Topic: Addictive Forum

What is it about this QGL forum that keeps us coming back, day after day?

From the early days back with the old threaded grey/orange forum to the awesome AusForums now, I have been visiting here religiously every day that I am at my computer. It makes the hours at work cruise by a little bit faster, and when a good topic arises you can settle in for a good evening of spam.

What exactly is it about the QGL forum that makes it so damn cool?

Is it the interesting mix of viewers? With about 150 odd forum regulars who are predominantly young males with extremely varying opinions, debates rage in virtually every topic.

Is it the fact that we are not so anonymous, with most of us having met or atleast seen alot of the forum regulars in person?

Is it that we all share a similar interest in games/computers, but always share our knowledge on such diverse subjects of cars/army/girlfriends/religion/racism/clubbing etc..

Whatever it is, it is testimony to the awesome work by Nathan to provide us with a functional and cohesive medium for us to express our opinions.

Thanks QGL.
§hotty
We're only here because your here Strex!

Also, dongs.
Maybe its because we love to watch the bitch fights that go on.

And also when ppl actually do talk civily and non gay you find out a f***ing lot of information and ppl actually know things.

And you get to see other ppls opinions on subjects etc. Also you get to meet ppl at the lans.

eek work.
Its cos we're allowed to use HTML
Its cos everyones a smart-ass computer literate dude who can pull some funny s*** now and then
Its cos outsiders are shunned
Its cos its practically unmoderated in the sense that I can call you a gayhomofagetpoofmonger
Its cos it ToTaLlYkEwLiEZ!!111!@*&%!
Frag Terminator
I love reading the forums here because a lot of ppl unpurposefully put in comedy into their posts, so i find myself laughing my way through threads. ie. Are girls coming to QGL etc.

QGL is like, the BEST forum :D
acrylic
its the only place that accepts me for who i am and not for my huge penis
Gobo
Because f*****y jim is denying me from returning to qglchat to destroy all and sundry:

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at mail.ausgamers.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

:
You aren't allowed to post to this list faggit

Plus my humanitarian nature is stirred into action by some of the comments I read here.
makes work time go faster for sure
I lioke forums cus well....its something to do!! lol
and plus im the l33tst person on here :)
s'all about the gifs n imagery ! ... innit !?!?!?!?!
http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/temp/9.gifhttp://dem0n.qgl.org/images/temp/mallet.gifhttp://dem0n.qgl.org/images/temp/face.gif

... yeh ... could be about wasting time at work too ;]
Ģσẩ۶ựłd

I am truly impressed with the proposed reasons given by StreX as to why this forum is so popular.
It is amazing that while we all share the common interests of the gaming scene, computers, and most of us are young men living in Brisbane, we find the things we disagree upon and share our knowledge which makes us diverse.
Within every culture, it is the differences between individuals that gives us identity. In this community, it is our favouritism of particular games, our opinions of certain key topics that rise time and again, and our perspective given by our unique circumstances and history that makes us all more interesting people to each other.
Probably the main reason of our continuous addiction to this place is that while we don't see each other all the time, we may have met some people from this forum offline, and being that we are all from the similar location we are more likely to find common points of dicussion than if we were interspersed throughout the world, with vast differences between us, rather than subtle ones.

While we all know each other as different, if someone not from the QGL community were to compare several of us, they might classify us as being the same sort of person. But to us, this would be an insult to the different characters we have developed.

It is on this forum that we meet to discuss these issues that interest us all, and what admittedly makes up a lot of our social lives, where we can virtualy summon friends and foes at the touch of a button, and at our convenience.

I love you QGL LAN

Yeah good s*** Strex, this forum completely and utterly kicks ass! All the different people and different perspectives (those other, incorrect, ones that aren't the same as mine :P hahaha) etc etc.

GG QGL :) You've kept me entertained for many years!
its because its grown from something small to something huge, while still keeping a core group of guys that know how to look at things ;)

i started my qgl spam back in the threaded forum days, those were classy, i mean, everyone remembers frozenpea ;)

but yeah its awesome to be able to know the guys posting on the forums and so you know who will bite and who wont

all in all, qgl rox
Tigger!
i like forums cause i have no life.

and also my pc f***s up alot and i need help, and no i am not existence :P

and also dongs

I bet you are existance... why else would you say that??? !!!!

Frozenpea... hahahhhahahahahah OMFG those were the days!!!!!!!
Tigger!
I am S p i d Z, I'm just on a mates compy am cause mine is f***ed

*points at other thread*
Phoenix
hahaa, mental patient
and what happened to pumped full of pot? I havent seen him around for about a year now
MorgÏsh©
i love my daily teasing from acrylic
eYe_kAnDy
I love the endless amounts of personal threads. "What's your sexuality?"

Yeah - that one is funny cos most of you are obviously gay!!! :)
acrylic
i love my daily teasing from acrylic

its not as daily as id like it to be
dke
more work is needed then.
It's the community, and more importantly the people who are part of that community. I think it's the mixture between information people like to share with each other, and the regular friendly banter and jokes between each other. Oh, plus we're QUEENSLANDERS!
GROUP HUG!!!

i'll be honest if it wasn't for qgl, i wouldn't be on the internet. good work everyone speccaily the admins.

Yeha this forum and email/chat are the only things I use the net for too.

QGl lans were the main reason why i went into more debt 2 years ago to buy my putah. i don't regret that desision at all, ever.

Much group hug
also, anyone know when regos for may open?
§PLAT
Forum Posts: 104
AGN Total: 109
Location: Brisbane, Queensland I lioke forums cus well....its something to do!! lol
and plus im the l33tst person on here :)

omg, does that smell of little f***ing tennyboppas trying to use internet slanmg in all the wrong ways?
That bring tears to my eyes
everyone remembers frozenpea

oh man, those were the days!

frozenpea origioanally introduced me to the threaded forum, and I posted there for about a month, being totally ignored by everyone.

Then the Little Boys s*** started and things got interesting.

haahah i think hes still cut about that.
Gobo you need to subscribe in order to be able to post, I found that out the hardway.
Greasy
maxe U MADE FORZENPEA mad u die...in hell.

oh and hunter, i saw one of your pictures. well iu have to say u are ugly

Hahahahaha I remember getting excited when I went to Brissy to my mates place who had cable so I could impersonate FrozenPea... lol hahahaahahha
I like this forum cause it is QUEENSLAND GAMERS league. That is the reason I post here, cause I'm a Gamer in Queensland..

Sif you'd use the PC forum bahahah
i like all the weally mature mens on teh forum
§PLAT
SHUDDUP YOU STUPID POO POO HEAD!
..|.
I like you too necra

Fags.
Visser
ive been here for like 5 mins but im already addiced cause im bored and looking for something to do cause i cbf studying for my test tommorow :(
Thats the spirit

i like correcting all the wrong-headed people. he. hehe. hehehe. ok, that's enough hehe's. Actually, I think it's the funny s*** some people come up with that keeps me here.

I used to like the GA general chat forum as well, but of late it is just a bunch of no-clue idiots spamming selfish tripe for the most part :/
I left GameArena when they got Tel$trafied, I dislike Tel$tra alot.

That and when it first appeared it was FARKEN slow to low and didnt load most times I tried (above 90%).

ahh QGL/Ausgamers thats where its at (much less Tel$tra propaganda here)

By Tung

I have no idea why I post on the forums I do. I guess 'cause you get to know the people you post with, and eventually meet them and whatnot :P
FuKNuKle
prolly coz its a forum bassed on where i live. and i kno a couiple ppl on here. and coz its alwayus got ppl on it all day and som of the nite. so answers r quick and usually helpful, and u can help as well. new s*** here all ths time and interesting stuff gets posted somtimes :D
LD99
QGL rocks!!

And yeah.. the fact that we are all in Queensland (and most of us in Brisbane) also make the forum a bit more relevant. Plus we get to communicate (in a way) with people we have met or may meet at QGL lans. Oh, and of course people's experiences and views can be interesting read too.

And of course... we post here because we are GAMERS!!

...though some of us are just geeks. :)
And your on of the geeks dennis :)
he suuuuuuuure is

heh, the frozenpea incident.

there were so many moments on that old forum i wish my mind could remember them :/

the best thing is many of the cainers have continued over, and with the exception of those really really spammy homos like anarot, lurk, waiting to pounce....

hehehe, frozenpea ;)
LD99
F*ck you Suhaib, and f*ck you Tung. :P

I am no geek... I am 933|(!!

*pounces on Tung*!!!!!

FuKNuKle; Where in the name of god did you learn to type..and how can you possibly be so bad at it? You do know how to edit your posts? :O
was qgl born from SA Chat?

I remember much spam back in the day on sachat and it sorta got me hooked on forums
I dont even notice funkles dodgy typing...

** THREAD RESSURECTION **

The main point of this thread still remains true most of us are still here 2 years later (except poor goauld/teen due to bannage).

I have been living overseas and s***, but I still keep coming back to QGL. y'all rock.

even fuknukles typing has improved!

ps. notice spidz's noob post:
i like forums cause i have no life.

and also my pc f***s up alot and i need help, and no i am not existence :P

and also dongs

I am S p i d Z, I'm just on a mates compy am cause mine is f***ed
Wasnt Tigger! Blair from BigBrother? hah

Much <3 QGL
sKryBe
A mate of mine who was into car audio comps used to call himself Tigger. Had a red Hyundai excel with a stereo more expensive than the car...

I like the humour and the sense of camaraderie. I'd like it even more if we had a chance to lan a bit more often :(
Sif The Q in QGL stands for Queensland it stands for Quake you infidels!

THOOK!

last edited by Opec at 17:27:03 15/Feb/05
them's were the days... it was all about the gif. although, now that i stop to think about it... it's still all about the gif!
http://www.vijaygill.com/lol/lolsroyce.gif
yeh ok... there is a passing the time at work factor as well. :D

Sif The Q in QGL stands for Queensland it stands for Quake you infidels!

Actually, wasn't it originally QQL - Queensland Quake(or Quakers) League? Then later changed to QGL (Queensland GAMERS League) because all the kids playing Doom, Duke3D and Warcraft 2 had a cry? (or perhaps to maximise appeal for Yeronga Lans)
I didnt post back then, I merely lurked. I think I was mainly on the Gamearena Dod Forum then.
Lately?
Nothing

f*** yas :)
Rommel
All that’s left is occasionally hilarious abuse.
its our last link to the long dead QGL Lans that no one wants to let go off.
I come here for the witty banter, reviews on assorted s***, to make fun of our tranny, spoot, chicks, bling...
I keep coming back to hopefully raise my post count above 1000 one of these days.
Dopefish
Because i have no life.

Its true.
:-D
Wow, I was hunting for whoever the tard was who revived this thread, and saw it was Strex and intentional and then thought it'd be okay. Also what someone else said back in '02 is correct, we all come here just because Strex does!
Yeah was originally QQL as in Queensland Quakers League, but it had to be changed to QGL thanks to the Quakers and other Religious Groups Vs Trog lawsuit.

QGL-CHAT mailling list in 1997 was the shiz!

actually speaking of which, it'd be disturbingly close to the 10th anniversary of the first Regen LAN ???? *scary*

Johnny Deformed
I'm afraid of the outside people.
I visit qgl regularly cause there's nothing quite like seeing a 3 year dead thread revived.

last edited by natslovR at 19:38:48 15/Feb/05
Wasnt Tigger! Blair from BigBrother? hah
thats exactly correct and when my pc busted I used his.

heh, I remember this thread, my p3 733 was dying and I had about 3 help threads going and hunter ended up fixing the problem.
reckon, good forum.
Tung nuked me :(
I come here to harvest users for my own forum

(:D)
lol and you know whats even funnier

the fact that spidz talked like a f***ing random, when he was actually 20 or something.

when i talked like a f***ing random on here , i was like.. 13
havn't aged a bit sweetheart
Sorry gobo ... jim declared qglchat to be a waste of rescources and banned it

i am going to throw up now..
Billy Hardball
This forum is good because of my avatar and and sig.
Melissa
I think i feel obligated to post here because of the notoriety i once had in the past, as well as having the best time with some of the finest people i've ever had the misfortune to meet.

These days however, the forums have just degenerated into a seething mass of angst and flame because there never will be another QGL where such arguments may or may not come into the real life light. QGL forums are a shadow of their former self because noone's afraid of getting "baeshed at qgl" anymore, because there just wont ever be another one.

Why do i keep posting here? I don't know, why do i? Attempts at starting any sort of mature conversation instantly gets cut down by "your gay lol" and other such kiddieisms if you don't make a thread about cars, desktops, or wynnum maccas. Even that dreaded thread i created a couple of months ago, that certainly could have gone far better had we kept in contact with each other regularly at lans.... but sadly no more.

Thanks Strex, i think i just realised there's nothing this forum can offer anymore. I'm taking QGL out of my favourites. Adios and good luck to the rest of you.

if only that were true
urr, like taking it out of your favourites is going to do anything, if you cant remember the url after so many years, YOU'RE the one with the problem.
Removing your favourites can be rather painful.
'm taking QGL out of my favourites. Adios and good luck to the rest of you.

http://meade.k12.sd.us/dtl/goodbye.jpg
People who publicly state e-goodbyes always come back.
Cool people just leave, like gumbynotalent - where is he?
coz i am from NSW and coz *some* of youse rock

<3
classy
gumbynotalent - where is he?

where is he?

i guess he was able to just walk away
hey what the hell
im never coming back to these forums either!!
oh f*** its an e-walkout

plz people come back!
BYE EVERYONE!!! I'M E-LEAVING!!!!

last edited by evis at 22:40:57 15/Feb/05
Its ok maxe, i'm still here.
some people just can't get enough attention
cya soon einstein
Can we get a ban to help him resist the urge to come back?
Its ok maxe, i'm still here.

just in case, Im never washing my car again

So no change then?
supreme
buttsechs?

I persoanly like being abusing people :) cause of my "retardedness"
LOOK AT ME IM 1337
I'll walk away if and when I get a life.
I remember ages ago I got banned for 3 days. Worst 3 days of my life!

Although the board isn't always full of great threads, it's always a place you can count on something happening...like my awesome movie reviews and other stuff.

I love you QGL and mostly I love Strex.

last edited by Reverend Evil at 00:03:03 16/Feb/05
I once got banned for 1 day.

Was pretty hard, and probably the longest i've gone without a qgl post is 2 weeks (in the last couple of years atleast).
i can't imagine you being banned rev =( your loved too much!
supreme
ah ive been band millions of times back in the day, theres always ways around things like that
I've been banned more than most of you combined :P

aaaanyways that new spanglish movie looks f***ing gay.
evis .. are you positive ...
REV I THOUGHT YOU LOVED ME :(
Manshoon
Meh.....QGL has a certain......attractiveness about it...I have other forums I use I post in more (hell one I started on 2 months ago has more posts from me now in that time than I have on here).

I started on QGL cos it was a good source of game patches at the time.......then I started to lurk QGL for work purposes....to keep an eye on people posting about where I was working (I know I had a few people stretch the truth a bit on here....)

Now since most of you dont mention my workplace I lurk for new info on whats happening around the place.....seems (compared to some other forums) this place has the new info up pretty quick.
I have been banned from QGL lans completely before.
Thats cause your a f*** pot :)
Deathwalker
ive never been banned and i dont think ive ever had a nuked post either. What did you get banned for Rev?
QGL sucks because Jim sucks.
REV I THOUGHT YOU LOVED ME :(

I still do. And to prove it I will show you when you come around my place tomorrow night.

What did you get banned for Rev?

I think it was for mentioning warez. Twas a while ago but.

EDIT: No it wasn't, that was my first ban. 3 day ban was for showing a nipple in one of my spoot threads. ROFL!

last edited by Reverend Evil at 01:19:43 16/Feb/05
Yarris
I guess I started reading the forums because I knew Nathan, Mick and Sprinkles/Ross from school. Over time I've met other people from QGl and enjoy watching them argue on the forums. I think I find it interesting watching how people act online compared to how they are in real life. Also it's amusing when you meet someone from the forums and realise that they aren't nearly as retarded as they sound in their posts (hugh/axis being a good example of this :p). Also you can always rely on there being a joke, spoot or an interesting rumour thread to entertain you.

Oh yeah and Strex you walked past my work last Friday night and your girlfriend really is hot! :)
fingers
this threads provides a very interesting question about why qgl is so addictive.
the first website i goto when i turn on the computer is qgl.org (i know these letters on the keyboard well enough to type it in les than half a second or maybe even less).

Im always coming back to the forum and always trolling. Its interesting, as it might be because the forum is so acessible and so easy to use. ALl u have to do is type qgl.org and quickyl click on forums and bam your here.

but yeh, props to qgl forums and its creators
I got banned for 10 minutes for posting a paint-drawn male orgy. aimed at persay.
DigitaL
I come back for NF's quick and witty comedy gold posts in random threads.
Otherwise I really dont know why I come here, I haven't met anyone.
Beh; Don't post here anywhere near as much as I used to.
Seems alot of people are this way going by how slowly threads stay on the first page.

Otherwise, reason to keep coming back? beh, ask questions, answer if I can,
all else in between... to continue being an asshat out of boredom.
i cbf'ed reading most of the thread, but the answer is simple....
it's all because of tran and the oracles of thook.
Sorry, fish didn't you hear?

The tran is leaving the forums.
infiNex
correction. the tran HAS LEFT the forums.
ive been banned by khel and jim
they are both f*****s
I keep coming back for the combination of good times, and dongs.
I have no idea why I continue to come back to QLG. I also don't know why I continue to return to a lot of forums where the way to communicate is to abuse each other.

The only excuse I can come up with are:
*I am some how trying to prove to everyone I am not who they think I am
*I am trying to change the people who post and try to make them aware that down right abuse isn't mature or 'funny'
but the main one is
*I have been on the computer since I was 11. I didn't have many friends and I wasn't terribly social. Being in front of a screen is all I know.

I have met a few people off forums and 99.9% of them have all apologised because they had a totally different ideal of what I was like, all because of rumours.

At the end of the day, it is like smoking. I hate it, it kills me inside, but I keep coming back for more because in a sick morbid way it is a comfort.
banning spook is fun cos he gets so raged about it
At the end of the day, it is like smoking. I hate it, it kills me inside, but I keep coming back for more because in a sick morbid way it is a comfort.

I think you take internet forums too seriously.

I come to qgl because its basically brisbane in a forum, and believe it or not the admins/mods are decent here (this is a rare thing I find).

I think you take internet forums too seriously.

Tell me something I don't know

The wingspan of the royal albatross can reach up to 3.5 metres
I knew that

On this day in 1933 U.S. President-elect Roosevelt escaped an assination attempt in Miami. Chicago Mayor Anton J. Cermak was killed in the attack.

The wingspan of the royal albatross can reach up to 3.5 metres

Knew that

On this day in 1933 U.S. President-elect Roosevelt escaped an assination attempt in Miami. Chicago Mayor Anton J. Cermak was killed in the attack.

Didn't know that!
Yarris

Dan likes the boys.
Yarris .. we all knew that
I keep coming back because i love reading flame wars, the photoshops, though i do miss the existence baeshing.
deffinately the photoshops, and the spoot. which doesn't appear very often anymore
MUSE
no i bet rev is working a really huge spoot thread up as we speak ...

....*waits*....
We can only hope kyle ... we can only hope..

Rev i am no longer coming over ... you cheated on me :(
jesu

Mad props to the QGL community and QGL staff.

Much love:

http://jesu.homedns.org/images/3blahafsfada.jpg
http://jesu.homedns.org/images/beckinsale2.jpg
http://jesu.homedns.org/images/beckinsale3.jpg
http://jesu.homedns.org/images/beckinsale4.jpg
http://jesu.homedns.org/images/jana_ina.jpg

last edited by jesu at 14:52:46 16/Feb/05
i like heardy's noob threads.

also e-leaving is so 99
Ecstasy
more spoot kthnxbi
dRanged
I love quake threads
AvengeR

: P
Oh yeah and Strex you walked past my work last Friday night and your girlfriend really is hot! :)

Yeah she rocks. Where do you work Yarris? I can't remember where I was last Friday night :(

pics or lying

last edited by fade at 20:07:15 16/Feb/05
so
want
to
be
Kate Beckinsales
g-string
right
now!
Yarris
I work at robin's kitchen at broadway on the mall. Where abouts are you working these days?
I just come here everyday in the faint hope that Mental Patient will return someday. He rocked.

i barely read this forum anymore. they have gone to s***s, i just don't have the time, too busy at work and got better things to do, or better sites to go to.

i think i still stand for the highest post count! something like 15k.

ps. these forums suck, qgl sucks... meh

It would be an honour to go down on both of these glamours, starting with the dark haired beauty. My god her ass is perfect.

http://jesu.homedns.org/images/3blahafsfada.jpg
I just can't look at you the same anymore Rev. That mouth, *shakes head*
Please don't be mad at me Kat.

8-(
rev, in saying that, you speak for all men. even the "tran" would go down on that.
I work at robin's kitchen at broadway on the mall. Where abouts are you working these days?
Can you get me a deal on a new toaster? :P

I do webdesign. Working from home rocks hugely.

I will introduce my gf to you next time we are in broadway :D
i think you should get off your fat f***ing ass strex. YEAH. btw, come see me plz, i miss you lots
We should do a City QGL lunch one day!
i think you should shut the Black up

I am trying but you won't stop!
plok
I come here to feel old-school by dropping names from the good old days, before we had avatars etc.

last edited by plok at 13:44:00 17/Feb/05
smashingpumpkin
Cause i feel very cool after hearing the stuff you guys rant about.
No one liked my idea?

Seriously who passes up on a pub lunch!?
ohhhhhh back in the ye olden times before these new fandangled avatars came about!

3 weeks ago is so oldschool plok
nearly all threads are void of anything insightful and anything news worthy typically becomes an argument between a handful of people which degrades rapidally into personal insults

my favourite threads are those that get locked
my favourite posts are those that get nuked

i only read it because i find the personal insults so entertaining :P
No one liked my idea?
Nope...

Qgl apparantly...
Sover
If it wasn't for shrapse or any of the qgl photoshop gold I wouldn't even bother coming back. Also some threads are intresting (eg. Game Reviews, Movies) and who can forget the classic stories Like Melissa and her sex change and now to add to that her e-leaving. QGL is awesome and seem we all have common intrests its what brings us together(WoW)

well its lunch can't really drink halfway during the day unless you live in musgrave park. Also I'm 18 soon QGL Night on town anyone?
Maxe's haus already does it better.
Plok has minimal old school
and obes is dirty++ for copying my avatar
Goody
Obes's looks better :)

well its lunch can't really drink halfway during the day unless you live in musgrave park. Also I'm 18 soon QGL Night on town anyone?
>

I don't know about you but I know plenty of people who do it and they aren't in musgrave!! Plus, a pub lunch is mainly for the meal and company, not the grog.
who even has avatars turned on

and thanks spidz much <3