Well, I'd take this with a grain of salt as I haven't seen it corroborated anywhere else yet, but if true it could truly be the end of Dreamcast production. Read the article for the full story... is the Dreamcast really dead? |
| #0 01:42pm 24/01/01 |
sif you'd buy a console anyway but ps2 owned dreamcast with the idea of having a dvd player built in... usb ports (keyboard mouse, quake =)) sega just f***ed up and they won't admit it, they'd rather stop prodtuction and let itself fade out and the public would be none the wiser First Post |
| #1 02:33pm 24/01/01 |
DC is gonna have a DVD soon anyway, they're upgrading it. |
| #2 02:35pm 24/01/01 |
but i don't see any tryhard console gamers buying a tryhard console after they've realised their f***up and spent many dorrah on upgrading the dreamcast it looks like a piece of white s*** too just my opinion.... first impressions is really what counts to the public and no matter how many garnishes of parsley you put on a plate of s***, it's still a plate of s***. wtf am i going on about, consoles are a waste of time and money anyway =P |
| #3 02:41pm 24/01/01 |
garnishes of parsley |
| #4 07:11pm 24/01/01 |
Tim Tibbetts
Dreamcast has heaps of good games, PS2 has oh what SSX snowboarding thats 1, and it costs a f*** load. PS2 is crap. You can use a Mouse and Keyboard with DC as well. |
| #5 07:22pm 24/01/01 |
Haha, I thought the question was "was the DC ever alive" /me prepares to reel in |
| #6 07:32pm 24/01/01 |
Knocking the PS2 for not having many games isn't realy fair as it's only been out for a short while,and you just know that it won't be long b4 they have heaps more out for it.Where they are good or not well that remains to be seen. |
| #7 07:35pm 24/01/01 |
Trog thats probably a pretty good point,I remember when the SNES came out most of my mates had 1 in the first month or 2 of it's release and the same thing happened with the 1st playstation. With the DC I personaly don't know 1 person who has a DC.I reckon they were writing it's death notice b4 they even released it. |
| #8 07:39pm 24/01/01 |
dont get me started on that N64 pile of s***baz. |
| #9 07:48pm 24/01/01 |
z3ro
even though i've only had one for a few months, the dreamcast is easily the best value $200 i ever spent on a console.. even if it was dead tomorrow (this is just another rumour so far) sega & nintendo make the best games around, there are 10 or 20 'must-have' games i'd spend that $200 on just to play a single one of them on the dc.. thankfully i have all of em and a few hundred more. it's inevitable that post xbox/gamecube and after chrissy 2001 the dc will fade away though, but with another scheduled 100 games to come out this year on dc and after that sega games being on other platforms (which will prolly be lower in price & worth getting by then), seems all good whats to complain about? |
| #10 08:35pm 24/01/01 |
Tim Tibbetts
Here here Z3ro. Nintendo and Sega games kick-arse. I was knocking the PS2 for not having many GOOD games...they can have 1 million titles for all I care, but if there aren't enough good ones then thats just s***e. Also the PS2 like the Xbox hardly have any Exclusive titles. |
| #11 08:42pm 24/01/01 |
Memphisto
The Ps2 does have alot of exclusive titles.. Final Fantasy being one of them. |
| #12 12:59am 25/01/01 |
No, ps2 has a lot over really hyped up exclusive titles. Dreamcast has a lot of exclusive titles also that are easily on par with most of sony's "exclusive" stuff, its just that Sega are incredibly bad at marketing so nobody really ever has any idea what they are. |
| #13 01:24am 25/01/01 |
sprayNwipe
(I can't help it, I'm going to take the bait...) Dreamcast? Dead? At least not morally ;p Anyone who can say right now that the PS2 is better than the DC *at this point in time* is smoking some serious Sony(tm) crack. The only passable game in the PS2 lineup is SSX, and even that fails when compared to other stunt games like Tony Hawk. Wow! You're going to make my character "glow" after I've just spent the last few days unlocking every single trick? Thanks a lot Sony and EA Canada, you sure know how to reward a player! Who cares if the PS2 plays DVD's or has USB and Firewire ports? IT HAS NO GOOD GAMES!!! Why the hell would you buy a console if it has no good games?! If you want a DVD player, go out and buy one - they're at least $300 cheaper than the PS2. Besides, you can buy more accessories for the DC than USB devices that are *supported* by the PS2! Yes! You can buy a keyboard and mouse for the DC and play Q3 on it! Yes, you can use a microphone! Yes, you can use a fishing line! Yes, you can use a set of electronic maracas! Anyway, the DC is going to live on loooooong after Sega stops supporting it, thanks to sites like DCEmulation. The simplicity of making DC apps is absurd, thanks to the WinCE libraries. Hell, you can make DC apps without having a DC - Just fire up Visual C++ with the Dreamcast WinCE stuff, and you can emulate your app on your PC! I know once I get off my lazy ass, I'm going to try and do something simple with it. Come the end of the year, I can see a point where you could argue that the PS2 has quality games (MGS2, GT3 etc). But by that time no-one will care, since the awesomeness of the GameCube will have arrived ;p (reel) By the way, Sega != Dreamcast. They've still got their arcade and software businesses. So the death of the DC doesn't equate to the death of Sega. |
| #14 09:51am 26/01/01 |
Haha, GameCube! /me twitches the bait a little bit |
| #15 03:23pm 26/01/01 |
*chomp* From the work i've done at Krome Studios... the gamecube development looks pretty expensive =) Just a hint to anyone wanting to buy one... it's not gonna be cheap. Oh and it's just a N64 on drugs from what i've seen of the graphics... maybe an enhanced terrain engine but that's about it. |
| #16 05:02pm 26/01/01 |
sif Gamecube... haven't we had enough ghey mario and pokemon games for one lifetime??!?!?!?!? |
| #17 05:15pm 26/01/01 |
Trog is right... the dreamcast was never alive. The Dreamcast is a great console with great potential, but its lack of sales cane be blamed on a few things. Mainly, marketing. How many Dreamcast adds have you seen on TV? Its release was delayed by a month and when it finally came people were like "wtf? I didn't know the DC was out!". However as Spray 'N' Wipe pointed out, the dream cast at this point in time kills the PS2. The PS2 has more potential, but at this point the dreamcast s***s all over it. It has better games, more games, is less than half the price and has BETTER GRAPHICS. Ever seen Dead or Alive 2 on both PS2 and DC? It looks alot nicer on PS2. The fact about dreamcast being dead is true, from a sales point of view anyway. In fact the Australian distributor for DC (Ozisoft) wants to get out of it. EB are selling off the last of their dreamcast stock, electronics shops like Dick Smith have gotten out of it and Toy Shops too. Its a shame, because it could have done SO much better, if only it had some marketing and a better distributor in Australia. Another thing that has killed it is piracy, you only need a boot disk to play pirate DC games. And to those who say it isn't the death of SEGA, well it pretty much is. SEGA were rescued after their string of failures (32x, mega CD, Saturn) and now its failed again. Hopefully someone will rescue them again. Nintendo? Pfft, the only reason the N64 is still is around is because of 5 year old's wanting the latest Banjo Kazooie game. Their 'gamecube' doesn't sound very impressive, and the two head runners are now Microsoft and Sony. Sony will always be around, they have a lot more than just PlayStation under their belt, and so does Microsoft, so both these companies can afford failures and experiments. As for that article, I half believe it, but I'll try and find out the truth for those interested. |
| #18 09:21pm 26/01/01 |
z3ro
| #19 11:12pm 26/01/01 |
sprayNwipe
(twitches, and then eats the bait like I have been starved for food for the last few weeks, and then lays down my own line) Wha??? What the hell happened here? It's like that episode of the Simpsons when Lisa becomes a vegeterian. "You're a grade A moron - When I grow up, I'm going to Bovine University!". Just substitute Bovine with Sony ;p Einstein: what work did you do at Krome anyway regarding the 'Cube? The guys I've talked to there say they don't have dev kits. And "enhanced terrain engine"? I'm guessing you aren't a programmer then ;p And as for the price, Nintendo have announced that it'll be below the US $200 mark, possibly even at $150 US at launch! Maybe you should look through the 'Cube FAQ on IGN? Nice use of name dropping though. I should really try that as well some time soon ;p Yes, Ozisoft completely ruined any chances of the DC being popular, and it's a real shame. All it would have taken was, ooh, maybe some consoles to be available when they supposedly released them :) As a general note, it's interesting seeing all the Miyamoto-bashers out there who haven't actually played any of his games. It's a shame really, they're missing out on some of the greatest games ever made. |
| #20 11:57pm 26/01/01 |
sparks
Heres my two cents worth of bait. It looks like history is gonna repeat itself. Microsoft will make the XBOX run just about every game on it (aka DC and PC) so that it becomes the standard, then it will rule the world Pinky. Who here can say that gaming is like what it used to be? If I were to play space invaders today, it would require a PIII 450, 128MB of RAM, 1GB of my "use to think it was enormous" hard-drive, a cable modem Internet connection (and still have lag!). Sony knows it, that's why they put in that poor excuse of a DVD drive in the PS2 as a marketting gimmick (yes I've used it, and yes for $300 less u could get a REAL DVD player and still play games on ur PC and watch QUALITY DVDs on ur TV). You either have a gaming console aka DC/N64 (forbid they ever make the GameBoy into a PalmPilot), or a fully packaged entertainment system aka PS2/XBOX. The DC will survive as long as there are those out there who just want to whack in a game and not expect it organise your day, watch the cricket, and clean your dirty laundry. p.s. The BIG DAY OUT rocked!! |
| #21 12:00am 27/01/01 |
z3ro
they were great, and a whole lotta people grew up on them, but you can only play each incarnation of donkey kong, mario, zelda etc, before you start to resent them.. its kinda like star wars the phantom menace, a lotta the old skoolers that were around to go nuts over episodes 4/5/6 thought ep1 was a steaming pile, yet youngin's everywhere loved it.. |
| #22 12:06am 27/01/01 |
no they don't have any devkits we ferreted out some avi's of the gamecube in japan Basically, it's got a monster framerate, same cheesy graphics as N64 with the rotating 3d aspect, and the polymorphic terrain manages to move around without causing huge processor chunk. My opinion? Gamecube is a beefy N64 Sif the Nintendo line of consoles haven't been one big copy one after the other, all with the same ghey games =) Zelda rocked |
| #23 05:30pm 27/01/01 |
| #23 |