MatchFixa
hihi,
Waiting for the Beenleigh train at central station my mate and I knew there was no chance of getting a seat due the number of people lining up for it as a result of train delays. Once we finally got on we noticed 2 guys taking up 4 seats with their feet and bag full of gin and juice. Now these two clowns were getting s*** faced on the train without a care in the world. They also reeked worse than a dingo left in a s***hole for a year, so no one really wanted to sit next to them anyway. Nonetheless they would only remove their feet/bag if you happen to be a young blond bird: Drunk1: "hey dey chicky, take a seat!" Young Bird: "No thank you" Drunk1: "Why not la? is it cause i'm aboriginal?!?" Young bird: *No Answer* Drunk 1 sings "i'm an aboringinaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaal, and i first walked this land..." Drunk 2: "hey dey murry it's salisbury!!" Drunk 1 slurs: "why do i give a s*** about salusibury we're going to beenleigh dey!" Drunk 2: "ahey dey chicky wanna sip!?", snorting really loudly. Bird 2 *No Answer* Drunk 2: "forget da drink dey i don't have enough for me anyway, but come sit!" Bird 2: *No Answer* Drunk 2: "come sit dey! i'm getting off soon anyway!" Drunk 1: "you're getting off just lookin at her kunt ahahah... i'm an aboriginnaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaal....... and i first walked this lannnd" Drunk 2: "fuk of kunt i walked before you!" Drunk 1: "Don't swear... fukin kunt" Meanwhile my mate and i standing near the door couldn't help but laugh while everyone else was awkwardly silent with a look of disbelief of their faces. Witnessing all this was a subcontinental looking family man in his 40 dressed in a business attire with his reading glasses and novel. Who knows what he was thinking but he decided to sit next to them. Drunk 1: "Hey dey you're black like us! What your name!?" Family Man says with a lot of hesitation: "Jeffery" Drunk 2: "What tribe are you from der Jeff!?" Jeff mentioned some s*** about his mixed Singaporean/whatever background Drunk 2: "na na na na na..na.. what triiiiiiibe.... don't you listen!" Drunk 1: "f*** up kunt he's not aboriginal he's from da west indies." Jeff got up and squeezed past all the people standing to get to the other side of the carriage. By then it was obvious that my mate and I lost it after over hearing the convo. We then got off at coopers plains (as in left the train, not perve at young birds like Murry did). P.S. True story, details of convo are not exaggerated (i did add a few extra 'ahey deys' here and there. One of them was even called Murry. I just wish i was able to take a photo of them, it was such a sight to see.) |
| #0 12:13am 28/01/10 |
I laughed several times.
I now feel bad. |
| #1 09:27pm 27/01/10 |
Well worth the read. I love that sort of awkwardness, so long as I am not right in the centre of it.
| #2 09:31pm 27/01/10 |
haha poor Jeff.
| #3 09:35pm 27/01/10 |
hardware
I don't see what's funny about it
I have witnessed this too many times to think that it's in any way amusing. Abos, by and large, are like this, believe it or not. You can hypothesise all day long about how you'd be mad too if someone did some injustice to your great-great-great-great-great-grandfather, but the fact of the matter is us taxpayers are paying for these people to live. |
| #4 09:38pm 27/01/10 |
I didn't find that funny at all, not even amusing
| #5 09:39pm 27/01/10 |
hardware
However matchfixa, i do understand why one would find this funny. It's so ridiculously far from what is even remotely acceptable behaviour not only in society but to just fellow human beings it seems as though it must be a joke.
It's only after you realise that these people are so, so f***ed in the head that it's not a joke and not funny any more. |
| #6 09:43pm 27/01/10 |
sometimes life throws you a situation where all you can do is laugh, basically
there's 0 point talking to someone doing that on a train, the same is true if you're black, white or anywhere in between also, nothing you can do to them except call the cops who will take your call seriously until they hang up where they then indicate to the person next to them that it's another waste of time call, using the super secret nod. |
| #7 09:43pm 27/01/10 |
I now find hardware's post amusing for its sadness and understand why he votes Liberal.
| #8 09:44pm 27/01/10 |
hardware
Explain to me where you think i have gone wrong triamks, if that is what you are insinuating
remembering that JWH took far more positive action to help the aboriginals than krudd has done, a sorry ceremony doesn't help the literacy/health/housing of aboriginals. last edited by hardware at 21:46:25 27/Jan/10 |
| #9 09:46pm 27/01/10 |
hardware, I've witnessed behaviour like this from plenty of people, not just aborigines.
although never seen a white bloke singing that particular song. |
| #10 09:45pm 27/01/10 |
injustice to their great-great-great-great-great-grandfather eh?
what about the injustice to just their father. or them? as if the poor c***s stopped getting a raw deal after 1788. barely a positive thing has been done by any australian government to this date to substantially let alone adequately put the majority of aboriginal people in a position where they don't have insurmountable hurdles of health care, education, abuse and homelessness to become a functional member of society. so the taxpayer has spent a relatively tiny amount of money to date giving them basically slums to live in and then you blame them as being lazy alcos? get a f***ing grip. |
| #11 09:50pm 27/01/10 |
eightyeight
to all you noobs, WHEN THIS HAPPENS WHIP OUT THE PHONE AND GET VIDEO.
youtube that s*** brah |
| #12 09:53pm 27/01/10 |
funky
yeah i'm with spidz, i'd say i've seen plenty more trashy white australians doing the exact same bulls*** (i used to catch the ipswich line regularly)
| #13 09:54pm 27/01/10 |
iz it cause i be black?
| #14 09:55pm 27/01/10 |
MatchFixa
But dude they made such a good team! like Bert and Earni, Dumb and Dumber, Lenny and Carl, Mel Gibson and Danny Glover, Jacky Chan and Chris Tucker. They were not meaning to be funny or anything but the convo just flowed with the fewest possible brain cells left swimming around in their hollow skulls.
Seriously if you think it's somewhat amusing reading about it then try listening to it on a train packed with all sorts of politically correct people. |
| #15 09:57pm 27/01/10 |
I saw a guy with 7 australian flags on his ute yesterday at the coast, that was funnier than this story
| #16 09:58pm 27/01/10 |
funky
isn't that like every third car on the gold coast
| #17 10:01pm 27/01/10 |
so the taxpayer has spent a relatively tiny amount of money to date giving them basically slums to live in and then you blame them as being lazy alcos? Everyone is responsible for themselves, you do know that they get more money from the government than the rest of us? Yeah Yeah we stole there land etc. You also know that aboriginals are free to live wherever they want to? |
| #18 10:02pm 27/01/10 |
^ just on the raw deal thing;
they've got free health care, as does anyone in Australia they've got free housing, extra centrelink repayments for being Aboriginal they've got free schooling, class trips and anything that might cost money or interfere with their education is completely free at public schools (at least it was at my high school) if a single white female was kicked out on her ass with the baby tomorrow, she could if she so chose, walk into a crisis center/centrelink and get emergency temporary shelter and food/clothing they would also help to find her somewhere more permanent, she would receive unemployment benefits and additional benefits for the child centrelink would attempt to recover monies on her behalf, from the father of the child she would get almost completely free childcare while she was looking for a job / working to support herself and the child The exact same help is available for any Australia resident who wants it, even Aboriginal Australians my point is purely that you can lead a horse to water ... |
| #19 10:03pm 27/01/10 |
You can't just throw free things at a problem and expect the fix it.
That can hardly even work in the most simplistic of scenarios, let alone when talking about peoples lives. The point is that the situation is so f***ed up at this point in time that you need to make the horse drink. Finding a way to do that in a humane way is a lot f***ing harder than giving things away for free. |
| #20 10:06pm 27/01/10 |
I agree but what more can anyone do?
if you try and force someones hand, regardless of what you're trying to do, they're going to buck even if you're trying to force them to do something good for their own health/future/etc |
| #21 10:09pm 27/01/10 |
MatchFixa
I saw a guy with 7 australian flags on his ute yesterday at the coast, that was funnier than this storyHey i just happened to be at the right place at the right time. It's like you hear about stereotypes and then you actually see the stereotype being played right in front of your eye like a movie. No director could have ever replicated that s***. Imagine seeing a thick-bearded mohammad in his full towel gown with his 4 niqab-wearing wives and their 25 children ordering a kebab on Habib Street. It would be very hard not to cast some form of judgement in your mind. I was merely pointing out one of those situation in which i hoped you guys could see the light side of it without meaning to come off disrespectful. |
| #22 10:10pm 27/01/10 |
lewd
f***ing funnny...
what tribe you from jeff? lol |
| #23 10:13pm 27/01/10 |
hardware
I would most certainly lol very hard at that matchfixa
because i know at the end of the day the dude's probably a hard working nice guy at the 7/11 |
| #24 10:14pm 27/01/10 |
hahahahah +20 points hardware
| #25 10:16pm 27/01/10 |
just wow.
| #26 10:19pm 27/01/10 |
MatchFixa
I would most certainly lol very hard at that matchfixa because i know at the end of the day the dude's probably a hard working nice guy...... at the 7/11Welcome aboard. To the rest of you party poopers lighten up and sniff a can of paint for a change. |
| #27 10:23pm 27/01/10 |
they've got free health care, as does anyone in Australia And don't forget they don't need a fishing licence in NSW, they bleed a white man $50* bux a year just to fish. *It might be more, or less, I can't remember. |
| #28 10:24pm 27/01/10 |
hardware, I've witnessed behaviour like this from plenty of people, not just aborigines. This, yet you proceeded to stereotype the extreme majority of Aboriginals, Mr Hardware. |
| #29 10:26pm 27/01/10 |
hardware
The vast majority of white people i have met in my life are civil
The vast majority of more than a quartercast aboriginals i have met in my life live up to part of or all of the stereotype YMMV. |
| #30 10:28pm 27/01/10 |
Imagine seeing a thick-bearded mohammad in his full towel gown with his 4 niqab-wearing wives and their 25 children ordering a kebab on Habib Street. It would be very hard not to cast some form of judgement in your mind. I was merely pointing out one of those situation in which i hoped you guys could see the light side of it without meaning to come off disrespectful. Huh, nice one matchfixa. Its funny when you see someone whois even worse than the stereotyped character you had in your head, and its right there in front of you. |
| #31 10:29pm 27/01/10 |
The vast majority of white people i have met in my life are civil conclusive. |
| #32 10:31pm 27/01/10 |
It was probably Mungo and Greg Brown, they have settled their differences since the big fight.
also didn't we already have this topic a week or so ago? Encyclopaedia Dramatica etc. |
| #33 10:31pm 27/01/10 |
MatchFixa
ctd in case you're referring to the aussie patriotism thread then this topic is not about that. It's about stereotypes (as i intended it in the OP). Whether or not these assumptions made about particular social groups are true or not is another story for another thread.
last edited by MatchFixa at 22:40:08 27/Jan/10 |
| #34 10:40pm 27/01/10 |
Na it was the one about google censoring the Aboriginal page on Encyclopaedia Dramatica cause some c*** had a bitch about it.
http://encyclopediadramatica.com/Abo |
| #35 10:46pm 27/01/10 |
i liked teh story
my favourite bit was how salisbury got a mention and they didnt get off there! sweet |
| #36 10:59pm 27/01/10 |
Tetrahedra
this s*** isnt new. happens everyday |
| #37 11:17pm 27/01/10 |
I'm with my boy hardware on this one. I saw a guy with 7 australian flags on his ute yesterday at the coast, that was funnier than this story I took a photo of a good one today on the way home from work. Enjoy. Yes, that's an aussie flag on top of an aussie flag. Just in case you missed the first one. Then two aussie flags on each rear passenger window for a total of four aussie flags. w00t And then no doubt all those stickers on his rear windshield are all the pubs he's been drunk and harassed some 'sheilas' at. http://i50.tinypic.com/2vmiz3a.jpg |
| #38 11:32pm 27/01/10 |
The vast majority of white people i have met in my life are civil So you agree with that statement that white people are inherently more worthwhile than aboriginals? In what way does that not make you the definition of racist? |
| #39 11:35pm 27/01/10 |
MatchFixa
this s*** isnt new. happens everydayYeah well a Tetrahedron having 4 triangular faces in a three dimensional case, three of which meet at a vortex isn't news either. So what's your point. |
| #40 11:38pm 27/01/10 |
The vast majority of white people i have met in my life are civilSo you agree with that statement that white people are inherently more worthwhile than aboriginals? In what way does that not make you the definition of racist? And you also assume that both groups have had equal opportunities. Without even knowing the details I'm calling 'bulls***' on that. One of my good mates is enough Aboriginal to be able to tick the 'Torres Straight Islander or Aboriginal descent' box on forms and he's 100% fair dinkum hard working son of a bitch - better than most of the other dudes I know. It's all about environment and opportunity. I support any Gov't move that attacks that as the heart of the issue. |
| #41 11:38pm 27/01/10 |
No, my entire point is that at no time since white man arrived have aboriginals had equal opportunity. I think the problem is that giving them "more free money than white people get" doesn't given them any more equal an opportunity. And until they are given an equal opportunity then you don't have the right to judge them.
| #42 11:43pm 27/01/10 |
^Couldn't agree more.
Also, there's a distinct difference between "equity" and "equality". Any "extra" money Indigenous Australians get is an attempt to create economic equity - that is all. |
| #43 11:47pm 27/01/10 |
Infidel
Awesome story, reminds me of this youtube video I saw
| #44 11:49pm 27/01/10 |
Just wow |
| #45 11:51pm 27/01/10 |
MatchFixa
I'll have to agree with Reload on that one. Having said that, drowning themselves in their own sorrow doesn't help them one bit. If anything it puts them even further apart from the same equal opportunity that they are striving for. You've just gotta work with what you've got to move forward (sounds like something Rocky would say in a 6th sequel of one movie or another).
| #46 11:52pm 27/01/10 |
No, my entire point is that at no time since white man arrived have aboriginals had equal opportunity. I think the problem is that giving them "more free money than white people get" doesn't given them any more equal an opportunity. And until they are given an equal opportunity then you don't have the right to judge them.What do you mean by "opportunity" though? Because really, noone has an equal opportunity I have friends who have parents that are incredibly rich and bought them houses and set them up in businesses I have friends who had f*** all and put themselves through school I have friends (most of them) who are in the middle of those two extremes The ones that want to succeed, do - because they work at it. The ones that don't, don't, because they don't. Unless you really have someone actively stepping on your head trying to keep you under the water - which, as I understand it, is not the case for anyone in Australia at the moment - it's pretty much on you to succeed. It helps being raised in an environment which places values on those sorts of qualities that tend to mean "success", which I think is what most of these disadvantaged types are lacking, and thus throwing more money blindly at them in the hope that it "creates opportunities', is a waste of time. I reckon. And then you get people that sit around on trains behaving in a grossly inappropriate manner in public. edit: wow at that video. so embarassing |
| #47 11:56pm 27/01/10 |
Infidel
Beenleigh station seems to also be featured, what a fun station it was whenever I travelled from Robina to Brisbane ....
| #48 11:57pm 27/01/10 |
Yeah drunken abo conversations on trains are hilarious. There was this aboriginal lady on the train, last time I was on one, yacking on and on and on about the valley and drugs and prostitution, and about every minute or so the aboriginal man she was with would go "shaaarrrrrddddupppppp" at her it was so funny. The stuff she was saying was mental, I wish I could remember.
| #49 11:58pm 27/01/10 |
yeah just drink it up. there's no point in even trying...
| #50 12:05am 28/01/10 |
MatchFixa
Wow Infidel, that's the stuff horror movies are made from
What's that they say about stereotypes again? For every one captured on film, another twenty are left only in the hearts and minds of fellow Brisbane rail commuters.Check. |
| #51 12:06am 28/01/10 |
In general, Indigenous culture is very different to the English-Australian culture, with attitudes, values and beliefs that are almost polar opposites to us. For them, their spirituality, land and kinship is at the heart of their value system/culture - it's all about working for the good of their community, rather than simply looking out for themselves (again, in *very* general terms).
Since colonisation, their very way of life and being has been shifted aside and they've been forced to adopt our culture and way of life. IMO, the problem is that they have not only lost a sense of self/identity, they have no opportunity to discover what it is/get back what they have lost. The following generations don't know how to deal with it all; all they know is the messed up ways many of them have been brought up as a result of their past/invasion of white people onto their land and suppression of their way of living or culture. I think it's incredibly sad. I don't have the answer to the problem though; I guess money to help them achieve equity in our dominating society is intended to help though. last edited by Agent 99 at 00:16:18 28/Jan/10 |
| #52 12:16am 28/01/10 |
Unless you really have someone actively stepping on your head trying to keep you under the water - which, as I understand it, is not the case for anyone in Australia at the moment. My opinion is that this is the case for a percentage of Aboriginals. The difference in opportunity I'm referring to is that of a child born into a settlement vs the lower to upper middle class white kids in your examples. |
| #53 12:08am 28/01/10 |
The difference in opportunity I'm referring to is that of a child born into a settlement vs the lower to upper middle class white kids in your examples.Who is stepping on their heads though? It's not me, and it's not you, and its not other people like us, right? They're screwed because they're born into an environment that doesn't have a value system that is adapted for our society (or from what I've heard from people who have lived and worked in rural towns, ANY society). I think that's where efforts need to go. |
| #54 12:16am 28/01/10 |
It's all about environment and opportunity. QFT but if we tried to force them into a different environment, we're a pack of white c***s who are trying to hide them away or something equally as vulgar |
| #55 12:23am 28/01/10 |
I agree with trog, but I still don't know the solution. You can force them to assimilate, hence all kids have the same opportunities - but in our European based society model. Or you can let them maintain their own strong culture - hence Aboriginal kids will ALWAYS be raised differently and then you can never compare them to Western kids. I reckon all efforts should be focussed on schools and education - they can at least learn mostly the same stuff which minimises their differences if they decide to move to a city or wherever. But then you have the problem of "Who is gonna teach em?" because it's hard to get the right people for the job to live in or near those communities and be accepted. |
| #56 12:24am 28/01/10 |
MatchFixa
but if we tried to force them into a different environment, we're a pack of white c***s who are trying to hide them away or something equally as vulgarUnfortunately the whites (especially the britts) have never had a good reputation when it comes to colonising a country. Dividing and conqueroring was never really about equal opportunity. More like this s*** is under our control now, so just deal with it. last edited by MatchFixa at 00:31:18 28/Jan/10 |
| #57 12:31am 28/01/10 |
calling bulls*** on you agent 99
if what you said were true, the outback communities that live amongst themselves who care not for the white devil and his evil doings would be happy roaming around naked using the epitome of their technological advancement for the 'worlds oldest culture' ie: a sharpened stick, to hunt wild animals and live as their ancestors did. they dont they have the highest rates of alcoholism )white peoples fault) they have a complete dependence on welfare (white peoples fault) they have a disgustingly high amount of community rape as was found to be absolute fact which due to its high prevalence was the reason why the federal government started their 'intervention' in the northern territory amongst other places. (must be white peoples fault too) i would be happy for aboriginals to live on the land, as did their forefathers, give it all back to them, have their f***en stupid rock in the middle of the desert i dont give a f***, but they will never ever become a normal citizen of this country as long as they are treated on a plane higher then everyone else. the whole soft punishment because theyre aboriginal is the biggest load of s*** in this entire country. who else gets this treatment ? no one. white aussies were SENT TO f***ING JAIL for sending a text message about going down to cronulla beach to take it back from the lebs. how many years will the dog who just raped an 82 year old woman in rockhampton get ? 100hours community service and a suspended sentence no doubt, because he's aboriginal. less then an whitey who sent a text message. what an absolute piece of stereotypical s*** that aboriginal guy is. is a stereotype a stereotype when its true ? |
| #58 12:28am 28/01/10 |
Infidel
Sounds like youve had bad experiences. I havent met many aboriginals so can't have an opinion. First one I ever remmeber was Ernie Dingo at wooly's and I remembered him because he was on TV and then it was the train ride to brisbane.
| #59 12:46am 28/01/10 |
Cainer,
The British colonisation of Australia was incredibly violent. They came in, saw these "black fellas" walking around naked with spears, hunting for food and living their life according to their culture (which they considered anything but human) and took over. They moved them away from the "white" people. They took their children (aka the stolen generation) and brought them up in homes with their English values and culture, whilst they raped Aboriginal women, gave the men alcohol as a reward, and forced them to adopt the English culture. Seriously, can you imagine what that's like? If it sounds bad, that's probably because it was. Can you imagine what it's like for your country to be invaded, to be told that what you have been brought up to think, believe, value and do is wrong, be forced to adopt a new way of being, meanwhile being abused and rewarded with alcohol, without knowing the effects of such an addictive substance? (did you know alcohol withdrawal if you're addicted to it is the only addiction you can *directly* die from?). That has to screw you up, not to mention your community of people. Whilst Australia has introduced reforms to help the situation, at the end of the day, these people have been abused in every way possible - physically, socially and spiritually. How do you recover from that? And how do you bring up future generations to recover from that? Under the dominating English cultures rules as well. It has to be hard. Seriously, you've got to have some sympathy. As I said, I don't know what the solution is. I would like to think they can adapt to our (now) multi-cultural society but how does that happen when they don't trust us (the English/white people) because of their past and their current way of life? It's a hard thing for anyone to change their life and lift themselves up from a difficult past, but can you imagine what it's like when everyone you know and have been brought up with/relate to in your culture has suffered the same thing? I can't imagine you'd feel like you have much hope (even if you say, in reality, everyone chooses to be who they want to be - that's very simplistic). last edited by Agent 99 at 00:54:45 28/Jan/10 |
| #60 12:54am 28/01/10 |
Infidel
I dont think "their country got invaded" is the right kind of words
| #61 12:54am 28/01/10 |
^What is your take on it then?
They were the only ones here for ?40,000 years... |
| #62 12:55am 28/01/10 |
What Avatar tells us is that if all those years ago, when Whitey first landed, all the Aboriginal tribes united they would have smashed those devils from the country and everyone would be happy. Except for Whitey who would be angry.
| #63 01:10am 28/01/10 |
Sporkman
I have lived in Townsville most of my life and have had to deal with the bad side of the aboriginal community. My girlfriend moved here from Germany last year and hear my views on the blacks and was horrified and couldn't believe I felt that way. Until the day she took a job at the ferry terminal and the day came when the ferry arrived from Palm Island and then she understood. I've been abused many times with outlandishly offensive things, my family, all of my friends, pretty much everyone I know has a bad experience with these people. How can anyone turn around after going through that s*** and think anything but blacks being wastes of space & taxpayer money. |
| #64 01:32am 28/01/10 |
I'm not saying the way some Indigenous people behave is fair or right, or that they shouldn't be punished for antisocial/violent behaviour like the rest of us, but I think you can understand how they've come to be so screwed as a culture/people and how badly something needs to be done to fix the situation.
K-Rudd saying sorry was a start IMO. But there is such a long way to go. last edited by Agent 99 at 01:44:37 28/Jan/10 |
| #65 01:44am 28/01/10 |
Infidel
hahah Sporkman, I also have a girlfriend from Germany and have the same arguments with her :D Agent99 maybe its nitpicking but they were never united and maybe just country isnt the best word but land
| #66 01:40am 28/01/10 |
how many years will the dog who just raped an 82 year old woman in rockhampton get ? 100hours community service and a suspended sentence no doubtCalling bulls*** on that. |
| #67 01:44am 28/01/10 |
ahhh logan/beenleigh/eagleby what treasures won't you unleash on the world.
| #68 02:25am 28/01/10 |
You know what pissed me off about this whole thing.
I am so sick of being labelled a racist and told "hey you are australian so you must have stolen aboriginal children and murdered them as well". f*** off with your bulls***. Our government apologised. They represent the people responsible for the stolen generation and the take-over of aboriginal land. The general Australian population are hard working people who daily fork out tax money to make sure the portion of Australia's aboriginal population who are affected by this are well looked after. Our government has programs and social security benefits in place to ensure every aboriginal australian citizen who has trouble in life can get the help they need . (regardless of what they choose to do with it). What these protesters fail to see or understand because they are so blinded by their own ideals is that everything that can be done is being done. It is about time they f***en realised that and moved the f*** on. I would have to say what offends me the most is these douchebags stand on our governments lawn and hold up a sign that basically says "every Australian is a racist". I pay my taxes and daily watch my money thrown down the tube by unemployed people. I tip indian tax drivers even when they can't speak english and don't know where the f*** they are going. I do my bit. To all you socialist idealist motherf***ers out there - eat s*** and die. edit - I think the OPs comments are valid and highlight the plight of aboriginal Australians. But the question begs - How did they afford the booze in the first place? We all know the answer to that. last edited by Tiny at 02:33:35 28/Jan/10 |
| #69 02:33am 28/01/10 |
adapt or die
| #70 03:20am 28/01/10 |
i just read the top post. some chavs chicks few months ago where talking such bulls***, i recorded them on my phone.
my question is: why didnt you go over to the bird and say "hi kylie, there you are, come join us down here" |
| #71 10:40am 28/01/10 |
Seriously, can you imagine what that's like? If it sounds bad, that's probably because it was. Can you imagine what it's like for your country to be invaded, to be told that what you have been brought up to think, believe, value and do is wrong, be forced to adopt a new way of being, meanwhile being abused and rewarded with alcohol, without knowing the effects of such an addictive substance? (did you know alcohol withdrawal if you're addicted to it is the only addiction you can *directly* die from?). That has to screw you up, not to mention your community of people.Yeh but that happened 200 years ago. And if anyone said to me "I drink because 200 years ago my country was invaded and taken over", I would honestly probably laugh in their face as a first reaction because I would have to assume they were joking. |
| #72 10:48am 28/01/10 |
90% of the people of this country's sympathy has worn out with these people.
the other 10% live in a all white suburbia like northlakes and have no idea, like agent 99. how long does someone get to act like a piece of s*** for, for something that happened 200 years ago ? go hang around beenleigh train station agent99 then go for a lovely walk through woodridge and revoice your opinion. |
| #73 11:05am 28/01/10 |
What these protesters fail to see or understand because they are so blinded by their own ideals is that everything that can be done is being done. Well this is in debate, because the lives of Aboriginals in Australia is not getting much better if at all. Do you guys think that any person want to live a s*** hole existences where they get drunk all the time and live on the streets??? People don't make these choices; they find themself in the situation for a number of reasons, alcoholism, drug abuse & mental illness being the most common causes. I don't think unless you've actually had personal experience with full blown alcoholism you can appreciate how much it can incapacitate people and destroy people. I can't answer the question for why Aboriginals are more susceptible to alcoholism but I can only surmise that their treatment through the last 200years has played a large part. I think as Australians we owe it to do everything in our capacity to ensure the people who's country we invaded have the best opportunities to be as much a part of our nation as possible and help combat the societal problems they face. Long term I think Aboriginal culture will probably die unfortunately and we'll over see the genocide of a people, that doesn't make me feel comfortable. |
| #74 11:06am 28/01/10 |
how long does someone get to act like a piece of s*** for, for something that happened 200 years ago ? Exactly, there is no connection except through stories they've heard. It's an excuse, plain and simple. To suggest otherwise would be to say that there is something different about Aboriginal brains that makes them unable to conduct themselves in a society like anyone from any other culture can. Also, Alcoholism is a choice. I may not know about climate warming but I know about that. |
| #75 11:10am 28/01/10 |
I can't answer the question for why Aboriginals are more susceptible to alcoholism but I can only surmise that their treatment through the last 200years has played a large part.By treatment do you mean giving them free money with no conditions for life enabling such a lifestyle? Boo hoo, tell them to harden the f*** up and spend their free money on food or something worthwhile. I think as Australians we owe it to do everything in our capacity to ensure the people who's country we invaded have the best opportunities to be as much a part of our nation as possible and help combat the societal problems they face.LOL? If they weren't such dropkicks, they could achieve anything they wanted with the amazing support and resources provided to them. last edited by CHUB at 11:13:08 28/Jan/10 |
| #76 11:13am 28/01/10 |
wow some good sob stories here
there is so much blood pouring from my heart right now |
| #77 11:17am 28/01/10 |
200 years ago white folk weren't treated that grand by other white folk... coz it was fkn 200 years ago!!@# over 2000 years ago the romans almost wiped out my ancestors, the celt, but yer, i got over it.
| #78 11:25am 28/01/10 |
Boo hoo, tell them to harden the f*** up and spend their free money on food or something worthwhile. government did that in NT and got labelled racist by some UN idiot who did a 1 day tour to a community and decided she knew best. food stamps like america would be a good start. |
| #79 11:38am 28/01/10 |
it's so convenient to just say "I'm a victim" and then wash one's hands of any responsibility.
Remember: if in doubt, blame the government. |
| #80 01:07pm 28/01/10 |
MatchFixa
Remember: if in doubt, blame the government.but only if they're labor. AMIRITE INFITE? |
| #81 01:31pm 28/01/10 |
There's a difference between looking for the cause of something and looking for an excuse.
I don't think this kind of behaviour is acceptable nor excusable however I am under the impression that people, regardless of skin colour, are created as equal. Therefore if a certain group is demonstrating large scale differences in social behaviour, surely there must be mitigating factors that are the cause? |
| #82 01:36pm 28/01/10 |
Therefore if a certain group is demonstrating large scale differences in social behaviour, surely there must be mitigating factors that are the cause?There's an old adage about apples and trees. (Un)fortunately its frowned on to separate apples and trees, even to grow nice fruit-producing trees in good orchards. Its even arguable whether you can clean up a bad orchard, if the adult trees like it like that. last edited by Hogfather at 13:39:47 28/Jan/10 |
| #83 01:39pm 28/01/10 |
For those of us who are not farmers, what the f***...?
| #84 01:40pm 28/01/10 |
Weren't you spruiking about the quality of your education just today?
Maybe instead of teaching you about protest flags they might have explained metaphor. |
| #85 01:54pm 28/01/10 |
I guess bulls*** wasn't on the curriculum.
| #86 01:55pm 28/01/10 |
How the f*** would you know? Pretty sure you never went anywhere near it.
| #87 01:56pm 28/01/10 |
Yeh but that happened 200 years ago. And if anyone said to me "I drink because 200 years ago my country was invaded and taken over", I would honestly probably laugh in their face as a first reaction because I would have to assume they were joking. Yeah, fair call Trog. I guess what I'm trying to say is that they have had massive social probs since colonisation, including violence and alcoholism, and whilst yes, these behaviours are choices, they are a reaction to a past chain of significantly violent events that has ruined a culture and been passed down generations... Unfortunately, social probs don't just disappear though. Consider a child who was abused as a child, and how many (note: not all, but many) grow up to also be abusive. Edit: Further to all of this, it's kinda hard for "white" people to come in and help the situation because A) we still don't show respect as a country for Indigenous culture or land and B) they still don't trust us, and given the past history, do you blame them?... last edited by Agent 99 at 17:29:17 28/Jan/10 |
| #88 05:29pm 28/01/10 |
The answer is clearly Napalm
| #89 03:56pm 28/01/10 |
agent 99 - remember that this has always been a problem - trying to integrate and improve the lives of abos has always been attempted (if you forget the time when we shot em all in retaliation for attacking us - or just cause some people liked shooting abos)
people whine on about the stolen generation - but do you realise we were just trying to help? hindsight is 20/20 and you can say well yes it was a big failure.. BUT WE TRIED - we try when we build housing and fund communities that attempt to give the abos the dignity they deserve. what do they do with this? some chuck it back in our face. f*** them. you can only hold your hand out for so long while it is constantly slapped away. we supply medical and schooling and housing to communities - this fails - BUT WE TRY we provide jobs and business opportunities so that abos can live dignified lives whilst respecting their culture and history (this is actually the most successful thing in a lot of communities) dont f***in tell me we dont try. its the majority of abos that need to step up (I know a lot of success stories where abos have embraced the help they get and really made something of their community). and the abo answer that to solve the problems we want our country back aint gonna happen - although we do give back huge tracts of land - CAUSE WE TRY. all australians need to figure out we are all here to stay.. so make the most of the opportunities we are given TODAY.. and stop blaming the past and until you have lived in a community where abos s*** in their hand and chuck it at you or try to piss on you while you work all the while calling you a captn cook white c***, then shut your f***in mouth – I’m over city theorists telling me all about how we are doing it wrong when they havnt seen the bulls*** a lot of aussies put up with on a daily basis. To all the darkies who embrace the help they get and really try hard to improve the lives of those in their communities whilst holding true to their diverse and very rich heritage - good on you – I’ll support you 100% To all the abos who sit in parks crying poor me you stole my land now your gonna pay – f*** U a******S I HOPE SOMEONE KILLS U WITH FIRE /rant |
| #90 09:29pm 28/01/10 |
crazymorton
you know i always wondered if i was to tick that box "are you a A or TI" what would happen and how would they check....or would they even check?
might try it next form that asks |
| #91 10:09pm 28/01/10 |
MatchFixa
They get you to sing this song called "I'm an aboriginal" and measure how much your slur you words. The more you slur the more money you get.
| #92 11:09pm 28/01/10 |
hardware
Well said superform.
| #93 11:13pm 28/01/10 |
don't make me post wesley.swf again
| #94 11:27pm 28/01/10 |
I agree that a lot of adults are complete lost causes.
And I don't disagree that we haven't tried and with good intentions. And with 99% of problems I'd say f*** it, we tried, at that point too. Except that to say f*** it, we tried, in this case condemns thousands of unborn Australians to the same fate. WON'T SOMEBODY THINK OF THE CHILDREN!! |
| #95 11:36pm 28/01/10 |
Seven
1. I have aboriginal friends who are great successes, getting into selective schools, having jobs (more than 1, that's right), and very nice people.
2. I have also met massive derro aboriginals, ones who threaten to beat the s*** out of me when i asked him nicely to stop swearing at the girl working at mcdonalds. I've met white people in both of the above categories too. Why is this even a race issue any more? If some of them can get off their asses, get a job and act like decent human beings, they all can. No more excuses, I won't tolerate anyone acting like an arsehole in society, I don't care what colour their skin is. |
| #96 11:42pm 28/01/10 |
I agree that a lot of adults are complete lost causes. as soon as I read this I immediately thought you were proposing Stolen Generation II™ |
| #97 11:43pm 28/01/10 |
So ... napalm?
| #98 11:44pm 28/01/10 |
I dunno, how about we just leave it the way it as see where it gets us?
why do we have to do anything, why is their inability to fit in our problem? they f***ing hate us so much yet we live in <1% of this country, they can live *anywhere* they want but they decide to live near us .. why again? is it because they want alcohol, hospitals, a roof perhaps? |
| #99 11:46pm 28/01/10 |
MatchFixa
So ... napalm?No 2 ways about it. last edited by MatchFixa at 23:50:19 28/Jan/10 |
| #100 11:50pm 28/01/10 |
| #100 |