Ok simple thread inspired by the CS rant about old school, which made me wonder how many over 25's still participate in online gaming?
I'm 30+ and remember when multiplayer meant null modem cables between 2 atari ST's or Amiga's. Have fond memories of the excitment of playing Doom on the lan at work for the first time. Being truly amazed at the S3trio3d playing Decent or terminal velocity. Absolutley engrossed at the Diablo multiplayer lans we had that ran all night. Lossing a life playing Q2. and the list goes on. All my mates from my TRS80 days are still all computer geeks and we still all lan together, some (I hate to admit it) 20 years on. |
| #0 11:03am 29/01/03 |
I'm 28 and online games bore me now.
I love LANing but the online thing ain't as good as it used to be a couple of years ago. Bring back the AQ2 days. |
| #1 11:04am 29/01/03 |
Spidz*
I'd consider myself oldschool, but I'm only 21.
but I have been lanning/playing online games for about 7 years. |
| #2 11:15am 29/01/03 |
I'm only 23, but I did all that stuff, except the quake 2 bit, I somehow skiped that playing other games. I know I've been playing games since I was 5, my mum reckons I started as young as 2, but I rekon not. So that is about 18 years of gaming for a 23 year old.. not bad :D |
| #3 11:22am 29/01/03 |
I started gaming back in about 1982.
WOOT! But I'm an old bastard. |
| #4 11:26am 29/01/03 |
The part that I have liked the most is when myself and 2 other mates linked our computers together. It took us a little while to setup the network and get it to find other players (our very first time with a network, and no documentation). We played Doom for about 10 hours non stop.. it was by far the most fun long weekend, as there was much, much, much more Doom played :D
That probably seems like the most fun moment because I had nothing else to compare it too. It was all a new experience and nothing tainted it. Now-a-days I've played soo many online/multiplayer games that I have heaps and heaps of memories to compare my experiences with so it sort of dampens out the experiance because I've done it before. This is why I think people always think the 'Old School' days where better, not only in gaming but anything. You can usually always find someone who has been around in something for a while, and he will most likly say the old-skool days where the best.. |
| #5 11:33am 29/01/03 |
This is why I think people always think the 'Old School' days where better, not only in gaming but anything. You can usually always find someone who has been around in something for a while, and he will most likly say the old-skool days where the best.. Some truth in the excitement factor due to all the gaming done. But I think it is mainly associated with the company that you keep, my little group of 8 always have a hoot when we can manage a lanage. Just 2 weeks ago we played BF1942 with much laughter at the antics taking place, Colin McRae 2 is always a laugh for 30mins. UT2003 also rocked, but the good ole SOF2 was the most enjoyable. All due to the company in which it was played. Online experiences are becoming far and few enjoyable due to the alianation effect the internet has, and the age and *cough*maturity*cough* factor. However those moments when you hook up with like minded peoples on a server are gold. |
| #6 11:41am 29/01/03 |
I'm 25
| #7 11:46am 29/01/03 |
Eu4ia
I still remember getting my Atari and being so impressed with the kickass graphics of River-Raid!
And when Wolfenstein came out - damn, that was good fun... the huge satisfaction in getting my hands on that three-barrelled machine gun... phoar! I guess I started gaming in '83, so that's 20 years! Grief! But I disagree with that thinking of "gee, the old days were great". Screw that. CS rocks (when the cheating wankers are absent), BF has huge potential once it matures a bit and we find a way to ban the cheating, plane-stealing d*******s. And boy-oh-boy, I'm looking forward to splinter cell... not for multi-playing though (I wouldn't think). And I do thinkg it's time for a new version of "bullet time" to come out - good ol Payne. A nice hack of sorts was to run the Matrix lobby map, then load a normal saved game. Hey presto - infinite slow-mo... although after two hours of hearing that damn heartbeat you start to go insane. hehehehe And of course, let's not forget.... roll on doom3!! |
| #8 11:54am 29/01/03 |
and you are married right trog? with little trogler, and troget?
| #9 11:55am 29/01/03 |
CaPt0
I agree with Toll.
I am 21, but i tend to agree that when i first started playing games was always the best ... i still do enjoy though playing games with friends that i don't lan with often. |
| #10 11:57am 29/01/03 |
I agree with having to have company that you enjoy. To me that is the differnce between enjoying the odd game of CS or /quit . It dosnt seem to matter with Tekken though, I'll play that with anyone, anytime.. maybe that is because the people that are willing to play it are like minded to begin with :/
| #11 11:57am 29/01/03 |
Im only pushing 20 but Ive completely lost interest in online gaming.
LANs are ok, but only if its a permenant one set up in your house, Im passed the point of hauling my system around to other locations. Glory Days? - Doom II (WOW! THE OTHER GUY IS MOVING! HE MOVES WHEN YOU PRESS BUTTONS!) - AQ2 (knife fight! knife fight!) - Quake 2 matches against my older brother - Early Counterstrike days (omg! lets play militia again!) |
| #12 12:04pm 29/01/03 |
24 here
| #13 12:09pm 29/01/03 |
Just to clarify I picked 25 cause most would have been 12-13 around the big boom of SNES and SEGA MegaDrive days and progressed though the PC formula.
Those CS kiddies are at the same point you where when you enjoyed Mario and Sonic (not to mention those older kiddies as well :) ) the only difference is the online factor. |
| #14 12:15pm 29/01/03 |
I am 22 year old..
| #15 12:16pm 29/01/03 |
sKryBe
I'm another old schooler I guess. I remember the same things as Gumby and Toll. I reckon Toll hit the nail on the head too. The first lan games of Doom, Need For Speed 1, Warcraft, Dark Reign, Command & Conquer etc were great. It took ages to get the networks running properly (first with null modem and later with a proper HUB!) but once they were running it gave us such a feeling of accomplishment. That was nearly as good as playing the game.
But it was the fact that it was close friends, just a few really good friends spending time together - often getting drunk and laughing our arses off while we played. There were no cheats, no REALLY l337 players, just a bunch of friends. It's pretty rare that I get that feeling these days playing online, or even at QGL. In both cases it's possible to recognise names but for the most part the people are still faceless entities. The closest I've got to that old feeling is playing Serious Sam 2 coop at a friends place with four or five of us. And maybe a little when the voice comms in CS took off. Cos at least then there were voices to go with names. It adds that little bit more personal touch to the game. edit: Oh yeah, and I'm 31 :( |
| #16 12:18pm 29/01/03 |
Merlyn
I am almost 31 and i still enjoy playing Ultima Online and a little bit of CS.
Ahh, i remember the C64/Amiga days, some of the best gaming times i ever had. |
| #17 01:11pm 29/01/03 |
i am still around, age 32 :(
| #18 01:23pm 29/01/03 |
Erik-the-Red
20 here, but i got my first computer when i was about 7-8, and before that i was always pestering my friend with a c64, so i started kinda early.
i remember good old commander keen, F-19, overkill, all running in 4 colour goodness :D |
| #19 01:56pm 29/01/03 |
im 37 im not old ffs........still play ra3(god knows why)....used to play q1 for3 days straight(ctf powerup maps of course) |
| #20 02:04pm 29/01/03 |
i'm 44, jobless, on the dole, catch a bus everywhere. :(
| #21 02:02pm 29/01/03 |
`I'm 27 u young whipper-snappers!! Now wheres my viagra ? |
| #22 02:06pm 29/01/03 |
Erik-the-Red
i'm 44, jobless, on the dole, catch a bus everywhere.well, 2 out of those three are true :P |
| #23 02:12pm 29/01/03 |
1 actually.... i am on the dole :D
| #24 02:14pm 29/01/03 |
29 =/
and i agree...playing quake ctf on powerup were the days. =) |
| #25 02:28pm 29/01/03 |
HerbalLizard
21 here
| #26 02:31pm 29/01/03 |
sigh
im 30 this year and not liking it one bit; luckily i dont feel (nor act) 30 but yes, i remember the glory days of q2ctf on powerup (my first online gaming experience, blew me away, still the most gaming fun ive ever had) and then the slightly less glory days of cs for a while before the tards came online gaming was the shiz for me as far as gaming goes, sure i had fun palying single player games back in the day (sierra adventure series, tv sports football, test drive series, etc) but no single player game ever gave me as much fun as a mammoth online q2 session; so fast, soo much skill, such an even playing field (no cablers, yet) i still enjoy bf1942 online, but its hard to get a decent game due to many factors (limited time on my behalf, and there also seems to be an influx of tards, cs style that are determined to ruin mine and everybody elses fun) i dont see myself stoping gaming anytime soon still love lanning still love gaming its all about fun peoples! |
| #27 02:37pm 29/01/03 |
I'm 43 and what Spook said reflects my thoughts asa well.
I must admit the really early days when this Lan thing was getting kicked off by Term at the woodshed at Salisbury and then onto the school at Yeronga, they WERE the days. Lot of fun was had, I think lans should get back to their original concept...a lan 'party'. You know, you have a dozen or so mates over for some fun, games and a few drinks. I sort of lost interest in the huge lans after a while, carting you s*** to and fro.younger and gumbier try hards, the mess,...ect. Still love online play BF1942 and Teamsspeak gets you connected verbally to a few mates and its a bit of fun, BUT when 'RC' clan ruled the powerup Quake CTF servers and later the 'SAS' clan, the Q2 CTF servers,..it was NIRVANA! :) |
| #28 04:09pm 29/01/03 |
amdkfa
im 18 but i started playing atari when i was 2, then i moved to master system then snes :P
| #29 04:18pm 29/01/03 |
Psycho, SA only ruled the powerup q2ctf servers when ZT werent playing *grin*
| #30 04:23pm 29/01/03 |
power
i'm 27...i think the problem with gaming today is everyone does it cos it's popular, you actually needed an imagination and to care about gameplay not the pretty graphics (which i thought looked awesome at the time) i still remember printing pictures and squinting to make them look clear, my first multiplayer experience was one of those b&w tennis games that scarred many a b&w tv...lol
and my amiga i think was the pinnacle of gaming, doing donuts and watching the smoke in nfs1 on a 486dx2 that blew me away, so did the character animation on prince of persia, ahhh so many memories |
| #31 04:24pm 29/01/03 |
muhahahah Dan when we had Trog on our side we RULED!
hehe :P |
| #32 04:25pm 29/01/03 |
B@ssM@n
I'm 21...
Fond memories: * Playing Commando & Spy V Spy on a C64 * Using null-modem cables to get a 2 player game of Descent/Terminal Velocity happening * Putting on garden gloves (to prevent hand shocking) when connecting coaxial cables between boxes in my garage LANs. Playing Q2/AQ2 rocked with guys like wolfie back then * Picking my jaw off the floor after watching the kick-@rse C&C intro *sigh* :D |
| #33 04:26pm 29/01/03 |
Good times, good times.
There has been constant discussion of an invite only lan back at Yeronga. Would be awesome to have some kind of big q2 reunion, get as many of the old regen attendees to come as possible. WAR, X, wolf, sa, fdk, rc, aot, hf .. even those asha'fags. Im just not sure what games would be played, maybe we could just run some quake and q2 comps or something and people could play anything else they wanted to. |
| #34 04:34pm 29/01/03 |
sKryBe
Anyone remember the first multiplayer games like? I remember playing then twenty something years ago. The ones where you could play many game variants with one set of hardware? And it had live voice chat and ultra-realistic graphics (it looked like you were THERE!) Those games used to rock.
Every now and then I actually get together with a few friends and play a bit even these days. Now what was it called again... ah that's right - "Cards". |
| #35 04:38pm 29/01/03 |
'invite only' Regen lan at Yeronga. Now THAT would be a lan worth going to! Might even get Obes to attend.
What the hell is Dethonlegs doing these days anyways? |
| #36 04:46pm 29/01/03 |
eYe_kAnDy
you bunch must be the golden oldies.
| #37 04:58pm 29/01/03 |
I'm 34 in March and have only started to even use a computer in 96. Bought a playstation just before that sold it about a week after I got my first PC
| #38 05:30pm 29/01/03 |
I was using C64/amiga since I was 10 year old, and First PC 386 33mhz was played Stunt within purple modes, doesn't like colour as much!..
| #39 05:50pm 29/01/03 |
A ASSHAT
"sigh " ...at 36 im sick of being the oldest one at lans ...
been playing games since i was 10 or 11......starting on space invaders ,gallarga...and old school itaris playing ping pong ....used to love the old school games like golden axe...castles...lhx....red baron...the sub hunter one... but my fav used to be redneck rampage....what a kik arse game... played tf for 4 or 5 years...bit of cs ....MOH .... battlefield.... its so hard to get the motavation to go to lans these days with all the 12 year old wankers and having good pings at home its hardly worth the effort to pack up all my gear..... i still make it to one or so lans a month but more to catchup with my older mates then to play...plus i have a 3 year old that loves to play and a 10 year old that loves the old games like tfc to keep the next generation going... hehehe 2nd generation gamers.. |
| #40 05:53pm 29/01/03 |
I've been gaming ever since I can remember. W00t world-class leaderboard and Shinobi on the Amstrad 286. And who could forget Cartooners. First multiplayer game I ever had was one of the dooms or descent. Played it over a modem with a guy around the corner, it roxored man.
I'm only 16 though. |
| #41 06:03pm 29/01/03 |
plok
There has been constant discussion of an invite only lan back at Yeronga.It really is hard being this loved. |
| #42 06:08pm 29/01/03 |
vic
Ahhh I have stumbled upon an old school thread. Cool.
Regen days ... much tran and slaw. I myself decided to take a break from games and only return for Team Fortress 2. Maybe I picked the wrong game cause that was y e a r s a g o. :P |
| #43 06:29pm 29/01/03 |
nG!
| #44 06:41pm 29/01/03 |
Yet, what of Tran?
| #45 06:42pm 29/01/03 |
b2
asha
4 eva |
| #46 06:43pm 29/01/03 |
i've only been around games\computer for about 3 years.!!!
| #47 06:47pm 29/01/03 |
| #48 07:10pm 29/01/03 |
power
trog get's owned, what a gem rofl
| #49 07:12pm 29/01/03 |
thrax
read that console, I was intears of laugther!
| #50 07:16pm 29/01/03 |
f*** deathmatch 1 is lame
| #51 07:25pm 29/01/03 |
cry more newb
damn, that screenie has given me a hankerin for some dm3i98 |
| #52 07:32pm 29/01/03 |
b2
check out my mad ping!
| #53 07:36pm 29/01/03 |
interp hacker
| #54 07:41pm 29/01/03 |
| #55 08:38pm 29/01/03 |
most of you guys remember mantras quest for the indro state school, i may take that on actually and see how much tsi going to cost.
| #56 09:13pm 29/01/03 |
Manshoon
Well Im 26 and have been gaming since the Atari days. Never had a C64 had a friend with one. Earliest LAN's (living in a small country town it was hard) were null modem games of Nascar and games using a BNC connection and playing Doom and Doom 2.
Didnt get into online gaming much until about 3 or 4 years ago.....and egven now LAN games are better......maybe if I had broadband I MIGHT be more interested. |
| #57 09:13pm 29/01/03 |
Sphinx
21 here
| #58 09:13pm 29/01/03 |
| #59 09:19pm 29/01/03 |
Dethon
HI!! :)
Psycho i am still around - i have the same problems with online and LAN gaming as does all us old skoolers so i wont go on about it - Regen Lans and Powerup Quake CTF was where it was at - Q2 rocked too and i had a f***ing fantastic time playing q2ctf and team dm - but it was the beginning of the end - ( sorry Dan) I think Demon has a ruff AoT website and i kept the WAR website - this thread gave me the urge to uppit for all yous oldskooler and newskoolers - i still think its possibly the best clan site eva!!! ;) http://erther.qgl.org/war/ and yes us QLDers beat the mexicans at their own game - QW Team DM - we f***in HATED QW and NEVER played it but we forced ourselves to play it and beat AO on DM2 for the final - we got booed by the crowd when we won cos they r bad sportsmen ( and we didnt play DM3 ;) oh and also nG! respect to all the old quake clans/players -you know who you are- |
| #60 09:21pm 29/01/03 |
Thanks
8-) And Regen was where it's at. The crummy old hall at the primary school. Only bad thing was there were no shops nearby. |
| #61 09:26pm 29/01/03 |
Crunch
haha @ trog cracking the s***s :)
I'm in the same age bracket as power & I still have fond memories of the null-modem amiga action. First lan with the bnc cabling... ah jeez that sucked badly. Remember how it took so long to get the network working because of all the s***ty cable? Then when everything was working someone would trip over it.... |
| #62 10:28pm 29/01/03 |
We should all go back to coax. So much better than what's around these days.
| #63 10:29pm 29/01/03 |
HEY Dethon, good to see you man !
I remember that WAR website. WTF is KUFFS these days? X owned, but not when we played against WAR... ya bastards. I'm 37 and old school rulez. trog cant rail fa s***.... ;) ET E.T.[X] |
| #64 10:34pm 29/01/03 |
stalker
Have fond memories of the excitment of playing Doom on the lan at work for the first time. im only 16 and ive done all of those things first network game was null modem Doom1. Played for hours straight with my bro while listening to Greenday. i think.. anyway i was on my leet 486dx33. He was on his leet 486dx266. Then later on we moved to C&C original w00t. then doom2 wolfenstein leetness i finished it woah! He runs towards the green wall.. COOL (that was.. earth i suppost) as apposed to being inside the castle. lol quake (poorness still running 486) quake at school quake 2 online and so on My most memorable game was at a mates lan. We played like a 2 and a half hour game of quake 3 CTF. it was 8 captures my team won by 1 capture w00t another one which equals up to it was like a 4 hour game of renegade -------------------------- then the power went off just as somebody was gonna shove a nuke up the other bases ass.. :( f*** thats what happens when you have 3 power boards backing onto each other you blow your f***en power supply on the house :D |
| #65 10:49pm 29/01/03 |
Dethon
You too ET!! :D
There was lotsa good clans back then :) X were tuff as! and of course respect to Asha and TLG and of course Regen! :] and many others ive forgotten... Kuffs is doing the IT thing and i believe is on hols in vietnam atm! He has a new love and she is from there. he sounds happy :) as am i these days - working at rockinghorse records in town - running Drum n Bass events and DJing - something i should have done a loonngg time ago - and getting back into producing music again...Ado is trying to get me to make a fragbait2 ;) stay well! |
| #66 10:51pm 29/01/03 |
SakuraWars
20 here.
Been gaming since I was young. REAL young. 4 or 5 I guess. I still remember being the only poor bastard left with an Atari when all my friends had Master Systems and NES'. Then I upgraded to a Genesis. There could be no words, only wow. It was wonderful having those wars near the end of primary school. "SNES is better" "SIF! Genesis is better". Eventually damned SNES won me over with Secret Of Mana :(, although I STILL think a lot of the Genesis RPGs pwned SNES hard... I'd had a PC for ages too, but I didn't get into multiplayer gaming until I discovered the beauty of Descent. Descent multiplayer is one of the finest games on the planet. Then Warcraft 2. Then Duke3d. Then Quake. I somehow managed to skip Q2 like Toll, cept for the few times I played and Zombie's house, when he pwned me. At least until I changed the controls to descent style controls (which I still use now) and carved him good with railgun. Then it hit Starcraft and CS which I still play. But yeah, CS has really lost it's appeal, it's gotta be BF1942 mods from here I guess. I think the industry really needs some uber new developments in gaming, something really innovative to jolt it all again, it's all just getting a little jaded. And more uber LAN events like QGL :D. Oh, and I really liked/still like Heroes 2, 3 and 4 :p. /end long post |
| #67 10:53pm 29/01/03 |
hey Dethon..cheers mate.
Might drop into Rocking horse and say gidday. you rawked. |
| #68 11:00pm 29/01/03 |
Dethon
hey Psycho!
yeh do that mate we all rocked and most of all Quake rocked!! :) |
| #69 11:16pm 29/01/03 |
infiNex
25 yo. q3 all the way. plus simcity rocks (obviously).
| #70 12:09am 30/01/03 |
Kabas
I'm 20, now...
Don't think I've played a game since being 17 though, ya bunch of thook loving blashpemors... nG!!!! I'd go to an old skewl shin dig for the social part more than playing anything :) I think I'll come hunt ya down to defon... |
| #71 01:04am 30/01/03 |
Heh, /steps back.
This thread just got too old skool for me. You were like a 15 year old slapping round dethon at the first regen lan I ever went to dude :) |
| #72 01:19am 30/01/03 |
Kabas
Haha, sounds about right :P I somehow went from computer games to rugby league believe it or not... Probably don't look too similar either, 6"1, 90 kilos with poofter eminem bleached hair...
I'm flipping out hey, just stumbled across this forum and thought compelled to sign up and write a quick reply :) I so wanna see all the old dudes again and see what everyones turned out like... * WAR Tutsi skull cleaved all * |
| #73 01:31am 30/01/03 |
nG! kabas!! :) good to see the old quakers are still handy, just in case this olskool lan ever happens! we can play quakectf till my eyes bleed!@#!@$#!@ :] NO! REALLY WE CAN!@#!
Still see any of the other hellfishies? apart from Obes of course, sif he counts! ;D |
| #74 01:15pm 30/01/03 |
KABAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS
| #75 01:27pm 30/01/03 |
Spidz*
well jim certainly takes the win on AGN #, although Kabas is old school and that goes to show to gobo and those wankers that your agn# doesn't make you cool ;)
| #76 01:48pm 30/01/03 |
I think you'll find that Nathan has the lowest AGN#, he's #1 ! :)
| #77 02:48pm 30/01/03 |
Gobo
I'm as old as term, but not as ravaged by time as he is.
and yes us QLDers beat the mexicans at their own game - QW Team DM - we f***in HATED QW and NEVER played it but we forced ourselves to play it and beat AO on DM2 for the final - we got booed by the crowd when we won cos they r bad sportsmen ( and we didnt play DM3 ;) Was that Gibcon? I thought it was Death32a/b/c one of them that that went down on. I remember standing there behind some fag (coulda been trog, dunno), thinking "holy s***, these guys actually communicate with each other". Which was almost as much of a shock as the fact that they knew the entire layout of the map :| All I know is that trog has been LIVING, yes LIVING off that victory for half a decade. I think a big factor to the way online gaming is now in the toilet is that most of the people playing back then already had lives; they had girlfriends, jobs etc and could view gaming in perspective. It didn't consume their entire existence, which is what seems to occur with some people nowadays. The younger people (normally exceptions to the rule given the expense of hardware and internet) playing were usually cainers who didn't feel the need to be s***heads. Maybe it was because people placed a lot more emphasis on netiquette, and clueless behaviour was punished a lot more. It was totally a different culture, and a lot closer to how people treat themselves in real life. Seriously, if you're a 15 year old guy and your world revolves around sitting on a pc, that's not conducive to growing up mentally correct. Tell me I'm wrong. If the bulk of your social discourse is conducted via irc and msn/icq etc and online games, it's not f***ing healthy (see: Hunter, amongst others). ...and on that topic, spidz, you're exactly the kind of mutant lamer that makes people look fondly back to a time when people like you weren't around. I've never said jack sheeeit about agn ids. Most people who know what they're talking about have played a long time before Ausgamers even existed, idiot. |
| #78 03:01pm 30/01/03 |
Spidz*
I've never said jack sheeeit about agn idsactually, thats not entirely true. not so far back you were gibbering on about your old school heroics when taco shot you down, you responded with more senseless banter when I added my 2c, your response was a post at least 10 line long about AGN # vs post count and how having a low AGN # was old school. it was at this point that I realised that you weren't just a funny guy enjoying some friendly banter on a forum but a worthless tard wasting my valuable bandwidth. ...and on that topic, spidz, you're exactly the kind of mutant lamer that makes people look fondly back to a time when people like you weren't around.i've been around alot longer than you think, i just generally choose not to brag about it, as unlike others I don't find it to be a particularly self-evaluating factor. get a life. |
| #79 03:40pm 30/01/03 |
tref
*DING DING* FIGHT!
I ave 3 accounts, user ID number 66, 210 and some other absurdly high numbered one. Number 66 is for sale if any of you QGL/AUSGAMERS groupies wanna buy it. It's priced for a quick sale: $50 000. |
| #80 03:44pm 30/01/03 |
| #81 03:54pm 30/01/03 |
shutup about ids
Anyone know what happened to Frog? I haven't seen / heard from him in fricking ages. Last I heard he was off in some crazy country...? |
| #82 03:58pm 30/01/03 |
yeh didn't he go off to some Asian country on some cool coding contract or whatever?
One guy I would like to see again was UG, remember him on the Powerup Quake ctf servers?...man was he awesome. |
| #83 04:07pm 30/01/03 |
On the powerup server issue, did any1 here play on the old bpa cs server around 2 years ago? There where some pretty good players and ppl on that server, not to may tards either.
| #84 04:16pm 30/01/03 |
gobo is olskewl, agn id's mean nuthn. gobo was posting his crap on golsyd n quake-au wayyy before there was even a QGL let alone an ausgamers. I know, coz i 0wned him :)
AFAIK ... frog is in america (yup, crazy country!) working for that 2005 crew. I haven't heard from him since q3a dissappointed us all. (/me puts the boot in :) Psycho! ... I went to a LAN about a year ago at Buba's place & UG was there!!! Cunningly calling himslef 'Lew Ser' we had some awwwwweesome quakectf games on the id map rotation (screenies to be posted when I get home & find them! :) with jim, carol, obes, galandro, buba, longdong & myself. hehe, longdong still plays fps with a trackball joystick ... SO FREAKY I TELLS YA! :D |
| #85 04:26pm 30/01/03 |
Demon, cool. You still hang round that fag Obes hey? Oh well. :) I'm with you, Quake CTF till our eyes bleed!
Gumby..yeh I was on their during that time, SA, Soul Assassins had a CS server as well running. Gys like Mass, Skurj , Nats ect...Cs was fine up till about 3.2 then she went to the dogs. Actually now that I think about it, it was great up until too many people found out about it and the 'tard' factor entered. |
| #86 04:33pm 30/01/03 |
Gobo
actually, thats not entirely true. not so far back you were gibbering on about your old school heroics when taco shot you down, you responded with more senseless banter when I added my 2c, your response was a post at least 10 line long about AGN # vs post count and how having a low AGN # was old school. I'm putting your inability to comprehend english as stupidity, not malice. I remember tongue in cheek saying something about dividing posts by agn ids, I didn't realise that it was festering away in your mind for so long. was at this point that I realised that you weren't just a funny guy enjoying some friendly banter on a forum but a worthless tard wasting my valuable bandwidth. Hey, I recall you owning yourself about being allowed to be racist because you have part asian blood or something and thinking "dumbc***", but I don't see how that equates to anything either. i've been around alot longer than you think, i just generally choose not to brag about it, as unlike others I don't find it to be a particularly self-evaluating factor. methinks the noob protests too much. I'm sure you were hanging a slash with romero when he was planning doom, like the legion of other instant "old schoolers" out there that nobody heard of a year ago. Note how it's only ever people like you who feel the need to "prove" how long they have been around? get a life. I'm not the one trying to create some instant background for myself, lol. That speaks volumes for your "personality". The very fact that you're still feeling the need to bitch about it tells me just how much of a noob you are, how it rankles you so much that despite yourself, you get so worked up - classic behaviour. The honest truth? I picked you for a newbie because you would post stuff without using your brain, which is the endearing trait of you and your kin. You could have an agn id of #1.5 for all I care, could religiously dust off carmacks ferrari collection with your dad's g-string, and while you continue to have a cry when you owned, people like me will be there to laugh at you. Tissue? PS: dem0n, need I remind you that you're playing QW now bwahahahahahaha. I WIN. |
| #87 04:35pm 30/01/03 |
BAM!
| #88 04:40pm 30/01/03 |
Kabas
Sarp Trogladyte ?!
Yer Gobo is right. That was the semifinal where we played AO on DM2. The final was against one of Tim's teams on death32a. dem0n: I work with Hydra, and Muff is over my place right now so yeah still see em. Went and visited dirty old Obes a coupla months ago cuz he works near me (I'm still a dirty Zillmere boy). I'm keen to catch up with everyone hey. Wouldn't be a prob getting the hF boys along... Someone just drop me an email about it and I'll be there. |
| #89 06:58pm 30/01/03 |
gobo : lies! LIES! :]
http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/quake06.jpg http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/quake13.jpg & while I was browsing my old quake pix dir ... who can forget this lil bewdy! http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/REDFLAG.JPG i wanna capture the flag now :[ [EDIT] sweet kabas! :] |
| #90 07:01pm 30/01/03 |
Spidz*
methinks the noob protests too much. /me points at post #87 - irony? |
| #91 07:30pm 30/01/03 |
spidz, you're the noob in this particular equation, deal.
| #92 07:35pm 30/01/03 |
Spidz*
the fact that people call people 'noob' and think its downgrades them in some way speaks wonders for their value systems...
| #93 07:57pm 30/01/03 |
What are you trying to proove, I could have used any number of words.
Noob was simply the most appropriate. You've been trying to challenge your experience with someone much more recognised in the australian gaming community than yourself and you've lost. DEAL |
| #94 08:07pm 30/01/03 |
Hey Demon post some screenies of when I was almost kinda nearly leeeet!
:) I sent some to Lasher years ago when I actually beat Dethon in some online Q2 maps..s*** I thought I was made..then I found out he was playing with his left hand and the guitar at the same time! :) muhahahaha |
| #95 09:01pm 30/01/03 |
From the Stormwind site ... props to lasher & term ... http://www.stormwind.powerup.com.au/physco_wn.jpg From my collection ... http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/QUAKE02.jpghttp://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/QUAKE07.jpg http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/QUAKE21.jpghttp://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/QUAKE45.jpg [EDIT] hahah, i just noticed Brad's nick in the first screenie 'from my collection' ... supple buttplug, BAAAHHAHAHAA!!! what a cainer Brad was/is. !respect! |
| #96 09:39pm 30/01/03 |
ah yes..brings a fond tears to both eyes.
DEM WERE THE DAYS! cheers |
| #97 10:06pm 30/01/03 |
honestly we did, we f***in rocked!
gotta get that feeling again... Im getting all warm and fuzzy now. :D |
| #98 10:08pm 30/01/03 |
Find some pics of a real Quake clan - like BoS :p
I wish I'd kept all my screenies from my quake days. I used to cop a lot of s*** about my nick too - oh well. :D |
| #99 10:11pm 30/01/03 |
i am only 17... but i started at.. yr7.. err 6 yrs ago.. when i was 11 :\
s***e i started early |
| #100 10:13pm 30/01/03 |
oktayne
Will be 33 in March and have been a comp user since i was 12 (vic-20, remember them?)
Never actually been to a LAN but have done my share of online stuff. Like a lot of us, it was Q2 that got the ball rolling, then Half-Life sucked up quite a large amount of my online time (not to mention, most of the phone bill!! LOL) Since then its been Q3,UT,the "Age of" games and various other (mainly strat) titles. I must be a moron cos i gave away my copy of HL right b4 CS became THE game to play! In hindsight, this may be have been a blessing, what with all the cheating i hear of that surrounds that game! I vividly remember, back in the c64 days, having "disk-swapping" parties which were kinda cool. Also remember the first time i saw the graphics on a mates Amiga (500)!! Just about peed my pants when he loaded up Bards Tale 1!! Funny to think that the average calculator today probably has more processing power! Ah, the memories. *sigh* |
| #101 10:35pm 30/01/03 |
Lasher
Being old sk00l, I feel the rare urge to post (check my ID# and compare with #posts). After years of online gaming, moments of recollection of the grand old Quake days etc, there's one thing that immeasurably stands out... (see sig) |
| #102 11:14pm 30/01/03 |
My id would be low, except trog banned me once and it went high :(
I am 19, played alex the kidd in miracle world when I was four. |
| #103 11:15pm 30/01/03 |
holy arse this is a long thread :D
props to RC, US, SW, AOT, X, and of course SAS aka SA and props to those props! |
| #104 11:49pm 30/01/03 |
oh yeah
in terms of age, I was probably the youngest one at regens apart from shamb oh yeah and carnrat's baby I was fifteen when regen lans started (21 now) today that might be the AVERAGE age of lan goers :D |
| #105 11:55pm 30/01/03 |
teen
my first games were alex the kidd in miracle world, and wonder boy in monster land.
| #106 01:10am 31/01/03 |
There is no the in alex kid
| #107 02:18am 31/01/03 |
ineffable
There is, however, two Ds.
| #108 03:07am 31/01/03 |
SakuraWars
Touche Dan.
TOO SHAY. |
| #109 06:04am 31/01/03 |
thrax
wow, I feel like a newbie here :)
I started play online when Doom came out, it was freakin awesome over the old IPX Connection's, it was like the best thing since sliced bread! hmmm.. didn't like quake that much ran like ass on my old P90, I remmber when my old man got a few P 200 MMX's (phoar there power!) Duke 3D came alone (haha I rembmer when my mum started to have whine about the game dew to the strippers kekek), pretty much after that I got heaps into RTS like TA. I rembmer playing Network games with my teacher in the lunch breaks in years 7! It was heaps fun too, kids from the other classes would come in and watch me pwn the s*** out of him! So I guess that I have been playing online since I was 9 Years old :)~ |
| #110 06:16am 31/01/03 |
Gobo
Wonderboy in Monster Land ruled. Being able to get 40mins play out of 20c rocked.
| #111 09:59am 31/01/03 |
Sphinx
Yeah, same here i used to play it for an hour on 20c
| #112 10:03am 31/01/03 |
my first gaming of arcade was space invaders, naughty boy, galarga?, mist. stones, reygar, mr do, penga, bobble bubble, spy hunter, battle zone, etc...
the atari was my first home gaming rig: defener, battle zone, astrodes, juost, etc.. i had about 30 games at the time... there was an old black and white rig which played pong and had really dodgy joysticks, but i can't remeber what it was called at school i learnt basic on vic20's and vic64's i used to look around building sites on weekends for tristram 20 cent bottles to fund my gaming habit (arcade games cost 20 cents at the time) please forgive my bad spelling.. |
| #113 12:07pm 31/01/03 |
tref
ahaha, the original castle Wolfenstein on my Apple II E. in all of it's green and black glory.
| #114 11:45am 31/01/03 |
i used to look around building sites on weekends for tristram 20 cent bottles to fund my gaming habit (arcade games cost 20 cents at the time) hahah Primal I used to do the same, except I was into the pinnies in those days. |
| #115 12:17pm 31/01/03 |
Spidz*
You've been trying to challenge your experience with someone much more recognised in the australian gaming community than yourself and you've lost. i never challenged any experience whatsoever, i merely responded to the thread. In fact I know gobo has been around far longer than most, i just laugh at how he judges and antagonises those that spend alot of time playing games when he clearly has been doing so for some time - in fact he utilises the fact that he has been around for so long as the saving grace of his 'holier than thou' attitude. to refresh your memory here's my post well jim certainly takes the win on AGN #, although Kabas is old school and that goes to show to gobo and those wankers that your agn# doesn't make you cool ;) now I no longer wish to hijack this thread which has proved to be anice trip down memory lane :P |
| #116 01:59pm 31/01/03 |
there was an old black and white rig which played pong and had really dodgy joysticks, but i can't remeber what it was called was it an intellivision? or the other kind, colecovision i used to paly on a mates and it had paddles (whatever happened to them, the ultimate pong controlling device) and joysticks |
| #117 02:07pm 31/01/03 |
i had a low id but i registered aaaaaaaages ago and never posted and i think i lost my account, so i re reg'd.I just visited the site every now and then.. qgl ftp was l33t :) old skool 4eva :)
| #118 02:09pm 31/01/03 |
Spidz*
gimme an atari any day spook ;)
| #119 02:17pm 31/01/03 |
atari's had some truly fun gmaes
i remember spending endless hours playing: hero enduro sea quest asteroids (classic) berzerk(sp) |
| #120 03:25pm 31/01/03 |
Erik-the-Red
i am only 17... but i started at.. yr7.. err 6 yrs ago.. when i was 11 :\no....you didn't.... |
| #121 03:40pm 31/01/03 |
Spidz*
brothers?
| #122 04:56pm 31/01/03 |
Spidz*
I've always been a big fan of the NES too.
I loved (and still do) duckhunt, and when I was little I used to break into my neighbours house so I could play double dragon on their NES!! big fan of the original super mario world too :P |
| #123 05:01pm 31/01/03 |
yes, that was it spook, intellevision and with paddles!
heh, that brings back some old memorys berserk, ha, you were against robots firing lasers at you, some slow, some fast, if you didn't complete the room fast, a bouncy head came for you, white robots had the fastest firing lasers, or was it the red ones. |
| #124 05:05pm 31/01/03 |
Flashback on my ol Amiga 1200 ruled!
| #125 06:39pm 31/01/03 |
Parag0n
My atari pwned yous, i started when i was 7 with my 286, then me and my bro startedpooling our money to buy such consoles as NES, sega master system 2 , Super Nes , 64 and most recently a ps2 and a gc
| #126 06:42pm 31/01/03 |
]-[ITMAN
Old skool is Doom, via a null modem cable. Back in the day, you'd ring someone up, say I'm calling you back in 2 minutes and then you'd duel (it was always called deathmatch back then) for hours and hours on end. Even back in the Doom days, and I guess helped along by a pretty active BBS scene here in South East Qld, well it rocked. But we're not here to talk about the BBS deal, cause well, we should really save all those stories for another day... =) But I guess Quake's where it all finally came together cause it all came together in such a cool way and was soooo much fun at the time. Fun mostly I guess because it was all new. Volante's house of lan, the timber shed deals, the awesome Regens and the Hub Sunday lans leading up to Armageddon 2. Regen Lans however provided some of the best gaming moments ever. Looking back we all had some serious fun, especially back in the early clan days. Hell [TLG] back then was like 20-something people strong, we could have played rugby let alone 5 players a side Quake. But as the skill levels increased and strategy started playing a role. (Lock down the spiral!!!) Guys started jumping from one clan to another and I guess the seriousness of all the matches started to take their toll. Funny thing is, it happened again with Quake II, then again with Quake III Arena as well... Here's a picture of one of my earliest mid-air rockets in DM4. I think this would have been the only game I've ever won over Jim too... =) Oh and I've found a few early demo's from the first Armageddon deal at the old Hub Internet cafe. Mostly Asha'man and around a dozen and a half TLG'ers. We used to play 320x200 software mode, today that's an icon on your desktop. Damned I sucked back then too... =) Funny looking back cause really when you think about it, we where having more than our fair share of fun at the time. I reckon this whole deal was only as much fun as it was due to the awesome people who where part of the scene back then. You all know who you are, you organised the lans and the clans, spammed the A3/QQL/QGL mailing lists, and fragged my sorry ass in every game starting from Doom,Q1,QII and QIIIA and every other game in between. Damn it! enough talk, time to fire up Quake and slaw some frogbots... =) |
| #127 08:43pm 31/01/03 |
oh the hours and hours i spent playing against this guy at Wynnum via modem, Doom all night long, then Duke Nukem as well for months and months......some days I would go to work after like 3 hrs sleep.
madness I tell you. |
| #128 10:40pm 31/01/03 |
| #129 12:50am 01/02/03 |
Wireplay Invades Brisbane and thats DETHON[legs]
:) I was about two feet to the right of the photographer, perving on the women at the time. :) |
| #130 12:59am 01/02/03 |
btw thanks for the demo link ]-[, I'm slowly leeching em now. should be a good watch.
i remember the formidable screenshot/demo folder (including a lot of the RC stuff) but unfortunately that was a few hard disk crashes ago lasher, perhaps you could oblige |
| #131 12:59am 01/02/03 |
hahah! nice pic insomniax! :]
yah! thanks for those demos ]-[itman! crazy shenanagins on dm5!@!#! :] geez it looks silly now when ya can play those demos @ 1280x960 in crystal openGL lushness ... you have to keep reminding yourself that everyone there would have been playing @ 320x200 in pixelly software. Once more I delve into my hoarde of quake screeenies! AoT vs ClanUS ! all cainers! http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/aotvus.jpg When the SAS clan got going! http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/sas.jpg Another (in)famous name from teh past ... grumpy! hee hee! http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/grumpy.jpg Baz & McBain .. cainers! http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/mcbain.jpg I finally get a voodoo1 & I'm mashing F12 like a madman!!@!! :] (also, the carnage boys. respect!) http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/voodoo.jpg Phwaor .. cheq the names in this ffa! http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/names.jpg AAHH! & who can remember teh first fragfest1000 held at regenLAN where dethon was almost there & teh box the server was on died !@#!&*(@$%!@*$%!)@ :) http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/fragfest1k.jpg Belalugosi .. another mad cainer!!! ;] on the old wastelands QW servers. mmmm ping-a-licious! (well for those days!) http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/qshotz/bela_qw.jpg |
| #132 11:43am 01/02/03 |
All right thats enough its time to get the old folks back to the retirement village :p
| #133 11:47am 01/02/03 |
hehe 'snowleps' what a gay name..who was that fag anyway?
j/k Obes! :P |
| #134 11:48am 01/02/03 |
hehe 'snowleps' what a gay name..who was that fag anyway? Hahah I was thinking the same thing while looking through those pic. Seriously obes, what were you thinkin :) |
| #135 01:11pm 01/02/03 |
That wireplay invades Brisbane lan was great. Nearly got sick on all the free Jolt cola.
I remember the music was good as well.They played prodigy most of the night REAL FARKIN LOUD. And those babes rawked! :) Demon, finaly a screenie with my name on it someplace :) ta! ET ET[X] SGT E.T. ET U.S. |
| #136 09:18pm 01/02/03 |
If you are 21 you are not old school... Unless you are Warhammer or a Hellfish.
For the record I am not as old as some, But i am over 25. |
| #137 05:56pm 02/02/03 |
Get f***ed!
| #138 01:06am 03/02/03 |
oh, lucky im 22 then :)
| #139 01:41am 03/02/03 |
Dethon
QUAKE REWLED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:DDD |
| #140 08:56pm 03/02/03 |
Lash
I am nowhere near old school, but I can recall the first regen / qgl / whatever it was when I first went to the evil little primary school with no parking (I think it was around the start of '99?).
I can recall setting up, looking around and there's this loud Welsh faget playing quake deathmatch on dm6 yelling, "EAT MY f***ING CHEAP RED ARMOUR CAMPINESS BITCH!". And sure enough, he sat there camping the red like a hoe. Amazing how things don't change, eh? |
| #141 09:23pm 03/02/03 |
QUAKE REWLED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you did it for the chicks :P |
| #142 09:51pm 03/02/03 |
The only yelling I remember at Yeronga was Jim.
"Who the f*** is copying!!" :) |
| #143 09:52pm 03/02/03 |
I remember the music was good as well. They played prodigy most of the night REAL FARKIN LOUD. All they played was Smack My Bitch Up. I was imbaressed for those girls who turned up to hand out awards or whatever. All day that stupid song was played, f***ING loud. Apart from that, it was a decent LAN. |
| #144 11:00pm 03/02/03 |
Skurj
Hi to all the old boys. It's good to see most of ya are still alive and kicking :) I'm 32 myself and have been gaming since the days of the Commodore 64. Cartriges and turbo-load tapes anyone?
The Regen LANs at Yeronga were awesome. I came into it just when the huge ring of 10Base2 was being phased out :) That school hall was friggin cold in winter though! Of course someone would inevitabely plug a 2400W heater into a powerboard and you'd hear 20 simultaneous "What the f***s!!" Ahah priceless. Don't forget TLG and their awesome Severed2 mod. Nothing compared to chainswing off all but one arm of another player and then watching him crawl towards the megahealth :) Or he'd drop into the lava to deny you a frag :) I reinstalled Quake and Severed when I went to the BigDayIn recently and it was definintely the most fun I had all weekend - graphics will never replace gameplay. Of course the powerup Q1CTF maps (with the keys for flags) were incredible fun, as was Q2CTF with the SAS/SA clan. The Powerup servers rocked! Does anyone still have the server-side files for that early version of Q1CTF? And can someone point me to a good Oz server? I miss the grapple and the strength rune :) |
| #145 03:15am 04/02/03 |
Mass
Hey fellas
Good old read there (apart from all the 20yr old "old schoolers"). Don't you have a job Psycho? Sit at home on your $5K PC so you can post in a forum :-). Skurj and I had a ball at the Bigdayin, fired up TLG's severed 2 mod and played quite a few hours of chainsaw hacking mahem. Its amazing playing Quake on a machine that can do over 500fps in quake now. How many remember their first look at the Diamond Monster 3D? Anyone interested in getting a quake ctf server running for a bit of a bash let me know, need to find the threewave ctf version 2.5 patch. That was the server side patch that powerup ran. I had forgotten that I was even in Stormwind. Anyone seen or heard from Keato or CarnRat? |
| #146 04:32pm 04/02/03 |
ahaha :D
I think RC ROI had the first 3dfx card at the lans. The sight of GL Quake necessitated a change of underderps for all present. |
| #147 04:43pm 04/02/03 |
Hey mass , skurj :D
AFAIK, there are no quake servers running online anymore ... only ,pffft, qw servers. :[ And of the qw servers I don't think any run 3wave. btw: you can configure any version of 3wave ctf to run the key/flag variant & id maps by changing the teamplay flags (for key/flag & grapplinghook models) & recompile a progs.dat for map rotations. I hear keato is an everquest junkie. :[ |
| #148 04:52pm 04/02/03 |
Gobo
If someone with some bandwidth could crank up a quake 3wave server I reckon some organised games could be had. Everyone seems to be on broadband now, so 40-60 ping quake would rock.
Of course, you could take dem0ns lead and play QW, 3wave is pretty rockin either way. Hijack some gay CS server and do eet! |
| #149 04:56pm 04/02/03 |
i am so up for some 3wave :D
| #150 04:57pm 04/02/03 |
I never play qw ever ... it was warh on my connection ... HONEST!@#! /me wrings his hands furiously under running hot water! THE FILTH@#$@#$ WON'T COME OFF@#!!@
Term did try & get a quake server running not very long ago ... but then american army or some similar stupid pos worthless war simulator came out & distracted him. For some reason the server kept crashing at the change of map :[ But yeh! I reckon it would attract a few players judging by this thread! :] |
| #151 05:12pm 04/02/03 |
Nah, I had the first 3D card, Diamond Monster on ma ol p200..fired her up, r_wateralpha 1 and everone went spoooge!!
http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/dwegner/pics/mass.jpg hehe Mass yeh right...who's this SW faget coping a whippin!! :) |
| #152 05:25pm 04/02/03 |
Mass
I think I bought my Monster 3D the next day after I saw it....I used to pull nearly 40fps on it....with my P133 and 48Meg RAM.
Skurj and I hunted high and low for a copy of 3wave 2.5 but haven't been able to find one. Hey Psycho.....load up and quake and run a timedemo tis funny to not watch....its over in a couple of seconds. If we can get the server files I can put up a server, and with Frog out of the country I might even get the strength rune :-p |
| #153 05:31pm 04/02/03 |
hehe and how hardcore were we guys,...buying a bunch of walkie talkies to play Q2 ctf.!
| #154 05:33pm 04/02/03 |
Mass
Psycho - yer but look at all the fags we were playing against - camping whores.
I remeber when Frog ditched that gay clan and went to AoT (another gay clan I might add), you guys got owned by every clan and their mum. Besides the scores would be different now.....aren't you in a wheelchair? |
| #155 05:36pm 04/02/03 |
| #155 |