Topic: Say Goodbye to BF1942

Taken from the myg0t website (that bunch of f*****s that take pride in destroying other people's gaming fun.)

In case you live in a closet, your missing out. This game is the future of FPS games. The final version will have over 35 vechiles in it that can be used, not to mention all the guns and crap you can control. The majority of servers have FF turned on as well. This game is a myg0t members wet dream.

System requires are high when compares to say Quake3 or Half-Life.

500 MHz CPU
128 Megabytes of RAM
3D accelerated 32 MB video card or equivalent with HW-T&L
(Hardware Transform & Lightning) and 24-bit z-buffer
160 MB free hard disk space plus space for saved games
(additional space required for Windows swap-file and
DirectX 8.1 installation)
16X Speed CD-ROM/DVD-ROM
DirectX 8 Compatible Sound Card

Methods of rage are really unlimted here. You have teamkilling, running people over, loading up a transport with people and crashing it, so they all die. Crashing a jeep or tank into a plane as someone is trying to take off. Planting land mines on your teams run way. Using det packs on your teams planes as they try to take off. I even found on a non-FF server that its fun to sit on the aircraft carrier and set det packs around my teammates as they wait for new planes to spawn. Then step back and blow them, does not kill the teammate, but does give them one long swim back to shore. This also worked well for when a plane was taking off, it bounced the plane straight off the run way and into the ocean. The list goes on and on

Man, I would have enjoyed this game :( s*** I hope none of this reaches Australian shores (which it undoubtably will).

f*** I hate these people.
I hope people like this get cancer of the testicles.

Just have admins on the servers :P
Or only play it in PRIVATE, PASSWORDED, FREE SUBSCRIPTION ONLY SERVERS *not-so-subtle hint to trog ;)*.
Yeah admins that are firm but fair.
Gunman-187
myg0t are teh fag3ts.

maybe people should "pretend" they are retards, join their crew and find out what servers they run, where they run and then get all their IP's and get them f***ed for abusing people.

Theres fines for jumping onto a football field and f***ing the game, so why shouldn't there be one for computer games?
Gunman-187
nothing about them going to f*** with americans army game ;)I wonder why...
§PLAT
Isn't that just liek CE?
Vorador
I wouldn't usually laugh about such a matter, but it even says one of their members committed suicide - myg0t are the epitome of morons, their website likens them to project mayhem from Fight Club.. a more apt suggestion would a horde of toddlers with the internet as their playground..

They are the pimples on the ass of the world, insignifigant yet irritating... forever they shall remain, one would hope they all follow the lead of one member and commit suicide to clean up the gene pool.
Bangers
ahhaha
Rubba-Chikin
it really wont be as easy for them as CS i dont think.
new engine which will be a lot harder to crack than HL was hopefully
Zekts
we can only hope.
All it needs is the ability to easily communicate to other players about TKers and have good robust facilites to kick them, just for a while (like 1 hour) and have it so admins could make it more permanent. If over 60% of the people vote yes, then those players dont want the voted player playing for whatever reasons (majority rules). If it is a myg0t or other players then they will have to change IP's to rejoin or find another server.

1942 has a couple of vote kick console commands, but consol commands suck for communication perposes (trying to get 60% of the popel to vote yes when they dont know what a console is, is hard even if they want to vote yes)
Bangers
The only real fix to f*****s/cheaters in Online game servers is to create a central banning system.

Any cheaters get added to the db, ALL games use that db for banning.

As far as Im concerned, if your a cheat in CS, your gonna be a cheat in BF42 when cheats are available.

A Central standardised banning system which all games used would no doubt almost eliminate cheatings. If someone wants to cheat, they better check their wallet because if they get caught they will need to rebuy all there games.
/me hi5s toll

All you people saying that it should be up to the admins - no offense, but that's a dumb suggestion. If CS hasn't taught you that system doesn't work, then you're beyond all help. No sane admin wants to sit on a server for more than a few hours. You can't have heaps of admins because invariably one of them f***s up and everything goes to s***. Admining admins isn't an easy task either.

Game developers NEED TO CONSIDER the 'jerk factor' (I was going to call it the 'myg0t factor' but the last thing these guys need is more attention) as a matter of the UTMOST PRIORITY, especially in games like this when annoying players can really mess the game up for everyone. If you can't stop things like teammates screwing up your teams chances of winning, then you have to put in some sort of system so that players can kick teammates that aren't behaving. At the same time, you have to ensure that players don't just randomly kick players for fun (RA3).

Basically, administrating a game server is becoming a BIG DEAL and requires more resources than a lot of game developers realise. The more administrative functions game developers put in, the easier their game will be to administer. The more care they take to ensure their game isn't full of annoying possibilities, the better the gaming experience will be.
Gunman-187
thats why you would make a config, and the first line would be

bind * "vote yes;echo You have done the world some good."
bind - "vote no;echo HAHA, pussy! Go cry to ya mommy"
I'd also like to bring up the point of PunkBuster and how damn awesome it is, and how every developer should be using it with their products.
Denny
yeah i was very happy to see that there is a console command to initiate a Team only vote for kicking.

often i find that the opposition doesn't really care if one of your teammates is doing their job for them.
stick
today there was some lamer on blowing up planes continuously, and using TNT to blow people off decks...
fortunately i sit next to trog...
... and justice was served
Rommel

BF1942 needs the wolf voting system. quick and easy
It needs FF turned off on public servers. That is the only way to have a fun game over the net. Or use that Backfire server thing where people take damage for shooting their own team.

If TK continues the way it is, there's no way I'll be paying for this game.
Insolence
... and justice was served

gotta love that
It needs FF turned off on public servers.
Most Wolf servers don't have FF off (at least the ones I've played on). This is the way the game was designed to be played, and they've taken steps to ensure there is an efficient system to prevent TKing. While its not perfect, its 100000 times better than most other games ship with (which is nothing). FF off in BF1942 barely stops any of the problems - people blowing up planes because they want them for themselves, people blowing up cars or tanks for the same reason - its noobarific.
tension
yea trog don't ya love it!! i;m good at geting -ve score =) h0r h0r h0r

Cool bananas :)
nuke your post :)
cause theyre are so many n00bs playing ... when u accidentaly TK ppl fireup! thinking it was deliberate :D

kinda of annoying when u accidentally crash a plane ... or bomb the pixel on the ground which happened to be a team mate ... and they decide to hunt u down for revenge :)
Usually its easy to tell the difference between accidental and deliberate. If I get bombed by a team-mate, or blown up from miles away by the destroyer's guns that a team-mate was using, I put it down to accidental (even if maybe it wasn't), cos it just happens, and half the time its pretty funny to watch anyway.

On the other hand, when some guy sits there shooting at you when you try and get in a plane, or runs up and sticks dynamite on the tank you're driving, or drives towards you in a jeep, then steers to try and hit you, its pretty obvious its not accidental.
is it possible to ban people in the multiplaer version? because i really need to know!
well sometimes ive started to take off with the plane ... and ive somehow hit the lil building to the right :/ ... dunno how

and that appears deliberate

*shrugs* i havent been playing it anyway cause i cbf getting it working in 60hz or whateva it needs
ah the other day at rampage a friend of mine got -100. hm wat a lamer :P lol nah he got a free drink lol

something like that
StopShootingMe
And to step off the topic for a second, Trog could you take a look at my whinge on GA forums? Sorry but its been there a few days now no change :)

http://games.telstra.com/gamearena/community/messageboards/536/index.php?action=show&id=887360

P.S. Ban the lamer Runbox, Trog, hes one of the big BF 1942 lamers, does all of the above-mentioned gayness, and he's still posting abuse on the GA forums to boot. Kill him and I give you moneys :)

-Cheers :)
Cailean
Yeh I was in a game with that runbox guy too. He/She was being a dick.
StopShootingMe
Whats even stupider is that he/she is a long term member of the GA forums and abuses other forum users, including trog. Just one of those strange creatures who seem impervious to the hatred of others. Wierd :)
I mentioned the fact that you (stick) was trogs brother the other day to this wanker that was TKing planes on the carrier. He suddenly lost inertest in being a total f***wit, I wonder why.

That was while you were playing on the same server yesterday.

Just a quick thought about vote kicking players. Given that alot of people have already proven how f***ing pathetic and stupid they can be by running around TKing planes and people. It won't take long for a******s to start voting to kick people for gettting planes before them or other stupid reasons. It has been my experience that people see a vote and automaticaly press yes to kick, only to send some good team player packing.

I have said it numerous times b4 and I'll say it again, T2 doesn't have a big problem with TKer's and total dips***s because of the vote kick ability. Mind you that only works because people don't often make stupid votes against decent players.The maturitiy level of the players has alot to do with this. CS and the d*******s (not all CS players) that play it are sadly lacking in this area and BF42 is going to atract alot of those idiots like a fresh roadkill atracts vermin.

Trog you need admins you know can do the job right, guy's who have a good level of maturity. Admins that will not go on a power trip,I really don't think it'd be to hard to find a few guy's that are online all the time that fit the bill,I'll put my hand up even. All they need is to be able to kick idiots.
StopShootingMe
I have said it numerous times b4 and I'll say it again, T2 doesn't have a big problem with TKer's and total dips***s because of the vote kick ability...

Hmm, it is a good kick function (Tribes 2 also still has by far the best chat functions, too) but I think its also the smaller number of players making it a more familiar, even intimate community, and the fact that there are virtually no methods to play a pirated version online. That helps :)

PS Ban Runbox.
Yeah I have to agree SSM, two valid points.
StopShootingMe
3 good points, if you count my suggestion to ban Runbox :)

is it possible to ban people in the multiplaer version? because i really need to know!
Yes, it is possible, but only by their IP at this stage I think (which is a pain in the arse with wankers like runbox who reconnect with a new IP as soon as you ban them).

It's a pity EA seem to have forgotten about admin funtionality in the game, at least in the demo they have. I hope they've addressed this in the final release.
StopShootingMe
Twisted, you'll do :) Go to my whinge in the post up above!!! Please!
It has been my experience that people see a vote and automaticaly press yes to kick, only to send some good team player packing.

I made a post about this last night but it got lost in the void.

Anyway the biggest reason I've seen so far why people would Vote Yes to a spam vote is because it is just as easy to Vote YES as voteing NO. So they just go pffft why not and vote yes.

What I rekon should happen is Voteing Yes should be twice as hard as voting No. So if it takes 1 key/button to vote No it takes 2 keys/button pushes to vote Yes.

This would make the majority of spam votes be No so the player can quickly continue on with his game. But if someone wants to Vote YES it isn't that much more hassel and if they want a player kicked they will go that little extra effort.

All they need is to be able to kick idiots

You see the problem with this is, everyone has a differnt opinion to what an Idiot is.

StopShootingMe: Maybe it has to do with the fact that Filefront.com appears to be down? I can't get to it at all.
StopShootingMe
Hee, thats a pain, but its only recent - it was up 2 hours ago. The download from here seems functional...
http://netspacegames.games.tucows.com/download/adnload/258889_99745.html
Insolence
taipan, there seems to already be plenty of interest amongst the GA gameops in becoming involved in bf1942, so i dont think we'll have too many problems with monitoring the servers.

I requested it, but to your email. At least I think that's your email in your profile :P
StopShootingMe
Thanks Twisted :) Thats a big help :)
Gobo
It might be homo to some, but I found this story funny:

http://www.myg0t.com/bb/story4/
Marek

Im just wondering if any of you admins have actually emailed the developers to find out what sort of admin support the game has.

Im not sure about these developers but if it was me i would read emials about game administration suggestions weather they have already been implemented or not
i just read the myg0t webpage for the first time and those storyies were funny :P

but they are still absolute pricks for doing what they do
They are the pimples on the ass of the world, insignifigant yet irritating... forever they shall remain, one would hope they all follow the lead of one member and commit suicide to clean up the gene pool.
Ok where do you want this 200 litre drum of cyanide^h^h^h^h^h^h^h Coolade?
kinda of annoying when u accidentally crash a plane ... or bomb the pixel on the ground which happened to be a team mate ... and they decide to hunt u down for revenge :)

Sorta like me last night in Firearms when I accidentally press M and dropped an artillery marker... right next to the artillery unit. The two blokes who got smote weren't very impressed.
Exocet
Here's an idea I've been thinking about for the voting. There are, however some flaws in it.

When you want to vote-kick someone, enter a reason in the ban request. EG Vote, Kick, Reason _____, OK!.

Then, when a vote is called to kick someone, you have to click with the mouse to read the reason, and then it stalls for two or three seconds until you can click yes, or no. This means, that you may aswel read the reason that's there.

One option that would help, but could easily be abused, is pausing play when a vote is called. This way, it's almost like compolsorary voting a la elections. But, if it's made that you can only call one vote every 5 minutes, it should slow it down.
I'm sorry, as said by a number of people in previous threads, I will not let these tards ruin the one game i've looked forward to in a while...
The reason vote/kicking people from T2 works really well is because almost everyone knows who the usual d*******s are.

So as soon as you see a persons name come up that is a well known wanker you hit "YES" to kick. It's amazing how quickly those d*******s cotton on to the idea that they better shut up and play nice.

Im just wondering if any of you admins have actually emailed the developers to find out what sort of admin support the game has.
Yes, they were nice enough to ignore me.
Tpyodemon
They probably realy didn't consider it ... CE was small enough to dodge the vast majority of f***tards, BF1942 is going to get all of them. I hazard a guess when they make a sequel it will have awesome admin ability.
MrMac

Im not sure about these developers but if it was me i would read emials about game administration suggestions weather they have already been implemented or not
Yes, for the last 3 months I have been emailing them and posting on the BF1942 forums trying to get any sort of answers.
haha, I just read that copy and paste in the original post - funny stuff.

cry more newbs

plok
haha, I just read that copy and paste in the original post - funny stuff.

cry more newbs

I'm such a f***** newb myself tho :(

Hehe.. you sure are.

[EDIT]
I see you've removed that last bit.. so lame!