The official site for midway's new Mortal Kombat game, Deadly Alliance, has been updated with more information about some of the characters and arenas you will find in the game. Of most interest is the slew of screenshots that came along with the update. This new Mortal Kombat game is being made for next generation consoles (XBox, PS2, Gamecube) and PC (I think). With a completely new engine and a fighting system that more closely resembles Soul Calibur of Virtua Fighter 4 (ie, full 3d movement, multiple fighting styles for each character, counters, etc), it looks to be shaping up to be something special. Screenshots Subzero booting head A new character smacking around Scorpion Scorpion causing Shang Tsung some grief The Wu Shi academy stage More screenshots on the official site. |
| #0 04:35pm 26/06/02 |
w000t mK!
Scorpion Wins Flawless Victory! http://www.mortalkombat.midway.com/futuretense_cs/flash/mkda/screenshots/img_scorp2_lrg.jpg |
| #1 04:46pm 26/06/02 |
power
omg omg omg how cool is this!!
| #2 04:41pm 26/06/02 |
Erik-the-Red
looks decent, but long live soul calibre :P
| #3 04:42pm 26/06/02 |
Shame mortal kombat is gay and King of Fighters ownz it.
Sorry, but it had to be said :\ Backdrops look a bit drab. Oh, and shame I'm gayz. |
| #4 10:33am 16/03/03 |
Blade Hunter
W00t, I'll be up for a bit of that :)
| #5 04:43pm 26/06/02 |
drool worthy
| #6 04:46pm 26/06/02 |
dRanged
phwoooah, how good will that be on an arcade cab
| #7 04:46pm 26/06/02 |
dRanged
Shame mortal kombat is gay and King of Fighters ownz it. haha, kof series is gay, specially 2001. sifnt MK2!!!! |
| #8 04:48pm 26/06/02 |
PFFFFTTT!!!!!!!!
KOF rules you. Its all about the madskillz comboz and striker juggles. How gay am I?!?! |
| #9 10:34am 16/03/03 |
Haha, scorpion has rope tied around his shoes to keep them on. I guess after 4 MK games his shoes were starting to wear out.
| #10 05:09pm 26/06/02 |
tref
How good does this game look!!!
MK rox, still play a bit here and there. |
| #11 05:21pm 26/06/02 |
Chubbles
i would prob get sould caliber 2 before this... but it looks pretty good
| #12 05:34pm 26/06/02 |
Ice_Magik
king of fighters ?
you people suck for even mentioning that game MK 4 EVA when does it come out, ive set aside $100 for a copy of it for mah xbox. |
| #13 06:40pm 26/06/02 |
SmegHead
Wow, last MK I played was the original!! That was soo much fun!! Go Raiden (I think that was his name...the lightning guy, he rocked!). Anyhow, its looking good, hope it does come on the PC, but if it didnt then I would chip in with a mate to get it on the PS2.
DOA2 is the best fighting game I have played, mainly due to the counters. Its a good feature and I am glad that MK are using it in the next release!! Cant wait to see with one. |
| #14 06:44pm 26/06/02 |
Morgan
x-men on ps2 has couunter attacks,
tekken tag has some counter-throws, that game looks like tekken tag, graphics wise |
| #15 06:54pm 26/06/02 |
tekken tag has counter all up and down that ass.
Counters and Counter-counters, can make battles really awesome when you're playing mates and you both know how to counter each other. |
| #16 07:36pm 26/06/02 |
Goa`uld
Mortal Kombat 2 was once my favourite game. Damn MK owned!
| #17 07:41pm 26/06/02 |
Goa`uld
this game better come out on PC, and have online multiplayer.
| #18 07:42pm 26/06/02 |
aawis
thats pretty sweet because i just got an xbox and halo today and id like to say they own :D
aawis |
| #19 08:34pm 26/06/02 |
Hashy
Smash Bros is the only fighting game I'll play.
| #20 10:41pm 26/06/02 |
MK is the only fighting game I've enjoyed.. and really only because I got to play on dRanged's arcade machine
| #21 10:42pm 26/06/02 |
those screenshots look like ass
| #22 10:54pm 26/06/02 |
spagNamo|i
lol its been too long between drinks for mortal kombat...
cant wait to give this new one a solid bashing!! should be fun :-p |
| #23 11:14pm 26/06/02 |
Moridin
Haha. MK is such a newbie fighting game. KOF is where its at!
Also, I love having sex with men! |
| #24 10:37am 16/03/03 |
MK2 was the best out of 'em all. Easy to play and easy to learn all the finishing moves. MK3 sucked alot of ass and so did MK4. Remember the early versions where you could do a babality and then also a fatality after. f***ing hilarious. Although sometimes the machine would crash but it was worth it.
| #25 02:15am 27/06/02 |
spagNamo|i
the Xbox one will also be the best version too.. 'natch!!!
| #26 04:50pm 27/06/02 |
Frag Terminator
street fighter is where its at boys...
| #27 05:23pm 27/06/02 |
Cheers
go gamecube
| #28 06:04pm 27/06/02 |
Cam
I take it up the ass
| #29 10:37am 16/03/03 |
Greazy
THAT IS GOING TO ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!
| #30 06:21pm 27/06/02 |
OMG OMG i'm sooooo gonna love this game.
| #31 06:45pm 27/06/02 |
Chubbles
hey i want a real nice 3d killer instinct for gamecube... c'mon rare
| #32 11:45am 28/06/02 |
Cailean
Super Street Fighter II - Championship Edition
'nuff said, if you're a bloke that loves riding the poo tube. |
| #33 10:38am 16/03/03 |
spagNamo|i
u want a gamecube release from Rare?? those guys are the slowest goddamn developers on the planet.. it was a crime by Nintendo to not have a rare game with the gamecube launch..
if diddy kong racing, or perfect dark 2 (or is it 0) dont come out within the next 6 months the GC is gonna find it hard to keep up with xbox and sony.. and thats the main reason when i sold my N64 that i didnt buy the GameCube.. during the whole time i had the N64 games came out in dribs and drabs and were delayed time and time again.. it was so god damn frustrating.. so wtf is the deal with Rare? why do they take so god damn long to make games? what happened to the banjo kazooie sequel that was meant to come out for the N64.. that never happened either.... walk into kmart u see a massive wall of ps2 games, a great section of Xbox games, and then two shelves of GC games... so lame and sad at the same time.. :-( nintendo said that with the N64 they learnt from their mistakes.. but what do they do? they make a disc based console that doesnt play dvd's like the competitions consoles, they once again release games slower than anyone else and generally f**k themselves over.. will they ever release a console as perfect and as well supported as the SNES was in its time? |
| #34 03:46pm 28/06/02 |
what happened to the banjo kazooie sequel that was meant to come out for the N64.. that never happened either.... There was a sequel. It's called Banjo Tooie. I think that's how it's spelt. Go down to your local Video Sleazy and rent it out. 8-) |
| #35 04:59pm 28/06/02 |
Set your petty differences aside, who cares what console is better, this is Mortal Kombat. MORTAL KOMBAT! Now lets all just hold hands and prepare for the uberness of the slaw.
| #36 06:20pm 28/06/02 |
the first mortal kombat moofie didnt suck
| #37 06:30pm 28/06/02 |
skizm0
looks purdy mad ...
but meh |
| #38 06:49pm 28/06/02 |
tension
this mk is looking really sweet too bad it's console only =/
| #39 10:16pm 28/06/02 |
Cheers
y would it be on a crappy pc
| #40 11:13am 01/07/02 |
shang tsung can't morph into the other chars
why? WHY!?? |
| #41 03:30pm 17/03/03 |
-> -> kick
| #42 04:54pm 17/03/03 |
I was excited until I saw it was 3d movement.
Bleh... these new 3d fighting clones give me the s***s... Being able to move anything more than forward/back on the screen sucks, doesn't feel like a proper fight thingo game anymore... long live the originals! |
| #43 05:36pm 17/03/03 |
Yeah, goddamn evolution. I hate it when games evolve and become more than they used to be, offering us new and interesting challenges. I wish all games were the same, that way we wouldn't have to worry about learning how to play new games all the time.
| #44 06:07pm 17/03/03 |
Get over it Khel.
It was just a voiced opinion of mine, didn't ask/expect things to change, don't need to be a wanker. -I- Don't like 3d movement in fighting games... so what, why are you having a cry over the fact that I don't like it? You always seem to crack a s*** when someone doesn't like a game you do; like your the king of gaming or something; I must have forgotten, everyone has to like what you like... right? Yeah, goddamn evolution Yeah, It's funny how, humans can no longer evolve, we grow an extra finger and it gets cut off, woops, there goes evolution because if we don't cut it off, they're a freak... |
| #45 06:15pm 17/03/03 |
You were stating an opinion, I just stated an opinion too, albeit in a slightly more sarcastic, cynical manner...
I wasn't personally attacking you or something, no need to go getting yourself all worked up. |
| #46 06:43pm 17/03/03 |
teen
I saw this porn of a guy that had 2 wangs.
| #47 06:50pm 17/03/03 |
try it in mk da, dais
| #48 06:58pm 17/03/03 |
mooby the golden calf
i bought him about a month ago.
very sweet on ps2. cheats: raiden is in coffin "XG" raidens fatlity is back, forward, forward, forward , x |
| #49 08:40pm 17/03/03 |
sharkuul
bought the game as soon as it came out and it rox !!!!
| #50 08:52pm 17/03/03 |
Nailbomb
i find this MK exremely difficult to pull off any fatalities, i still haven't been able to do any yet. It's difficult enough trying to remember the normal moves.
| #51 09:49pm 17/03/03 |
I've had no problems pulling off fatalities. I dont think distance is a factor, but I usually do them from just outside sweep range. Make sure you go into the Fatality stance first though before you do them.
| #52 09:57pm 17/03/03 |
EvisceratoR
lol who's been post editing :P
| #53 09:58pm 17/03/03 |
No problem here either. No distance or stance needed either, just do the fatality.
| #54 10:57pm 17/03/03 |
mooby the golden calf
you dont need to worrie about distances in MKDA.
You have to hit L1 to change the style in to fatality, and then the movement of the player is locked. |
| #55 06:16am 18/03/03 |
I don't have to do anything except the fatality move itself on the xbox
...but this is all useless banter - why can't shang tsung morph!??!? |
| #56 09:47am 18/03/03 |
The limitation of 3D - Models can't morph.
It's the law of conservation of polygons. sifn't MKII 0wnz all |
| #57 10:19am 18/03/03 |
pftft they are constantly 'morphing' as the characters move around.
| #58 10:26am 18/03/03 |
Sub Zero was my fav in the days... they f***ed him up :( looks like some old grandpa ninja... noooooooooooooo!
| #59 10:33am 18/03/03 |
I reckon sub-zero looks hardcore now that hes older, hes like the grandaddy of slaw.
And yeah, just cos the models couldn't easily morph into each other is no excuse, they could have just made it so smoke comes out the ground and hides Shang Tsung then when it goes away hes a different character, and just swap the models. Shang Tsung just isn't Shang Tsung without the morph :( Although, his Karate Kid style rocks. |
| #60 02:32pm 18/03/03 |
I'm trying to unlock the 'Khel' character
| #61 03:37pm 18/03/03 |
power
I want this on my pc, damn you bitches, damn you i have bought almost every incarnation of mk and i refuse to buy a console to continue my collection...
| #62 04:44pm 18/03/03 |
I think it'd be hard for the 'Khel' character to beat Bo Rai Cho, the guy who slams people using his sizeable gut, vomits on his opponents and farts when he over-exerts himself. You gotta respect that.
| #63 04:53pm 18/03/03 |
Changing styles seems to make him fart more. Once you get the knack of changing styles frequently without being hit, there's hours of enjoyment to be had vomiting and farting.
| #64 05:48pm 18/03/03 |
phwoar 21 hit combo on moloch - buttom-spamming supreme
| #65 07:19pm 18/03/03 |