo. It look so real and so damn gorgeous that it brought a tear to my eye, heh :) Anyway, yeah, if its within your budget, go for it. Awesome stuff. |
| #53 11:02am 01/06/01 |
Shot_guN
f*** being a poor uni student, it sucks sooooo much. All of you who have the GF3, you lucky bastards, i am going to have to take a look at the QGL, what do yas look like, so i can scum a peek of the awesome GF3's pawer of yas. |
| #54 11:31am 01/06/01 |
Khel if you have Need for Speed:Porsche. Slap on some 4x FSAA and go for a drive through the Alps map.Damned if it dont look real, the snow and mist an all. I have found that even just using 2X FSAA games look fantastic. The advantage is that I have read that Quincunc can very slightly blur some textures, slap on some 2x and its just as impressive and no blurring. I put Q3 TA up to 1280x1024 with 2x on and well it ran so smooth. I cant do a demo as I am still using the 1.27g patch and well I dont think my SB live liked the 1,27h, but visually at that res I reckon it easily doing 60-70fps. Where is that point release to Mr IDsoftware? When you get that Tbird your going to push some serious poly's! |
| #55 12:35pm 01/06/01 |
Prod
I have P4 1.3 and 128mb rd ram will geforece me good on mine?????????? |
| #56 12:47pm 01/06/01 |
EXoDuS
Prod you cant speak english. I got Dual P4 Foster 1.7's and ram cartridge with 1gb of ram and a 19" LCD Sony Flat :P p.s im coming to qgl lan. |
| #57 01:00pm 01/06/01 |
i'm gonna flog it hehehehe j/k nice machine come find me and show me |
| #58 01:14pm 01/06/01 |
Exodus: work machine? server? or do you just have far far too much money? :) |
| #59 01:19pm 01/06/01 |
captain obvious
You are all gay, Having so much money. Give me and my friend ToolkiT some. I have the most s*** computer in the world and I love it. You will know me when you see me on the weekend. Look for the guy with exposed circuit boards and motors hanging from his burner. HAHAHHAHHAAHHAHAHAHHAH. [and hair a meter tall] |
| #60 02:34pm 01/06/01 |
Silent Remorse
I just upgraded my TNT m64 (BLEH!!) to a Geforce 2 MX 64mb - fark theres a difference. DoD went from 14fps to 60fps (without tweaking) CS went from 30fps to 79fps (without tweaking). Now..can someone tell me HOW TO TWEAK THE DAMN THING FOR BETTER PERFORMANCE! :P - sR |
| #61 02:46pm 01/06/01 |
captain obvious
what brand card have you got? If you've got an Asus, just go into the card's control panel and turn off all the anti-aliasing stuff- not much chance in visual quality when you're running above 1024X768, and it speeds up quite a lot. Same applies with a hercules. You'll need to install a separate program you get on cd to do it with this one though. if you've got a winfast, you should have got a program called winfox. It's got advanced settings, overclocking features etc. Hope this is of some help :) |
| #62 02:53pm 01/06/01 |
JaC
amd chips are easy to unlock... all you need is a 4H or greater pencil, but you gotta get it right, its fiddly and you gotta be careful you're only reconnecting the right things, and that the line isn't so thick it shorts the L1 bridges... i got my duron 800 unlocked and running at 1020 at 1.85 volts.....you can have a look if you want khel... my hardware guy karma has his gf3, and he will be there tomorrow.......with his tbird 1.5gig...... í feel so inadequate......with my mx and all :( |
| #63 09:28pm 01/06/01 |
sKryBe
I wish I could agree with you about unlocking AMD chips :( I tried a number of different pencils (and interestingly enough I found the trusty old HB had the best conductivity when I tested them with a multimeter) and it didn't work. I even used a magnifying glass to make sure I was only drawing in the right four bridges and not overlapping them. When that failed I tried using conductive paint - and that didn't work either. |
| #64 05:12pm 02/06/01 |
| #64 |